Anyone had premature babies < 36 weeks?

hi faith,
having PCOS is not your fault, this is something you cannot chose one, dun take it too hard on yourself. maybe can try TCM to tia yang your body before you have the next baby? I have a colleague who is also PCOS and just preggie, so far she is okay. maybe you may want to check out the thread on PCOS group who are trying to get preg or already preg? Good luck for your next baby.

hi ah may,

thks for your consoling.i am currently on pill nw (to regulate menses).my gynae did ask me try to have another 1 next year.i love too,but shall see how.anyway its still early to think abt it as my gal is only coming to 9 mths.

Gd morning girls,
wat is PCOS?
Ah May,muz enjoy ur pregnancy leh...when the kids come, itz time to b bz!When ur EDD?
Faith,u oso give birth @glenesgles ah?who ur gynea?mine was dr mary yang.nuh doc was referred by dr yip.coz boy got stomach prob as he is preemie and he used to vomit out whenever he drink milk.sometimes it will still happen nowadays.my hubby oso dun noe how to look after my boy.dun even now how to change his diapers.

dear piggy,
PCOS is a condition where the eggs din mature and becaome cryst. so preg is a bit diff. It can be due to hormones where one is overweight, but I have seen cases, like my colleague is under weight still get it. Actually quite complex, I only know a bit... :p

my edd is feb 2006, but hope babies can hold till 36 weeks, so pop end of Jan 06. :p

hi piggy,yeah,gleneagles was last min.had chose mt A initially.due to emergency c-section the next morning,n as well as mtA dun have morning threathe,so in the end at glene loh.my gynae is dr cathryn chan w.b.she specialise in ivf,thats y i see her.dr mary yang had a branch at yew tee aso.u visit her there?my hubby aso dun knw how to change her.everything is me except hseholds chores.dr yip dun visit other pte hospital,rite?cos he always say if urgent case then go gleneagles A n E to call for him.its nt cheap.per trip is$200 as i call b4.

Hi Ah May

I was seeing Dr John Tee. But due to the complications of my pregnancy , Dr Tony Tan and Dr Kenneth Kwek looked after me more than Dr Tee.

Which gynae are you with? They have a team of Docs in KKH who are in charge of multiple pregnancies.

Of course you can choose C class ward, unless you have signed up for the 'Private suite' package. Check with your gyane during the next visit.

I was told kkh will usually advised Mummies of Multiple Pregnancies to choose the least expensive wards because the chances of premature is higher.

Are your twins identical or fraternal? Mine was identical and they share one placental. That's why develops complication.

hi mummys,

typing error on "my gal stomach had shirk".
sorry,its nt shirk,its shrink.my hubby had a good laugh when he saw shirk.

Hi TwinsMummy,
I am seeing Dr Benjamin Tham as my gynae initially but he suspect complication (TTTS) as I am also having identical twins, so I am seeing Dr Tony Tan as well. But so far so good. (the earlier diagnosis not accurate ) I am now seeing them alternate bi weekly. No, I did not sign up as private suit package, actually was told cannot sign any package at all. That why seeing them has been very expensive, with scan and appointment and amnio, the last few months, I spend about average 500 per months on doc fees.

okay, think have to check wif tony again, as Dr Ben told me on thur likely I have to have c-section, cannot natural birth because of one placenta... not encouraged lah, he told me. hopefully I cannot have babies pop after 30 weeks. Target is 36 weeks. ha ha..

need advice

Edit Post Print Post
My wife had a scare just 2 days ago. She is 32 weeks and shld be due early Feb, but last week(thu) she had some spotting. She ignored it till on Sat we called the gynae. they advised us to come over to monitor. She had been getting practice contractions for about 4 weeks plus already but the spotting was new. At the clinic, they strap this machine called CGT( i think) noticed that she was having contractions so her gynae suggested she be warded for a night for observation and begin to take this medicine Ventolin(subutamol) and also ADALAT.

She is now at home resting in bed and i am taking care of her.

We are both worried about a premature baby. The gynae said she is worried about the lungs of the newborn. During her last check up estimate weight of the child was 1.8kg(about 1 week ago)

I hope we do have a premature baby. Any mothers out there have the same experience? Do these medicines work?

Also in terms of costs, we are at Gleneagles and if we have to keep our baby in the ICU, we may just not be able to afford it. Sigh...any suggestions to mummies out there

thanks!!

Hi Alex,

I can't advise much but I think the most important thing is if you think you can't afford the bill, then you'll have to think of other alternative. Guess KKH is a better option as Gleneagles is not cheap.

I don't know if it'll be of comfort to you or not, but that time my gynae estimated my girl to be 2.1kg at birth, which is rather tiny, but she ended up 2.410kg. Not too big either but at least that proves that an estimation is well, just an estimation.

And lastly, dont'worry too much, everything will turn out just well.

All the best!

alex,

i was have frequent and at times regular painful contractions by week 22... i took sulbutamol/ventolin too ... helps me keep my bb till week37. And throughout those time the contractions were frequent and painful at times..

maybe get wife to rest more and take the medicine and monitor the contractions...

i agree with mummyluv, if u r really worried abt cost, switch to kkh now.

small baby is more prone to infestion (eg lung) and jaundice. the vital organs are not fully develop and needs special attention and care. moreover, small baby is difficult to handle (feeding, carrying, bathing). so, is better to be bigger. Rest well!

I just delivered my baby at 34 weeks. I was injected steriods 2 days before to mature his lungs. He is at a good weight of 2.7kg, but his lungs are still not mature. He is in NICU now and no doubt the finances are amounting! Despite the pediatrician reassuring me that he is healthy despite his prematurity, I still cannot help worrying. Today I had a scare when I visited him in NICU (2nd day there), his oxygen intake dipped and I saw that he stopped breathing and the nurse had to come wake him up abit, so that he can remember to breath. I was so worried! I asked the pd and he said that this condition is normal and expected from premmies because their breathing is still not coordinated, so they will have to monitor this condition until it stabilise then they can move him from NICU to normal ward. I really hope and pray that God will heal him and bless him with stronger lungs. Anyone have such an experience to share?

Hi miracle_bb,
my bb lungs oso not mature...stayed in NICU for abt 1 mth...premmies are like dat...sometimes they can forget to breathe when they sleep or when they are drinking milk coz they have some difficulty in the co-ordination of breathing,sucking and swallowing.Not to worry,he will overcome this stage...last time after my bb was discharged, doc lent me a machine that can monitor his breathing...
34weeks and 2.7kg not v bad so not too worry too much...take care of ur health

Hi Piggy,
May I know what machine is that? Izzit the same machine that they use in the NICU that monitors the pulse rate and the amount of oxygen? Where did you deliver? How long did you use the machine? I delivered in TMC, his pd is Dr Ang PL.

Hi miracle_bb,
no lah not same as the NICU one...juz a small machine...stick somethng on my bb's tummy...i thnk it tracks the movement of bb's tummy up and down when bb breathes...if bb breathing stop,machine will beep...Used that machine for i think 1 mth or so...cant really rem...
I delevered @ Glen E...pd is Dr YY Yip

Hi Piggy,
There's another machine which I thought of buying. Its a movement and sound monitor by AngelCare. It will detect any movement from the baby. If no movement (include breathing) for > 20 seconds, then machine will beep.

Can I join this thread?
I just want to know what are the symptoms you felt when you had ur premature babies?
I was just discharged today fr KKH bec of early labor symptoms but I was only at 34.6 weeks. They gave me 2 steroid jabs and pills to stop contractions. I also have spotting. Based on ur experiences, will I give birth soon? Pls give me ur advise, as I feel very very sad and scared.

Hi Marcia,

I gave birth to my girl when I was in my 34+ weeks. I was totally unprepared. Was sleeping at night when I felt a pool of 'water'gushing out. I rushed to the toilet knowing in my heart that I'm going to give birth. Worse, hubby was in wedding dinner. I immediately call him and told him that my water bag burst. I then had a bath and wait for him to come back and pick me up.

When I went to the hosp, they immediately ward me to the delivery suite. Next moment I know, the nurses told me that my gynae said that my birth will have to be delay as it's too early to give birth and he wanna mature the lungs of my girl first. His intention is to deliver within the next 3 days. I was given steriods and drip to stop contractions. Next two days was a blur, was so scared that something will happen to my girl.

My girl came to this world two days later, at the good weight of 2.410kg, 47cm. She's even bigger than my gf's full term baby. And her birthday is the same as my mum as well!

So everything turned out well. No doubt I went through rollercoaster, but all turned out well. I'm sure you will too, so don't worry.

All the best!

miracle_bb,i din buy the machine leh.pd loan it to me for free.mayb u can check wif ur pd?not very sophisticated machine but at least somethng to monitor.i thnk if the pd give green light for bb to go hme,bb shld b qt ok liao.machine is juz somethng to b more assuring.when my bb came hme i dun even dare to sleep at nite leh...slept with light on...

marcia, dun worry too much...no good leh...but once u have contractions agn,dun hesitate to go c ur gynea coz contractions if delayed will open the cervix (tis was wat happened to me).dun move abt too much oso...try to rest whenever u can...my gynea told me she ever had patients who had early contraction but can tahan until abt 38weeks.

mmyluv and piggy, thanks for ur advise.it really helped me to calm down.One thing to ask you, are ur babies already engaged during that time?, mine has not engaged yet.

Engaged means head below isz?forgot wat it means liao...heheh...but my bb's head turn down when i was abt 6 mth+...doc commented it was qt early...did u chk wif ur gynea abt it?

Orh...my tummy is v low at 6mth+ oso...my mom say i look like i at later stage of pregnancy...so mayb i fated to have a preemie...but i always tot i cld have done more to prevent my bb from coming out so soon...took thngs too lightly at that time...

That's why I'm sad bec I always climb stairs and walk a lot in my work that I didn't think my baby will be affected. I really hope I can still last until 36 weeks.

Hi Marcia,

Ya, my girl was already engaged when I went for my monthly scan but I can't remember when it is already...

Dn't worry too much. Everything will turn out just fine.

Just make sure you eat more. Cause that time, I'm really eating rather poorly,maybe that's the reason why my girl chose to come out earlier, so that she can feast. Rest well and eat well!

Marcia,
i oso leh...i nid to carry thngs and climb stairs etc...at that time

like wat mummyluv say,dun worry too much...ur emotional state does matter...

cheer up oki?

I delievered my gal when I was 34 weeks. She stayed in KK for about 10 days. However, she had a hole in the heart and a vessel connected the heart to the lung is not closed ( I think ). Someone has a similar experience ?

ng,
a hole in the heart(PDA) and opened vessel are very common in premature babies. usually, the doctors will give oral med to help close the PDA and help close the vessel. if not, they will leave it and most times these problems resolves by themselves.

my twins were both born wt holes in their heart and an open vessel.they were 29weekers at birth and are 1yr old now. they had a lot of problems at birth but most hv be reseolved so thank god! in fact, went to KK 2wks ago for a check wt the heart specialist and my younger twin still has a small PDA, they werent very concerned and we are due for another check up in yr's time!

Marcia,
Detailed ultra scan show everything ok. According to the doc in KKH during the last visit last week, there was still a faint murmur. Need to wait for the detailed scan in Mar. Hopefully, the hole and the vessel will close by themselves.

Sasha,
Thank You for the assurance.

Ng,
I wish your bb will get well soon and everything will be normal..I guess this is what motherhood is all about.We all need to be prepared. Thanks for the advise.

Hi. may i join in this thread too? Would like to share my story/experience.
We had a scare 2 weeks ago when my water bag leaked and i was only 25.3 weeks!!! My gynae is Adrian Woodworth and intend to deliver in TMC. When i called him about the water leak, he asked me to go to KKH A&amp;E dept. At KKH, they confirmed it was water bag burst but are unable to admit me because their NICU is full. They have to call other government hosp to admit me. To cut the story short, i was finally admitted to SGH. SGH wanted me to stay for 3 weeks!!! But i was so frusfrated with their doc, i insisted on getting discharged on the 6th day.
With this experience i am counting my blessings. Thank God the leak is not due to infection. If not we have to take the baby out cos its safer out than stay in. Thank God, the leaked has stopped. Now resting at home (3weeks mc.
But i am a bit disappointed at the passive role my gynae played. He didn't follow up with SGH or KKH on my situation. Or i was expecting too much...he can'to anything anyway?
Hunny,
did your original gynae follow up with you when you were at KKH?

Hi Sook

I have the similar situation with you and same gynae. I was also advised to go to KKH and KKH said no NICU (how true?) than transfer me to SGH. I also have bad experience at SGH and decide to go back to TMC.

I personally call Dr Adrian the next day and after talking to him, is the cost issue as premature baby may need to stay in NICU and the cost can be very high. For my case, baby stay in NICU for 5 days and cost abt $4k. I delivered him at wk35.

Private gynae are not allow to see or delivery their patient at govt hospital. That why I decide to go back to TMC.

You can call him and discuss with him. You may PM me if you need to know more.

Hi sook,

U really got to take care of yourself ..dun move around if necesarry. I also have the same experience, water bag leaks at 33.5wk. I only managed to hang in there for 10 more days, and developed high fever.gynae worry that baby got infection so no choice have to take out bb at 35wk 1 day. So baby stay in NICU for 3 days.

When my water bag leaks, i was admitted to stay in hospital for 2 days..Actually my MIL who works as nurse in m'sia said, by right doctor should not allow me to go home..need to stay in hospital till deliver..so that the nurses can monitor bb heartbeat and my body temperature closely.

My bill came out to be 7.3k(TMC also)..more ex than IC69 ...maybe cos I choose single bedder.

Because u r still in your early wks of pregnancy, I think if anything happen (touch wood) before 33-35 wk..u really should go to KKH as advised by gynae. Becos bb need to stay in hopital till at least 2kg before they allow to go home.

Thanks IC_69,Weoseek for your advise.

Went back to see Dr Adrian, babies weight is average (1.1+kg at week 28). But he strongly urged me to stay at home till i deliver. I can't really afford to take no-pay leave. So, will try to rest till week 32-33 (baby approx weight then should (hopefully) be 1.8kg to 2kg).

IC_69,
At which week did your water bag first rupture?
I know the U/S can only guess the baby's weight. Was Dr Adrain's U/S weight guess accurate?

hi sook,
it is true that NICU in KKH is usually full. even as a KKH patient, I was told that I may face problem when I deliver my twins in Jan this year at 34 weeks. Luckily, my twins are born at 1.9kg and 2.3kg and lungs are matures, so dun need NICU. instead, they are put in SCU. my babies have sucking problem when they are born and one of them stay in KKH for another week before he is discharge. for me, the weight estimate is not accurate, cause they are supposedly much bigger, 2.3kg and 2.5kg.

Ah May,
If that's the case, i think most gynae should know, so that they will advise their patients (in emergency situation) to go straight to SGH instead of KKH. It was quite a 'Mr. Bean' experience for my transfer from KKH to SGH. Now i find it funny but in reality it was a big risk for all the 'mishandling'.
Anyway, congrats on your bundles of joy.
Hhmm... I'll try to bear in mind that the U/S weight estimate can be 200g-300g off.

Can I know what is U/S weight estimate? Is it the Growth scan and then they estimate baby's weight?

ME too also going to experience being a premie mummy. I will be delivering my baby in SGH soon next week by cesearian section. Mine is not an emergency one. Its already planned since I was 7th month pregnant when I was discovered with gestational fast heart rate. Beating at 230+ per minute.. About 3times faster than a normal human. Sounds really scary as I can feel my heart beat without touching my chest.
Due to my fast heart rate condition, I am under medication and doctor have put in a high risk pregnancy situation. Therefore cannot undergo normal delivery although BABY head is down.. haiya.. wasted..

I be delivering at 34 weeks. Baby is only 1.8kg at 32.5 weeks.. Not sure whether will reach 2kg soon at birth.. So worried about baby's health and weight..

I intend to stay in A1 ward as I want hubby to company me at night as well.. Any mummies staying in A1 ward and met with heavy and huge bills?

Hi hunny, any precaution to take for 2nd pregnancy to prevent premature baby?

Mine is born at week 31 and is afraid of trying again.

Is your gynae good?

i wld advise that if any of you MTBs do know in advance that you will be delivering prematurely, book yourself up as a KK patient.

KK has one of the most well-equipped NICU on the island. their staff (nurses &amp; neonatolgists) are well-trained &amp; knowledgeable. they also provide classes &amp; support groups for parents of preemies.

i believe KK being a childrens hospital, caters better to the needs of preemies. i hv heard &amp; seen of cases where patients had to be transfered to KK before and/or after birth as the private hospital of choice does not hv the equipment necessary to monitor the babys condition. KK, however, does not necessarily hv accept such cases as they give priority to their patients which is why most times, their NICU is fully booked.

milim,
really it depends on how your baby does at birth &amp; thereafter how long he/she has to stay on in the hospital. you will most probably stay for 3days wt a caesarean birth but its your baby who will be raking up the bill if he/she has to stay in NICU or SCN for say more than 2wks esp if you stay in A1 ward! so bear that in mind first

reverof,
i delivered my twin boys prematurely at 29wks in Jan 2005. in Sept 2006, i delivered my baby girl at 36wks. throughout my pregnancy, i was also worried abt delivering prematurely due to my past experience. but my gynae was very reassuring that it wont happen as there are factors involved in each preterm labour &amp; deivery. some which we can control wt medication, some we cant.

i wld advise you not to worry &amp; just enjoy the pregnancy. ans also its always best to raise any issues or concerns wt your gynae.

reverof,
my gynae is dr benjamin tham frm kkh. find him very friendly, easy-going, approachable & encouraging. in fact, he was also very understanding & dupportive of me having a VBAC for my last pregnancy.

Im 34 weeks & experience cramps & sharp pains at adominal yesterday. My bb head turn down around 6mths+. Do you think I hv high chance of a premature bb? This week, my bb movement is very big. I feel like he cant wait to come out!

san,
hope that this didnt come too late. as long as baby's head is nt engaged yet, dont worry too much. but if you do want a peace of mind, pls get yourself checked out for the cramps & pains as it could be braxton hicks contractions or the real deal.

even if you were to deliver now (guess by now you're abt 36wks), your baby will not experience too many complications as his lung are already mature & most of his organs are fully developed by now. he may be monitored for his weight & bilirubin levels.