Any mummies feed their baby on expressed breast milk only?

just finish another pumping session, but not v satisfied, the amount is lesser than normal.. v stressed again!

re playmat - i also very tempted to buy, think and think still cannot "xia4 shou3"... very expensive, plus my house alredy v cramp with bb stuff!

crystalmum, my bb has been v cranky lately lor. doesn't want to drink milk too, always drink less than 50%. force him to drink he will cry until u heart pain! so i have been pouring away alot of left over milk lately, so heartpain ah! i keep telling him mummy spend so much time and effort to squeeze out the milk for you and you don't drink, later want to drink also don't have liao then u know... well, as if he understand what i say! haiz!

re nursing bras - so actually underwired bras are still not recommended uh.. .looks like i still have to stick with my ugly nursing bras... eekk

Jas, the Tshirt bra from MIM good? can wear with tops that are more tight-fitting?

bitbit, u v funny leh, can think of the bras got feelings... haha. then i think my bras are all in depressions liao...

jas, sometimes i also miss the feeling of closeness that comes with latching. but bo bian leh, my bb doesn't want to latch to enjoy the closeness!

re waiting for gold, i think as long as the poo are regular, twice a day or once every few days are ok lah. I read b4 that not all adults poo everyday, like me is every two days one :pPPP

re Ameda vs Medela, i tried medela mini electric plus b4, so noisy that once i stop pumping, i can feeling a "ringing" sound in my ears. my friend said it's like motor cutting grass. i gave back to my friend after using 3 times, buay tahan liao.

jas, my boy also starts by turning to his side more and more frequently then one fine day, he flips! i'm sure ur gal's turn is coming soon!

me too always bang the ameda bottles trying to savage every single drop into Avent bottles! haha.. my bb must be thinking why i always not happy after pumping milk...

traveling w bb, there was once my hubby has a 1 week break, so we thought of going some where, after thinking about all the bb stuff that we need to bring, and everywhere we go must look for place to express and bring bottles of milk + cooler bag + hot water for warming up milk + other bb stuff... in the end, we stayed at home! sianz.

Two years ago, my 1st baby was on total EBM for one whole year. However, my milk supply was extremely low. I managed to pump only 60ml each during the first few months. Thus she was on 70% EMB the 1st few months, gradually reduced to 50% and finally only 1 bottle a day. I continued to pump even my supply was extremely low as I kept telling myself that 1 bottle a day is better than none. This lasted for a year. I remembered that I needed to carry a big cooler box to work every day even though it contained only 2 bottles of 100ml EBM from 2 pumping session.

I had just delivered my 2nd baby.I engaged a confinement lady this time so that I could have enough rest and could also spent more time expressing milk. My milk supply did increase. I managed to express 140ml to 160ml every 4.5 hourly. However, I can only express this much when I used the avent manual pump. When I tried using the Medela dual electric pump, I can only express 100ml and I don't think I can empty my breast. Why is this so?

So Phoebe, don't give up on expressing even your supply is low. A bottle a day is better than none.

westbb & all..

u r juz like me, very "
319677.gif
" about my EBM, i also savage every single drop into the glass bottle if i want to freeze it, otherwise i would juz pump into the milk bottle itself. Btw i am using the mendela mini electric pump lar.. Any1 using it?

Sometimes when my baby couldn;t finish and my mum pour all away, i would be very very angry. HEARTACHE lar.. i always say that this is not FM, please dun transfer so much to the feeding bottle if you think baby cannot finish so much. Moreover she take care of him everyday should understand his feeding pattern. But she sometimes said me that I am so "
319678.gif
", also if she know baby cnanot take so much, she wouldn;t have give so much. I can understand her situation, juz tat I heartache my EBM being pour away into the sink and bye bye like tat. It took me so long time to pump out and alot of scarfice too.

My office lunch hour so short only 45 mins. I need 30 mins to prepare,pump & clean up, meaning i have only 15 mins for lunch. Sometimes the queue is so long tat I hardly hv time to buy lunch so most of the time I dun hav proper lunch (just take few piece of bisults). Then i also scarifce TV for pumping, and most of all, bearing all the pain, yet I see her or my husband pouring my EBM away if baby cannot finish, sigh..

btw westbb, saw u interested in playmat, is it the A-Z puzzle? I hv one brand new set, what's the Retail price outside? u wanna get it from me then? Can sell u cheaper. Wat'z ur budget?

Hi bitbit,
hahahaha..if the nursing bras have feelings..then my nursing bras will be more depress then yours cos i also did not put them into good use (cos also totally expressing)and hor..they are the cheap ones! only $10 oni from metro...and if breasts have feelings too..i tink mine wont want to be on me..cos i buy cheap stuff for them..hehe...huh..no wonder they sag now..

Hi Jas03,
no need to worry your gal haven flip lah..my fren's one a month older then mine, 5 mths now oso not yet flip..anyway she say her gal too lazy to flip..try cannot then stop..hehe..

aiya..y ameda dont have single pump one...haiii..tink will stick to get the medela single..cos cheaper..my hubby gotta bear with the noisy sound liao..too bad..

Hi westbb,
ya lor..when i gotta throw away my milk tat time..also so heartpain...i also throw about 300/400ml per day leh..cos i dont wan her to drink milk tat is too long in the fridge..also told her mummy express so hard must drink! haha...tat time she finally drank slightly more when in sleeping mode leh..so glad now she taking more...hope she wont be moody again man!

everytime the milk expressed is lesser than usual is so depressing hor! these few mornings i also getting lesser each time...yesterday was 340ml, tis morning is onl 310ml! usually i can get 380ml leh..wonder wat is wrong...

Playmat
you gals dont tempt me into buying the playmat leh..tat time i bgt the bumbo seat and hide it from my hubby at my mum's place, playmat how to hide? haha...now he asks me 'so you hide any thing at your mum's place?'

Jas03/westbb,

If nursing bra has feeling, they complain not making full use of them, since all of us here only feed with EBM.

But guess if breast can talk, they will complain that we are 'bian tai', we are all asking the pump to do the work not the baby!!

Dear breast, i like to say "Dui Bu Qi, sorry!!"

Hi bitbit,
haha..you so funny..i laugh till wanna peng san..

I using the single medela electric pump and avent manual at the same time...need to return to friend the medela one so asking around which is good..but find the dual pump too ex to buy leh..

I understand totally how u feel abt throwing away those precious milk..but at the end of the day..i still rather my mum give her more to 'catch' her drinking more rather than she give little and realise she need more..go and warm up again later she dont drink..cos my bb cannot have 'interruption' one...and you never know how much she wanna drink really...baby so moody one hehe...

Hi Ling,
Did you massage during your pumping? i always stop, massage, pump, stop, massage, pump..dont know how many times..haha..trying to force all the milk out..cos i using the single medela electric, i would use the avent manual to continue after using the medela one (of cos also massage before i continue)...somehow i feel the electric one dont seem to pump out all leh..and a bit 'noisy' to change position of the medela pump on the breast to 'catch' different ducts...

I finally struck gold today! never imagine I would be so happy to see gold.

hi crystalmum,
wow - you can pump so much in one session - that's v impressive! how often do you pump?

harlow mummies!

Noisy Medela
I have a love hate relationship with Medela...sigh...it is very noisy so when I pump, i close the flap to reduce the noise, few decibels also good right?!

crystalmum,
roughly roughly, 4 to 3 times (at 7 months) 3 to 2 times (at 8 months)...Dun think i will go below 2 pumps a day... not possible....

Precious Milk
This is such precious commodity that i dun let other people handle it...Only I get to handle the milk from pumping (of course this is me lah), to the transfering to storing, to freezing...skully my maid spill the milk, sure kenna from me wan

Travel
When baby was 3 months, we had to go to Malaysia for relative's wedding, i think my baby's things took up 75% of my total luggage...Now, want to travel must htink many many times, rather stay in singapore... and all that washing and sterilising...siong man...lucky i brought my maid along...and malaysia that's why can afford to bring her, if go more exotic places, how to afford????

Emptying breasts...
sometimes, when i not in a rush and have a need to empty after using electric pump, i will hand express into the funnel. somehow, hand expressing after elcectric pumping will get to the ducts that the machine cannot. i find this really empties the breast.

gold
when i started my baby on solids, she eat a bit only of the pureed stuff...the next day...she had solid gold....very dramatic the change one....

playmat,
i also think very long then decide to get it. because i buy mat so i have to give up buying dress that i wanted...sigh...one must go, otherwise sure bankrupt!

emotional bras
all my pretty bras already beat into cold palace liao...

emptying breasts
I also have the same experience. But v tiring and messy to do this everytime leh.. sometimes just feel so sian, anyhow squeeze a bit and be done with it. most of the time, I think the breasts are only 80% empty.. looks like I am inviting blocked ducts.
Am wondering if I were to purchase a bigger medela funnel, would that help? Late nite, last pump was 1am and woke up at 7.30am - so super engorged and blocked that it took a darn long time to clear some of the ducts. sigh.. cannot even be lazy for one nite.

hi blueberries,
thanks... yes, i think u can find those bra pads at Watson. i remember i ever bought those, if you can't find it there you might want to try looking for it at lingerie dept...

hi bitbit,
no worries, baby hair will grow again or maybe you might want to try to shave it all off again. my malay friend ever told me before that their practise is to shave a few times before baby reach 1 year old...

heard from many that manual pump clear more than electric pump but the best is to get baby to latch on..

too bad my baby does not want to no matter whatever position that i tried..

bitbit, u so poor thing ah, try not to skip lunch lah, nursing mummies must eat better ok... maybe u can prepare some sandwich for lunch on some days?

the playmat that alittlemiracle n jas are talking about is one whole big piece one, more than $150, that's why i can only heart itch itch.

crystalmum, ur "lesser" is a lot to me leh. u r really "powerful", must sayang ur breasts better lah, buy more expensive bras for them since they've been working so hard haha

my bb also cannot interrupt one, so only one chance to feed him! and the amt he drinks also rollercoaster type, give too much he don't want, give too little he not enuff! can never catch his 'pattern'!

you also got bumbo seat? me too, but didn't put my boy in it very often, he sits a while will complain one... grrrr

re emotional bras/breasts, how i miss the days when i can go braless at home! now even when i sleep got to wear bra boohoo

alittlemiracle, same here! i handle everything regarding the milk! simply cannot trust my maid to do it with best hygiene and care!

re emptying breasts, me too me too, have to hand express after using the electric pump. will still have a few jets one.

i'm starting to feel that we all have a lot in common in this thread... really like "tian xia di ma ma dou shi yi yang di"!

Hi Tuffy,
Congrats on striking gold! hehe..finally hor..

I pump 4 times day...interval 6 hours but of cos not really fix cos at night i cheat a bit and pump at 10pm or 10.30pm so i can sleep earlier..so the next morning i pump at 6am means about 7.5 or 8 hrs then got 300+ml mah...so not that much for tat interval leh..

Hi alittlemiracle,
tink cannot reduce my no. of pumps per day yet..cos bb still need about 700 to 900ml stil..haiz...

Hi westbb,
i not powerful..my breast are..haha..cos hor..i was size 'B' before preg..now is 'D' leh..hehe..all my colleagues disturb me..but i feel so not proportional cos i am the skinny type..and hor..if got $ i will spend on my darling crystal not on the bras...hehe..jz bgt a denim jacket for her..8P..xiao rite? saving here and there to get something she dont really need...kekeke..

i bgt the lilac color bumbo seat..so nice! now she din sit often oso as she still keep leaning forward and not so stable..and my gal..generally cannot stay in a position for too long oso..

yaya..i also miss the braless days! now got maid oso cannot go braless leh..

Hi Westbb/Jas03/Tuffy
Mine gal now drink 7oz in one feed and can last abt 5hrs..but not always..how much are yours drinking hah? do yours still wake up at nite for feed? mine still wake up once...

Previous Milk
Me too me too! i also handle the milk till in the fridge...cos i must measure properly (my mum kept saying i 'mao')...also must shake till the last drop no more..hehe...

wahh alot of postings to catch up!
today work until 10pm, grr. come back jus in time to put my gal to sleep at 11pm... myself dozed off, now then wake up express, wanna explode liao!

Tuffy:
Yeeaahh!! strike gold liao. better than striking 4D or toto right? *clap clap* *hug!*

Westbb:
tried my rechargeables, cannot!! duno why, will ask lao gong in the morning.

MIM Tshirt bras are comfy, yah can wear tight fitting clothes, wun show nipples lor.. esp after expressing.. wear normal bras can see nipples sticking out..

Huh u all wear bra at home uh.. isit so that prevent sagging? i dun leh..

ya think abt holiday very sian.. sigh..

yes i am enjoying this thread very much, cos we all hv so many things in common.. keeps me sane, amidst all the stress.. i tell hubby i very happy found all u mummies to share the expressing woes with.

and u all sometimes very funny, brings on a smile or laughter when i read the postings at times.

Ling,
Thanks for sharing.
same as you, my ss is not much, but i still bring big pump bag to work each day even tho quantity so little.. as you say, whatever i have, i will feed my gal.. even if eventually one day i can express only one feed a day, i will still continue to give her.

Bitbit:
i also very heartpain when bb dun drink and pour away.. just yest morning, i hurry hurry express in the morning freshly squeezed milk to feed her, she keep playing with her tongue and not wan to drink properly.. end up drip so much to the bib.. i very pek chek, hubby say never mind she dun wan drink then dun wan lor.. aiyo i so mad.. my 'blood sweat' milk dun drink hv to throw leh! sigh..

eh eh u muz eat yr meals la.. just remind yrself u muz give good quality BM to bb ok!

Phoebe:
everyday at least try to latch bb on.. dun give up yet ya... bb still young.. still got chance. jia you! we give you moral support!

Crystalmum:
re feeding - my gal drinking abt 180-200ml every 3 hrs. but recently last 2 days play with tongue dun wan drink.. went down to abt 150ml each feed. she is taking a little rice cereal (2 spoonful + 40ml EBM) once a day, just to accustom her to spoon feeding - but i suspect thats confusing her, spoon/ bottle?? she abit luan now..

Same, my gal on bumbo will keep leaning forward, dun wan to settle down properly..

ahahaha.. din realise i type so much!! mummies sorry so chiong hei hor... ok express finish liao, wan to go back koon oredi..

up and about and pumping away...!

one hit wonder...
my baby also drink milk got one chance only...what i did was to give her th eremaining milk a little later, like say 15 mins later, i allow the feeding itme to stretch max to 1 hour, if not will interrfere will next feed mah... sometimes she will finsih , sometimes she wun. My mum used to shake her head all the time when she see me force milk down baby's throat...

prcecious cargo
looks like all mummies are really the same!

Jas03
hwah...you so poor thing, work til so late ah...and your baby also sleep late hor...
i dun think the spoon is confusing her, more like she found she has a tongue to play with... my baby also had that phase...use her tongue to roll the teat around...once she find that not so fun to play with tongue anymore, she will feeding like a breeze again.

bra at home
not only for modesty but initially when i had leaky breasts, wear the bra so that the breast pads can stay in place.

crystalmum
i think you can cut down when baby is on some solids, when her milk demands come down... you feel like 4 times still too many issit ;)

me almost done with the expressing...gonna hand express the rest...

alittlemiracle:
u surf and log in to forum while expressing? ya me too.. everytime expressing will log in and keep myself entertained. if not feel very bo liao while pump is pumping away hor?

but as you can see the time, i running so late today!! start work 8.30 uh!!

Hi alittlemiracle/Jas03,
Ameda pump is hands free? wonder how u type while pumping wor..hehe..just bgt the medela electric single pump last nite..going to return the old one to my friend..maybe next bb then i buy ameda..hehe..too ex..

Hi Jas03,
When u start feeding her? i started at 4mths but she vomit..now few weeks haven try..tinking of starting it again at 6 mths

Pumping
4 times seems many now..hehe..wonder how i survive with the 6 times first 2 months haha..find myself so 'wei da'...

Forum
I oso happy to know you gals here..hehe..got 'same boat' people to tok to..yesterday nite my hubby was saying 'you type essay hah?' cos he wanted to use the pc..kekeke..some posting so funny like the bitbit's emotional bra..HaHAHaHA...

Latching on
Tink going to try to see if she latch on this weekend again..hehe

Crying
yesterday nite again cry non-stop for almost an hour..dont know y also..my heartpain see her like tat..haizzz

Flipping
tat day i was jz saying be careful when they flip..now put in the cot oso not safe liao..my mum jz called me say she knocked against the panels of the cot..got red red one patch..heartbroke man!

jas03
pump and surf makes times pass alot quicker, otherwise look at the milk one drop at a time very slow moving right?

crystalmum
me using my trusty and noisy Medela PIS
what was the first thing you feed your baby ah?
i gave mine rice cereal and she clearly din like it... i tasted it and thought it was blah too... then i gave her pureed apples...hwah...she loved it man... my baby is a real fruit lover...sweet or sour also she likes...

aiyoh...how come cry so long ah? you got try give her dentinox or infancol or gripe water? maybe she wants to burp? at one time, my baby will cry when she needs to burp before she sleep.

crystalmum:
cross my leg, balance the bottle on my lap, then can type liao. actually u shld buy the ameda now, use now and then for second one.. make your money worth it mah!

i just started 2 weeks ago.. she luvs it, leans forward for next mouthful. but she complains its too slow (compared to the bottle).. sometimes get frustrated then cry. sigh. i do not give her much, just little bit to get used to spoon.. mayb at 5-6mths then start on other solids.

crystalmum:
do u give your gal pacifier? first 2 mths i did not want to give her pacifier, and she every nite cries at least half hr without fail b4 zzz.

nowadays i just give it to her near bedtime when i see that she is sleepy and cranky.. it soothes her to sleep. but only at bedtime, other times i dun give her.. so it may help yr gal too..

Hi alittlemiracle,
er...i actually watch it drop by drop hehe cos i do in the bedroom..more relax..and with the noisy medela single..today my hubby woke up and comment again..so noisy..

me too..gave her rice cereal with my breastmilk but she vomitted on the 3rd day..maybe fed too much? then i stop giving her liao...wanted to buy those nice ready made puree kind but tot better start with sometime not tat 'strong' taste first...

Hi jas03,
too late liao leh..oso..one manual and one electric is also gentler for my breast lah..cos i switch sides..find the electric one too powerful..remember tat time at the hospital..was so sore..then i remember going to buy the medela nipple cream at the hospital pharmacy..i paiseh paiseh soft soft ask the pharmacist for the cream..he go and shout to his colleague 'HELP ME BRING OVER THE CREAM FOR THE SORE NIPPLE ONE'..waliewwwwwwwww.....so embarressing leh...

your bb like the rice cereal and breastmilk? so good! i was tinking to start with the nestle brown rice one at 6mths again..

Crying
dont know y she cry..rub ru yi oil oso no use (got give gripe water once a day)..i also gave her pacifier at the 2nd month liao to stop her crying..give her near bedtime and if she cries only...but yesterday tat one cant pacify her..dont know y these few nights in a row again...tot she has improved a few weeks..now come back again...haiizzzzz

hi crystalmum
wow! I have never pumped more than 210ml before and that was on a rare occasion and having overslept for a few hours ... I usually pump 3 to 4 hourly and each time can get 100 to 130 ml. Sigh.. wonder when I can start pumping at longer intervals. my ms is barely enuf to meet her demand.. v scared will go down if I start to get lazy with the pumping.

crystalmum,
My baby also like that, if give too little to drink then realise he need more, when we go and warm up again, he sure don't drink, very fussy and duno what he want. Same lar, cannot interrupt one. Now I always use a trick. If he cannot finish, i soak the bottle in warm water and wait till he fallen asleep, then I tug the balance into his mouth, he will drink up all. If he didn't sleep then bo-bian liao have to throw when the milk turns cold ...

About crying, what happen to your girl? Is she crying for milk or what? I also have same expereince my baby crying very very loud as if someone ill-treat him with needle or wat... Tat time only when my mum cry can soothe him leh, i so angry! Maybe he just want to be carried and walk around or he has difficulties sleeping or maybe "toothache" lah?

westbb,
think all of us here should "sayang" our breasts coz they work so hard you know. Before, i always buy cheapo bra, if worn out, i discard and buy new one. Now i learn to appreciate "BRA". At least i want to buy good quality one.

alittlemiracle,
ur baby is good, at least she like those puree apples and fruits. My baby taste one small sip and make a fuss, end up all on his nose and face instead of his mouth! Wonder if baby girl prefer fruits or sour and boy prefer sweet? Because same thing if I give those Nestle baby cereal, he will like it. He take chicken cereal but not fruit cereal, you see lar, so fussy.

BTW, think we are the same, i also hand-express the rest after done wif pump, haha. Can ask u, what you use to contain the hand expressed milk? I always use the breast-shell, u leh?

Also regarding the Mini Elect Medala pump, how you "close the flap to reduce the noise"? I hate it also because of the noise. Whenever i pump at office toilet, people will noe there is a cow pumping inside!

OK, I m going for lunch (pump) now.

Talk to u all later..

last feed give more 220ml, first morning feed 200ml, the rest day feeds 160-180ml. but he cannot finish all one lah, for day feed sometimes he can glup all down, sometimes he can drink less than half only - that's when i got to throw away my precious milk. he doesn't wake up for night feed liao.

balancing Ameda, i can't balance them on my legs leh.. at most i use one hand to hold both, tat means i can only type with one hand which too slow, so when i pump i read or watch TV on the computer hehe

Jas, the Tshirt bra can buy online? me cock-eye cannot find on the MIM website leh?

my boy likes to keep sticking out his tongue nowadays, think he's playing with his new found toy too!

pumping times, i check back my "record book", i pump 8 times per day during the 1st month, dunno how i can do that too!! now 4 times only but everytime like time flies very fast, i'll think "huh.. so fast got to pump again??"

pacifier - my hubby and i resisted giving him pacifier for the first month. after CL left and maid haven't come, i took care of bb alone, wah liew.. cannot take it liao.. i succumb and 'beg' my hubby to buy a pacifier on his way home from work! now we only give him during bedtime too, other times would not give him unless he is really crying very very hard and at our wits end! but sometimes he cries v hard he also don't want the pacifier one...

handexpress - i'll try to express into the funnel first. then when left really a little bit and difficult to 'aim' into funnel, i just express into tissue.

solid food - i haven't feed bb any solids yet. i know nuts about introducing solids leh, really got to go and read up liao. what is the best food to start? rice cereal? buy from supermarket ah?

crystalmum, ur gal cry at night is she teething??

menses - mummies, have ur menses returned? or when did it return uh? was it heavier than before?

hi jas03,
i tried again last night and managed to get him to latch on for a while..only for a little while but it should be a good start lo... hehe

just now when i finished pumping, i accidentally drop the bottle and all my 120ml milk go wasted. so heartpain...
after all the pumping and massaging, ended my bedroom floor gets to enjoy my milk instead of my baby... haha

hi alittlemiracle,
guess mine is diff, my MIL does not allow me to feed my baby more when he does not get enuf. on good mood, he will demand for another 30ml after finishing his normal 100ml intake. my MIL refuse to let me feed him anymore, she will carry him and try all ways to pacify him till he too tired to cry anymore and fall asleep. so heartpain seeing my baby is not getting what he wants... i've tried all ways to tell her that breast milk babies tends to get hungry faster and doctor also advise me to give when he's hungry and does not need to follow exactly the amt and feeding time yet she refused to listen to my explaination..

pacifier
westbb, same problem here.. hehe
i've been telling everyone that i'm not going to let my baby have pacifier but i really beh tahan when he cry non-stop before his feeding time is due. i finally gave in and he's happily sucking away while waiting for the milk to get ready.

hi bitbit,
must we keep the EBM warm? i tot we can leave it for 1hr on room temperature?

Tuffy - but mine is like abt 8 hrs interval then can get over 300ml leh..if 6 hrs..only abt 250ml...me too leh..was hoping to go into pumping 3 times but also scare milk supply will drop.

westbb - my gal now also like to 'boo' out her saliva..very loud somemore..girl leh...so chor lor..haiii...

me too leh..when the CF lady left and before the maid came in..is so buay tahan tiring..heng my maid came in after 3 days..

Phoebe - i see that you 'lost' your milk oso sayang for you..cos i ever spill before and that time was like low supply and i had to squeeze with tears and sweat kind..

Pumping
ya lor ya lor...pump 4 times..time like flies..like every time settle down to do thing is time to pump again..last time pump 6 times worse leh...like when u finish pumping, next moment gotta pump again..hehe

Solid food
i tink the best food to start is rice cereal..can buy at supermarket..a lot of choice till i blur..in the end buy heinz rice cereal and add my breastmilk but she dont wanna eat leh..

Pacifier
Hehe..looks like the Pacifier win the game liao..we all surrender to it..

Crying
Really no idea why she cry..i better check her gums tonite and see got any sight of the teeth or not...

hi crystalmum,
I think my breasts will explode if I wait too long to pump.
Also noticed when it is v full, find it difficult to pump. Hai.. guess just have to be enslaved by the pumping routine.

drinking milk
yah! my gal also like that - sometimes she cries like she hasn't drank for days. Once you give her the milk, she starts playing with the teat after 2 oz. cannot take it! I keep telling her, expressing milk is like squeezing blood leh - v painful process. But she just looks at me with the big big eyes which says "why you so angry? *blink blink*".

phoebe,
i juz want to let the EBM stand in warm water because when my baby drink cold milk, he tends to vomit leh.

jas03,
wa, saw ur post at 3.44am ah? U sleep so little leh? somemore then wake up 8am and start express again. 8.30am start work, 8.00am still pumping at home? How can make it to office? Unless u r the "Lao Ban Niang" is it?

jas03 & tuffy
Can understand it's very heartache to see baby dun drink our milk and hv to pour away. Not only heartache, angry also right?!

You know my baby also like that, playing with tongue and dun wan to drink properly. I think it's because of their growing teeth?

Even when he not drinking milk, he will always stick out his tongue like a puppy. My mum always say it's "toothache" due to teeth growing out...I say it's his bad habit lar.

westbb, i hand expressed into breastshell. When I pump 1 side, I put the breastshell on the other side inside the bra to collect leaking milk, then switch. After finsished pump, I will hand express the rest into the shell. Sometimes my son will crawl over to "Kachiau" to ask for a fresh sip from the shell.

Recording,
Juz read that u mummies also record how much you pump everyday everytime har? Me too leh. And my hb always ask me wy bother to record. I think it has become part of my habit...

Even how much my baby drink, my mum also write down on the record sheet each time. She even record when he poo!!!

crystalmum,
my baby uses pacifier. bo-bian, if dun hv it cannot sleep. We are trying to reduce his dependent liao, but mum is the main caregiver, so I cannot control how she do it during the night as baby will be in my mum's place.

Next 2 weeks my mum place is upgrading and bb will be totally taken care by me... Really scare I cannot handle him, so naughty and mischievous.

i finally managed to latch baby on both breast..
i standby his milk in case he does not agree, even tho i have to throw away the balance of the milk but tat does not matter much since baby finally agree to co-operate.. hooray!

hi westbb,
i have bought 2 pcs of nursing bra from MIM but seems that their bra size is smaller than the standard size that you get off the rack. i bought 36b and can't cover much but i dun face any problem with those that i bought from other places.
wanted to buy a few more but still considering. scared later i can't fit into it...hehe

phoebe:
Horray!!!
320076.gif
another successful mum!
So envy of you, your baby finally wanted to co-operate.
BTW how old is your baby now?

I think I am too late coz my baby is coming 10 months liao..

phoebe:
Horray!!!
320078.gif
another successful mum!
So envy of you, your baby finally wanted to co-operate.
BTW how old is your baby now?

I think I am too late coz my baby is coming 10 months liao..

hello mummies!

pacifier
my baby not yet one month i oredi give her pacifier...i bought the avent one which was so big, cover half her face, i laugh and laugh until got tears...but after the pacifier went into her mouth, it was peace on earth man...but she rejected the pacifier the next day...so bought another brand and she has been using it since then... she dun even want to upgrade to those for older babies...stick to the newborn ones...but she only uses it when she needs to sleep.

Solids
personally, i think the rice cereal is really foul. my friend's baby also hated it. So when baby rejected the rice cereal, i waited one week then gave her real food...apples, sweet potato, pear, peas, peach...she loves it all! in fact, my baby loves fruit so much i had to her savoury food too and when she is very fussy, all i have to do is add peaches in and voila! she laps everything up!

Hand express milk
bitbit, i spray the milk into the funnel. i am using the medela PIS so it's dual pumping mah... so everything flows into the bottle.

bitbit, i'm sure you will do well with your boy!

Phobe,
congrats congrats! latching is always the best! so envious!

ok, another pumping sesssion is almost done.
might come back after baby sleeps...
can't wait to get the playmat tomorrow!

phoebe, wah v heartpain ur milk! me also v careless once, i was pouring out milk from the bottle into smaller ones for feed, and dunno how i go n dip my finger inside one of the bottles full of milk! also end up got to let my sink drink instead!

your MIL is v 'special' leh, first time i heard bb hungry dun let him eat one. whenever my mum or FIL saw my bb cry, the first thing they say will be "he hungry is it??" like i purposedly starving him like that.

i also bought the nursing bras from MIM!! hehe.. no worries, me is flat flat type, no need big cups to cover one haha

jas thks for the link, actually i saw that page but i was looking for the title "T-shirt bra" so that's why i thought i can't find! now that i go read the description then i saw the word "t-shirt bras" there, aiyo so goondoo!

crystalmum, do u need to sterilise the spoon and bowl for bb uh?

bitbit, so u got to take 2 weeks leave lor?

pacifier, do u 'upgrade' the pacifier as ur bb grows older? mine is using the one from Avent. He's now 4.5 mths, but still using the one we initially bought for 0-3mths... does it matter har?? sometimes i saw he suck until got "ring" around his mouth one..

hi bitbit,
thanks.. my baby just turn 1 month today..

i better dun raise my hope too high yet coz it's only one feeding. will have to try again later to see whether my boy is willing to co-operate further or not.. hehe
you may try but be careful in case your baby bites you...hehehe

hi alittlemiracle,
thanks, just hope my baby will continue doing that. i still have to express out after his feeding coz he only takes 40ml just now... i have to bottle feed him till he gets enuf. guess it's more tiring but worth it loh...

baby just slept...she today waste 100ml of precious milk! usuallly will finish 240ml, today only drink 120ml before she sleep...hmmmph...hope she does wake up in the middle of the night for a snack man.

the bra that i use from mim is this one...i call it the sleep bra, they call it the cami bra...i used to use this bra wherever i go unitl recently then go abck to underwire. this is very comfortable. i still use this at home.
http://www.momsinmind.com.sg/leisurebra.html

phobe
yah, i've never heard a MIl who sticks to a timetable so rigidly...somemore your baby only 1 month (congrat!)
is she the type, let baby cry to sleep kind?
maybe you can tell her doctor says to give baby milk more frequenly or doctor says can up the volume of milk. or maybe tell her doctor say your baby is on the small side and need sto take more milk..everything just blame the doctor lah!

Phoebe - Congrats! congrats! so happy for you!!!i wish i could do it too!

alittlemiracle - you SAHM? u getting the playmat 2molo hah..so good..i wish i could buy it too..but too ex..tink if i buy my hubby will divorce me..hehe..

westbb - er..i did not sterlise the spoon and bowl wor..dont know need to or not leh..alittlemiracle/bitbit..do u?

Pacifier
Initially my pd say NUK is orthodontic which is good so i went to buy...then hor my darling has fat cheeks..after a few sucks only..got 2 very red lines on the cheeks liao..but NUK dont have those 'not indent' into the cheeks kind leh..i so sian..then i bgt the Avent one...cos that one is flatter..dont 'cut' into her cheeks..and hor like alittlemiracle..i find it very funny too cos is so big and somemore i cheapskate..bgt the 3-6mths one for her cos tat time she was 2 mths liao..i tink left 1 month mah..then i gotta upgrade..so i bgt the 3-6mths one...kekeke..when my friends see the pacifier..all ask me y so big..hehe...my gal seems ok with the pacifier so i did not change..

Anyway..use how long need to change?

EBM
My mum keeps nagging me almost everyday to stop expressing..cos today my gal decided to be 'superwoman' again...dont drink..drink only half of wat she has been drinking..so my mum say so wasteful..pump so hard but she dont drink might as well give up pumping..i not listening to her and wanted to continue..but hear liao really xianz....

oh ya..there is a very interesting show 'Child of our times' on arts central every thursdays at 10pm..is a documentary on parenting..i tink is a good show..u may be interested to watch..i gotta to 'sacrifice' the 'Lost' show on channel 5 to watch it..hehe..

crystalmum,
no lah, my husband says i like to buy and buy all sort of things, i better continue working! will let you know if i think the playmat is really all that good k.

i also dunno how long need to change, i guess as long as there is no damage to the pacifier, can use right?

Try to keep up the EBM lah...you have already come this far and besides when baby starts solids, you can cut dowm some more mah... tahan a while longer...and then you have the milk, why stop it right;)

will try to catch the programme tonight if i can keep awake

initially, i sterilise the bowl and spoon, but now i don't anymore. my baby puts all sorts of things in her mouth! but bottles i still sterilise, more of a habit really... i hear bottles need to sterilise until 1 year old.

menses
did someone post this topic earlier? mine has not returned yet although i am awaiting it everyday...not that i look foward hor...more like i so nervous...

organic food
any mummies giving/intending to give baby organic food?

Child of our times - just finished watching it, v interesting documentary! have been watching it since it started.

sterilising - how come bottles need to sterilise until 1 yo but bowl n spoon no need uh? because milk easy to contaminate is it?

crystalmum, don't give up! ur milk supply is so good! why ur mum doesn't want u to pump??

menses - it's me who posted tis qn lah
alittlemiracle, u r still expressing rite?

*yawn*
kao_yawn.gif
need to go pump now then koon liao... goodnite and smooth pumping mummies!

I've been expressing breast milk for my girl all these 10 months. In the first few months, it was every 3 hourly 24/7. Really wanted to give up many times but persevered because my girl loves it and growing well. Gradually I cut down when she started taking porridge. Now I'm expressing 3x a day. She drinks breast milk twice a day and formula in the night. This way, she can sleep through the night. It takes lots of determination to express esp working mums.

cyrstalmum, yeah - don't give up yah. I think your mummy is just heartpain that you have to work so hard to express the milk for her. I personally don't mind expressing except that when the breasts don't empty properly, have to hand express and massage - that's the really sian part.

re child of our times - I always forget to watch it!!
not to mention, I can hardly keep my eyes open at 10pm. v sad. always fall asleep and wake up suddenly at 1130 or midnite realising that I have to pump.
what was this episode about?

It' s another brand new day!

oh bitbit, forgot to answer your qn: because i using Medela PIS, the motor comes in a black soft container with a flap so i close this flap to reduce abit of noise.

ling,
when i first started the medela PIS after using the maunual avent for about 2 months, i also got less than the avent. I thouht i had made a bad $600 investment. But after a couple more sessions, i realised to yield more milk, must massage/press/squeeze whilst pumping. I guess this is to compensate for the lack of breast stimulation (the petals does this on the avent).

westbb
i also dunno why bottles beed to sterilise for so long... classic case of monkey see monkey do.

who are the mummies here who look after their own babies with zero help ah...means no mum/MIL/maid to help?

hi janet
for long has your girl been taking formula...got constipation?

tuffy
me also can hardly keep awake at the end of the day... this episode about the importance of physical activity...dun let your child become a slob...or at least that is what i rememeber in my sleepy state.

have a great pumping day ahead!

Menses
Mine also not back yet...hope not so soon cos read somewhere that it may affect milk supply..
alittlemiracle - wah 8 mths your bb? and your mense not back yet? good good..hehe..

Pumping
My mum says bb always waste my milk, i pump till so xin ku also no use, also is so troublesome for me..the washing and i cant eat tis eat that and she dont know wat tonics to brew for me in case i cant take..i know lah..i her daughter she care for me like i care for my gal...but this morning she repeat again...hope it dont affect my milk supply..think must get my auntie to tok to her..hehe..aunties listen to aunties..i personally willing to tahan till end of milk supply tats y i bgt a new pump mah..

Janet - good leh..your bb like your milk..mine like dont like it..recently oso din finish all..haii..wat formula u give her?

Child of our time
i also watch the show till wanna doze off..but sian lor cannot sleep after the show cos gotta pump..tis morning so tired..tis show really BIG PROJECT..they filming over 20 years! they started in 2000...means got another 15 years to go!

Sleeping
Tonight going to bring my gal to my bedroom to sleep with us..she has been sleeping with maid..8P...hope she guai guai tonight...wanna train her to sleep through the nite..my maid always feed her in the middle of the night cos she 'make noise' not those crying type..told her no need to feed but she still feed leh..haiii..

Oh ya..today..my gal went to grap the paperbag that i put my coolbag/icebrick/pump..wah and can hold leh..i so surprised she is so strong..hehe..

Hi alittlemiracle/crystalmum, the PD recommended Enfapro A+. She drinks a mixture of formula and ebm for her night feeds. So far, she hasn't drank formula more than once a day as I'm still expressing. It's easy to warm up the ebm at home but not when we are out.

Crystalmum, what do you normally eat ? Sometimes that affects the taste of the bm. If I drink soup made with threadfin fish/bones, she loves the milk. But when I eat salad, she will not like the taste as the salad dressing is sour.

MIA for quite a while.. busy with my new house.

hv a very bad block dust on my left breast yesterday !! It is the 1st time (my son is now 4mths plus & daughter 29mths) that even press/sqeeze also no milk come out... so painful !! As I'm a working mother, feeling so upset the whole day. Hubby ask if need to send me to doc but dun think theyr able to help also...

So I remember someone here mentioned with hubby's help !! So no choice get him to help & really manage to clear... dunno clear all or not... the hard part is already soften & still abit painful. Think it's bcoz I really press & squeeze too hard whole of yesterday.. abit blue black seen on my breast !!

Really want to cry man !!! Hope will never get it again !!!

can i join in too?

really envy u all can pump so much milk!

My ms is super-low, can any1 advise how to increase the supply?
Currently I can only pump abt 60-100ml each time. and I only pump 2 times a day. Have tried pumping 3-4 hrs interval, but only managed abt 40ml each time. So now, i rather wait abt 6 hrs, can pump abt 80ml.

My bb is very impatient type and refuse to latch on unless she is in a good mood. And my hubby prefers me to pump coz can know how much our bb is drinking.

Going back to work in abt 1 weeks' time. Not sure whether to continue pumping...

Can any1 help?

Thanks so much!