Breastfeeding Support Group

Jen
The american ped assoc recommends 1 year, then subsequently as long as both mother and child want to

Hi Desert,

I really can't give you a good estimate. It really depends on your itinerary. If you're doing city hopping, the cost will run quite high cos inter-city transfer not cheap. Can try buying Japan Rail pass which gives you unlimited rides for designated no. of days (more days more expensive of course).

You need to do a lot of maths when doing F&E. Main expenses include hotel, tpt and entrance fees. Disneyland already 5500 jpy, about 80 over bucks per pax. I did a lot of research b4 going Hokkaido, so managed to save a bit here and there. Always ask if there is day pass cos it really helps save on tpt.

Frankly speaking, I think F&E in Japan would not be cheap, as the accomodation and inter-city tpt not cheap. Accomodation wise, can try this chain. http://www.toyoko-inn.com/eng/
They have chains all over Japan and their location quite good, usually near station. The rooms are very clean and quite well equipped considering it's a budget hotel. Comes with hair dryer, free internet access, toiletries, etc.

Let me know if you have a firmer itinerary maybe I can advise better tat way.

hi hi mummies...

need your advise here.....

i dont know what wrong with my 5 mth plus boy...

he usually wake up around 4am and 6-7am for his feed....he dont cry...just turning his head left and right to look for the breast....

but since sunday, he will wake at 12am , 2plus, 4plus and 6 plus....just like when he is newborn...and he will cry very loud.....actually i dun noe whether he is hungry or something else....i always latch him to sooth him down...but sometimes he dun wan ...and need to swing him to sleep....

do you think is teething is the main culprit ?

Hi! Mummies
My mum showed me a newspaper article the other day. Seems like 95% bf bbs when they were born. But most of them stopped bf at 2 mths. hehe..her purpose of showing me that article was to tell me to wean Ivan off.

Melody
Yup, we introduced the bottle to him at 3 wks for one nite feed of fm just b4 bedtime. Then, suddenly at 2 mths, he just refuse to suck from the bottle, he would rather go hungry and will cry if we put the bottle into his mouth. Since then, we hv changed diff fm and teats but at the most he will take like 30ml or reject totally. So when he was 6 mths ++, we stopped giving him the bottle. I hv also tried training cups, straw but he just refuse to suck.
ya, quite difficult to get them to drink from cup. In fact, Ivan will not drink FM from the cup. I will still continue to try for a few wks more, coz still got a big tin in my cupboard.

Giggler
We plan to go either in May or July. Hubby not too keen on HK, coz he says I will spend all my time shopping. hehehe
We wanted to go Japan coz want to bring Ivan to disneyland and disneysea, but only concern is tt it might come up to quite a lot of $$.
For the nite waking, I think if u want to stop once and for all, u hv to use blessed's mtd to train. Hv u read Dr Sear's bk b4? His style of parenting is quite diff from other bks. He actually encourages u to sleep with ur bb. He also feels its ok to bf them at nite for as long as the bb wants. His theory is that to a bb that's one of the most wonderful experience, they will eventually outgrow all these habits. They just need the assurance that mummy is there to help them fall back to sleep again. H/w, that's provided u are happy with it and u dun feel physically drained. So, I guess its up to u to decide whether u need to train ur bb to sleep thro.

Masshiro
Thanks for the info, I am also worried that F&E in Japan will come up to quite a lot. Ya, I will hv to calculate the cost 1st b4 I decide.

Girl
I think I read somewhere abt this boy who lifted up his mummy's blouse in the MRT to bf. So far, Ivan is still ok, will only start to lift my blouse when I clutch hold him in bf position. When he wants to bf, he just make noise, ask for "neh neh" or try to bury his head in my chest.

Jen
BMSG recommends a min of 6 mths, American Pediatrics recommends a min of 1 yr. LC recommends 2 yrs to get the max benefit. Personally, I think as long as u dun find it troublesome and enjoys bf, no harm bf for as long as bb want.

I need help here.

Just give birth in Feb. My problem is not enough milk and baby refuse to breast feed after bottle feeding. I think she is not used to suck directly from breast as my nipple maybe to short compared to teat.

How to have more milk, is there any food that we must eat to gain more milk? Any receipe? How to make my baby breastfeed again?

Melody, I plan to visit Tokyo. Think itll be just Tokyo cos I dont want to go for too long.

Adeline, teething could be culprit leh. My gal went cranky when she was teething too.

Desert, you plan to bring Iv to Jpn? Im not bringing Vane with me cos I feel that shes still too young to travel. If youre bringing Iv then itll be better if its F&E trip. But like what Masshiro said, itll be very ex if you go by F&E to Jpn. I think Ill just let Vane suck as & when she likes for the time being.

girl/desert,
zoie ll point to my breast n say mum-mum, or will tug at my top, luckily no lifting up...when we were in a kindermusik class, my hubby says a boy lift her mom's blouse too..

desert,
u extended ur NPL?
if u r planning to vring ivan to disneyland/sea plan it on a weekday n oso not japanese hols, else u ll spend hours queueing for rides, food, purchase in store..oso bring ur own big bag if u wanna buy things, u ve to pay for big plastic bag in the disneyland store, they only wrap in paper bag, not carrier for u..

hope you can help me out with these few questions

My baby was born on 2nd Mar and I have been b/feeding her since. Now that the milk flow has come in, she suckles for almost 20-30 mins on each breast. Sometimes, she will only want to take one breast and thene cry for more about 30 min later. I will then offer her the other breast. Is this feeding pattern ok? Should I try to 'force' her to take the other breast immediately?

One of my frens say that if she suckles for more than one breast for more than 20 mins at one go, I should get her off it. But how to 'force' her to let go? It is quite painful if she does not let go by herself. Or should I just wait till she is ready?

I noticed that I have some lumps which are painful near my arm pits. Is ths blocked ducts?

Hope someone can help me with these questions. Thanks so much!

folic

Giggler
How old will Vane be then? If she is not weaned off bf and the nite feeds by then, it will be a good time to train her up, since u will not be ard.
Ya, I will be bringing Ivan along, coz the last time we brought him to Perth, he was only 9 mths, so this time he is bigger, will definitely bring him along. Ya, think I will hv to go F&E holiday till Ivan is like at least 3-4 yrs old, then I can go and join tours.

Melody
How's ur intro of FM to Zoie? Ivan still refuse to drink his FM, but he will drink some water on his own if we pour into his small cup.
Thanks for the info on disneyland. Ya, that time I went on wkday but during school hols, it was really crowded. But after factoring in the cost, I think we will most probably not be able to go Japan.

da(daling)
When u offer the bottle too early, most bbs will refuse to take from the breast, coz its much easier for them to get milk from the bottle. They need to suck much harder to get milk from the breast. U might consider seeking help from lc to retrain ur bb to suck from the breast again. Alternatively, u might want to change to expressing and feed bb EBM thro the bottle. I still think the best way to increase ss is thro the dd and ss rule. Some food u can take will be oats, papaya and fish soup and fenugreek, some pp hv found tt their ss increase after taking.

Folic
So happy to hear tt u hv given birth, dunno whether u still remember me though.

Firstly, if u need to unlactch ur bb from the breast, put in a finger 1st b4 u pull out ur nipples, then it wun be painful and u can unlatch her anytime u need to.
Actually sometimes bbs cry not because they are hungry, they just need the comfort of sucking. So even if they are full, they might still want to comfort suck. U can tell the diff from the way they suck, they suck much harder when its to get the milk, u can also listen for swallowing. U can offer her the other breast everytime she is done with the 1st and see whether she still wants. If she tend to bf for long hrs, then u might want to go by the 20 min rule on each breast to limit her. The painful lumps sounds like blocked ducts, try massaging really hard when ur gal is bf.

HI desert, thanks for the advice. Yes I do remember you
I will try to massage the lumps out. As for whether she is hungry or sucking, I think she really need food leh.. suck and swallow very hard!

folic

Hi folic,

nice to hear from u! from my experience, i juz let my gal latch on whenever n as long as she wanted to. i dont watch the clock.

ur lumps sounds like blocked ducts. its very impt to massage, in a movement from the lump to the nipple..do it when ur gal is latch on or in warm shower.

hi desert/ melody_03/ mini

i have the same prob as u. my gal is on BM only till now (abt 15mths). she refused to take FM in a bottle. so i tried giving it in training cup (sput kind n straw kind), in a cup with straw... she refuses all..either spit out, or after 1 sip refuse to suck again.

then i tried to con her using normal cup coz she likes to eat anything that belongs to others. oh n i add 1/2 tsp of milo (dun know ok for small kids or not la). then she'll b intersted in the drink. n i'll spoon feed her. every mouth i'll praise her say she is clever lah, good lah etc...makes her so happy n haolian so will ask for more until she so eager to drink it will want to drink direct from the cup. but the most impt thing is, not to mention the word "milk" hahaha, coz once i say that, immed she'll aim for my breast. so i tell her she is drinking milo.

hi desert,
ytr MIL gave my boy gain IQ. she v funny tell him it is yakult. at first they let hin drink using straw but he din drink much. after tat let spoonfed him n he managed to drink all the 60ml. heard tat gain IQ taste not bad so guess tat is y he din reject n din even make the vomit sound. will continue to try n hope he wont reject.

hi folic,
welcome to this thread. congrats! so fast u encouter blocked ducts. since your baby sucking hard just let her suck longer. my boy used to suck 20-30min on each side too. the good part abt this is their long sucking will stimulate brs more to make more milk to meet her demand.

desert,
ya...ve started to send in resume already, but so far no interview yet..

blessed,
i wan tempting to do the glucose or milo trick too...i cant keep wonder, is the FM so yucky...y drinking it is like tkaing medicine..
but not sure if shd put milo/glucose in EBM for her in bottle/cup..

Folic
Hehe, since she is sucking for fd, u can offer ur breast for as long as she wants. Ya, I agree with blessed, just feed on demand and let ur baby latch on as long as she wants, that's easier, no need to watch the clock, only problem is tt it will be tiring for u. Try bf in the lying down position, very comfy and will help u to rest as well. Things will get better later at 2 mths. When u reach 3 mths, baby will usually be quite quick in bf, coz they are more interested in the surroundings.

Blessed
Hmm, will try ur mtd using the milo. So far, I've also tried the training cups and straws, but anything tt needs him to suck, he rejects, even if I put in cold drinks. So all along, I hv been feeding him via cup. I tried to give him milk with vanilla flavour but he still rejects. Was thinking of buying choco flavour milk, now tt u mention adding milo, seems like I can try tt out 1st.

Mini
Wow, not bad leh. I also got a small sample tin of gain IQ in the cupboard. I will try out blessed's mtd 1st. If cannot, then open the gain IQ, if not waste milk powder, coz still got a big sample tin of neslac in vanilla flavour not finished.

Mini/Desert/Melody
Just tried some Enfagrow on E last Saturday. She seems to be rejecting bottle on me again recently. Managed to finally get her to take 4 oz when she was half asleep after the struggle.

Blessed
Thanks for sharing. Think I may eventually have to add milo to the milk too

Thanks for

ladies... need help... my gal went thru bottle rejection b4... now she take EBM from bottle quite ok... but one fine day last week she only drink 60~100ml of her usual 150ml feed... then started to fuss and cry and push away the bottle... either that or keep playing with the teat... but if i latch, no problem... she is drinking much less and i'm throwing a lot of EBM... anyone go thru this stage??

Deaert,
ytr MIL gave my boy gain IQ again n at first he fussed but after a while also finished the 60ml. MIL say gain IQ has a sweet pleasant taste like cereal so we conclude it should taste quite nice. everyday will make it a pt to give him fm so tat when i start work in 2wks time he can take fm in the day. till now i dun expect him to take alot since tough to spoonfeed. if can drink 180ml a day is v good.

blessed,
1yr is not too young to drink milo. my SIL even worse. last time MIL gave birth to twins n wont have enough milk for 2 babies. SIL rejected fm n she started to drink milo when she is less than 1 yr old. everyday 2 cups of milo.

jen,
my boy always face bottle rejection on n off. sometimes last only for 1wk sometimes a few wks. he is almost 1yr old n for this 1mth+ he has totally reject bottle when it contains milk. so have to spoonfeed. usu we dun waste milk when my boy din finish the EBM. we will spoonfeed him until he really scream n fuss. how frequent does ur girl latch on?

girl,
u finally start E on fm. tot u wanted to wait until this wkend. fast hor our bbs finally 1yr old this sat. gave Jon 60ml of gain IQ for 2 days n he managed to finish them without making the vomit sound. so happy that he dun reject it. but troublesome to feed as he refused to suck from bottle.

Jen
Oh dear, your girl is at it again.
Mine went through that stage at 4-5 months, then okay till recently started rejecting my feeding her EBM. I used to throw away 500 ml of EBM daily then, so sim tiah. Prob your girl is going through a phase. Does she take the bottle when others feed her?

Mini
I actually intended to wait till this wkend, but cannot tahan looking at the pkt of Enfagrow everyday, so decided to try
Hopefully don't go through bad struggle with her, cos she seems addicted to latching on

I intend to breast feed when my bb is born in July. Is there any courses where I can learn more about breastfeeding??

Melody
What jobs are u looking for? My sis wants to change job, she has been sending a few resumes too, so far no reply yet.

Love
Which hospital will u be delivering in? U can go for antenatal courses in hospitals. The one at TMC by Mrs Wong is gd. I think its useful to read up as well. Another impt thing is When u bb is born, u shd seek help from the LC in the hospital to ensure bb get the current latch on.

Mini
U are rite, spoon feed cannot expect them to take much. As long as bb can take solids + some fm when u are wking, shd be fine.
Which school are u posted to? Its ok if u dun want to disclose here.

Girl
Maybe its easier for someone else to feed E with the bottle.
I am still postponing weaning, coz Ivan is also additcted to bf, and I dun want to go thro a struggle with him. Dunno how.

desert,
m looking for IT proj mgmt job..which line u sis in?
if u postpone weaning, when ivan is older, wont it be more diff?

Girl,
i try blessed mth, put milo in FM, zoie dun take the trick leh..dun know wan to put milo in EBM ornot?

Love,
congrats on ur decision to bf..
ya..follow what desert mentioned...

desert, Vane will be abt 16mths when I go Jpn. Think I'll stop bfg her once she turns 1.

folic, Congrats!!! Btw, I let my gal suck for 20min at each breast cos I afraid that I got cracked nipple. You can use desert's method to unlatch your gal after 20min.

mini, so your boi likes Yakult? Hope tat he wont reject the fm hor.

jen, think your bb is more interested in her surrounding than her milk?

love, I suggest that you ask for lactation consultant once you've given birth and bf your bb.

ladies who use Medela Electric pumps... you know the tiny tubing connecting the funnel to the motor? what to do if there is condensation there? i can't seem to get rid of it...
help... dun want it to spoil...

Jen,
You can run the pump without attaching the tubes to the funnel for a few minutes.. The pumped air should remove the condensation.

HI gals,

thanks for welcoming me to this thread.
See so many 'old' frens

I had to start pumping yesterday cos my girl went to hospital for jaundice, but she is back home now. If i put the milk in the lower compartment of the fridge, how long can I keep the milk? Is it 48 hours?

folic

Blessed/Melody
I tried to add milo and feed my boy today, he only took 3 spoonful and then refused to take anymore. Seems like I must try something else too.

Melody
Haha...my sis is not doing what she is studying. She got a degree in chem engineering. Her current job is cabin crew exec at SIA. She is looking for sales job in the medicine industry.
I intend to postpone coz difficult to wean him with me ard, he will ask to bf. If I put him at childcare and go back to wk, he wun see me in the day, so at least I will be able to wean him off the day feeds. I dun mind continue with the morning/nite feeds if he still wants and I still got ss. Coz I want the weaning to be gradual, dun want him to cry badly.

Folic
I cannot remember how long the milk can be kept. I think its 12 hrs if not in the freezer.Wait for the other mummies to reply.

yve... but that doesn't seem good right? cos the water vapour will be "suck" into the machine? will the machine spoil?
i let it hang the whole night still got water vapour...

Folic,
BM can last 2 days in the fridge and 2 months in the freezer..

Jen,
That is the recommended method in the PIS user manual. The water vapour will evaporate when the air is pumped thru..

<font color="ff6000">melody_03</font>

from my exp i think its not the taste of FM, its the way its being presented to them? my gal will nvr take FM in a bottle (to her bottle is for BM)...even training cup, coz she associate the cup with Water only. so i use other way of presentation, to make her think its "adult food" she is drinking (she is a food bb n like to eat watever we r eating).

i think FM sweet sweet one leh, how can taste yuky. but i do think Gain IQ is the sweetest (prob best tasting?)n a PD told me b4 Gain IQ is a good brand to intro to BF bb. but i sort of read here that some of u give Gain IQ n it doesnt help? i m giving my gal Mamil gold w milo.

for me, i wont put milo into EBM, but i think it shld be ok? hv u tried giving her EBM in other container, how abt spoonfeed?

<font color="0000ff">desert</font>

your boy sounds like my niece. she will NOT take anything that requires her to Suck!! so her mum has resort to spoonfeeding everything...from water to milk. she takes GainIQ, abt 240ml each feed. n the maid will slowly spoonfeed her loh. even trainin cup, she refuses to suck.

u tried spoonfeed also? i think my "prob" not so serious coz my gal is a food bb, i can get her to eat/drink, as long as i make her believe she is eating/drinking "food". haha

i tot so too spoonfeeding them, they cant take much. but seems that its working well on my niece coz she can take 240ml each time! for my gal, when i give her "milo" i'll prepare straw (yakult size, as i find she dun like the normal sized ones) n spoon... see her mood, i offer spoon, straw or direct feed from the cup hahaha...wah stress man, its so diff to make our little ones drink a cup of milk!!

<font color="119911">mini</font>

good to here milo is ok for little toddler

<font color="ff0000">All mummies</font>

rem Lea? her son only take BM and she tried intro FM at abt 18mths. at first he also rej, i think for a long time. but she juz keep on giving him 1x a day...finally he accepted n can even ask for FM at night
... so juz keep on trying, hope they can accept FM soon!

<font color="0077aa">folic</font>

i hv double standards for keep EBM haha...i meant depends on the age of the bb. when my gal was infant, i very paranoid... make sure EVERYTHING is sterilised after EACH use (PIS manual says 1day ster 1x can liao). n i will not keep EBM in the fridge for more then 24hrs...afterwhich iwill definitely freeze it.

i think when my gal around 8-10mths i started to relax... i ster my pump 1x a day though i use it 2x at the ofc. then i keep the EBM in the fridge for as long as 3days...if she doesnt take then i freeze.

Thanks gals.

I read so many conflicting views on how long it can keep that I also confused. So, I will just stick to 2 days, which seems to be the norm

blessed, I also read that if the EBM is in the fridge for more than 6 hours, then cannot put to freezer liao.. but I guess it should be ok lah hor?
I also very parnoid, keep on sterilising after each use. :p

folic

desert,
still waiting for MOE posting. tat time they still dare to say will get posting in feb, but now only 1.5wks to term 2 n still din send the posting yet. just hope wont too a too bad sch.

have u try giving Ivan fresh milk? fresh milk should taste nicer.

giggler,
my boy loves yakult. everytime he saw us drink he will crawl superfast to reach us. but only give him a few sips as i think not so good for them to take so much at this stage.

blessed,
i intro my boy to gain IQ n he can accept the taste. din noe gain IQ is the sweetest fm. ha.. at least i m glad i have made a right choice to give him gain IQ. spoonfeeding have to depends on individual. my boy is not those patient kind who will wait for the spoon. he will get fussy v fast n v hard to spoonfeed him more. so far 60-80ml still managable.. wow.. 240ml thats alot n takes quite alot of time!

folic,
some sources say can keep ebm in fridge for 24hrs but some say 48hrs..all depends on the fridge condition. but i stick to the 24hrs rule unless the fridge is v cold then keep up to 30hrs. so far i find tat after keeping for 24hrs the milk dun taste so fresh already. so still best to consume asap.

hi mommies..
achievment yday- managed to get zoie to dirnk 80ml of ebm from straw, together with quite far bit of biscuits...
but i very happy liao.. :D

Hi all mummies!
Noticed the mentioning of introducing FM here. I'm trying to wean my son (going 1 yr soon) also. Tried Similac but he doesn't like. Now giving Mamil Gold but he's not taking a lot also. Anyone tried the difference in taste between Mamil Gold and Gain IQ?

Melody
Glad to hear that! Today managed to get E to drink from the cup too! Hey, I also used biscuits... One bite then one sip.... Tedious leh, but like you, also happy that she took it

Hi mums.. more questions... if I freeze my milk, how do I thaw it? Do I just put it in a hot bowl of water and let it thaw?

sorry huh.. so many questions..

folic

hi Folic,

Never thaw frozen EBM in Hot water! use normal water can already, but take longer lor. after complete thaw then warm up using hotter water.

i usu remove from freezer in the morning n put in a bowl of cool boiled water (super paranoid, incase the water gets into the milk, then my gal will b drink boiled water, hahaha), put it back to the fridge (lower compartment) n wait for it to thaw.

folic
Guess you will be more active here...hehe...btw I wanted to congratulate you on the birth of your gal...really happy for you! Take care and happy b/feeding!
You do not direct feed your gal?

mini
How are you? I haven't 'spoken' to you for a long time. How is jon???

Hi stylobb, thanks! i am direct feeding her. Just that I had some frozen milk stored while she was in hospital for jaundice and I wanted to use it up. Sometimes, I also express cos I feel very engorged and she is still sleeping.

folic

I tired to give Ivan some cold chocolate fresh milk tt day, he likes it. So I guess I can use tt as a last resort when I am back at wk. Meanwhile, still continuing with my FM training, though still no major improvement.

Mini
MOE is so slow!!! I hope they will be faster with mine, coz I need to make arrangement as to which session of childcare to enrol my boy in.
I tried cold fresh milk on him b4, took those samples at the supermarket to let him try but he only took 2 sips. Just let him try choco milk over the wkend, he is ok with tt, but I am only going to use tt as a last resort coz its too sweet.

Blessed
we usually spoon feed/cup feed, he dun really like to take from the spoon. But its quite difficult to feed my boy if he dun want to drink, coz he will refuse to open his mouth and keep turning his head in the opp direction. After adding milo, at least he will take a few sips of the FM, but then still not enuff. Anyway, still continuing with this milo with FM for a few more wks b4 I change strategy, coz still got a big tin of FM.

Girl/Melody
Wow, not bad. Dun work for me though, tried it b4. Ivan can eat a lot of biscuits w/o drinking any water or just taking a few sips will be enuff for him.

Folic
hehe...u can ignore my posting on storage of EBM, then will not be so confusing.
So gd tt u hv so much ss, can store up and use when u go back to wk.

hey gals,

need to ask a question.. i'm currently feeding my baby FM and only will breast feed her at night, cos of the decreasing milk supply.. i realise my milk is getting lesser and lesser.. need help! wat is the most effective way to increase the breastmilk huh? tried eating fish but not helping much leh... need really effective solutions..

thanks..

hey yve, the condensation cleared leow...
thanx...

btw, my bb was v active at 11pm and i wanted to make her sleep... so i latch her even though she jus fed at 10.30pm... she still suckle for 45 mins!! then aft that she threw up about 3 tablespoons of milk... is this ok?

Hi mummies........

i have a question,my milk supply seems to have reduced a lot after i started to work.

I can only manage to pump about 150ml during lunch and another 150ml at home after work.
The problem is that my 4mth old baby drinks about 125ml every 3 hours. So i need about 500ml at home while i am at work.

Any way that i can increase my supply?

hi stylobb,
long time no "chat" hor. read from the other thread that u r pregnant again. Congrats! now is how many weeks pregnant?

jon just celebrated his bd last sat. but since a wk ago we have started to give him gain IQ n he can accept the taste. but problem is he refused to suck from teat. we gave straw but he will suck some only n then blow bubbles. also spoonfeed him but dun drink much. i m starting work next wk so he will have to take fm when i m at work as dun intend to pump during work since not bf-friendly n also ss low. so glad he can accept gain IQ so at least he will drink some milk when i m away. infact i m hoping can stop bf but not likely since he is addicted to nursing. mayb one day ss too little for him n make him dun want brs anymore?

desert,
finally receive MOE letter last wkend. but funny thing is only a piece of folded A4 size paper in my letter box. no envelop at all. the letter dated 14mar. will b teaching in Loyang Sec in pasir ris. luckily have a few direct bus from my house. u r asking MOE which session u will b teaching when u go back to sch?

hi bibip,
how old is your baby? my boy already 1yr old n my ss has been gradually decreasing for the past 3mths. i cant find ways to increase the ss too even if i eat fish or drink lots or fluid. think at my stage ss wont increase already.