Childless Not By Choice Group

Gan,

It has been a while since I go for high tea but you can consider Grand Copthrone...I tried the lunch recently and the spread was quite good. Have Oyster and Sashimi.

Lyn,

Welcome back...so nice...I also want to go for another holiday...but already big hole in the wallet from my last trip to Japan and my hubby's new toy! Will endure!

JJ,

You hang in there...the news must be a big blow to you and hubby. Take some time to think and discuss on options.

Tigi,
Yes, its believe that red underwear is in fact even more auspicious than wearing red outside. If don't like red underwear, pink ones can do also. A lot of Asians all wear push-ups de. My cup size also nothing to shout about..keekeeekeee.....

Lyn and Tigi,
Looks like a lot of us here also into retail therapy. Although we are troubled by childbirth issues, we are lucky to be born as women, retail therapy is our license to destress..

JJ,
You are a really a very kind and understanding girl. Yes, to be the source of the trouble is double whammy, having to live with the sadness plus the guilt. My hubby has been like you, he helped me overcome this double whammy with love. And you are another angel born on this earth to heal "trouble makers" like us..heheee..From what you said that you will support your hubby's choice, I am even more confident that you and your hubby will build a very "xing4 fu2" (blessed future).

Lyn,
Wah, you are really living life to the fullest, three cheers for you
K, inspired by you, tonight I go and plan where I will go this year and not get bothered by not wanting to take leave and this and that liao.

About hep B jab, my blood test showed no more antibodies liao..so today, inspired by your eating of oyster mee sua, I went to jab again. Will be doing the 2nd jab in another months time..

Jude and Babygalore, thanks for your recommendation on High Tea, will check them since both my hubby and me love to eat. For my hubby birthday celebration with friends, we have decided to go for dim sum buffet at marina mandarin as we have a number of international high tea/lunch buffet last month due to the chirstmas/new year season. I love sashimi, have been stuffing myself with sashimi since the BFN since I can't eat that when pregnant.

JJ, You are a very strong girl and a very supportive wife. In the process of making the decision on the options to take, I am sure the bond between you and your hubby will be even stronger. I have been following this blog kinigu.blogspot.com, this lady teacher who writes about her daily life with her adopted daughter. It's heart warming to read about all the bits and pieces between them and their daughter. Actually I ever thought of adoption myself. Have brought up the idea with my hubby before but he is not receptive to the idea.

miraclebaby/Tigi, I did tell Dr Loh, I am seeing the TCM at AMK but he told me that ok to take now but no TCM during the hormones pills. For now I will just go acu and take the TCM faithfully, as for TCM during 2ww, will think about it when nearer.

Lyn, I forgotten it's winter in Tw. =P I have been buying alot of clothes recently...shopping spree in Singapore! I went Seoul during winter few years back. It was so cold, but i enjoyed the rides in the amusement parks and the skiing.

Gan,

Sama sama, I have been stuffing myself with sashimi too
Its like feeling very cold while eating those sashima after being deprived for so long

Wish you and your hubby a good time at digging into dim sum..heeee..

Sigh.. thought I was ok. Just met my JC fren and we were born on the same day same year and have the same name. just saw that she's preg. wonder when will it be my turn... haiz

Hi liz, i know u must be feeling lousy... My gd frd is gtg to due anytime. I dun dare to sms her coz i know i may feel depressed again....

Liz and other ladies, anyone interested to go novena chruch to pray? I m not a catholic and apparently many ppl and also ladies from other thread say if we go there to pray for consecutive 9 times our wish will be granted... so no harm trying and i believed all GODS are good... if anyone interested we can go 2gether to give one and another motivation.

hey lyn
Ya. and my cycle screw up again. was 30 over days for past 2 months.. now haywire again.. 1 month plus still no O.

I don't mind going. am not catholic also.. but i used to attend mass with my fren at that church in the past. I still haven't arrange for our outing... hahahah

Liz,

Hey sis, the ttcing trials are certainly very sian, Nevertheless, the good news is: you are still young, some girls only got married at your age wor

Anyhow, its quite amazing that you are your friend are so similar in birthday and name! Its fate really for you to know her.

Lyn,
Same to you. You are another young girl in my eyes

Liz and Lyn,
Your older sister here is now going to take it easy, ttc yes but really easy compared to before for now. All my friends are mums to two to three kids, think I am a weirdo and like to make me feel like a criminal but I don't care them.

Liz,

BTW, since you are already eating royal jelly, you want to add a teaspoon of bee pollen to it every morning? The two add together is supposed to help to regulate menses for PCOS. It helped to make my menses come after the ivf. I know its very sian to eat so many things, but just for your consideration ok..

lyn, same here.... my good fren is due to give birth too.... been keeping a distance since her pregnancy because i will keep comparing... how we "complain" to each other how difficult to conceive.... how we tried tcm to "bu" the body.... how stress we are... then one year after trying, she conceived naturally.... but here still i am.... not moving at all.... really feel disheartening sometimes.... although i know it is bad of me to keep a distance from her, but i cant help it.... i can;t imagine me talking about pregnancy with her.... other than that, what else can i say to her.... this used to be a lonely path... because there is no one i can talk to... last time i was so dsperate i actually talked about my difficulty to conceive to a colleague i am not close to and then i realised it was a BIG mistake.... not sure if she spread word around but i really feel uncomfortable after that.... stupid me

liz, today is my day 25 still no O.... how to do the D2 blood test like that.... need to take the pills to let mense come liao lor....

Tigi, you have us here!!
BTW today is 1 month since my menses came on 15/12 and still no O...coz BBT is low.
Tomorrow will ask Dr Zou can do anything to help regulate.

hi Lyn
i have been a silent reader in this thread. In the same boat like most of you here. Would love to have babies, but never been granted. My two pregnancies ends up in miscarriage. It brought pain and sadness.

may i know, who introduce you to novena church? possible to link me to the thread?
i am a catholic, then indeed praying novena in faith of 9 consecutive days might help to grant your wishes.

Gan, thanks, i thought of changing my nickname to grumpy... like one of the smurfs.... heehee

went to see dr zou today for acccu... she comment my bbt low... and recommend to make red dates and longan drink ... to help in keeping temp up

Tigi, my bbt also low this month so don't think ovulating.
I have been drinking red dates and longan drink. You can buy a thermal flask, put them in with boiling water, bring to office. been doing that since early this month. Dr Zou says my body is warm but when i told her my bbt, she says is low, no ovulation.
Don't be grumpy, stay happy!

Watched daybreakers after the acu. Not a fantastic show, only consolation is Ethan Hawk quite good looking!

Hi tigi, same situation as mine. This frd used to ttcing at the same time as me and she got health problem. She did ivf this march and juz gave birth.... After she is pregnant she seems so busy and i felt she had neglected me( DH say only thru incident then u will know the qualities of ur frds), even after my cycle was aborthed due to poor response she didnt ask much.. so sad rite..Sometimes i feel so sad coz she is my frd for 10 overs years and i m avoiding her coz of this but after i think abt it I still cant bring myself to visit her and her baby coz that makes me feel so incomplete. If she is a real frd and is someone who went thru infertiltity then i guess she shld understand. Even if she gtg to be angry abt it i will still choose not to go coz i dun wish to put myself into situation of congratting ppl but feel so sorry for myself...

Mildstrawberry, i heard from some ladies from the ivf thread http://singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/5/154014.html?1142176459

Mildstrawberry, i heard from ladies from the ivf thread...

lyn, maybe your fren think her bb doesn't come easy and is paying 110% attention taking care of her bb and neglected you.... i look at my sister, when she just give birth, she only care about her bb.... sister ok... not a fren.... also like that.... so dun be sad....

once told a colleague that my gynae suggest i may need ivf to conceive... then immediately she shot a disbelieving look or maybe i see disgust on her face? then she goes on to talk about having kids is that great, not so easy, got to sacrifice many things to take care of them ...blah (i read, are you sure you want do painful injections in exchange for a life like this) .... and she is already a mother of two... from then on, i never talked anything more to her..... for people who conceive so easy never understand the struggles we have......

gan, my bbt 36.2 C... no ovulating also... what about you?

i bought the red dates and longan today, will make them and bring it to office, already got a 0.5L thermal flask.... more and more things to bring to office leh... My bag is going to get heavier!

heehee... so did you drool while watching Ethan Hawk??i think he got the special look... sometimes good looking... sometimes not that good.... maybe it is the angle?? :p

Hi tigi, dun talk anything more to such ppl coz they wont understand our situation at all... super idoit....

As for my frd...... i never think much abt it now...juz wish her well

babyglaore, u r not old either wat..... But i wish i start to ttc once married if i know i got problem conceiving rather then waited for 2 years then start... cant turn back the clock liao juz have to accept the facts

Tigi, u feel better after expressing ur feelings here ? I used to feel lonely and depressed coz nobody to talk to but feel better after writting my feelings here..

Tigi, my temperature is also around 36.2 this month.
Hope you got those seedless red dates, less heaty. can also put some guo qi zi into the drink.

I thought Ethan Hawke looks good most of the time in the show. My hubby told me he was also one of the candidate for James Bond role after Pierce Brosnan.

Anyone of you uses Thermal Pot? I bought one recently, find it quite useful.

Lyn, i guess we feel better writing our feelings here as we have been through the same experience one way or another in our TCC

Gan, ya.... I have been feeling depressed again esp after knowing my frd juz gave brith. I m still here not moving on... sad sad sad

Lyn Jia You!

Would you be able to follow your hubby for some of his biz trip? Maybe overseas, you would be more relax

For my case my hubby is busy at work, so usually when home already 9pm or later. by the time we ate ourdinner, no more romantic mood, just want to watch tv and sleep.

Lyn, i felt better after writing my feelings here.... sometimes better than retail therapy without the horrifying bill to settle later on!

Actually, my colleague is a quite a nice lady apart from the negative attitude she has about ivf... but yes, i stopped sharing with her about my ttc journey because like you said, she wun understand... somemore her first child is a honeymoon baby.... at that time, i have many reservation about doing ivf... but since i have decided now, can't talk to people like her for support anymore...

I already know about my conditions before marriage (but hubby one comes as a surprise to me), then still want to try naturally... then delay two year...... i worse right? there is no use to regrets now lor....

Gan, i bought red dates from dr zou clinic.... duno got seeds or not.. hope dun have, cos i am having a bit sore throat now.... cannot have heatiness...

Thermal pot is the big capacity kind? good for soup? i saw some colleague bring that for lunch...

Your hb works so hard.... when my hb comes home after 8 pm sometimes, i am already not very happy liao....

Tigi, i think Dr Zou's red dates would be seedless.
Thermal pot is those, you boil the food up for at least 10 min and put inside the outer pot and the food will continue to cook. so u can cook the food in the morning before you go out and when u are home in late afternoon or evening, the food is cooked and still hot.
I tried using the pot to cook chicken curry and make soup during weekends. Found it useful as no need to watch the fire. =)
There are many capacity, i bought a 2.5l since only 2 of us at home.
My gfs used the pot to cook porridge for their toddlers.

The outer pot does not need any electricity or fire to continue cooking. so save on utilities bills too...he he he.

Tigi,

Heeheeee..don't worry, there are some grumpy days for us for sure, at least its after we are being "judged" so unfairly by the self appointed family planning judges. These society has a lot of such people, basically, I call them "people who like to hear bad things about other people in order to feel good about themselves" (in short, insecured people). Don't feel bad about telling that colleague. You should on the other hand respect yourself more that you are trusting and pure at heart. If she goes to spread around, it only shows how insecured she is as a person. People like that actually often lack a sense of security due to insufficiency in their own lifes that they have to feed on other people. In future, like what Gan said, when you want to vent, come here and tell us. We understand so won't judge one another..And afer you hear our struggles, you will know that you are not alone at all.

Tigi and Lyn,
Also, if you don't feel that you can visit your friend, I strongly believe you all made the right choice not to visit. Again, I respect you all more that you are being true to yourselves rather then take the hypocritic attitude of going and pretending to smile. Go with your heart and it won't go wrong

Lyn
Same here, I actually waited three years after marriage before ttcing because the irony was that I belong to the camp who do not want kids as I wasn't sure if I can be a good mother. Three years later when I am so confident that I can love my kids more than myself, I cannot have them. About age, I have faced reality liao. A few years ago, my JC friends were all having the excitement of having their first born. I did not want kids then, so just thought listen for fun. The last time I met with them, they were talking about what play school to send their kids. This time, I listened too but at the back of my mind, I also imagined how the babies I lost in mc will be enrolling in play school with profound sadness. The I saw the disapproving look on a few friends face, why I am so "stupid", still not have a baby and act like someone of my age. In another two year or so, I will expect to hear hear them talk about volunteering in the most prestigious pri school to get their kids enrolled. That is how the society has judged me (us), not knowing the pain we went through.

But from interactions with people, I gathered something, if we tell them we don't want kids and want to be DINKS, they will brand us as selfish individuals who don't want to contribute back to society and only think about ourselves. If we tell them we have mcs, they will brand us as stupid and incompetent people who cannot even take care of ourselves. One colleague even assume that I carried heavy things so ended up mc. Haha. Makes me wonder who is the naive one but did thank her for her concern as I do not want to go into the biology of why mc happen. If we tell them we tried but cannot get, they will again brand us as stupid people and incompetent again, cannot cope with the stress in life, so become infertile. If we tell them we go for ivf, their jaws will drop and they will think we come from outerspace. And most importantly, they cannot hide their joy that they have found a great topic for grapevine gossips. I have had all these nonsense before. Its hard to believe but I have had friends who went through mc and yet can still judge me the same way. They still speculate why I mc and cannot have a baby now. In other words, these people will have something to say about everything we do. So I kept reminding myself, the best way to repaid these nonsense is be a better person myself and judge less, and understand more with an open heart and mind.

And please don't blame yourself about not starting ttc immediately. You are just a responsible girl who wants to work on to make your marriage happy and balance before thinking about other additions to the family.

Whatever is your decision about ttc, I will give you my support, just know that will do

Mildstrawberry,
Huggzz about the pain you went through. Come here and express your thoughts and frustrations. Clause: of course one day, I hope you can graduate from here

Tigi, Lyn and Gan
Thanks for your willingness to share and I appreciate "talking" to you all too as you girls got EQ and won't judge.

Gan
Yes, I use a thermal and drink warm water at home. Its really useful.

Sisters,
I came across this article that describes some of our expriences with society very well. The writer hit the nail on the head regarding several feelings. Of course I hope one day, we will have more than a babydream. Just read it for the seek of understanding and don't be affected by the end result of the author. Whatever it is, I think she is a brave and strong woman.

http://www.associatedcontent.com/article/2270529/childless_women_not_by_choice_dont.html

Sisters
And that article really touched my heart and I feel like giving the author a very big hug.

Tigi and Gan,
I believe another name for the thermal pot is also a slow cooker rite..

Unfortunately I do not hv good news to share....my AF reports even before Pregnancy test...
I cried lots when I had spotting yesterday...
Now I really lack the courage to try the next round...

Babyglaore, ya u r right that some ppl r really very judgemental. No offence, i didnt know u have mc b4... sorry for insensitive abt that. But hey at least u saw the positive b4 leh...

During the first 2 years of my marriage i m very scared of being pregnant coz i feel i dun know how to take care of a baby... even DH thinks that i m a big kid myself.. But after ppl keep asking abt when to have a child and also seeing so many fertility problems nowadays made me to start ttc.. ad u know after 6 mths nonthing happen i m worried but never did i know now after 3 years of tccing still nonthing happen...
As for my frd, u speak the truth abt my thinking.. I dun want to be a hypocrite juz to please others and later my heart will hurt like hell... thks for understanding me

Tigi, there r some ppl who thinks that ivf is so unnatural way of having a bb but neither did they know its our last resort to having a child.. so its pointless to talk to such ppl...

babygalore,
Yr post is still as +ve though I hv disappear from this forum eva since I started on my cycle...
I dun tink I can be v +ve at this point of time and I really dread the upcoming CNY wif relatives asking when u r hving a kid?
I cried to dh yesterday tt I m really afraid to go to his Ah Ma's hse during cny cos she will always pose the question to us during cny and in the presence of so many relatives...
It makes me feel like I m a chicken whom cannot lay eggs u noe?
Bt He told me to ignore her...jus dun answer...haiz...bt I really dread it..

Rostrum hugz
My AF also came before the BT. In fact, I have been staying home for 2 whole weeks after ET. And on that Sunday when I had pink spotting in late afternoon, I was out for Dim Sum for lunch. So you can imagine how shock i was to find spotting when i had bad cramps on 1 side of tummy after i came home from dim sum. Initially i sort of blame myself that it was that outing for dim sum (hubby actually wants me to stay home but i insisted i want to eat dim sum and go out for a while as i was bored at home) that cause the embbies not to stick. full AF came 2 days later.
Take your time to accept the result, no need to force yourself to be positive immediately because it is just not possible after all the injections, expectations from the IVF. Cry it out, talk to your hubby or family members, friends whom will make you feel better. I felt better after crying it out.
Take some time to tiao your body ok. I have been seeing Dr Zou for acu since mid dec after i got my menses.
Don't give up.

Hi rostrum, understanding ur feelings now... hugz.. Have not see u posting abt ur ivf journey.. Ur r already very brave to go thru ivf tough not everyone make it at first attempt.. Next again when u r ready. I can imagine the disappointment when u see red after ET, it should be worst then a natural cycle.
Went shopping juz now, saw so many prams and babies around made me feel so sainz and hurt again but as long as we dun give up i think we still do stand a chance of having a bb. As for cny, if ppl want to ask juz let them ask the most important is ur DH is understanding and giving u his full support. This journey is very difficult for ppl like us but hopefully all the sufferings is worth it when our bundle of joy comes to us one fine day. Talk ur time to cry, i know its not gtg to be easy but u will get thru it..

Gan, i want to follow my DH for work but due to my own working commitments cant follow him to every places. But of course if he goes japan i will try to follow coz i like japan. But again, burnt a big whole everytime...hehehe

Rostrum, if his ah ma ask again juz say u and DH want to earn more money first coz nowadays raising up a kid is not like in the past...

Gan,
Mine came 1 week before BT...tt is v early and I got a shock of my life when I saw the spotting...I dunno wat happen and keep blaming myself mabbe its due to my weak body....I hv yet to check wif Prof on the reason of the failure..I doubt he can give me a reason too..I can oni say its not fated...I cried a lot and feel much better now...Thanks!

Lyn,
Its not tt I m selfish or wat not to post abt my journey..its mainly cos I got no guts....I duno y and I try not to come in to add stress to myself...
Yes, its true, this is the worst cycle I had seeing red...my reaction is the worst!!!
Honestly I dun feel like going his Ah Ma hse for CNY tis year...esp aft failing an IVF not long...I need time to cool myself off...

Hi Rostrum, if you don't feel good going to ah mah' house, maybe discuss with hubby if you could be excused with some reasons?
Don't blame yourself. My hubby and I think that it is just fate the 2 embbies can't be our children. Whatever the results, you have done your best, so did your 2 embbies.
Dr Loh also can't say what is the reason for my failure, he just said my embbies were good, lining was ok. So the next step for me was do a FET.

Gan,
I duno..I shall play by ear...actually I hate this upcoming CNY...
Ya..I guess no doc can give us a reason for the failures...at least u still can do FET...I can't even proceed cos I got no frozen embbies...KKH freeze our embbies on D2 or D3? Cos NUH oni does it after D5...

Lyn wish my hubby has a job that can bring him to japan often too, then I can go shopping and eat there!

hi rostrum, my fil also like that... will say "auspicious" greeting related to child-bearing during the cny... why i used inverted commas leh? because he would sound very grudgingly... as if complaining why so long never see the egg... my fil is like that lor, never care about people feelings... the moment i hear it, my festive mood vanished, can you imagine that?? i wish i have the courage to say i also wish to have babies, you think i dun wan meh, and i like to poke myself with needles to make babies, and still not guarantee one.... of cos i dun think i ever say this aloud into his face... this would be disrespectful to the elder and afterall not during the cny... so all i did last time was to smile... this year, i plan to hold hands with my hubby and make sure we kenna together when he says such things again... *evil grins*
Oops, pls dun think i try to sabotage my hb... but my hb is my fil precious son.... hopefully my fil would spare me the remarks in my hb presence.... and more importantly i want my hb to understand the negative feelings i have about these "greetings"...

gan, the thermal pot sounds wonder, can cook without electricity or heat after putting in 10 mins of cooked food?? so energy savings... can make herbal soup? I make herbal soup every weekend using the slow cooker... each time 2-3 hours...

lyn, i like japan too ... my hb going japan for a week coming April... very tempted to go along.... but annual leave is a problem....

babygalore, very sorry to hear about your past mc... can see you have already undergone life training to become a better person of strength and will.... make me see you in more respect now.... i am also working to pass this training... sometimes i slacken and back to my lazy self, that is when i become depressed and frustrated again.... wah must work very hard to overcome this... hope we all graduate and be rewarded with our deepest wishes soon!