Breastfeeding Support Group

hi hi mummies...

i just came back from my expressing session...so sad i only have 120ml ...so depressing ...
i used to get around 180ml to 210ml...what wrong with me huh ?

I remember some mummies say that menses will affect the supply....but during my menses(which is last week) i still can get 180ml...but now after menses ..seem like my supply is dropping....yesterday i only get 150ml too....

any advise

any other factors that will affect supply ?

i've managed to train my bb to take NUK and Avent bottles... seems like Avent is better cos it does not leak...
but I did not latch her the whole day yesterday... only pumped abt every 3 hours... yesterday first pump can get over 200ml... then second pump abt 150ml... third worse... only 90ml...
is this normal?? after that i latch her at night... i just pumped (first pump for today) just now and only got 150ml... is this a sign of supply dropping? how to remedy?

Hi Giggler, Idono, Mini, Aloe
What my MIL does now if he doesn't drink his milk is to mix with cereal and make him drink. He drinks 1 bottle of ebm everyday and I latch him on middle of night. Supply bad. It takes me two feeds to make 1 bottle.

My boy is teething so not sure if it's becos of teething. He's ok drinking juice or plain water. Just dun like fm. Hiaz..wasted so much milk powder already.

Hi absolut & Giggler,
Thank you for your encouragement!! Definitely need a lot of help and support for bf.
Its tough job but for the benefit of bb, I'll strive on.

BTW, is it true that ss may differ at different timing?

hi jen...
try pumping more often... ss shld go back... dun despair leh... might take a while to see result.

adeline...
being stressed up wld oso affect ss... so dun keep thinking abt ss low... try to be more positive.

Hi aloe, my gal still wake up for her nite feeds too. And it's every 2hr interval leh. Think I already used to it liao so still ok lah. My gal will sometimes suck while sitting. Now, she likes to shift positions while nursing too.

Hi Emma, if you bring the frozen EBM to the nanny for that day's ss then she shd keep in the lower compartment for it to be thraw.

Hi mini, so your bb is fussy as the daddy?
How come your nick is shown as Idono?

Hi angelia, I think bb will keep changing their behaviours?

Hi soyabean, Vane is taking 2-3 milk feeds in the day while I working. And she's drinking 6oz each feed.

Hi Adeline, I feel that our mood will affect ss leh. Do u feel stress recently?

Hi Jen, I read somewhere that you'll get the most ss in the morning.

Hi Masshiro, think teething will cause bb to lose appetite leh.

Hi Maple, I read somewhere that you'll get the most ss in the morning compared to late in the night.

I'm a new mom. My baby Timothy is 2 weeks old. Have a couple of questions to ask the seasoned mummies here
I don't seem to feel any let-down reflex. When I remove my bra, my breasts already start to drip milk, esp my left side which gets engorged very very quickly. Is this OK?? He feeds suck-pause for about 8 mins then his sucking gets faster and more sporadic. It's very hard to keep him awake. Anyone having problems waking up their sleepy babies to feed?? I'm trying to keep him on 3 hourly feeds but waking him up is really such a challenge. Sometimes, getting him to feed for a total of 15 mins is so difficult already.

soyabean, the more often i pump, the less "full" i feel leh... only when i feel "full" then i will be able to pump out a lot...

giggler, i latch her until 10am in the morning cos i simply too tired to get up earlier than 10am... my pump will be when i feel "full" after the 10am feed...

Hi Catz, envy you that your breasts engorged so fast. Maybe u can try to pump and store if your bb wants to sleep rather than feed? You can try to change his diaper if he fell asleep in the middle of the feed.

Hi jen, you got to pump more now so that your ss will incr in the future. That's why it's advised that you pump every 3hr consistently.

jen...
wld take a while to feel the effect..
dun be discouraged... pumping more often signals to ur brain dat there is demand...

Hi Mapleleaf

It's true that ss differs with timing. The 1st pump in morning usually gets more coz your body has more rest. Water intake also affects for me. Can't remember if you were asking abt my water intake ... anyway, I'm quite a water barrel ever since I started bf ... drink at least 6 - 7 litres of water a day.

<font color="aa00aa">soyabean,</font>
she's okie previously, but recently getting smart and always dun finish frozen ebm except when it's midnight feed. guess she's too sleepy to differentiate!!! *LOL*

angelia,
baby will have diff habits at diff pt of time. my boy rejected frozen ebm when he was 5mths old. but if the frozen ebm is less than 2wks old he will take it. mayb u just let ur girl drink those older frozen ebm in the middle of night. then day time give her fresher ebm. hope she will finish those since wasteful to throw away. last time i threw away many packs of frozen ebm.

giggler,
Idono is my hubby's nick. dunno y it appear? mayb he set in as a default logging in n my nick is not registered in. yar lor think baby as fussy as daddy :p my boy also wakes up at 2hr interval at night leh. dunno is it he really hungry or it is becoming a habit? mayb becoz our ss is not much n our babies dun feel full from it n hence need to wake up more?

masshiro,
really tough to make them like fm hor. just hoping they turn 1yr old so tat can have more varieties. somemore 1yr old fm has better taste. can take fresh milk too so not so worrying they dun take enough milk.

Hi Giggler &amp; absolut,
Thks again for the info. How about bb's dd? Do they differ at different feed or should it be constant?

absolut,
I wasn't the one asking but its good to know. WOW!! 6~7 litres!! That's a lot leh, no wonder you got so much ss now ... hee ... hee ... I think perhaps I should try that too.

Hi Mini,

Yah..let him drink milk like forcing him to drink medicine like tat...so angry and keep pushing my hand away. hiaz..somemore my baby underweight so I worried about him not drinking enuf.

Wow Absolut,
Tat's a lot of water. I dun mind drinking water, but going to the toilet so many times is so troublesome. hee hee.

BTW, I brought my son for his 1st swim last weekend, but think water very cold, so he didn't like it. He ok when his feet in water, but when I try to put him in float and his body submerged, he hated it. Wondering if I should get him a neoprint..warmer.

giggler &amp; soyabean, somehow i feel that pumping like not much effect leh...
hiaz... today worse... i pump at 10am, get only 150ml... then pump again at 2pm, get only 70ml!!! hiaz...

Hi giggler, haiyah, I try everything to keep him awake - rub his feet, change his diaper, use damp towel to wipe him all over. Still, sometimes he only feeds for 15 min max (both breasts incl).. wish I had a weighing scale to weigh him everyday to appease my worry!!

Masshiro, how old is your boy? Wondering if 2 months is too young to bring my boy out for swimming.

jen,
do u feel ur brs get soft after u have pumped? think most prob u din empty the breasts. by right milk ss should not differ so much n ss will not decrease overnight. mayb u stress urself too much over the amt n hence cant get letdown n that is y lesser milk. u r using avent manual? do consider getting an electric pump if u intend to bf for long. really worth it. i usu cant clear the brs with avent manual. somemore pumping every 3hrs do make the hands v tired.

masshiro,
just try every opportunity to give more milk. some desperate mums even add fm to porridge. if add abit of cereal to it helps then just do so. just have to make sure drink more water as cereal is heaty. if not can consider add anr nutritious solid meal until he is eating 3 solids a day. my boy was on 3 solid when he was 7.5mths old though each solid meal not say alot.

jenjen
good that you managed to train your girl to take the bottle.....
so you trying to fully express?

mini
my pd asked me to try to bf till 1 yr, so counting down another 2 months.....
he says can intro 1 yr old milk at 11 months, so i'll prob start supplementing fm soon

looking forward to pump-free days but will definitely miss the bf experience

catz
i had the same problem with my girl when she was young. had to find all means to wake her up to feed, to the extent of having to take off her clothes

but if he's had 15 mins of suckling and doesn't want anymore, perhaps he's had enough

Hi Catz,
My boy is 8 months. Personally I think 2 mths a bit young. I would prfer to wait until baby finishes the jabs. Also it's better to wait when the baby's neck has firmed.

Hi Gals
Long time never come here.........

Masshiro
How is bb??? Hb asks me again...I said I dun know leh, masshiro v busy...ahhhaaaa...
He is still rejecting formula?? Aiyoh...noti ah..
gaining weight or not? So you tried Friso?? I think I will stick to Gain after this. Jesse takes all! Even gave him lactose free milk also wallop.

mini
Your boy ok??

absolut
How do you drink 6-7 litres?? I only drink 2 litres the most and that exceeds the recommended amount ...hehe...
Btw your mil looks so mode...

catz
Hi! Remember me???? We communicated before..you back here for good???
FYI my boy used to take 15 mins each side...quite accurate each time...

giggler
Hi hi......how is Vane? Slimmer or still as chubby??

Girl
E does not want the bottle???

Hihi stylobb
Yup, back here for good.. definitely grounded because of my little darling!

Thanks for the reassurance, ladies! SO worried 'cos hv read that baby should take 15 minutes per breast and my little one only likes to take one breast at each feeding. Wish I could weigh him accurately at home.

Girl, my boy could prob sleep thru a nuclear war!! Even rubbing him with a damp washcloth also fails!

Masshiro, heard tt we`should try to let baby swim before 3 mths if not they'll hv fear of water.

catz
I only let my boy has his first swim when he 11 mths old. so far he like it after few attempt to put him in water using a float. I don't believe that saying.

masshiro
how are you? long time never heard from you. I think swimming for bbs cannot rush, just take your time. I think best to bring bb to swim around 5-6pm.

I know people will be shocked by the amount I drink but constantly thirsty leh esp after pumping or feeding. For me it's easy to drink abt 600ml of water at one shot... that's why keep going to pantry to refill tumbler and yes ... toilet breaks. It's certainly helped to increase my amt of milk

Hi all, I'm new here and my baby's almost one-month old. I'm giving him EBM in the day and supplementing with formula at night. Recently, my confinement lady keeps saying my EBM is too watery and has no nutrients, that's why my baby keeps urinating. Sometimes he can wet up to two to three cloth nappies after every feed. Is there such a thing as the EBM being too watery? Could it be because I have too much foremilk and too little hindmilk? Is there any way to increase my let down of hindmilk? Thanks very much

LH
Firstly please do not bother about what your CL says, they all say the same thing, many are not pro-bfeeding...also dun know why.

Secondly even tho BM is watery, what makes her think that FM being not so watery is more nutritious??? They dun get their facts right and anyhow say things...BM is specially designed for bb's digestive system. BM is free from germs. B/fed bbes are less prone to infections, constipation and allergies. BM is good for bb. Period.

Please ignore what she says, next time she comments, ask her what she gets her 'facts' from. (Maybe she feels too free since you are b/feeding and ends up she got nothing much to do???) It's normal for bb to keep urinating, in fact it's good...maybe she finds it troublesome to keep changing nappies??? Then use disp diapers for the time being. 6-8 wet nappies is normal. Urine should be light in colour

With regard to letdown, I am also not very unsuccessful but you should...
1. stroke breast v lightly towards nipple with your little fingers
2. do a little gentle nipple rolling and pulling
3. relax and think of your bb or look at a foto of him
4. deep breathing with eyes closed may also help.

FYI I got all this info from my b/feeding book. Hope this helps. Take care and pls do not give up b/feeding!

Thanks styloBB for the infor.

Can I ask how should bf babies stools be like? Some of my baby's stools are loose, unformed, seedy and yellowish, which I've read is normal. But some times in the day, my baby will pass wind and at the same time, pass yellowish stool water, or sometimes, individual yellow "seeds". Don't know if that's normal, or it means he's not getting enough nutrients. My CL says the normal stools are from formula milk whereas the stool water is due to my breastmilk.

Also, my baby can sometimes wet 2-3 nappies within 10-15 minutes during or after a feed. Don't know if that's normal also, or he's not passing urine at one shot which indicates some urinary tract problem. Anyone has the same experience?

Sorry if i'm so long-winded. First-time mum, so I'm quite anxious.

Now, I discard the milk expressed during the first 5 minutes, as they appear very watery and sometimes a little transparent. It's probably foremilk right? A bit xin1 tong4 to waste the bm, but I'm not sure if such "transparent and watery" bm is nutritious.

LH
Hi. Should be yellow, seedy, kinda pastey.... I dun know how your CL knows which is what!!!
About the wet nappies, I'm not sure, I only know 6-8 nappies per day is normal. If you are not comfortable, suggest you see your PD to find out, beta than hearing what the CL says....
Why you discard your bm?????? What a waste!!!
Bm, whether it's foremilk or hindmilk is nutritious, pls do not do that. Do you direct latch?
I'm sorry I cannot answer all your qstns, am sure the other mums who b/feeding will be able to give beta advice.

Yes I agree with styloBB, whether foremilk or hindmilk, do not discard 'cos foremilk quenches baby's thirst. As for CF nanny, they are mainly going on hearsay so pls read up on bf'g yourself and be empowered with knowledge.

StyloBB, my boy is getting hungrier. Now he totally empties one breast and takes a little from the other. Total about 25 mins. Maybe he's hitting his 3 week growth spurt?

LH, my boy's stools are the same as yours. Don't worry, this is normal for bf babies. If your baby is getting enough nutrition from breastmilk, he should have 6-8 sodding wet diapers and 2 or more poos per day. So don't worry!!! I don't know how you can tahan using cloth diapers.

Hi LH

Pls dun discard the foremilk. It's impt that your bb has the foremilk since he's also on FM. Otherwise you'll need to feed him some water.

Anyway, it's good that bbs urinate often, it's a sign that there's enough fluid intake. It's also normal for bb's stools to be watery esp if he's mostly on BM.

Thanks all. I don't direct latch bec my baby squirms like anything, chokes (probably cos I got quite a bit of milk at the initial stage) and he drips from the mouth quite a bit, and soaking his shirt at times. Really don't know how much he's drinking. Moreover, my left nipple is inverted which makes it even more difficult to latch on. Really wish I could direct latch. Don't know why bf is so problematic for me. Quite troublesome to keep expressing every few hours, esp when he's crying in the background. Sometimes feel like giving up cos he seems to also like drinking formula milk better. He always falls asleep drinking EBM.

I've read up quite a bit on bf whilst i was pregnant, but I guess comments from CL and parents, plus my baby's fussing, really affected me a little.
Plus now he has quite bad nappy rash at the anus area probably due to his frequent bowel movements. Very xin1 tong4, cos it must be painful. Already using nappy rash cream. Any other ways to help heal faster? I'm letting him wear diapers at the moment.

Hi LH,

glad to hear that u actually have lots of milk for ur bb. Perservere please, now's the best time to increase ss as ur bb dds more. No need to compare with how other bbs r drinking, as long as bb drinks n is happy after each feed, then he's feeding well. I used to get stressed when those healthcare people told me abt my boy being in the lower %tile for weight, but after tbf him for months(he's 5+mths now), i realised that lots of us r too focussed on weight-gain n not on BMI, a very impt indicator too. U check ur health booklet, n u will see the table for it. Coz when i did the calc, under BMI, my boy's in the 90th %tile, wierd rite? But what i know is that BMI is a much better indicator, rather than us only wanting our bbs to expand horizontally n not vertically.

My mil used to be anti-bf, when i first bf, she kept saying i not enuff milk so bb cry. But as a mum, i knew my boy cried coz he was struggling to get to sleep. I'm sure u will know ur boy better than anyone else in this world, so, people can say 1001 things, u must go by ur maternal instinct, dun worry even if u r 1st time. When u r supplementing w fm, ur bb's dd for ur bm will decrease, so if u want to keep ur ss up, keep pumping! When i was on maternity leave, i pumped every time after my boy finished each of his 2-hrly interval feed. He drank 10-12 times in a day then, so i also pumped 10-12 times per day. Of coz each session i dun get much, coz my boy had already emptied most of my breasts. But what i wanted was for to send signals for my breasts to produce more! I know i sounded quite crazy, pumping so many times, its tough, but looking back, u will feel happy n worth it doing for ur bb.

Oh, forgot to answer regardg nappy cream, desitin in blue tube is a very good one, i got it from Alvernia shop, not too sure where else to get. Currently i'm using mothercare's, so far so good.

Hi <font color="0000ff">desert</font> &amp; <font color="ff6000">moon</font>,

long time din come in, was busy with moving hse... moved 3 weeks liao, things still not finish moving n unpacked! with a bb around very diff. my gal very naughty!! so with her around diff to do things.

i wnt to ask if u hv given FM to ur boys? my gal night waking for feed is quite a torture. she wakes quite often n want to stay in the bf position for long time. very shiong.

so i m planning to give her FM b4 she sleep n then train her not to wake for night feed. Dr Ang (my gal pd) say hv to cold turkey, get others to stay with her when she wakes. dont give milk or bf her, n cannot let her see me. a gal in a mother's thread followed his instructions, her boy takes 3 weeks to sleep thru the night. I m waiting for hb to agree to start.

how are u coping with night feeds?

mini, may i know which electric pump are you using? these few days i've been trying to regularly pump every 3hrs and results are starting to be seen... but i'm still using the manual avent... and my fingers are starting to feel numb... even when i'm not pumping, my fingers can be numb too... so i think it's not good to use it long term...

will appreciate any of you ladies to recommend the type of electric pump you are using... thanks...

<font color="aa00aa">mini,</font>
ya lor, now can only "trick" her to drink during her midnight feed, which is only 1 feed!!

already threw away abt 3~4L of EBM past few days, more to be thrown cos reach 1 month soon.. my hubby more heartpain than me, so i try to "clear the freezer" when he's not around

Blessed
Hehe..I've not been following this thread for a while too.
Oh, I can understand what u mean, I moved hse with my boy b4. Most of the time, my hubby did the packing, I just gave instructions and look after my boy.
I hv just started to give him some FM thro the cup, but he takes less than 30 ml, so I dunno what to do with him. Are u feeding ur gal FM thro the bottle?
For the nite-waking, my boy still wakes up quite often at nite. So far, I am kinda of being used to waking up and going back to sleep at nite. H/w, sometimes, he will keep waking up and tt will affect my sleep. My PD told us to try cold turkey too. I tried once when he was ard 6 mths, but in the end I still gave in coz I could not stand his deafening cries.
Another problem with my boy is tt he needs to be bf to sleep at nite.

my baby abt 7 weeks old yest night after bf at abt 12 plus then she slept thru the night till this morning abt 6 plus..I am not sure is it alright for her to skip one feed? I hope not because I am tired and did not hear her crying. SHe slept on her tummy and can sleep for long.

Hi Angelia

I asked my maid to clear the milk when I'm not around so I dun see and my MIL saw the amount of milk being thrown, she also heartpain. Asked whether can water plants or feed dog with it. Ha ha!

Hi Blessed
Your girl is quite big already right? Poor thing ... are you working? Can't imagine having to deal with night feeds while working in the day. Looks like must start training then. Does your girl sleep for long stretches in the day instead? Maybe her timing a bit mixed up.

Hi LH

Continue to perservere ... we also had our share of problems when we first started BF. I wanted to give up so many times but managed to hold on til now after reading the postings on this forum. Everytime you feel like giving up, pop by in here :eek:) It'll be a waste for you to give up coz you've got tons of milk leh. Most pple give up coz of insufficient milk

absolut, how long have u been using ameda pump? i'm considering either ameda or medela pis... since it's quite confirm i will giving BM...

Hi <font color="0000ff">desert</font>

Ya my prob is when my gal wakes too many times, n she doesnt juz want to latch on, she wants to b in that position for long! she is 13mths liao...so i think time for her to sleep thru the night, i quite concern she not getting good sleep too.when she was young i cant bear to let her cry, but now she big liao, hehe nvr mind lah.i think i will try.

still can BF to sleep even when we want to give cold turkey, juz send the signal that once asleep no more BF'g. what brand FM u give ur boy? I havent try any FM yet. but already gotten similac sample from PD... still think when to start hehe. yup will feed thru bottle.

i m beginning to let her sleep on a mattress beside me, i feel better for both of us. coz we light sleeper, either one moves will affect the other one.

hi stylobb,
glad to "see" u here. my boy still dun like fm. the other day tricked him drink 30ml n he started to make vomit sound so MIL stopped. felt tat his appetite increases as sometimes he wakes up v frequent at night becoz of hunger i think since he sucked for quite long. think my ss not enough for him n hope he accept fm soon. somemore MIL everyday cook the same porridge so think he is sick of it n hence usu dun eat much for dinner.

girl,
oh din know can start to use 1yr old fm from 11mths. so means anr 2wks+ u can intro fm to E. which brand will u b using? my boy still dun want fm. think come to worse just let him try 1yr old milk since it has better taste.

jen,
i m using Ameda too. quite a good pump. been using it for 8mths+ already.

desert,
my boy also reject fm. nowadays dunno y he dun want to suck the teat when we ebm in milk bottle.he is ok with the teat if we put water. end up have to spoon feed or drink from the bottle neck instead. so tat day also dun have fm, end up MIL tricked him drink 30ml thru bottle neck before he make the vonit sound. what fm u using?

Hi Emma,

My boy is also ard 7 wks.He also sleeps around@6 hrs now in the nite. Below is some info which I copied from a website, fyi :

Your Baby's Sleeping Pattern

Two-month-old babies usually sleep better at night. By now, your baby most likely has a routine for sleeping and eating. Probably she goes at least three hours without a feeding. A baby this age usually sleeps longer than a newborn at night, but each baby is different.

http://www.pregnancy-calendars.net/sleepingpatterns.html

If you were to visit the above website, it says :

A one-month-old baby may sleep two to three hours between feedings. Sometimes babies this age will sleep as many as five hours at a time at night.

AMEDA PUMP

Hi mummies, I just bought the ameda pump. For some reason, the suction varies, even at the same setting. Just now when I pumped, the suction was very weak and I couldn't really achieve let down. I reassembled the pump but still no use. This happened to me yesterday afternoon also. All other times, like last night, the pump worked well even though I didn't do anything different. Has anyone using the same pump encountered this problem?

hi fruitcake,
yar sometimes i encountered the same problem too. sometimes with some shaking the suction power may get to normal again. if not i just turn the suction button a little to get the strong suction again. thinking of bringing my pump to the agent but dunno will the agent b able to help on this problem or not.

Stylo
E rejected bottle at 4/5 months, but now okay liao. Occasionally still rejects if I'm the one feeding.

Jen
I'm using the PIS. So far so good. Quite easy to get medela spare parts from Mums &amp; Babes too. I got extras so that we didn't have to sterilize each time I pumped. Have heard good reviews about Ameda too

Mini
My pd says okay to start then, no hard and fast rule that must start after. Been looking around for 1 yo FM, notice all of them have added sugar, prob that's why tastier. So once you start on that have to try not to bottlefeed baby with FM to sleep, else risk getting decay. Thinking of latching on at night before sleep instead