Breastfeeding Support Group

Lee Yan,

You mentioned that your kids self-wean at 13 months, what are the signs of self-weaning? Did it happen suddenly, ie. one day she's drinking all her BM then the next day totally stopped? My girl is on TBF at 9months, and I really dread the day she might go off on BM, BF is so addictive!

sharon,

hmmm...for my case, kinda of 'sudden'..

both kids' pattern the same...for instance, yesterday i latched them on ok...but today i wana latched on, but they refused so i forced bit bit...then they suckle bit bit..

then next day, i latched on, they rejected and this time need to struggle with them...i tried for few days near to a week...eventually i convinced myself that they didnt need my breasts anymore...!!!!

but i so damn missed the feeling caused when u see their satisfaction expression, with a smile...wow...so touching and warmth...

sharon,

forgot to add on, u wana wean them, do it gradually unless they self-wean.

for eg, if one day u latch on 5times, drop to 4times, the 1x substitute bottle feed.

for a start, u have to ask someone to do the feed, your bb will make hell lot of noises..somehow may go on strike not to drink...or show vomit sign etc..be firm and she will gradually take the bottle.

after she used to that feed with bottle for a while..u try to cut down another session..so on..

btw, 9mths..can she drink from straw? if can, then let her start with milk in cup/straw maybe good...or bottles, whichever u wana try..

hmm...interesting.
Sharon,
i agree with you. bfg can get rather addictive, although i dreaded it in the initial stages. i was telling hb that i felt like a 24hr milkbar, close by not closed.and i jolly well forget about evening outing with frenz. my lil boy doesnt like bottles.

What is it you gals really love about bfg?
I love...
the fact i do not have to wake up to make bottles in those unearthly hours
i love those milky smiles that comes on even in his sleep
i love that drunken look on his face after nursing
i love the way he looks into my eyes and smiles while nursing

Hope i can share here cos mine is EBM..

My gal is 4.5mths old now and is on total EBM. I agreed that BF is addictive. Altho i dun latch her anymore, I wanted to give her BM as long as I could.

I really MISSed the bonding time I had wif my baby when she was latched on...yes...the satisfactory and milky smiles .... oh...need to have number 2 before i can see those expressions again? Btw, I dun latched her on often, only abt once a day durin my confinement period but i really miss it even thou my nipples were sore and painful then. Now i wanna latch her but cannot liao...

I hope mummies can treasure the BFg time wif baby and breastfeed as long as they can...
ITS the BEST GIFT FOR BABY AND ONLY THE MUMMY CAN DO IT!

lilboymum,

my persistent to bf is because my husband has asthma, also my sis, nephew, my uncles...i have sensitive nose, my MIL is a kidney patient..all these made me determined to do my utmost best to bf my kids so that they have better health, if possible stay away from these illnesss.

i dont bother on the bottles wash..but i will melt when i saw my kids' latched on with smile, so that time when i latched on, my head always look down at them dont wana miss their smiles...sigh... end up neck and shoulder stiff...aching..

i also love it when my boy at his 7-8mths..forced out a sound like 'ma...ma...' in the middle of the night, and i knew he wana nurse liao..at times i purposely delayed to pick him up, he will then 'ma....ma..' called till i happy then picked him up...wahaha..

lee yan,

i think i wil wait for my baby to self wean, can't bear to lose that closeness to her! so when they self wean, do u substitute with formula milk or solids? i m a sahm so i latch on totally n do not pump, so no supply of ebm to depend on.

i missed the drunken smiles of baby after feeding too! now tat she's 9 mths old, she doesn'tdo tat often, i only get it during the evening feed coz she's sleepy. most times, she wil push me away when she's done!

Lee Yan,
Haha, sama sama,My husband and I both have eczema, and I used to have childhood asthma. We both have rhinitis and we are both highly myopic. so..that calls for bfg.

You are so funny...actually make your lo do that

sharon,
just a thought...thought bbs dont generally self wean until they are around 2-3? they may do so if you get preggie again and your milk tastes different. but usually not otherwise.read this somewhere...

lilboymum...

have to 'the gan' my boy a bit caused when he was young, he 'the gan' me till i machiam like panda mah....

then whenever he finished nursing...the next am, i asked him to call mama he just simply bo chap! so i purposely made him wait lor..hehe..

having 2 kids really 'nitemares'...that time either my girl or my boy will cry in the middle of the night...so every nite i just slept 3 hours..when the day came when my boy slept through...thought there came my peaceful nights...but my girl started to have prolonged nite cough...10mths..imagined how deep is my panda eyes..sigh...

that day went east coast took a pic of me and my kids...wah piang!!!! didnt know my dark circles so 'big' and horrible....nearly faint!!

hahah...yes some of us are 'ladies of the rings' here. yesterday my son woke up so many times during the night to nurse. he was previously sleeping through fine, but i think he's teething, so insist on nursing. he refused even the wonder drug dentinox...so last night was nurse nurse nurse.

grrr...hope it'll be better tnite. i reli dun wanna my dark circles to go on expanding...

Well, I just have to post this somewhere. In the recent Motherhood Exhibition, a product was launched.

Apparently, a new substance has been added to FM, and many has claimed that FM is now 'as good as' BM in prodiving bbs with the required antibodies to ward off infection. Here are some information regarding the substance, and my (ok, not mine, but Dr Jack Newman) answer to it...

What is IMMUNOFORTIS?
IMMUNOFORTIS are types of oligosaccharide prebiotics. Oligosacharide is the third biggest bio-component in breast milk after lactose and fat. IMMUNOFORTIS is functioned as the prebiotic or the food for good bacteria live in our intestine.

Adding IMMUNOFORTIS into infant milk formula is aimed to naturally increase the growth of good bacteria in the intestine so that it resemble the intestinal floral composition in breastfed babies. The benefit is enormous, it suppress the increase of bad bacteria that cause illness.

Here's a link to medicine weekly on this new breakthough:

http://www.medicineweekly.ie/index.p...62&Ite mid=49

Yes, immunofortis is a wonderful addition to formula, but it cannot even compare to breastmilk.

Here is a great link by Dr Newman detailing the superiority of breastmilk.

http://www.promom.org/bf_info/sci_am.htm

Hmmm....

You can see them advertising all over the papers. Thing is, they might have infringed on IBFAN regulations regarding artificial infant feeding in their advertising. I do not think Singapore is under IBFAN (maybe someone can enlighten me on this). Which is a pity...

In fact in UK, advertising for substitutes are no longer allowed to indicate that they are 'closer than ever to breastmilk' or even 'boost immunity of infants'....Wonder when will Singapore ever be enlightened enough to do that...

I'I CY,

tell me the brand leh..don keep me in suspense. I din notice this advertisement in the papers.. Or u can PM me if u scare the forum moderator think u are 'advertising' (but from your post one can tell u are not FOR this..)

i have stopped bf cos my milk supply is SUPER low when bb is < 2 months. So if there is a brand that is really a good equivalent of breast milk, no harm trying out.

Hee...will PM you then. Yes me not for this.

Hmm...how old is your bb?have you tried to relactate. if you want, can look for a lactation consultant for help.

I also realise ss quite bad when i returned to work. coz pumping can never be the same as bb suckling. I took some supplement then am ok now..not fantastic, just ok...(as in wont starve my lil boy to death lah..kekekek)

o yah, frankly hor, my bfg only took off after 3moths leh...so first few months was a struggle (me not the disciplined disciplined kind..)

My bb is 11-12 weeks old. I stop bf when she is 7 weeks old. stop bf for a month(4 weeks) already.

din want to spend money to look for LC cos my SS is really low (the lowest possible at the very end) - due to the block ducts/fever. i had it THRICE. perhaps pumping alone doesnt work for me.

stumbled,

u can still relactate if u want, 4weeks still have some milk. i had stopped pumping since mar but till now...hehe still has bit bit bit milk so does wonder wana start again..but will be tired caused u need to establish the amount, u need to be diligently follow the schedule, 2hourly..not easy...but if u determine, should be able to do so..

stumbled by,
so you are still on maternity?

then have you tried the ss vacation idea? think it might work. esp since your bb is near the next growth spurt! just latch and latch and latch. its ok if there is no milk initially. it will come back...but think you need more help than this. why not you look for LLL consultant? i dont think they charge for it (???) or call the bmsg hotline? the second one im sure is free, coz i called them before!! they are really helpful!!

the number is 63393558

Hello to all,

I am expecting another child in Aug 2007 and would like to know more about breastfeeding. I have been unsuccessful for my last child who is now 2 years old. During that time, I had engorgement and both nipples were sore and bleed; which breastfeeding was done on demand basis and I nearly results in depression and mental breakdown (my mum was not supportive of it and kept insisting my child kept crying because not enough to drink)

I would like to try again this time and would like your advice if there is any step-by-step guide that it will be better this time round...

hi vanessa

its a lot of hard work but if u determine then u can really pull thru all the barriers

I love bfg. I did that for my 1st child, but as I was not brave enuff to continue aft I back to work, I ony bf her for 2 mths

when i hv my 2nd bb last Oct, I very much wanted to do this. Altho i still had some reservations abt getting back to work. The 1st 2-3 mths was bad.. my ss came in by 1st week, but i spent all the time bfg. Every feed interval is 2 hrs (someitmes lesser) and duration is 1 hr.. which means i spent all my time bfg, so tiring. I had all the probs u mentioned, sore and bleeding nipples, unsupportive mum, worry no milk etc. But for the sake of my child, I persevere.

Now my bb already 8 mths...

did anyone ever experience ss suddenly dropped at ard 3rd mth? now my bb is 12 weeks and i'm returning back to work. all along i expressed milk but not sufficient for my bb totally. recently i came back from genting, dunno y my ss suddenly dropped even further. now like only able to pump 40ml. so sad.

Hello Lee yan,
Sorry I don;t have msn ley ;-p I got skype, can or not?

Hi hi cuddles,
What you wrote brought me back 2 years ago when son was born... really not easy ya ;-( that's why I decide to join a support group earlier to ensure success this time around!

hi haystack,
could it be your bb's growth spurt at the moment. around 12 weeks about the time.

anyway, pumping alone not ideal. im not sure, especially for firstime moms i guess. machine, however good, can never match the bb suckling. do you latch on often when you return from work?
i think that helps. o and since you just returned from genting (bgt bb along?), it;ll take sometime before ss builds up again.

vanessa,
i totally understand what you are going through. i had a terrible time when i started. especially when my CY down with jaundice. SIL kept saying its due to bfg. then say i should be taking more coconut juice etc. very demoralising. and my mom kept commenting my milk is not nutritious enough, thats why CY so skinny.

but ladies...in retrospect,
think everything's worth it so far. CY although skinny is healthy. and think of those goodness we are giving our bbs, and our bb's appreciative smile ....

ladies...jiayou..

yes, all bfg mummies must kambate!!

haystack

l'l CY is rite. U must let bb latch on. The sucking is the action thats stimulates ss best. ony on pumping is not good enuff. My fren ony pump cos she got a bit of depression so dun wanna carry bb durin the 1st 2 mths, then in no time, cant sustain liao. no SS, has to stop.

Another fren ever told me she was bfg for 6 mths, then a 1 day trip to msia, without bb and no pumping.. came back, totally stop, no ss.

vanessa, l'l CY

when i was struggling, i really wanted to cry.. then no one to turn to. So disheartened that even my own mum also not supportive. We quarrel so many times. I know old folks kan cheong cos when bb cries and u keep wanting to bf, they heart pain. thinking no milk, not enuff, not good enuff...

bf bbs r not so chubby, cos threy drink human milk. and not chubby does not mean not healthy

i definitely think its worth it.. I am very prooud of myself that i have cross so many barriers and difficulties to reach this 8 mths.

bfg now
=======
morning wake up if D is awake will feed direct

I pump once at work (use to be twice at about 11am and 4pm), now at 4pm cos when morning feed D, dun have much to pump before noon

reach home will feed direct at about 8pm. D has his porridge dinner at 5:30pm. His afternoon milk feed is the milk I pumped at work the day bef.

then about 1030pm, he will yearn for the suckling. So i will nurse him till he zzz.

Weekends = total bfg

l'l CY , Cuddles

I have stopped direct latch on since after the first month. now my baby is already 12 weeks old. do u think i can still do the direct latch on?

haystack
you can try to re-latch. thats wat i'm doing to my 10wk old bb but at times still gotta supp with FM. coz i can't get much fm pumping so gotta latch him on

haystack,

if u still keen on bfg, no harm trying. You can also call BMSG. I called them for advise on types of pumps, they were very helpful

haystack,

if u still keen on bfg, no harm trying. You can also call BMSG. I called them for advise on types of pumps, they were very helpful

Yo cuddles,
Just realised you are the same cuddles from oct thread...heeeheee. bit bit slow here.

eih, i heard of the preferance thingy. some bbs apparently prefer one breast over anohter. dun think its a problem leh, not very sure on that. if its purely aesthetic, then should be ok for now loh.

haystack,
yes yes yes, you can...shouldnt be a problem. if you call BMSG (phone above) or LLL, they sometimes will even send someone down to help you...they really very helpful.

but it;ll be like nursing a newborn loh. try to bear with it. like pain etc...trust me (and us all here)...it;s all worth it when you look back a few months down the road.

ll'CY, Lee Yan, (haystack too),

I think my bb around same birthdate as haystack. i remember haystack faced similar problem of low supply as me. but i gave up 4 weeks plus ago due to block ducts, causing the ss to be almost nil in one breast. in 1st place my ss never go beyond 30ml in pumping!

i read that l'lcy say that if never latch on since 1 month it will be like latching new born if re-latch now. I guess it will be super tough cos bb is very strong and has own character now, as compared to when she was 1st month.

hmm...i kept thinking of relactation but when i thot of block ducts and fever, i cringe.. (i seldom latch on and relied on pumping in the past )

i called BMSG several times in the past but after i left voice mail, no one returned my call.

stumbled_by

really? you must have a bad experience with BMSG then. try calling them again.

there are a few resources you might want to look into...
kellymom.com offers very good advice on bfg. one link i had above, promom.org, also offer some advice...
alternatively, you can approach local LLL, or even post in their forum. the americans are usually quite forthcoming with their help.

can really help you here as i did not experiece probs with blocked ducts. However, as far as i knw, it could be due to insufficient expressing of milk or improper latch. the milk therefore stays in the duct and results in further complications.

it'll be good to massage each breast thoroughly before and after each latch at the onset. or warm compress might help.

hope this helps.

l'l CY,

I did warm compress and massage. In fact, even tho i stop bf(express) for 4 weeks, there are still blue black marks on my breast
i can still feel the lumps (as I did not resolve the problems when I gave up 4 weeks ago) - gynea said lumps will go away on their own after a few menses cycle.

ya...block ducts i later realised is due to insufficient empty of breast. such an irony cos the amount i expressed out is soo little yet...

hmm...thats why I have been thinking of relactation for few weeks but no courage to resume. Cos I know its harder than b4 and a lot of commitment

stumbled...

block ducts..ha...i had 2x during 2 deliveries...spent few day to clear and had rainbow on my 2 breasts haha...

if u relactate, u may not have block ducts cos this need lots of discipline to 'generate' your milk supply so i supposed u will be really aware when is the engorgement or mayb doesnt even have..

if u have the thoughts, why dont u give yourself a chance to try? if really not successfully even after having advise, etc. at least u wont regret of missing the chance to try.

think of the benefits to your bb and u will know what decision needs to make.

stumbled onto this thread - just wanted to share my experience. Think it is important to clear the blocked ducts as frequently as possible. Even though many pple feel that the baby is the best pump, I tend to get blocked ducts when I latch on directly exclusively. So I try to express (both with pump and manually) after 2 or 3 latching on sessions to clear the breasts. When I have lumps which I really cannot clear, I will ask my massage lady Rokiah to help me. So far so good. Good luck to all you mummies working hard to bf your little ones!

cuddles...

is normal to have one breast bigger then another ..for me during my 1st time, both were dfferent size.

but for my 2nd x, as i did both latch on and pump, both my breasts were balanced...hehe.. u need to remember to offer different breast whenever the last feed, then the breast may be in similar size..too used to one side, unless u do pumping on the other, will result in one big one small..

Tuffy,

u are right, some bbs especially newborn will not able to suck diligently...they will suck half doze off....suck again...doze off..so the breast not able to clear so effectively.

sometimes we need to monitor and get to know how well our bb really latched on to suck and drink..so is better to latch and afterwhich pump for 5-10mins to clear, this will also help to boost milk supply.

l'l CY,

yup, its the same me!

haystack and stumbled

u must JIA YOU!!! dun give up easily... thats what i keep telling myself

lee yan

ya, by the time i realise, its too late liao lo. When newborn, I realise bb prefer left side, think he doesn't like the right nipple. So in order to make sure he eats and also stop the crying, I just feed him with the left. Then one day i saw, my right breast smaller... hai~~

that time i wasn't sure if i wanna continue bfg when i get back t work so i din buy a pump. ony bot it at the 2nd mth, too late liao...

Now he is ok with the right nipple, but the ss is very little.

Also, I guess i am lucky with no block ducts problem since i dun think i emptied my breast well at the beginning months.

tare

u got the mini? I am using that. Not too bad. u can sterilise the bottle, i do that too.

how do you all massage before bf-ing BB? as i juz started to re-latch my 2mth old BB.. i realise he will demand to be nurse very frequently compared to FM.
Or i shd massage after nursing him?

Do you all clean your breast b4 & after latching?

hi lynnda

accoding to the books, massaging bef bfg helps, and a drink of warm milo / milk helps too.

bb nurse more frequently on bm. Like i mentioned, I practically spent my 3 mths maternity in bed nursing my bb.

I try to use a wet towel to wipe bef feeding and aft if at home. Sometimes lazy, I also dun clean. If outside then no choice.

I have the same problem as Tuffy. Everytime I tried to latch my gal, in the end i will sure get block ducts. quite bad sometimes. i wish to latch her back more often now. but my ss still quite low. when i pump, i only able to express 50ml. in the end, still have to supplement. plus now i'm now back to work. dunno if re-latching will be successful.

hi koh and haystack,
hai... sometimes i am also not sure what to do cos feel a little defeated that I cannot do total latching. somehow, the breasts will end up getting clogged and baby will get upset if the milk doesn't flow properly. I wonder if this will get better. my boi is now 3 weeks old.

for mummies who can do total latching without expressing - what's your secret? do share your experience yah?

tuffy,

actually what is meant by block ducts ? I considered those lumps to be blocked ducts. even tho I put warm compress (hot water from FLASK) and massage diligently, there is NO WAY i can clear the lumps. I used a bit of force and even until now the blue black is still around. bcos i cant clear the lumps, as a result, i get 'block ducts' or infection + fever eventually. Sometimes I also see pus coming out at times...

The blockage became so bad that the ss is almost nil. It happened to right breast. Then few weeks later, left breast. Then i gave up...

stumbled,
I believe those lumps are the blocked ducts. The breast should not have any lumps (esp painful ones) at all. I think there is some technique involve in removing lumps. I too have some persistent ones which just refuses to go away completely. I find that hand expressing in a hot shower is quite good for clearing those lumps. better than hot compress.

When my massage lady does it, she asks me to lie down and she will hand express for me. Seems rather effective compared to expressing while seated up. Only problem is that we cannot collect the milk, so quite wasted. But guess it's more important to unclog first. Otherwise, no matter how long you latch or pump, v little milk will come out.

oh dear... if you have pus coming out, that must have been awfully painful...

tuffy, i do total latching on for my gal, no expressing at all. whenever i feel the slightest possibility of blocked ducts, i would quickly massage the area when latching her on. just push on the lump towards the nipple. usually the suction of her sucking will help clear the blocked duct. it sometimes takes me 2 to 3 sessions before it clears!

bfeeding is a lot a lot a lot of hard work in the beginning, but it gets easier as yur bb grows up. u will become more experienced and yur bb becomes smarter and stronger at sucking. my gal is now 9 months n i can't even remember the last time i had blocked ducts! so dun give up mummies!!