Any MTB staying at Ang Mo Kio

Nicole, think I got the block wrong when I posted earlier... my gal is in the NTUC in Blk 329... that's the one that is really good. It is the nearest one to my IL place so my FIL walks there everyday to fetch her.

Phy, I also tend to eat alot cos of bf... dun worry when u stop, ur weight will go back down...

nicole, what's wrong with PAP?
I think it's a bit rigid lah... but anyway, hv already enrolled in marymount

Yah I eat A LOT when breastfeeding.. so scary!!!

Nicole, from what I have reading, some of the PAP or rather PCF kindies have really upped their standards don't know how true...

Catz/Mich,my gal studied in one of the PAP in Hougang area cos at that time my mum helped me to babysit her when i was working.. I realised they dont give much materials perhaps diff PAP diff standard.. As i know P1, they already started on Hanyu Pinyin whilst PAP they never even give any material to let the children gets hands on .. How i came about to know this cos when P1 my gal's primary school has parents meet parents session, one of her classmates mum actually told me that in her gal's childcare centre, they already started the kids on Basic Hanyu Pinyin..that's why her gal gets hands on in Hanyu Pinyin quite fast.. whilst my gal was still struggling with that.. Thank God afterthat she picked up real fast.I also realised her PAP class teacher abit "lag", she never make learning as an enjoyable time for the children... Always condemn and complain..I realised Christisn kindies, the children learnt more things and speak good English..

The NTUC childcare at Blk 329 is really popular,even my HB's friend who stays in Mei Hwan Drive also want to enrol his son there next year but now they put him on waiting list..now his son is in Nursery class with PAP... but he is thinking to enrol his son to the childcare so he can learn more things..

Hi Ladies, i am spared from inducing after my check-up with my gynae today, she is adapting the "wait and see" idea cos she is very pro natural, wanted my boy to choose his own birthday, my cervix still dilate at 1cm.. i have lost 1kg but my boy is gaining, now he is 3.75kg.. she was telling me if by 12 Sept there is still no sign of delivering, she wont hesitate to induce me.. I told her probably my boy knows now is still the lunar 7th month, that's why he dont want to come our, he prefers 8th month (fatt in cantonese) hehehehe

nicole, waaah your boy is big!! my SIL delivered at wk 36.. the kid was already 4kg and she tore very badly :p FREAK OUT!!! I feel painful for her! she was waddling very badly!

PAP kindy yah I think the teachers are underpaid and overstressed.. i prefer christian kindies

Nicole, wow, I didn't know that this NTUC cc was that popular... I am very blessed that my gal has a place and a half day one at that as half day slots are limited to only a few in each centre. Hope ur boy will come out soon

Haha nicole i think my gal is also too comfortable inside and doesnt want to come out. Still no signs yet - think cannot escape being induced. Read that the contractions from induced birth usually more intense than those natural contractions - probably cannot escape epidural already

Vick,dont worry too much.. Cannot tahan the pain just go for epi lor, i am telling myself the same thing too... my gyane also said my boy very comfy in my tummy.. she keeps encourage me to walk more, climb stairs, do squats... woah so many things... walk more.. i scared now this time i go shopping alone, what if waterbag bursts how.. climb stairs... think i will be breathless man!! Do squats... this i still can accept... now trying to do when i have done with all my housework..

vicky yeah the induced birth is darn painful.. i started hitting my hb with the gas mask.. then i ripped it out of the wall and finally took epidural 4 hours before i popped :p

Haha..i told hubby that be prepared to suffer from me squeezing and hitting him :p

Damn bored waiting and doing nothing at home. I cant imagine being confined at home for an entire month

vickvick... during confinement there is no time to be bored... cos u'll be busy with baby. Who is doing confinement for you?

Mich, yah 'cos my hb said he was gg out of the room for a little while (the gas from the gas mask made him super sleepy) then he disappeared for half an hour when I was having contractions every minute!! when he came back, I tried to hamtam him with the mask then it came out of the socket.. and contraction came.. nearly died. :p

vick, er.. I went out during confinement.. if not I sure go nuts.

Hi Catz, I was wondering if Bethany had trouble sleeping when she was learning to flip. Now I keep having to hold Joy down to prevent her from flipping or she can't nap... and middle of nites, she had to be rolled back... though no more nite feeds now gotta wake up to roll over back hee hee. Am thinking if I should train her to sleep after she rolls.

Catz, you are so funny esp the part you hit your hb with the gas mask... i cant help laughing when i read that.. Your poor hb must be thinking so innocently, what have i done wrong?

Vic, during your confinement, you wont get bored.. you will be busy either milking liked a cow or busy clearing poo and wee.. I do agree during this period of time, the waiting part is really unbearable.. i feel that too..

Mich, time really flies.. now your gal starts to learn to flip already.. When you started to chat on the thread here, you were just liked me now waiting to "pop". hehehehe

Mich i will be doing confinement in MIL's house. Hopefully i wont be bored to death staying at home haha. Told hubby that today definitely must bring me out to walk walk before i get induced tmr!

Mich, I actually swaddled her very very tightly.. end up she dunno how to flip... so at 4 months, I unswaddled her and she had many nights of wailing but in the end, she was OK

Nicole, eh, I was having non-stop contraction and he nicely said 5 mins leh.. wah kau.. if there was something heavier, I would've used it on his head liao! Hehehe..

vick, as long as you got internet at MIL's house should be OK lah!

Hi Catz, meaning just leave her to learn how to fall back asleep after rolling? I am contemplating doing that now... today her naps were totally washed... cos as she tries to settle to sleep, her body reflex would make her flip... and after flipping she won't sleep and happily stare at ceiling and talk to herself... sigh.

vickvick, I assure u won't be bored... there's just no time. Looking after the baby is a 24 hour job... so these few days enjoy and rest more k?

Nicole, yup time really flies and very soon Kayden will be learning to flip

Mich, yeah... no choice.. developmental milestone like that :p Just gotta let her yell it out..

vick...heee, hope your MIL lets you get out of the house if you need to. i cannot stay at home all the time.. will go nuts. I'd rather lug my 2 kids out (tiring...) than stay home all day unless they're ill.

Vick, have a smooth delivery.. Hope to see your baby's pic soon..

Catz, so lucky of you.. confinement still can get to go out... I wonder did you bring your newborn out as well? I doubt i can be so lucky liked you. Think will stay home most time to face CL and MIL.. Hehehehe

Ladies, think i will go mad after CL left.. The whole kitchen definitely in a great mess with oil grease and dirt cos due to heavy cooking during my confinement period.. After the baby's shower too.. cos many relatives and friends will be definitely invited to my place for the celebration.. Alot of clean-up to do for sure.. Now i come to think of that, i really need axe oil hehehehe

Nicole, your CL will probably be cleaning up for you so dun worry... hopefully she is the super clean kind...

Catz, since Joy won't sleep and keeps flipping from front to back, I am putting her on the back to learn to sleep... just let her cry lah... no choice already.

Nicole,

U delivered?

Vick,
If u can tahan pain then dun waste your energy hitting him la. Just squeeze the bb out.

Nicole,

U delivered?

Vick,
If u can tahan pain then dun waste your energy hitting him la. Just squeeze the bb out.

any good & reliable CL to intro? Need to find one cos my MIL is helping my SIL to take care of my 2 nephews so bo bian need to engage one now.

Hi Elaine, sorry I am not a believer of doing confinement.. both my kids I didn't do confinement. Plus both my kids were born during CNY period...hehe.

Nicole, yah I know a lot of CL are darn unhygienic.. my SIL's place went from white and new to brown and dirty and cannot get rid of the brown stains!!! Er.. as for confinement, I didn't do confinement.. just eat nutritiously and rest lor. For my first, I was out and about shopping at Robinsons for baby stuff at day 3...
Yup, I bring baby out also. Brave hor?;P More like I cannot be stuck at home.

Elaine, the CL i have is already booked for that time... I used a agent dun know whether you are keen. The agent is good lah... recommended by others in the forum.

Dear All

I'm nicole hubby... her water bag broke this morning and she warded now... will be expecting baby Kayden in the evening...

Hi Mich & Nicole,

Can I join you gals in this thread, I'm staying in AMK as well.

Actually I have very bad experience in Blk 329 NTUC childcare though the teachers are nice.
I put my girl there for six month and she get sick almost very month.
I think tis centre is having shortage of staff and within the six months, already change 3 principle, something is not right here.
During the month where HFMD, this NTUC got the most cases of tis disease compare to the NTUC at Blk 344 which is near to the AMK mrt station.
Heard that Blk 344 got no case of HFMD.
I'm very diasppointed with the childcare at Blk 329 as they did not inform me about a child having HFMD and I let my girl attend class and the next two days, she got it.

But my girl did learn things from there however I can't let her attend anymore due to her immunize system is not strong and she get sick easily.
Since she did not attend the childcare, she is ok till now. Am thinking to let her attend the enrichment class at amk hub.

Any suggestion?

sweet, you can try giving her supplements to boost her system? i give my boy sambucol... and animal parade multivits. think a lot of mommies here give nordic naturals cod liver oil, colostrum etc.. aiyoh i'm so scared when my son goes to nursery next year!!!!

Sweet, welcome

I'm quite surprised of your experience with the Blk 329 NTUC leh... cos my experience so different from yours. My gal falls sick but I assume its normal for all kids to do that in group environment and yup there were lots of cases of HFMD but we were kept up to date by the circulars...

Yah re supplements... I give Vit C, multi vitamins and probiotics... I heard sambucol is good also... Catz, where did u get the sambucol? Initially my gal kept falling sick too but now its better and even if she falls sick, recover fast also...

Mich, I order sambucol from luckyvitamin sprees on this forum
Vitakids is the only place in Singapore that sells it but it's super marked up :p I refuse to pay so much!

Hi Catz,

thanks for your recommendation.
I will try to give my girl sambucol. Actually now I'm giving my gal vit C already, is it not enough or still need to give others?

Hi Mich,

Ya initially they did inform us about the HFMD everyday but in May 07, there is a sudden outbreak of the HFMD and they did not inform us.
That is the time they change principal and I talk to her personally. She did told me that she wil scold the teacher and etc.. but I'm not interested about all tis. I'm so pissed off and I withdraw my gal immediately from there.sigh..

Sweet, Vit C is good but its effects are limited... Gotta give a mixture of different supplements and it will work together to boost her immunity. My gal caught the HFMD but it was very mild. Infact I didn't even know she had it till she went to school and at the door they inspected her and told us to bring her home. She only had a few ulcers in her mouth but no other symptoms. No fever etc. We kept her home for about a week before she went back to school. Not sure which class your gal is in? But my gal's teachers are really quite good... when she is sick, they will call and check on her...

Anyhow, how about giving babies resort a try? Heard that's quite good... that is my next choice. Its a smaller school, alot more expensive but got enrichment kind of activities. I also met the principal... they are more personal for sure.

Hey ladies, finally i can log in.. Now trying to recover from my soreness and waiting for my milk to "flow" in... so far i havent suffered from any engorgement or pain yet thou i started breastfeed Kayden after i just delivered and during my stay in the hospital.. Afterwhich, seemed liked he is very fustrated with nothing but air from my breasts when he sucked.. now he is on Friso milk.. try to pump to stimulate both breasts last night.. pump out nothing but air ... hehehe
i just wait for another few days and see how.. Mich/Catz, any suggestions as both of you are pro in breastfeeding

hihi Nic, you gotta massage your breasts really well. Actually you won't be able to pump out much milk for the first few weeks.. in fact most pump manuals say don't pump for the first 4-6wks.. let baby suckle then if you want, pump after that to stimulate. When you're in the shower, give your breasts a good long hard massage with warm water.. hope it works for you!

I am not a MTB.. : P

I am staying in AMK though, mother of 2 children (5yrs and 3yrs old)

Mich : both my children are in NTUC Blk 329 and my experience with them are good till date. They joined this year January 2007. Previously my elder girl go to another childcare across the road.

Nicole : Congrats and welcome to Motherhood

cheers,
astee

I am back. Nicole, we popped on the same day!! :)
Baby Valyn weighs 3.37 kg and is 53 cm long.

My labor was terrible - took me 24 hours before i popped.

Supposed to be induced on Thu morning at 8am to break water bag but cervix just open at 1.5 cm and cannot break waterbag. At 5 pm, cervix only at 2.5 cm but doc managed to break waterbag. At 3 am the next morn , only 4 cm dilated but cannot tahan pain anymore and opted for edpidural. Finally at 7 am the next morn, 9 cm dilated and ready to give birth. Baby finally popped at 0813am. Wanted to collapse already!!

Now really feel like mother cow at home - keep feeding her only to see her poo poo next minute

Nicole, welcome back! Why dun u let Kayden latch and then if still not enough, then supplement with FM. That's what I did for about 3 days then after that no need already. Cos direct latch will stimulate milk flow faster... plus he's taking in the colostrum in the early days so that's why it seems like nothing much. In fact I could not pump anything out till day 5-6... but baby seemed to have enough...

vickvick, congrats!

Astee, welcome. My gal joined NTUC in Feb this yr. My elder one is 2 yrs plus and younger one 3 months. Re the childcare across the road, I visited but heard not so ideal things about it... NTUC is much much better.

vickvick, congrats!!!! haha.. so 'qiao'.. I think your labour is same as mine :p Yup, newborns poo a lot.. that's why I always tell my friends to order 1 carton of Nepia NB diapers