Breastfeeding Support Group

<font color="0000ff">angelia</font>
no problem. At least you know you not alone mah... I been through those pumping times before.

Question time again... so pai seh, so many questions.

Yesterday, I tried to thaw a portion of EBM for my girl. I stored it in one of the Avent bottles (with the cap) and put the whole bottle in a tupperware. However, when I thaw it, I find that there is a strange metallic taste to the milk. The milk is only expressed on 9 Mar, could it have gone bad? Or is it because I cannot store the milk in those avent bottles, can only use the disposable bags?

folic

mini, your boi takes fm at last! So sian to start working hor? How I wish I can be sahm leh.

angelia, so fast your gal is 5mths liao. Tong for another mth, you can start one feed of solids then dont need to feel so stress abt ss liao.
I'm using Ameda electric pump and I usu pump for abt 20-30mins only.

mel, good for you that your boss is supportive of bfg.

folic, I'm storing my EBM in glass bottles but dun think there's metallic taste leh. Did you thaw properly?

folic, the taste and smell of thawed frozen EBM is different from fresh ones... not to worry... becos freezer got other things like food, etc which smell will absorb into the milk... as long as it is not sour...

<font color="aa00aa">jen,</font>
ur freezer still got place for other stuff ah? my freezer all milk!! *LOL* then when we buy meat, can only buy like 2 chicken thigh to put inside the container that's meant for ice cubes *LOL*

<font color="aa00aa">mummies,</font>
think i gotta start throwing again. how can i avoid throwing away milk? i'm expressing 1-for-1 feed but dunno how come still end up got extra.

i don't give her all fresh milk cos i wanna store some in case i drop session or ss drop (which happens abt every 2~3 wks, dunno why) then i can still survive. but i also managed to survive.. hahaa..

then hor, when u mix cereal to BM, do u mix to fresh BM or thawed BM? i scared if mix with thawed BM will hv metallic smell n Shanice won't take the cereal. but if give her drink thawed BM, can only feed during late night or midnight leh else she sure will have a lot left (most of the times)..

thanks a lot

<font color="aa00aa">jas,</font>
ya, that's why u'r my motivation cos so many pple tell me if don't latch ss will drop.. but u gave me hope in some way

9 months!!! hope i can persevere for that long too
u know, i now quite reluctant to give FM leh
hiaz.... too many pro-BM frenz around *LOL*

<font color="aa00aa">giggler,</font>
yalor, very fast hor.. still remember those times we still at TTC thread..... eyes blink blink again, maybe i wif 2nd one liao, hahha... will start trying after June cos i want a doggy bb

my gal is abt 3 months plus and thinking of giving her cereal, not sure will it affect her intake of BM. She is taking too much milk and hope to supplement.
ANyone can advise which type of solid shd I start first? cereal or brown rice type?

Jen,
yar some ppl have more ss than the rest. as long as ss meet dd we dun have to worry so much.

Folic,
it is common for thawed frozen milk to have some kind of smell. some ppl describe it as metallic, some say plastic smell. as long as the taste is all right n not so sour then it is not spoil. best to the frozen milk within 1mth.

giggler,
so glad Jon finally takes formula. according to hubby n MIL who tasted gain IQ they said the taste is not bad n sweet. tmr starting work dunno what to expect, hopefully wont give me a tough time.

angelia,
u can try to give the thawed ebm to add to cereal first. if Shanice reject then u use the fresh one. usu if the thawed ebm is 2-3wks old usu they wont reject when add to cereal.

giggler, mini, angelia, emma, etc... my auntie came back leow!! how?? i'm worried my ss will drop leh... this morn latch at 6am on one side... then after that pump at 7am can only get 170ml...
oh dear... is there any remedy?

Stylobb
Aiyoh, I am not considered a gd motivation, my milk ss still not a lot, just enuff for Ivan only, no excess. Hehe...like I always say, if I had to express, I will give up bf long ago. But latch on still ok, at least ss=dd, also no stress.
I think Ivan is big not due to my milk, its his genes. Hubby's side all tall and big sized.

Mini
That's quite gd, u can go back to wk in peace. I got a tin of gain IQ, but dun want to waste my opened tin of neslac so I will wait for a few wks more 1st.

biblip
How old is ur bb? bf babies waking up in the nite is only due to hunger in the initial mths. Subsequently, its for 2 reasons, habit or coz they want to make up for the loss time with u. Actually its gd tt u hv ss to continue bf coz u only latch on day and nite, Not all pp can enjoy this option. hehe..hopefully I can also do the same when I go back to wk.

Folic
Its fine to feed on only 1 breast during bf, but remember to offer the other breast at the next feed. If bb keeps on feeding more fr one breast, u end up with one bigger than the other. Alt, u can pump out from the other breast to store.

Jenjen
I think the mummies mentioned tt ss will drop when menses is back. Dunno whether got any remedy though.
For me, still no sign of "auntie"

angelia
Wow didn't know I can be your motivator....

Just do your best okay.. don't give yourself too much stress, can affect ss one okay..

jen
ss will drop when menses is back. For me I got to pump longer to get the same amount I used to have before menses. don't worry, it will slowly resume to normal after menses.

angelia
wow.. you planning for 2nd bb already.. good. Hope you can strike the jackpot as planned. By the way, doggy is next year 2006 right?

jastan, what is "resume to normal"? normal as in before bf or normal as in pump ss? hiaz... headache... angelia dun scold me for worrying too much lah... now i really wonder if can tahan till 6mths... hiaz...

jen
it means back to before start of menses. However, it still depends on individual, for some the ss went back as during BF, for some the ss drops a little. For me, it drops during start of menses and resume back to normal pumping level after end of menses.

Thanks gals! I throw away 2 packs due to the smell liao.. now that I know it is ok, I will continue to pump and store...

folic

yup, yr 2006
can start trying after Jun this yr, after that can close shop liao

dun worry lah. i don't latch oso can tahan till now, i'm sure u can

like what others tell me always, can try a feed of FM if ss really drop but don't stop giving BM lor

<font color="aa00aa">mini,</font>
thanks for the advice. will bear that in mind. hope when i start Shanice on cereal, still got stash in freezer *LOL*

me going to throw away another 35packs of frozen EBM if no one wants them. no place in freezer n my pampered girl doesn't like milk older than 1 month old. she'll take only 60~80 of 180ml given to her!!!

angelia, after her initial bottle rejection, i very scared to intro anything new to her when she's so young leow... so quite reluctant to give FM lor...

Jen,
so fast "auntie" come to find u. for my case my ss remain lesser even though menses end. during menses time my ss same as after menses. dunno what can help to increase ss.

desert, giggler,
today first day of sch. many teachers on mc so doing relief teach. the normal n normal technical students are hard to handle. they still talk n talk despite asked them to keep quiet n read their books. then there is a briefing session for new teachers n the HOD so long winded. i cant help but keep yawning away :p

since ytr MIL tried giving Jon gain IQ using bottle n teat. he sucked all the 60ml. but today she put ebm in bottle but he refused to suck have to spoonfeed. but when give gain IQ again he will suck n suck.. even cry not enough. think he associate ebm with mummy.. so refused to take from elsewhere. quite happy he likes gain IQ. PIL asked me to stop bf since he can take gain IQ but i know if i stop completely jon will not b able to take it. so i better let him stop gradually. till now he refused to suck the bottle if i feed him milk. soon i will stop pumping n just let him latch on when he see me. no matter what since he is over 1 yr old bm seem not so nutritious for him other than the antibodies.

cannot lah.. no time leh. not like last time at customer site, senang, senang. now work bz, still gotta pump.. eat oso no time liao where got time surf so many threads?

hey ladies,

jean has been cranky past 2 nites... she just took her 6-in-1 last Sat, ran a slight fever but ok now... the thing is the bbsitter told me she is no problem at all during the day, whether feeding or any other things... but once we bring her back, at night she cries... sometimes non-stop even when we carry her... give her milk (in bottle) she still cry... but bf her, she is ok... unlatch her, she cry again... try to wipe her for bedtime (usually she enjoys this), she still continue crying... we applied ru yee you on her tummy and she stop for a while but cry again... play with her, she also will smile for a while, then suddenly cry again... WHY WHY WHY!??! hubby quite pek chek leow... very fed up with her...

jenjen
Maybe she is feeling uncomfy. Since u mentioned when u bf, she stops crying, u stop bf, she starts crying, sounds like she is bf for comfort. My boy likes to bf when he is sick or uncomfy.

Mini
Ya..I've heard horrer stories abt some normal tech pupils. Anyway, the students nowadays are very smart, they know we cannot "touch" them. hehehe...be prepared for the more boring meetings like contact time and yr end meetings. Where did u express in sch?
It will be gd to stop bf gradually, I think even if u stop expressing in the day, can still latch on day and nite till Jon dun want. Ur MIL must be very happy tt he takes from the bottle. Did Jon cry when he see u back from work?

Hi all mummies
When do u mummies started yer bb on 2 meals of solids. My girl now 7mths old n I only fed her 1 meal of cereal. I gave 4tbs of cereal (Gerber) mix with 30ml of ebm. Aft this solid feed, she could tahan 4-5hrs without another milk feed. Even she drinks, suck a bit then no want liao. I found that she drank less bm. I afraid that if I add another solid feed, shell drinks even lesser. At night, she slept for 7-8hrs without a feed. At this age, I read that solids is to complement not to replace bm. So how ha? Its okay? Btw she's also very small-sized too.

angelia
so not so senang now? since you experienced mum already, so you can just stick to this thread. Got good news must share okay...

hi mums!
just popped by to read some bfg 'tips'

Emma(babypooh),
try to delay the intro of cereals...can wait till 4 mths / 4mths+ i guess.
My boi started at 5mths...gave him heinz rice cereal...also gave dumex

skinny,
My boi already on 2 cereal feeds, morning and pm. Once in a while bb sitter will cook porridge for him.
But he still drinking often, though not as much as before liao

How abt try to coax her to drink? When she's sleepy?

Aimee
Can have 2 cereal feeds ah? Always thought that gave 2 solid feeds, must 1 cereal n 1 porridge. Need to put extra ingredients in cereal? Now I change to Heinz High Protein Multigrain. Cos Gerber one very sweet. Think I'll reduced the no of tbs n gave 2 feeds. Gave 4tbs b4 now maybe 3tbs. See how lah.

Tried 2 bfg b4 bb slept but pushed away. If I forced it, bite me leh.

How old then bb can eat pork, chicken n fish? I read at smartbaby.com.sg, it recommended at 10mths. It's so?

ya lor, now only stick to this thread &amp; the year end MTB thread
quite a number there oso planning #2 in yr of doggy
so still got kakis *LOL*

<font color="0000ff">increase ss</font>
forgot who asked, but i read from an EPers support group that Nettle + Blessed Thistle helps to boost ss n won't cause "wind" like fenugreek does.

BUT, i dunno how true cos i personally din try it out, n i think BLESSED THISTLE is not easy to find

<font color="0000ff">starting solid</font>
erm.. what's the rationale behind starting solid early? esp when bb is drinking well?

as for fish, think we chinese give as early as we start giving porridge.....

Normally how do you store EBM in freezer? I'm using the Avent storage bags right now, but just heard that Avent has stopped producing such bags. And i have trouble buying the bags now, every place no stock! Thought of using Avent 4oz bottle, but will need alot and freezer no space liao. Other brand storage bags very ex compared to avent. Any suggestion?

hi coco,
one of my friend also telling me she cant find avent disposable bags in shopping centres n i said cant b. i din go n take a look myself. hmm.. lets wait a while to see if any new avent disposable bags coming in.

desert,
i din express in sch as troublesome to do so since i dun want to pump in toilet. just latch him on for the 5pm feed onwards until early morning before i go off. for the 5pm feed usu i will pump out some for him to drink in the morning after cereal feed. will slowly stop pumping completely n just latch on.

so many malay students in the sch n they r so naughty. not easy to handle them. i sat in a few teachers' class n they r usu v strict when they enter the class. else the students will keep talking.

hi skinny,
Hm...can bah i guess...why not? Well, porridge tried but he dun quite like leh...only recently he start eating (abt 1 tbs.).
But bb sitter say very troublesome to cook and yet he eats only 1 tbs...

i know most mums start bb on fish when they introduce porridge. Meat like pork...maybe later? Not sure leh...

Hi coco / jen jen,
they din stop production...they are going to increase the no / pack (~100)...so the old package (40 bags) no more if sold out...
That's what i know from the salesgal @ taka's bb fair...

i use Avent milk bags...now meeting ds daily supply...so storage is minimum. But may start cos want to rotate the stash in my fridge

aimee... that's what i tot too... cos i jus bought 1 pack of 100... it's much cheaper than buying 40s... but i realised the markings are slightly different from the old one... but since i dun depend on the bag markings (as not consistent), it doesn't matter to me...

waaaaah, then i lugi leh.. i wiped out Seiyu's stock during their 20% sale. not may lah, only abt 15 packs. i always so "lucky" one, hiaz....

how much is the 100pc one?

Hi Jen,mini,aimee,Angelia
Normally I bought the bags online, this is what the sales person told me. Gave me a fright too. But managed to bought it from another website, www.babytown.com.sg, they said that Avent didn't stop production but only change the packaging from 40s to 100s/pack. The 100s are more economical than the 40s. Babytown sells $14.85 per pack. If buy in bulk is cheaper cos need to pay courier charge of $5.

Hi, I have been total breastfeeding my baby for three months already,and I just went back to work this week. Just realised I have to visit a client's office and be based there for the next four weeks. Not sure if they would have a place/room for me to express breastmilk, and I'm not keen to do it in the toilet. Can I check if anyone knows if there is a common area around Raffles Place for nursing mums to express breastmilk? Tks.

my baby boy is about 1 and a half weeks now, and i'm on total breast feeding. need some advices from all experienced mummies here.
how long should i feed my boy on each side during each feed? when in hospital the nurses said about 15 mins, is that enough?
my boy always falls asleep after one side, tried waking him up to feed on the other side but cant cos he's like a lazy pig, no matter wat we do, he jus sleeps. sigh... so quite scared tat he not eating enough.
and burping, do all ur babies burp after eating? mine sometimes dun. do i have to make him burp everytime?
sorry so many qns. cos 1st time mum so dunno alot of things. hope some of u can help me here. thx alot.....

angelia, so fast you going to try for No. 2? Me still doesnt have the courage to do that yet. So envy you that you got so many pkts of milk to throw. My PD told me to delay from giving fish till my gal is one yr old cos

mini, how are u surviving your job? Miss your boi in sch or not?

Arieslim, think there's no hard &amp; fast rules that you must have 2 porridge meals lah. Also, your bb will get tired with eating the same thing everyday mah.

coco, how abt getting glass bottles from hospital to store the EBM?

aimee, my PD advised me to start with chicken and pork for meat. For fish, wait till she's 1yr old.

boo_boo, 15min is enough for each side. Your boi shd have enough if not he cant sleep so soundly. Some bb doesn't burp all the time but best to burp him after every feed.

hi jen,
i dun use their markings at all...dunno should use when the bag is resting / standing up.
So usually express into a bottle and use the bottle as marking

angelia,
wah, you so scary??? Clear up all their stock!?! ;p

Hi nan,
i think there is a maternity shop called SPRING? maybe can ask the shop if they willing to "lend a place" to you?
If not got to find a cleaner toilet to do it loh...i used the exec toilet when i was on course...even now in office also
Dun hv the luxury of a nursing room to use.

Alternatively, take mrt to city hall to use their nursing room?

hi boo_boo,
newborns are very sleepy...just try stroking their cheeks to wake them up. i guess it's at this time that most mums give up bf...but perservere. Try to stroke his palm/ feet, wrap his clothes?
If he hungry really must latch to establish the supply...

At this age better to burp...when they get older (like my 7mth boi), he sit up will auto burp liao

dun envy me, i was pumping 6x a day back then. now pumping 5x a day.... very shacked leh.

actually there's a lady who's wish to have the milk (no sure if she's hving twins cos she say she's looking after 2 bbs) but she stays in Bedok/Simei n me at Yew Tee.. her hubby not ard, we don't drive.. so prob end up will have to throw the milk away instead of benefitting others. so sad
unless someone is so kind enough to go Simei to pick up an icebox from her then come over my place, get the frozen EBM n deliver to her. my freezer really out of space, think at most can tahan till this wkend only then gotta start throw liao
really scared later got "bao ying" for throwing so many milk!!

<font color="aa00aa">aimee,</font>
cos i was expressing 6x a day (yields 7 or 8 packs cos pack according to per feed) n can use up 1 box in 3 wks time. then that time left few pcs n can't find anywhere, then my cousin told me seiyu has n is hving 20% so wipe them out lor... too KS, now lugi *LOL* n now reduce session, i bought big bottles to pump into instead of into bags, so now all "tio teow" at home *LOL*

<font color="aa00aa">boo boo,</font>
my girl was like that too.. end up i go on total expression!! i regret i din persevere back then cos i oso worried she don't drink enuff. i oso din express out back then cos she like feeding every hour/half hr but each time only 5 mins, i scared i pump out later nothing to latch her. then if dun clear breasts, ss will drop.. i so lost, end up EBM lor

fast fast give birth still got mum to help out.. then can stop production alr mah.. hahhaa.. we stopping at 2

hi everybody,
thx alot. at least i know my boy is normal haha... but if i dun express my milk my breast feels awful. but if express i scared he confuse between bottle teat and nipple then will be difficult to breast feed him.
and the expressed milk rite? must put into fridge hor? how long can it last huh? if baby cannot finish can leave it then reheat and let him eat? if we going out, wat do i have to do to the milk? can i leave it at room temp?

Thx Giggler &amp; Aimee 4 yer replies.
Think my bb sian of drinking bm. Cos found that aft 1.5hrs aft feed, tried to bf her again, she didn't want. But gave her solids she eat finish leh. Think she prefer solids more now.
Did anyone of yer bb like tat 4 a period of time.

<font color="aa00aa">emma,</font>
at 3rd month, i think i was getting abt 90~120ml 3 hourly except the 1st session in the morning which is more cos i din wake up middle of night to express.

gradually, ss increased. though not much, but still can get enuff to feed her. but i was expressing for 40~45 mins each session using AVENT ISIS.

now it's abt 180~200ml per 4/5 hourly. still expressing at 45~50mins... sometimes 1 hour lor.

<font color="0000ff">Frozen BM</font>
anyone interested? feel so wasted to throw. all are about 4~6 weeks old. no space in freezer.

do PM or email me if u'r interested. btw, i'm staying at Yew Tee.

Angelia,
really pei fu U. Give up bfg if had to pump so many times during ML. Chosen bfg cos needn't sterilse bottles n bb wouldn't passed hard stools. Cos my elder girl on FM passed hard stools most of the times n didn't like 2 eat veggies.

Hi angelia,
You very solid leh...express for 45min - 1hr!!
now i at most spend 15 min (3hrly) to get 5oz...having enough to meet ah boi's daily intake and got surplus...headache leh

i helping you to post somewhere too...if got replies i let you know?

Wah, everytime express into bag? Me started expressing into bottles since day one...if use bag (and use 1x only) very high expense leh

Is this your first child? Saw you saying stop at 2

boo_boo,
After the 1st month, can intro bottle...i think if use NUK still not so bad. My boi got no such problem of nipple / teat confusion

If ebm in fridge i think can last 48hrs, if in freezer can last up to 3mths (i tried longer ;p no choice, cant finish leh)

Are you saying heat up to drink, then leave @ room temp and reheat again later? Better not!
i usually heat up enough, if cant finish, leave in warmer for at most 1 hr, then cannot finish then bo bian got to throw. Cos i heard there's fear of bacteria growing...