Any mummies feed their baby on expressed breast milk only?

Today is Friday already....yoohoo! Me always waiting for weekends 'cos that's when I can catch up on sleep. Feeling so tired and lethargic everytime starting from tuesday and milk supply most affected by friday 'cos I'm so so tired. Anyone knows what we can take to boost our energy?

Child of our time
Aiyah, I always wanna watch but always forget 'cos by 10pm, I'm so stoned already but still cannot go to bed 'cos bb is still wide awake, crawling here and crawling there.

Pumping and wasting milk
My mum will usually coax my bb to finish up. She will tell bb that I spent a lot of time pumping out the milk, so she must finish it up
. My mum will warm up the milk a little and feed my bb again after 5-10mins break. Sometimes, 1 milk feed will take up to almost an hr to finish with 3 breaks in betw.

Bumper Playmat
I've got the Dino Park design. My bb likes to look at the dinosaurs and will sayang the dinosaurs.

Menses
Mine is still not back yet too. It did attempt to return I think in my 3rd or 4th month but was a short one and then after that, no more. My mum keep saying how come menses not back yet and said if come, dunno whether will be v heavy or not. Aiyo, I dun wanna think abt it....somemore if supply is affected, I'll be v stressed as my supply is already quite low.

Janet - Maybe recently i have been eating more curry and hot stuff..huh...8P

Bring EBM out troublesome hor..need coolerbag and hotwater flask and cup to warm up..

Irene - So good your hubby help u..wonder if he will help me..hehe..he only help me massage..last time i also massage till like blue black and pain for a few days..but after it is soften is ok liao..

hoshi - must try to pump more frequently leh..cos most of us started with 6 pumps or more at least first few months..more frequently your breasts are emptied more milk will be produce..

blueberries - your bb sleep so late? mine sleep abt 8 or 9pm..wanna delay last feed oso cannot..haii

Hi hoshi,
You shld increase your pumping frequency....pumping every 6 hrs is too long. Best if you can pump every 2 hrs. Even thoughout the nite. Dun look at the amt, just pump. Pumping at a shorter interval will definitely yield less milk than if you pump at a longer interval, so dun look at the amt you pump in a single session....look at the amt you pump the whole day. Pumping more times will stimulate your breast to produce more 'cos will send signal that bb need more milk. But must give time for body to register signal, so cannot expect over night increase lah. Also, need to drink more water, can try to eat oats, fish & papaya soup. You still hv 1 week to try before going to work. Even if after this week and supply still never increase, should still continue to give ebm when you return to work. The philosophy is "A little bm is better than no bm"

this thread really going fast.. having hard time catching up.. haha

hi alittlemiracle,
hmm.. no use telling my MIL that coz i've tried that method yet she still refused to listen..

my poor baby have to suffer hunger at such a young age. sometimes i really feel like telling her off but have to remain calm for the sake of everybody. better dun tick her off coz sometimes she will take over the midnight shift when i'm feeling too tired. guess i just have to bear with it loh...

hi crystalmum,
can't be happy too early rho coz when i try again for his next feed, he only take one side and refuse the other side... will have to keep on trying again loh..
keep going and dun give up feeding your baby with your milk... u have all out support here..

hi irene,
your hubby so good.. mine does not take the idea very well.. haha
you can always get help from lactation consultant if you're not afraid of the painful massage. i've been thru that coz the block ducts are affecting my milk supply.
you may want to call up TMC Mrs wong at 62514090.

hi hoshi,
just remember to keep in massaging and clear all the milk each time you pump..

hoshi,
like all the other mummies have said: Frequency, adn emptying the breasts is very important. But admittedly will be difficult once you start work unless your workplace is EBM friendly.

crystalmum,
my baby sleeps with me and she sleeps better with me than in the cot. maybe it's because when she stirs, i get to pat her faster since she is just next to me!

irene
good to hear that your clogged duct is settled... continue to massage!

blueberries
i also always tired but i think that is the price of being mummy leh... maybe you can try DOM? Exercise if you have the time and energy...or maybe take supplements...some say taking antioxidants suppose to give one more energy...dunno how true la,,,for me i take supplements...but still tired at the end of the day...maybe if dun take, will be worse!

phoebe
but is your baby's weight gain ok or not... ?
sigh...it's tough to juggle the MIL relationship... sometimes i also close one eye to some things... otherwise i get my hubby to tell in laws indirectly...

menses
so sccaarrredddd man! i hope it will take a loooonnngggg time to come back. If you go to the mummysmilk website, you will see this thing called the mooncup... my friend using it and says it's like the best and most liberating thing around... but i sure no guts to try leh...

http://www.mummysmilk.com/shop/mooncup.html

anyway, so happy today's friday!!!!!
can go kai kai tomorrow...children's day must celebrate with all our babies mah!

alittlemiracle,

Ur baby wasted 100ml.. know what? That is exactly one feed of my boy! His 1 feed is atmost 100ml, very small stomach hor... and at night then come and wake up to ask for night feed, so disturbing! Usually if he sleep and cannot finish the other half of the milk, i will stand it in warm water and wait for him to doze off, then I tuck it into his mouth again, hee hee.

phoebe,
now my baby cannot latch on liao, too late. Yah he has 2 teeth below and 4 on top already. So how you clecbrate your bb's 1st month? Any buffet?

westbb,
yah I gotta take 2 weeks to keep my bb companied and instead of me taking care of him, guess i will be
320388.gif
soon...

crystalmum,
i miss the show last night...
320389.gif

i didn;t sterile spoon/cup leh. Thnk you need to do it when bb is yonger, now my hb always say my bb "dirty eat dirty grow up", no need to sterile. Anyway he also always anyhow touch things and put his smelly little hand into his mouth after that. I whack him also bo kia.. after awhile he will repeat the same thing again. Then my mum say, dun bit him lah, he still duno. I aso confuse liao whether he really "know or duno at 10 months"? If I say he "huai huai" (naughty) he seems like understand and he will give those angry cry on his face & jump in the walker.

hoshi
welcome..

think i am going home liao. will try to log in at home during the next 2 weeks..

hi alittlemiracle,
baby gaining weigh nicely.. already 4.3kg today. brought him to his doctor, supposed to have his jab but can't coz baby having flu. now he got tons of medicine to take.. 2 for flu and 2 for winds.. haih
asked doctor about those rashes on his face, was told that it was due to heat. already told my MIL not to always cover baby up and without fan for him but she always tell me off saying that babies are not afraid of getting too warm. still insisted even when he's having rashes on his neck. sometimes i wanted to close one eye also can't coz she's going overboard. always insisting that she's right and tell me that the doctor might not know best wor.. haha
heard about pearl powder good for complexion but i think it would be too early to start. maybe you have to wait till your baby is older to start on it loh...

hi bitbit,
u better dun try, later kena bite by baby...hehe
i celebrated bb full month last sunday, it's soooo tiring. totally no rest at all for whole day, almost collapse half way thru. those buffet spread are so yummy but MIL asked me not to eat those..

you have to be very careful and not let your baby anyhow touch and put his finger into the mouth. my cousin bb had throat infection coz they too 'boh chap' and anyhow let him suck his finger.

going to pump liao... catch up soon

Phoebe - i also wish to continue pumping cos if got milk dont pump..so lugi..hehe..will jz have to ignore my mum's nagging and oso see how long i can tahan..8P

alittlemiracle - dont know why..a bit scare of tonight bb sleeping with us..scare half way thru' start crying and disturb neighbouts..wish me luck..hehe..i dont tink i got the guts to try the mooncup thingy too..but thanks for intro cos next time pp tok abt it i not so 'swa gu' cos never see before..hehe

bitbit - wah..your boy can 'jump' into walker??? wah so good! 2 weeks off and stay with bb..i wish i could too! started work 1.5 mths liao still think of her everyday at work..

Will remind u the show next week..hehe...;)

Full mth
The full mth celebration real tiring...i also peng san after tat..will u gals be celebrating 1 year old for your bb? i going to my friend's 2molo..

had such a busy day! had to delay expressing during lunchtime and i can felt milk dripping and even kenna blocked ducts. luckily this one is easy to clear else i cannot sleep again!

irene, "lucky" you leh, ur bbs so big liao only 1st time got blocked ducts... but it must 've been really painful for u. sometimes my blocked ducts are also so painful that i want to cry.. and everytime kenna blocked ducts my mood will be affected too.. and once it's cleared, i felt so happy like strike toto haha

menses, i also hope it doesn't return when i am still expressing, cos i also heard it will affect supply, think that would make me even more stressed! mooncup - i've read about this too! but no guts to try... bit hard to imagine leh...

supplements, mummies what kind of supplements do u take? i'm taking calcium, DHA and lecithin now. wonder is it enough?? i also get my maid to cook soup almost everyday.

bitbit, ur boi is taking solids rite, is that why he's drinking so little? when did u stop sterilising the bowl and spoon uh?

enjoy your 2 wks at home with your son. log on often so we know u r still surviving.. haha

bb putting fingers in mouth, phoebe really?? so scary kenna throat infection? my bb also like to touch everything and suck his fingers until 'zu zu zu' one... cannot stop him leh unless tie up his hands liao..

crystalmum, me too going to a friend's boy 1yo bday party tomorrow!!

just finished a pumping session! Good morning mummies!

crystalmum, we are not attending the same bday party are we? mine is at bt panjang

good morning mummies!
see that westbb is already rise and shine to pump away!!!!
i am still pumping...

happy children's day to all out babies!

me too, pumping away now.. aiyo last 2 days so bz.. find that expressing is such a chore.. so fast next session again?? hold me back on my work leh..

Phoebe,
u successfully latch bb on liao!! CONGRATS!!
i am really happy for you! *envy envy*.. keep it up okie..

Hoshi,
Welcome.. ya muz persevere, pump more often. I also have not much ss, but still carrying on.. as they say lor, a little BM better than no BM.

Irene,
Happy that yr block duct clear liao! i hate hate block ducts too man, but i used to keep getting them - very often, like at least once twice every week. esp during the time i went back to work, and my pumping schedule changed. Yr hubby help can really clear uh? i ask hubby help once, but no use leh...

RE:BRAS

Westbb, so u got the T shirt ones from MIM. How u find it? ok?

alittlemiracle, are the cami ones good.. do you use pads with them? if not u wear blse can see nipple stick out or not? thinking of buying them to wear at home..

Alittlemiracle - Re: Mooncups - EEKS!! i dun think i will ever try them.. i swear by tampons, but this is waaayy beyond! yaayaa thanks for intro-ing to us, now i can tell my frens.. and say, " wat?? u mean u never heard of this before?? aiyo!!" make them feel suaku. ahaha.

Re: Mense, mine not here yet too.. dunno when will come. Dun come better, not welcomed. heehee.

Latching on:
this morning, try to give breast to bb again. Wah i think she totally do not know wat it is, and does not equate milk to my breast liao! sigh.. muz resign to expressing fate liao..

Today is childrens' day. u all know wat i give my gal as childrens' day prez? i going to bring her to BJG trial. haha mummy more excited than bb.

hi everyone! happy children's day!! can't remember when's the last time I celebrated children's day.

Happy Children's day to all mummies & babies!

Finish pumping at 7.20pm too..so tired and went back to sleep..cos last time after so many months sleeping with my maid, i brought her into my room to sleep with me..my darling decided to wake up at 12.30am and wont sleep till 2am plus..then after tat i also cant sleep cos she kept making 'noise' and i afraid she will wake up and cry and peep into the playpen so many times..till my backache..

Westbb - mine is at sembawang..so different..8( if not can see your bb...and your bb can see my bb too..hehe..anyway..my friend's is a boy too..wat u bgt for him? boy really dont know wat to buy hor...8P

Jas03 - me too me too! try to latch her on this morning but she gave me the 'vomiting' sound...wei..is it tat bad???!!! haiii...then drop a bit somemore..so wasteful..hehe..

paiseh..i abit swa ku..wat is BJG?

Tuffy - i am sure u will celebrate children's day in the coming years..haha

Supplements
I taking the calcium, iron tablets and fish oil that Dr Ho (my gynae) gave since preg till now..westbb..did the nurse give u that too? mine finishing so dont know wana go back or jz get from outside..can drink fresh milk? i haven start drinking yet..

Storaging bottles
Do you mummies use those feeding bottles to store the expressed milk? i have been using the 100ml small glass bottle from hospital..now bb drinking 200ml so i use 2 bottles..jz bgt a few 260ml feeding bottles to store so dont have to pour here and there..and can warm up with it..but then..the warming up seems longer hor? do u gals find tat?? any way to shorten it..my gal really impatient kind leh..

Hi crystalmum, if you bb is drinking 200ml bm now, why not try expressing yr milk into the 8oz bottle and store inside the fridge instead of 2 bottles ? This way, it is easier and faster warming up compared to pouring here and there. Maybe you would like to consider ?

hi mummies, Happy Children's day

hi westbb,
yup.. and the baby suffer also coz it's painful to swallow anything down. so maybe you would want to lightly beat on your bb's hand and say no. this method was taught by one of my aunt who's a wife of a gynea and she herself was a nurse. she said just keep on doing that and the baby will soon get the message and will stop doing that..

latching on
my boy still needs more time to adapt coz not all time i'll succeed in latching him on. last night kena sore nipple coz he did not latch on properly and i just let him go on coz heartpain seeing him so hungry, do not have the heart to pull him away... hehe
failed again this morning.. will need lots of determination to keep on trying.

hi jas03,
maybe your hubby didn't suck hard enuf leh.. hehe
sometimes i'm so tired to try to latch on coz my boy gets very frustrated and keep on pulling his face away and cry very loud at the same time but yet i have to remain very calm.. sigh
and he always needs to top up another 60ml by bottle coz he doesn't take much from me. it's such a hassle, have to latch on and still follow by pumping. i exert so much strenght in massaging that my fingers are painful.. so sianz hor

Janet - i jz tried using the 9oz bottle to store but seems that it take longer to warm up leh..and hor..not everytime i can get the 200ml into a bottle leh..hehe..my breast cannot produce exactly 200ml all the time leh..so sometime is like 300ml and i gotta store the balance 100ml in the smaller bottle..then the next pumping another 100ml bottle..cos cannot pour in directly to mix the milk..must wait for the same temperature wor..so a bit troublesome..er..u understand what i am saying? hehe..

latching on
Really need a lot of determination to keep trying..i dont know to try again or not..haiii..u know the 'vomitting' sound she made when i put her on my breast is like 'wat rubbish you giving me?'..haha

hi crystalmum,
checked with LC whether can mix the milk and she said no problem as long as it's consume within 24hrs

harlow mummies!

i must say, i really like the playmat... it's big, spongy and safe!
no regrets....just wished the pictures were better drawn

supplements
me on calcium, vit c, EPO, DHA, Pine tree bark, multi vits. my hubby says must make sure i am well supplemented otherwise the milk "low quality"... hee hee

cambi bra
this is comfortable and can wear with breast pads. with the breast pads cannot see nipple. Without breast pad, it's not visible unless i just just finish pumping

storing milk
i use milk bags....find them the most space saving...at one time i had 7 litres of milk in the freeezer leh...how to put into bottles!
phoebe is right...can mix the milk

latching on
phoebe, i know what you mean when you say rather let baby drink and mummy endure the pain man...i used to do that when i thought my baby was gonna latch....feed her until my tears all flow down...... until i so scared to feed her... but a proper latch is very important otherwise you can be in alot of pain and the baby may not be emptying your breasts either.

pearl powder
i wanna give my girl try leh...just wondering if any of you mums were also giving then can ask you all which grade is good....

hubby's help
for me, even after with hubby's help, must still go and express...hubby just clear the duct, i must still get the milk moving along.

mooncup
this thing looks menancing hor... i also no guts to try leh... just hope the menses dun come back so soon lor

phoebe,
is your boy better ...baby kenna flu is the most horrible! they very poor thing...mummy also poor thing... hope he feels better real soon

Hi crystalmum, what I normally do is take out the bottle of ebm from fridge 1/2 hr b4 her drinking time to "defrost". This way, the milk is not so cold and faster to warm up. When she wakes up, put the bottle of milk in hot water to be warmed up. It will take about 3-5 min b4 she can drink.

can mix milk with different temperature? cos i read somewhere that we cannot mix milk of different temperature leh..*confused*..i so guai guai follow..hehe

Janet - dont tink i can do that cos i cant catch her timing to drink cos she very moody one..i am sure when the milk is ready..she wont drink..haha..gotta wait for her to cry one..

alittlemiracle - so good hah..really very tempted to buy...but cannot.....arggggggghhhhhhhhh

westbb - my gal cried at my fren's place..she win liao lor..so many bb there..only she cried..so i had to quickly go home..so paiseh..

jas, i just ordered the tshirt bras from mim yesterday hehe... can't wait for it to arrive so that i can wear back some of my pre-preggie clothes! nowadays my clothes "wear here wear there" only those few pieces cos some really ugly to wear with nursing bras.

BJG - Baby Jumper Gym, they do flashcards and physical games with bbs.. i think!

Jas, how's the trial? good or not? 4mths can attend liao? i'm also looking for "classes" to send my boy, but he's still too young for all of them!

Any mummies sending their bbs to any classes?

crystalmum, haha my boy also cry at the party becos he's very very sleepy! but he's the youngest bb there also he was "forgiven" hehe..

storage bottles:
i store all my milk in 260ml bottles and i will pour into smaller feeds into empty bottles everyday. takes about 10 mins to warm up 180ml. but i use the cheapo method hot water in cup to warm, think the electric bottle warmer is faster.

supplements:
wat's pine tree bark for?

pearl powder:
wat's this for?

crystalmum, yah i've got the fish oil too when preggie. why cannot drink fresh milk?? i have been drinking for many mths liao leh?!

Weight:
Mummies have u gone back to your prepreggie weight? My problem now is ALOT of people are saying that i am TOO THIN, even thinner that prepreggie. I also think so, too thin liao not nice very haggard
but i never diet leh! haiz...

playmat, alittlemiracle, don't tempt me again!!!

westbb,
u attend your frenz bb 1 yr old at Bt Pj? Haha, invite me over leh? I stay Bt Pj, hahaha (juz kidding lah).

sucking finger: westbb, same leh, mine also until 'zu zu zu' like ur baby! we also cannot stop him, I tried to pull his hand out, it will go in again and each time he is even more eager to put in, You pull out left, he put in right hand finger. Then if you hold his both hand, he scream and cry at you! Really buay tahan him. After reading Phoebe's post, really scare leh, but how? HELP... Should we tie their hands... headache..

Storage milk: westbb, nope, cheapo method (warm water in cup) heat up faster than electric warmer leh. I know coz me too using the cheapo method. I also hv a warmer but seldomly use. My mum says the cheapo method faster and easier. It's true.

crystalmum, regarding mixing milk of different temp, maybe put in fridge first, later when the second bottle cold liao, you then consolidate into the 1st one lor. At least it can last longer in fridge like tat.

Milk consumption: my baby from newborn time till now drink the same quantity (ml) of milk. As a newborn, he already taking 100 ml. There is a time where he can take 120ml, that is the most he can take. Then gradually he is taking lesser. Now everyday about 3 hours he drink only 80ml or lesser... Yes even though he is on solid, but sometimes he don;t want to take porridge nor cereal, so most of the time only BM, I really scare he is starving leh. He is thin as compare to when he was at 3 or 4 months time. Now he skinny like a monkey.. He don;t want to eat I also cannot force else he will vomit. But I dun understand why he like adult food, when we eat outside, he want to eat also and use his hand to hit the table, making alot of noise and screaming.

justnow at the foodcourt, I am drinking tofu soup, he keep pulling and scratching my arm to feed him. Now I feel my arm like got hot hot pain and juz saw has his finger scratch and skin peeling leh! Juz cut his nail not long ago only!

Really envy baby who can drink so much. I headache why my baby like tat one.. only drink 80 ml each 3 hours, jialat leh... I would prefer he drink more ml in longer time stretch!

What's the average of ml each day (24 hours) consider sufficient? My baby is 10 months exactly tomorrow and is weighing 8.5kg.

Finished pump liao, going to store my milk liao, see you all tomolo.

okok i shoudl just shut up about the mat lest more mummies get tempted!

milk storing..
yup, me also take out one portion (either 50 or 100ml) of frozen milk that i would like to use for the day out (usually when I simultaneously replace one portion to the freezer). Let this thaw and then add to the freshly expressed milk to be stored for use in the fridge asap.

pine tree bark
this is supposed to be a powerful antioxident... i htink if you google it, you will find alot of writings on it.

milk for mummmies
there was this time when my baby was very gassy, i was advised not to drink too much milk...there are some stuff that we eat can cause babies to have gas...milk, brocolli, i can't remember off hand what else...

classes
aiyoh...i think babies to young for classes...go there and play play...i also can play play on my bumper mat (oopps...not supposed to mentionit)... heehee but seriously, for me, i think it's not worth it to send go when they are too little...maybe at about toddler age like 2 years, then i consider. i prefer use the time bring my baby go park, or go kaikai...

sucking fingers
my baby also loves to put her fingers into her mouth...her fav is her right index finger! but i ren ming liao... cannot stop her leh...take out, put in again...

milk consumption
bitbit, the general recommendation for babies who have started solids is 500to 800ml per day. is your baby getting amount?
i know what you mean when you say take more at each time then can last longer, drink less times. I am lucky that my baby drinks milk 3 times a day plus 2 solids and 1 snack (240+baby bites+lunch+200+dinner+240) She is quite a eater hor... sometimes i wonder if she is eating too much...mummies always have alot to worry one....my baby is 9 months today adn weighs about 8kg... your baby's weight looks!

just went to pour out milk

crystalmum,
i think when they say cannot store milkof different temp is mean this: you should not top in/pour in freshly expressed milk/chilled milk into a bottle of frozen milk and then put back into freezer. This causes the top layer of the frozen milk to defrost. Defrosted millk cannot refreeze again mah. So each time you want to freeze milk, you should use a new container. But if the milk already defrosted and you have no wish to freeze this milk, then it's ok to mix milk from different pumping session

heating milk
i use the avent milk warmer...from fridge to baby's mouth.. 240ml...4.5 minutes flat. Less milk is faster.

weight
I am nearly back to pre preg weight...1 or 2 more kilos to go but i dun really mind not losing these as my prep preg weight was low... sigh...me trying to console myself

ok mummies, have a good sunday ahead

Morning all...just finished pumping..

Westbb - me too me too! even thinner than before preg..now only 46kg..but the boobs remain big..haha..my colleagues all envy me..pp also always ask me if i go any slimming centre or take pills (i dont)..tink cos i am those 'san po' kind..you oso? good for us leh..hehe..

Milk
tot is cow's milk mah..and somewhere (ya..somewhere again..cos i dont seem to remember where i saw it now..hehe..) cow's milk may cause allegies..tot i drink bb oso drink..8P but my fren has been drinking..so can drink or not hah?

Heating milk
Guess no fast way to heat up milk hor..hehe..i using the avent warmer at home and cheapo method at my mum's place..

Classes
yaya..jas how is the class? have not send mine to any yet..dont know send to where oso..now i am like 'huh? teach wat hah?'

Any good bb bedtime stories to recommend? er...interesting to the mummies kind? hehe...or good story books for 4 mth plus? any one buy the baby einstein? is it good?

sucking finger
my gal oso like to zu zu zu..and so loud! anyway to stop leh? really gotta tie her up? hehe

milk consumption
My gal also drink like wat she has been drinking in the 1st mth leh..tat time was also abt 80 to 100ml per feed every 2 or 3 hours..now 200 every 4 or 5 hours..bitbit..at least urs is taking solid now so no need to worry..mine hasnt started solid yet..

Got from the web (ya somewhere..hehe) and pasted it on my monitor since day 1..
Up to 1 mth - 90 to 120ml per day
2 to 6 mths - 700 to 1000ml per day
6 mths & abv - 900ml per day
6 mths & abv with solid - 720ml per day
1 year with solid - 600ml per day

But then..not too sure if the above is Asian bb..and is just for reference..

alittlemiracle - in the end how much u paid for the bumper mat? hehe..wanna know how much i 'save' hahahaha...

Hi mums, my 10 month old has been ebm for the past 10 months. Up till now, I express like 240ml each time although she only drinks 160ml. Any more than that, she will vomit.

My menses just came back this morning, after 20 months. I have to put up with cramps and backache again on top of expressing bm.

bitbit, i stay at BP too!!
where do u stay? i'm at Senja

milk for mummies, i didn't know milk can cause allergies... i've been drinking them after confinement... chocolate milk, coffee milk, strawberry milk, HL milk, banana milk *slurp* love them all!
so far bb no major reaction *touch wood*

milk consumption, there's another "formula" to calculate the amount which is per day consumption (ml) = bb wt x 150. think it's applicable for bb who has not started solids. looks like this formula gives the biggest amt that bb shd drink as compared to others. my boy always cannot reach the "target" one haha

sucking fingers, looks like all bbs love their fingers! *fingers licking good*

weight, crystalmum, what is "san po" uh? i think now i'm 49-50kg. but i quite tall lor, about 1.68m leh, so i am like a bamboo walking around...

baby einstein, i've got the set. have not finished watching all yet. my boy likes some of it, not all. think for some he's too young to appreciate yet. the most he can sit through is 10mins then he will start to fidget, so i only let him watch 5-10 mins each time. my hubby n i find most of the programs quite well made, for now, it's more entertaining for us than for him haha

baby signs, any mummies doing this? my friend who is a mother of 3 strongly recommend me to do this with my bb.

menses, janet, was it heavier than before? does ur supply drop during ur menses?

Hi westbb, it seems like I'm experiencing menstruation all over again after 20 months.

Since it's just my 1st day, I can't tell yet whether it is heavier than before. However, the milk supply has dropped somewhat & I don't really experience engorgement. Don't know how true it is, but I heard that the bm does not taste the same when the menses return.

finally i get some peaceful time. been very busy today.. hmm. not doing much but times flies without realising.

hi alittlemiracle,
baby not getting much better. been crying alot esp when he wants to pass winds or burp. he can cry for almost 10mins before he can release out the gas. been to his doctor and was given another type of medicine to break up his winds. so heartpain everytime i look at his bloated tummy... sigh

hi westbb,
my baby's doc told me to stay away from all dairy product esp milk & cheese as my boy could be allergic to it and cause a lots of wind in his tummy. asked me to suppliment with calcium from foods instead.

latching on
my boy really need lots of patience to deal with. he kenot be 'guai guai' everytime, must twist, turn and cry his lung out before he agree to open his mouth properly. he's so 'siow jie' leh, always open his mouth a little only... haha

milk consumption
crystalmum, my boy is still drinking 100ml every 3hrs. issit too little? now esp when i latch him on, i've no idea how much he take but definately latching hin on alone is never enuf so i always bottle feed him another 60ml.

will be going in to msia for a week.. will catch up again..

just pray hard that my boy will recover soon..

Hi mummies.. sigh.. weekend so fast over, coming week boss in town, will be super bz..

Crystalmum, westbb,
the class was fun.. there was singing, flashcards.. gym time etc.. but my gal was cranky.. had to feed her.. then by the time she settle down, class over liao.. hiazzz. hubby said not to sign up, to wait til she is older and more receptive..

u both complain too 'san bo', me sian with my flabby tummy uh! i cant squeeze into my fav capri till now.. so upset. sat evening i had a wedding to attend.. i know all the guests will be dressing up until nice nice one, posh event.. and i had totally nothing to wear! all my dresses either cant wear, or can wear but look like ba zhang.. so pek chek!

know wat, someone from my table sitting across me, asked me if i were still bf.. ask across the table man! i said ya.. still breastfeeding fullstop. and my hubby had to go on to explain not direct latch, but she expresses out for bb.. aiyo.. the whole table know liao. sigh..

hv to go koon liao.. tom need to reach off very early.. bz week ahead..

westbb - i meant 'san bo' hehe..paiseh..then we got 2 walking bamboo around leh..one short (tats me) and one long..haha..

Janet - the drop in milk supply is like less or more than 100ml? so scary hor...later mine if come back earlier no milk for my gal..how many times u pump now?

Phoebe - your total is about 800ml per day...is within the 'table' i mention leh..my gal was drinking like ave 500ml only per day during the 2nd & 3rd month! i was so worried but doc say is still not tat bad...and also my gal is gaining weight so is ok..

Jas03 - tat time i also brought her to the massage course...suppose to feed her one hour before the class..in the end she refuse to drink..so in the end she crying in the class cos of hunger lah..when she settle down..class also over liao..xian hor...haiii

Baby signs
No time to go learn leh...but then will bb have too many things to need to learn?

harlow mummies,
yah man...so fast the weekend is over again. Hope no one is having Monday Blues.

crystalmum, i paid $157 and some cents for mat.

phoebe, does your baby likes to be carried upright? maybe that will help baby to burp quicker?

baby einstein
i got the old macdonald one but baby dun quite like it that much. she prefers to watch Playhouse Disney and only the opening songs of the cartoons...when the cartoon starts, she sian liao...

baby signs
i heard this is a vvery good skill to have...wanted to pick it up but could not find the time leh... I practice elimination communication with my baby though...if any mummies interested, i can share my experience.

Janet
aiyoh..the dreaded day has finally come! i also very scared.... do share with us on the things we should look out for...like if the milk supply really decrease...is it very sudden or gradual ah?

alittlemiracle - wat is elimination communication?

hehe..i am following the bumpermat thread..but how come no hello kitty..seems that the pooh bear quite cute too..but must look at the price lor..

Hi alittlemiracle/crystalmum, after not having my menses for 20 months (including pregnancy), I realized that it wasn't so bad after all when it resumed. Maybe a little PMS and feeling tired, but on the whole it was ok.

The more important question which you want to know is the milk supply right ? The bm supply did NOT drop, still the same as before. I express 3x a day - 8am/4pm/1030pm. I express out between 240ml - 280ml. The ironic thing is the menses is not heavy, even on the 2nd day.

I had been busy looking after my baby as my mum house is undergoing upgrading and I am staying at home. My baby really naughty and really want to lock him up or tie him to something. He always want to be carried and will make those irritating cry. Once carried up he will stop immeidately and will be giggling away (with tears still at the eyes leh!)What a "cunning" boy!

drinking milk:
he drinks average 600 to 700ml per day. However the schedule is approximately 2 to 3 hours apart. alttilemiracle, your baby can drink 240ml at one go I really envy leh. If my baby can take 240ml I sure give problem is he can take max of 100ml per feed. So in order not to waste milk, I have to give 100ml only per feed till the next 2 hours later another 100 ml to make a 200ml in total per 1 morning session. The same goes for PM and night session. Sometimes take 3 times per session.

solid food:
he dun want to eat leh. Sometimes cook a pot of porridge only took 2 spoons. Everyday fish I think he also sian. And I try to put "Marmite" to make it more tastier, it will depends on his mood whether he want or not. Make cereal, most of the time reject unless very hungry no choice but can see he gulp in the mouth for a very long time. Can feed up to 1 hour... So I have no choice but to feed juz milk sometimes.

heating milk:
Wah alttlemiracle and crystalmum, use Avent warmer leh, I only use the Tollyjoy one. Coz tat time we want to buy good one, my mum keep saying use the cheapo method can liao, end up our decision is to buy a cheap one then.

weight:
me go sliming center but weight still the same, no improvement. "Shi bai"... Me still 5 more kg to my pre-preg weight, crystalmum, u san po type? Sigh, envy envy, me still look the plump type. My body frame cannot goes down to become san po because I had big bones and I am short. The minimum weight I can go is 48kg.
jas03, me the same, with flabby tummy, so u r not alone.

janet,
At least ur menses only visit u after 20 mths. That's coming 2 years leh! Mine visited me when my baby is feeding on my EBM at 7 months! See who more frustrating? Funny is that I miss the current cycle. Suppose to come around 20Sep, but till now never come. Still EBM. Maybe the body also abit siow liao, become irregular.

westbb, I am at BP - Jelebu, the one opp, Bt Pj Plaza, you know?

phoebe, seems like ur boy and my boy is the same... 100ml every 3 hours leh!

my baby woke up liao, hv to entertain him. he is now at my lap kpo touching the keyboard, i keep swapping his hand away, he got irritated. i hv to go.

c later

I'm also one of those who feed my bb EBM only. Currently expressing at 5 hourly interval and trying to stretch till 8 hrs so that my breast will not "explode" when I go back to work. But today, I was informed by my boss that he might want me to tag along for a biz trip to US in Dec and that may affect my pumping schedule. Any experience mum here got any idea how I can pump lesser times and yet not getting engorgement and affecting my supply?

hi crystalmum and tuffy
did you gals find the website useful...basically it tells you all you need to know about EC.. crystalmum, if you think this appeals to you, it's a good time for you to start with your baby (about 4 plus months right?) But can also start earlier for other interested mummies!

I started my baby when she was about 4 plus months... The starting very jia lat...got a lot of pants to wash... then have to take her to pee every 15 to 30 mins... this is to know her pattern... when she pee pee, must carry her (because at that time she till cannot sit) in the pee pee position and make the sh sh shshsh sound so that she associateds the position and sound with pee pee. Big business also the same thing.

passing motion is a little easier coz most mummies would already know thier baby's pattern... if newborn to 3 months, maybe poo during or after feed... 3 months plus , maybe poo at certain time of day liao! My baby responded very well and from the moment i start her on EC, she has never pooed into her pants or diaper (except once when i ignored her trying to tell me she wanted to poo poo)

Pee pee is more challenging... but i have also discovered a pattern and my baby's way of telling me. For eg, when she stops drinking milk and refuses the bottle no matter what in the morning, she usually needs to poo poo and sometimes pee as well... During dinner time, she sometimes refues food because she needs to pee pee... Sometimes she will make a sound to say she wants to pee pee.

Most time, i still go by timing and instinct. Now, my 9 month old goes every half hour after feed. After 3 pees she will hourly until her next feed...

So my baby is diaper free in the day! But at night, she wears one diaper...for me,i dun have the energy for her to be diaperfree at night ...hee heee... maybe later on lah...when she is bigger

Janet
good to hear that the milk ss did not fall! and lucky your menses not heavy and looks like you are coping well!

bitbit,
hwah, your son sounds like a handful!
so far, i have not given porridge, i read somewhere porridge only after 10 months...so my baby still on pureed stuff...she also alternate between chicken and fish...i mix and match veg and fruit to change the taste lor... but i find her diet now very ang moh coz i read all the recipe books all written by ang moh... how come no chinese baby recipe book ah?

hi chemistry,
how many months is your baby? sounds like you still in the maternity leave period ah?
if you go to the US, issit you want to express adn throw the milk away? do you have enough stocks int he freezer for your baby?

5 hourly interval means youpump 5 times a day right? From now til december, you still got 2 months, i think you can cut dowm to 3 pumps a day.... 4 pumps a day in oct, then 3 pumps a day in nov... initially, you will feel very full before teh "appointed time" to express...but as long as you keep to the schedule and empty your breasts accordingly, your breats will get it and adjust to your needs... but you cannot give up in the states leh...othewwise if ss ceases, can be quite hard to come back i think.

crystalmum,
books for babies
you can try eric carle titles...like The Very Hungry Caterpillar, The very lonely firefly, etc
Can also go to Kino or borders to choose anything you think is exciting, afterall you are the one reading it, must appeal to you first wat!

Hello mummies! v busy yesterday only got time to logon now!

drinking milk:
bitbit u r not alone with bb not drinking milk liao. My boy has been refusing to drink since yesterday, wah he superbaby leh, 180ml can last him from 11am to 7.30pm! today also the same, don't want means don't want, else he will cry like i torture him. dunno why he suddenly like that leh, i hope this is only temporary! else i really got to try giving him solids liao (i didn't want to start so soon!)

weight:
although i skinny hor, i still have this flabby tummy leh. it's like a bamboo with a pouch! eek!

crystalmum, pai seh, i still dunno what is "san bo"??? is this hokkien? i very lousy at hokkien lah

baby signs:
my impression is that bb will pick this up from you from daily interactions as u do the actions as u talk to him/her. just like how he/she will learn language. think i'll try when he's 6mths

bumpermat:
i saw the new thread too! the temptation never ends does it!? now i really itch liao... i also like the pooh design

menses:
janet, glad to know that ur supply doesn't drop! less stress!

bitbit, i know where is jelebu. our houses not too far away, can walk if really want although will be quite tiring hee

chemistry, hello! glad to see u here! sorry i can't help u cos i no xperience in this. but i just had a dream yesterday on this issue too and i was so troubled by it! then i woke up and realise it's only a dream and i felt so relief! :ppPpP

books for babies:
i go to the library to borrow those board books to read to my boy. some of them are quite good, suitable for babies. i like those that rhymes, baby/family-theme related or with real life pictures. sometimes he will sit still and listen to me read lah, but after a while he will grab the book and want to eat it liao!

Ameda pump:

jas, ur rechargables batteries can work on ur Ameda? i realise mine have to arrange the rechargables and the disposables ones in certain pattern then can work! aiyo so troublesome!

how do mummies wash the valves uh? they are like so fragile (and expensive!) that i so scare of spoiling them!

been very bz too in the office! boss around this week.. but hor, i keep thinking of you all leh.. i occasionally sneak in here to read yr postings.. but keep window small small. never post, but heart thinking of u all ok! hahaha..

westbb:
huh muz arrange batts in special way one uh?? i ask hubby why, he no time to check for me yet... i rinse the valves under running tap, then soak on hot water for 10 mins. once every 2/3 days will use small bottle brush to scrub inside.

hahaha.. this crystalmum kena 'zap' liao - she going to buy bumper mat.. hee hee!

ok talk to you all again... gotta go!

alittlemiracle - k k..will let u know when they confirm the prices..hope is less than $100 leh..almost wanted to buy this mattress with 'surrounding' cushion (so no need to put bolster or pillow on the mattress)..the man claim to be 'made in singapore'..and is single bed size and can be used as a single bed mattress eventually with still 'surrounding' cushion if your child is those who would 'fall of the bed' kind...but then if pee or poo will get stain leh..so in the end i din buy..is abt $98..

have not check out the website yet..will do it tonite..so good! ur gal can go diapers free at 9 mths!!! *envy*envy*..cos u know my gal is 'jin pi gu' so would be good if i can do that early hor..huh...

thanks for your recommendation..so tempted to buy those princess kind type haha..cos the pic so nice..guess my gal may be too young to understand that..

Janet - glad to hear that the supply did not drop..hehe..was so worried..

bitbit - i using the avent warmer at home and cheapo method at my mum's place..tink warmer is faster..but any method faster than tat? haha..my gal is really impatient..maybe is direct feed hor? hehe...no need to warm up..

i also got the flabby tummy lah..but though is not as flabby as those i saw in some mummies..hehe..so i quite lucky lor..i was very worried initially i could not lose my weight leh..put on abt 16kg...heng lost all within 3 mths..kekekeke..

westbb - san bo is skinny in hokkien..hehe..

my gal oso like to 'eat' books..tat day pass a waterproof book to her when she bathing..she grab and ate too!

Cunning babies
my gal also likes to be carried now..put her down 1 min will start tat 'crying expression'..and the moment she is picked up..back to normal..haiii..

drinking milk
my gal also leh..sometimes 100ml can tahan more than 6 hours one..really superbaby oso! also cry like kanna torture when let her drink but she will 'recover' after a few days..so now i use to it..hehe..

Away from bb
Me too..so afraid that i gotta go overseas for whatever reason..then my bb no milk to drink..and to pump and pour away all so wasteful leh..