Breastfeeding Support Group

Hi jen, since your bb can take NUK teat then you continue with it lah. I agree that it's difficult to reason out with the elders. I normally don't bother to explain. Usually, I'll bring bb to my room and close the door. Then I'll just do whatever I deemed right to my gal. heehee....... I not sure if there's any funny smell from the defrosted milk leh. I just give my gal and she drinks it. I just pour the milk from the ameda bottles into the glass bottles I got from the hospital. I don't sterilize the bottles after every usage in office leh.

<font color="aa00aa">woof,</font>
nope, din let my gal latch. actually, i oso dunno when should let her latch cos she always wanna feed when i'm almost done wif pumping, so no milk left in the breasts. else if it's near my pumping time, i let her latch, she latch for 1 hour still can take 1 full feed, so i rather she take EBM then mess up my pump schedule lor

now no need to think of letting her latch cos she'll be at my mum's place, we'll only bring her back on wkends.

now i'm having headache over how/when to deliver the EBM expressed in the day to my mum's place or let my girl hv frozen EBM everyday cos by the time i knocked off will be ard 7+pm, if go my mum's place every day, i'll be too shacked. now alr not enuff sleep everyday, if still need to rush here &amp; there, i scared i cannot tahan..

jen,
i also feel that since baby can drink from nuk teat then just continue with NUK. unless u have bot too many avent teat n bottles then try offer her again. i also think avent teat is abit hard n some baby need time to adjust to it. just like my boy too. took him a few days to adapt. as for frozen ebm, yar there is a strange smell n also the taste is funny compared to newly expressed ebm. infact i also notice that ebm put in the fridge taste different from those just expressed out from brs. direct latch on one taste the nicest. so thats y some fussy babies will reject frozen ebm. try to use the frozen ebm within a mth as i realised the taste will deteriorate if keep longer.

Haven't been to this thread for so long, congrats to the new mummies

Mini
You still bf too? Our bbs just turned 10 months today
I tried letting my girl latch on less the last few days, but in the end still prefer latching on.

Giggler
Wow, so fast your girl 7 months liao. Time really flies!

Kypf
My girl also had breastmilk jaundice. Actually there is no need to supplement with anything else. Can read up more on the internet.
Should clear up by 6 wks

Jen
I think that Nuk latex teats feel most like the mummy's nipple. I also tried avent unsuccessfully, my girl would keep pushing it out of her mouth. Only thing to note is that latex teats need changing quite often, every 4 wks or when the teat gets sticky

giggler, i have to admit my temper is not the best in the world... amongst my MIL's DILs, i have the worst temper... the eldest DIL very very good temper one... and the FDIL also quite mild tempered... haha... i am acherly very grateful she willing to do confinement and help me take care of bb oredi... i felt bad after showing her face last nite so i did say sorry to her today... even though, she continue her lamenting and "advices" but i just ignore lor... just that after too much, my dam will burst... =P *guilty*

Re: Avent vs Nuk
I have only 1 Nuk latex teat from TMC when I delivered and I used that to try on my gal wif the hospital glass bottle... I dun have any NUK bottles so if she really use Nuk, gotta buy leow... Avent I got quite a few teats and bottles so I rather my gal use Avent... hiaz... and I prefer silicon to latex... maybe I try to get silicon Nuk teats to try... but I sure will try Avent again eventually so that I dun waste it...

GIRL, my baby still had jaundice at 6 weeks old, the bilirubin level was 272. after stop breastfeeding for a week, it dropped to 75. anyone has any idea if the jaundice will return now that i continue to breastfeed? my colleague tells me that "the liver has learnt" so the jaundice won't return, but the pd claims the jaundice will rebound.

my defrosted frozen ebm also smelt funny. and after putting my baby back on bm he poo-ed 3 times today with green, liquid poo. is something wrong..??

<font color="aa00aa">woof,</font>
have frozen ebm cos my girl sometimes can sleep a stretch of 5~6 hrs.

but now back to work.... hiaz... if take cab everyday to deliver chilled ebm to mum's place, might as well switch to FM cheaper *headache*

<font color="ff0000">kypf</font>
frozen EBM does have funny pasticky smell. the smell will be stronger as it get older. The comparison chart is fresh BM (direct latch) is best, cold EBM is second and frozen EBM is last. Hence, that's why I will give my boy the freshest cold EBM as possible and try not to freeze too many got the nutrition value also drop as it gets freeze. I don't have fresh BM as I don't latch my boy on. Normally, I will only store two weeks of frozen EBM. I have thrown away frozen EBM about 3 wk to a month old twice total about 10 - 15packs of 130ml each pack away.

hi hi mummies..

just to check....will menses affect the BM ?

I tot my supply will drop..but it seem like i still can maintain the supply...but the problem is my boy dun seem keen to latch on....he will latch , unlatch a lot of times....sometimes he even cry ...

any advise

by the way, for BF babies...when do you start solids for ur baby ? my son is 4 mths now

Hi Girl, time really flies hor? So fast my gal is 7mths liao.

Hi jen, I learnt the skill of close both eyes and ears after living with my mil for the past 3yrs. I feel that it's the best solution lor. Cos there's no pt reasoning with her as she got her own thinking. Then I afraid that I'll shout if I can't tahan. heehee....

Hi kypf, my gal's bilirubin level got as high as 300+ when she was abt 6weeks old. But I still continue bfg cos they found nothing serious after they did blood test on her. At 8weeks, the level came down to 100+ automatically.

Hi Adeline, you're lucky that your ss didn't dip when u have menses. My ss dipped by half whenever I have menses until recently. I think your boy is just being more interested/curious with other things than bfg. My gal also behaves this way sometimes, too kpo to drink her milk.

Hi Mapleleaf

Didn't drink the payaya and fish soup stuff. Found that drinking more water helped with the amount of milk. Even now when I'm too busy, I forget to drink my usual amount of water and my milk amount decreases as well.

Latching and 2 pumps a day should be sufficient. Is your baby sleeping longer hours at night? If you want to store more milk, can pump whenever your bb sleeps beyond 3 hours.

Hi Adeline

For BF babies, recommended to start solids at 6 months coz before that... BM has enough nutrients for them. Starting later also helps to prevent allergys from developing.

angelia
How old is yr BB huh? I think if can switch to formula to make yrself feel better than why not lor. I know breastmilk is best, but sometimes I really would like to enjoy parenthood instead of stressing out like sieow....

I would like to think abt my baby and smile instead of to think of her only, I stress, hahaha

But tht's me lah, I lazy type one lor

Maple_Leaf
I'm still bleeding too, at my 6th week now.
I'm wondering too when it'll stop.

thanks jastan. i should try to quickly finish the frozen ebm then :p using it this week while waiting for my supply to build back up though i'm also tempted to throw in a few feeds of formula as i'm paranoid about my bb's jaundice returning.

giggler, wow 300+ is high! but didn't you feel uncomfortable seeing your baby's yellow skin? i personally felt really uneasy.

Hi absolut, you still encounter problem with bfg?

Hi kypf, heehee. I can't tell that my bb's skin is yellow leh. That time, even a salesgirl approached me and told me to bring my gal to see doc. So you can imagine how bad it is lah. But I think I really believe that bm is the best and won't harm my bb so I just continue. Moreover, the PD didn't ask me to stop too.

Hi wooof, I agree that drinking lots of water helps to incr ss. I realised that my ss is miserable if I didn't drink much water. I'm drinking more than 8 cups a day.

Kypf/Giggler
My pd also told me not to stop bf. Actually I don't exactly know when the jaundice totally went off, cos around 6 wks the yellowness started going off.

Giggler
How long more do you intend to BF? I keep postponing my deadline.... Now trying to continue till she reaches 1 yr in March, so that I can convert her over to 1 yr old FM

Hi Girl, I still can't decide on a date leh. Thot that I got to end my bfg soon. But my ss didn't drop too much when I had menses last week. One hand I hope I can bfg till my gal is 1yr old. But on the other hand, I want to stop so that I can go for dieting. So in dilemma now lah. Oh... you only got 2 more mths to go.

giggler
u mention u pump to store the milk before starting to work. How many times at home did u pump?

I am not sure to store how many , how long does your milk storage last when u start work?

giggler,

me oso leh, ryan 6 mths liao i tot of stopping gradually so tat i can diet cos getting too fat, dunno y they say bfg helps to slim down but me opposite
last week i try to reduce 1 pump session in office end up block duct! So now try to reduce pumping time to 15min, then slowing cut 1 session.

hi girl
yar lor our babies are 10mths old. have u intro fm to her? i m still bfg, should b stopping when my boy is 1yr old. should b introducing fm next wk. keep dragging n hubby became quite angry as he feel giving fm at this stage is good since fm is nutritious n also i can stop bf soon. else how to gradually stop right. sometimes i feel relunctant to intro fm but on the other hand thinks already bf for 10mths should give some fm already. will continue to latch him.

HI, Giggler..

I aso tot of not keeping my EBM outside for too long, but once i pump out i will out in a tub of hot water for it to get abit hot before my gal drink..is it okie...or straight after pump, I immediately feed her?

Can any mummies advise mi of that?

It seems my ss getting lesser, hope the ss can tahan till next week, at least i bf her for a month.

Hi Emma, I started to tandem pump one week before I start work. Only managed to store abt 32oz and so didn't last long. I think only last for 1-2mths after I started working.

Hi piggy, so you going to stop bfg soon? I think bfg helps to contract the uterus faster so in a way it helps us to reduce in weight lah.

Hi mini, maybe you shd set a date for yourself to start intro fm? I'm same as you leh. Heehee.. Kept delaying and till now still bfg. Hopefully I can achieve my new target of 1yr.

Hi Girl, I not sure if your method is ok leh. Let me go and check the time that you can leave the milk out in the open. You stop latching your bb totally?

Dear all BF mom, I'm new to this site and I actually post a new thread "Where do u express milk in the office" can you all give me your opinion over there. Thank you very much

Hi all, I plan to continue to BF even after I go back to work... ie give my gal EBM during the day but latch her on when I am at home... I need some advice on when I should start to establish a "routine"? cos now when I pump, it's ad hoc (as and when I like)... so maybe like that can get more milk cos accumulate mah... but once back to work, I worry every 2 or 3 hours expression may not get so much milk... can anyone please advice me on how you cope? thanx...

Giggler
I know what you mean. I'm also looking forward to dieting and drinking unlimited amounts of coffee, being free from my pump etc

Mini
I've also been dragging the issue of introducing FM. But my hubby opposite from yours, he doesn't mind me continuing esp so that we don't have to carry milk bottles etc when we go out, haha

Actually I wanted to intro FM this month, but then was thinking v troublesome to intro follow up FM, then in 2 months time must intro the 1 yr old milk... Then will be double adjustment for our babies

Baobei
I call you this okay, cos v weird to call Girl since my nick also this

I think better to use up milk within 1-2 hours of expressing if not put in the fridge.
Although some websites put that it's okay as long as 4 hours, but I think weather conditions in S'pore not so cool, so better play safe.

JenJen
It's good to settle into a routine now. I started feeding my girl EBM in the day and latching only at night cos she went through a stage of bottle rejection. Now that she's past it, I continue to pump/bottle feed in day then latch only in evenings.

Hi Giggler

I'm alright already but I realise that my flow from the right breast has slowed down even since I had the milk blisters. It seems to come back but whenever I see whitish skin on nipple, I'll try and remove it quickly so it doesn't build up. Now my right side takes double the time to empty compared to my left side even though they let down at the same time. Been latching Ally on my right more often to try and increase milk flow but hasn't improved much.

Since Ally started on solids, 2 milk feeds have been replaced so she only drinks milk at 1pm and 7pm and 9pm. Getting really lazy to pump coz take so long to empty breasts so I just started latching her back on for the 7pm feed. In the past she drinks earlier so can't make it back on time.

Piggy
Experienced the same thing as you ... tried to reduce 1 pump and kanna milk clots / blisters. So in the end, went back to old schedule.

Baobei
In the past when I expressed out and baby wanted milk as soon as I finished expressing, I used to feed her immediately without warming coz it's still a little warm. But if some time has passed, then I'll warm it up when she wanted. I kept my EBM outside if it was for her next feed coz it'll be outside for max 3 hours which should be fine. Just dun keep it in a warm area. I don't warm it up til feeding time coz if milk is warmed up, can keep max for 2 hours leh.

Hi wheatgrass, I pump in the exec toilet in the office.

Hi jen, I only got time to pump twice in ofc. One at abt 11am and the other session at 5pm. Once I reach home, I'll latch my bb on directly. I still able to tbfg my gal till now with the schedule lah. My advice is to store up as much milk as possible before you start work. My milk ss dropped when I first started work leh. I didn't establish any routine before I start work.

Hi Girl, one hand I'm looking forward to drinking any amt of coffee and dieting. But on the other hand, I really enjoy the convenience of bfg and bonding with my gal leh. Very contradicting hor? So you'll wait till 1yr old to intro FM?

Hi absolut, Ally only drink once at 1pm in the day? How abt morning time? Vane is drinking milk at 7am, 4pm and the rest of the nite. And she's also having 2 solids now.

girl, my gal seems to be going through the bottle rejection stage... first time we tried Avent teats and she scream and scream... second time i tried NUK teat and she manage to finish 40ml... but last night we tried bottle again with NUK teat and she only drank 20ml and started screaming again... hiaz... i'm really at a lost... please please share how you overcome it...

Hi, giggler, girl and absolut..

thanks so much fo your advices..i will keep my EBM out for maxi 3 hrs ..then in this case, i will not warm the milk till my baby ready to feed, cos i also express for ther next feed and i dun store in the fridge.

Giggler, I totally din latch her liao... hope my EBM will bring her the same nutrition as latching her.

Need help from all the mummies! my boy dont like to drink milk from bottle. Im nurse him whenever I am @ home but now Im already back to work. Everytime he just reject to drink from the bottle, HELP what can I do now to help him drink from bottle as well as drink direct!! Im really worry abt his weight. He only drink less than 80 ml from bottle. If I nurse him he can drink for half an hour both side (it can be estimate around 100ml) . Every time I express out is around 100ml - 120ml, so I assume he drink around 100ml. can someone advise me wht can I do now? thx

Girl,
EBM's nutrients is never as good at Latching directly. Furthermore some antibodies are gone by EBM out milk.

Others,
Pls help, i did not latched my boy for 3 days, and my supply has gone down drastically. now i try to latch him on 2-3 times a day to bring back my ss. wil it work?

does food play a part in my ss?

absolut,
Thank you for your advises!

Yes, now bb sleeps for about 5 hrs in the nite. Oh you mean to pump in the middle of the nite? I think it'll be tough for me to do that. Uno, usually by the time I reach midnite, most of the time, I'll feel a bit giddy liao, so I guess I'll rather rest. I dun seem to have xtra ss like you all do. My ss now seems just enuf. Manage to give my bb tbf for the last 2 days (with not much storage in the fridge tho). Hope that this can continue.

wooof,
Thank you for sharing. At least now I feel better knowing that I'm not alone. Could it be that we're too "luo"(weak)?

mngo,
There was once when i did not latch my boy for 2 days and no pumping also.SS also dropped drastically (only manage to get 30ml from both sides after pumping for 20 mins).After that I start pumping on a regular 3 hrly basis and after 2 days, the ss start to increase. I think latch on more often do help too.

Hi mapleleaf

5 hours is ok lah. Better to rest more. We've all been through your stage so feel free to ask qns and we'll definitely try and help so more bbs get to benefit from BM.

Hi Giggler
Ally drinks BM (latched) when she wakes abt 630 - 7am, 10am solids, 1pm EBM, 4pm solids, 7pm BM (Latched) and 9 plus BM (Latched).

Do you tandem pump in the morning? Thinking of stopping tandem pump in the morning coz it's extra and gets frozen but since she only takes one milk feed when I'm away, my 1 pump in office is sufficient. Scared that I store it away and it gets thrown away when it expires coz I haven't used any frozen BM for some time already. Dunno how to stop that coz usually one side is sufficient for her in the morning. How do you deal with that?

Hi baobei, I think EBM may not be as nutritious as latching direct but still better than fm lah. So keep it up!!!

Hi mngo, maybe u can try tandem pumping while latching her? I not sure if food will really affect ss but I noticed that if I take rice, my milk will be very concentrated

Hi maple, my ss is also just enuf for my girl. But I still managed to carry on tbfg till now lah. So don't worry.

Hi absolut, I only tandem pump at nite cos me too tired to do it in the morning feed. For my case, my milk is just enuf for my gal so I don't have any frozen EBM as of now leh. So cant advice you. Maybe you can stop tandem pump in the morning since u already got enuf for Ally.

ytr MIL let my boy try similac follow-on n he reject leh. dun want to suck, when spoonfed he make the vomit sound after every spoon. so MIL stop giving him as afraid he will really vomit all out which he would. called friso to request for sample. btw do u all know which fm taste the best? now i dunno how. coz in 2mths time will need to change him to 1yr old milk n the taste is diff from follow on. so if he get adjusted to follow on then have to change again. hmm.. to tbf till he is 1yr? my ss not alot, still can get by but just hoping he will take more.

aloe,
dunno r u still reading this thread. r u still bfg? what brand of fm ur boy taking? how u make him drink fm since tat time u mentioned he reject fm.

giggler,
so better to take rice since milk will b concentrated? i din have such observation..

Hi mini, I take more rice nowadays instead of noodles. Why don't u wait for 2 more mths to intro fm to your son? You still trying to feed him with fm today?

giggler,
i also take more rice nowadays mainly becoz having meals at MIL house n she always cook rice. today MIL used FM to make cereal for baby n she said he ate halfway n make the vomit sound. so din finish. hmm..dun tell me he so smart can taste the FM in the cereal? tmr may try to give him FM to drink again. yar if he still dun want will try to tbf till he is 1yr old. no matter what even if he drink FM think he will only drink 1 feed of FM then the rest all BM. heard tat 1yr old milk taste better.

hi mini,

now he is drinking Enfalac A + with DHA/ARA +SA &amp; i just start him on the Enfapro A+ with SA Follow On.

me going to stop express soon, my ss is low as i only pump once a day, sometime lazy &amp; i will not pump. but nite and moring i will still let him latch on ...

he still have problem drinking from bottle. i think is not because of the FM taste. He drinks his 180 ml milk in 6 sessions. After he drink 30 ml he will push away the bottle. He needs to rest for few minutes and while he is drinking he needs to play with toys too.

HI gals,

Seems like we have common problem here. My boy also has problem drinking his fm. Very naughty, will push his bottle away. Can't even get near his mouth. Even when he's very sleepy and almost dozing off, he knows when we're trying to stuff the bottle into him, and protests.

I started with Similac. Now on Friso. Is this a common problem with all bfg babies?

Hi mini, I think you got no choice if your boi prefers your bm to fm hor?

Hi aloe, do u think that you got enuf ss for your boi by latching him on? My gal only suck for 5-10min if I latch her on direct. But she needs abt 15min to drink from bottle.

Hi Masshiro, you also have problem feeding your son fm? I haven start fm on Vane yet. Hopefully she won't give me any problem then.

hi giggler/masshiro ,

like yr gal, my boy will suck max of 5-10 mins. I think i have still have sufficient milk. as most of the time my breast will become vy hard if i did not pump @ lunch and after he suck, it become soft again

my son still can't sleep through the nite as he still need his mid-night feed. same case, he suck max 5-10 mins.

i have try many method to feed him. carry to feed, put him on the "bouncer", feed in front of the TV and now he like to drink while lying down on bed ..

Thank for all the advice

I wish to know if I store my milk in the freezer and I want to bring it to my nanny. Does she keep the milk in the freezer or lower compartment?

When my baby drink the breastmilk form bottle, if the milk is not finished, how long can we keep it?

thank again.

giggler,masshiro,aloe,
think it is a common problem feeding fm to bf babies esp those more choosy/fussy one. some babies dun have this problem. my MIL said this happened to all her 3kids including my hubby. all dun want to drink fm. MIL stopped bf when all her babies were 8mths old as menses returned n her ss no more. then 2 of her kids took brown rice with condensed milk. then the female baby took milo twice a day. hope my boy will like friso better. heh i expected my boy to face this problem as he is smart enough to differentiate bottle/brs, fresh ebm/frozen ebm etc hence giving us headache.

<font color="aa00aa">emma,</font>
some say half hour, some say 1 hour... i used to try to let her finish within 2 hours, but later throw after 1 hour.

<font color="aa00aa">mummies,</font>
me now oso hving small problem wif my girl. seems like she doesn't like frozen ebm, and won't wanna drink after a while, but keeps crying. when give her fresh/chilled ebm, no such problem.

dunno is it we gave her too many fresh/chilled ebm since last week (or 2 ago) and these few days dun like frozen ones.

my mum told me that day her 12pm feed, she drank half, then dun wan.. muz coax her for sometime then she continue, but only took a bit.. so stop again, coax her, then took a bit.. then she threw up!!!! hiaz.. however, her 4am &amp; 9am feed can make her drink. maybe bcos she's too hungry so juz gobble down &amp; not realise it's frozen ebm *LOL*

then hor, i've got abt 70~80 packs (avg 100ml) of frozen ebm in the freezer leh. abt 1 month old. i feel like throwing some &amp; leave only those abt 2~3wks old but always hv to worry won't hv enough to give her cos i dun latch her at all. she doesn't like my breasts!! and hubby oso say try for few more days see how, if she really doesn't like it, then throw lor.

hiaz.. initially thot i came back to work can reduce expressing session since i've got some frozen backup, but now she give me this kind of stunt.... hiaz...
dunno what to do.

i'm SERVERELY SLEEP DEPRIVED and is affecting work a little cos i can't THINK!!

oops.. the above msg by "Idono" is actually i posted.. dunno how come my nick din appear.

aloe,
it is so tough feeding bottle hor. my boy also like tat. each feed have to drink in a few sections. since now i m not working i latch him on most of the time. but dunno how much he is drinking.

masshiro,
so nowadays ur boy dun drink much milk a day since most of the feed is fm right? after so long he still cannot get used to fm?

hi all...
been mia from tis thread for a while. a few of my frens and colleagues oso facing the same prob as some of u where bfg bbs reject fm. one of them still trying brands and hvnt found one.

angelia...
read somewhere dat frozen EBM smells and tastes diff from chilled EBM. some even reported it to smell and taste fishy. why nt try mixing some frozen EBM wif chilled EBM for a start and see if she takes to it well... then slowly increase amt of frozen EBM.

giggler,
so how many milk feeds does Van has in the day while u r at work? and how much is she drinking each time? edi reaching 6 mths tomolo... i hvnt started him fully on solids yet... so he's still taking the same amt of milk feeds a day.