Any MTB in Punggol?

amore,
how is your detail scan? hope u are okie. I don't have access to pc nowadays, so can check mail maybe once a week onli, take good care to yourself and remember to update us.

I used to study in the north area, btw does your hubby knows mahjong? Cos i used to play mahjong : )

hullo... back from my checkup... bb weight is 2.4kg... hmm 200gm diff compared to monday scan... maybe diff machine... scan was done by another gynae in GE... my placenta start to age liao... is already grade 2. but is still passing blood to bb. water level also quite low. gynae say if want can give birth now. can either induce or c-sect. but i find week 37 abit early leh. so now need to monitor bb movement.... must make sure bb move at least 10 times for half a day... next appt on sat to monitor water level and bb heartbeat to make sure bb not in distress....

talked to frens and mum... all say best to deliver early... so sat will discuss with the gynae who is helping as my doc on leave.

crystalwhite, my hubby play mahjong. but only with his frens. he study all in the east leh. dunno why he find u familiar..

amore,
talk to ur gynae and discuss with ur hb. friends/relatives can give opinions but remmeber we are not the experts in this area.

babyjan,
which ikea u went? and wat time? i dying to go ikea in tampines, but is afraid of the crowd. still need to get some basic items for the empty house leh
now my mini hi-fi put on dining chair, sianz

Amore
I think it is safe to deliver anytime after 36-37 wks once the baby's lungs have matured. Watever it is, listen to the gynae and see wat is best for yourself and BB. All the best and take care.

Smurfy
I went to the Ikea in Tampines around 1pm on Monday. Maybe becos its school holiday and year end, many pple clearing leave so the place is very crowded. Esp the cafe. I m surprised that it was so crowded even on a weekday. But no harm going down if you are free. If tired, go to the sofa section and sit down which i did.

I bought a 2-door wardobe for baby. One side can hang clothes while the other side has 5 shelfings and can put a lot of things. It costs only $99. But need to lug it home ourselves and Hubby spent 3-4 hours to set it up.

I also bought a comfortable cover but turned out that the size does not fit my Aussino baby comfortable set. Will be returning it.

babyjan..
the last time i went down ikea alexandra 3mths ago, i sat everywhere. i sat on their bed. i sat on their chest of drawers, i sat on their tv console, anywhere for me to rest. ppl all looking at me but i was just too tired. seems like beri crowd.
. i thinkin of getting their laundry bins to put bb's used diapers and clothes leh $1.90 per pc during 27-29th dec.

Are you referring to those laundry basket that come in turquoise or white colour, can fold one? That type cannot put water one. For baby's soiled nappies and clothes, I just bought those normal pails.

Anyone experience Braxton Hicks huh? I'm now feeling tightness at my tummy and a bit of pain at the lower abdominal area... is that BH?

babyjan,
no no, not that one. it was advertised in their brouchers recently, white color ones, got a cover as well.

at times i can feel some tightening at lower tummy area. no pain though

yes, babyjan. that's BH. it's sudden contractions= uterus practicising its pushing.
so long as no spotting yet, it's ok. mebbe, bb push a bit too hard, so pain. but no worries lar.

Hello Punggol Mummies!!!
I am also a Punggol MTB, my baby due in January 2007. Seems like quite a lot of babies due in January for Punggol eh?

Me 1st time mommy, so very paranoid. Called my gynae's clinic to tell them abt the pain. The receptionist asked me to go down. In the end, was put on the CTG machine for half an hour and it turned out to be a false alarm. Gynae said could be BH and not labour pain. Gynae also did the Swap test for me and checked for dilation as well. Cervix still close. But it was an uncomfortable experience. Imagine during labour they are going to stick the fingers in so many times to check for dilation!Yucks

Welcome Livvie and Milderina.

There are alot of pregnant mummies in Punggol. I frequent Punggol Plaza and always see preggie ladies...perhaps it could be anyone of you here.

kris

Yup, should get those for bb Clothes and bottles. The normal detergent are too strong. For me, i bought pigeon brand for both the washing powder and bottles detergent.

for me, i usu have a separate container for washing baby's bottles and pump, ie sponge and detergent. Just diluted it with water. And always final rinse off with hot water after wash and before use.

bb clothes are usu not mixed with adults and pre-soaked with usual detergent in lesser concentration.

for me... i am using pigeon bottle wash for baby stuff. also will put in a tub n dilute the detergent.

for clothes, i am using kodomo detergent. n wont mix with adults clothes too.

have you guys heard? got this from my mil.

they say that bb clothes cannot soak or rinse in hot water. else the bb's skin will not be nice.

dunno if this is scientific or another old wives' tale. coz one of mil's friends very hygience and like to final rinse in hot water for sterilising. but turn out bb's skin was quite bad....

hi mummies!... thanks for all ur well wishes and encouragement. have been going to the clinic every 2-3 days to do CTG to make sure bb is okay. Thurs going to check again if ok most prob will induce on dat day itself. doc ask us to get ready. bb will be Dec bb instead of Jan bb.

babyjan, i kenna poked 2 times just last week to check if i'm diluted so doc can decide if can induce.

welcome Livvie! welcome Milderina.

kris, i also use bb washing powder to wash bb clothes. i bought pigeon both bottle and washing detergent.

littledan, never heard of it. but if the clothe nappies is dun soak how to wash those stain away? esp poo stain? when i wash bb clothes i got set temp while washing leh....

cannot use hot water - this never hear before.

my mom only says cannot hang bb clothes out. just hang in the house n dry.

forgot wat reason liao.

tx for all your advices, i will get the bb detergent for bottles and clothes.

MTDT, i tink cant hang out coz scare water from upstair will drip on it and its unhygiene.

Amore, Jia you. Another 2 days more and you will be holding your gal in your arms...first x'mas wif baby somemore. Keep us posted.

Huh... cannot hang BB clothes outside? I did that leh. How? As for the hot water thing, me also never heard abt it. But normally I only use tap water to wash. Really didnt know got so many rules.

Lucky i washed the bb clothes and nappies liao. It has been raining non-stop these days. The weather so shiok to stay at home to sleepzzz...

amore,

take a bottle of chik essence the night before and the morning after, before checking in to hosp. and hv a light breakfast. Have plenty of rest.

my bb's clothes were hand-washed but gentle tumbled dry before hanging out to dry. Was only told c/n hang out the clothes when night's come.
if dun hang out, then the stuffs semi-dry, will hv mouldy smell leh....

hi mummies. Merry Xmas..!

just came back from hospital. had given birth to my gal on Sat.

she is healthy and weight 2.555kg.

Hi Amore

Congratulations to you. SO you have your darling gal gal to celebrate x'mas and new year with you.

Do post your darling's pic here for us to see ..

Me into 37wks tmlo. Dun know when my gal wants to come out leh?

amore, congratz!! u must b reli hapi, a xmas n new year gift. take a gd rest and u r reli lucky as the weather is so nice to slp in nowadays.

thanks for the well wishes... am glad that she's out and healthy. just on the small side.

babyjan, dun worry, she'll out anytime now. u should be seeing ur gynae everyweek now i supposed? ask her to come out either next week. if nto like me spend xmas in hospital with her!

mummies who breastfeed their babies... i need some advise.... my gal only like to latch on my right breast. she does not seems to suckle well on my left breast. i noticed my left breast nipple is smaller than the right. she always cry when i try to "force" her on the left. so everytime end up giving her the right breast. now my left breast is having very bad engorment. how to make her suckle my left breast huh? any idea? a hungry bb is an angry bb. always cry until whole body red. sigh.

Amore

I think you can try to use nipple shield. It is to help sore, cracked and inverted nipples. I think I will face the same problem as you too cos i have flat nipples. So I bought the nipple shield from pigeon to stand by. Not sure if it will be helpful. I saw avent selling the nipple shield too but quite expv. Pigeon one only $5.

If really no help, then advise you to express out your milk from your left breast first to release the pressure.

hi amore,

the same thing happened to me.. and my other friends. Cld it be the position that you carry her, since RH is more natural for us?

Suggest meanwhile, you pump out for the left side. Then try and get her used to the left gradually.

I used the pillow-position, and tot it was quite ok for the LH. Give it a try...

btw, just a word of caution, bf babies may tend to get bf-related jaundice 3-5 days later. Just in case...

babyjan, yes, get ready nipple shield and also purelan. u'll need it for the first few days! u might wanna get breast shell as well. just in case u have sore nipples. now both my nipples also sore and sensitive. somemore need to nurse bb every 3 to 5 hours. I'm feeding on demand. wearing breast pad to prevent it from rubbing against the nursing bra. every now and then have to put on purelan.

now cannot go out. getting my hubby to get nipple shield and shell for me. i planning to get the medela 1. hope it is useful. coz my sil got inverted nipples. she told me nipple shield no use. no choice have to try.

littledan, could be the position. dunno why when in the hospital when the nurse is ard she can latch on the left no problem leh. at home she simply refuse to latch on the left. everytime suck 2 times release and cry. *headache* so now pumping out to release the engorgement. really very painful man. even the 1 she suckle, which is the right, also got engorgement.

ok will watch out for the jaundice. tmrw going to bring bb to PD for her review. so far have not seen any yellow traces on her faces yet.

why we woman have to go thru 9 mths pregnant, hours of labour, a few days of engorgement huh?? all suffering leh.... haiya...

heheh maybe i having some depression here? actually am very happy my gal is out. now very bored at home... everyone ask me to lie down and rest but I've been walking ard checking on bb, doing dunno what and finally have my 1st bathe today!

hi amore,

it's like that for the first month. That's why it's confinement period. Your milk supply is yet stabilized, hence tend to be over-supplied. Dunno if you exp this ...when bb cries, the milk will alsoleak out!

Can try other positions and see. But dun over-tire yourself. Feeding on demand means virtually no sleep. So, pace yourself. When you get the pump, let your confinement helper feed in the night. U got one? or your mom helping out?

Never tried the shields. But the bar pads are sure useful. Else, tend to get two round wet patches on your shirt... =P

It's the initial excitement. But dun wear yourself out or will feel worse later. And the milk supply will also be affected, k?

forgot to share with u all my birth story....

21 dec - appt with gynae to check on bb's heartbeat. bb's heartbeat ok. doc say bb very active. and since I'm 38 week already can induce. ask me to admit hospital at 7am the next day. both hubby and I agree.

22 dec 6:45am - reach hospital and do admission. hospital staff brought us to labour ward. was asked to change and put on CTG *again*. nurse ask me alot of questions.

9+am - 1/2 pressies inserted to soften and open cervix. lie on the bed all the time! becoz of CTG.

2p.m - doc came. do VE. cervix opened. but only 1 cm. another half dosage of pressies inserted. have to be on the bed for 2 hours! after that then can get down of bed and walk. doc say MUST walk to dilate more.

6pm - doc came. do VE again! only 2 cm dilated. doc use finger to stretch cervix. wah this 1 very painful and cause bleeding. doc instructed nurse to insert another 1/2 pressies @ 9p.m. told to walk ard.

9p.m - 1/2 pressies inserted. wah this time can feel mild contraction. still bearable. did not ask for painkiller. but the whole night did not sleep properly coz the contraction come every 15 to 30 mins.

23 dec 8a.m - nurse VE me. say only 3 cm dilated, help to stretch to 3.5cm. wah, this 1 even more painful. was screaming a little. nurse say wanna put drip on me to have better contraction coz my contraction very irregular.

8:30a.m - drip administered. nurse told me cannot go toilet liao. so if i wanna pee must call them then they clear for me. laughing gas provided. was told only to use when pain is there.

wah once the drip is on. my contraction come every 2 mins!!! at first the pain is still bearable. then soon cannot tahan liao. keep using haha gas.

9+am - nurse come in, see me already blur blur. asked if I wanna have jab on the thigh. i say ok. wah once she go out my contraction getting very bad.

she come back i ask if I can have epi. she say try thigh jab first. i say ok. once she jab i knock liao. unconscious liao. dunno becoz of the jab or gas. from this time onwards. i really dunno wat happen. i only know doc come in break my water bag. ask me for my hubby number coz he not in the labour ward.

i started dilating from 3.5cm to 10 cm from 9+ to 10+ w/i an 1hr! even with gas i can understand what the doc and nurses talking to me. asked me to push i push. asked me not to push i dun push. all the time I'm on the haha gas. then finally time to push. with 2 pushes my bb is out. she was born @ 10:43a.m *phew lucky she small* but leh still need to cut! after pushing. i'm off the gas. but still blur blur. doc ask me to open eyes and see bb as he put her on my chest. bb hot and slimy.

then finally my hubby arrived. asked doc how am i doing. then doc answered, "bb already out!" hubby turned his head and saw bb.

bb is wiped cleaned and brought to me to have her first breastfeeding. she suckle well on my right breastfeed. then she is pushed to the nursery and I'm pushed to maternity ward.

i felt very victorious as i dun need any epi!

hope is not too long winded.

littledan, i'm having a CL. and she's very pro-bf. she actually help me to latch bb on and also teach me how to relieve my engorgement. my bb sleeps alot, dunno why. so her feed is always 3 to 5 hours apart. sometimes when we realised the time gap is too long, we have to wake her up.

actually I'm very alert now. dunno why. maybe becoz of the hormone change. feel very restless lying on the bed.

will try to have some rest. thanks littledan.

Hey, you did it without EPI man! Well done.

Your labour pain started at 9pm on 22dec till 10am on 23dec? that's more than 12 hrs.

So did Dr Brenda Low came back fm her holidays or was it another gynae who was there during your delivery?

Yah... glad that we have experienced mommy like littledan here to advice freshie like us.

Amore, weather very cooling to sleep. So rest whenevr u can. Take care and drop in to chat and share wif us whenever u are free.....

amore,

agree that 3-5hrs does seem a little long, esp for bf bbies. do try to wake her and feed at least 3 hrs interval.Perhaps the weather is very cooling, and bb's enjoying it lorz!

I was oso like that initially. Like an eagle hovering my little nestling. Cldn't really doze off and had to wake up every few hours to see how bb was doin, even when he was quiet. Got on like this for 2 weeks, and finally collapsed :p

And kudos to you! Well done mommie =)

amore!
ur confinement lady pro-bf?
she stay with u?
does she has any assignment in feb? my edd is feb07
how much will she charge during this period?

hullo... just came back from bb's review. she have slight jaundice. doc say is okay. today at least have some sun. hope it dun rain later. going to sunbathe my bb. oh ya... her umbilical cord drop off liao. going to sun it and keep it for souvenir.. she also put on some weight. now weigh 2.6+kg after loosing a hundred gram the 1st few days.

babyjan, actually on 22nd itself already have contraction. it shows in the CTG machine. but i did not feel anything. i only started feeling the contraction from 9pm onwards. so i dunno if labour start from 9pm?

another gynae did my delivery. was going to his clinic every 2-3 days to have bb heartbeat check while Dr Brenda Low was away b4 i gave birth. Dr Low is back. tmrw going to see her for my post delivery review.

littledan, ok will try and feed more regularly.

smurfy, yes she's very pro-bf as she bf her own kids. she stay with me. she told me she got another bb to look after during CNY. so i guess she's booked. she charges 1.8K for normal month. i think during CNY she charges more.

amore, try and feed bb some warm plain water as well. this was as advised by the pediac when mine had jaundice after a few days. this is to reduce the bf-related effects.

littledan, ok. noted. thanks.

smurfy, not sure if u want me to help u check with her if she got anyone to recommend?

Hello Mommies

How's everyone doing? Enjoying your long weekends and New Yr Party?

Hereby wishing all a HAPPY NEW YEAR and a GREAT 2007

Amore
Glad that your CL is so pro-bf. Is your feeding schedule more stable now?

Btw, do you eat ginger, sesame oil and DOM during your confinement. Heard that ginger will cause jaundice and cannot take DOM while bf leh.

My MIL doing confinement for me... she said dunno wat to cook if dun use ginger. Can check wat your CL cook for you during your confinement?

morning mummies.... Happy New Year!!...

babyjan, yes now she auto 2 to 3 hours will wake up for her feed. now she get hungry faster... be prepared to lose sleep!!....

my CL does cook with ginger but i'm not a ginger eater so everytime any dish with ginger I'll just put the ginger aside. she still cook with sesame oil. my bb jaundice is ok so I still take sesame oil. my mum told me can cook with virgin olive oil. why not buy a bottle first just in case.

I was given a bottle of DOM as a gift. but have not open yet. dun think I'll drink it while breastfeeding.

my meals are quite standard.

breakfast - mee sua with pork and eggs. she'll add ginger for favouring. a bottle of chicken essence. a cup of milo.

lunch - rice, veggie, pork with ginger, fish with ginger, herbal soup. sometimes chicken cook in red wine.

dinner - same as lunch.

all lunch and dinner will have fish. this will help u to produce more milk. my mum bought "wu yu" for my confinement lady to cook for me. next time when bb can take solid "wu yu" will be the fish they will be eating.

pork must be "yao zhi rou".

u bought all your chinese herbal stuff? dried longan, red dates and black dates for your tea? and herbal soup? black beans? for bathing?

my mum say we can also drink plain water. but must be warm. so sometimes when I find i have too much longan tea, I'll just pour myself a cup of warm water.

hope all this help.

Morning all

Thanks. Will let my MIL and mother know. Both of them first time doing confinement, so a bit lost. Your menu will be helpful.

Yup, I have gotta the dried longan and red dates and the chinese herbs "Da Feng Ai" for bathing.

Yesterday, i finally took out my steriliser and breast pump to "Yan Jiu" and sterilise the pump and bottles. Intend to bring my pump to hospital as well to stimulate milk. But I kinda worry that I'll have no milk leh cos of the flat nipples. Now i try to stimulate and squeeze them but got no colustrum leh. Guess I need to approach TMC LC for help later.

How long do you intend to bf your gal??...WHO recommends 6 mths. I hope i can "dong" that long. Its tough to bf after returning to wk.

babyjan, dun worry, u'll produce milk. the first few days you wont produce milk yet. just colostrum. bb will also suck on colostrum. for my 2 days in hospital. bb suckle on my breast for very long. on the 3rd day then the milk start to come in. that is when the engorgement come in.

was looking at medela website yesterday. i dunno u should get their nipple formers anot. u can start using now. it helps to bring the nipple out for inverted and flat nipples. wear it under you bra. it helps to push the nipple out. dunno if it really work. i bought their nipple shell no bad.

below is the link to the nipple formers
http://www.medela.co.uk/UK/en/breastfeeding/products/formers.php

i think right after u deliver. the midwife/LC will teach u how to bf in the delivery room. dat is wat GEH do. I believe TMC is the same. when u are in the maternity ward u can also call the nurses to help u.

was reading some magazine given by GEH. WHO recommend 6 mths. but actually up to 2 yrs is the best. i also dunno i can "dong" dat long anot. can be very tiring. good pt is dun have to wash bottles, buy milk powder etc.

Hi Hi

I'm staying around Kadaloor station, and my boy has just reached 6 months old. May I join in this thread too?

Cheerios
Nana