Breastfeeding Support Group

Giggler,
good that Vane is quite chin chye. my boy finally willing to take from bottle again after rejecting it for 2-3weeks. hmm.. i tot ss will maintain at a consistent level after menses back? i tot even when having menses ss will b the same as when after menses end? usu how much milk can u get when u have menses n how much milk u get when menses end? nowadays i dun really pump out milk n dunno have my ss decrease or not. but i m thinking of intro FM to my boy next wk as he will be 10mths old. my ss is still enough for him but i think would b good to start FM so tat i can slowly stop. then sometimes i will think dunno is my bm nutritious for him or not? since know fm is quite nutritious.

i want to latch her after intro bottle... but worry she can't adapt both... i've stopped tandem pumping leow... think it increased my ss by lots... too leaky...

Hi desert, guess that's what happened to me. My menses come once I start my gal on solids. That means you'll bf till he turns 2?

Hi mini, my ss dropped tremendously when I have menses. I only got abt 20ml per pumping session when I have menses. But I can get abt 50ml per pumping session when I don't have menses. Very big difference hor? I thot of intro fm too cos my ss really not enuf for the period when I have menses. Also, I've consideration regarding nutrition level of our bm as bb grows. However, I think our bm is still the best for our bb lah. So quite reluctant to wean her off.

Hi jen, I think you can stop tandem pumping since u already store up lots of bm. My gal still can want to latch on after I intro bottle. But think my gal is those chin chye type lah.

Hi sparks, I just start my kickboxing class. I think it doesn't affect my ss lah. It's menses that have the greatest impact on my ss.

giggler,
dun think ur menses returned is due to intro Vane solid. Ovulation takes place 2wks before seeing menses. so means aleady ovulate when Vane is 4.5mths old. also Vane also taking a bit of rice cereal so dun think that will affect ss. oh such a big difference. for me during my first cycle i noticed there is not much difference whether during or after menses. yah bm is best for our bb but i think there is no harm to supplement with fm esp when our ss cant meet. no matter wat we just want them to drink more n grow well right? i see the benefits of bm as my boy hardly fall sick. only once he caught a cold n the flu only lasted 2days when doc say will take 1 week to heal. the problem now is he likes brs very much n i din want to wean him off suddenly. sometimes i hope once he is 1yr old he will automatically want to wean off. :p

<font color="ff6000">hi mngo,giggler</font>
my bb is 7wks+ now

well, my bb is on FM most of the time
just that since i still have BM, so i still let latch her on for it

sometimes after latching her on for 30mins-1hr, like still not enuff for her leh.. of coz in between she fell asleep

hi giggler,
I am not sure the purpose of the plastic. maybe you are right.

hi chihiro,
is good that you latch your baby on. my boy also fall asleep after 30 mins to 1 hr. and then milk not enough for him, cos milk flow is slow and they tend to be tired after sucking.

when do you intend to fully let her be on FM? maybe you can express BM out for your baby to drink

hi, anyone knows how to clean bb's tongue? the white deposits is caused by milk is it? not thrush right? my MIL keep asking me to give her water after every feed to "wash" away the whiteness... necessary?

Moon
hee..I think I ans ur qns in this thread as well. U can feed any fd to bb when they turn 1. So, its more a matter of what u want to feed them with. If possible, try to stick no little added seasoning, esp salt and sugar. But I intend to let Ivan take some bday cake though, coz its his bday mah.
I intend to introduce formula everyday when he turns 1. Yup, its quite difficult to feed them much milk when using cup. But no choice leh, still hv to try.

Giggler
No lah, intend to wean him off b4 18 mths, so tt I can try for 2nd one. Will see how thing goes 1st.

Dear Ladies,

Tk u for your advises!! SS seems to have increase but still doesn't seems to be quite enuf. So need to supplement him for the nite feed (1~2 times).

Another query, do you all pump after each feed (latching on the bb)? If yes, for how long. Appreciate your kind advise.

Jen,

If the white deposit can be wipe off, its milk stain. If not, it could be oral thrush. Maybe you'll have to check with your PD to double cfm. My boi got it and after some medication, he's almost cleared liao.

Giving water do help to prevent the forming of the stain. Also need to clean bb's mouth everyday.

Hi mini, my gal also hardly fall sick though I've had colds a few times, my mil and mom keeps coughing. Even when she caught cold yday, she's ok today liao.

Hi chihiro, you can try to change her diaper to make her awake if she fell asleep while latching.

Hi jen, my mom bought a bottle of transparent syrup for bb to clean her tongue and gums.

Hi desert, ok at least you set a target for yourself. Me still can't decide when I want to stop bfg.

Hi Maple Leaf

Didn't pump after latching bb coz took the chance to rest after that or still have to look after her if she doesn't sleep. Are you still in your first month? If so, just concentrate on latching and take the chance to rest n drink more water. Body needs sufficient rest to produce milk as well.

Happy New Year to all of you. Me still bfg, though lesser now. Just pumped enuf for one feed while I work and during the night I latch baby on. That's all. Was supposed to stop during my trip to Bangkok, but ended up pumping. So still have supply. Dun know when I'll stop.

Baby down with flu, so thot I thot better to give him some bm to help him build up immunity.

Keep it going gals.

emma, my gal also throw up milk after some time... even after we tried to burp her, she still throw up... she will also throw up when she hiccups... i think it's no cause for alarm...

i've got another problem... i need to "train" my gal to drink at regular times... but becos i'll be giving her EBM when i go back to work, i need to know how roughly when to prepare the milk and how much per feed... just thot when i go back to work, it will be easier for my MIL to know how much to prepare so as not to waste the EBM... anyone please advice how to:
1. train baby to drink at regular times
2. how much per feed of EBM to give the bb
3. how many times to feed per day

thanks a million!

Happy New Year to mommies n babies.
Take care and be safe for year 2005.

<font color="ff0000">giggler</font>
I am oso still bfg, oso dun know when to stop, but intend to look for job soon, so maybe ll skip the day feed, jus latch her on at nite..

<font color="ff0000">desert</font>
u mentioned abt weaning so tat can try for 2nd bb, tats mean ur M is not here yet...so envious..mine came when zoie 6MO, so fan...i m think abt the 2nd one too...when ll u go back work? u intend to take long break for 2nd bb too?

My M came only recently exactly 1 month after I stopped bf my boy.I would like to try for a second one soon. I always envy people whose M returns when they are bf because it means that they can still conceive and bf at the same time.My M did not return at all and I was so worried that I had become infertile!

would like to know if anyone feels the same as me??
my bb is still on 100% EBM. my menses just came back this month, and my ss dropped.. i felt so sad.. when my ss was so much and when i was pumping like 6-7 times a day, i just couldnt wait to stop expressing milk. but now when my ss has dropped and i m only pumping abt 2 times a day, i feel so sad.. though i intend to wean my girl off EBM when she reaches 1 yr old. she is now 10 mths old. And the frozen EBM i hv in my freezer can last abt 1.5 mths if i totally stop experessing now. i will still continue to express twice a day till not sure when.. Still , there is a feeling of sadness when i see tt my ss has dropped..

BTW, i m now looking out for fomula milk for babies aged 1-yr onwards to supplemet my girl if my EBM supply runs low.. but not sure which brand is well-liked by mothers and closest to BM ?
most of my friends uses mamil gold step3. any comments on gain IQ, which is a follow-on from Similac excellence ?

hi melody, yvonne, giggler
think we r those who enjoy bf n non menses days as not intendding to plan for 2nd one so fast n yet our menses came. yar ss will drop when menses came, just a matter of how much. my ss drop close to 200ml. now is really just nice for my boy even though he on 3meals of solid. just tell myself no matter what menses will return n life just move on.
yvonne, i believed all of us will b sad to see ss drop but after a while will just get use to it since it is not anyone fault for menses to return. no matter what we have do our best to provide my bb with bm for so many mths. at least u still have frozen ebm to fall back on. my boy rejected frozen ebm n his daily ss is from direct latch on.

yvonne
most of my friends using GainIQ or Friso. Some are on Mamil gold step 2 and intend to switch to GainIQ or Friso too. They are mostly in the 'new Moms' thread. For me, I am trying Enfapro first.

mini/melody/yvonne/giggler
It's been two months since I stop BF but menses still not back. It is normal? Was wondering whether a need to see the gynae?

Jas,
mayb wait for anr 1-2mths? by right menses should return but mayb some body takes more time to resume to normal. think just wait a while longer first as not cheap to go to gynae. last time u said u had 1 menstrual cycle but stopped after tat right? for mine is once menses came continue to have just tat one cycle will take 4-6wks.

Hi mini
Are you still total bfing your bb? So your menses has been regular?
So your bb still not drinking from bottle? /But you are not working yet right? So can latch on good.

Hi Desert
Thank you for the reply. I also feed my boy with is birthday cake.

Hi Masshiro
So you are still bfig?

Hi Giggler
How is bfing going for you?

Hi Jas
I think like what mini say wait for sometime to see whether it comes back. My friend menses never come back and she had her second one.
moon

mini/serene
thanks for the info. I was also thinking to wait a while more, and to enjoy more of menses free days.. Will wait for 1 or 2 months more then.

Hi Masshiro, so you pumped and threw away the bm during your BKK trip? My gal also have cold recently but recovered after one day. Guess it's the wonder of BM!!!

Hi jen, I don't really train my gal to drink at regular timing. But she'll want milk at abt 3hrly interval and drank abt 3oz per feed.

Hi melody, do u find it hard to stop since you've been bfg for so long? I've been bfg for 7mths now, and feel very reluctant to stop leh.

Hi Cat, don't think that you're infertile just cos your menses not here while u bfg lah. Got such theory meh?

Hi Yvonne, I feel sad just by the thought that I may need to stop bfg soon cos my yi-ma coming. I understand how you feel. But I think we shd change our thinking and tell ourself that we already did our best for our bb for bfg for so long.

Hi mini, me too. My gal doesn't have anymore frozen EBM to fall on too this mth. So I'm prepared to give her fm if my ss drops tremendously later this week when yi-ma comes.

Hi Jas, I not sure if it's norm leh. Maybe you want to check thru website to see if u got any info on it? Hmmm. Maybe you got 2nd one liao, like Serene's fren? Heehee..

Hi Serene, so far so good for me. Still tbfg my gal, has not opened the tin of Enfapro that I took out yet.

Hi all mothers

May I ask, how do u all warm up EBM from fridge at night? I always find it so slow, My BB cry until eyes very red, than the milk is warm enough.

I warm it up by putting the bottle into a bowl of hot water, takes abt 5mins, I've thought of buying a milk warmer, but avent also claim to take abt 4mins.....

Any better solution frm mummies?

Giggler,
I tot I was infertile. I was so worried. One of my Catholic friends consoled me. She said that since BF is so natural and GOD will not make a woman infertile due to bf.

Jas,
How long did u bf? I read from a book that if a women bf for a long time, it may take several months for menses to return. Don't worry.

giggler, how big is your gal now? my gal will be 1 month when i want to start to intro bottle to her... heard that i should start with NUK teats first? cos will not create nipple confusion? I got a NUK newborn teat from TMC when I deliver, can I use it or must get another one (cos dunno if my gal still consider "newborn")?

now I have some frozen EBM ranging from 100ml to 150ml... can I thaw say 150ml soaked in room temp water but put in the fridge (lower) compartment, then pour out about 60ml to warm for feed... if not enough, pour out some more from the the remaining 90ml? even if i dun use, i can still keep the 90ml in the fridge for use within 48hours right?

Serene,
yar still tbfg but thinking of starting FM next wk. ss still enough but thinking just to let my boy try out. but sometimes feel quite relunctant to introduce. yet dun think i want to bf forever also. infact hubby asking me if want to go tour with him alone in end feb or not. he v keen to go but he just afraid i cant stop bf. actually i feel like having a break to go oversea.
i will b starting work in the later part of march. (term 2). doing contract teaching. decide to give teaching a try as i m tired of being an engineer.

hi jen,
once the frozen ebm has been thawed, have to use it within 24hours. u can pour 60ml to use first n put the remaining in the fridge. just try to use the rest of the 90ml asap to maintain freshness.

thanx mini, how old is your baby now?

btw, i noticed my nipples have some pink patches like "raw skin" against the brown colour of areola and nipple area... is this normal? sometimes i feel pain when my gal first latch on and suckles real hard (like a crocodile) but after a while, there's no pain... maybe got used to it?

Hi Cat, so are u comforted by your friend's words? You're keen to try for No. 2 issit?

Hi jen, my gal is 7 mth now. I started my gal with Avent teats and she's fine with it. Still can use newborns teats for 1mth old bb lah. You can keep the remaining 90ml in the fridge for 24hrs. It's best that you freeze your milk in the amt for one feed.

Hi mini, how did u apply as contract teacher? I keen to be teacher too but don't have the courage.

Hi Jen,

I've got similar experience, I think u've got sore nipples lor. I would stop latching on for abt a day to let it heal, than start again. My BB so far ok.

Like the book says, best medicine for sore nipples is yr breastmilk itself, apply some on yr nipples and air it abit.

By the way, when u pump, how much will u be able to pump out per session? How much time u use?

giggler
no lah, sure not hit jackpot one coz I am very cautious about it now... morever now don't have time to get intimate also coz hubby and I are separate on weekdays and on weekends look after bb already so tired.... hee hee

wooof
for night feeds, my mum will feed FM coz faster mah, else bb cries until so poor things and will wake everyone up. At home over weekends, will hit up throught the avent storage bag then warm enough will then transfer to bottle to feed. Heat up through avent storage bag is much faster compared to bottles.

cat
I BF for about 10.5 months, not consider long right?

jen
Yes you can do that, but thawed frozen EBM must be used within 24hrs and not 48hrs.

my joel used avent teats and bottle too, and he's fine with both, initally, no problem with latching.

Hi Serene, Giggler,
Yup..still bfg. Threw away milk when I was in BBK. Did try drinking 1 bottle but after that didn't feel like drinking. So asked hubby to throw away. I heartpain to throw myself. Dunno why found it easier to pump there..maybe more relaxed.

Hi Stylobb, Giggler,
Maybe I not on TBF so baby still catch flu leh...he got phlegm in his cough and yesterday got very bad nappy rash. I see already also heart pain.

Hi Jas, Wooof,
I thought AVent dispoable bag instruction was not to put hot liquid or microwave the bag in case it burst. .I usually put into bottle than heat up the ebm. Not sure..maybe can doublecheck.

Jen,
my boy going to b 10mths end of this wk.
think that is due to sore nipples as ur girl suck too hard. should b ok as long as no bleeding. after sometime the brs will b more seasoned.

Giggler,
i applied contract teaching thru MOE website. it is actually under normal teaching but they offer it on contract basis before going to NIE. yar i also dun have much courage to teach but tell myself to put up courage. hope i will not feel fearful.

wooof
I store EBM in avent storage bag, then I heat up using the water from thermos flask, after it's warm enough, I transfer to bottle to feed. So far it's okay, normally I change two times of water and it's warm enough already

Hi Masshiro, is your boi better now? Aiyo how come got nappy rash too? You can try Klorane nappy rash cream. I find that its better than Desitin.

Hi mini, so you teaching what level? I admire u for your courage.

<font color="aa00aa">mini</font>
ya lor, M days are terrible, ss dip n can feel my gal suckle so hard till my nipple sore..hiaz...

<font color="aa00aa">Jas</font>
dun worry, i guess it differ for each individual...enjoy the carefree days... ;)

<font color="aa00aa">Giggler</font>
got mixed feelings lor...

<font color="aa00aa">mini\Giggler</font>
clap for mini..i find it intimdating to teach infromt of so many kids too, thou i m thinking of trying out to be one..think the contract is good, as allows us to try out hor..cos i rem all teachers are bonded by MOE? correct me if i m wrong..

Giggler
Ai yah, My target also not very accurate, coz I keep on pushing back. Initially, wanted to stop at 6 mths, then 1yr, now 18 mths. Dunno lah, but I dun want to pump when I go back to wk, so I hope to wean him off.

Jas
U shd be due for pap smear soon rite? Maybe can check with ur gynae then regarding the rtn of menses. I intend to ask some qns on chances of hving 2nd one, since menses not back yet.

Melody
Yup, my menses still not back yet. U intend to go back to wk soon? Who will look after Zowie when u go back to wk.

Giggler/Melody/Mini
Actually teaching in front of the kids is fine, esp those from the lower pri, its the other aspect of the job that will kill u. But then, the upper pri and sec students can very really naughty. Contract teaching is offered only when u cannot go NIE yet. If u are really keen to try out teaching in front of the kids, can try relief teaching instead.

desert
not so soon, I think sometime in May. Maybe will check with him then if it still not in sight, which I hope too....hee hee

giggler,dessert,melody
will b teaching sec sch. yar lor i m afraid the students will b tough to mange. actually nowadays contract teaching is more common as i think the turn over rate for teachers is quite high so they want to make sure we try out for some time. the other time my younger sis did contract teaching for 4mths n then quitted.

serene,
forgot to reply u in the earlier msg. funny leh at MIL's house my boy started to drink willingly from bottle again. but at my mum's house he refused to drink. dunno is it becoz my presence is absent when MIL feed him whereas i m present at my mum's house.

Hi melody, me in dilemma too. On one hand, can't bear to let go bfg, esp after yday nite. My gal smiled up at me so sweetly halfway thru the feed leh. But on the other hand, I want to slim down leh.

Hi desert, so you like me lah, still can't decide on a date. ;) Think I enjoyed bfg too much to let go liao. Are u a teacher yourself? I remember we have a few teachers in this forum.

Hi mini, wish u luck in teaching! I don't dare to try cos I feel that kids nowadays are very difficult to handle. Guess your boi doesn't want to take bottles cos of you lah.

Giggler,
I hope to try for no 2 after feb. If I strike, I can still make it for this year which means that there will only be a year gap between.
Jas,
It depends on individual's body as to when menses will return. Do not worry. I am an example. I thought there was something wrong with me but my menses came anyway.

Btw, can anyone tell me if my menses will be regular after the first cycle?

Hi Cat, you're one of those who want to give birth once and for all huh??? Me still don't have the intention to have No. 2 yet though I quite enjoyed my preggie days. My menses is regular after my 1st cycle but I not sure abt yours.

hi cat,
so far i had only 2 cycles. my 2nd cycle is 6wks after the first one. quite a long delay hor. still observing when will the 3rd cycle come. so really depends on individual.

giggler,
thanks for the well wishes! yar i also dunno when to stop bf. initially is 6mths then 9mtns then... should b 1yr.