Any MTB staying at Ang Mo Kio

Catz, Mich, did you ask both of your HBs to go home and sleep first and come again the next morning when you all have induction labour? i am thinking of doing so cos if not he has to stay and "suffer" from coldness in the labour ward and sleepness night.. I dont think after all the procedures, i will deliver so fast right?

Nicole,

Walk a lot. Go to the Bishan Park downstairs and walk sure come out very fast. But must be careful. If you have spotting then cannot walk too much, and must feel baby movement. By the way, towards the last week, baby won't be putting on wt la, so no need worry.

Jia You!

Nicole, I got admitted at midnight and I asked hubby to go home first cos only 1cm dilation.. he came back the next morning at 8.30am just in time to view the pushing hee hee. Let him get some rest so he can help around the next few days. I figured no need for both of us to be sleepless together.

Nicole, my hb stayed in 'cos first kid mah... kan chiong..
2nd time in hospital, he was dying to get out and worse thing, c-sect must stay longer!!

Wahh... your baby is biggggg!!!!

Mich, yeah hospital makes you feel like a queen hor? Press a bell for anything you want! Heheh.. i volunteered to stay for my sister when she gets pregnant and delivers... muahaha!

Catz, I was reading in another thread that you did some sleep training for your elder one using Marc Weissbluth's book. Did u also do it for the 2nd one?

Hi Mich, yeah I did Marc weissbluth/babywise for my elder son... didn't work for my extremely difficult 2nd one.. but Gina Ford did the trick!
You thinking of sleep training?

Catz, I used baby whisperer/tracy hogg for my elder one, had to wean her off her pacifier as it was keeping us up when it kept falling out of her mouth... at times we woke up 10 times a nite to stuff it back! After the "training" at 4 months, she has slept thru the nite since.

Now adjusting my younger gal's routine as well... as for sleeping on her own, at 12 weeks she finally mastered the skill. Before that I would have to pat/shush to calm her down and still she would not sleep/or take short naps. Things sort of fell into place this week and I can just put her down and walk out of the room and she would look around then drift off on her own... it is indeed liberating that I dun have to rock or pat etc.

Can u tell me more about how Gina Ford worked for your younger one?

Mich, with Weissbluth, he doesn't give fixed timing for naps... just that it's about 2 hours from the last wake-up. It just didn't work for Bethany 'cos she didn't fall into any regular pattern unlike my older one. So with Gina Ford, she's very precise. xx time - wake up, yy time - feed.. don't feed past zz time.. i was sooooo desperate but it worked! It was tough but finally, she managed to get a routine going! I tried a bit of Tracy Hogg too but I think it was too 'gentle' for my girl! It used to take 4 hours to get her to sleep at night! Swaddling, bouncing, rocking, walking and she would howl like a banshee. Now, she sleeps 7 pm till 7am!
Peace and quiet. My son sleeps at 8pm. Preserves my sanity!

Phy, thanks for your encouragement, guess the waiting time is the most unbearable thing for me now..

Catz/Mich, your topic very interesting.. Where both of you get the books from? When you all started to train your children to sleep? cant imagine have to pat/rock them till they sleep. Alot of houseowrk cannot do already cos of the time wasted on that.

Nicole, I bought the Tracy Hogg book, as for the rest, I borrowed from the library. For my elder one, I trained her at 4 months, it took me 3 nights. For my younger one, started at 4 weeks, took me 7 longgggg weeks but we have arrived!

Catz, yes, when children sleep there is peace in the house. Now my elder gal sleeps at 8pm too, was about 7pm when she was below 1. I have no idea what time she wakes up though cos I dun go in to her room till 7.30am and often find her lying around talking to her toys. I love the quietness when both kids are in bed ha ha. Am tweaking the routine for my younger one, its slowly coming together...

Nicole, can buy from Kino.. I think they hv the widest selection of parenting books. Yup, I agree that a routine is the best!!

mich, hi^5! Ppl always look at me weird when I say the kids are in bed by 7 or 8pm.. like I"m some child abuser. Hey do you find it tough when the older one disturbs the younger one's sleep and vice versa? So tiring.. just hv to let the younger one cry or the older one get disturbed sleep. My girl is very loud and my poor son has disturbed sleep 'cos he's in the adjacent room. She is super loud!!!

Mich/Catz, thanks for sharing with me..

Catz, i dont think you are child abuser cos i personally also find that it is good to train the children to sleep early.. Make it a routine for them. My hb's oousin also did the same thing, both her kids sleep at 8pm till next morning.. cant imagine have to "entertain" them till they feel tired and goes to sleep every night..

Rugrat, I heard that Bishan has a Bishan Women's CLinic or something like that at St 11. The doctor is Dr KK Ho, you try and search for reviews of him on the forum?

Catz, yah, when people hear that my elder one sleeps 12 hours a day, most of them think a) we're strange b) then gets envious cos their kids sleep at midnight hee hee. Even my MIL can't believe it. My hubby and I have made the sacrifice meaning we know we can't go out at nites cos the kids have to be in bed but I think its really worth the sacrifice! Someone even told me your kids sleep early, isn't it inconvenient? I find that I'd rather be inconvenienced than to disrupt their sleep as biologically I find that my elder one needs to go to bed by 8 or 8.30pm latest. I think kids that dun get enough sleep are cranky all day long. Yah at times my elder one will make a fuss at bed, but I just close the door for my younger one... and hope she doesn't wake up

Nicole, whether my elder gal feels tired or not, she is shipped to bed at 8-8.15pm... if she dun want to sleep, she can lie there and talk to her soft toys. I never gave her a choice so she has never figured she can stay up late wa ha ha.

Thanks Nicole and Mich.

Who are the good gynae that you all try before? I have friends recommending Dr Chris Chong, Dr Caroline Khi.

Any comments?

Mich/Catz,

My bb sleeps at 8pm but wakes up for feed at 3am, but if she sleeps at 10pm, can sleep through to 6am. Which is better?

Rugrat, Dr Chris Chong in Gleneagles is good, Mich's gynae Dr Ho too.. Same goes to Dr Caroline Khi and Dr Joycelyn Wong (my gyane now) in TMC.. Dr Wong and Dr Khi are in the same clinic..

Phy, I'd pick sleep at 10 to 6am hee hee at least for now cos your baby is only less than 3 months old? Later on their bedtimes will move earlier and earlier...

Hi Mich, yeah lots of ppl are like 'HARRRRR?'.. then they ask how to do that? :p I see soooo many little babies out at night (sometimes I pop out, leaving my hb to jaga the little ones when they're already in bed) and lots of cranky, purple-baggy-eyed babies out at 10pm! I personally feel that a healthy, happy and smart baby needs lots and lots of sleep everyday
My son also.. sometimes if he's tired, he'll ask to be put to bed at 7.30pm! By himself! No fights, no complaining. He loves his bed!

rugrat, Yup, I've heard about Dr Chris Chong - he's a good gynae.. Caroline Khi and Joycelyn too.. I go to Dr Yvonne Chan at TMC. She delivered both my darlings and she's a really good doctor.

Phy, same, I pick 10 to 6am.. coincides with gina Ford timings

Catz, ha ha, I really love the shocked look on people's faces and my friends are totally amazed when they come over at nites to visit. I really honestly don't know how I did it... all I observed was that from about 3 months old, my gal would want to go to sleep at abt 7pm for the nite and I just happily went with her bio-clock. I would dreamfeed her at 11pm before I sleep. When she was 7 months old, my hubby and I forgot to feed the 11pm bottle but she never woke up till next morning so I figured she was lasting 12 hours thru the nite. Yup, like you, I would pop out for coffee with friends while hubby stays home or hubby goes out to church and I stay home. We just couldn't go out together that's all. Then later on when she got older, my MIL came over to jaga her while she slept and we went out. Funny thing is when they get accustomed to sleeping early, their bodies can't take it when they sleep later. Once my cousins came to town to visit, and I put her to bed late - 9pm for 3 nites in a row... and she fell sick! No more late nites!

Now for my younger one, when she became 2 months old, she also wanted to go to sleep at 7pm for the nite. So I also dreamfeed her at 10ish as well. Are you a SAHM? If my 2 kids dun sleep early, think I will go nuts ha ha. Its 9ish now, and there is so much peace in the house

hihi mich, i'm a sahm
yup, the looks on their faces are really priceless! think it's an asian thing to keep babies up all the time esp with working parents.. but when i worked, i dashed back home to get my son into bed by 7.30pm. mad rush but i'd rather he sleeps well than spend time with a cranky kid

my daughter isn't easy... but i just leave her to yell it out.. if she can't calm herself, then i hv to go in.. but she's ultra cranky this week. think teething? :p

Hi Catz, we spend our free nites doing our own things like surfing the forum
My cousin said that with working parents its inevitable kids sleep late but like you, I don't agree. I work part time since my elder one was born and even if I have to miss seeing her at nites if I come home late, so be it - either my hubby will put her to bed or my MIL will come over to my place and put her down. Does ur elder boy go to childcare? How old is he now? For your daughter, you say she's not easy because of she is more strong willed? I know sleep training for strong willed babies are really tough.

Had a terrible day - could hardly walk today since i would be in pain. Was struggling to walk to office from the MRT. Sign of popping soon?

vickvick, Mich is right.. your baby's head has engaged and may have dropped down lower into your pelvis.. My case is different thou his head has down but not engaged yet and neither is he that low yet, my gynae was telling me that it is common for 2nd time mummies, some babies choose to drop down furthur during labour time.. Aint you suppose to be on leave already?

Nicole, honestly I found it easier when they are older around 3-4 months... when I started my younger one at 4 weeks, it took such a long time. I read its also cos their sleep biorhythm not quite as matured yet. After 4 months and older, they will cry louder cos more aware and habits more entrenched.

vickyvick, yah I think it's baby's head dropping deep into the pelvic cavity.. wow, poor you!!!!

Mich, how old are your kids? My son is born Jan 05, slightly over 2.5 years.. girl is Jan 07, about 7 months.

Nicole, yup, 4 months is the right time to do sleep training but Gina Ford gives you a plan from day 1 onwards
Incl how to cope with enough breastmilk for their 3,6,9 wk growth spurt.

Catz, my elder girl is born May 05 so now 27 months and younger one is June 07 now 3 months old... they are 2 yrs apart.

Today my baby gal kept having her nap interrupted cos she would wake up in the middle to practise her flipping *sigh*

Mich, hey your kiddos have about the same age gap as mine! My kiddos are just about 2 years apart, almost!! Are you planning on sending your elder girl to kindy? My son will start N1 at Marymount kindy next year
Where do you stay? I forget already.. I'm at St 11.

Babies reaching developmental milestones are like that! Luckily she's sleep trained! I remember it was terrible sleep training my son 'cos he could pull to standing at 6 months :p

Yah lor i also think its the sign to pop soon?
Luckily today not as bad as yesterday but really feel like big clumsy elephant when i walk now :p
See what gynae says tmr..

Nicole, my maternity leave starts from tomorrow Haha think everyone in the office was expecting me to pop early instead of carrying to full term!

Catz and Mich, i have heard that the first year is extrememly important for babies cos that is when u can stimulate them most when u talk and hug them. And its not advisable to place them under infant care until they are more than one??

Catz, I am very keen on the kindy Bethesda AMK at St 11 as I have heard good reviews about it. I live at St 22 which is not very far off. Last time my dad and I used to live at Blk 117 but that was years ago already. Currently my elder one is at NTUC childcare at Blk 209 for half day. I can either transfer her to Bethesda or continue to leave her at NTUC.

My younger gal, besides flipping has become uninterested in feeding too. It has been quite a stressful few days. She can sleep the whole nite and wake up still not hungry, really kind of worrying. I suspect that its cos she has suddenly developed an awareness of the environment so food is really not a priority at the moment? Guess I just gotta ride it out.

Vickvick, I think infantcare also has some advantages... they become sociable and less demanding for attention cos its a group setting... of course there is the possibility of catching viruses as its a group environment. I only placed my elder one in childcare at 20 months...before that it was me and my ILs who was looking after. Have a smooth delivery!

vicky you poor thing!!! Must be so uncomfortable. I remember both my 3rd trimester were super uncomfortable. Aches and pains everywhere... swollen too! Yep, babies grow so much in the first few years of life!!! That's why I am a SAHM

Mich, Bethesda good ah? I went to Marymount kindy and I loved it there so therefore enrolled my son there. Was worried Bethesda wasn't as good. I prefer the wide open spaces at Marymount
You're lucky your girl is already in childcare! At least you can spend time with your little one! Yeah 3 months is tough.. they get distracted while feeding and milk intake drops a lot! I went through that for both of my cheeky ones.

Gynae says i am 1cm dilated. Wants to induce me on my due date 5 Sep as he says that placenta is already "ripe" and that baby's head is very low.
Keeping my fingers crossed that baby will pop earlier than that - dont want to be induced as might end up having a long labor..

Hi Catz, I heard good reviews about Bethesda, seems like quite a lot of pple want to send their kids there. Yup Marymount is good, I went to see but my hubby would rather have Bethesda since its Christian school. Its really hard to deal with baby and toddler together. How do you do it?

So your babies also went thru the 3 month milk strike? My elder one did 2 days of no milk at all and went back to normal feeding. This 2nd one has been fighting feeds for the past 5 days... really want to pull my hair ha ha. I usually pump and put in a bottle for her, now she can just drink 30ml and decide its enough whereas she used to down 140ml just 2 weeks back. How long did the milk strike for both your kids last?

Wow vicky, congrats! Yah I guessed baby's head was low!

Mich, I barely cope day to day.. haha
Getting easier lah but when Bethany starts to crawl and grab korkor's things..er.. dunno how. I was debating btw Zion presbyterian and Marymount.. then my hb saw the huge playground at Marymount..haha.. that was it. We thought AMK Methodist and Bethesda looked a bit run down :p Anyway, my son goes to children's church every Sunday so it doesn't really matter so much.

Wow, your elder one's milk strike is really bad huh? My son had a really small appetite from month 3 onwards.. from 75th percentile at birth, he dropped to 20th percentile by 8 months.. and all the way 20th percentile until 18 months where he regained to 50th percentile. :p My girl also doesn't like to latch and drink up her milk if she's distracted so I try to pump for her (if not milk supply will drop also).. then keep stuffing into her mouth lor. I think they might milk strike all the way until 6 months :p Sian right?

Catz, oh dear, means I gotta put up with her fighting the feeds for so long ha ha. Yup now I keep stuffing it into her mouth while she protests. Today my hubby decides that he will not force her and see how far the 30ml will go. And at the same time, I decided she shall also learn to sleep after flipping. She sleeps on her front normally so when she flipped to lie on her back she can't get back to sleep... so I am now training her to sleep on her back after flipping or there will be no naps for the next 2 months till she can turn back. Yah Bethesda does look a little run down. There's another kindy I looked at which was not too bad - Newton Life Church...

Catz, one more question... did your kid's small appetite affect their nite time sleep? I mean did they wake up hungry at nites since they did not drink too much in the day?

Mich, I've heard Newton life is very good but alamak, the jams going up to Newton!!! :p Nah.. Marymount is good enough for me.. even then, the jams are already quite bad going up to Marymount! :p

Yah I also keep stuffing into her mouth but dunno lei, if I'm heartless and starve her, sekali she starts getting her naps all wonky :p So far so good, she'll fight me but I am one determined mama.. hee
My son never had a problem with nighttime sleep, thank God!!!

Hi ladies,one day never log in, the thread moves fast ya..

Vick, at least you are dilated.. My last check-up shows my cervix not even dilated yet, Tmlr will be my judgement day whether to induce or not to cos of my boy's weight.. I am also afraid of induced labour but i try to think positively.. if really no choice i have to go thru this way, i have to accept it as long as both mum and baby are safe..

Catz, I also try to keep stuffing the bottle in but up to a certain point then she will cry like the "killing pig" cry face red red then I know cannot force anymore. I have discovered that 60-90ml can now last her 3 hours. Looks like its just her appetite that has gone off track. Yah Newton is a little far, so I thot of sending her on the school bus. But it worries me since she is only 3 next yr, seems a tad bit young to be on the bus on her own? I'll most likely leave her at NTUC till she is 4 yrs old... she simply loves the childcare and all the teachers love her so I'm quite happy for now.

Nicole, yes, please dun worry too much and take it as it comes... things will work out
jia you.

Hi all!finally i'm back,but just a short while before i go pump.trying to increase ss so that baby has more milk to drink.

my baby gal was born on 28th august 2007,at 2222hrs.nice combination ya?haha.via emergency c-section,cos after 2 pills and lots of checking for dilation,and laughing gas and 2 syringes of epidural,i still couldn't dilate past 4cm.and cervix was swollen already,so c-section in the end.so my next one i'm definitely going to c-section straight away.end the misery fast!my contractions were all the way at 2min interval yet apparently not big on the machine!faint...

upload a photo of my gal to share.everyone said she looks like my hubby.i just think she looks like a boy boy,haha.

949932.jpg

Hi Leooh,your gal so cute leh.. She seems to have a chubby cheek.. You do take care..
Hope the next round is my turn to upload my boy's pic ... Hehehehe

Leeoh, congrats! Well done!
Now try to rest well and wear your abdominal binder so that your wound will hurt less!

Nicole, waiting for your birth story also!

Mich, yah I am tempted to go with the schoolbus to save myself the hassle and headache of being stuck in a daily jam but 3 is a little young lah :p Just tahan lor. Glad your girl is happy at NTUC childcare.. I generally don't like NTUC anything but I've heard their childcare is surprisingly good!

leeoh, congrats, she is so sweet
Take care and rest well. Do u have a CL to help?

Catz, actually not every NTUC is good... but this one is really above average... the teachers are really lovely and the place bright and airy -just got renovated. I am so thankful to God for opening up a place there for my gal... half day slots at NTUC are very difficult to secure as they only allow limited numbers.

leeoh. congrates! Take care and rest well!

Nicole, dun kan chiong. Try talking to baby see if he'll come out faster?

Just weigh myself, dunno why y i seem to have put on wt instead of losing wt. This is so depressing.

Phy O, if you are breastfeeding, normally you will tend to get hungry easily...Dont be depressed..I remember when i breastfed my #1, i also put on some weight.. cos i tend to eat alot.. Maybe just watch out your diet from now onwards..

Mich, the NTUC childcare at Blk 329 not bad i heard,they gave alot of materials.. why dont you consider leaving your gal here as your MIL stays around this area? Dont ever enrol your kids to PAP which my esperience told me... I am planning to send my boy to either a good childcare or kindy in future, no PAP anymore.