Any MTB in Punggol?

hi zenn
me staying at punggol.....just read that ur CL left early. do u think CL is very useful? My EDD is in May 07 & have booked a CL for 2 mths. personally i think a bit long. Hubby prefers to hv a CL for 2 mths as both our mothers work and no one will be home with me during my ML. i will be handling bb on my own for 2 mths if CL is only for first mth. He thinks that a mother aft birth will need someone to be there to help lighten the load.
what do u think? if w/o maid, can u manage?

thanks for anwsering my questions.
kao_kiss.gif

Hi blueblue,

Yes its useful if u engage a gd one esp during the confinement mth. 2 mths seem abit too long. Mine was not bad except she keeps saying bb is hungry n wanna feed her as my milk supply not high.

Yes I can handle bb on my own now but still need someone to cook and bath the bb. durin my first 2 wks, esp the initial i let bb slept with cl at nites as we need rest too. also as the first time mum, we might not know how to handle bb when they keep crying - happened to mine when 1st nite home. she just cried non stop n can make u go crazy. lucky cl takes care of her.

Hope it helps...

Petite

Received ur mail, but no attachment leh..

Ur bb 9 months old rite? Have u considered getting a nanny or putting bb at infant care?

Amore
I just do feeding and changing diapers. Havent bath my gal yet. My gal timing very "zun" one. She will automatic wake up at 3 hr interval for her milk milk. After feeding, I will put her back to her cot. If she dun make noise, i will leave her alone and go back to sleep. Only at times she gets cranky and wants to be carried around. That makes me super tired.

I heard my frens' babies will drink the milk at 11pm and last till 5-6am the next morning one. How i wish my gal also like that. Will the feeding get lesser when the bb grow older?

Zenn
I think the last 2 jabs also compulsory leh. Maybe I will check with the clinics to see how much they charged per jab for the MMR and HepB booster then see whether the NH package "wu hua" bo.

Huh... ur CL left early? Then who's going to cook those confinement food for u, ur maid?

Blueblue
Its good to have a CL. First 2 weeks at home can be quite lost one esp for 1st time mummy. Agreed wif zenn that 2 months a bit long. Maybe u can engage her for one month first then extend for 1 or 2 weeks after ur confinement if u want.

zenn

I read that some mummies brought their babies to the polyclinic to do the 2nd Hep B jab at 1st month ~ cost $16. But if u do that, u can only opt for the 5-in-1 jab. If u want to do the 6-in-1 jab, then bring baby for the first jab at 6weeks old.

Thus, the 5-in-1 has one more jab than the 6-in-1. Btw, AMK polyclinic does have the 6-in-1 package at $320.

I have checked out Kidslink, the nurse said the jab for MMR is $60 (incl consultation). As for the Hep B booster at 18th month, the jab is not necessary unless the mother is a hep b carrier.

U can call them to check further and verify.
Kidslink tel: 63884466
Kidsclinic tel: 68811711

Wrt to the jabs at NH, see below: (copies fm Amore's earlier post):

Northern hope have 2 packages for jabs :-

1. 6in1 - $688.50, bb given jab on 2nd, 4th and 6th mth plus MMR on 15th mth and finally 5in1 on 18th mth.

2. 5in1 - $720.00, bb given jab on 1st, 2nd, 4th and 6th mth plus MMR on 15th mth and finally 5in1 on 18th mth.

rem in the pre-natal class they did mention MMR is not compulsory. but they might make it compulsory in future.

blueblue, do u know the CL personally? if not I suggest u dun commit 2 mths with her. as u wont know if she's good. u might just wanna tell her there might be an extension for another 1 mth. like others i think 2 mths is abit long. maybe 6 weeks and during the last week of the CL service try to do more of the hands on urself with CL supervision. so at least u know how things are done and when bb cry etc u know how to handle it.

babyjan, my gal 1mth + liao still not zhun 1 leh.. sometimes can sleep for 3 hours sometimes 4.... sometimes 2 hours. i guess i depends when she fell asleep. sometimes she can fuss till the next feeding still dun wanna sleep! recently i abit lazy. wanna sleep longer so gave her FM in 1 of her nite feed. let her and mummy sleep longer..

my mum told me when bb reach 3rd mth, we can intro cereal, those small fine ones into their milk for their last nite feed to make them full so they can sleep longer thruout the nite.

been a bz thread. thanks all for ur info on the jabs. just wondering, is the dr zainal a recommendable pd? anyone's actually tried the jabs, and if he was able to soothe the bb well?

amore,
tot it's wee bit early to introduce cereals by 3 mths... u sure? tot mamil gold has a nite feed formulae that was for the same goal. anyone tried?

Just called Kidsclinic (the one at rivervale mall). The receptionist told me that both MMR and Hep B booster (at 18th month) are compulsory by MOH. The other PD clinic said the 18th month booster is not necessary..haiz...confused confused!

Anyway, the Kidsclinik has a package for kids above 1 yr old (chicken pox vaccine @ 12mth, MMR@ 15th mth and Hep B booster @18mth) @ $310 inclu consulation. If just the MMR jab alone, its around $80 ( $35 jab +$45 consultation).

just called Kidsclinik (the one at rivervale mall). The receptionist said both MMR and Hep B booster are compulsory. The other PD clinic said the hep b booster not neccessary... haiz confused!

Anyway, the Kidsclinc has a package for kids above 1 yr old. The package is chicken pox vaccine at 12mth (optional), MMr and Hep booster for $310. If its just the MMR jab alone is $80.

hey ladies,
im having a CNY gatherin at my hse on 24/2, i would like to invite you all to come over, spouse and kids r welcome. do let me noe if anyone is able to make it. looking forward to meeting you all soon.

<font color="ff6000">bbjan</font>, ya maid does the cooking. she learned fm the CL for the last 2 wks. tml my MIL gg to cook n bring up.

thanks for checking. gettin confused wif the jab now.

<font color="119911">kris</font>, thanks for inviting but will be meeting my friends on 24th too.

<font color="ff0000">Hi To all, I will resend the attachment again. Guess Either I click too fast or computer haywire!!! Sorry. Let me nod if you got the attachment. Do feedback to me if this routine works for you.</font>

I hv tried and it works but I was lazy to cont till the 6 days...

<font color="aa00aa">Babyjan</font>,

Maid

I did consider nanny. But don't nod any good one staying in Punggol. Trying to find one that able to speak in English & Chinese. Usually nanny can only speak 1 language. Also must be able to teach my bb.

As for infant care. Yap I also thought of it. But hv not find a job yet. Till I find a job then able to choose a infant care ctr nearer to my working pl. Quite lei chei.
As you nod Punggol area hv no infant care ctr unless you hv a car that can drive you to Punggol beach. Near there they hv.

Maid- Was thinking of maid. But I will hv to be outstation most of the time. I don't nod if I am able to trust them.

Jabs

MMR is important. Also must introduce whole egg to baby before he can hv the jab. First intro bb to egg yolk then follow by egg white...

I hv to wait till bb is 1 yr then I can stary intro him to eggs. Cause eggs is one of the high allergy food.

<font color="119911">Littledan</font>,

Dr Zainal- I think he is ok. I heard from my PD nurse that he was from KK Hospital before. Now I think he open his own clinic somewhere. My bb is seeing him. He is very patient. Jab wise I'm not too sure. But putting tablets thru the anus, my bb kena from him twice. Ok la!

<font color="ff6000">Amore</font>,

Baby Cereals

Don't give bb cereals at 3rd mths. Bb intestine not well form to dissolve solid food yet. No choice but to offer him milk & milk & Milk...
You can start at 4mths if you really want to. But usually if can hold back, wait till 6mths then introduce solid food.

Weaning

When you start weaning, remember not to add cereals into bb milk bottles. BB might get choke. If you feed bb with spoon, he will start to accept spoon-feeding earlier.

Signs of wanting to be wean

You will be able to see yr bb giving you sign that he is ready for food. Eg, when he see you eating, he is moving his mouth... Saliva dripping... rejecting of milk.

<font color="0000ff">kris</font>

Tks for the invitation. Will hv to check if my I hv anything on that day. Will let you nod again.

zenn, babyjan and amore
thanks for your advice.

amore,
CL is recommended by my colleague. I guess 6 weeks sound good. As hubby's work is very hectic, so he thinks a CL to company me and guide me will be better for the 1st two mth...will discuss with him again.

hope i can handle the bb well....guess it will be lost initially...very normal. tat time, really need to "qing jiao" u ladies... .

Tks <font color="0000ff">blueblue</font>

I did not nod there is. Hv you been there or nod anybody who bought their kids over there b4?

Are the teacher trained nurses?

<font color="ff6000">petite</font>, thanks i rcv the attachment! how many days did u try b4 u see result? there is timin for feed n latch on but the problem is my gal wanna latch on most of the time. if not she will make noise. how?

<font color="119911">blueblue</font>, mine is recommended. in fact was told she is v supportive in bf but in the end i find her obstructin my bf cos my ss is low n she kept worrying bb is hungry. i feel less stressful now that she is not around. other than that she is good. cook well n not naggy hee

mummies, my gal always fall asleep while latch on n when i tried to pull out, she starts to suckle again. do u ve this problem?

Petite,
Thanks for the attachement..

Zenn,
maybe u can touch her cheeks when she fall asleep. ALternatively, u can offer her another breast or u can change ur position.

<font color="0077aa">Zenn</font>, Is it you would like to de-latch yr bb from yr breast?

Try this, insert yr little finger into yr bb mouth from any side and push yr nipple out.

<font color="0000ff">Zenn</font>, I managed to see the result around 3-4th day. I was 'playing' computer at nite and pumping milk at the same time. To my surprise, I manage to fill 2 glass bottles (abt 200ml).

Starting I can only pump 30ml from both sides. Then on the 3rd day morning, I manage to pump 30ml each breast.

<font color="119911">Latching on all the time</font>

I was told that if they want to latch on, give it to them. In future, they need not have any pacifier or tumbs sucking.They feel comfortable. Is like taking yr nipple s as their pacifier.

My boy only sucks his tumb when he gum is pain- comimg out teeth, eitherwise he don't. He did not use the pacifier too.

I do understand how you feel as yr bb keeps on want to latch on you. My boy was the same thing too. So I decided to start on a routine as when to feed the bb, bath bb, put in to sleep. etc etc...

I do not hv the book with me, eitherwise I could borrow you...

The book can be bought from Popular Book Store- <font color="ff0000">"The new contended baby book" by Gina Ford.</font> She has other titles too.

<font color="ff0000">Btw anybody living around Blk 600+?</font>

Good morning all! Since we're on the topic of bf, just wondering if you guys feed bb w water as well?

Have often heard that bbies on bm shld not drink water, though not sure why. But I'm just worried in case bb has jaundice.

Any advice on both topics appreciated.

hi petite
i didnt receive the 2nd email leh. Can resend?
email: [email protected]

littledan
I feed my gal water whenever she has hiccups.

Smurfy
Hope ur bb be the 1st CNY bb...i heard the hospital will give ang pow to the 1st bb leh heard.

Any mommies bought insurance for their babies? I'm looking at health and medical ins.. any recommendation?

HI <font color="aa00aa">babyjan</font>, I will send to you again. let me nod if you still unable to recieve them. Tks.

<font color="aa00aa">Smurfy</font>, also sending to you too. This routine is till 6 days.

<font color="aa00aa">Littledan</font>, Yap that is true. BF baby need not drinK H20. But most of us will still give bb drink a little H20. Reason as too much of H20, can cause blood disorder. I did ask Dr Zainal if bb needs to drink H20, he say don't need.

littledan, i do feed my gal with water. during the 1st few weeks very little. only a few spoonful like once a day. recently she have alot of phlegm so fed her almost everyday to clear her throat.

petite,
tx for your email.

hey ladies,
yest i kpo go to the family clinic below my hse n ask abt the 5-in-1 and 6-in-1 jab. they onli charge $85 or so for the jab, inclusive of consultaion. i wonder y its so cheap.

Petite
Received ur email. Thanks

Kris
GP ususally charged cheaper than PDs who are specialists in the area of baby and children problems. Furthermore, PDs will do growth assessment for the babies. Not too sure whether your GP does that too.

quite sure PDs will do that.

amore, phelgm? hm... rem my mil says pearl powder is good for small bb with phelgm. u tried? must good the x-tra good quality one.

petite thing,

why h2O will cause blood disorder? scary...
what i read was that the water might dilute the bm, which is of the correct composite of nutrients.

gals, ur bbies were blissfully safe from jaundice? Mine carried on for over a month. apparently, due to bfding. why huh? is it my diet or wat...

<font color="0077aa">littledan</font>,

I'm not too sure. I trying to find that article that I read it somewhere. Must go and ask DR Zainal again.

Saw the program-First Step in Channel 8. Jaundice has nothing to do with our diet. You can't prevent it. Is bb liver that is not functioning well that cause jaundice.

<font color="0077aa">Conniemummy</font>, can you Pm or post me yr email address, so that I can forward the routine to you? Do you go to park with the playground often near to the multi-purpose hall?

<font color="ff6000">petite</font>, at times my gal will wake up when i try to un-latch -shake head- anyway now i m tryin to pump every 2 hrs if possible. shall monitor n see if any results

i stay at 600+!!!! btw i think too much water will thin the blood but not blood disorder?

<font color="aa00aa">littledan</font>, was told if TBF needs not give bb water but give a bit is good. let them get used to the taste of plain water.

<font color="0000ff">conniemummy</font>, hello!!!! estelle is fine but 'notti' at times. still trying to catch up wif her appetite
hows ur gal?

littledan, my bb also have jaundice for over a month. during her 1st mth review. PD say she still got slight jaundice nothing to worry about. dat time i'm 90% bfing. only occasionally fm during the nite. now she look ok liao. anyway my mum say hers ok 1 coz her white of the eye is white not yellow. maybe ur second 1 u can try to give abit water and maybe 1 or 2 feeding of fm. i doubt is our diet. i'm not a ginger eater. during confinement dun touch any ginger at all, but bb still got jaundice.

petite, i staying at blk 648.

mummies, my gal is giving me headache. she fuss in most of her feedings. when drinking her milk, be it EBM or FM she'll usually fuss at the last oz. wanting to sleep. but when i let her sleep she is always not able to go into a good sleep. she take very long to go into deep sleep. keep waking up. gave her pacifier. everytime pacifier drop out she'll make noise I'll have to pop it back into her mouth quickly. if not she'll cry very loudly as if i'm torturing her. put her in sarong also same. does anyone of ur bb also like dat? dunno if i sarong sling her at home helps anot.

petite,
received the routine oredi. thanks!

babyjan,
tmc will have angpow for the first 3 babies and the rest will still have hamper

littledan, my CL used some 'herb' (can get fm medical store) to bath for bb when she was havin slight jaundice. we also put her under white light. its works for my gal

Hi <font color="119911">Amore, Zenn & connie</font>, Looks like we are staying very close to each other! Does any1 of you bring yr bb to the playground next to the small multi-purpose hall think near Blk639?

<font color="119911">Littledan</font>, Yes too much H20 will thin the Blood in BB. AS written in "what to expect in the first yr book": too much of H20 can dangerously dilute a bb's blood, causing chemical imbalances. Anyway, there is another reason as why bb need not drink too much H20, cause they hv not started weaning and milk is their main diet. So incase too much H20, they might just reject the milk.

Here is abt a write up on Jaundice from KK hospital:
Childhood Illnesses
Jaundice
<font color="ff0000">What Is Jaundice?</font>

Jaundice is the yellow colour seen in the skin of many newborns and happens when a chemical called bilirubin builds up in baby's blood. It can occur in babies of any race.

<font color="ff0000">Why Does My Baby Have Jaundice?</font>

Bilirubin in the blood is normally removed by the liver. Before birth, the mother's liver does this for the baby.

Jaundice is common in newborns because their immature livers require a few days to develop before it can eliminate the bilirubin efficiently.

<font color="ff0000">Can Jaundice Harm My Baby?</font>

Most infants have mild jaundice that is harmless. However, in some infants, the bilirubin level can be very high and this may cause brain damage.

Hence, newborns should be checked carefully for jaundice and treatment should be administered to prevent a high level of bilirubin.

<font color="ff0000">How Can I Tell If My Baby Is Jaundiced?</font>

The best way to detect jaundice is to place the baby in good light such as daylight or fluorescent lights. The skin of the baby with jaundice usually appears yellow, first in the face, thereafter moving downwards to the chest, abdomen, arms and legs as the bilirubin level increases.

The whites of the eye may also appear yellow. In tanned skin babies, jaundice may be hard to detect visually.

<font color="ff0000">How Should My Baby Be Checked For Jaundice?</font>

If your baby appears jaundiced in the first few days of life, the doctor may conduct a blood test to determine your baby's bilirubin level. A bilirubin level is always needed if jaundice develops before a baby is 24 hours old.

Further tests might be needed, depending on the age of the baby, the bilirubin level as well as other factors that predispose the baby to jaundice.

|red{When Should My Baby Get Checked For Jaundice After Leaving The Hospital?}

It is important for your baby to be seen by a nurse or doctor when your baby is between 3 to 5 days old, because this is usually the time when a baby's bilirubin level is the highest.

The timing of this visit may vary depending on the age of your baby when discharged from the hospital, advice given upon discharge and other factors.

<font color="ff0000">Does Breastfeeding Affect Jaundice?</font>

Jaundice is more common in babies who are breastfed than those on formula milk. But this occurs mainly in infants who have not been nursing well.

If you are breastfeeding, you should nurse your baby at least 8 to 12 times a day for the first few days. This will help you produce enough milk and help keep baby's bilirubin level down.

If you are having difficulty breastfeeding, consult your doctor, nurse or lactation specialist for help. Breast milk is the IDEAL food for your baby.

<font color="ff0000">Which Babies Require More Attention For Jaundice?</font>

Some babies have a greater risk for high levels of bilirubin. Risk factors include:

Prematurity
Appearance of jaundice in the first 24 hours after birth
Breastfeeding that is not going well
Bruising or bleeding under the scalp, which are related to labour and delivery
Family history of jaundice : A parent of sibling who had high bilirubin level and required light therapy
G6PD deficiency

<font color="ff0000">How Is Jaundice Treated?</font>

If your baby's bilirubin level is high, he will need to be admitted to the hospital for phototherapy. This is done by placing your unclothed baby under special lights.

Phototherapy will lower the bilirubin level. The level at which jaundice is treated is significantly lower than those at which brain damage is a concern and treatment can help prevent the harmful effects of jaundice.

However, in some occasions, the level of jaundice may be so high that phototherapy may not be effective. A special procedure known as exchange transfusion might then be necessary.

Putting your baby in sunlight is not recommended. It does not reduce the jaundice level effectively. Moreover, newborns should never be placed under direct sunlight as they might be overheated.

<font color="ff0000">When Does Jaundice Go Away?</font>

In breastfed infants, jaundice often lasts for more than 2 to 3 weeks. In formula-fed infants, most jaundice will disappear by 2 weeks.

Please consult your doctor if your baby is jaundiced for more than 2 weeks.

littledan
When my gal has mild jaundice during the first wk, my mum also bought herbs from the medical hall to bath bb. They are like some dried seeds/nuts, then we cracked it, boiled it and added the water to the bathing water.

amore
maybe u can try burping ur gal when she is half way thru her feed to clear the wind then continue feeding her again.

for my gal, she wants to be carried and pat pat to sleep. Only after she is sound asleep then we put her back to her cot. but sometimes she very cranky too, the moment we put her down, her eyes wide open and her trumpet starts playing. we tried playing soft music, warm lighting to create a cosy environment for her but also no use. seems like she wants attention and pple to carry her.

i have not intro sarong sling and pacifier to my gal cos dun want her to be reliant on them. but i noticed that my gal now starts putting her hand in her mouth.

petite, how much water is consider too much?

bbjan, my gal also like tat. i realised its esp so in the morn - she likes to be latch on or zzz on nursing pillow. when i unlatch or put her now she wakes up. she seems to zzz better in the afternoon....

Petite thing, that was a really good article on jaundice. Thanks very much!

And all for your advice. Appreciate it.

Was wondering if it was my diet coz the poly clinic nurse told me to avoid ginger and papaya, but I continued to take some dur the confinement period. Kindda blamed myself when bb's jaundice carried on for so long. Had to bring him to the poly for blood test. Each prick... my heart wails.

<font color="ff6000">Littledan</font>,My baby did hv jaundice too. My mom did not give me eat ginger till he gets better. Don't blame yrself. I understand how you feel. At least yr baby is at yr side. There are few babies that hv to stay in hospital under the ultra-vol light for days / mths. {I was one of them} My mom cried everytime she sees me 'suffering'.

<font color="ff6000">Zenn</font>, This I remember. Dr told me a day abt 30ml H20 is enough. Of course the lesser the better. Unless you are giving FM and BM at the same time, you can give a little bit more. Heaty la!

petite, ya i giving my gal FM and BM. She already 2 days nv poo leh so today givin her more water -_-

petite, bb still small. maybe when she gets older will bring her down to the playground.

babyjan, burp her liao also same... dunno wat she want... my gal also... once she fuss she want us to carry her and pat her to sleep. if not she'll cry very loudly. i noticed she only does this when I'm alone with her! when my mum arrive. she's ok. after my mum leaves wah start liao. once she fall asleep i put her down into her cot she start making noise and I have to start comforting her and pat her to sleep.

was thinking since she want to be near pple. i'll put her in sarong sling and let her sleep. at least she's near my body and my 2 hands are free.

ur gal not wearing mittens liao? just started removing the mittens for my gal today. now need to trim her nails every week

re pacifier - sometimes she needs it to go to sleep sometimes she doesn't. i noticed for her nap she'll need it. for her nite sleep she can go to sleep without having it.

zenn, my gal same same. noon time sleep sleep sleep. my mum wanna play with her she keep yawning and fussing.

i hope this phase will pass soon!

littledan, dun blame urself... my bb also... during confinement everyone who came to visit keep asking "why ur bb so yellow" then brought her to poly clinic to do bloodtest. she screams her lungs out when the needle poke her and when the lady try to squeeze blood out of her. there was once the doc want 2 blood test to be done. the lady only managed to squeeze 1 tube of blood. coz my gal too tense the blood is not able to flow out. after 2 blood test done on her she seems to have alot of nightmares. sleep halfway can start screaming without any reasons. both day and night. at least now no more nightmare liao. but started fussing!!

amore, ya i hope so too. think they r changin pattern every wk.

btw, anyone check out the clinic at 600+? wonder how much they charge for the jab.

<font color="ff6000">Zenn</font>, Are you still doing confinement? bb not yet 2 mths old yet rite? Is ok to give bb a lttle bit more H20. But remenber don't give any juices or barley H20 yet.

Bb can sleep and sleep is good. Is part of growing too. Later stage when they don't want to sleep, we want them to sleep.

<font color="ff6000">amore</font>, Oic, saw a few mummies there. Was thinking if any of you bought bb dw to the playground.

My mom always say they nod who they can bully. Hee Hee Hee! So maybe thats y.

<font color="ff6000">Zenn</font>,
Did not like the clinic at 600+. Everytime I go dwstair, is always close. Don't nod when they are open! I rather go to Punggol Plaza.

Hi every mums or MTBs in Punggol area,

I am staying almost opp PP. I juz found out tat I am preggy ard 1 mth ago...My EDD will be ard Sept... Hope to learn more BB friendly thingy ard punggol area.