Autistic children - Share your experiences here.

Hi scrumpee,

Im still checking which pte organisation is offering more than words. My son does not have any separation anxiety and no particular affection to anyone. 

You may ask your ot if your boy needs brushing n deep compression. U hv to buy the brush fm an ot. Brushing helps my boy to be aware of his surroundings n eye contacts. Compression on sensory inputs as well as attention span.

What I know is "It takes 2 to talk" is for child non-verbal and "more than word" is for child have limited words.

Yee,

Jasmine from kkh told me the opposite. Thats y my son , she said not suitable for it takes two to talk.

Scrumpee,

Can you check wirh your slt fm kkh ? Thanks

Adeline,

I took the 'more than words' which is indeed for asd kids I think

Scrumpee-
He used to put everything in his mouth. Seeking sensory input. His hands, his toys, he would even lick the piano. Some months back, he stopped, but it always come back on and off.
I think its great he is starting to point. My son didnt point up to 26 months old when I started to do ABA with him myself. Even though he can shape his fingers into a point, he rarely requests unless object is held back from him.

Adeline-
How old is ur little gal? Ive done brushing every 2 hours when we 1st started, for a good 2 months. Followed by a strict 20 min sensory diet each session. (I'm a sahm *smile).Are you? He showed more awareness but i really felt it was the sensory diet that was beneficial to him. It helped alot in the muscle tone, and moderated his fears towards some activities. The school OT is asking me to do it at that frequency again, but i'm like...ërrrr,... ok... will try lah..". hahaha. coz i had to compromise on everything, housework, my 2nd baby, and the more academic stuff we were doing with our son.

More than words-
My in laws went for the program and we have had the video sessions done at our place, with parents carrying out activities. The program can be used from non verbal (to elicit some sounds for requesting, or signing, or pecs), to emerging sounds (to encourage expansion of word). It was conducted at Rainbow Centre.

Hi shauna,

My bb girl is coming to 5 mths old. I hv two boys n one girl & im a full time working mum .
Is your son attending lessons at rainbow centre? How can i enroll for more than words? Its not avail at kkh.

Can you share with me what kind of sensory diets you provide to your son? My ot told me many times but i didnt attempt to do it. My son mouths alot as well and he cannot point properly due to fine motor delays 
And where u learn aba fm?

Adeline,
Yes, my son is at Rainbow centre. The more than words course is open to public. They usually have it once a year and the last round was in june 2010. You can call the school and enquire about registration. CDU at Jurong Medical Clinic had it too, but i'm not a big fan of the ST we saw and he was the trainer, so it obviously wasnt a choice.

Do you own a copy of the book "Out of Sync child has fun"? There are some suggestions in there. Basically just to share some activities we do, which should total up to at least 15-20 min each session after brushing.
- Stair climbing
- swing and spinning
-gym ball
-wheelbarrow walk
-tearing paper
-rolling on floor
-compressing him in between blankets
-pushing his baby sister's walker (haha..), and loaded boxes around the house.
-cleaning up toys (Yes it counts!)
-oral sensory activities can include chewy foods, cold or frozen foods.

Basically, the aim is after the brushing, the awareness is heightened right? U take the chance and allow them to do the activities that will use their body and senses and let them learn to make sense of it with practice. Also helps to calm them after all that heavy work so they know how to moderate their behaviours..(hopefully?)

I did aba on my own while waiting for a home therapist when he was younger. Read the books and just hit the road but of course with proper guidance, it makes the heavy reading alot less crazy to understand. We eventually had a therapist with us for over a year. But I still practice with him daily coz if he cant work with me, it wouldnt make much meaning that he works with the therapist. Anyways, we arent using a therapist now but we're using pretty much the same behaviourial methods to teach him, be it academics or self help skills.

What is neuro-wiring? how interesting to know of so many possibilities out there... ")

Adeline
I just attended the video session at kkh for It Takes Two To Talk programme yesterday. And I did ask KKH about More Than Words and the lady told me that More Than Words is more for ASD kids.

Eg, it teaches the parents on how to participate in the kid's play routine (because the ASD kid prefers to play alone)

It must be tough for you handling 3 kids and working full time. Have you considered working part-time? Not sure what is your profession but institutes like Republic Poly offers part-time teaching and the pay is quite good. I am considering that. The only thing is no CPF contribution.

Adeline,

We attended the MTW @ SGH, this week darn disheartening, my boy is in 'whiney' mode, cries very often ....... dun know why too ....

Hi Adeline,

No, because I choose 1 week once but they said not very effective it better take twice a week. I'm still thinking of how to bring him there as I'm working mother.

Btw, what is brushing? It is really help to eye contact?

Hi Eveyone,

I'm stress mommy with a autism boy 5 years old.I had been try many method to teach him but its seem he improve very SLOW.Please share with me any tips which i can teach him.Hereby i share with you all my experience(maybe can help some of you here)

We bring him to see KK doctor when he was 3 years old.Then found that he is autism child.Doctor enrol him to EPIC school at Tampines but its seem no use cos OT just do 1 times per mth since alot student and short of man power.

Then we decide to let him go KITSFORKID at Teluk Kurau he admit since last year August'10. He been brush by his teacher every 2 hrs to calm down his hyperactive(Adeline for your info).

But when last week he turn to 5 i become very stressful.He still cannot talk just talk few word like don't want, want,baba,mama.OT say he jaw muscles are weak but he can eat & chewy food nicely.But some food which he can't accept like those soft type like jelly,mushroom.OT ask us to massage him eveyday and let him bite the T chewy tube.http://www.chewytubes.com/

He can't blow,i try to teach him to blow but he seem like scare.I teach him to blow bubble, even blow the candle.Did anyone have this type of experience to teach autism child blow?Please share with me.

And he also like to tear paper,at school teacher keep stop him and warning him before he tear the paper but when he at public place like NTUC he saw those price label,advertisement he cannot stand want to tear the paper.Anyone know how to curve this problem?Help.

Till now we still toilet train him.Sometimes he will take off his pant show he want go toilet but most of time wouldn't show.How to train?Teacher say need patient to train.

He also like to see people by coner eyes.Principal teach me when saw his do this way must cover his eyes at the side to stop him to see from coner.Now he getting better.

I no dare to think whether he can admit to normal school,even Pathlight i also scare he cannot admit. I must put more effot with him before he turn to 7 years old.Hope he can be recovery

hi leechialik,

can i check how you feel about kitsforkids.
Any improvment?
Is your child in integrated class?
can share how much you are paying?

I am looking for a special needs school. All expensive. That's why i am asking before i commit to a school.

Did you send your child to occupational therapy? Or are you using the OT only in the school?
You might want him to be assess by pte OT?

Brought my son to his first OT session today and the OT did a score to assess his development in motor skills. Scored 37%, not very good. But OT said is not very bad and looks like he will be able to catch up. And instead of suggesting to have my son go for weekly OT session, she wanted to him in review and see him only in April.

So now, we have to do a bit of the work ourselves. First thing first is to bring him to beach to play with sand and let him walk barefooted on sand and grass patch, and next is to help him with pretend play.

Crying in childcare
My son was very good on Monday and Tue, didn't cry but he cried again yesterday and today. Hmm...

Hi eNemum (Bluerose),

I feel that my son improve after admit to Kit4kids.

He improve by:

His start to calm down his hyperactive(sometimes will sit on chair without instruction, but 90% need me to instruc him to sit down watch tv )

His eyes contact become better.

His recognize him name when i calling him but sometimes he pretend can't heard i call him.Now after i call his name wait for few seconds then he will come to me(before admit to KitsforKid call name no respond)

He start using fork and spoon and can feed himself.But when he half full he stop wait me to feed.

He can hold a pencil to draw simple line or colour but need supervison if not he will tear the paper.But he still dislike hold pen do paperwork(before he go this school he totally reject to hold pencil).

He can point thing sometimes,and will show the thing he want like when he hungry he go kitchen take the whole bag of bread and come to show me he want eat, haha

He talk few words only teach by teacher occassionaly.He say bird, hello, bye bye occasionally,according to teacher he no motivation to speak or do his homework although he know how to speak and do haiz,teacher keep encourage him and warning him to do.

He now can recognize number 1-10,stack few blocks,match similar picture like vegetable,able to drink from a cup 80% accuracy,able to keep his lunch box after eating.

He now at Early intervertion (am) and integrated class(pm).Overall this school quite ok except the school look abit "old"(running down),the admin staff&co founder abit blur sometimes(maybe too busy cos they have alot outlet)The school fee is $1150 with gst $80.50=$1230.50.We now almost every month no saving haiz.Just hope he can be improve.

My advise is all special school is expensive unless you enrol to EPIC program under doctor recommand(is cheap but half day 3 times per week and ot only do once per month,and is long q).Maybe you need to sacify something by send him to special school maybe do part time job or rent out your room to get the extra $(few parents at Kitsforkid do like this include me).Till now i still regret i send him to special school late,if i send him early one year he now sure be more improve(when he getting grown i feel he become more sturborn no so easy to teach compare he young time)

I only let him to have OT at school once per week as i got no more $ to go pte OT.

St Gerard if i not mistake i went to there before,the fees more expensive and the school more"old" &"running down".The swimming class need additional top up $ and the bus to swimming pool also need to additional top up $ so calculative(last time St Gerard located behind Plaza Singapore if i not mistake,sorry i search too many school can't remember clearly)

You have any pte ot which fees cheaper?For your info, if your family combaine income less than $2500 you can get subsidy for Kitsforkids maybe few hundred.

Anymore equiry just msg here i willing to help.Btw your child boy or girl?

Hi eNemum(bluerose),

Maybe you can search Divinity Especial located at Bishan as myself and Adeline son also there. I give you the contact no: 6459 9552 maybe you can call to check.

Progress of child:
I used to fill up this checklist quarterly to monitor the effectiveness of the various therapies we have started on my kid. Sometimes our kids improve coz they are just getting older and have better motor skills to carry out daily functions, other times, it could be the therapies.

Parents here may find it useful to keep this data.

http://www.autism.com/ind_atec_survey.asp

Of course, the survey ranks non verbals very low on the scale. Take it with a pinch of salt and use it to rate how effective the interventions are, rather than compare your child with other children on the scale. Good luck!

hi yee,

ya...adeline called me yesterday wrt divinity.
my only concern is the environment.
i went there two weeks ago.
Now i just thinking where i should go.
Your son shows a lot of improvement?

leechialik, which branch did you do?

Hi eNemum,

Telok Kurau branch,where you stay?

Divinity is at Bishan right? I also contact with them before.But heard that vacancy leave not much.

If you want Kitsforkid co-founder i can msg to you.

hi eNemum,

ic, you dun like the environment there kah?

he improve by:

1)last time he very scare of water playgroud/swimming pool not even dare to go nearby but now he able to enjoy to play water(divinity provide water therepy once a week)

2)be4 join he able to speak few words like bye,number & alphbet but very soft now more than 80 words

3)at school he able to feed himself slow but at home need some assistance maybe my maid is there .. hehehe

4)now he know how to address people

I dun know the improvement it is because of the school or we aware of his situation but i can confirm he no longer scare of water it because the teacher train him

i only send him to school no other therepy provide to him

p/s: he dun hv much sensory issue

how old is your son?

yee, my son is 3 yr 2 mths
he is not medically diagnose yet
he has motor planning issue

he does have some words but its not on demand.
he shouldnt be on the severe type.
just need to work on speech and more interaction.
his interaction with us is good tho. eye contact is also there.

for divinity...i will say margaret is someone who really uses her heart to do her work...and i really admire her for that.

not that i dun really like the place. but i also dunno how to put across. But like adeline says...for that price we pay, its not too bad liao.

that day when i went divinity, my boy cried badly, not sure whether it is due to environment or other factors.

i should be making another appt there again...and test him out.

for kitsforkids, i went to TP...actually environment also not say fantastic la.
its the same price as st gerard which environment is fantastic. but st gerard is not really a special needs school and transportation fees is high.

seriously dunno what is best for him....

he joined last year jun same timing as adeline son.

i agree with adeline,the charges quite reasonable.personally i feel that st gerald is more "old" & "running down" when i visited the place last year. unless recently they do renovation.

when you notice ur son hv problem? I noticed my son last year mar straight away i let him enrol to divinity.

Enemum,
What motor planning issue does your boy has?
And since he is not diagnose and not severe, why can't send him to mainstream school?

we went KKH last may...throughout he was at mainstream childcare with gor gor...

i notice when he was about 18 months. if you are to archive the beginning of this thread, i came in to ask for advise.
that time i cant take it and cried everything and subsequently shut myself from all these autism thread. now i am taking it quite well...just that at times, i will still think it is so unfair. and hates it when there are not much support from govt...sigh

his motor planning is in the mind. meaning he lacks the ability to digest and think and also imitation in speech
e.g you ask him what is this...actually he know..but just wont say.

for him to progress, he needs to be push. mainstream usually will just leave him alone

st gerard has shifted to mountbatten.....good facilities i will say

Enemum

Is your son verbal now? My son also similar, but he will point though, just can't verbalise. I m still waiting for him to talk

Suspect he got PDD, which is part of autism but is highly recommended not to do assessment now

He can't point but will bring us there

He create his own body language to communicate with us

Hi eNemum, my son was initially suspected to be PDD too. then after thorought assessment, they changed it to "mild autism" or Asperger. why did they recommend not to do assessment now? i thot is good to do assessment as early as possible so tt u can start queueing for Early intervention centre, n of cos start 'therapies' on him asap. even for normal kids, 'early education' is very important n can make big impact.. we personally benefitted from ARC, n ARC is the one who taught him how to point too..

eNemum,

I think your son not a autistic,just maybe some of his body parts the sensory is quite weak.I think is hand.Try to send him OT first let OT exam him and will let you know.

My boy also cannot point but know bring us to there.Recently maybe i too stress i hold his hand and force him to show only index finger to point.When i hold him hand he can move his hand to show the picture i ask him.OMG...he know what is that example i show him animal flash card and ask him to show mama which one is tiger?he move his hand(which i hold his hand force the index finger come out only)to the flash card of tiger.

I feel want cry at the moment cos finally i know he know whatever i teached.Just he cannot show his index finger.Maybe you can try at home.He continue to point picture card OMG i just realised that he know all the animal at the picture card.And his know all his body parts.

My OT suggest to training him play dough.Make small ball using index finger.Or can cut dough by cafe knife to train his hand strenght.

U try i just try abt 4 day now he start to point the cartoon he like.Gambateh

Tam, how to go arc? Just call them or need to be referred by kkh? If I go divinity, I might not wanna go rainbow anymore. They have not offer any place yet

Oh...two days ago, my boy suddenly blurts out 'mur mur mur mur', a few times. We were so happy because that is his first consonant.

Hi eNemum
i think is same as other EPIC centre.. must get doc medical report first. then social worker will call u. mine was few years back.. so can't remember clearly. but i did call up ARC directly for assessment appointment. u can try but i think now maybe more strict..

I'm new to this thread, my boy is 3yrs 5mths. He has not been medically diagnosed but he's waiting for his appt fixed at cdu nuh. But we are v sure he has speech delay, poor social skills (doesn't play with other kids, doesn't talk to others except me, daddy n maid, doesn't always respond to his name or qns), has sensory issue with people shouting or talking loudly, poor joint attention, can't tell what he want or feel, has v high threshold for pain (not sure is it related to all this), can b quite rigid (dunno is follow daddy character or develop issues), fussy eater (dunno is due to sensory issue or not), doesn't point v well (only started pointing last yr but still not pointing to things he want).

Leecl - can check with u on kits4kids telok kurau, what the diff for the integrated class n Early intervention class?

Enemum - my son similar to yours, he has words but limited. He can't say sentences but can say short phases but still can't talk in conversation with us. He is superb with identifying n saying numbers, colors, shapes n abc but just not talking, if we call him, he sometimes or mostly ignore us, ask him qns like do u want to eat, he remain silent or cry although he know wat is "want" and " eat drink"

I got complaint fr 2 preschools already on his behavior problems, I'm looking for a gd preschool for him now. I stay at east. Is St Gerard a special school n is the Mountbatten one mention above more rundown than kits4kids? I went to kits4kids I find it old n rundown, quite cramp with table n chairs at any avail space u can find in the building n although it's gd to ve grills but it's allover, makes me feel caged. But the principal sound like a nice n competent person, she is quite assuring. Although the Sch looks rundown, it's not cheap actually compared to the neighboring popular normal schools like schoolhouse by the bay, gug, Montessori etc, I guess it's the price u pay for their small class ratio n expertise on special needs. But I haven't seen the class in action n looking for feedbacks.

Hi srumpee

My boy jus started last nov language intervention therapy (similar or same as speech therapy) done by verbal auditory specialist (recommended by pd although my son no hearing problems). once a wk 1 hr.. although has improvement but still slow. and still can't sit down in class n still can't socialise with ppl. he is always alone in class, always stay away fr the group.sort of ignore the ppl in the room too but at times he like to disturb others in class. bcos he is in montessori, he will go n take or disturb another kid's work or tools. teacher talk to him, he bo chap

he are not sure as of now is he autistic but by reading this forum, sound like he does. i hope not. but nevertheless i think he need lots of guidance n therapies.

btw, what's ABA? i see alot in this forum.

i wonder does all these symptoms of autism inborn or bcos i didn't do my duty as a mother. my family (esp my mum) actually blame me for what my son is today. yes, i admit he watch alot of DVDs since 4mths old. and even when i went back to work, my inlaws carry him n stay right infront of tv all day long to accompany them while they watch their favourite tv programs. n as we couldn't get him to sit still in his high chair to feed him, we let him watch tv to distract to the extent that when we go out, he too has to ve the portable dvd with us in order to sit n eat, n when we go shopping, he will b v impatient n scream n struggle throw tantrum till we ve to give him our mp4 video to calm him down. at nite when he has night terrors (since a few mths old), we can only calm him down with his favourite video (even if its 3-4am!). so yes, my son is exposed to too much tv. till he dunno how to interact or ve eye contact with others.. n of course speech delay bcos he rarely talk to anyone, since he loves his videos.. but on the other hand, he learn most of his abc, 123 (he can count to 100, even backwards n spellings), shapes, colors all thru video. so that's y perhaps he so gd at that n not in language speaking skills. so does this make him a autistic child??

but now i compare him to my 2nd child (6mths old baby), i do noticed alot of diff in them. firstly, my 1st can't sit still (even in womb he can b seen on the scan, he can't stay still for the doc to check on him, jumping ard like on trampoline!), when newborn, we try to let him sit on our lap n burp him, he can't sit still, he will keep moving his butt. he seldom laugh/babbles n doesn't self-entertain or make bubbles fr saliva when a baby unlike his didi. his didi is much more sociable, anybody can carry him unlike my 1st.

Cyn
Just to check why would your PD recommend you to a verbal auditory specialist? is it better than the normal speech therapist?

I know that monterssori is more for kids doing crafts and doesn't really promote social interaction. Maybe you can consider sending your boy to other centres. If you can afford, I think Mindchamps is not bad, the cost fees of $900plus includes speech and drama as well as music. The hefty fees is too much for me so my boy is in a normal CC but the teachers are friendly and caring.

I also read that autism is in-born or could be something that will happen after birth but is not a result of environment. What you described here is environment.

But at least your boy has words, my boy has none and he is turning two this month.

Does your boy tell you what he wants or point at things that interest him? My boy only started pointed this Jan after he went to cc. He will point, look at us to let us know what interest him or what he wants.