Breastfeeding Support Group

Blessed
Update me on how the sleep training goes hor.
For me, I think I will start my training b4 I go back to wk. Now still ok lah, coz sometimes will take a nap when he sleeps in the day.
The b4 nite bf also got to go if I want to wean him off bf.
Hv u gone back to wk tan for the pap smear? Do u know what is her views on tandem nursing??

Hi Jen

Been using the ameda pump for abt 6 months now. So far so good... just need to replace the valves once in a while coz it's a little fragile. But it's definitely cheaper than Medela PIS.

Hi Fruitcake / Mini

Does the suction vary coz there's water in the bellow area? That happens when the bottle is still wet in the bellow area or when the valves are a little torn and milk flows up there.

If you need servicing, can send it back to agent and they will exchange a set for you while they try and fix it.

Mini
ya lor, drink so little FM. If next time when I stop bf he is still like tt, will hv to feed him more cheese and youghurt.

hi hi mummies..

understand that baby has growth spurt on certain weeks...

may i know when are they ?

dun noe why for the 2 nites , my baby has been crying non-stop after feeding.....he only calm down when i carry him to walk around the house...
i feel so troubled on wat wrong with him

i think my supply really drop after my mense...i express 2 times at work...one at 11am and one at 5pm....usually can get 210ml at 11 and 180ml at 5...now only 150ml at 11 and 120 ml at 5..so sad...

argh... the whole of last night did not express cos still latch bb at night... then this morning i express cos my right side hard and swollen... managed to express 220ml from right side alone!! but then no matter how long i express on left side, i can hardly get 40ml...
why?!? i've tried expressing longer and more on the left oredi but still like that... hiaz... some more my hands ache and fingers losing feeling leow... think i gotta get electric one asap...

Re: Ameda Lac vs Medela PIS
I'm tempted to get Ameda Lac but I've heard good and BAD comments on it... but Medela no bad comments yet so very torn in between...

Girl, how much does the spare parts cost? any lobang for cheaper PIS?

hi <font color="0000ff">desert</font>

sure will update u on the sleep training when i start
! when are u going back to work? you took 1 yr off is it?

ya have to go back to WK Tan liao hor, but my friend told me (in dec04) she is fully booked til after CNY!! so i lazy to call leh. also i cant find my little red book. but must go lah...prob try to book for the week after CNY. n yes, i'll ask her views on tandem nursing.

btw, my gal had her first FM yday night b4 she sleep...she finish abt 4oz, but still keep pulling my shirt to latch on loh. then still wake for night feed, so to say FM will make bb sleep thru the night prob not true for my case. but hehe i gave her the wrong age group milk! PD gave me 6-12mths one, but my gal 13mths liao...but still i give her try...she ok, i feed her with a bottle

jen
I bought the PIS at Robinsons 15% off sale. After rebate paid about $530. Actually reluctant to buy it at first but think that made me more determined to make bf work

Spare parts to buy would be the funnel, the yellow head and white membrane. Think funnel costs $14 and head $8, membrane $4 per pc.
Don't need to buy unless you're lazy like me, want to wash and sterilize all at one shot

girl, the spare parts are plastic?? i also lazy to sterilize... plus i need to pump at work so will save me time if i no need to sterilize... only need to sterilize the funnel, head and membrane is it?? How to order spare parts from moms &amp; babes?? you got the website?? pls pm me... thanx...

jen
yup, the parts are plastic, only need to sterilize those parts
having extra definitely beats having to wash it up at work
mums and babes is at plaza sing and another location, but can't remember where liao

would like to check with moms here using Ameda dual lactatine. i've realised the suction of my pump when weak few months ago. have changed both the bellow n valve but still not much of help. today i've found some cracks on the both the funnels. will those cracks affect the performance of the pump? any one of u experience b4? would like to know if its the cause b4 getting new parts again, since i made a wrong judgement last time...

Is there any food which we should avoid during bf? How about chilli?One of my frens say eating chilli will cause our bb to be hot-tempered,is it true?

Hi blessed and desert
Sorry no time to read the message. Finally have time to lg in to check. So you all are feeding your darlings with formula. I am also trying. But like desert my boy can't drink for bottle for long so have to spoon feed and cup feed. Very messy. Drink little bit only.
Desert
So feed more yorgurt and cheese good also. Does your boy eat these both? What brand you buy. I think we share the same problems.\ leh. Does your boy drink a lot of water?

Blessed
At least your gal never reject bottle that is good. I can't bear to use the cold turkey method. My friend say I too soft hearted already. I also don't know how. I think is not that your gal not full with formula. I suspect is a habit already to wake up for night feed.
So your gynea is WK Tan? Is she good? Is she expensive? I heard she is very pro bf.
regards
moon

Hi maple
I am not sure whether it cause hot tempered or ot but I heard it may change the taste of the bm. There is a website that say food to avoid when your bb is having colic. But I don't have it now. Other mommies have it?

Hi emma
so moms in mind has the pump for rental? Maybe you can rent and try out if you are going down. how much is the rental

moon

Blessed
I am due for the pap smear end march, so wun bk so early. ya..u check with her regarding tandem nursing and tell me. Coz I know some gynaes dun think we shd tandem nurse.
I intend to go back to wk when he is 19 mths, intend to wean him off bf at ard 17 mths++, dun know whether can succeed.

Blessed/Moon
No lah, I am very sure our bbs wake up at nite not because they are hungry. Its just a habit, they are treating us like a human pacifier, they need to suck to get back to sleep.
I also cannot stand my boy's cries, tt's why I still give in, though I know he is treating me as a pacifier. Hv u all read Dr Sear's bk on sleep training? I started to think thro my boy's eyes afer I read the last chapter. To them, waking up at nite is quite scary, so its comforting for them to know tt mummy is just beside them. Sleeping is scary for little people. But then, I guess there will still come a time tt we need to train them to sleep on their own, just tt I keep delaying.

Moon
Yup, I've read tt after 1 yr, milk is to provide them with protein and calcium. If they dun take much milk, its ok, just got to make sure they get their calcium intake from other sources. I feed him chesdale cheese, the triangular slice. I've fed him plain yorgurt but he dun really like. hv not tried the flavoured ones on him yet. Brocoli is also a gd source of calcium. Can also add some FM when cooking their fd. To get those DHA and AHA added in the milk, just got to make sure they take more fatty fish like cod fish, salmon.

Mini
Oh ya, forgot to ans ur qns yesterday. I am giving him similac follow on FM now. Its the sample tin I got from them.

Serene

Think Moms in Mind has a 3 day trial for Ameda pump. You pay $100 deposit but it's returned to you when you return the pump in good order.

Vanessa
Why dun you bring it down to the agent and get him to advise why pump isn't working properly?

Hi Experience mummies,

Sometimes my 2-month old boy goes for 4-hrs without feed during the day. Is this normal?@feed him on dd or wake him up to feed after 3 ~ 3.5 hrs?

I have a problem here and need your expert advise. My two and half mths old baby is on total breastfeeeding and has been rejecting the bottle since a few wks back. Used Avent and she refused to drink, tried NUK but oso the same. I'll be going back to work in end Feb and i dunno what to do. Feel very heart pain whenever i see her cry when offered the bottle.
I believe most working Mummies have experienced tat right and how did you overcome that problem?

pebble, my gal is 7 weeks old... she was on TBF for 4 weeks before I intro bottle... I also had the same problem and had to suffer repeated comments from my MIL re my decision to intro bottle "so late"? luckily, my parents are more supportive and they helped me to train her to take the bottle during the long weekend last week... it's been 1 week since she willingly took bottle in the day and only latch at night... so far so good...

Initially, it is advisable for you yourself NOT to feed bottle as your baby will smell your milk and automatically turn to your breasts... get your hubby or someone else to do the feeding...

Second, you have to be assured that bottle rejection is NORMAL becos your baby has recognised her source of food, which is your breasts... until she also start to learn to recognise that the bottle is also food, she will start to suck from bottle as well...

Third, you have NO CHOICE but to withstand heart pain when hearing her cries... unless you are ultimately willing to quit your job to nurse her full time... for me, I decided she HAS to learn the bottle and she has NO CHOICE... so I tahan her cries...

learn how to calm your baby down WITHOUT offering the breast is very important... cos previously whenever baby cries, i feed her thinking that TBF = upon demand = when cry... but this is not true... sometimes baby jus want to sleep or bored... so i learn to calm her down without latching her...

What my parents did was the cold turkey method... very cruel but effective... during the day, she either no milk or take bottle... first day will cry a lot and take very little bottle... DO NOT offer to latch as your baby will learn that by crying very badly, she will get her way and be able to latch on you... second day, she still cry when given bottle but ultimately still suck... third day, she still cry but lesser...

btw, i also first used avent... then tried nuk latex... when i confirm she can take bottle, jus a matter whether she wants or not, i gave nuk silicon... after that i switch back to avent... i still feel avent is the best cos it does not leak as badly as when i use nuk... and my dad and hubby commented that the way she sucks is the same as at the breast...

i wish you luck...

desert,
i m also using similac. wondering will other brands of milk powder has better taste or not?

blessed,
u also gave ur girl similac? she drank all without any fuss? my boy refused to drink.

Hi Jen, Tks for ur reply. Just like you, I used to latch my baby on whenever she cries. Am still trying to calm her down without offering my breasts.

She would cry whenever she was offered the bottle and I dun dare to go out without her for too long. Den all my slimming vouchers (Marie France etc) given by enfamama club and the hosp all wasted... sigh

Guess you are right, ve to endure and not give in to her cries. She'll have to take the bottle or starve. Must train her b4 i go back to work.

Thank u once again for sharing your experience!

something to share.. got it off some EPers support group..

<font color="0000ff">When trying to increase supply it's worth trying to add back another session or two as well as going to a higher quality pump - and all the other supply tips, like rest, calories, fluids, and optionally oatmeal, barley water, fenugreek etc.

Hi Mapleleaf

Some people like to stick to a strict 3 hour feed but i would rather my girl sleep if she's tired. Anyway, some people say that the child grows most when they are sleeping and like what my mom says, they'll wake up when they realise they're hungry. However, if she sleeps past 4.5 hours, I would wake her up otherwise her feeding time will be delayed too long and she may miss her last feed.

There was a period when she was about 3 - 4 months, i fed her at a 4 hour interval.

Any idea if we can take raw stuff like sashimi when we are breastfeeding? Thinking if can take yu sheng during CNY also.

Hi QSG

Dunno leh ... some pple say cannot eat raw stuff but been eating sashimi even though I was breastfeeding. Seems ok. Couldn't resist coz already couldn't eat raw fish for more than 9 months - Pregnancy and Confinement.

<font color="aa00aa">mummies using PIS,</font>
anyone can tell me the cost of :
- horn
- yellow valves
- membrane
???

HI
Any mothers using Ameda LAct pump? How do you find it? I find the motor noisy.

Mothers who are going back to work, should I keep on latching till the day I start work or give her bottle during the day? If I do that, will my supply dip?

angelia
if i remember rightly, the funnel/horn is $14, valve $8, membranes $6/2 pc
can check with mums and babes (plaza sing)
i bought extra sets cos lazy to wash and sterilize each time

emma
your girl okay with bottle? i would suggest that you bottlefeed EBM in the day and only latch on at night.
then at least your girl realises that she'll have to take bottle in day
else may end up rejecting bottle totally

hey gals... jus bought the PIS... haven't used yet... will use soon cos I realised my fingers are seriously getting numb and tingling feeling after using avent manual pumping 4 times a day... hope will recover...

emma, start bottle NOW!!! cos bb will not know how to use the bottle 'automatically' like a lot of pple believe it to be...

angelia, so how? u bought oredi or still thinking?

hmm... got another question... how do u know if the lochia is completely gone? cos even though there is not a lot of discharge, i still have spotting... then for 2 days, i have blood but pantyliner can contain... but then i TBF, so is it 'auntie'?? but my supply still maintain leh... *touchwood*... pls advice...

Hi Emma

I started feeding my girl with EBM the week before I started work and pumped according to the timing I planned for office so my body also has a bit time of time to get used to the timing.

Oops ... forgot to reply you on the pump sound. I also thot the sound was quite loud but was told medela dual / single pump is louder. And my girl doesn't really seem to mind it... I pump beside her while she's sleeping and it doesn't disturb her.

Jen
is the pump good?

Anyone use sterilsing tablet to sterilise pump to bring to work? Do we need to rinse the pump after sterisilisg in the solution?

my baby poo lot today, three times in a row and her poo is a lot, very watery. Could it be diarrhorea? I cant tell is it normal.

Is it true for bf mother cannot consume cold drink?

Hi all, juz wanna find out from u ladies, can I use the stretch marks minimising cream on my tummy and/or breasts whilst providing BM to my bb?

my baby yest night after drinking the EBM, I latch her on after that she throws out a lot of milk...Anyone know why this occur and how to prevent it??

Hi Mummies, I have another issue here that requires your expert advice again.
I realised that EBM tat has been kept in the freezer for abt 2 wks smelled and tasted terrible. It smelled n tasted like coconut oil that some ppl use on their hair. It even smelled like plastic. Dun think it has gone bad though. My sis said it could be due to new bottles or could be due to the thawing process. Any idea how to get rid of this problem so that my bb wont have to drink milk tat smells like plastic?
Also, how much milk should i store b4 going back to work? One wk's worth or few days' worth?

Pls kindly advise. Thank u.

hi ladies, i've started using the pis for 2 days but my numb fingers problem is still there... anyone have problems with their hands after regularly using the avent manual? pls advice...i'm so worried i want to go see a specialist leow...

jen, i have problems with my hands after using the avent manual. my thumb seems to be dislocated or sprained.

Hi everyone, I'm new to this forum.

Anywhere I just wanted to voice my frustration. I have 2 daughters. The elder one is 2yrs old and the younger one is 6mths old. I decided to bf when I was pregnant with my elder girl. My hubby was supportive of my decision. Although I did read up some bf books but was not sufficient. I was only able to bf my elder girl for about 2mths. During that 2mths, I had sore nipples, blocked ducts and mastitis. I gave up bf after that cos I was also working. I regretted that I couldn't bf my elder girl longer.

When I was pregnant again, I decided to give bf a second time. I have bf until now which is 6mths. Occasionally I do have blocked ducts but my girl helped me to clear it easily. I do sometime have ss problem but I overcome it.

Both my girls are on the skinny side, but they are both active and healthy. My elder girl is on the 5th percentile. My younger one is actually on the 5th percentile. But due to 3wks of diarrhoea and chicken pox, she now below 3rd percentile. Both their birth weight are 3.016kg and 2.955kg respectively. Both my hubby and me are also on the skinny side, so maybe they are generally small in size.

Here come my frustration, whenever I visit my relatives, they always comments on my younger girl's weight cos I bf her. My auntie always ask is my ss enough or not. When do I plan to wean her? Does she drinks enough or not? Now she's on 1 meal of rice cereal. How do I answer her? If I answer enough, she may ask why does she not chubby looking. They always try to persuade me to give up bf and give fm. But I ignore her la. I know what is best for my girl.

My older girl is on fm but she still skinny. So I know their weight it's not due to whether I give fm or bf. It's just that both my girls are skinny.

But when you hear people always comment on their sizes, as a mother how do you feel. Frustrating and Sad. Babies comes in different sizes. Mine happen to be on the small size, why can't they understand?

Hope you people don't find me irritating.

Hi everyone, I'm new to this forum.

Anywhere I just wanted to voice my frustration. I have 2 daughters. The elder one is 2yrs old and the younger one is 6mths old. I decided to bf when I was pregnant with my elder girl. My hubby was supportive of my decision. Although I did read up some bf books but was not sufficient. I was only able to bf my elder girl for about 2mths. During that 2mths, I had sore nipples, blocked ducts and mastitis. I gave up bf after that cos I was also working. I regretted that I couldn't bf my elder girl longer.

When I was pregnant again, I decided to give bf a second time. I have bf until now which is 6mths. Occasionally I do have blocked ducts but my girl helped me to clear it easily. I do sometime have ss problem but I overcome it.

Both my girls are on the skinny side, but they are both active and healthy. My elder girl is on the 5th percentile. My younger one is actually on the 5th percentile. But due to 3wks of diarrhoea and chicken pox, she now below 3rd percentile. Both their birth weight are 3.016kg and 2.955kg respectively. Both my hubby and me are also on the skinny side, so maybe they are generally small in size.

Here come my frustration, whenever I visit my relatives, they always comments on my younger girl's weight cos I bf her. My auntie always ask is my ss enough or not. When do I plan to wean her? Does she drinks enough or not? Now she's on 1 meal of rice cereal. How do I answer her? If I answer enough, she may ask why does she not chubby looking. They always try to persuade me to give up bf and give fm. But I ignore her la. I know what is best for my girl.

My older girl is on fm but she still skinny. So I know their weight it's not whether I give fm or bf. It's just that both my girls are skinny.

But when you hear people always comment on their sizes, as a mother how do you feel. Frustrating and Sad. Babies comes in all shapes and sizes. Mine happen to be on the small side, why cant they understand.

Hope you people don't find me irritating.

Arieslim,
Just ignore people's comments. Just now my mil commented to me that my EBM "mei you liao" unlike FM. Thus baby get hungry easily.

Well i ignored her comments as we know wats the best for our baby.