Gan,
Heeheheeeee..
Tell you k, if my hubby and I would to see shark (even if its baby shark) swimming in the sea, we will both be in awe and will keep saying "wah wah wah!!!" because we are two very impressionable and childish people despite our matured age heheheeeee..
I told my hubby that my internet sister watched that movie and the scenes you described and both of us kept nodding our head..yes, yes, yes, we know we know…maybe I will go watch if or buy the dvd to watch.
Noi,
K k, I will check my email. Most likely we organise another outing then see if you girls are free, can come..
Lyn,
You are absolutely right loh
, at different times in our lifes, we must try to go back to the basics and look for those little little things that used to make us happy, in chinese, got one idiom call fan2 pu3 gui1 zheng1. We seems to have lost ourselves in the midst of these self imposed expectations as well as society imposed expectations. I must consistently remind myself to go back to the basics and lets do it together k. I believe even those couples who have kids need to do that since one fine day, every kid will leave home and its still back to the basics for them.
Rostrum
I am targetting to go on a week's hol in May when I can take a week off, so most likely go then. U are right, Maldives really exp..I just saw that its about 4k for two for less then a week. So this two months I won't buy any big ticket item liao…
Actually going to a cruise appeals to me too as I can really "nua" during hols. When you come back, must update update k…so you are going to the straits of malacca…it’s a good time to go now since the monsoons are off liao..when you are there, remember to sunblock yourself, the face, the arms or are you the type who likes to be tan and sexy? Heheeee..
The 2WW support is always one reservation I have about NUH. I did highlighted this to prof on a few occasions but he believes that its sufficient. So the only way to play around it is to ask for more. Anyway, since u are doing it in a new place, correct, just look forward, like they say our eyes are grown at our face front for us to look forward! Heeeeee..
Gambette for starting to jog, keep jogging k. When I jog every week, I will think of you
Tigi,
Sayang sayang, I understand. The feeling is like we are jogging on square one when others have moved forward. Lyn's antidote are great ones and I share some of it in that I told mself that each one of us have a different purpose at different points in our lives. While others are moving forward with parenthood, we can also move forward in our own ways, on bettering ourselves spirtually, on learning new skills, on going to different places to experience (like holidaying as you said), on becoming better daughters, DILs, on becoming better wives, on becoming better chefs at home. So in short, my antidote is that even though for now, I cannot be a mother yet, I try to jog out of square one and try to learn as one ages..I am sure you can find good antidotes for yourself in due time. In the meantime, don't feel guilty about feeling sian when surrounding people have graduated to become parents, its normal and its better to be true to yourself than deny the feelings. Be patient and gentle and we are always here to share the common struggles we have..
And I also like your way of handling the showers you decide to go, its like killing two birds with one stone.
Ling,
Big huggzzzz for what you have gone through….yes, the 3rd one will be the charm and I am sure that day will come sooner than you anticipate, your little beanie will report and can stay and grow and thrive
Frankly, I do find the organiser of the event you described insensitive and thoughtless. At such events, even the baby or the toddler will feel quite sian, being "forced" to play with another toddler whom they have met for the first time. In future, you have our support not to attend such funny funny events. You are right, somehow, around us, there are just a lot of people who enjoy intentionally reminding us about our childless status. I recently met an ex-col who knows about my past, kept asking me "don't you want to have a baby to call your own", "your MIL not chasing meh"? And I can read it in her eyes that she will not be contended/happy until I tell her I would want to and how much I envy her and indirectly saying that I am so old liao still childless. Nevertheless, I told her my MIL is not asking me as frequently as she and that shut her up. So another antidote is to anticipate such "intentional events when hurt can be administered" and either don't go or have a reaction plan thought out beforehand"..heheeeehee..
Wah, thanks for sharing your in-depth knowledge on the fertility issues, very informative. I just know low bbt means hormones not strong, did not know about all the rest. Its good to know because everytime see tcm, the only explanation that was told was hormones not enough then I just ok I see..
I just need to be frank here, your inlaws are somehow lacking in common sense. Sound like their never grow up. Where got IL call the counterpart IL to discuss such things one. You just take the stance of pitying their lack of common sense and proper mannerism.
Liz,
Wei sister, nevermind nevermind, maybe this month the egg or soldiers are not so "sui", wait for a sui sui egg or solder to strike than even better. For your FET, consider doing it before you birthday this mid year, treat it like a birthday project for yourself. If you strike, it will be a birthday present and a milestone…if got a milestone to look forward to, easy to stay motivated..yes, like Lyn said, if you want to share, we will root for you. If you want to keep low profile, we will root for you in our hearts
And you really made me laugh when I read your suggestion to Lyn about her insensitive and over confident SIL. That is a good one Liz. And I like your analysis on Rostrum's SIL. Very brillant
Jude,
For the full month, if sian sian to go, how about you send tell her you not free that day and send her some vouchers by registered mail (I know a lot of new parents like NTUC vouchers) or buy an online gift and courier it to her. Like that, your thoughts are sent and at the same time, don't have to be there.
Rostrum and Lyn,
About your SILs' insensitivity and confidence, There is a chance when their words might come back to bite them. This is my 2 cents worth. I read a lot of gossips from My paper to destress in the morning. And there are stories about Michelle ch** and *ann Wong that I read. Before michelle got married to her spouse, she annouced to the own world that they will immediately try on their honeymoon and she wanted three kids. Naturally, being in the limelight, the media pays tons of attention on when her tummy will show. It’s a lot of undue stress and I feel sorry for that as we all know the feeling of having outsiders scrutinzing on when our tummy will show. As time goes by, in the reports now, her reaction became more subtled and the confidence is replaced by "let nature take its course" and such things cannot control answers when the media probed. For wong, its not her, its her spouse that openly told media that they must have at least 2. Wong rolled her eyes on her spouse when he said that and as expected, the media is looking at her tummy everyday such that she said she dare not even wear baggy clothes or doll up excessively or else the media will say that she is pregnant and the hormones are at work. She has also told the media that when it comes to ttc, its best to be stress free and she is taking it easy. Arggguhh…so the minute you announce to the world you are trying, you get no peace and making baby becomes a chore and is stressful. Imagine your tummy being scrutinize ALL the time. So means that your SILs' tummy will be scruitized all the time from now on. Thanks to their over confidence which I think they will regret ;P