Any MTB in Punggol?

Amore
I saw the medela nipple formers and breast shells at TMC pharmacy. Think i can them from the pharmacy if i really got problems. Thanks for that info.

Even if my breast are "zhen qi", able to produce milk, I think the max i can go on breastfeeding is 6 months. My co dont have a proper nursing rm and my job requires me to go to site offices, so pumping will be a problem.

Wat bottles you using huh? I have not bought any bottles yet. But have 3 avent small bottles (free gift from the avent breast pump) and two pigeon bottles (free gift from the steriliser).

Today went to see gynae. Baby is 38 wk liao and very comfy inside. Head not engaged yet and cervix not dilated. Looks like i will carry on waiting.

Hey, crystalwhite, you around... have you delivered?

Welcome Nana
kao_welcome.gif

Me at Coraledge station. I m a first time MTB going to due soon.

Are you a FTWM or SAHM?

hi Nana, welcome. i also stay near Kadaloor station. which blk are u staying? I'm at 648. just gave birth to my gal on 23rd dec. so she's only 10+ days old.

babyjan, my job also require me to travel to customer's place. and sometimes will need to station at customer's place for a few days or even mths. some company might not have a proper nursing room. Was thinking maybe at home will latch and also pump so dat my mum can help feed my gal. when working just express and throw. I know it is very wasteful. if the BM not enuff then ask my mum to supplement will formula.

i'm using avent bottles. I also have the pigeon wide bottles from the sterliser but have not use it yet. i think ur avent breast pump can only fit avent bottles leh. did u try to see if it fit on the wide neck pigeon bottle? i noe u can use the wide neck teat on a avent bottle. if u plan to buy bottles. u only need 2 or 3 small bottles. my CL was telling me once they reach 2nd mth, their milk consumption is > 4 oz liao. so the small bottle cannot be used anymore.

I using medela pump. every time i pump, i need to pump into normal bottle then pour into avent bottle to store. or store in the normal bottle then CL need to pour into avent bottle when feeding. so quite troublesome.

saw crystalwhite when i had my review last thursday. dunno if she deliver during this weekend anot. she was telling me she does not have any PC to access.

ya, it will be so inconvenient if at customer's place. Somemore got to pump at toilets...so unhygenic. Like wat u said, express then throw is so "wasteful". Every drop of our breast milk is so precious.

I also have the medela pump. My fren just lent me her PIS advance. She invested in this but stopped breastfeeding after 6 months. She said cannot "dong" anymore. So i will use the PIS at home and the avent manual one at wk. The trouble with avent bottles is that it can only fit avent pump. So if use other brands of pump must pour out the milk.

Oic, no wonder she didnt login for a long time. Will sms her when i pop.

Let's have a gathering wif our babies after our confinements.

Hi mummies, hope all of you are well!

Didn't have access to PC and missed logging in and all of you. Hubby managed to assemble a new PC and i am back now

There is so much happening in Jan thread and there, guess i have to catch up with the post slowly.

Babyjan
My gynae asked me to reconsider TMC and since she asked me so many times, i changed to TMC. I remember we have the same EDD 17 Jan, wonder if we will meet there or not
maybe we just sms each other when we pop.

Shall go and read up some past posts now, mummies all the best........

Hi Hi

BBJ: i'm a FTWM. Must be feeling really excited now, going to meet your little one soon.

amore: i'm staying at 637, perhaps can meet up after your confinement heee...

just to share, i'm breastfeeding but not giving direct cos baby norman is a very impatient young man heee... & partially also becos i have very low supply at the beginning. now going to stop soon since he's reached 6 mths. so u gals will have to concentrate on building up your supplies in the beginning, but not forgetting your own health! breastfeeding is a great thing, but if u are not able to for certain reasons, dont blame yourselves too much.

i almost ran into depression during my maternity leave cos of low supply, so do cheer up & relax. find someone to talk to, it really helps.

i'm working in a ladies environment & very fortunate to have a bunch of collicks who are also breastfeeding, hence manage to 'dong' for 6 mths.

not to say further, least i offend anyone unknowingly, when i came here to make more friends.

btw, i'm using medela PIS. have tried ISIS & found it's good too, too bad i've gotten my PIS then, & ISIS price is also higher than PIS...

i'm just giving my two cents worth, hope it helps :]

amore/ babyjan,

re: DOM or hard liquor. The purpose of these are to dispel wind and warm the body. Personally, I think it's ok to take it while bf. I'll consume these directly after I finish expressing out the bm. Dur the interval, I'll pour the liquor into a glass and add hot boiling water. This helps to vaporise the alchol. By the time finish expressing, can drink liao.

Re: Jaundice. Was only told by the polyclinic's nurse that we shld avoid papaya and ginger. By which, she means direct consumption. So just don't directly eat the ginger that's fine. This is from the theory that the colouration will worsen the jaundice. But wine/ liqor is different. Haven't heard that it's to be avoided, unless what u hv is Ginger wine.

amore, no he's not on TBF cos i don't have enuf supply *sob sob*. he's only drink bm for his day feeds, & formula for night feeds.

yes, i totally expressed for 6 mths, supply slowly going down liao, now only can only supply 1 - 2 feeds a day.

nana, i see. feel like giving my gal TEBM. my gal always suckle for very long. sometimes 1 hr sometimes can be 2 hrs. when the CL give her the BM in bottle she can finish it very fast. CL ask me to express so night time she'll use bottle to feed her. in order to give me some rest. daytime then i latch her on. but i still need to wake up 2 to 3 times to pump in order to maintain the supply..

so now dunno to express out to bottle feed her or direct latch. cant imagine when CL leave leh. night time bottle feed and express. hmmm....

amore, wow u are a great mum, waking 2-3 times to pump at night! i only managed pump once at night during my ML.

the suckling can stimulate your bm. maybe she's suckling for comfort & wants to be near mummy.

hey, maybe u can try pumping after feeding girlgirl during day time (i find myself having most milk in the mornings), then your CL can use that to feed during nite time while u sleep?

or, u can try placing the bb with u on the bed & try the sleeping method? look at the side lying method in http://www.medela.com/NewFiles/faq/latchon.html

that way u can catch some sleep while girlgirl can feed at the same time & do without the expressing. hey, no washing of bottles & pumps at all! hee...

thats how my collick told me to do & she's still bf her son who's 14mths & daughter who's 3 yrs, but i failed cos my boy dun have the patient to latch (or was it me muahahah...)

however, if u r pumping, try pumping longer. my pd asked me to do it for 15 mins per sess, but a collick who's also TEBM told me to do more for each sess, & it did increase my bm.

u can do it girl!

Went for my gynae visit today. Baby still not engaged yet!!! Its already the 39 wks and still no action yet.

I hope to celebrate baby's full month before CNY, so really hope that she can be out these few days. If not, we are thinking of inducing her next week. Is this a good idea?

babyjan, huh bb not engage yet? have u discuss with ur gynae abt wanting to induce? not engage can induce? u due next week right? i suppose doc will usually induce if bb overdue.

Yup, still not engaged.

Me doing lotsa squats and pelvic rocks (as advised by gynae) lately to expand my pelvic. Hopefully these exercises will help.

My EDD is 17 Jan. But we hope to induce her on 15 Jan (2 days before EDD). Our consideration is that if she still dun come out on EDD, will have to induce her anyway. My gynae is fine with that.
Y'day, she did a cervix check for me and the mucous plug (some brown stain) came off last nite. Cervix not dilated yet but soften. Hopefully baby will come out naturally these few days.(No need to threaten her wif induction).

Amore, when u induce your baby, has her head engaged already? I just worried that I might end up in emergency c-sec if induction is not successful.

babyjan,

just my personal concern k....
not really for inducing bb, esp when she's not even overdue. EDD is only an estimate based on our cycle. Have heard from a few experienced moms, that at check-up, bb not engaged. but at the labor onslaughts, bb is already engaged.

like for me. gynae was really patient. he gave me 2 wks grace after EDD then induced. For me, the inducment was unsuccessful, coz in the end, the dosage gave bb foetal distress and yes, I had emerg C-section.

While I hope you're not like me. But do give it some tot? Unless absolutely necessary, then induce hor.

babyjan, at dat time i did not ask the doc if bb is engaged. as my main concern is bb is not gaining enuff weight and whether the placenta is passing enuff to her anot.

but i noticed during the induction, when i experience the contraction i can feel bb like drilling downwards.

the emergency c-sec was also my worry when doc ask me to induce bb. and i did tell him my concern.

do discuss with ur hubby and see how u all feel. did the gynae tell u wat is the chances of emergency c-sec?

my gynae did it very slower. for me to dilate from 0 to 4 cm. it took > 24 hrs. it's only when I'm about 3.5 cm then he drip me. the dripping is really fast though. w/i 2 hrs I'm dilated from 4 to 10 cm.

ya agree with littledan that engagement might only come during labour.

babyjan, since your cervix is soft already, wont it be high chance that it's ready for labour?

for my case, i induced on the EDD. i wanted to wait, but bb was already +/-4kg & he's still growing, which may make norm delivery difficult.

but my cervix only dilated less than 1cm after 5hrs, & gynae not optimistic that i can dilate to 10 by another 4 hrs, so end up e-csection. seeing amore's, makes me feel that i shld have waited...

looking back, i had the same concern as u, but now i feel i shouldn't have been so stressed on myself.

ya, u should discuss with hubby & gynae, & most important, relax.

Thanks mommies here for the advices. And yes, I did try the "ahem" thing too. But still no contraction, not even mild cramps.(sigh)

Will see gynae on Monday and do another round of cervix check and assess whether it is alright to induce. Hopefully cervix is dilated.

Heard that induce is more painful and labour is longer??

babyjan, pple told me induce is more painful.

feeling abit sad now.. suddenly my milk supply is very low. dunnot why. used to be able to nurse and pump at nite. each session can yield about 50 to 80 ml per breast. not so pathetic oni 60 ml both breast put together. dunno why. then during day time when i nurse my gal. she does not seems to be full even when she empty both breasts. need to supplement with those i express. sigh... may need to give in to FM liao.

Amore, u taking the fish soup with green papaya? It will help to increase milk supply. And before each feed or pump, try to drink warm water or a hot milo. Try to relax, it will help too.

Was reading the birth story of another Jan mummy who managed to deliver her bb naturally and smoothly via induction even tho bb's head was not engaged and no dilation at all. At least there is some hope for me.

Gals, wish me luck tomorrow ...now going to do more squats.

babyjan, only took fish soup and green papaya once. pple say drink soup will help. i every meal also have soup leh. hmm...

whether natural or induce longer i guess it all depends. my gynae was telling me actually he can insert the pressies for me in his clinic and let me go home to help in dilation. but becoz of the condition of the bb he say better not. have to be in hospital to monitor bb after the pressies is inserted. dripping really hasten the contraction alot!

i have a no. of frens who are induced birth. either is bb too big must come out early or bb not growing already must come out now. all of them is able to give birth naturally. so quite a no. of success story. good luck gal!

amore, this is the usual case. first, over-supply, then under. It's the body trying to adjust. You'll need to more actively let bb suckle. Perservere a while more, and the supply shld stabilised.

My gynae prescribed yeast tablets and fish oil for the milk supply. Regular intake of the green papaya soup or the cod fish should help. Else, take the Anmum Breastfeeding formula. This was from my experience.

Most importantly, you must have adequate rest. Your body needs time to repair and rest too. Take it easy, dun be stress k? If need to, then supplement w FM for a while. Apparently, our moods affect the taste of the milk.

How're you copin w baby?

littledan, thanks for the encouragment. taking fish oil everyday.

must always let bb suckle? can i pump it out? Only when I pump then I know how much she's drinking. when bb latch for abot 10 mins i noticed she started pulling my nipple or turn her head here and there. which i read somewhere is cause milk flow slow or no flow at all. only when i try compression + her suckling then she stay still, suck and swallow. after awhile again pull nipple then I have to switch side.

my bb also like to nurse and sleep at the same time. she can nurse for very long. even bottlefeeding she can take her own sweet time to drink just 60ml of EBM! she can suck 10-20ml rest/sleep then suck again. the whole process can last for abt 1 hr!!! lucky CL is ard...she been doing all the feeding unless is latching. else I'll be very tired. hope she'll outgrow this bad habit!

so far CL still doing all the bathing, bottlefeeding, changing of diapers. i bathe her once and change her diapers a few times.

Bb's suckling is the best stimulation. Well, I do let bb suckle 10 mins per side. Is she still refusing the left one?

hm... bb seems to be showing signs of lethargic. How's her jaundice?

Need to keep her awake, and finish her bottle. Though, stop halfway to burp. I usu feed her w tv or radio on to keep her more awake. But my sonnie oso very naughty, once anyone at home starts talking, he'll be excited and refuse his milk. So, whenever he drinks, the whole house is on silent mode.

For now, just perservere with the bf and pump. You took fish oil and the yeast tablet?

littledan, she's okay with the left side now.

went to polyclinic to do her blood test last wed, doc say breastfeed bb take longer to recover from jaundice and her level does not required to be admitted to hospital. this wednesday going back for review to do another blood test.

I taking fish oil but not yeast tablet. where can I get yeast tablet?

perhaps can req from the pediac or when you visit the poly? This is if you wld prefer to seek medical consultation first. Otherwise, most pharmacies wld hv.

amore, i took fenugreek, it did increase supply by a lot, but quite heaty so must take more fluids/water (i got a bit constipation hee...). i got the capsules from nature's farm at abt 20 plus.

otherwise, u can take more curry cos it also contains fenugreek.

i'd suggest that u can try if really no choice.

i also took yeast table prescribed by PD, per PD its supposed to increase the fat content in bm, so bb will be fuller, not sure abt increasing supply thou.

but read from web that it'll cause gas in babies, & my bb does have a lot of gas, so stopped liao. if u interested, i can passed u mine, still have a bottle left.

gee, amore, i have no idea... maybe will go buy a bottle of maple syrup & ask hubby to smell to see if its the same heheh...

Hi Nana, Amore,

A little surprised that ur PD told u the yeast tablets was to increase fat content. Wld hv tot that was attributed to the fish oil instead. He did give specific instructions that this was to help with the milk supply thos. The same when I inquired over at the pharmacy. Hm... guess I'll check out with the gynae this sat.

Amore,

I'm not sure if you want to take the herb fenugreek dur your confinement month. I did try this herb into my 6th mth of bf. Tat's when bb was teething, and I was pumping more than direct latch, but noticed supply dropped. I dini't really feel it help much thos in the period of consumption. So, stopped finished the bottle.

I think, the best solution of all, is still to continue and stick to your routine of feeding and pumping. Have adequate rest and nutritious food. The bb prog aired on Ch 8 every Monday also advocated red dates tea to boost the supply.

wonder whther babyjan went for induction anot.

nana, ya read from alot of places that fenugreek will make the mother smell and the bb's poo also will be very smelly.

littledan, ya watched the show on monday. i think after confinement might not have the chance to drink red dates tea. dun think I'll have the time to boil for myself once CL leave.

i forgot whether u mentioned it here. u went for ur detailed scan already? expecting princess or prince this time?

was seaching the web... a website mentioned a number of herbs dat help to increase milk supply besides fenugreek. alfalfa, lecithin and some others. but the dosage that need to be taken seems very high!

amore, neither bb nor me had weird smells w fenugreek. took 2 tablets per day. think my fren said there's fenugreek tea too.

actually, i relied a lot on the breastfeeding foundation for bf related advise. can try them as well.

eh... usu i juz throw everything into slow cooker at night. overnight can drink oredi lorz. quite low fuss.

detailed scan went oredi. it's girl.

amore, littledan,

i took the yeast during my maternity but it din increase my bm, so a bit discouraged. when maternity leave's up, have to go back to work & cant pump so regularly tats y resort to fenugreek.

ya saw quite a lot of alternatives, but cos collick taking so think its safe to take. agree with littledan that u shldn't take it so early, u still have chance to increase ur bm. i also called bf for advice, the lady's v nice & patient.

now u mentioned it, i do have a light smell when taking fenugreek, but not that pungent like BO lah. maybe diff pple react differently to it ba.

hmm... for the red date tea, mayb u can try slow cooker? i juz put everythin inside, pour hot water & let it boil. whenever i want to drink, juz scoop some out. hope this is workable for u.

i havent got the chance to watch that show on ch8, sounds nice, hopefully can catch the next one.

ok. will not take anything to increase supply now... wait till confinement over see how is my supply.

also dunno whether crystalwhite popped already anot.

re: jabs - should i bring my gal for 5in1 on her 4th week or 6in1 on her 6th week?

at my time, it was a 4-1, only the polio med was oral. hehe... but it was ok, no fever or stuffs.

seek pd's advice better. thos, a day or two before, can brew some pao shen/ barley for bb to drink.

hi all, sorry i MIA for so long.

I popped on 7 Jan liao, my ger weighs 2.9kg. It was an easy birth with epidural. The whole process lasts about 6 hrs and with two push, my ger is out with the help of vaccum. However she has a big bruise on head and that why we have to admit her to hopital - Jaundice + bruises (will contribute to jaundice too).
However all is well now.

Babyjan also popped liao, she sms me on the 17th. Baby and mummy is fine i think.

Will chat with u mummies when i am free again, sorry no time to read the above post.

Mummies take care!

amore, we went for the 5in1, not sure but think cos bb already took the hep b at birth, thats why cant take 6in1. ya better check with the pd.

anyway, hubby's decision was to leave it to the pd, but his heart always pain each time he pay for the jabs.

nowadays they say the jabs no fever no pain, but its gd to give barley (or some cooling herbal tea) like wad littledan said. thou pd always say give 1 dose of fever med, but we never cos we feel that better not let bb take so much med when still so young.

crystalwhite, congratulations!

congrats crystalwhite and babyjan!

ok, next week need to bring bb for her growth check. will check with pd which 1 is better, 5in1 or 6in.

btw, which pd did u all bring ur bb to for jabs?

hello all

i have popped on 16 Jan. Just came home today and now pumping milk while typing.

I went to see gynae on monday morning but decided not to induce. Abrief account of my labour...

Had contraction on monday nite and went to hospital at 1am (tues). Was already 2cm dilated then. Gynae came to see me at 4am and burst the waterbag and put me on drip. That time was 3cm dilated. From 3am-7.30am, had intense contraction. But still 3cm. So decided to have epi. From 8am to 10.30am-- 10cm dilated.

I pushed for half an hour(at least) but baby still not out and heartbeat dropped. So ended up wif assisted delivery wif forcep. She is 2.9kg too.

Me now having breastfeeding woes. Hd no milk for baby so she started FM in hospital. Now I try to latch her on for every feed but always ended up supplementing wif FM. She drinks abt 45ml each time. After that i try to pump out the milk but ss is very low, About 20ml from both sides. Hopefully ss will kick in from tomolow.

How do you mothers sterilise the pump huh? Do u sterilise after each pumping? I heard that can put in the fridge and take out again for next pumping? Can i combine the EBM from the different sessions for the same day?

Sorry for so many questions...but i'm quite lost.

RE:pD
I think i will bring her to the Kid's Clinic at Rivervale Mall. The PD is Allyson Tan. Many of my frens are using her and my gynae knows her too.

hi babyjan, congratulations!

re:bf, u r doing all the rite things, juz rem u drink plenty of hot drinks (at least 8 cups of hot milk/milo/red date tea) & have plenty of rest.

re: sterilising, i used to use sterlising tablets to soak my PIS, but valves became wrinkled, so now i use hot water to sterilize. if u have the bottle sterilizer, think u can put it in too.

yes, u can combine the EBM from different sessions, even for diff days. juz make sure the first session is not more than 2 days old if u r not keeping it in the freezer.

cos according to the bm guide, milk can be kept for 2 days under 4C, so i was funny enuf to put the thermometer in the fridge to make sure it was indeed 4C hahah...

amore, my pd's mr w.k. lee at geneagles. he's the brother of my gynae lah, so u know how lazy we are in looking for convenience muahahah...

any ideas where to bring my boy to? it's raining so swimming's out & we're kinda sick of shopping malls. its always compasspoint, parkway, tampines mall, suntec... grandma dun allow seaside for the first year cos bangdang (superstitious)...

nitto go start working, see ya posts later. stay happy, it's friday!

crystalwhite, how is ur bb now? discharge already?

babyjan, for the 1st few days everytime i pump also only 20/30ml.

re: sterilising - i sterilise after every use. i dunno if ur PIS is the same as medela single. it's only the shield, valve and bottle? it's the avent manual pump got more parts to wash. after each pumping session i wash with pigeon bottle cleaner and sterlise it.

re: storing - u can combine milk on the same day together. but u must follow the earliest date/time of the milk.

normally i dun store milk from diff pumping session together. i store in diff container each time and label it with date/time even when it is only 30ml. if u store together u still have to pour it out based on what bb need. bm very precious leh so normally me and CL try not to 1 time heat up too much. once u heat it up bb dun consume must throw away liao.

some info on mixing milk - http://www.babycenter.com/expert/baby/babybreastfeed/8878.html

Babyjan, Crystalwhite Congratulations!
Glad to know all's well.
hm.... even Amore's taken on an advisory role =)

Rem to rest well and be a happy mom.

babyjan, wah ur gal so fast 45ml already? 1st 2 days in hospital she only 25 ml leh. u dilate also quite fast hor? frm 3 to 10 only 2/3 hrs+

littledan, hehe aiya giving advises based on my experience mah.

amore thanks, my ger discharge liao.

Very chiam, my milk ss very low, the highest i can express out is 60 ml onli, average is onli 40ml...thinking of giving up...signz

btw, any of you mummies giving your baby dialect name? I have chosen her chinese name liao but do not know how to translate into dialect, anyone can help? Her name is Wu Yu3 Xuan1.

Did you all also register at the hospital or Immigration? What is the difference huh?

hi mummies, got this when surfing the net. quite interesting. this lady advise to supplement with bottle first before latching to increase ss. which is very diff from what advises.

http://www.bfar.org/finishatthebreast.shtml

crystalwhite, we did not use dialect name. we use hanyu pinyin. my hubby went to hospital to register. i think hospital u have to pay some admin fee.

Amore

Re: dilation
Yup, epidural worked well on me. The money is well-spent! My labour is quite short (4am to 1145am), all thks to epi. I was in pain for 3 hrs but no dilation at all.I was so worried that if my labour too long, baby in distress then need to go for emergency c-sec. So opt for epi early.

Yeah, my gal is a hungry baby... that's wat the nurses called her. She feeds on 45ml during the 3 days in hospital. Her appetite like very good now and at times it goes to 80-90ml. As recommended, we usually give her 2oz (60ml) and she finished everything. But that's not enuff to satisfy her and she will cry for more and we will gv her another 1 oz (30ml). Am i overfeeding her?

Re: BF storage
I'm using PIS now to pump. So you sterilise a few times a day lah. Initially i only thot sterilise once a day can liao. So after each pump, dun know wat to do with the pump. Now i also sterilise 2/3 times a day. Accumulate the bottles and valves then sterilise together.

I got some glass bottles from hospital, now using them to store my EBM.

BTW, for your medela electric, is there an air tube to connect the motor to the bottle. That one we dun have to clean hor?

Crystalwhite
Re: BF
My breastmilk has started kicking in
. Managed to yield 50ml now.

Crystalwhite, did u latch ur gal on? Actually i had engorgement on my right breast. No milk at all. Becos of short nipple, my gal couldnt latch on properly too. Y'day, I used the medela nipple shield and my gal suckled on it but no milk. However, when i tried pumping just now, milk flows came in . Think she cleared the blocked ducts and now there is milk flow. Now I am alternating her feeds with direct latching, EBM and FM. She feeds abt every 3-4hrs.

So crystalwhite, dun gv up! I too was very sad & desperate when i have no milk and had to gv formula. For the sake of our babies, we must perserve on BF.

Re:Names
Just got someone to "calculate" the name for our gal. Havent decided on which one to use yet. But dun think wil have dialect name. Will use hanyu pinyin. Crystalwhite, your gal's name very nice. I like xuan(1) too. But the list of characters suitable for my gal dun have xuan(1). It only has xuan(2). Might be naming her Ying(3) Xuan(2).Dun think it will sound nice when translate to dialect leh... "Eng Suan????"

I will go to ICA to register cos its cheaper. If you register at hospital, the charge is $39 and must do so within 2 weeks. If you do it at ICA, costs only $18 and can do so within a month of bb's birthdate.

Remember to claim for the bb bonus after registering ur bb hor.

Ok, going to rest now. woke up at 3am just now to feed my gal and do some pumping. SO tired...

babyjan,

you're lucky. Always makes a mommy happy to see bb feeding well. Mine took in only c30ml each feed. Btw, which bottle/ teats you using? We were not sure if it was the Avent teats that's slowing bb's feeding...

btw, how'd u manage to get the glass bottles from ths hosp?

Hi Kris,

Yes, like you, May MTB.