Babysitter - argh!

jwork

my bb has been under bbsitter's care for a yr. we are quite easy going as long as she looks after bb well.

she always tink her words are wisdom and know alot more than us. but never mind lah, so long as she looks after bb well right?

seriously speaking, it seems hard to get a bbsitter? i interviewed 3 and only this one looked more normal then the rest. not a perfect choice either to choose my current bbsitter coz we have to walk 10 min to reach her house. its not next door, we have to cross the road. and do u agree tat there is a higher dd for bbsitter that they become atas and not cooperative? my bbsitter is not afraid of not getting biz if we sack her.

so how she spiked me?
last min she had to take leave yet refused to tell us the reason she had to take. if she had told us the reason, we would be more understanding but being secretive only makes me think that its not a life and death matter. it left us hanging there,as we oso needed to work, where to find pp to help us so last min? neber mind, it was solved anyway. but it really pissed us off. we treated her very well, didnt interfere in how she looks after my bb.

then a recent case again she pissed us off. ! bb had fever so we asked her to use the new fever medi(2nd bottle) we gave her a mth ago. she said we never give her, wat she had on hand was the 1st bottle. as puzzled as i was, but din argue with her since she tinks she is alwats right. after i left the house, i checked with dh. indeed he did pass the 2nd bottle to her a mth ago. so who has memory lapse now? when i texted her, she has to cheek to tell me "if u dun believe me, u can ask yr husband". the fact is my husband oso confirmed this. wtf !

but my hub told me not to pursue liao since she always think she is rite. but then where did she hide the 2nd botttle to?

i really feel like changing bbsitter, but bb is quite attached to her now. i had planned to leave bb with her for another 1.5 yrs, how to tong?! family members dun want to bbsit our bb in the 1st place, make me even piss off. i am sure there will be a 3rd time she will spike us.

i have put bb on ccc waiting list. not my ideal plan coz bb will fall sick easily, dinner is excluded, and plus fetch by 7pm!

wats your views? or anyone is lucky to hv good bbsitter? not like me, as her boss who pays her still need to get pissed off by her?

Hi dreamer,
How old is your baby?
So far how is your baby sitter treating your girl? If so far she is doting and still taking your girl well? For me, the pirority is whether she is taking care of my girl well..if so, the rest i can still "negotiate". Perhaps you can also tell her its hard for you to take last min leave so at least pre-warn her too. Once my baby sitter take URGENT leave half way through i am working too and she din even tell me the reason too. I din ask also since she wants to keep it personal. I was indeed very piss off that very moment too but i give her the benefits of doubt. This is one case issue only and it never happen again after i told her its hard for me to take urgent leave. There's few occassion she also rush me to go pick my girl as she need to rush to the dentist before they close! I was also quite angry..as i am working leh!! Not as if i can knock off early as and when i like loh.

Other than all i mentioned above, she is quite a nice lady loh...she took care of my girl well, she nap well and sleep well over there. I kind of trust her so i continue till maybe 2YO++ then will put her in CC.

Actually I feel there is really no need for the bbsitter to tell us why they wan to take leave. See when we take leave or urgent leave we also reserve the right not to disclose to our boss rite.....

everyone or every household might hv their personal things that they are not comfortable to share so there is no need to get pissed off de.

In fact dreamer, from the start before u even start ur bb wif her, u already feel tat she is nt the best choice and so watever she say or does u will also find it nt up to ur mark de. So why dun u relax and start to see her good points and stop picking her bad points right? I believe u will feel better and can get along better than her after u juz focus on her good points.

;-)

my bb going two soon. the bbsitter treats her ok. behind my back, i dun realy noe but at least no bruise found ah. but whenever bb cries for food, she would give in, something i dun like bbsitter to practice. but i cant control. till now, she doesnt give my bb chicken meat, only fish and pork.this i cannot control even if i say her.

leave taken in advance, i dun need to noe the reason. but urgent leave, i think she has a duty to tell me. if i take urgent leave, i will tell my boss, esp if it will inconvenient my boss n d team. then he will be more sympathic towards me and approve my leave willingly.

see her good pts ah? i was able to see her gd pts over her bad pts last time. but these recent incidents make me have a diff impression of her ...

does your bbsitter have a habit of buying things for your bb?

Last time I had a babysitter, at first she pretended to be hardworking and caring, then after a few months realized my bb was not being taken care well, got sick easily and skin problems. Found out bbsitter was lazy, just leaving him for a couple hours even though he soiled diapers, didn't bathe him, alot of neglect. After tt i don't trust bbsitters anymore

dreamer
I think to be fair, sometimes people reserve the right to have privacy. I think if you start having the trust issue, I think u should consider other alternatives, after all u are paying for their service. For myself, if I can't get a nanny through recommendation, I rather go cc. After all your child is going to be left with the nanny without supervision. But having said that, if your child is attached to nanny, most likely the nanny is treating her well. My mum has been a nanny for many years and the love for kids needs to come from within, its not easy looking after kids. Even when the kids left her care permanently for Pr school or kindergarten and needed someone to keep an eye occasionally on some weekends, the kid wants to come over to my mum's rather than their own granny and my mum is willing to look after for free !

There are good nannies out there, just got to be lucky enough to get them.

dreamer,

My babysitter at times buy things for them but nv take $ from us de. Like now after both my kids in CC and nt taken care by her, she will at times still cook their favourite dish and ask us to go over to pick up de.

diana...yr nanny is good hor.

bunnybear...there's a crack oredi lah. anyway when bb is bigger, about 2+, will send to ccc. oredi on wait list. i agree mus be lucky enugh to get a good nanny. i had no recommendation, got mine thro agent, so could only based on impresion and guts feeling after the interview.

dreamer,

Maybe she is good to us coz we are very nice to her too and she appreciate it ba....heehee juz like we appreciate her too...

;-)

People reserve the rights to have privacy but in the case of urgent leave which brings you inconvenience, I feel babysitter should try to be honest. When babysitter takes urgent leave, the mother has to apply urgent leave, not many bosses will be so understanding. One time maybe can close one eye, too frequent won't be nice.

Why don't you consider childcare? Understand infant care centres are having more subsidies.