Breastfeeding Support Group

absolut, i sometimes latch on one side, pump on other side, if not it leaks too much , and is a waste. i try to latch if i am available. but sometimes when i am engorged, and bb's not wanting milk, i have to pump out

hi everybody>>
I am 32weeks pregnant, but my breasts still the same size(as small)... no sign of enlargement... however, if i use both hands to squeeze(sorry if I sound gross), there is a bubble of "milk" coming out. I intend to BF my bb once he is born, but worried tat i not enuff milk for him.... Any1 experienced this problem b4?

Hi, wanna check wif every/anyone, does it really takes such long time to pump out each breast(20-30mins)?
And how wld u mummies 'warm up' the stored EMB? I understand from someone that we cant use 'hot' water, but only warm water to 'heat' it up as it'll spoil the nutrients of the breast milk... in this case, wldnt it require a long time before we get to feed our bb?

And for those who's using Medela's mini electric pump? I've also heard that it's pretty noisy, will it still be noisy if we change it to battery usage? Cos if it's noisy, wldn't it affect our bb when we pump the other breast whilst he/she is suckling the other?

Hi angelia, what you do is try to store up your bm as much as possible now while you're having your ML. At least, you still got excess ss to fall on to if your ss really drop when you get back to work mah.

Hi QSG, my boss is really understanding hor? But I only pump 15min per session lah.

Hi Masshiro, my gal rejected my breasts last nite leh. So heart-pain, you know. She kept crying hysterically and pushed away my breasts when I tried to feed her. Only stop crying when I offered her the bottle.
Guess my bfg days are going to end soon too.

Hi absolut, wow. Ally sure drank a lot on Fri leh. Abt 7-8oz? So you going to give meat porridge today? Maybe you can cook the meat with the porridge to get the taste but don't give Ally meat to eat first?

Hi jen, what do you mean by more "smoothly"? You mean you'll get more milk by tandem pumping? You'll get letdown easier if you do tandem pumping as your bb will help to stimulate your breasts. That's normal that the other side of breast will leak as you feed. Maybe you can get breast shells to collect the milk. You can also get glass bottles from hospital, it'll be more cost-effective than using storage bags.

Hi well, my breasts didn't incr in size during my preg too. But I'm still tbfg my bb who is 6mths plus now. So don't worry abt your milk ss.

Hi Mum05, I only use 15 min to pump each breast. I use Philips food warmer to heat up my EBM. I find the Medela Mini pump really noisy. I can hear the machine along the corridor when my col uses it. BTW, I'm using Ameda now and it's alot softer compared to Medela mini

giggler
sorry for the late reply, was on leave past few days. Pump 10 mins quite short, I used to pump about 20mins to 30mins initally every 3 hourly.

angelia
you might want to only pump once at lunchtime and once after work (either at office or return home). For me I only pump once at lunctime and rush home after work to pump.

Masshiro
My boy is drinking Enfalac A+. I find is okay, not bad smell compare to Similac, which I find got strong plastic smell. I taste Enfalac A+, not too bad, quite close to EBM just that it is thicker.

absolut
wow Ally drink quite lot of milk. My boy still only take about 180ml - 200ml. Sometimes he can't finish also... xian...

well
size of brsts doesn't need amount of milk. the milk will come in after delivery and amount of ss will depends on demand. Don't worry about the ss now, just enjoy your last few weeks of pregnancy.

mum05
I warm up EBM using the hot water from the vaccum flask. I am using Medela mini dual electric, as I am on exclusive pumping, can't advise you on this. However, I will use a blanket or pillow to cover the pump motor during pumping so that the noise level is softer.

Hi Giggler,
Think my bfg days over soon..cos supply getting low already and I've cut down my pumping sessions. Will just be pumping 2 times in office or less and none at home. Going to increase his fm feeds.

Thanks Jas,
Not sure he's adapting to Friso Gold, but still monitoring. Will try out Enfalace A+. My friend gave me some sample.

hi hi mummies...

just to check..

once i warm the EBM , if cannot finish...
can I put back to the fridge ?

one more thing...if I freeze my EBM, then can I put the EBM to the lower compartment to de-frost on the day before the feeding...

thanx... you gals are right... i do get more milk by tandem pumping... about 90 - 120 ml and I'm only in first week... but if i jus pump, w/o bb on other side, squeeze until dry also difficult to get 60ml from BOTH... hiaz... any solution?

currently still on TBF... so if i use the glass bottles also like very wasted if bb dun drink leh... then like i keep 1oz in fridge for what?!?

Hi Masshiro, so can your boi take Friso so far? Hope he can get used to fm soon.

Hi Adeline, you can't put back to fridge after you heat up the EBM. You shd put the frozen EBM from the freezer the day before consumption for it to de-frost.

Hi jen, I'll mix the EBM for the day to make up to one bottle then I store in freezer. It's always good to have excess ss to store lor.

<font color="aa00aa">giggler,</font>
ya, so me now faithfully pumping at 3 hr interval, except midnight.

last nite, hubby waste 40ml of my BM leh. he siao one, bb juz drank 120ml at 8:30pm, at 10pm he gave her another 120ml *pengz* end up she stopped after taking 60ml.. then "forced" her to drink and she drank another 20ml ard 30mins later... hiaz...

i tried to simulate working environment on Sat (slept at 1230mn aft pump, wake up 5am to pump, then whole day no napping in the afternoon). Sat was okie, Sunday at 9am, i peng sang liao. cannot tahan, so after pumping, i took a nap till 12noon then wake up for next pump!!

hiaz.. wonder how i can take it when i go back to work?

how did u gals do it? what time u gals sleep &amp; what time u wake up to pump???

<font color="aa00aa">adeline,</font>
we normally put frozen EBM at lower compartment say tonight ard 9~10pm to defrost. my fridge quite cold so will only total defrost by next night. then will put them into bottles for the late night/early morning feeds.

e.g.
01 Dec, 9pm - put frozen ebm in lower compartment
02 Dec, 9pm - pour defrost ebm into bottles (usu we make 3) for last feed, midnight feed &amp; early morning feed. put some frozen ebm to lower compartment again...

angelia
when I started work, I stop pumping in the night, which means my last pump is around 10-11pm, then wake up at 6am to pump. It's quite tiring actually.

Hi Giggler,

With Friso I think slightly better but he still can't finish his 120ml. Hiaz..I just managed to pump out 50ml now, after 4 hours interval..dunno if becos menses coming or really supply finish. Better go home and take some pics and video of me nursing for memory sake before b4 it's finally over.

moon/QSG
For training pants, I also use MP and Nepia, but Nepia is softer.
Office is at B1-25 Hong Leong Bldg.
The nbr of diapers for Miffy is same as for the plain Nepia but price is $17.90. I bought Miffy becos no stock for the plain Nepia plus it looks so cute... can't wait for new stock to arrive..will be too late..as supply getting low at home. But Miffy design is really cute...hehe...

absolut
But if Ally is drinking so much, she should be gaining weight...what happened??? Jesse only can take 240-260ml the most at his last feed.

Masshiro/Giggler
Ss falling?? O dear...all the best.. dun feel so bad, you hv done your best...

Masshiro
Hb/I went to Shima today for lunch... pretty good but find that cannot eat as much as previously... the beef was not as nice.. but salmon sashimi was yummy... told hb you like sashimi too, and he said we two sama sama...hehe....
Did you go Fox's kids, they are having sale...

giggler
u only take 15min to pump? how many ml u get then? do you pump till no bm left? i usually take ard 30-45min to express my bm, find tt its a little too long ..

any advice on how we can express our bm faster? like massaging our breasts while we express?

thks ..

Hi angelia, I sleep at abt 12mn every nite and wake up for abt 3x in the middle of the nite to feed bb. Sometimes if my milk ss is low, I'll do tandem pump for the nite feeds too. But sometimes, I'll be so tired that I'll just let bb latch on directly.

Hi Masshiro, you reminded of the pic-taking leh. I only took once when my gal was still very small. We shd take another one since they're bigger now hor? Also, must wear nice nice to take the pic.

Hi styloBB, think it's due to my menses lah. I'm trying my best to come to terms that fm is still good though not the best. And at least, my ss still can meet Vane's demand so far. Has not supplement with fm yet cos I give her 2 solid feeds in the day.

Hi littleprince, I expressed till no bm lah. During my peak days, I can express abt 240ml per session within 15min. I think my pump is good that's why I can pump so fast lah. I didn't massage during my pumping session one. But now, my ss dropped to only 60ml per session. Sigh.........

hi jas &amp; giggler>>
Thanks for ur replies!!! Make me relieved... aiyo, but sad lei... how come the Ah Jies(Zoe &amp; Ivy) all got their boobs increased, but mine still like tat... yesterday went to buy bra, the sales gal gave me a even smaller cup then wat i am wearing !! SOB SOB SOB
then i requested my existing sixe back... so sad....

Hi Giggler,Stylobb,
Think X'mas could be my closing ceremony. Boy is latching on lesser and lesser. Only time I can latch him on is during the night. When he's awake, difficult to latch. Think he also knows mummy's supply very low. Really she bu de..cos been latching him for more than 7mths already...not very long but already an achievement for me.

Shud have taken pics earlier. ALways worried about not looking pretty enuf, never wear nice clothes, no make-up. Now want to take also difficult cos he doesn't want to latch. hiaz.

Hi Stylobb,
Wah..Shima..I haven't been there in ages. Loved the teppanyaki buffet lunch..wonder if they still have it. Hmm..can start eating sashimi soon..and also can go dye hair already.

Hi Well,

Realy size doesn't matter. Mine increased so much but supply pathetic.

well
Hehe...yah lor, my gf's boobs are so small but she b/fed her boy till 1 year+...

Masshiro
Yah, hb wants to go again cos his tummy not good yesterday, said he could not enjoy it..hehe. He watched me gulp down the three plates of sashimi..everything is free-flow...yah they still have it..$44 nett.

Me going to rebond my hair next week.

Hi well, increase too much in bra size may not be good thing leh. My fren incr from Cup B to Cup D during her preg, but got saggy breasts now. Think the expansion is too great liao. Also, she only managed to bf her bb for 6 weeks.

Hi Masshiro, I got the same excuse as you everytime leh. Guess I better take pic now if not I'll regret next time.

Hi styloBB/Masshiro, me going to rebond my hair tom. Finally can get rid of my messy look.

Hi giggler
You going to rebond your hair? I thox of doing that too but hair still quite short. Bfing can rebond hair right?

moon

finally get to post again. MIL back from her trip on sun but she fell sick. only today then bring bb to her again. so last 2wks full time taking care of him n not much chance to come online.

my boy was happily drinking from bottle when MIL fed him 2wks ago. but now he reject bottle. he din even want to suck ebm at all even MIL feed. now no one can make him drink bottle. we have to spoonfeed him n coax him. but he will happily latch on. really headache as i cant b with him 24hrs. i need to go out too. also i want to introduce formula as hope he can take more milk as good for him. but how to when he dun want bottle. this is the second time he reject bottle. hope it will just b a passing phase...

Hi Serene, some told me not to rebond while bfg but some said ok cos rebond won't touch the roots. So I think it shd be ok to do lah.

Hi mini, you feel that he'll drink more if he drinks fm? So you going to stop bfg soon?

Hi Serene,
personally i feel should b ok to rebond hair. did u ask gynae/doc's opinion? btw, does ur boy still reject bottle? so no milk feed in the day? then what do u do with the ebm u expressed while at work?

Hi giggler,
not tat he will drink more. infact before MIL went for tour 2wks ago my boy still cry after each feed as not enough. so i m thinking to supplement 1 feed of fm everyday as feel tat good for him to drink more milk if he wants. will still continue to bf mayb until he is 1yr old. if he can start formula then i can slowly increase 1 feed then 2 feeds etc so tat i can pump out lesser milk n eventually stop bf when he is 1yr old. oh yar he is now 9.5mths. i can see he really enjoy himself when latch on. can drink at different positions. even try to drink when he is lying tummy down. think my ss per day is 700+ ml though it is just nice for him but if he wants more should try to give more. funny thing is he is already on 3 solid meals since 2mths ago, drank 700+ml of milk n yet still look thin. guess too active already n he follow daddy n mummy with no fat genes.

QSG/Giggler,
the pioneer mall is open, my neighbour went last nite..its 2 storeys...maybe ll visit tmr, go walk walk after dinner hee..

Giggler,
so ur target now is 9mth or 1 yr? whatever it is, i think as long as we tried our best, its good.
getting too stressed up over this will upset us and in turn no good mood to be with bb...

blessed,
how many times a day ur gal drinks milk now?

absolut,
see that u had a nice trip and good time bonding with bb in jap..

Hi Mini,

Wow..you still going strong with good supply. So envious..I really bu she de to know that my bfg days going to be over soon...boy doesn't even like to latch on now. Prob when you reach 1 year, you'll think of 15 months next...it's really a dilemma everytime you reach a milestone.

Hi Giggler,
I'm not sure about rebonding but don't dare to trying anything yet until I've stop bfg.

Hi Masshiro,
dun feel upset. must tell yourself u r great to have breastfeed for 7mths. good tat he slowly dun like brs rather than u deprive him of brs. think my target still 1yr old but i m afraid what if he still likes brs so much then. I dun wish to deprive him of this comfort n yet dun hope to keep bfg. even MIL also commented better dun give him brs since he is growing bigger. she feels ulgy to bf esp when he can walk. shall see how situation goes. who knows one day he will reject brs.

Hi Masshiro &amp; Giggler

Didn't know there was such a concern on rebonding for bfing mommies. I rebonded my hair straight after confinement while still breastfeeding. But now regret coz hair dropping like crazy so will have to cut it short soon.

Hi mini, I envy you that you still got lots of milk ss now. So both you and hubby are skinny type? Maybe your boi follow your genes lah. Hopefully my gal doesn't follow my genes to be fat fat when she grows up.
My family also tell me to try to stop bfg. Don't understand why they can't accept bigger kids drinking milk from the breasts.

Hi melody, the Giant is finally open? Maybe I'll go during weekends. Let me know if they have any good offers. My target is 9mths now but I think my ultimate target is 12mths. I'll try my best to wean bb off once I bf for 12 mths. I agree with you abt the stress part. Now I just let it be and even took out a tin of fm as back up.

Hi Masshiro, do u still latch your boi on? I just did rebonding yday leh. To me, it shd be ok cos the chemical won't touch the roots of my hair.

Hi absolut, Pringles also rebonded her hair one mth after her delivery (I think so). I quite like my rebonded hair now.

Hi! How's everyone, hv not been reading this thread for some time.

Giggler/moon/masshiro/Absolut
Its ok to rebond/color when u are pregnant or bf. I read abt it some time back in YP, somebody asked the qns to Dr Douglas Ong, a gynae.
I did rebonding/color when my boy was 6 mths++, coz difficult to find the time to sit there for so long. H/w, the rebonding I did not so gd leh.

Mini
My boy like urs leh, he will do stunts while still continuing to bf, if I bf him in the lying down position. He will also change to tummy down position. Recently he even push up his buttocks and move ard, with the breast still in his mouth! Dunno what he is thinking of. But if I bf him in the cradle position, he is sitll ok.

Masshiro
U hv not taken a pix of ur boy latching on? Shd do it soon. My hubby took one for me while I was bf in public in Perth. He also videotaped me doing it in the plane. But actually cannot see anything much. I kinda of regretted not taking the pix when he was nb.

hi all mummies
merry christmas... it's holiday.. don't get stressed up or feeling moody over BF and ss... relax and enjoy this day, if not you got to wait for another year...

Any Mums PBF? i think i have problems letting my boy nurse for long time since he is used to bottle though he's only 2 weeks old.

Really envy you all for able to bf for so long. I'm a new mummy (just 25 days) and has been experiencing a lot of difficulties while bf. 1st my boy was found to have starvation jaundice and I've to supplement him. After that I've had problem with my CL and asked her to leave. Ended up got to take care of bb myself with help from hubby. Due to stress and exhaustion, I've no time to do expression and did not latch him on for 2 days due to sore nipples and his oral thrush. Now I felt that my breasts are soft and I'm only able to pump only 20~30ml (both sides added) each time. Does this mean that I'm losing my ss? Any chance to salvage the situation? Appreciate if you all could advise. Thank you!

A late merry cnristmas to you all!
I was sick for the past few days. Had fever on and off. Like to check with any mommies here had blocked ducts and matistis before. How does it feel like/ I suspected I had either one cos I had a lump on the breast and is painful to touch. Saw a dr she said infection. What kind of treatment is needed?

Hi mini
/yes my boy rejected bottles completely. And spoon fedding him is not easy. He doesn't like to drink much too. So I expressed out the milk at work just to keep the supply so sometimes I will store the milk sometimes i will discard as no point keeping. So when I am working he will eat cereals and porridge and others only.

Hi masshiro
You are right. I really she bu de give up bfing.
You are doing well.

Hi maple
Maybe you can try epxress every three hours or latch on the baby as often as possible to get back your supply, Rest more and drink more water and eat more nutrition food

Hi mng
Maybe you can try and stop giving bottles for sometimes. but mommies have either prob with bbs rejecting bottles or nipples. The lucky ones have their bbs ok with both.

Hi giggler
you highlighted your hair?Nice? Thox of doing too but my hair still short
moon

Hi Serene
Guess i cannot stop giving bottles as my bb is cared for by confinement nanny at night, and i do not have extra supply for night feeds. my boy is two weeks old and taking 120 ml of milk.
My supply in the morning is only 100ml, and noon/night is between 60-80ml. so is definitely not enough.

my bb latches on pretty often during the day, average 10 times a day (24 hours)... at night only once around 4-5am, and early morning about 6-7am... is this normal? sometimes she fusses and wants to suck every half hour? quite shag for me... anyone face same problem?

i also have problem burping her after feed... she either falls asleep at breast, when i pull her away from the breast, she screams after 5 mins... if she doesn't burp, she will throw up some milk after a while... any solution please?

currently, i'm collecting my let-down in a glass bottle during the day, putting it in the fridge in between feeds... end of the day, i'll freeze the milk... is this ok? i'm also tandem pumping during 2 consecutive feeds and can pump about 120 - 150 ml... have problem pumping without latching her on as the flow is not "smooth"... how to solve this?

appreciate any response... thanks!

Hi desert, where did you go for your rebonding? Thanks for reassuring me that it's ok to do rebonding/colour hair.
Your boi is so funny leh, got so many stunts while bfg.

Hi Maple leaf, maybe you can try latching bb on and help to stimulate your breasts now? At the same time, drink more water.

Hi Serene, hope you're feeling better now. Your boi doesn't take any milk during your working hours? Is it ok that he takes so little milk? I rebonded my hair, didn't go for highlight. Quite like my hair now cos it's easier to handle.

Hi Jen, I got the same problem as you when my bb was abt 3-4weeks old. It was due to her having growth spurts that's why kept wanting milk every hour. It's ok to collate milk for the day to freeze it. I'm doing the same way too. Maybe you can try massaging your breasts before you pump to make your pumping smoother?

jen
i have similar problem as u , jst tat is not so jia lat. my boy, after milk still likes to latch on. i guess is for security, or something like pacifier. as for pulling away from breast, i have exactly similar situation too. what i do now is that i will let my boy suck until he's really damn tired, with mouth open wide, and then not sucking, tat will automatically unlatch him. then after that i will put him on my bed for 15 mins or so, till he's in deep sleep before i carry to cot.

it may seem quite "ma fan" and effort need to be taken, but it works for me.

Hi giggler
Thank you. I am better now. I am also not sure whether is enough for him or not. Not sure what to do also.
moon

Hi Maple leaf,

To salvage low productions of milk, you need to latch on your baby often. Expressing might help but not efficient.

Since you are still on maternaty leave, sleep with your baby and do nothing else if you can and breastfeed her 24 hours by latching your baby on as often as he wants for 2days or more.

Always remember, the more you empty your breast, the faster the supply comes and in few days your body will be tuned to supply you more milk to meet the demand (frequent emptying). After you have stable the supply (in your satisfaction) you can then move to breastfeed your baby every 3hours to maintain the it.

Wish you all the best.
mom2004

Hi serene,

For block duck, look out for white spot on your nipple. Usually the block is due to excess milk dries up and form a layer of 'dont know what' on your nipple. if you can remove it, the milk will immediately flow out.

If you suspect mastities, see doc immediately and make sure the doc give you antibiotics and make sure you complete it. Untreated will result in abscess and you will have to cut the breast to clear the pass. You can check the internet to know more about mastities, i think it is very important for all moms who breastfeed their baby to have good knowledge what is mastities and how to prevent it. ( actually very simple, as long as you empty your breast often and keep clean your breast, you should not get it).

Good luck.

mom2004

Hi Jen,

Usually breastfed baby do not need to be burp. Baby throw out a little milk (appr 1teaspoon) is okay.

Baby will fall asleep after she has enough. Actually this is one of the beauti of breastfeeding. you will have no problem putting baby to sleep (heard of people complaining dif in putting their baby to sleep?),just put her to the breast and she will sleep very soundly. Also a tips for breastfeeding moms, when your baby got frighten(when bathing, see stranger, out bang etc), or just feeling not good and crying loud... put her on the breast and all will be fine for her. There is no need for 'jing feng san' or the 'fei zai' water.

For smooth letdown, you can try massaging your nipple. using your thump and index finger, roll and gentle massage until you see milk coming out.

Always massage your breast before you begin expressing milk.

Good luck.

mom2004

I discover that there are some very small lumps on my nipples, anyone know what are they?

My baby after feed will fall asleep and will wake up and soemtimes open her mouth and show her tongue, is that a sign of hunger??

thanks mom2004... however, i noticed my baby do fall asleep at the breast... but after i unlatch her and put her into the cot, after 5 mins, she will wake up and start crying then screaming again... so i put her to the breast again... how long should i "wait" before unlatching her from the breast if she sleeps?

also, i feel some aching "pain" from both my breasts when baby suckles... then the let-down will start and other breast starts dripping... is this pain any cause for alarm? cos i read somewhere that will feel pain when baby suckles if baby suffers from thrush?

lastly, is it advisable to do tandem pumping now? i'm in my 3rd week... i'm wondering if i pump on one side and bb suckle on the other side, will bb get enough? cos she always gets fidgety and wails suddenly if i'm pumping as well... and she will kick out at the pump... =P reason why i'm doing tandem pumping is to stock up milk for second month when we try bottle feeding... if i pump solely, i dun get enough milk for 1 feed... but if tandem, i get more... pls advice...

Giggler,
yup, both hubby n me are skinny type. MIL see me thin n my arms are thin that she dun let me carry my boy for too long. she says i no strength to carry. then MIL always feel that baby will drink lesser when latch on. she always say there is little milk in brs. esp when my boy fusses she will ask is it there is no milk? my br is still hard, just tat my boy too playful to latch on. the funny thing is she used to latch on her children how come she no confident in me bfg? mayb again she feel i m skinny n cant produce much milk.

moon, desert,
do u have a tough time latching ur boy in the day? usu my boy too distracted to drink milk in the day. usu only latch on a while n feel he only drink little since brs still quite full. but when night come he will come ask me for milk.

jen,
if ur baby fall asleep on latch on for a short while, do try to make her wake again by rubbing her ears or touching her etc. coz she may find it too comfortable to fall asleep w/o getting enough. but if she suckes both breasts n more than 10min at each br, then she should have enough n should b ok if she fall asleep. once she is asleep there wont b any sucking, hence u dun have to wait before unlatching her.

the aching pain should b due to let-down reflex n there should b not cause for alarm.

hmm... i m not sure if now is too early for tandem pump. but i feel would b good to tandem pump when ur baby can suckle well at the breasts. if she is distracted by the pumping mayb u can try tandem pump again a few wks later. last time i start tandem mth when bb was 1mth old. the good part abt tandem part u can get let-down more easily n more milk ducts are opened n give more milk. also tandem pump tells ur body to produce more milk.