Breastfeeding Support Group

jas
I was wondering are there really many mums who breastfeed? Like not so many, for some working mums, have to give up cos no place for them to express. Really not easy to pesevere...should give ourselves a pat on our backs..hehe.

Mel
How old is your bb?

Sorry, I am trying to remember who is who.
I can only remember Jas cos we both have Jan bbs.
stylobb/Jan 04/boy
jas/Jan 04/boy
desert/?/boy
blessed/?/gal
sarador/Feb 04?/gal (2nd kid)
helen?
helena?
mini?
maro?
mel?
quench?
giggler?
maple/apr 04/gal

quench
Yah, my factory also like closing down...hehe..I just keep at it lor.

styloBB

ya, mine's a Feb 04 baby.

Stress will affect milk supply. Try to eat nutritiously and relax a bit.

Press on!

Stylobb
PD says the bb is fine, he's crying coz he's tired but just cannot get to sleep. That's my boy case loh. Anyway, recently my boy become like urs, just want to be carried upright all the time. So tiring.
My boy was born on Feb 04

stylobb/Jan 04/boy
jas/Jan 04/boy
desert/Feb 04/boy
blessed/?/gal
sarador/Feb 04/gal (2nd kid)
helen?
helena/Mar 04/boy
mini?
maro?
mel/Apr 04
quench?
maple/apr 04/gal

desert
Now we sometimes can tell he's sleepy and trying to get to sleep, so we carry him and a short while he would fall asleep. I also wonder if it could be due to my flat having yellow lights instead of white lights cos yellow lights are dimmer, maybe he does not like it. One thing we realised last nite it could be due to the hot weather so we went to the room, switch on the aircon and he was ok. He loves the upright position that my hubby carries him in.

Helena
Yep, I keep stock in the freezer.

Sarador
Trying to, but now so easy to eat when you don't have appetite.

desert/stylo,

my bb also likes to be carried upright....
my MIL says she's a little fussypot

also happens when she's trying to get to sleep

just went back to work on mon.... had to take leave yest afternoon cos forgot to bring empty bottles to express into.... so absent minded!

stylo,

problem was i didn't even have a bottle to use to transfer to the disp bags...

but i oso missed baby too lah.... so excuse to see her earlier

stylobb
yeah very busy with work. You must take care of yourself, try to eat a little as you are still BF.

I think there are some mommies still BF but maybe the ratio is not high. One of my colleague is still BF and her son is 8 mth already.

jas
Work - me too, will be busy for the next one month. I try to eat a lot during dinner at my mum's. Hb bot me cheesecake, I could only finish half. Today it seemed my boy fussed again and refused to finish his milk, I told mum, just leave it, we are getting accustomed to his fussing, I said just let him cry a bit. Last nite too, dun know if he feels too hot...cos all wet and stinko...fussed...tested my patience... really felt like smacking his fat thighs..

styloBB

my baby boy is born in Mar 04.

first day back to work after maternity leave. managed to find the back of office where there are whole section of empty cubicles to pump my milk. my boss just told me i need to go Japan for a week. oh no.. need to leave my boy behind. somemore what about my breast feeding? thinking of ways to save some expressed breastmilk while in japan. if not have to pump n throw which is wasteful
so far been total breastfeeding my boy. but if to go japan for a wk may have to introduce formula since dun think i can stock up so much frozen EBM for him.

stylo,

you sound so cute when talking about smacking your boy's fat thighs:D

mini,

when is your trip? maybe got time to stock up a bit more frozen milk if you can delay trip....
but think you'll prob have to pump and discard milk while you're away, unless you can carry a fridge

i'm also wondering what to do if i'm away for course and have no fridge around

StyloBB,
My girl is born in Mar04. Just started work on Mon and was whole day in meeting, so cant really find time to express milk, think my factory is closing down soon also. My gynae told me Sporean are not so pro bfg, but i am surprised that people I know are all very commited, some even TBF for a year, that's why sometimes I am so stressed and guilty when my supply is dropping....

mini,
I heard from friends who went overseas trip that they stored BM in hotel fridge and bring back to Spore... probably is workable for you since Japan isnt that far, otherwise is so watseful to throw away... I am going Europe for a week in July, will do that also if still got supply....

Helena,
how is your boy drinking? can he finish his bottle now? Dont know why my girl drink very little this few days, cant even finish 60ml per feed during day time. At night also drink 80-100ml only, think should bring her to see PD. Dont know is it because my mom gave her too much water?

Hi m_maro

Recently my girl also cannot drink much. I think she drank about 4-5 oz of milkevery 3 hrs. Is this considered OK for a 13mth baby o not? I also dun know whether to bring her to PD and she also keeps crying at night.

hi quietbird,
This is my first baby so I have no idea how much should a 13 mths baby take, but i read somewhere that for baby 6mths above who are taking 3 solid meals per day, the recommended feed is 3 times a day and 6-7 oz per feed, maybe others can advise whether this is true?
But again, my hubby's colleague told me that her boy just refused to take milk at 1 year of age and since then she only gave him solid food. So probably your girl is more interested in solid food now?

hi b/fg mummies

i'm so upset ...
dunno why i just cannot stimulate milk letdown these 2 days ... my supply has dropped by more than half. my breasts feel hard... just tt the milk doesnt seem to come out. anyone has similar experiences? could this be due to stress or tiredness?

Girl,
my trip not confirmed yet. my boss suggest to go on wk of 24May. will try to delay the trip, but guess may have to go in early June.

maro,
how to transport EBM in the plane?

Mel & quench,
Just recall that 2 of my friends rent the industrial used pump to help stimulate the flow. My lactation consultant said its the most effective pump as the suctions is the closest to baby's one. I did not try because it is quite expensive and partly also the lactation consultant that I talked to was not really friendly, so did not go back to her after that. You may like to consider it an option if still committed to increase flow?

lea
Got milk or not? Is it painful? Make sure it's not clogged duct ok.. try to get your bb to suckle? Stress and fatigue sure affect..you working right? Mine comes but after 10mins, like no more milk..so sad.

mini
The feeling is different hor? Last time can look forward to biz trip...now will miss bb. Like what girl said, I dun think you can keep the bm...gotta pump and throw. Unless you freeze it and bring back in a cooler pak.

girl
His thighs are chubby, like pig's trotters. At my wits' end. I really wish I can stop his fussing. I feel so demoralised sometimes..
Yah lor, I'll be glad when six months is up and no longer have to b/feed, otherwise always have to make sure got time to pump and got place to use in office.

maro
But we quite committed leh, just that not enuf milk. Other countries different mah, my g/f in Canada gets 1 year off work and she can b/feed totally without disruption if she wants to. For us, the moment we go back to work, it's quite difficult. Good enuf that we still manage to hang on. I also used to feel stressed and guilty when I dun seem to produce enuf, all we hear that it's good to b/feed, yah we know it's good but when we dun produce enuf, then how? I mean, there are some whose fridges are over-flowing with bm supplies but I just did not have that amount to stock up. I just leave it for now, anyway already into 4.5 months...think I have done my best already.
I dun think you can store the bm for so long under fridge conditions... only if it's frozen then can keep.

jas
Read in the other thread that Joel cried...you get it every Friday... at least yours is once a week...not like me nearly every nite hoping it'll be better than the previous.
Oh, my colleague passed me a whole bag of bag clips...haha...enuf to last me a month! no need to use rubber bands or wire ties anymore..

quietbird
Hah, your bb so big already...the rest of us still blur-blur mums...hehe..

stylobb, yes i'm working. i dun think it's blocked ducts coz it doesnt feel the same as when i had blocked ducts last time, whereby only a portion of the breasts was hard. i can normally pump >200ml in 4-5 hours but these 2 days, only manage to get <100ml. are you giving your boy partial or full breastmilk? you're doing very well already coz i remember you worrying abt not being able to continue b/fg just before you went back to work. but you still managed to do it and b/f your boy till now

quietbird, you gal could be teething. my boy is also gg thru this phase ... he will wake up and cry and i have to latch him on to comfort him. your gal seems to be drinking a lot coz my boy who is 16 mths now only takes 2 bottles of milk when i'm at work and it's less than 6oz each. he takes 2 solid meals a day ... porridge for lunch and dinner.

Mini, Stylobb,
My friend freeze it in hotel fridge and transport abck using ice box on the plane. but not sure about flight distance, wonder if can ask flight attendant to keep it in freezer? I think quite pai seh rite?

I am due soon and in intend to breastfeed my baby, need some advice...

Do I have to really watch my diet during breastfeeding? I heard frm the old folks that cannot eat stuff like ginger &amp; rice wine..... BUT these are the things that we eat during confinement...How??

Pls help...

lea
Probably due to stress or tiredness. Me giving partial cos not enuf mah. Even if I pump more (!!), also won't be enuf, so I just leave it. He's also taking fm and by end of this month, my mum will be giving him cereal so it's ok. If I can pump out 200ml like you, I'll be very happy but never hit this amount leh.

maro
I brought back my bm from KL in the cooler box with the ice packs too but must quickly dump into the freezer...hehe... yah lor, quite pai seh, imagaine they ask you what it is and you say 'bm'..plus their storage space also limited right?

cher
Hello! I did abstain from ginger (eating it) and wine, that's why my mum said I looked so pale during my confinement but what to do, just sacrifice a bit lor. I think you can still have dishes cooked with ginger but dun eat the ginger, and I am told that the wine evaporates so should be ok too. When are you due?

hi stylobb,

my gal is Dec03 bb.

hi cher,

u cannot eat too much ginger coz it may cause wind in bb. for wine, as long as its cooked, not much prob. chinese herbs shld be avoided too esp the 1st 2 weeks coz it's no good for jandice.
i think its a choice u have to make. if u choose to BF, guess u have to sacrifice abit on confinement food. well i think if u take fish n a balance diet, it shldnt be a prob not to take ginger n wine.

me too did not take wine n chinese herbs at all. i took dishes cooked w ginger, but did not eat the ginger. all the best to u

Hi stylobb

You have forgotten about me in the list leh. I am really tired everyday after work. No time to come in often already. I think we just got to hang on. You know I just know that my collueague wife has breastfeed till now bb about one year plus. He told me his wife workplace very pro bfing. So lucky right. Another colleauge of mine better still 2 and a half year though at that time my workplace still don't have a fridge for her to store.She asked the canteen vendor to store for her. REally admire her. After hearing this, I am more encouraged. Jia you ok, Jas you jiayou too and the rest of the mommies. Don't stress yourslef too.

Hi Maro
Good to see you here. Next time maybe we can meet up to chit chat. Yours is a girl or boy sorry I forgot.

Moon

m_maro,

My boy drank about 125ml today. You can ask your mum to stop feeding your bb water cos it's not necessary as the breastmilk is made up of mostly water.
Mebbe bbs vary in their appetite. My neighbour's boy, who is 3 days older than mine, drinks 110 per feed. Then again, my boy is big-sized so perhaps he drinks more. Nowadays, the gap between 2 feeds has been lengthened to 3.5-4 hours.

My neighbour is looking after her grandnephew and the bb (2 months) only goes home on weekends. His father delivers 880ml of breastmilk to my neighbour evey morning.
I am wondering how the bb's mother has so much milk since the bb doesn't latch on. Lucky bb!

styloBB
My bb is a gal. So you still have to tahan 2 more months to stop BF? Really going to stop ah?

mini
you know my LC told me she had one patient who needs to go overseas for a few weeks. So she start storing until manage to get 100 or 200(cant remember) bottles and packets of milk! Hahaha funny thing was that her own fridge not enough to put, she got her parents, her in-laws and neighbours to help her store her milk in their freezer!

m_maro
my bb drink 120ml every 3 hrs, at night can drink 180ml. She only 1 month old. MIL also give her water in between about 50ml but water isn't very fulling. So don't think the problem is drinking too much water. But water like what Helena said is not necessary lor.

hi cher
i also though BF canot eat a lot of things. But my mum told me my grandmother who is a mother of 17 children consume a bottle of wine per week and had don't know how many ginger everyday and she BF everyone of them for long period of time. My uncles and aunties all grow up healthy, no problem leh.

Stylobb
I really admire u all working and expressing. If I am in ur case, I might give up bf, coz I will be demoralize by expressing. Must persevere on, u only hv 1.5 mths left. I also tell myself I hv 3 mths more. If all goes well after passing 6 mths, I hope to continue to bf until 9 mths.

Cher
My LC told me taking some ginger is ok, just dun take too much. Its better to avoid chinese herbs. As for wine, its ok to use for cooking coz it will be evaporated. If u really need to drink wine, u can limit to one small cup per day. For my case, I did not drink wine direct and I avoided most chinese herbs.

m_maro
How old is ur bb? If bb is nearing 3 mths, bb might tend to slow down his fd intake, my pd says that is norma.
By the way, even if ur bb is taking formula, there is no need to feed them water at all, coz formula nowadays are 95% water. U can just feed them a few spoonful everyday to let them get use to the taste of water.

blessed/Dec 03/gal
stylobb/Jan 04/boy
moon/Jan 04/boy
jas/Jan 04/boy
desert/Feb 04/boy
sarador/Feb 04/gal (2nd kid)
helen?
helena/Mar 04/boy
mini/Mar 04/boy
maro/Mar 04/gal
mel/Apr 04/gal
quench?
maple/apr 04/gal

mel
Probably will stop end of six months...if I can produce more bm, at least that motivates me but no leh, pump until so chaam get only 90ml, 120ml...sometimes 150ml.

stylobb, me oso still learning, a bit blur blur too....

lea, u mean ur boy is taking 2 bottles of milk onli hah, then wat is e interval time? My gal is oso taking 2 solid meals per day....porridge for lunch n dinner. But according to e instructions on e formula milk, it shld be 7 ounces but as she can't finish the milk recently, I had reduced to 5/6ounces liao. I suppose she is teething, but it is reali very tiring for us to wake up during e nite and comfort them, just pray tht this will be over soon. Does u feed ur boy when he wakes up at nite? Btw, how many teeths does ur boy have now?

cher,
i m on TBF but i still take ginger during confinement. most imptly is take in moderation, not too much. my baby has breastmilk jaundice(not due to ginger but due to hormones) n the jaundice cleared when he was 5wks old.

mel,
thats alot of milk stored! i m trying to delay the Japan trip so tat i can store some more milk. wow..your baby can drink so much! 120ml of formula milk or breastmilk? 180ml is really alot! my 2mths old boy drinks 125ml now n got once at night he drank abt 135ml.

styloBB,
agreed with u. last time always look forward to business trip but now not so as miss baby. know i will need to go japan once after back from maternity leave, but din expect to be so soon. just proposed to boss if i can go on wk of 30may instead of 24may.

any idea how shall i keep my frozen EDM to be frozen for the 7hrs flight journey? so far think can salvage the last 1-2days of milk if store in fridge. not sure how to transport the frozen EBM.

quietbird, ya, when i'm at work, he only takes 2 bottles of milk - at around 9am and 3pm. once i'm home, i'll feed him twice at night and once the next morning before i leave for work. same here! my boy doesnt seem to be drinking as much lately. but 5-6 ozs is very good already coz my boy def takes much lesser than that for his day feeds. yes, he will still wake up at night (since he was around 6-7 months old till now) and i will have to feed him, else he will cry and then start to wail if there is no response from me. he has 8 teeth now ... 4 on top and 4 below. how abt your gal?

stylobb
understand your frustration. sometime I also cannot tahan my boy fussing. hubby already 'smack' my boy's tight for a few times especially when he fuss for nothing.

my boss will be changing my work scope, add in more tasks to me, sian... really worried that I cannot handle and finding time to express.

that's what stressed me, every friday upon reaching just waiting for him to activate his crying... but yesterday night he also cry, very sian.. I think he is sleepy but still don't want to sleep. suddenly feel like giving him alcohol to help him sleep.. hee hee

me same as you.. pump until so chiam get so little. yesterday night worst, I pump for about an hour but still only get 100ml, less than normal.. so demoralising.. really feel like stopping now.

you start giving your boy Bee gor? My mum just let my boy had a taste of few teaspoons few days ago, and he seems to like it.

mini
seems like you got to pump and throw, coz for such a long period you will need to freeze the EBM, unless you can get the hotel to store the EBM in their freezer for you. But there will still be problem transfering frozen EBM back, by the time reach singapore, all would have thaw already and cannot re-freeze.

lea
have you tried to massage your breast? could it be blocked ducts?

cher
yeap, try to take lesser ginger during confinement coz ginger could cause colic in some babies. For me, I take very little ginger and rice wine. Ask my MIL to use little of them. Anyway, my appetite during confinement month is no good also, can't eat much, due to stress of sleepless night and BF.

serene
thanks for the encouraging words, I really admire your friends and colleagues. However, my target is still to BF till bb 6mths and I don't think I will extend it anymore.

Now most of the time I spend at home is expressing milk, not much time spend with my boy especially during weekdays at my mum's place. Now seems like my boy not very close to me. Will try to make up the time when he is 6mths old, and stop BF.

helena
If I have so much milk as the bb's mother I will be so happy.

Lea,
Did you try applying hot towel and massage before pumping? It should help to smoothen the flow.

StyloBB,
Think positive, you should feel lucky to get 90ml to 150ml and being able to hang on until 4 mths plus now, there are people like me only get 30-40ml per session. Sometimes just tell myself dont think too much, there are a lot of kids out there who were not fed on BM but still grow up healthily. Somemore with all these experiences, we sure can do better for the next kid ya!!

Hi Cher,
My PD says it doesnt matter if we take meals prepared with ginger, but like blessed said its recommended to avoid it for 1st and 2nd week so that if your baby do develop jaundice, it can be identified that its not caused by BM.

helena, mel, dessert,
My bb is abt 2 mths old now, she used to drink 100ml-120ml at one mth of age, but just slow down recently. After her last fed at 11pm taking around 80ml, she can sleep and wake up only at 5-6am next morning. On one hand I am happy that she is able to sleep through, but at the same time worrying is she taking enough for her age. My friend said as first time mom, we sometimes just worry too much. Just that feel a bit upset if it is the BM that she didnt finish, struggle so hard to get so little only and yet she still wasting my stock...Anyway, is bringing her to see PD today.

Moon,
Nice talking to you, look forward to meeting you up.

I am oso bf my bb. She is abt 11 wks old and she starts to drink abt 120ml recently. The funny thing is she can finish 150ml of formula but cannot finish the same amt of BM given (Im introducing her 2 times of milk formula a day)

hi desert,
hav you bring your bb for his 3rd jab?

m_maro,

My bb has started to wake up every 4 hours every night, instead of 3 hours. I just checked with my friend who has a 12-week-old bb and she says it's normal, even if they drink the same amount.

m_maro,

Is your girl taking feeds more frequently? I think most imp is the total amt consumed in a day, and whether she is growing well....

Perhaps she was taking more at one month cos of growth spurt at about 6 wks? Now back to normal...
I think as long as she's producing enough wet nappies should be okay...

My girl is 2 months too, but takes only 80-90 ml at 2-3 hr intervals... much less than the other babies here, but she's putting on weight well and still quite chubby, so not that worried

stylo,

How I wish I had a year off work to look after bb.... I only started work again this wk, working p/t, but even then I can feel the stress of juggling both bb and work

im back, been busy getting ready for work and with bay.

hi stylobb,
my baby was delivered in mar 04.

hi mel,
letdown is when u see your milk shoot out like water from the shower head.

my letdown is only 1 or 2 seconds. is this normal?

hi miu,
My gal normally can drink more BM. What formula are you giving your bb? Moon just told me that some formula are more tasty, like Mamil Gold, so bb may like to drink more.

Helena, girl,
just brought my gal to PD. PD said she has a lot of wind in her stomach, that's why she got no appetite. PD also give her multi vitamin which should boost her appetite. Hope it works. Girl, glad to know that my gal is not the only one that drinking less than the others here... I think my gal total amount consumed for these few days is about 400ml to 500 ml only.

jas, stylobb,
Is the bee gor that you mentioned referring to cereal? did you introduce it to bb at 4 mths?

hi jas/maro

dun think it's blocked ducts coz i had it before and there will be lumps and pain at certain parts of the breasts. this time, i just cannot stimulate the letdown of milk. tried massaging .. the more i massaged, the more ganjiong i felt abt the lack of milk and this resulted in very little milk.

thot of using hot towels too but a bit inconvenient in the office so i just gave up the idea. trying to get my boy to let on more often when i'm home so as to increase the supply.

Hi, hope someone can help answer the following questions regarding BM :

1. How long can we store EBM in the fridge? is it 24 hrs or 48 hrs?

2. Which is the proper way of thawing frozen EBM? Can I thaw it at room temperature? or should I transfer it from the freezer and put it in the fridge to thaw? Is it alright to put the frozen EBM in a container of hot water to thaw, so that it is faster?

3. Mothers who are doing exclusive pumping - how do you carry/bring the EBM when u go out with your babies? Is it possible to warm up the EBM in advance for feeding later when we are out?

4. For storing of EBM in Avent disposable bags, it is possible to express in bottles and then transfer them to the disposable bags? or MUST i buy the special bottle for holding the disposable bags?

Hello fellow mums

I intend to breastfeed even after going back to work (with formula as supplement in case my milk not enough).

Are there any mums out there who are expressing milk at workplace? Which pumps are better? I am between the Medela Pump In Style and the Ameda Lactaline pumps. Are both just as good? I am not really keen on PIS as it is very costly.

quench
You sure your let-down is only 1 - 2 seconds, that's quite short. Normally mine is about 1 min, but it depends on which time I am pumping. Normally for the 1st time pump, it is pretty long about 5 mins, after that the subsequent ones only 1 min or less.

m_macro
The Bee Gor is the brown rice cereal, yeap normally is introduced to bb of 4mths but some mummies I know do give their bb Bee Gor mixed with milk around 3mth.

maple
1) Normally I store EBM in fridge max. 48hrs, the EBM stock I have in fridge is most of the time >24hrs but < 48hrs.

2) I normally thaw frozen EBM by transfering it into the fridge. After all the ice melted, then I heat up using hot water bath as what I normally do for EBM kept in fridge. For direct thaw of frozen EBM, I will put in bowl of tap water for the ice to melt completely. Then use hot water to heat it up.

3) Normally I heat up the EBM and put in the insulator bag if bb next feed is within the next 2 hrs. If more than 2hrs, I will take hot water out with me. The EBM will still be kept in the cooler box.

4) I express into bottles first, then after which transfer into the bag. I didn't use the special bottle at all.

hwey
I am using medela dual mini electric pump expressing milk at office and home. I didn't use any of the pump you mention, but heard from other that both are not bad.

hi jas,

ya my supply superbly low, guess resulting in short let down.

wow urs so long, ur supply must be great!

Hi Hwey

I wld recommend Ameda. Have been using it for my pumping session in office. But one disadvantage abt Ameda pump, it is a little bulky to carry ard and have to buy rechargeable batteries. Personally wld not recommend u the medala pump have try it before and find it rather noisy and cldnt really pump well compared to ameda.

jas
Looks like stress is affecting our bm supply. My hubby never smacked him, it's me who do it cos cannot tahan. Yah lor, sometimes struggling between b/feeding and spending time with my boy. Also little time with my hubby....come home after work already tired. Then alternate to take care of him...then very soon, it's bedtime.
We really dun know why our boys fuss hor, never scold or beat but his behaviour really ah make me feel so tired. I think I lost 2 kg these two weeks.
My mum said she will make rice cereal end of this month for him.
Letdown- looks like I usu got no letdown at all! The flow just comes normally, dripping, not spraying..

mel
How did the mummy pump so much, was she also b/feeding the bb at the same time?

maro
If bb is full, she will stop eating right? Just like us adults what.

Hwey
Me and Jas express at work. I use the PIS, dun know which model but the carrier bag one. It's ok except quite bulky if needs to be lugged around. Some of my colleagues use the Avent manual pump and they say it's good, I had no success with that so I did not use it after two tries...cos no milk comes out in my case...haha..I also dun know why... plus it has around seven parts to assemble...so troublesome.. but this is just my opinion..

Mochanerak
Ameda pump good ah? Is it noisy? I dun know whether which brand helps pump out more cos my supply is so-so all the while.