Childless Not By Choice Group

Meow, thats the big problem with kk... without doing any further test how can they say its etopic? Ectopic pregnany is life threathening leh. Do u have any pain so far?

I got my progesterone jab at raffles hosp. Dr also did a scan for me n more or less confirmed no sac n not ectopic preg. Nurses at KKH really scared me lo!!! Good to have some closure w the scan jus now. Actually I was more or less prepared for the worse after morning BT w KKH this morning. Didn't expect the level to go up cos I was full bleeding alrdy. Anyway tmr I'm taking another BT w raffles n c if numbers
go dn or not. I'm scheduled to meet dr sadh tmr. But DH said not going bk to her alrdy. Cos frm the start of the program we emailed her n called her. But all no replies!

Well at least tonight I can zzz well ler. KKH didn't do a good job w managing ur expectations. Instead they scared the hell out of me wor.

Lyn: I dun hve sharp pains. Just cramps that comes w normal menses n

Hey ladies.

I wana say thank u for the emotional support n the knowledge u hve all given me unconditionally. U are all so much more informative than the nurses n the drs!! I'm so impressed. I was really feeling lost just now after being unable to get hold of the dr n the nurses were not cooperative. But I got all the advices from u ladies here. I jus posed / SMS my qns n fears here and all if u responded to it. Thank you sisters!! I wouldn't have come so far N survived the disappointments w the negative news without all of ur help.

I wish those abt to embark on ur cycles good luck n jia you! Think positive n know tat we will b here to provide emo support if needed.

Meow, i am so moved ler... going so much ordeal and yet you still thinking about the ttc sistas... Salute Salute!
Have a good rest, may heaven bless you to have your wish come true

Meow, have a good rest tonight, dun think too much.
You have been very strong all these while. Keep on jia you ok?
My babydust always reserved for you.

Meow, from wat u described i think u had a chemical pregnany but also lucky that its not an ectopic pregnancy. Rest well and dun think so much, wat will be...will be. Take care. I full understand ur frustrations with kk and i m wondering why still no changes with the system all these while? Maybe they simply dun care...

Meow Big Hugs to you. Take care and have a good rest. You have done your best despite the lack of support from ur doc.

Gan,
Nowadays after work ends, I straight away come home and don't go out anymore on weekends, meals will ask hubby to tabao back as no energy to cook now. You will feel more and more fatigue into the coming weeks so do let body rest as much as possible and sleep whenever you can k. At office, I also find it useful to just close eyes for 15 mins and rest during lunch, it will help to restore some energy for the afternoon session. Rest rest rest when got chance k, it’s the only way to reserve energy once you go back to work.

So so glad red is becoming pink and it will soon be white white and just white..hehee..
Also, remember, when you wipe, be gentle and careful and try not to "wipe big area", just tap because don't want you to wipe so "big area" that no good stuff from near anus come to front. If you are still wearing party liner, tyr to stop alright because party liner gives yeast over a while (blocks flow of air to vaginal) esp since you are on antibiotics.

Miraclebaby
Yes, failing the ivf does set us thinking about ourselves a lot and challenges our confidence. But like Lyn said, actually ivfers are the bravest and most admirable souls on earth. Not everyone has the guts and willingness to sacrifice to do the program but you gals (including me..heeeee) did. I always tell my hubby, girls who do ivf are so gutsy that they risk our lives (hyperstimulation consequence can be serious as ivfers all know) and put our heads on the chopping board many times not for themselves but for their family and everytime, he will nod and nod.

So be proud of yourself ultimately k k

Faith
No no…heeee..actually a lot of things I learnt from forum sisters too, just that maybe I kiasu, I will remember them once I see them. Means maybe you can follow the diet for general kidney deficiency. Basically "xu" means kidney deficiency if she did not specifically pinpoint if its yin or yang. Eat more black sesame seed and red beans, these two can "bu" women with "xu" body type.

Sorry for the late reply, has your menses come? For kkh, I know they want your menses to come before the program in general while for nuh, no need (I know one sister did under nuh, did not get her menses after lucrin, went on with stimulation and bfped). So while I believe it is not necessary for menses to come, its better to call kkh as they have a strict protocol and you don't want to have second thoughts later.

Rostrum
Yes, her diagnosis of you is kidney yang deficiency (xu1). Don't mention, I did not do much. I believe what she said is true since you said you feel more energized after seeing her..
Yes, you can afford to take more meat, do chew them well (I assume that your BMI is normal?..if BMI normal, ok to eat red meat like beef too). Maybe can focus on eating the warming vege on the list to balance out the meat consumption. Yes you can take chilli and warming spices like cinnammon but for chilli in particular, since you taking chinese medicince, don't take excessive and take the large ones, not the chilli padi type. Become eat a lot of chilli in particular could obstruct the efficiacy and absorption of any medicine. So for chilli padi, not so much k…focus on other warming spices on the list since you will be contining to take tcm.

Elle,
Hey, I have not tried these two before, just heard from cols, for them, when they are puzzled about movements, drink a glass of orange juice and lay down flat and the movements can come. Another way is to hold your breath (not too long of course) and observe your tummy and it actually can move (they say only in 2nd tri can use this method as the heartbeat becomes stronger). That will comfort you about well being of baby. Your baby is a smart girl, she knows that move too much will waste energy and she rather use it to grow stronger bones

Meow,
A tight hug and squeeze to you sister. What you have gone through is not easy. You are so gentle and sweet looking and yet so tough inside.. Yes, you are right, you all are very strong people, most important thing is strong inside. I got also very confident you can pull through, you and Lyn are the type that are so strong and got a giving character that even in the face of adversity, still can go around helping people. I am so lucky to have you all as friends. Jia you Meow, all these will be over soon.

Lyn
Hallow my sister
Yes indeed, actually since the day I see you all, I know you are tough cookies…yes, I can strongly sense the strong spirit in you right here, right now
Can sense your heart is flying lightly in the air now…And also you have the strength to help other sisters too. I am proud of you really

Yes, those people who think that that life is a paradise only with kids must really rethink this over-simplified belief because to me, life is paradise depending on how we make use of what is given to us by the upper forces. One of my married friends with two kids told me that at the end of the day, while she dotes a lot on her kids, she still thinks that the most important person in her life is her hubby because he will be the one to walk the journey with her till the end. I can't agree more.

Hey, I write up the info relevant to FSH and hormonal. Some terms are very medical. Its highlighting that FSH is not a statement against the number of eggs in the ovary but rather a statement of how well the hormonal forces are working together to stimulate the eggs. Meaning that working on hormonal harmony and balance can improve FSH (not the number of eggs but how well the eggs react). As today I have problem loading the win document, I shall PM (you go activate your private message function k) the whole text to you k. Lyn, I feel very happy for you that you have grown wings and in the mode of enjoying life with hubby cum ttcing but not total ttcing. You are the best

Had been reading this thread for awhile now.
Salute to all of you and me, we are really brave I think.

Starting my 1st IVF cycle this week...

Pink Martini,

Gambette for the big brave step
Not easy indeed. When I first told my family I wanted to do ivf, it is really alien to them. Which ivf centre are you doing it at? Gotten all your supplies like brazil nuts and ensure/annum milk/chicken or fish essence liao? Good to be kiasu abit and stock them up so you don't have to worry about the nitty gritties..

You will be doing injections yourself?

Pink Martini,

Sure, its like these:

Brazil nuts - the mineral of selenium is found in abundance in brazil nuts and this mineral helps the lining to thicken to assist implanation. Start with 2 per day during lucrin stage and can increase to 3 up to 5 a day during stimulation and 2WW stage. Must drink water after eating the nuts as they are really quite heaty.

Ensure/Annum - a few purposes. Also contains selenium to help in implantation. Second purpose is that it is rich in protein that can help eggs grow. 3rd purpose is that its richness in protein will also help to prevent hyperstimulation. Can drink one cup during lucrin, stimulation stage but after egg collection, increase to two cups a day, one in morning and one at night.

Chicken/fish essence - will help in eggs grow due to the richness in protein. Will also help in lining growth. Some prefer to take on alternate days while others prefer to take everyday from lucrin stage.

The amount of how much to take for all these food will also depend on scan results. If eggs and lining are already growing very fast, don't have to eat them so aggressively and vice versa.

Another important food is egg white - can start taking during lucrin stage say two a day and increase to about 6 a day after egg collection. Egg white is best prevention for hyper stimulation.

As a general rule, after egg collection, increase egg white and ensure to prevent hyper stimulation.

I did my cycle at nuh then.

Dear Gals,

This may seem a silly question but desperate people do desperate stuff
Just want to find out if anyone is facing the same situation or I am the only one.

Anyway, I failed my first ivf cycle and am continuing to try natural till my next cycle. Usually after baby dance, I will prop my butt up on a small pillow for about 30 minutes, to keep dh's "troops" in. Then, I will remove the small pillow and sleep through the night. However, in the morning, I realise that my panty is damp (quite a big patch) and I fear all hb's "troops" have flowed out. Did anyone encounter this?

Am beginning to wonder if there's anything wrong with my body structure. Dr remarked that my uterus is tilted downwards during ET but I didn't pursue then. Since I am lying flat, it should not flow out, right?

Perhaps I am just being paranoid. Surprisingly, I don't remember having this concern previously. Sigh......

Dana,

Heeeheeee...actually my hubby gave me a very good answer and usually guys know about such things the best. That is, in the split second after ejaculation, all the fit soldiers would have be shot out immediately and starts to toward uterus. The soldiers that eventually flow out are not unfit ones and you will not have to care a lot about them…heeeee…so don't worry about the backflow that usually contains the weak guys according to my hubby…
All the best to your natural ttcing and may you strike soon..

TGIF sisters.

pink martini hi!! I did my fresh and fet at kkivf. Just graduated. A few sisters in the ivf support group are with CARE.

dana, i tried ur method after babydance too and in morning my undies also wet leh but i believe the sperms have swim up, dun worry. I also have retroverted womb.

Girls, i saw my baby heartbeat le!! I actually teared when i was asking the sonographer abt the scan. Baby is 6mm, shld be 6 weeks now. Very happy, thanks for all the support and encouragement you have given me. =))
dr Loh being careful asked me to see him again next thurs as he will be away 2nd to 5th june. Will be mc till next thurs.

Hi babygalore and Gan,

Thanks for your replies! Now, at least I know that I am not abnormal
Phew......

babyglore, thanks for your wishes. All the best for your pregnancy too. I have been a silent reader and have learnt much from your posts. Thanks!

Gan, congrats and you take care and rest more.

pink martini, lucrin stage is the suppression stage and gonal f is simulation. so i supposed lucrin is the buserelin stage, just that using different drugs.

Hsve u started your injections? You are very brave to inject yourself. I got my hubby to inject for me throughout the cycle.

Meow, Lyn and Dana, thanks.

Meow, How are you doing?

me ok!! Back to my usual cheerful self ler. Yday cleaned the house. Invigorating!!

I've got dr zou's meds to try flush out the unwanted stuff inside me lo. Hehhee. Hope it works. I dun wanna go thru another day surgery manz..

Monday back to work for me ler. A bit scared cos nvr see colls for so long ler. Withdrawal symptoms wor.

Gan,
What does FET means? Using thawed embryos for a cycle? U got successful on an FET? Can share your experience?

Yup I've started on Buserelin, supposed to help increase the success rate cos I've got med-severe endo. And yes, did the injects myself cos husband can't b home most mornings, his working hours are quite irregular.
It's not too bad cos did SO-IUI last year and used Puregon pen before. But without the pen injects, Buserelin seemed harder and more painful but still ok la...

Babygalore,
Shall go get the stuff you recommended. But Brazil Nuts, where do I get them? Can get from NTUC? And Ensure, any flavour will do right? Cos I remember taking them when I was very much younger cos too underweight and doc wants me to gain some pounds! Only liked the strawberry flavoured... Hee...

Meow, glad to hear you are ok and also taking Dr Zou's med to tiao your body. Do take care.

Pink martini, FET is Frozen Embryo Transfer, yes used thawed embryos for a cycle. I did a fresh cycle last dec, not successful. So just did a FET in April and transferred 3 embbies, now preggy with singleton.

Some of the girls with CARE Paragon mentioned that they use an ice cube to numb the area before the inject and less painful. maybe u can try that too.

I bought brazil nuts from carrefour. You can also buy from giant, the NTUC at AMK hub and cold storage. For ensure, i took all 3 flavours before but dring simulation didn't take chocolate coz i was afraid there is some caffine.

hey ladies taking ensure milk, can you tell me how many scoops you use to make a cup? The instructions on the tin says 6 scoops, but i find it too much?

gan, so i din seee wrongly... the dosage is really that much....
i recalled babyg recommend taking 2 cups after stim... whoa, is one large tin size enough?

Meow, i m happy that u r back to ur usual cheerful self! Life is too short to be miserable so remember must be happy everyday and take everything in life positively. Return to work will have u forget unhappy events faster and all wounds will heal with time, jia you sister.

Tigi, if i dun remembered wrongly, one large tin lasted me 2 weeks. But i normally take 1 cup a day for breakfast.

Rostrum, thanks.

pink martini, i think yoga is fine during simulation and lucin stage but not in 2ww. But to be sure, maybe should also check with ur doc?

Gan
Congratulations..heheeheee.. You must be jumping up and down inside but yet cannot behave so crazily infront of the sonographer
I am really happy for you. You hubby must be equally high right? It’s a strong affirmation from baby. From now on, rest as much as possible over the weekends and after work. Congrats again

Dana
Don’t mention it and thanks for your well wishes, I will take care. You are definitely very normal
Just a a side note, its slightly better to babydance in the morning when the soldiers are recharged from a night's rest. So if its on a weekend that you think you might ovulate, can try in the morning. Of course weekday, its ok to try at night because morning is very rush and need to rush to work..heeee…

Pink Martini,
I got brazil nuts from cold storage nuts section that is already pre-packed there. Check the expiry date, its usually quite close…For ensure, I took vanilla flavour. U are lucky that you like the strawberry flavour because for me, I don't like any. So you must be very petite still
Same here, when I was in primary school, the teacher will single me out as needing free milk from the advertiser at school as I was so small loh.

Yeah, during 2WW, can replace yoga with slow walking toward the later part of 2WW for blood circulation (first few days after 2WW, most sisters recommend bedrest or rest in sitting position). For stimulation stage, can still yoga but just avoid those "abdominal crush" asanas such as forward bends because it will cause a lot of discomforts for ovaries. The butterfly asana is ok as it opens up the pelvic and encourages blood flow without crushing the ovaries. During lucrin stage, most poses are safe to do.

Tigi
Yes, same here, I found 6 scoops can be quite overwhelming, so I used four only as most important must be able to swallow it without so much effort wor ;p. So after egg collection, can drink two cups (highly recommended by NUH nurses to fight hyper stimulation risk) with 4-5 scoops ....better not use full 6 scoops and later develop a phobia for it. I find one big tin size enough if use four scoops.

Meow,
Hope you started your Monday smoothly, hang in there, its going to be end of the day in less than a few hours..

Gals, jus an update. I'm starting stimulation stage on Wed, kind of nervous liao- abt the quality & quantity, haha... But I'll leave it to GOD!

BabyG, thxs for ur info. Is there anything special I should take during stimulation stage?

Gals, I love Ensure Chocolate, but scarec fattening so i bought the Immunocal, does it serves the same purpose but of cos is wat much ex than Ensure.

babygalore yes very happy to see heartbeat..but i just had another blood show....was sitting on sofa surfing the net, when i stood up, felt a gush of blood flowing down, rush down to kk 24 hrs immediately....was lucky coz dr loh happens to walk in there and he scans and checked me. Bb heart still pumping and i think bb has grown coz i can differentiate the head and body. Dr loh said i am bleeding alot and is from the placenta. Got another jab and now home resting. Seeing dr loh again on thurs before he goes for a lecture 2 to 5 june.

I didn't cry...not sure was i shocked by what happened.....i never expect pregnancy to be like this. I wish i am like the rest who were complaining abt bad ms....rather than seeing blood....this is like 2nd time since a short 2 weeks. Can only hope for the best to sail thru the rest of the months

gan, sounds v scary to see blood gush... but glad to hear bb is okay and is growing well! HAve lot of rest and hold on past the first trimester when things will become more stabilized... jia you!!

Gan, so lucky tt Dr Loh happens to be there...I can imagine the panic attack when blood gushing out...U really must CRIB le...please please...ok?
Hope u will not c blood again...take care!

Gan,
It sounds scary! Hope you are feeling beta....

Hi Tigi
I've just started suprefact last Thu as well so same as u in supression stage now. When's your stimulation jabs starting?
Mine should be on 4 Jun. Hope there won't b any side effects...

Anyone can advise me pls...
I'm on Lucrin n starting Puregon tomorrow. Got some slight spotting fr Sun till nw. Is it normal?
I call up KK n the nurse told me spotting is still ok n ask me carry on the jabs as per schedule. I'm kind of worried, should i go dw to KK n c doc nw?

Hi, Faith. It's ok to have spotting during lucrin and i even have af during that stage. no worries.

Gan,
have a good rest. Seems we both are at the same boat, no ms but frequent bleeding for 1st tri.Be strong for the bb and keep praying for the little one.

Babyg,
how're u doing? I can't join those pilates or prenatal yoga cos all the schedules din fit unless i form my own group. but i dun have enough ppl to form one. So meanwhile i just do some light exercise from the internet. My bb only active during the day time. She's early to wake and sleep.
Rest well and take good care of urself.

Elle, thxs a great deal! My mense also came while i was on lucrin. Hence nw suddenly spotting so kind of "what is wrong with my body" & i'm gg stimulation stage le so kind of worried is it still ok to proceed. Call up KK 7.30am in the morning n no one revert, wondering if I should go c Dr Loh. Feeling kind of something pressing on my virgina, maybe should minimising walking. Haha... Talking as if i'm preg liao.

Gan, u should hv more rest. Is so hard for us to conceive so all the more pls take care of urself n BB.

Elle, so hw many mths are u nw? U also with KK?

Faith, i remember last time when i'm on stimulation i also have spotting but still proceed with the jab. I think u can drop Dr Loh an email and see wat he says. But from wat i know it should be fine.

I'm 6 months this week and I conceived naturally after failed 2 fresh cycle. I did my cycle last time at SGH. Baby dust to you in advance

pink martini, i am going baack for blood test and scan next Friday, hopefully can get the green light to start Gonal F....

Today i got a blue black mark on my tummy from injecting Suprefact... shed some blood while pulling the needle out... anyone got idea how to clear the ugly blue black and prevent this??

Woah! Neverthless CONGRATS to u, Elle. Enjoy ur motherhood

Catching ur bbdust, thxs, thxs!

Tigi, did u press the tummy area bef injecting? U injecting urself or DH?

Hi Faith,

When I did my ivf cycle, my af came when I was on lucrin and it lasted longer than usual, although it became spotting towards the later days.

I checked with the nurses from KK ivf centre then. They said it's normal and the spotting should stop a few days after starting on puregon. Apparently, it's the effect of lucrin.

Just to share.

Tigi, we are exactly on the same schedule. Starting Gonal F next Friday.
Ya, did u stretch your skin b4 injecting? Stretch with 2 fingers then inject. Leave needle inside after medicine has gone in for a few more secs. Then gently pull it out. Shouldn't leave any marks at all.

Thxs for sharing Dana. My menses stop on Thurs and was ok, till spotting a bit on Sunday till nw. Kind of worried. Today seems more leh. Last few days is only when i wipe then i c, today got stain abit on panties. Tomorrow I starting puregon le. Hopefully it go away or should I go c Dr Loh?

Faith - Your experience seems different from mine. Mine was af, v light flow (panty liner sufficient kind), spotting, then no more. To be safe, perhaps you want to call up ivf centre to check with the nurses? Or email to Dr Loh? If they can give you some advice over phone or email, then you may save a trip and long waiting time to see Dr Loh.