Any Vegetarian Mom here?

spreemum,
u sure the ru lai zhai closed liao meh? isit opp Fortune ctr one? i thot still there.. that day i was eating opp but then pull down the shelter for the rain one so i din see the "zhao pai" isit still ru lai lor.
I know deep fried food are no good. but then our zhai liao mostly nid to fried lor.. haiz..
somemore have soya pdt in it. i heard ttc best to avoid soya pdt leh. but then i got so mnay frd also vege also can get pregnat so easily.

Lyn.. to be very frank lar. outside food all mostly unhealthy one lor. the oil they use, everything also not very healthy one. if u want to cook at home then buy olive oil. this olive oil is alot better than normal cooking oil. this oil u cook liao u wont see the oil gland on the gravy or soup one.
then u dun drink milk where u get ur calcium? i myself hate milk.. i dun drink milk nor eat calcium supplement . i know is bad. maybe will eat if i get pregnant bah. ehehe

saw that u dun intend to get CL.. why? during ur maternity u nid ample rest leh. ask ur mom to come help u lor. best not to touch water all this lor. best is to rest else old liao alot of illness cos not taken care well during maternity. i saw it myself. my mom frd during maternity cook herself. washed everything herself.. then now stil young oni, headache lar, bodyache lar, etc.. very chiamlar.

the organic stall is at fortune ctr 3rd flr ar.. the stall name itself aldy tell u they are using organic food one. u can go & look lor. it is sort of a cafe shop lidat.

sunny,
circuit food is alot alot. yummy manz.. wow i miss the food. but then is very oily.. doesnt suit lyn appetite one lor. realli all dish are getting oily.. last time was nice, now standard drop aldy.

Hi sunny...
Wah so fast gotta go back work liao... Who's looking after your gal when you go to work? Still going to breastfeed?
So it doesn't mean must eat lots of meat and milk then will get enough breast milk... kekeke...

Hi Jenny,
hmm... Then dun eat too much "zhai liao" lor. Today I talked to my friend about confinement food cos she's a vegetarian for health. She did not take any "zhai liao". Only fresh vegetables, mushrooms, nuts, brown rice,"wu gu mi", with lots of sesame oil and ginger. She has abundance of breast milk... and she's still breast feeding and her baby now is already 7 months.

About soya products for TTC. Frankly, last time when everyone talking about avoiding, I still drink soya milk and eat toufu daily during TTC... cos I dun believe in the research done... kekeke... Still can strike... But I dun go and argue with the rest of the gals la... You believe what you wanna believe ma...
I did a search on the scientific report which was by the british, whether to believe or not... And I chose not to believe... To me, british diet is very unhealthy and overdose of hidden soya products. If we stick to fresh vege, fruits, soya milk, toufu, overall, our soya consumption might not be as much as the british. I am in scientific research line, so it will take more than that one report to convince me...

Yes, outside food mostly unhealthy. Very difficult to eat healthy outside.. kekeke.. I 100% agree with that. At home, I do use olive oil, organic sea salt, and unrefined sugar
. I still use a bit of soya sauce though. I guess during confinement, the oil will be sesame oil already.

My hubby will take leave to help with the housework. I told him to learn how to bath baby in the hospital. My mum will cook. I think if I need help last minute, help will come.. kekeke...

I have been to circuit road to eat once. The stall I went to, use a lot of oil. I eat already feel like puking... Maybe will try other stalls if there's a chance...

lyn
my mil will look after my gal after i go to work... intend to continue breast feeding hehe... ya, vegetarian can also breastfeed successfully.

jenny
agree with u that the food there quite oily. hehe... most of the time i take yong tao fu.

jenny,
yes, very sure....my family goes there to eat often..then one day, we went and realise it's no longer there...now it's selling nasi lemak liao...really a waste coz love their food...cheap and nice and fast....

lyn,
I had one magazine on vegetarian..inside, they interview a few mummies who are very successful with breastfeeding...their milk supply are ample....they recommend food like brown rice, black sesame, etc....

taking meat don't help to increase milk supply....as vegetarian, just need to eat more protein....for eg. they say unripe papaya and fish soup can increase milk supply...it's not coz of the fish...but rather because of the protein in the fish and the unripe papaya that leads to the result...

This thread is very interesting!I am not a vegetarian but have thoughts of becoming one for health reasons.I noticed my depression and ocd was at its worst when i took a lot of meat...so bad i had to see a pysch.I have little energy and low moods most of the time.Got to revamp my diet!

Where do you gals get ur vegetarian food supplies(becos i intend to cook)?Any good cookbooks to recommend?Recipes online?Confinement books too?
What is Wu Gu Mi and how does it look like?

hi Amelia,
vegetarian food comprises mostly of vegetables so you can get vegetables at any markets

for vegetarian mock meat, ntuc sells some but mostly not very nice...u can check if your area got any stall in the market that sell vegetarian food such as mock meat....

sometimes, even those stalls that sell toufu, noodle, bean sprout one also got sell some vegetarian products....

which area u stay? if at west area, I can tell u more coz I'm more familar at west side

Amelia,
are u preggy now?

as for recipes, I learnt from my mum whose a great cook. I often told her it's all thanks to her cookery skills that I enjoy being a vegetarian....from young, I don't feel deprived coz my mum will cook all sort of food for us to eat....

so I'm very inspired by her...and wish to be like her too...esp now that my baby is going to be due soon, I wish my baby will too enjoy being a vegetarian

spreemum,

Not preggie yet haha

I am at the west,Yew Tee area and facing the canal
I have tried the mock meats before( my bro and his wife are vegetarians for more than 10 years)..tastes okay but I prefer veggies more.

What do you and your mother normally cook?Lucky you having such a great mom

amelia
you stay at yew tee? me too!
you can go to limbang mkt. there's one stall selling mock stuff.

what is the mock meat u all referring? isit those "zhai liao"?
i hear until blur blur.

but anyway if u want cheapest zhai liao in town i know where to get it. they can even sent to ur hse if it reach certain amount. they sell everything, canned food, frozen food, buns, everything. very good & cheap.. i always go down personally to choose end up buying alot & paying alot. they are alot cheaper than outside market supplies. Do let me know if u are interested.

Spreemum, i believe ur bb will enjoy becoming a vegetarian if u train from young. ur hb also vegan? if yes, even more easy lor. cos got the 根基。

I din know the stall closed liao leh. i miss the dishes there also leh maybe too competitive liao lar. somemore around the si ma lu temple also aldy alot alot of vege stalls liao. just fortune ctr that bldg maybe got 10 liao lor i think.

Hi all mums and mum to be
I also a veg mum with a 4mth bb boy.
glad to know so many veg mums here.can share tips.
Jenny I also int to know where is it?

<font color="0000ff">amelia \ sunny,</font>
I'm living in the same area too...yew tee, near the canal....who knows, we may be neighbours...haha...

u can try limbang for vegetarian food stuff....

have u tried the vegetarian stall at the NTUC foodfare? although they are slow but food not bad...I love the stall at teck whye coffeeshop facing the road one...very nice food....

<font color="0000ff">amelia,</font>
flaxseed oil is good for brain development as it's rich in omega

<font color="0000ff">jenny,</font>
u order zhai liao from where? I know gao yi got sell a lot of vegetarian variety.....but not cheap....my mum order directly from the zhai liao supplier, very cheap

<font color="0000ff">sf,</font>
glad to know u

is your baby going to be veg too? we can share baby food recipe here next time

sf
your bb is 4 mth. have you introduced semi solid to him already?

amelia
ya, flaxseed oil is good!

spreemum
where to buy flaxseed oil?

waht do you give to bb for semi solid/solid food? and when?

Hello gals...
I am back from Penang

Hi Sunny,
Do you take vegetarian "yong tau fu"? It's not easy to find "yong tau fu" stall that have a lot of not deep fried stuffs... I love the "yong tau fu" at Suntec foodcourt, but the soup is cooked with "ikan bilis". I still eat cos they have lots of fresh vegetables

Hi Spreemum,
I read about the goodness of black sesame... but I dunno how to cook that... Do you know? Can share?
Wah... You are very lucky to have your mum as a good vegetarian cook. So good... Can share some nice soup recipes?
When is your baby due?

Hi Jenny,
Where to buy the "zhai liao"? Got the address?

Hi amelia,
Yes, flaxseed oil is good
. Freshness and storage is very important for flaxseed oil.
I bought a confinement recipe book from Popular. There are many in Popular.
"Wu gu mi" is available in NTUC. It's at the rice section usually. So you can go NTUC and see how it looks like
I think it's the most expensive item in the rice section...

hi lyn,
suntec food court got vege yong tau foo meh? i duno leh. isit under Eight immortal? ikan bilis is made from those mushroom one if i amnot wrong. ikan bilis nice nice. wahhaha

i dun hv the exact addr but i know inside pasir panjang wholesale ctr. i always go there. u enter into the carpark, once pass the cashcard gantry immed turn left liao, opp the shop got the Kopitiam lor. the shop called SAN YUAN VEGETARIAN supplies something lidat. best to go down urself to see, cos mainly vege ingredients are mostly fried or deep fried.which u dun prfer one. there are of cos some normal one lar, like fishball all this. got those yong tau goo ingredients also. go see lar.

hi amelia &amp; sf,
the supplier name is called San Yuan. it is located at pasir panjang wholesale ctr. Do u think i can leave down the no here? theey can do delivery to ur doorstep one. if u want, u can even ask them to fax u their list of food, but it is not as much s u go down urself. cos alot alot of foods there ar. ahaha

flaxseed? wat isit in chinese called? i think i heard be4 leh. isit can buy from those organic stall?

hi spreemum, yes kao yi is indeed exp lor. unless u buy 1 or 2 item then ok lor.. but if u buy bulk u can faint ar..

Hi jenny,
No la... the yong tau foo that I take at Suntec is not vegetarian. Oh "eight immortal" has "yong tau foo" but items deep fried, so I never try. I only take their brown rice with vegetables.

hi lyn
circuit road got one veg stall selling yong tao foo. quite nice, not many deep fried stuff. it's always sold out quite fast.

Hi, I got my vegetarian stuffs from Friendly Vegetarian. They have a website www.friendlyvegetarian.com.sg. The listing is partial, they have a lot more at their store. They also do delivery if order is more than SGD75 (have to check depending on where you stay.

Their prices are very good...like wholesale prices

trying to help
yes lar. i also saying this vegetaraian stall lor. i cant recall their english name.. yes this is the one. ladies, can go to the website to see. i thot they do delivery is $60 and abv?

nyny,
My friend feeding her 7 month old baby with fruits and Gerber semi-solid baby food. She's vegetarian for health reasons, so she just look at the ingredients to which to select. I cannot remember which ones she chose. Maybe you can go to supermarket to have a look at the selection.

spreemum:he's a veg eversince in my stomach leh.
sunny:he on rice cereal now. will introduce veg puree later maybe 5and half mths
Flax seed is call "ya ma zhi". Guardian have it in supplement with vegicaps under vita health brand.I took quite a lot during BF days. but now stop liao. also calcium very impt
lyn:ready made black sesame powder in those zhai liao stall

Jenny,
Thanks!Will check the wholesale vegetarian supplies out.
No idea what flaxseed is called in chinese, sorry

sunny/spreemum
The veg stall at ntuc foodfare yew tee is not bad but yah quite slow.The stall at yew tee foodcourt is good too and not as oily.
I think there's a ntuc foodcourt at CCK mrt area too(not in lot1).The veg stall there gives huge portions and is quite tasty.

Lyn,

Yup purity and storage of the oil is impt.Best grade of flaxseed oil is organic cold-pressed and it should be stored in the fridge.You have any idea where they sell this?Only GNC comes to mind and I am not sure if they carry it..

John Little(Northpoint) was having a sale on supplements(vitahealth and kordel) yest and they placed all their fish oils and flaxseed oils out in the open!What were they thinking?Rancid oils are toxic to the body!

Lyn,

You asked about soup recipes?
Adding carrots, corn and cabbage and fill JUST ENOUGH water to cover the ingredients and cook till veggies turn very soft.Lotus root is good too.Use pot with a heavy lid and don't lift lid unnecessarily to prevent evaporation.I emphasised just enough becos over adding water makes the soup tasteless.Since you're going vegetarian maybe you'd also like to add onions.

Hi Amelia,
I do not know where to get the flaxseed oil. I know GNC, Naturefarm, etc have... but I am not sure about the quality. I think it's better to spend for quality than to get something not so good for health. I read that our normal room temperature is not very good for storage of flaxseed oil. So I am not so sure about those sold in the shops here.
How do you find Vitahealth's supplements? I used to buy them, but not anymore... Flaxseed oil cannot be exposed to light one...

Vitahealth...is a relatively new brand.I think established and quality brands like Efamol and Blackmores is preferred but then this is just my personal opinion.

What kind of supplements do you take?

vegan mommies..
for the supplement to take during pregnancy did u all all opt not to take the supplement that contains fish oil? any other alternative that we can take ar?

Hi Jen, why did you want to take fish oil?? For Omega 3 &amp; 6 rite?? Can you take milk instead?? If can then take milk with fortified omega 3 and 6 (from plant source)? If u r a vegan instead of lacto-veg, then u can include omega rich seed oil in your cooking and try eating a wide variety of food as possible. Surf thru the web to get more on this......Hope it helps......

hi jen
i opt out the supplement that contains fish oil.
you can take flaxseed as alternative.

Hi rene,
I cant take Fish Oil. ya ya doc say it contain the impt Omega lar. alamak.. eat liao sure kid very clever meh? last time my mom genertion also never take leh. does Anmum milk powder contain all this? huh? what is omega rich seed oil? where to get? what do i search for the web ar? omega?

hi Sunny,
sorry ar. i very loss in all this terms one. what does flaxseed contains? &amp; what it helps us? where to get flaxseed? Isit a sort of supplements?

Hi Jen, during my pregnancy, I oso din take any fish oil cos I make clear to my gynae tat I'm a veg. So she oni gave me iron and calcium (plant source) supp oni. As for omega intake, I took annum milk. They are rich in omega content. Seed oil like soybean oil, flaxseed oil, sunflower oil.....etc. Of course you have to take those in moderation but try to incorporate it in your cooking. Falxseed oil is rich in omega 3 but not 6 and sunflower is rich in omega 6 but not 3 and so on.... so u need a variety of food in order to better obtain nutrient from them. Dun have to worry if you din take enuf of it cos i hv fren who doesn't take all these or rather dun care about their diet, their children also dun lose out. Some even top in class.....

hihi i s this thread still active.??? i'm a vegetarian and i hope can get more info on vegetarian confinement lady , menu, etc..

hi karen,

when is your EDD? this is my #1 pregnancy and would have to get a lot of tips since vegetarian hehe.

Hi, I have the vegetarian confinement receipes....it is too large to be posted, please email me at [email protected] so that I can emailed them to you. I got them from someone in vegetarian society, Singapore

Is this thread still active? I became a pure vege mummy since my baby inside me coz i want him to be a vege baby like his father.

Hi Enne,

It's not easy being a full-time veg mom, keep it up. I guess yiu wun face any problem since ur hb is a veg too. He will be the most happiest person to support ur decision too!!

hi Irene,

Thanks for the encouragement! My baby is 6months old already. Hehe but hor I do face problems from my own parents initially whom think that eating vege will lack of this and that but seeing me so determined, in the end they also give in. Hehe.

Hi Enne, i'm vegetarian too! i'm now preg with my first bb, hehe.

what did you eat during your pregnancy then?

I dun face prob from parents as I'm a veg bb since my mum conceived me.

But the conflicts at home with hb not being a veg is more diff to handle than to handle parents. Luckily my hb does not object to our children being veg too. His family is also quite supportive of this. But who noes, they are not veg aft all and may change their point of view anytime.

Guess we gotto persevere with wat we believe in and show them veg children can be as healthy and strong as non-veg children.

hi tongtong8,

I ate whatever my MIL cooked for me lo. Actually I don't really like to eat vege but still presevere on. I think being a vege mum must eat all 5 colours of vege right, RED BLACK WHITE GREEN & YELLOW. How many months are you right now? Boy or girl?

hi Irene,

Yes lo most people tell me like that we are 'depriving' our baby a happy childhood, their so-called happy childhood means able to eat MACDONALD & KFC! Haiz but I don't want my boy to 'sin' and I am proud of him being a vege baby.

-tongtong8, Irene-what kind of vege are u?
i think me and hb belongs to the lacto-vege. we take milk but we don't take fish, egg, garlic, onion nor spices.

Hi Enne,

I'm a lacto-ovo veg. Can take egg and dairy pdts. I dun find it depriving as long as we incorporate a variety of food in their meals.