Breastfeeding Support Group

hey mel,
amy fm FBO here.. hehe, you also running low on your milk ah? me too..

hi mini,
thanks for replying, wow, you BF your baby for so long? gd for you... my baby 4 mths already.. my milk only enough to latch her at night..

hi jen,
mine not enough to pump even.. i'm always not in my office so it's not convenient to pump, maybe tat's why the supply dropped.. i wanted to feed my baby as long as possible...

mel, try random pumping once you reach home after work. It helps to build up ss for me. At the same time, try to drink more water and oats.

yve, i find the PIS not bad... at least i dun have to use my hands like the ISIS... but i find ISIS can clear breasts better cos use hands can control... for PIS, takes me 2 sessions sometimes to clear if i hv limited time to exp at work...

bibip/mel
Bf goes by the ss=dd rule, so the more u latch on/pump, the more ur body will produce. Production wun increase immediately, takes abt 2days to increase. Some fd u can take will be funugreek, fish & papaya soup and oats.

Mini
Oh, u are staying in east area. I used to stay in tampines too. That's funny, maybe someone in MOE is staying at ur place so its hand delivered.
Nope, what I meant is I hope MOE can give me my school posting earlier, so I can check with my school regarding which session I will be in. Hopefully I wun get a single session school coz I prefer to be in afernoon session, I hate to wake up early in the morning.

Jen,
Yeah lor.. With PIS, my hands can have a good rest.. I have to imagine that I am bf my ger then the let-down comes.. If good, I can get 2 let-downs per session.. and I limit the pumping to 10 minutes only.. I have the ISIS too.. It will be my backup when I too sians to hook up the PIS to pump at home..

Those who feed their bbs ebm, do you find that there are some residue after heating the ebm? The residue always get stuck in the teats and my ger get frustrated when she suck and no milk come out..

Hi jen.......

I pump once in the office during lunch time, and once more when i reach home in time for d 8pm feed. When i pump in the evening, it is normally when the baby is latched on on the other side.......

bibip........ hey, nice to meet u here.........
yah lor.... ss seems very low compared to the time when i was on maternity leave. sigh, i am very reluctant to mix formula with EBM leh. So far my boy had not drank any FM yet.

giggler......

Yah.... i think my problem is partly due to the fact that i dun drink a lot of water in the day..
If it helps, i will sure drink until the water cooler is empty

mel, I feel that drinking lots of water, milo, oats help to incr ss. Dun pressure yourself abt ss, just give as much as you can. I realize that stress will cause ss to decr leh.

now i'm getting stress abt finding another room to express... cos the current room will be used by other pple next month... hiaz... supply like slightly lesser today...

sorry can i check with all which electric breast pump is better?

1) AMEDA Lactaline (dual elec.)
2) MEDELA Pump In Style Traveller (dual elec.)
3) MEDELA Mini-Electric PLUS (dual)

hong, why are u asking about breastpumps? Tot Janelle very big already? Second one on the way?
Between 2 and 3, 2 is better in terms of suction and it has a speed control. 3 does not have. I have tried 2 and 3. No comments on 1.

Yve,

aiyo no lah...
My sister is giving birth soon. Want to encourage her to breast feed mah so i am thinking of getting her a pump as a gift.

WOW no 2 very ex.. cost $699... U using that now??

Anyone have tried Ameda Lactaline? Can give me some feed back?

desert,
oic. but MOE always v slow with regards to posting as think they still unsure which school need teachers at this stage. just hope they can reply u sooner.

hong,
i only used no. 1 so cant comment on no.2 n 3. so far i feel tat it is a good buy n i m satisfied with it. been using it for 10mths already. cheaper than PIS n can create letdown quite easily. but the adapter is quite big n heavy. think v hard for us to tell u which is the best as i dun think anyone of us has use all the 3 pumps u mentioned.

hong,
just saw ur last posting. last time i was torn btw no. 1 n 3. PIS is out as it is out of my budget n i m not sure how long i will bf. tat time i gathered quite good comments on ameda compared to medala dual so i decided to give ameda a try. somemore MIM website advertise it until so good. after using for so long ameda is a good buy n has served me well for so many mths. else it is really not easy for working mums to substain bfg for 1yr.

Hong,
The PIS is on loan lah.. I won't buy it, so ex.. 3 is also on loan for me to try.. It's suction is not as good as 2.. Think u can buy 1.. Heard it is good too..

Mini and Yve,
thanks for the feedback.

Mini, how much u got for No1?
i saw the Breastfeeding.org website selling $310 but i think someone in this forum mention some place selling at $280.

No 1 i think still can afford. I am thinking to get my sister one cos she told me she wanted to bf also to save $$ on milk powder.

I also have this thinking that if she dun need it i can T-loan from her for myself if i have a 2nd child.

hi desert,
i've been latching her every night, cos that's the only time i can do tat since i'm working. i got nothing to pump in the day leh, i also worry if i pump, at night not enough milk to feed my girl..

hi mel,
maybe during maternity leave, you can pump and latch often. now working, difficult right? sometimes when i'm out of the office, i have to let my breasts engorged till i go hm at night, so painful, that's y in the end milk supply decrease.. so sad.. initially i also dun wana feed my girl FM, but no choice leh.. not enough BM.. if really cannot increase the supply, you got no choice have to mix. can only try to feed as much BM as possible.. at least your baby still get the BM nutrition right?

yve, how much u loan pis for?

hong, i only use pis so can't comment... but i feel that pumps are quite personal pref? maybe should let ur sis decide if she wants to bf first before getting one... if not wasted...

Jen,
Sorry lah.. I borrowed it from a fren lah.. Both the PIS and Mini Electric Plus. The Mini is not as powerful as the PIS..

Mini
ya..I know they are very slow. Just hope they can be faster, will probably call up to chase them, sometimes it works. hehehe.
But the staff there can be quite unfriendly too.

Hong
I've not used the pumps tt u hv mentioned, but I can reply u based on what I know from mummies who hv used the pump b4. (2) is gd, if u dun look at the price. (1) is almost as gd as (2). So, if u put price into consideration, I think (1) is quite a gd buy. (3) is not as gd as the rest. H/w, it also depends on indv. Some pp can hv let down fast, others might need a better pump to create let down.
BTW, u might want to let ur sis try out the pump after she give birth b4 deciding which one to get.. MIM and BMSG both offer free trial for the pumps.

bibip
Its only normal for ss to decrease if u dun express or latch on during the day. I think if its inconvenient for u to express, it will be gd to continue latching day and nite and then give FM in the day. Tt way u can continue to bf w/o stressing urself abt expressing.

Mel
Stress will affect ss too. Tt explains why u can get more during maternity period. Drinking fluids is impt, take at least 2l everyday. I bot those plastic colourful 1l bottles and fill them up with water every morning, then just got to make sure I finish the water inside everyday, then will not hv problem with fluid intake.

desert,
thanks.. yah will check out with my sister again.
Some told me manual pump is even better which i have that i can passed to her.

Jen,
thanks on ur feedback too.

Hi Ladies, can i check with u if there's any BFing mums here with small breasts and still manage to express out a comfortable ss for your bb? I m an A cup and after delivery, still an A cup. My ss is very miserable.. like at most 50ml each time I express out. My son is in his 4th week already.....

hi bibip.......

Yah loh........ but i am blessed in a way cos' my HR gave me the keys to the pantry for me to express during lunch time, it's clean and quiet.

Yah...... i think from tomorrow onwards, my darling got to take 1 feed of FM liao......... of cos' i will try my very best to express as much as i can.....

Desert....

Thanks for your advice, i will try lah. But hor, i am not a "water" kind of person...... but for my son, got to "suffer" a bit loh....... heehee

hong,
price for ameda pump increases as i think due to stronger euros. some ppl managed to get the pump from the agent direct so it is cheaper. i do have the contact no for the servicing agent n i think he also sells the pump. if u decided to get this pump i will go search for his contact. when is your sis delivering? the bad part abt asking for trial is have to throw away the milk after pump. so i din ask for trial n straightaway bot it. avent manual is good but v tiring on hands n time consuming. i was using it during the 2nd mth of maternity leave but becoz too time consuming n tiring on hands i decided to buy ameda. i feel it is ok to share the pump as long as replaced some of the parts.

desert,
i just called MOE up to check on my pay as they din not update me if my past working experience counts. the two ladies who answered the phone n who called me back sounds friendly. mayb today they are in the good mood? but i do agree that some of them are unfriendly.

Mini,
why must we throw the milk away? the pump not clean???

thanks for ur feedback i really appreciate all the feedback i got here.

My sister delivering in Aug. still long right..hahah but i just want to check it out and not doing it last min..

hong,
it is advised to throw away as dunno the pump clean or not since so many has used it before. the valve part will contain some milk residue so make it unhygenic is many ppl have used before.

Hong
Since ur sis will be staying at hm for a while, no hurry to get the pump. Latching on direct is more effective than expressing in stimulating the milk ss. Ya..the avent manual pump works just as well for some mummies. H/w, dun get the other brands manual pump, heard bad comments abt other manual pumps.

Mini
Ya..some of them are ok. That time I called to check on NPL coz they din reply my email. This "auntie" who took my call was very unfriendly. I think the "older staff" in the govt dept are sometimes like tt.

Sunflower
hehe..the eg I can think of is Lina ng. She mentioned she can express a lot of milk in the newspaper. I've read tt breast size got nothing to do with ss, coz the milk producing tissues and storing area is burried deep inside the breast, then when bb sucks, the let down, will send the milk down.

hong
My gf just told me she also finds the Ameda pump v good...

mini
Sorry for delay in reply.... yah, me having second one, due mid-Oct. Me ok lah, no ms, and have good appetite...everytime before meals on weekends, hb will ask me what my craving is...
So fast! Jon has turned one!!! Congrats!
So when are you going back to work?

mel/bibip
You should look to desert for motivation!..hehe...she and I had same problem about milk ss (feed direct or express) but todate she is still b/feeding her boy and her boy is big!!

sunflower
Size is not a determinant of ss leh, my gf who is super skinny b/fed her boy till he was one!

hi desert,
i know i have to keep latching on to sustain or increase the milk flow, but i'm working in the day, so night is the only time i can latch my baby.. actually my baby already has the habit of sleeping thru the night. but nowadays kept waking up to feed, guess my milk really not enough to fill her little stomach.. haiz..

hi mel,
it's gd that your co. so supportive.. hehe.. you start feeding your baby FM already? i used to feed enfalac A+ cos it's suppose to contain SA, which is found in breast milk and only enfalac has it... now my baby cannot take cow's milk so i have to change to soy milk.. hey, i really think it's the lack of water that's why no milk leh, cos i'm not a "water" person too.. i can go with just 1 or 2 glasses of water a day.. my frenz call me a camel.. keke..

hi stylobb,
i have a fren who is still BF her son, now already 15mths... but she's a homemaker, that's why always can latch her son.. my job doesn't allow me to find time to express my milk, but i dun wana give up BF either.. dilemma man.. haiz..

hey gals,
heard that fenugreek can stimulate the milk production is it? i went GNC the other day and the lady told me it's out of stock and suggest i tried nettle instead. showed me a brochure and i found that fenugreek does not have any description that says it's gd for milk production.. anyone tried nettle? any comments? cos i'm thinkin of gg to get it later..

<font color="aa00aa">sunflower,</font>
think 4th wk is a bit too early to pump as milk ss not established, unless ur bb is not feeding n u feel engorged, then i think it's ok to pump. no point stressing urself at this point cos ss will only establish ard 6~8 wks.

i'm an AA b4 pregnancy, can only expressed abt 80ml when my breast is super engorged (cos my girl super sleepyhead). well, maybe u'll think it's a lot, but that's when it's super engorged lor.

think ard 6th or 7th or 8th wks or later, i started expressing 3 hourly cos girl just won't latch. and can only get 50~60ml per session.. diligently pump at 6am, 9am, 12nn, 3pm, 6pm, 9pm, 12mn everyday during ML and ss increased gradually. now back at work, i expressed 3~5 hrly and can get 150~260 per session on good days, BUT, i pump for 40~45 mins per session. sometimes pump 45mins only get 100~120ml.

if u can, keep latching ur girl &amp; forget abt the pump for the moment
cos that's the only (gauranteed) way to increase ss

<font color="aa00aa">bibip,</font>
i was on nettle previously (a fren passed to me
) n i think it might help a little, dunno is it psychological. but i was taking oats too, so not sure which helped more

Hi gals! I am back with more questions

Wow, Angelia, pump for 45 mins ah? That sounds so tiring!

Here's my question - my girl wakes up 1-2 hours and cries for milk. I will feed her on one breast and she will usuallys suckle for about 20 mins, sometimes less. Then she refused to wake up to drink from the other side. Is such feeding habit ok? Should I insist that she feeds on both sides at each feed?

folic

Stylobb, Desert, Mini.,
I think i shall wait 1st.

bibip,
i read from one website. this lady married a korean man n the Korean believe that the seaweed soup helps in milk supply too..

bibip
You aint able to express during working hours?
I think if you only feed at nite, the ss will drop lor... cos must keep expressing/feeding to increase/maintain ss mah.
I took fenugreek and it had no effect on me..sigh...in fact I tried nearly everything.
Brewer's yeast was also suggested.

angelia
How do you pump for 45 mins ah?? So long!!!

folic
I think it's ok if she wanna take one side...then you express the other side to store up..

hi angelia,
thanks.. hmmz, maybe fenugreek is better? i used to pump 45 mins too.. but my milk supply quite gd leh, i can also get 6 to 8 oz during my initial stage.. and 12 oz per session when i'm in my 2nd mth.. and i only need to pump for 20 mins... one day can get about 1 litre... alot loh.. and i tot since i got so much milk, i can feed my baby till she's 1 yr old.. hehe.. who knows....

hi folic,
actually it depends on how you want it lah.. i usually latch my baby on one side only. then i'll pump out the other side... 20 mins on one side or 10 mins on each breast is the same... cos babies will be full on a 20mins feed.. i believe in feeding one breast till she's full cos i read fm books that the first part of the milk is "diluted" and only meant to quench thirst and the later part will fill the stomach, so i'm wondering if i feed a little on both sides, that means she wun be full loh, only drinking "diluted" milk.. so i always feed on one side.

hi hong,
i heard about that before but i duno if i should try leh, cos it's only a belief loh, i would prefer to hear fm mothers who have experiences.. but thanks anyway! hehe..

hi stylobb,
i can't express during work leh, i'm doing sales and out of the office at irregular hours, sometimes i can express, sometimes i have to let it engorged till i get hm.. that's why now no more milk.. haiz, seems that i can't give my baby the "best".. so sad.. fenugreek also no effect ah? then i better dun waste any money liao... hmmz...

angelia, where have u disappeared to?
me wanna ask u things leh...

btw, ladies, i am facing a slight problem... cos i'm only latching my bb at night IF she wakes up... and for 2 nites oredi, her last feed at 11pm but still haven't wake up at 8am!! so no chance to latch her... if this continues, will my ss drop?
i express abt 4 times during the day...

Hi gals, thanks. good to hear that some of you feed only on one side per feed. Now, I still don need to pump the other side cos she really wakes up very often and I alternate the breasts and don really feel engorged.

folic

hong, I'm using (1)and it really helps me alot. I only need abt 20min to express in office every session using. If u need the contact of the supplier, let me know.

folic, it's alright to bf bb only one side if she falls asleep after that. Maybe you can try to pump out the other side to store for future use?

Jen, if your gal continues to sleep throughout the nite, you've got to wake up to express your milk to maintain ss.

<font color="0000ff">stylobb</font>
no surprise.. me back then also got to pump for 45mins to get enough ss for my boy.

<font color="aa00aa">jas,</font>
haha.. lucky got u to fall back on.. hahaa..

1st session in the mornng i'll pump for 1 hr... to get 300~330ml.

no choice lah, people like us wif low ss n bb doesn't wanna latch gotta work harder lor

and can u imagine she's drinking 180 every 3~4 hrs at 5 months old? think she started when she's 1 wk before she turned 5 months old.. now she's 5 months 1 wk and 2 days old

she increase intake again, i'll faint liao...

Stylobb,
so good no ms. i hate ms make me weak. good appetite is good! think u lost weight fast during after giving birth to jesse right? think for 2nd one will lose weight fast too so dun have to worry put on too much wt. heehee..
i m starting work next mon. after resting for mths no motivation to work, have to pick up the momentum again..

desert,
everyday MIL will give jon gain IQ n he will finish his 60ml. today she tried to make 90ml but still left 20-30ml. so far the most he drank for a day is 100ml but at 2 different sessions. so glad he din fuss when drink. we let him drink from the packet drink straw. mayb u should let Ivan try gain IQ too mayb he will like it!

angelia,
u have good supply! so fast ur girl already over 5mths. do u plan when to stop bf? with good ss quite wasted to stop bf if soon.

<font color="aa00aa">mini,</font>
hmm.. i dun think i got good ss cos i gotta pump for 45mins every 4/5 hourly (and really squeeze till dry) to get 1 feed whereas people jus need to pump 4x a day, each time 20~30 mins max!!

i'm expressing 5x a day now. was 7x during ML, 6x when i just came back to work. now counting down so that i can start her on solid and i can drop 1 more session. thinking of intro 1 feed of FM so that no need so stress lor.

only 1st session in the morning i can get 300~330ml. other sessions will be ard 120~240ml depending on the interval and whether that day ss good or not.......

angelia,
what pump u using? if i m not wrong u r using avent manual right? it is common to take so long when using manual pump. those ppl get done within 20min is using electric dual pump. last time i use avent manual even worse. takes more than 1hr to pump both side esp when too engorged. so i resort to electric pump.

yar dun stress yourself. just try your best. in anr few wks she will start taking solid n u can decrease number of pumping sessions.

mini, i know of someone using the avent manual pump 5mins each side can get 180ml leh... and she consider that little... THAT is DAMN GOOD ss...

Hi bibip.....

I managed to express just enough for the past few days, so he had not started on FM yet. I got a tin of mamil gold just in case though

Yah, d HR director's wife also express at work so he is pretty supportive. He was the one who encouraged me to TBF in the first place......