Childless Not By Choice Group

Rostrum
hehee...yes, I like to do a lot of research but ensure the research is not too superficial or can be dangerous.

yeah sister, its best to do it for general well being as a starting point and the motivation is especially strong after 30..

hey, you know for meditation, after you are used to it, will be will like eating, your body will automatically crave for it. Doze off is good in a sense that its telling you you need more beauty sleep wor!
one way to prevent dozing off is to keep the eyes half opened, gazing at a focal point, such as vase. Another method is to focus on your breathing, breath in four counts, hold for 1 to 2 counts and exhale on a count of 8. Key is to lengthen the exhaling for calming purpose and to eliminate used air in the lungs.

Before O, I slow jog, you can roughly guage the speed, its 5 rounds of the outer track in 30 mins. After O, I brisk walk too to reduce any jerky impact. The speed is like 5 rounds in 40mins. So brisk walk is fine, to get the blood to circulate and keep the spirit up!

Gan and Rostrum
Go dig out the numbers and ask me what you think its good to know k..

Gan,
Yes, indeed your estradiol level lower than ideal based on the lab's range, very close the the minimum. Same as my case. But if you go ask the doctor, they will tell you its normal because they can be theoretical sometimes. Good that you went acu and eat chinese medicine to overcome sister..We both are "estradiolly challenged"

Rostrum,
Gan is right, 10 to 12mm will be cushiony with lots of blood vessels condusive for implanation and about 8mmn is when the "triple layer" appears that is viewed scientically as essential for implantation. So when reach 8mm, its like a confidence injection. Although I have read overseas got people bfp with even 6mm.

Your lining is great just before ovulation. For egg, at 17mm, you could have ovulated the following day at 19mm. 19mm to 20mm is ideal. 22mm still can and 25mm is too "old". Yes, Dr Zou is right, generally, the lining just before O is representative of the final environment that the embryo will ultimate get. For me, I went to scan again after O to check if I indeed O and to double confirm if my lining is really so "therok"..

If you know that you do ovulate, its not necessary to scan again after O actually.

babygalore, u r right for both bt done at kkivf and tmc at different years, all doc says normal coz within normal range. No wonder my lining took longer time to reach 8mm for my current fet.

babygalore actually id didn't take much TCM before the FET. except the last 6 days before ET coz was desparate for my lining to grow.

babyG,
Ok, will take note of the meditation part...hee...hope I dun doze off the next time....
Orh, I dun do brisk walk...duno y? I prefer jogging...and I dun go stadium...so duno hw to agar...grrr...
My D3 BT result at NUH last year in Oct for E2 is 81 pmol/L leh...v low also right?
so this means egg quality no good also?
Actually looking back, I really do nothing for my last cycle, no supplement, no TCM, no exercise and I oni started FA one month before IVF...Oni tried eating healthily...

Babygalore! OMG! Thanks for the very informative sharing! Oh dear, did i make you spend alot of time and effort typing out? Oh dear so paiseh! But really thank you SOOO much!

And first of all, great to hear you have scanned baby and everything is in good hands! Time flies and very soon, you will be proud mummy of a cute cuddly newborn! So happy for you!

After reading your stats, you know what? I am exactly the same as you. I went to dig out my file, hehe, here is my stats.

Hormone:
My D3 Estradiol also 78 and the normal range was 77 to 2382 pmol. I am like you and Gan, estradiol challenged! This is also proven by my monthly estrogen deficiency symptoms such as hot flashes, irritability, dry down under and low libido. This is also proven by my ice cold BBT, never passing 36.4 even after O. This is also proven in my FET cycle where i had to try so hard to bring up my lining and becuz estrogen was weak, progesterone was also weak so end up i lost my baby at 5 weeks due to rock bottom progesterone. My normal month progesterone also borderline.

Egg quality:
I always have average eggs and 50% fertilisation also. In a way, like you shared, my estrogen problem affected the older fresh cycles. Only this past fresh cycle, i doubled up on multivits and supplements then i managed to have a few top grade embryos.

I so agree with what you shared about food. In fact i also take royal jelly, blackmores multivits and i take together with centrum. Will also check out some of the other foods you mentioned. Luckily recent months, our house milk changed from HL to full cream too. Eh, we still cannot take soy products hor? I recently thought actually i should be ok to take soy products since i am estrogen deficient.

Hb also taking his royal jelly, zinc, cordyceps and vit E.

The next thing i really really need to tackle is stress. I am easily stressed. Thats really not good for me. Must try to distract myself and destress!

Hey sis, thanks again for your sharing, i am so going to benefit referencing from you!

BabyG,
Wld also like to check wif u wat does elevated E2 reading during IVF means? I rmb tt time my E2 reading was quite high at about 27000 towards the end of stage 2...Do u noe wat does this means?

Gan,
I rmb tt time before I do OR, my lining is 12mm...Dr Zou suspect my progestrone drop drastically during my 2ww...tts y AF report within the 1st week...

miraclebaby...no diff, except some on off dull cramp but not sure is it because i didn't go toilet yesterday. sometimes actually hopping i can wake up and 'merlion', at least i know for sure. Today so blur, i have already put on contact lens and went to do sometime..10 mins later, forgotten i have contact on and put on another pair, then i start thinking why everything so blur. Too absentminded le.
How r u? Felt any diff?

Gan

since this week I already v scared. I still have sore boobs and feel gassy but I took pregnyl jab which u didn't and these can be the side effects. I don't have cramps just some twinges here and there and I don't know whether due to uterus or just gas in gut.

Wah...u can be bothered to put on contacts at home?

miraclebaby, i dun like to wear specs, waste $ hor...since i am using daily disposable.

I started feeling alittle jitters these 2 days. got some 'what if' tots.

rostrum, yes think of doing that before. But abit scared leh, funny hor, ivf jabs not scared, do lasik scared.
But now it is much cheaper to do when compared to few years ago.

hey ur lining of 12mm is very good, did Dr Zou says why progesterone will drop? But dun worry, when do IVF they would do a D8 BT to check your progesterone level.

Shit...I just had a big sneeze and could feel my tummy contracting....

Gan

I had jitters quite a few days back already because scared to fail again. With every ivf, think confidence level will drop especially in 2nd week. It's normal to have jitters...I try to relax but sometimes quite difficult...tear easily plus heart like beating faster than normal...

miraclebaby, dun worry, i read books and google net before sneezing and coughing won't affect the embbies.
I also cough quite badly till i can feel tummy contracting as i want to throw out due to the cough

Gan, Rostrum, Sunflower and Lyn,
I went back to check liao, during my first day3 test, my Estradiol level was 78 and the normal range for NUH for follicular phase (period when follicular was forming including day 3) is 90 - 716 pmol/L. More stringent that kkivf. I just remembered I kept staring at the range and thought to myself, Estradiol is too low liao. I asked Prof Wong and he said its not too bad. I am not sure about his thinking but perhaps he might think that when we do ivf, all the hormones will be under control by injections and a small shortfall can be easily corrected by the injections.. He said FSH reading is more important.

But I don't like that reading, so went back to reseach on tcm books and as told you all earlier, estradiol is important to stimulate egg growth and lining and a good level of estradiol (probably more important for natural cycle) right from the start will encourage good egg growth, good lining and eventually, a good level of progesterone. So if the start of the cycle is lead by good hormones, the cycle will be smoother and on the other hand, if things are not right from the start, all that follow will be more challenging. But not to worry there are many things we can do to improve estrogen.

Estrogen (Yin in tcm terms). Food list that increases estrogen or inhibits estrogen:
http://dogtorj.tripod.com/id46.html
You will notice that berries (except for cherries) inhibit yin. Nevertheless, I also read that blackberries and blueberries promote healthy blood flow and are powerful antioxidant and so I eat them since the benefits are greater than the costs To counter that, I drink a apple, carrot and beet root juice without ice twice a week during follicular phase. These three fruits all promote estrogen. Don't eat too much potato although it promotes estrogen as potato is simple carbohydrate and not so good for fertility. Don't eat too much papaya too. . Eat more seeds. For soya, Sunny, you can eat more as it truly promotes estrogen. But I hesitate to write that because for some sisters, their challenge is that the egg shell is too hard for the sperm to penetrate for natural cycles. And soya will worsen that as it causes harder egg shell. I don't think I have that issue so I do eat quite a bit of soya. But if you are unclear, eat it but not excessive.

You will also notice that citrus fruits inhibit yin, but please don't cut them out totally as natural vitamin C also boosts immunity and egg quality. Also, although a lot of fruits and vegetables inhibit estrogen, but still must eat them as they got antioxidant to fight ovary aging and promotes digestion for us to absorb good nutrients. So don't take the food list totally at face value. Cannot totally rely on pill form of vitamin C too. Remember, while trying to tilt toward a more estrogen rich diet, everything in moderation very important. Excess in anything becomes poison, even if its good.

According to tcm, stress is one of the biggest enemy of estrogen. If you are STRESSED, your estrogen will be LOW. So by all means, please control stress using exercise, recreation and healthy mentality k. I am very clear on this point because read so much about how stress affects estrogen production. We always hear that stress inhibits fertility and putting it down to specific hormones, its 100% true.

After I reduced stressed and adjust the diet, my 2nd reading for estradiol improved to 156pmol/L, still low to me but at least climbed up and personally, six sense tells me that reducing stress plays a big part.

Gan,
Yes, to the drs its normal theoretically, but I believe in reality, our estrogen is too low for a healthy ovulation. Its good to know but nevermind about it k. At least you did eat tcm during few days before ET, even a few days of chinese medicine do make a big difference. Yes, Its perfectly normal to have "what if" thoughts. Babydusts to you k
Like to Miracle, hope all this will not matter to you anymore.

Rostrum.
Yes, your E2 is also too low and E2 is needed to stimulate good egg. Nevermind, there is a lot you can do to improve your hormones yourself. And during IVF for high E2, it shows that your body is responding very well to gonal F such that E2 escalated. If the E2 is too high and shoots above acceptable range, the dr will monitor you for hyper stimulation. That is what nuh nurse told me. But since they did not warn you, you most likely did not exceed. For next cycle, try to take some supplement at least k..will help the body to make good hormones you know
If you don't like to brisk walk, after ovulaton, just go for walk in the park with hubby and don't jog because its not good to have the insecured feeling about disturbing the potentially implanting embryo. It will only add to stress.

You can improve your estrogen eventually one. Jia you sister

Sunflower,
Don't mention it sister
If I want to write, might as well write a comprehensive one….. Thanks too..heheeee….I also hope the nine months can pass very fast..

Yes, Sunflower, same as other sisters and me, seems like you also got low estrogen issue. And the low estrogen is not helping you with progesterone (bbt) in the 2nd half of your cycle. Yes, I remember you lost your little precious one, I feel very sorry about your loss sister. Its is profound loss and nothing can replace him/her. I am sure your little one where ever he or she may be now, will want you to have a better tomorrow and will be proud if mummy can bring forth him/her a baby brother or sister. So be confident that the next try will be better.

I am not a doctor or tcm doctor to really conclude if its really that that went wrong (but my experience when we ask ivf drs, they won't comment too much on hormones) but I can say that from my own experience, it could be and by improving your estrogen level, it will only make things better and not worst. Seems like your issues are very similar to mine, low estrogen and low fertilisation rate. If you believe you don't have any issue with egg shell (you can check with kkivf if they did assisted hatching for you. If they did not, you don't have that issue), you can boost up on soya to improve your estrogen. Maybe one reasonable serving a day especially before ovulation. Also, try to reduce stress ok, it is very solvable problem. If you eat both blackmores and centrum at the same time, may I suggest to you to drop one because if we eat too much vits, our liver will be overworked in breaking down the vits and it will have less room to generate sufficient hormones. Just eat blackmores or (not and) centrum + a fish oil + Co10. And good that you already taking royal jelly, continue to take it.

What your hubby is taking is sufficient. Yes Sunny, you are right, must must tackle stress. Do it with your hubby, go for walks in the garden together
Now that you know what you need to work on. It will get better and better for you

Sisters,
I will write a list of kidney yin deficient good list from one tcm book later. So use it as a reference with discretion and not obey 100% because I am not a tcm dr after all and I don't want to end up misleading you all in case there are blind spots I have missed out since it takes at least 4 years to study chinese medicine ok. While eating the nutritional food, always remember the moderation rule.

Actually dang1 gui1 is a good herb to increase estrogen and nourish yin. But I heard from a tcm dr that just downing ourselves with dang1 gui1 blindly is not good too. Maybe once in a while, before ovulation, can cook dang gui with dang3 sheng1 + chicken + wolfberries just as a soup to drink. Don’t' eat dang gui after you know you have ovulated.

Meow,
I am sure everything will go smoothly for you. Baby dusts

Miraclebaby,
Yes, hope all these will not matter to you anymore. Baby dusts again too

Babygalore, thanks for the information on food to eat etc, will share with my sister.

Miraclebaby, no lah not flu, few days lying down on bed, felt something choke in the throat, started coughing quite badly.
Did u take vit C daily? I am taking vit c daily, do take that will help in keeping flu/cold away

Meow, eveything will be ok.. rest well soon ET liao..

Ladies, piece of bad news.. My BT was negative! Didnt want to post at the ivf thread coz so many gd news dun want to affect them..

Babygalore, thanks for taking the time and effort to write and share. Yup, seems like estrogen is my culprit. For 2 years i totally and blindly cut soya when i started ttc and heard its not good, i suspect that might have lead to my low estrogen problem. Cus i remember before that i always had ewcm but when i stopped, i became very dry every month. Yup, KKH didnt do laser hatching for me. I guess i can take soya still to boost estrogen but like you said, everything in moderation.

I guess i overkill taking blackmores and centrum at the same time. I went to a pharmacist and showed her if i can take both, she laughed, said i overdoing but wont die from it. Now you brought up a good point. Though i wont die from it, my liver will suffer. OK, i better take blackmores and centrum alternately. My dangui i order pills from ebay and it has taken 2 months and still not here, gone liao. Dangui can buy from herbal hall?

Lyn, sorry to hear. This is fresh cycle? Got any more frozen embryos to do FET? Get strong then try again ok?

I was told sometime some people body too stressed when doing fresh thats why no BFP but FET on the other hand less intensive can have better results. I guess i am one of those. My fresh cycles never succeeded, both my BFP came from FET. Till now, i even think next fresh cycle, can i just ER and dont ET and do FET month later.

sunny, dangui can buy from herbal hall. can ask them slice for you.

Afer ur menses, u can use a few pieces of dang gui and double boil with a hardboil egg. I have taken that last time when i was younger after my menses. but later become lazy and never take care of myself.

I suspect I may have caught a Yeast Infection (ichy down under). I was down with flu last week and was given a course of antibodies. This could have destroyed all the good bacteria. Do I need to see a gynae or just a GP can help?

Rostrum, i have just went to post office to send u the book.

Jude i am not sure if GP is ok, but the other time i had UTI i went to kk 24hrs woman clinic.

Gan,
No problem

Lyn,
Sister, in my eyes, you have won and fought a very beautiful battle. Really. Please be very proud of yourself no matter what. Find ways to vent including here and as I said, at the end of the day, I still think you have won. After I failed my ivf, I looked at those who look down on me and think to myself, you are the naïve people, at least I try and I am very proud of at least trying. So give yourself a lot of credit for that alright. You really are the best and very admirable woman.

Sure, specifically, these three health supplements are known to help to reduce FSH: spirulina (a type of algae that is very rich in protein), royal jelly and wheatgrass. It might not be good to eat the them all since it will be too taxing on our system. But try to eat at least two. If you want to eat wheatgrass, don't eat the pill form, always better to drink the juice because easier for body to absorb and more wholesome. For royal jelly, you eating nature farm that is from Australia is it? I know that Australia/New Zealand sourced royal jelly and honey are better than from US because these two countries are less industrialized than US. For spirulina, you can find pill supplements from watsons. I also read that eating seaweed (those you find in miso soup) is good for yin and also ovarian health as it’s a form of algae too.

For food to avoid, must cut down on sugar, and refined carbo (white brown, white sugar, white rice (no choice on this I believe), potato, coffee and alchohol. Reduced processed food especially cured meat like ham and sausages. Also food like pizza and avoid walking to processed section at supermarket. Also, important to remember that by balancing out the hormones as a whole (good estrogen level that will lead to overall balance), the FSH level could also see improvement as all these hormones are tied together and one affects the other. Cannot just target FSH alone. Therefore, all the exercises, food and mental suggestions that I highlighted earlier to balance out hormones and egg quality above will all be very very relevant. Physically, its good to try to increase blood flow to the ovaries as blood brings oxygen and can "yang3 hua4" oxygenate the ovaries and eggs. Any organ that lacks oxygen will not be healthy and young. The same goes for ovaries. Must must exercise some how. As we grow older, all the more must exercise as our metabolism slows down and that is another reason why our organs age.

While watching TV at home with nothing else on hand, good to do the butterfly poses and forward bending poses:

http://www.healthandyoga.com/HTML/yoga/asanas/full_butterfly.asp

http://www.yinyoga.com/ys2_2.0_asanas_butterfly.php

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gqPmI__5g2k&feature=related

The butterfly pose has several variations and the idea is to hold the position for about 5 minutes. It the most powerful pose that nourishes the pelvic organs. One of its benefit is to resolve many menstrual problem. While holding the pose, deep breathe normally. Deep breathe means breathe in on count of 4 (make sure abdomen is full bloated), hold for a count of two and breathe out at count of 8 (make sure abdomen is fully deflated after exhaling). When deep breathing, shoulders should not move at all.

http://www.yogajournal.com/poses/477

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aW_YpurcqIg

The forward bend also helps to nourish the pelvic organs by pumping the uterus and ovaries with blood flow. One of its known benefit is a remedy for fertility. One caution is that people with high blood pressure cannot do the forward bend pose or will feel giddy. After ovulation, just do the butterfly pose and don't do this forward bend.

- Sit bent at the hips, stretch both hands straight above the head and at the same time, take a deep breathe in.
- Next, exhale and look toward your toes and at the same time bend with hands still stretched out to try to touch the toes.
- While holding that bending down position (try to hold for whole breaths), deep breath normally and with every exhaling, try to reach bend more forward.
- check that knees are kept straight and not bent.

When I attend yoga classes, everytime when the teacher is teaching other students, I will be doing this two poses because I personally believe they are so beneficiary.

I believe it will take at least 3 months or more for any effect to be seen as our cells regenerate every 100 days. Don’t hurry your body and mind, give them time to regenerate and rejuvenate. You may not want to start doing all these right now. Rest first and when you are less occupied in thoughts, revisit all these suggestions again k…I will always be behind you k

Sunflower,
You are welcome
Yes, can eat soya since you don't have hard egg shell. But also don't let your hubby eat too much soya, its reduce the viability of sperms if overdose. Nevermind, you can alternate between the two vits now that you know liao. I am sure you liver reward you in due time for that. Yes, like what Gan said, medical halls sell the dry whole danggui which you can ask them to slice. For more common man medical halls like Fu Hwa, they also sell already sliced ones in plastic containers, quite cheap at less than 5 dollars. If you got time, better to boil yourself for the wholesome benefit. The recipe Gan provided is easy and nutritious, I learnt something today
Thanks Gan.

Jude,
A GP can help provided that you must be sure you are not pregnant. Otherwise, better see gynae. For now, start eating yogurt, wear cotton underwear, wear more skirts and not shorts, if can, at night, don't wear underwear, just wear a long dress to bed. Don’t swim now.

Gan,
I also scared...haha...bt I really wan to go for lasik when I m ready...
Ya...I noe KKH check for D8 progestrone BT...tt is one of the reason I choose to go there...

BabyG,
Thanks for the explaination on E2...

Actually one easy way to consume Dang Gui is to double boil it wif 2 hard boiled eggs, wif wolfberries and red dates..for 1 hr +...the eat the egg + yolk and drink the soup...v good before O also...come to tink of tt I hv not taken it for v long le...cos I m currently taking TCM...scared too heaty...

Thanks Gan and Babygalore for your reply.

Will go take more yogurt...hope the symptoms will go away soon!

I don't have a regular gynae now and is reluctant to go to KK....Haiz

Now tt u gals mention..I also cut off all soy pdts as advised by TCM and I hv not seen my EWCM for v long le...is tt the reason?

Lyn,
V sorry to hear abt the news...**hugs**...

Jude,
U can go to any gynae...then they will give u cream and inserts...
Actually sometimes I will feel itchy also esp when I wear v tight pants...
Recently, I went to Guardian to get the brand Canestan (cream) to apply and the itchy stop...they got inserts too...bt I suggest u consult a gynae first...

BabyG,
I heard if we do not hv EWCM means we are infertile issit? I asked TCM and gynae before and they say its normal..sometimes is inside bt din flow out...I used to hv alot of EWCM before...any idea hw to increase EWCM?

Thanks Babygalore & Gan

Hi Lyn, yes i took DHEA and that fresh cycle i had better graded or in fact, top graded embryos for the 1st time! A stark improvement from all my older fresh cycles where embryos were only average grades. But i cant be sure if DHEA was my saving grace as i also took centrum, wheatgrass, flaxseed oil, vitex, royal jelly before that so it might be a combination that helped me got better eggs and embryos.

I agree with babygalore, you have tried your best and fought well. No frozen embryos never mind, try different therapy/strategy from now to prepare and boost your next fresh cycle for more and better embryos. I am also doing that now. I believe each cycle will only get better and better cuz we will know better how to prepare ourselves for each subsequent cycle. So we will have better response de ok? You are under Dr F right? He's a very good ivf dr. I would have gone to him if not for the cost.

Lyn
*hugz* Pls take care, take time to tiao your body n try again!

Babygalore
Thanks for your info u had posted. Pls rest well and wish u have a smooth mths ahead!

Gan
U working tmr? Rem to take it easy, dun stress yourself and walk slowly k..

Lyn
You are always welcome. Jia you sister.

Rostrum
No problem. Little or no ewcm does not mean infertile but a lot of ewcm means the sperm can live longer in the woman's body because ewcm forms a protection pool for the sperm to live in the very acidic virginal. It also helps the sperm to swim with ease to the uterus. Actually estrogen is the hormones that helps to produce ewcm. So estrogen rich food can help. Before I went to research on estrogen rich food, I personally tried these food and they all worked for me: green tea. No doubt its liang, but two or three cups over alternate days after menses and starting a week before your typical O day can help. Its moderation again. Drink it before 3pm, best is a while after lunch and not within two hours of eat vits and chinese medicine. Green tea works quite well for me. Another one is grapefruit juice. It will really worked for me but I would not advise this if people tell you to because later I found that it might inhibit estrogen. Its quite controversial but there is a specific element in grapefruit that can trigger ewcm although it inhibits estrogen. Next is danggui, that one can really work too. After menses, just before O. Your recipe for danggui sounds yummy too
. Maybe you can casually ask dr zou if she adds danggui to your medicine mixture and if she ask why you ask, just say that your mum makes danggui for you after menses to drink and you want to see if its ok and not overdose. You don't want to let her think you don't trust her medication. If she said not inside, you can cook yourself once after menses finished? Another one I have not tried is evening primose oil but since we are eating so much vits liao, this one not such a good idea. And please drink about 2 litres of water a day yah. Dehydration equals to not enough ewcm also. If you don't have hard egg shell issue, don't cut off soya completely. Two cups of soyabean milk a week is definitely ok one

If you want to try natural for the time being, can also consider pre-seed (a sperm friendly lubricant that can help sperm swim to uterus). You can buy from Unity. One internet sister I know also not enough ewcm used it and she bfp later on. She said it worked for her.

Hi Lyn,

I took DHEA for about 3.5 months but no effect for me. Did not manage to improve the number of embryos. Can't comment on the Quality as end up have to convert to IUI as I started ovulating early. Looks like DHEA may help in certain case. I still have 1.5 bottles if you keen to try. I can pass to you.

Noi,
K k
I will de

Sunflower,
No problem. You are good
, you managed to find vitex in Singapore or overseas? I know vitex is good for fertility but never know where to find..

Gan, i dont think so ley. They stored my grade 3 and 5 in one single straw. Maybe they store by gender? Cuz usually they will try to transfer 1B,1G if we are transferring 2 embies so maybe thats why they store like this, i suspect lah.

Babygalore, my Vitex was bought off the shelf at GNC but now they totally dont sell. I had to buy off ebay but my current order took so long to come, maybe lost in shipping or kenna confiscated by customs, so sad