Breastfeeding Support Group

Hi mini, my next target is tbfg for 9mths. Think my ultimate goal is only one yr. Dont think I'll still continue to bf bb for more than a yr.

oh, so that's sore nipples... scared me cos i tot might be thrush infection or something... cos sometimes itchy also... can't stop latching cos both sides also kanna... haha... anyway, not that painful lah... so can tahan... but i dun find BM good in healing leh... cos after a while, even when gal dun suck, breasts also leak... hiaz...

wooof, if i tandem pump, i can get 120-150ml from each breast... if i pump before i feed my gal, i can pump about 100-120ml from both sides... if i pump after feed, i can get about 60-80ml from both sides... cos usually she only drink from one side then she close eyes to doze... refuse to open mouth when i try to offer the other side... but after 1 hour cry for milk again... hiaz...

hi jen, bm works for me.

Hi all, my yi-ma just arrived today. And true enuf, my ss drops at the same time. Only managed to get half of what I got last few days. Think I shd able to survive thru this cycle cos there's weekends and I can direct latch my gal. Also, I can tandem pump to get some ss to store.

I see so many of you BF for so long for your babies. I tot that BM is not as nourishing for bigger babies as babies are already on solid food, and FM will be much better by then.

Got a problem whihch I wonder if anyone here can help?

I was breastfeeding for the first 6 weeks but was told to stop for a week by my baby's PD as he has jaundice. I have been pumping since I stopped on Tuesday 4 Jan but this morning suddenly developed a clogged milk duct. It's quite hard and painful, and I've tried massaging under a warm shower and expressing the affected breast, but the duct is still painfully clogged! As I cannot latch my baby on, anyone has any other methods to try to get rid of the clog?

Also, I delivered at Gleneagles, is there anyone there who can help me with this problem?

Hope to hear an answer soon.. The pain is terrible and affecting my sleep, I'm worried I can't take care of my baby as well. So sad that my problems always come on Saturdays where the doctors are usually closed.

hi kypf,
i dun understand how come u have to stop bf becoz of jaundice. my baby has breast milk jaundice n the jaundice only went off totally when he was 6wks old. i did not stop latching at all. in fact PD said if the jaundice is breast milk jaundice then it is not worrying. i can identify with the pain u r facing. i can say the best n fastest solution is to ask baby to suck. y dun let him suck this time until the milk ducts is unblocked? if not u try to massage n pump again. sometimes the milk ducts can just go off when pumping.

hi all..

I have just give birth to my bb girl on the 26.12.04.

I have tried to consult some of the members under Year end Mum..and some of them really give me great advise...but thot that my topics is more relevant here..

I have a few questions on BF.

I tried to latch my girl and she did sucks for about 10 to 15 mins but of cos in between stop a while, and she at times push my nipples out which means she has enough. But when i let her sleep, in less than half an hour, she demands again..should this be the way. She latch at both left and right and sometimes latch again..but seems she always not enough.

Can anyone advise me...i really feel like giving up on BF.

Thanks mngo and mini. I managed to get the milk ducts unclogged after ruthlessly massaging my breast in the shower and applying the pump. Such a horrible experience, but at least i know how to handle it now.

My boy has been jaundiced for 6 weeks when the PD asked me to stop bfing. At 2 weeks and 5 weeks, the PD still said it's ok to bf, guess last week, when the PD saw he's still so jaundiced, ask me to stop bfing for a week to see if the jaundice go down.

I have stopped bfing for 6 days already and at least the white of his eyes are no longer yellow but his face still seems abit yellow leh. Hmm.. hope I get the green light to continue bfing at his checkup on Tuesday..

GIRL: I went through the same thing as you. Yes, after baby sucks for a while sometimes fall asleep and release the nipple, but actually not full. What I did was when bb falls asleep, I change his diaper, this usually wakes him up and he remembers he's hungry so start crying and I latch him on to other breast and after that he will sleep for few hours.

Don't give up breastfeeding, trust me I went through the same thing as you, I got alot of support from my colleague, she would SMS me advice in the middle of the night when I was struggling with baby. Now I have to stop bfing for a week, I really miss seeing my baby's sweet face at my breast (it looks different when I'm feeding him the bottle), and feeding formula is so much harder (try making up the formula while trying to soothe a hungry crying baby, + wash and sterilise bottles) and the poo is also stinky with formula milk..

Giggler
Yup, I am teaching. I teach cl and those el non examinable subjects in pri school.
I think shd bf for at least a yr if u can. Actually, I really enjoy bf my boy, sometimes when he is too active or bawls for no reason in the car, can take a bf break.

Mini
Yup, sec pupils can be really naughty, heard lots of horrer stories from some friends. Must be prepared, coz they can be quite rude. I definitely wun be able to teach sec school coz I dun like teenagers, I prefer kids. I prefer the lower pri kids to be exact.

Kypf
Did ur PD did a blood test b4 he tells u to stop bf? My boy's jaundice was also there at the one mth check-up, PD did a blood test, results was ok, so he told me to continue to bf.

GIRL
Dun give up, sometimes they only want to comfort suck. This one u hv to take sometime b4 u can tell whether they are sucking for fd or comfort. Meanwhile, just do demand feeding. After abt 6 wks or so, things will get much better.

Giggler,
I would like to give birth once and for all. It will be nice to suffer once through.It will be nice to have their age gap quite close. Besides, I am not young. I am keeping my fingers crossed that I can have all 3 before 35 years old.

Mini,
Are you still breastfeeding?

I will be returning to work end of Feb and wish to continue with breastfeeding.
When should I start expressing the milk and store them? I am not sure how much
milk my baby requires per feed and how much milk do I need to stock up?

Is it necessary to thaw the milk from the freezer by putting it in the lower
compartment overnight?

Thank again for the advice.

desert, yeah he did, and he told me it's "non-obstructive jaundice" but told me to stop bf anyway to see if the jaundice goes away.

desert,
ll look for a nanny for zoie then..

giggler,
u heart must ve melted when ur gal smile at u..

mini,
we support you all the way...dun worry..u can do it..

kypf,
i bf thou my gal was hospitalised for jaundice twice...i pump n dev to hosp, but still got to supplement with FM tat time, cos too tired to travel so often to hosp then..then i keep what i pump then..
u can pump and either throw or keep, and resume when bb jaundice goes away...

Jen (jenjen)
Sorry, can explain alittle what exactly is tandem pump?

I've resort to fulltime pumping, each time I can only pump 120ml from BOTH breast!
Furthermore it takes half an hour to do that.

If I were to try to start latching BB again, how should i do it? Especially it seems tht by latching she sure won't eat enough......

woooooooof

<font color="aa00aa">woof,</font>
u'r better than me.. i need 45 mins to get 120ml from both breasts.. sometimes only 90ml..

wooof, tandem is latch bb on one side and pump simultaneously on the other side...

hi, for those of you who freeze your EBM, may I know how long you take to thaw it? btw, can advise how to thaw it without "warming" it up? cos the amount i freeze is not exact for 1 feed... i want to know how to thaw, then pour out the required amount for feed and keep the rest for next feed... thanks...

oh, got another question... i plan to start my gal on bottle this week... any advice if i should use avent or nuk teats? cos worried abt nipple confusion... my gal is 1 month old...

Hi, KYPF and Desert,

thank you very much for your advices...I kept telling myself not to give up so easily...I have make myself fix now in the sense that morning, 9am pump once for her next feed, 12.00pm to 1pm pump another time for her next feed, then next will be at 3pm to 4pm pump for next feed and lastly after my shower, if she demand I will latch her, if not I will pump at 9pm before drinking the dom for her feed the next day.

Can anyone advise if this is okie?

I dunno why I prefer pump than latch cos i can really see how much she drink and also whenever I latch her, her face will get red, I feel so heart pain....

Is pumping as good as latching?

sorrie..I hve so many questions to ask ;)

melody, i pump and freeze, now got a freezer full of frozen bm. Baby is seeing the PD tomorrow and hopefully I'll be given the green light to start bfing. For tonight I'll throw the bm today as no more space to keep.

Jen, think Avent teats are supposed to be better, more similar to natural feeding, they claim. Anyway my baby is using Avent teats, and before when I was bfing no problem to switch from breast to bottle.

GIRL, think latching supposed to be better. I've been pumping for a week and have got all sorts of problems. On Sat I had a blocked milk duct, today my left breast is hurting like nobody's business, later am going to pump in the shower..

Sigh, If I don't pump for more than 4 hours my breasts start hurting so much I wake up from my sleep, I wonder when I will be able to have a good night's sleep again.

GIRL (baobei)
Hi, I'm doing the same as u too. my timing is abt the same as yours, almost every 3-4 hrs once, sometimes even at night 12am and 3am ....

Sometimes really feels like just let BB latching on, so much easier...

Anyway, by pumping my ss simply stays at the same amount... no matter how strict I follow my timing, it wouldn't increase leh. Are u facing the same problem? May I ask how much can u pump per session and how long u'll take?

Hi~~
Ask questions for my sister regarding bf, today she found out that her nipples at the right side very painful when baby latch on, then try to pumping out the milk but like kena blocked. She said her right nipples became a bit white colour and felt it very hard...

what problem she facing ah?? She try to pumping out and latch on but it was so painful..

So can she still let baby latch or continue pumping?? Izzit infection??

GIRL
Pumping is not as effective as latching. Latching will definitely stimulate more milk production. Sorry, cannot help with pumping, coz I dun pump. Maybe the other mummies can help.

Fion
Sounds like she got a dried up milk clot, need to remove, b4 the milk can flow. I think its better she make an appt with a lc.
Meanwhile, can let bb latch on and massage breast. BTW, will be very painful when she massage

angelia (angph38)
ahyoh, very difficult right, did u let yr baby latch on, other than pumping, if so the amount is ok ah.

Sorry one more question, if u tandem pump at one feed, do u offer both breast to yr baby? Or u only offer one side while the other side are totally pumped out?

Desert,
so it's milk clot ah? Not infection hor? I never face tis problem when i bf Ally so really not idea lo!

Actually i ask her try to let baby latch on more and message her breast with warm towel.

Dear Kypf,

I know latching is better, but heard from my mum that latching will cause the bb to be addicted to the nipple sucking..so afraid that she might get addicted after I return work..so my mum encourage me to pump but not to keep inside fridge, so once pump is meant for the next feed.
But anyhow, thanks so much for your advise. I will try to latch her on when she demands.

Dear Desert,

is okie..i check with the rest of the mummies..so u let ur bb latch issit?

Dear duffy..

oh so you are doing hte same thing as me lah...
Why dun u latch leh.? I dun wana latch bcos 1st like wat i told the rest of the mummies, my girl will have rashes on her face after I latch her, even though i clean my breast, maybe as I latch I tend to sweat; secondly my mum say bb will tend to addict to nipple sucking after sometimes, so afraid after i return to work, is tough for my girl also...so now i shd say i have changed to full time EBM.

Hmm..I try to pump for about 15 to 20 minutes,but the most i only have maxi 80ml for both breasts, but most of the time, I will try my best to reach 70ml..what abt u?

Btw how old is ur bb? u give formula?
I give formula to my girl as well.

Do let me know okie

GIRL (baobei)
I stopped latching because of pressures from relatives lor for one. Another reason is because I got very short nipples, so I end up with sore nipples very often, so pain i cannot tahan lor.

Everytime I pump now abt 30mins, I got abt 100ml or less. My girl eats abt 120ml now each feed, so not enough lor, one day at least one of the feed is FM.

like I say I'm thinking of letting her latch again... wonder can anot...

Hi kypf, my gal got breast milk jaundice too. And hers only cleared at 8weeks but I didn't stop latching her as that's her only food. My PD didn't stop me from bfg my gal too. Wow, sounds like you got good ss of milk since you got engorged after 4 hrs.

Hi Girl, maybe you can try changing bb's diapers to try to wake her up so that she can drink till she's full? Don't give up cos most of us went thru the stage that you're going thru now.
I feel that latching direct is better than pumping cos it's more stimulating and helps in ss. Why your bb turns red if you latch her on? Maybe you can try to feed your bb with bottle for one of the feeds but you latch her directly for the rest?

Hi desert, I afraid that I can't bear to stop if I bf my gal for too long leh. Even now, I already bu she de to stop liao.

Hi Cat, wish u luck that you can have your wish come true! I used to take bai feng pills to build up my constitution.

Hi Emma, my advice is to start pumping and store up your milk 3-4weeks before u start work. I only start to store my milk one week before I start work. And I found that it's really not enough cos my ss dropped once I started working. That's how I thaw my EBM.

Hi melody, my heart melted once she smiles at me. And now, she does it very often. She making me very reluctant to stop bfg.

Hi wooof, tandem pumping means you pump at the same time when you nurse your bb. You got to be patient when you start latching bb on again. I still offer both breasts to my gal though I tandem pump at nite.

Hi jen, I thaw my EBM by bringing them down to the lower compartment of the fridge the nite before. I used Avent teats and my gal is ok with it and my breasts.

Hi duffy, why not let bb latch on direct? I feel that it's a lot easier as compared to exclusively pumping. You can try to latch bb again since your bb is still very young.

girl, if u worried about ur bb being addicted to the nipple, then alternate breast n bottle, might help.

giggler, when i was bfing, my baby demands every 2 hours. maybe that's why i get engorged every 4 hours when baby was on FM. however, after having complained so much, it seems my supply has dipped already

giggler, thanx... you've been very helpful... i am going to try avent bottle tonight, using No1 teats... wish me luck...

kypf,
u may want to try to give your baby Glucose water as frequent as Glucose will drastically reduce the Jauntice. I tried it and it works.

Hi kypf, I think your ss dipped cos you have not been latching your bb directly? Guess things will improve after your PD gives u green light to start bfg again.

Hi Jen, good luck to you. Hope your bb is like Vane, she's quite ok with anything one.

gals, I'm thinking of getting an electric dual pump soon... medela PIS is too ex... is ameda lac good? can it help to achieve similar let-down effect on other breast like latching bb? i heard from another fren it spoilt in less than 1 month...

any idea where can i get the replacement parts of an AVENT breast pump in Spore?? i've just given birth to my 2nd baby and found that some of the rubber parts are a bit too old.

tks

Thks Giggler!

If I were to start latching again, may I ask how long does it take for ss to increase accordingly?

I'm very afraid she doesn't have enough milk, than I'll be temped to give her FM or pump out for her.

jen, i was told tat manual pump is better cos it clears out the milk more. the time taken for electric pump to pump out milk is abt 30 mins, which is same as manual one..

mngo, is glucose water made from the powder in the blue can? today went to see doctor again, doctor explained the results of baby's blood test and took another test, seems the jaundice is confirmed breastmilk jaundice, and I can continue to breastfeed, but the jaundice will rebound. How much glucose water do you give?

giggler, i think my supply dip because i tried to stretch out my pumping hours. anyway i have a freezer full of EBM so i guess i have enough time to build up my supply again without having to resort to FM :p

jen, i'm using avent manual pump, but my friend is using nuk double pump and she says it's only a 10 minute job. It's $250

hi cat,
i m still bfg. wow u want to have 3 children! right now cant think of second one yet. infact i want to stop at 1 but hubby insists must have 2. dunno how leh.. shall see how things go.

jen,
i m using ameda lac. using it for 8mths already. bot it just before maternity leave ends as i cant stand the long pumping time when using avent manual. somemore my hands always v tired n that affect the amt of milk i can pump out. so i finally invested in ameda pump n have no regrets. pumping time is only 10-15min and can get let-down quite easily. so this make me able to have 3 pumping sessions in office. i feel the amt i pump out is similar to what i got from manual pump. though sometimes not able to clear brs fully at one session, but breasts can b cleared in the next pump session. so the total amt pump for the day is almost constant. becoz pumping is easy with an electric pump tat makes me able to bf for 10mths.

giggler,
so far did ameda pump give u any problem? for my pump at certain suction position the suction is not so great. sometimes i have to shake the motor. dunno should i bring to the agent or not. guess been using so long n the motor not so good liao.

Hi jen, I'm using Ameda and I like it a lot.

Hi duffy, just remember that ss=dd. So if you supplement with FM, your body will think that you don't need that much BM. And your ss will not match your bb's dd.

Hi mngo, I only take 15min to pump using the Ameda pump leh.

Hi mini, my pump is still in good condition so far. I've been using it for abt 5-6mths liao.

Hi, duffy..

wow..u manage to get so much huh..now my maxi is only 90 ml...cannot reach 100ml...but most of the time i can hit only 80 ml..sigh...

my gal now is 2weeks plus..mi now still doing my confinment...

So how ur bf now..is it okie? wat formula u give to ur bb?

Hi, giggler..

Thanks...i know that latching is better..but really find latching very messy as i din have any nursing bra..cos once i start to message to stimulate the milk flow..the other breast start to drip..then end up my girl face have the breast milk which ends up have rashes...but now i pump out at lesat 80ml per pump for her next feed..i dun put into the fridge as afraid is not fresh.

btw how old ur bb now? u still bf? how much u can pump each time?

Giggler (giggler)
Hi, I know lor, but I under so much pressure from relatives ah.
very angry whenever they say latch not enough milk, than i got nothing to say also.

Whenever I latch BB in the room, come out, first thing they ask is. Is Baby full anot? Ahyoh, how to answer lah, If I say yes, wait 1 hr later BB wans to eat they keep saying u see lah, not full. I say no, they will say give her formula better........ grrrrrrrrrrrrrr........
Do anyone have a killer sentence I can answer them and make them convinced and shut up :p

GIRL (baobei)
Yr gal still so young, 90ml is abt the same as me when my gal is 2weeks plus. So don worry, think as the weeks goes by will increase....

I wanna start latching this weekend, with my hubby around at least. Cause if not only with my MIL at home, she will sure to keep saying BB don have enough one. I see hoow.....

I'm givng her Similac now, seems ok.

Hi Girl, how long do you keep the milk for the next feed? I don't think you can keep long outside leh. Anyone can how long we can keep the milk if we don't keep them in the fridge? You can get a breast shell to collect your milk on the other breast while u feed your bb. In this way, it won't be messy liao.
My gal is 7mths now and I'm still bfg her. I didn't supplement any fm though my mom and mil kept nagging at me that I may not have enough milk. Cos I afraid that once I intro fm, my body will take it that I don't need so much and ss will decr. Also, I didn't have any fm at home.

Hi duffy, I just ignored them when they passed these remarks. I simply smiled at them and brought my bb back to my room to bf her. That's it! After a month, they kept their mouth shut cos my bb doubled her birth weight.

urgh!! giggler, last night first time try avent bottles... my bb scream and scream!! she can't seem to suck properly leh... you know the avent teats are fatter at the base... i told my MIL and hubby the bb's lips gotta touch the fat part to form a vacuum seal... but my MIL keep saying if push too in will choke the bb... but bb keep crying when she just suck at the "nipple" part so cannot get milk... end up i threw away about 100ml of EBM becos oredi warmed up but bb can't take... then i latch her on until she zzz...

my MIL keep saying and repeating that i shouldn't have listened to the LC's advice to start on bottle 1 month later... she say must start asap cos i'm going back to work... she say later bb dun want bottle i have to stay home and feed!! when bb was still crying when hubby and i were trying the bottle, she even called my SIL and wanted me to talk to her on the phone so that she can advice me on bottle feeding!! for what?? i was so fed up i walked off... hubby was angry at me for showing temper...

today i tried a latex nuk teat by myself... surprisingly my bb can finish all 40ml... i think the avent teat is a bit hard... cos bb keep biting on it to try to get milk but can't and cry... hiaz... should i try the avent teat again?

my MIL saw bb can finish the bottle then she still insists the avent teat is too big for my 1 month bb... i have compared the 2 teats and the length and size to be suck into bb's mouth is the same... just the nipple shape is different... i give up trying to explain to her that no need to force the entire fat part into the mouth...

now i understand why some mums give up BFg becos of continuous pressure and comments from mums, MILs, hubbies, etc... hiaz

btw, re: defrosted milk, there's a funny smell leh... and i tasted it (after it has gone cold cos bb took so long to try to suck) and it tastes a bit funny also... but bb finish the 40ml today quite quickly... is it ok huh?

re: ameda pump, how do i keep into the avent bags for storage? you mean after i pump, just pour and transfer ah? that means i need a sterilizer in the office to sterilize the ameda "collection" bottles?

Hi absolut,

Thank you for your advise. My boy is now 6 weeks old and my confinement is over liao. So ... would you suggest that I start pumping? Will other factors such as not drinking papaya soup affect the milk supply even if i were to latch the bb on and pump perhaps 2 times a day?

Another query, for those on pbf, when did your menses come back. I'm still bleeding now after 6 weeks delivery. In the last few days of my confinemtn, the bleeding wasn't that much liao, then suddenly come alot and now still bleeding though not very much. Any advise?