Any Mommies in mid-late 30s or over 40 with small children?

Hi Tam,

Maybe this news will throw light on why so many illegal dodgy foreigners have taken root in the heartlands.

http://sg.news.yahoo.com/scdf-commissioner-suspended--cnb-director-under-probe--report.html

Really atrocious. I hope these top civil servants (who are supposed to keep vice at bay) are not the same ones letting these horrible women into Singapore, breaking up families. Read some threads on this forum and it's very saddening

Was just approached by a Vietnamese prostitute when waiting for a bus asking for directions. Wearing see through blouse with black bra, white pants and g-string strutting about with a pair of mandarin oranges and pink bag. HORRIBLE! I really don't wish to see our heartlands turn into a call-centre for these over-stayers!

Hi mumusings,
The news article did not mention how they misconduct, I am not sure what happened?

As for foreigner workers, they can come to Singapore to work as maids, waitresses, etc, and then work part time as prostitutes.

I read that PM mentioned the government will give more incentives for citizens to have more babies, so that we don't need to depend on immigrants.

Hi Tam,

Think it's 'corruption' case and they were "arrested". Anyway it's horrid to note that even chief of CNB is corrupted (I mean he's supposed to sweep away vice, drugs) and he was former CID director. The other one is supposed to be goody-two-shoes according to colleagues' testimonial.

This is just very timely because the civil service needs a waking-up. Too many scholars, too many nice resumes and too many people who are going side-ways for $$$.

Hope the law with be strict with these two. Now we really have an alumnus of ex-scholar-crooks, including the previous guys like the SLA. Just 2 weeks back was the MHA guy buying S$400000 worth of vouchers and Hermes bags using general funds. What's happening to these people!?

hi ladies!
happy chinese new year! have been very busy and tired since sch starts. dunno if i can last for a yr...

Tam
i m very tempted to shift to a bigger place cos my books are increasing too. but the price for 5rm is really ridiculous! hubby said to wait for bto near our place. but even 5rm is only a mere 110sqm...

mumusings,
I read that both men are involved with the same woman. and she is married ! Scholarships certainly donot guarantee good morals. High salary also does not guarantee that there is no corruption.

helen,
My new place, an exec HDB flat, is 130 sq m. I am going to leave our 3000 books behind in the old flat, it now belongs to my mother. This way we can have more space in our new flat. A 5 room flat in our area costs about $500K, and this is the least popular place to stay in Singapore because of too many foreign workers.

tam
i prefer EA 5rm as one need not climb up and down the 5rm EM. but not many around my area bishan and the price in bishan is !!!!!$$$$!!!!(sorry i really dunno how to describe the selling price over here)

jus crossing our fingers that bto will be at this area and we get to buy a new flat. have not made use of the first time purchase yet. our first flat is also resale.

Happy 祥龙 Year to all of you and family

Hi Mumusings,

My family (Maternal side) also practise eating the 七样菜, we are Teochews and we have to add a pinch of Sugar to signify 甜甜蜜蜜.

I find that this is a good tradition to carry on and wanted my children to learn this too.

Mumusings
Thanks for sharing! wanted to view this masterpiece and guess not poss. Only managed to see the scroll form when i was in U

Hi Helen,

I procrastinated going to the Singapore Expo for the exhibition because it's so very far away. It's nice to be able to see it here instead of having to get an air-ticket overseas to catch it.

You saw the same exhibition or you meant that you saw the actual scroll painting? I've always been amazed by ancient writers/painters regardless of their race because of the details they capture of life/people/surroundings.

Hi mumusings,
Your dish looks really delicious !
Thanks for sharing about the moving masterpiece, very interesting. I will try to find time to visit.

Hi Helen,
I also don't like to climb up and down :p My dream is to be able to have two HDB flat side by side. Hopefully HDB will change the rules to allow singles to buy at a young age. Then each of my kids can buy one unit hehehe

Hi Tam,

Hope you'll be able to find time for the exhibition

Been taking my son to all sorts of places to eat and get him used to buses/mrt. Found very nice coconut drink and ngor hiang at Changi Village (not a place to go at night I know). So happy to know 90 cents can get me a full mug of drink and coconut flesh! No longer easy to find in Singapore these days...

6633418.jpg
6633419.jpg

I haven't had a coconut drink for years and it's just so heavenly to enjoy this on a hot humid day

am new here
hope to interact w mummies! ;).
snowball32, my maternal side teochew also eat '7 yang zhai' and add sugar too! yummy.. i recalled it must be specific vegs too right?

Hi Andi,

Welcome to our yakking club. We are 自家人
Do tell us more about yourself.

I only know that Leek (蒜), spring onion, chinese celery are a MUST as part of the vege. For the rest, we mix and match to make up the 7 types of vege...I find this very meaningful and also ensure that both my kids take a mouthful of the vege.

Hi mumusings,
I have also been to Changi Village hawker center a few times. Yes we can certainly find good and cheap food in hawker centers. My favourite is the one at Tiong Bahru market, clean and airy in comparison to other hawker centers.

Many parents think that kids nowadays cannot do without computer games. My boy has been banned from all computer games during school term. Besides reading, my boy is able to do a lot of interesting things to entertain himself, without bothering me
I have taught him how to blog. View his blog to find out more :
http://jeromewhitey.blogspot.com/

Hi Tam,

Very clear and concise blog (your son's)
Like the zoob creations especially. Where's the best place to get zoob?

I don't understand why the gov needs a committee to look into making good hawker centres. Like all jobs, you need vacancies to go to people who are genuinely interested in cooking/selling food, not those who just want to buy franchise shops and collect rent/takings! The drink stall lady told me it's very hard work making the coconut drink. I can imagine scraping many many coconuts. Amazing it only cost 90 cents. I've seen terrible versions of such drinks sell for S$1.30 at other food centres. Tiong Bahru, Marine Parade and Boon Keng has nice food too. I hope these genuine food places won't disappear. Really very loath to go to Kopitiam outlets. Standard names and stalls. Even char kway teow also has franchise stores now.

I'll definitely encourage my kid to write a blog and post up his mischief/creations next time. He's suddenly into drawing (congrats!) and will sometimes spend an afternoon doing an entire booklet full of the same shape/item. I am still not forcing him to write a to z or 1 to 10. He came up to me with a "3" and "H" that day. Guess he has strong ability to translate concepts/what he knows into writing so I'm not too worried at the moment. He's also trying to speak in sentences.

I'm terrible - as a Language-grad-mom, I've left him to pick up things on his own hahaha... Now he speaks in tenses: eg. "I'm playing" and "I play". He's somehow figured out the difference between continuous tense and present tense recently. Maybe I'm too unambitious and bochap but I'd rather he want to learn than I shove information into his head.

hi mommies, what are ur views on those re-enacted 'documentaries' on crimes/murders?

Seems that there are so many of them nowadays - confessions of a <duno>, in cold blood, etc. Maybe whoever that come up with all this shows may think that it can be used for warning the public that crime does not pay, but I personally find it disturbing because you never know when all this watching will plant the ideas inside somebody's mind and cause them to be either 'open' to this ideas (eg, watching too much porn/abuse) or to act in similar matters during heated moments (eg, stab someone during argument).

Of course, you can also argue that alot of TV shows (TCS shows, CSI etc) are also highlighting crimes and abuse and some are 'inspired' by real life stories so what's a few more of such shows.

Your opinion?

Hi Bloom,

I think problems to explain to the public how scams and crimes work is fine, especially in point form. Generally I like watching Crime Watch better because there are some interesting new points to note. More concise and to-the-point, compared to the drama serials and newer series. Also has suggestions as to what public should do if they encounter certain scenario/people. At least there's an 'official' procedure to follow for people like me who are usually blur to such matters.

Of course there's a danger of copycats who will take existing criminal ways to modify-and-use... terrorists too sometimes get ideas from Hollywood movies I'm sure. A scary world out there these days.

Hi Mommies!!!

It's been toooo loooong since I last posted here. A belated happy Chinese New Year to all!!!

I've been reading the web...lots of 'interesting' happenings in SG...good or bad...I guess it really is part of SG's development. The social development has really not caught up with the economic development. And today's comments by the Education Min of State about ITE grads....very un-called for.

We've had a busy winter break, followed by Chinese New Year. But nothing beats the atmosphere of Chinatown in SG...squeezing with the crowds, music blaring in the ears! That's how CNY should be. All we had here were gatherings with friends. But we did manage our own yusang though

Do your P2 or 3 kids have science projects? Our daughter is doing one for their school's science project fair. Just wonder how different or same the school system is.

Oh, and personally, my favorite 'crime' shows are Criminal Minds and CSI NY and LV. CM is THE BEST...hands down!! My hubby thinks I'm psycho!

Our FB page and blog has also been slowly gaining traction. Now we're going to introduce new mums and babies related products for mommies expecting a dragon baby. So if you (or know anyone) who are expecting a dragon baby and looking for such products, point them to us.

Thanks for viewing my boy's blog

Origami is really one of the best things that we can teach our kids. It is so cheap, the only material needed is paper. Whenever my boy is bored, like waiting in a restaurant, etc, I will give him a piece of paper and he can entertain himself by folding different objects. The best thing is that he learned origami by reading origami books that his Daddy bought him. I was too busy to teach him.

Hi mumusings,
I bought ZOOB from www.amazon.com. Shipping is expensive, no choice because I cannot find it in local shops.

I agree with you about Kopitiam. The hygiene standards at Kopitiam Jurong Point is really poor. The cleaners never seem to wash their table cloth, it is really smelly. They really have no reason to charge higher prices.

I also did not make my kids practice writing, or teach grammar before they enter primary school. In fact, I did not teach grammar at all, I left it to the school teacher to teach. I find that my kids learn grammar effortlessly. My hubby said that this is because they have been reading regularly. When I was young, my parents could not teach me to read. I could not read well and almost never read any story books. I really struggled to learn grammar, and had to memorize a lot of things. I am surprised about how much my kids already knew before they learn it in school.

It is best to let your son enjoy these few years before entering primary school. Now my son often has so much homework to do, he has to work until 11 pm. His school has this policy : "All homework must be completed on time." My girl said that kids who do not complete homework are made to stand outside of the classroom. I have spent so many years developing a love for learning in my kids. I am worried that the school is slowly killing this love.

Hi Tam,

I bought a simple Origami Book for my kids but has not started teaching my gals. Have to find time to teach them.

I only know how to fold a few animals which my mum taught me.

Kopitiam - Their food is getting from bad to worst. Take for eg, the Paus they sell, the standard has dropped drastically. I only like the soups from 老火汤 which is still palatable at the Kopitiam near my house.

Grammar - I did not teach my gals grammar too. I concentrate on teaching them how to read. DD1 going to finish the P &amp; J series soon, now ending book 11b, still perserving on :p

My gals learn Phonics from the CC. Phonics really helps alot when it comes to learning spelling for my DD1 (now in K2). She learnt her weekly spelling of 8 words quite effortlessly.

The CC also gave her some homework on Fridays in preparation for P1 next year. I always tell her that she has to finish her homework first before play or our weekend outing. I hope this will train her to prioritise that homework comes first.

Hi snowball,
Your DD1 is doing very well !

Fortunately my boy does not need to learn spelling, otherwise he can only sleep after midnight. His teacher gives a ridiculous amount of homework, sometimes up to 20 pages in one day. My boy is afraid of being punished and say he must finish. He is a left hander and he cannot write very fast
I have also heard other mommies complaining to the principal about too much homework, but nothing has changed.

Interestingly, he also learns 听写 effortlessly, and he says that Chinese is easy. I guess it is because I make him read Chinese story books everyday.

I also like 老火汤 !

bloom,
I don't like to watch crime documentaries, too depressing for me. I hate violence. News reports of crime are enough for me.

BTW, recently I read about a man who followed a woman into her flat and tried to rape her. The man is a complete stranger to the woman. Looks like Singapore is not as safe as it used to be.

Tamarind,

I really dread the day my kids will have lots of homework and remedial/supplementary classes... fortunately or unfortunately, my boy (P1) does not have any homework other than spelling (weekly), hypy (monthly).

We dun stay so close to the school... on his cca days, he reaches home around 5 or 5:30pm depending on traffic conditions. Normal days he reaches around 3+. Hopefully in time, we will be able to move closer eventually though after school care will be a major issue.

Long time no post- had been very busy with work...

Mumusings- I call it the mermaid fish- like mei3 ren2 yu2- usually found in nasi padang stalls deep fried with sweet sauce...

Tam- your boy in P1 seems to have a lot of homework- sounds like too much homework!

Poohy- your P1 boy already joined a CCA? Wow, that is early...

NYPS only needs to start CCA in P4- good for my gal- no need to arrange late school bus for her...

P3 science- now learning about animal parts and the living habitat of animals...I also hear expts about growing sprouts etc...

Higher chinese got much harder this year- got to write compo- really not easy for kids who do not have strong foundation in chinese- my gal does not read chinese story books regularly...

mumusings
oh! i love this fish! just ate it in sch the other day! yum yum! have not tried frying this. maybe i should go get it and fry as snack?

snowball, wow...book 11!!! my gal stopped at book 4 and since then never followup. Sent her to phonics class and she can read simple words but learning spelling is still a torture...

mummusings..ehhee. my mom stir fry this fish with dark soy sauce for me (cos i dont take spicy stuff) yummy!!!!! I think it look like an oversized ikan bilis too!

redvelvet, i used to watch alot of crime series but simply no time nowadays... and my taste for violence tone down after being a mother... (or perhaps just being older)

DD's CC has been asked to close again for 10days for HFMD..sighh...hope this is the last time since she is already in K2 (hopefully not another round during the hotter july/august weather)....

Mommies with kids going to primary 1.. did u all end up dropping non-academic enrichment? Am having a hard time with the daily piano practice with DD.. maybe I will drop it when she goes primary 1 cos no matter what, priority needs to be given to the homework right?

Hi Mumusings,

The Chanel fish goes very well with Nasi Lemak Chilli (yummy

Hi Bloom - My DD1 is attending JMC @ Yamaha music school. So far, I make sure that she practise at least 3 - 4 times a week, 15 - 30 min per session. My hb and I talked to her when she start to slacken. We told her that if she wants to continue the class, she has to practise voluntarily. We will not push her. If she do not practise, then we will stop her lessons altogether. She has been quite "automatic" in her practises since.

HFMD seemed to come back. My DDs' CC got 1 case, so no closure....phewwww

poohy,
Your boy has CCA at P1 ? Is it compulsory ?
My boy is now in P2, I opt out of CCA for him. I want him to focus on swimming. No point learning too many things.

bloom,
My kids only have swimming lessons outside of school. School homework is more than enough academic enrichment for them.

tamarind

I also opt out of CCA for both kids. Now school further away so I'm reluctant to send/fetch especially when they're in different session so it means more trips if there's CCA.

Furthermore, dd1 is already staying back twice a week for compulsory extra lessons. I heard going to increase to thrice a week in term 2 for compulsory computer lessons too. Got some resistance from form teacher who insisted CCA is compulsory while I insisted no no no. Everything also compulsory, like that will end up in school everyday, where got time to rest? So I insisted to opt out from CCA

bloom

I actually did the opposite when kids enter P1. I dropped all the academic enrichments at end of K2 for dd1 and at end of K1 for dd2. However, I kept all the non academic ones like music, arts, swimming, etc. I finally dropped the non academic enrichments except music at end of P3 for dd1. Really not enough time, so I sort of reshuffle those to school holidays only

Enrichment classes- the only academic enrichment class my both kids attend is for Chinese...

The rest of the enrichment classes are non-academic- cos school is already busy enough for them!

DD1- piano, skating, swimming
DD2- ballet, skating, swimming
Both piano and ballet are exam-based, so it is time consuming and need consistency in practice...

Did mummies read the ST forum page today- parents are sending kids to a second tutor so that the kids can cope in their elite tuition class- go for extra tuition to cope with the original tuition!!! What is the world coming to these days!!! So school is definitly not enough, so need tuition, and need to attend 2nd tuition to cope with the 1st??? Actually, some hot-house tuition centers teach at a much higher level, DD1 is attending one such school- I wonder if she can sustain there, although the content is really good, so we will see...

fairy

yet to read that article. I suppose it's for people with spare time &amp; excessive money, haha

do you mean your dd is attending a 'much higher level' school or tuition center?

I agreed with you graded exam very time consuming. I took my kids off exam. Just learn, no need to go for exam. For my dd2, she took grade 2 last year and won't be going for exam till grade 5. Maybe because I'm not a 100% perfectionist. I feelthat practising over &amp; over again to perfection is very draining leh. As long can pick up the technique, I'm satified liao, my low expectation, hehe

I do not know what went wrong with our education system that parents are getting so stressful to ensure that our kids perform academically.

Currently, the only academic based course my 2 gals attend is 3G abacus during their freetime at CC. The other 2 courses they take are English S &amp; D and Art class. DD1 attending JMC for 1.5yrs now and just started both of them with swimming. So far, they have enjoyed their non-academic enrichments.

I am thinking to enrol my DD1 for the English class at British council to prepare her for P1 (more for honing her writing skills) during 2nd half of this year. But, the fees is very ex....$950 for 15 lessons. Still considering.

Hello mummies...

Yawn- I mean my DD1 is attending a high level tuition school (P3 higher chinese creative writing)- the content is very advanced in my opinion, writing very expressive compo with cheng2yu3 that I also dun know (I have to check dictionary to help her!)...and I see the kids who attend are from NYPS, RGS etc (cos they are still in their uniforms when they attend after school)....so the content is certainly good, but pushing the kids to absorb so much more words than their level- it is scary...I will assess if I should keep her there- cos tuition is supposed to help, not turn them off the subject...

Yes, exam-based non-academic enrichment is equally stressful...DD1 doing grade 3 piano exam this year...
DD2 doing grade 1 ballet exam- 3 separate classes a week (compulsory by ballet school) to prepare for grade 1 ballet exam?!?!- crazy in my opinion- I am super busy with all that ferrying around and scheduling...

Here is the news report mentioned in the forum letter today. I find it even more disturbing.  

Worried parents taking children to psychologists

Psychologists say stress levels could be exacerbated by the hothousing that goes on in enrichment classes. Children go to class already knowing all the answers, forcing teachers to raise the standard even more.
By Irene Tham
These days, enrichment classes are not the only extras in children's schedules.

Parents are also packing their children off to see psychologists - paying upwards of $100 per hour - fearing that they may have learning disabilities.

Some do so on the advice of teachers. Others do so because their children have problems coping in school, presumably because of the accelerated pace of learning.

BACKGROUND STORY

JUST STRESS

'The learning disabilities I sometimes see in my clinic are not disabilities by any definition. I'm seeing kids from good schools with good grades who feel anxious just because they did not ace their exams.'

Dr Adrian Wang, consultant psychiatrist at Gleneagles Medical Centre

TOO TAXING?

'Her maths homework in Primary 2 looked like what I did in Primary 4... It's like she is forced to learn how to cycle and juggle at the same time.'

Lecturer David Chin, on his daughter's Primary 2 homework last year

One 42-year-old parent, who wanted to be known only as Mrs Tan, said her son's Primary 2 form teacher in a local top-tier primary school had complained about his inattentiveness in class and hinted that he might have attention deficit hyperactivity disorder (ADHD).

'I was worried when she told me to have him 'checked',' said the lawyer- turned-stay-at-home mother, who later consulted a psychologist and found that he was normal.

Even so, she put her son, who is now in Primary 5, through several sessions of psychotherapy over the last three years to help him manage his short attention span. 'He is better now. It could be a function of his maturity as well,' she conceded.

According to the Institute of Mental Health (IMH), more than one in 10 primary school pupils here had emotional and behavioural problems in 2010.

That year, 685 schoolchildren between the ages of six and 18 years were referred to the IMH's community mental health programme called Response, Early Intervention and Assessment in Community Mental Health (Reach) for ADHD and anxiety disorders, among others.

Psychiatrists also said the number of children who see them had gone up by about 50 per cent in the last two years compared with the previous two years.

But parents are confusing anxiety to perform in school with learning disabilities, they said.

The majority of children who come through their doors do not suffer from such disabilities, despite their parents' suspicions, but from the stress of being unable to cope academically.

Dr Adrian Wang, a consultant psychiatrist at Gleneagles Medical Centre, said he used to receive a call from anxious parents once every few months. Now, he gets such calls once a month.

'The learning disabilities I sometimes see in my clinic are not disabilities by any definition. I'm seeing kids from good schools with good grades who feel anxious just because they did not ace their exams,' said Dr Wang.

Parents blame the 'academic inflation' here for the problem.

Lecturer David Chin, 42, said that his daughter had a 'mental shutdown' last year when she was in Primary 2 as she could not understand the mathematics problems dished out in school.

'Her maths homework in Primary 2 looked like what I did in Primary 4,' lamented Mr Chin. 'It's like she is forced to learn how to cycle and juggle at the same time,' he added.

Another parent, Madam Ng Yoke Sin, 40, brought her son to see a psychologist last year after he failed his Primary 2 mid-term maths examination.

The stay-at-home mother had been worried that her son would be 'streamed out of the education system' as he had trouble understanding his maths coursework for more than a year.

But psychologists said the problem could also be exacerbated by the hothousing that goes on in enrichment classes parents make their children attend. They go to class already knowing all the answers, forcing teachers to raise the standard even more.

Dr Tan Chue Tin, a consultant psychiatrist at Mount Elizabeth Medical Centre, said: 'Parents hothouse their child because the child's classmates are being hothoused. Many young children are stressed because they can see and feel that they have let their parents down.'

North Vista Primary School principal Phua Kia Wang, 51, said teachers have been trained by the Ministry of Education (MOE) to look out for signs that a child may be stressed or having difficulties coping, especially during exam periods.

'The children may be unusually quiet or sleepy,' said Mr Phua, adding that the school works closely with IMH's Reach to counsel problem cases.

To help such children, psychologists usually teach them relaxation or concentration techniques such as deep breathing or taking breaks to freshen up in the washroom.

They also tap a form of psychotherapy known as mediated learning experience (MLE), typically used to treat autistic children or trauma victims.

MLE is a series of brain exercises aimed at overcoming the brain's deficiencies that block learning. Its questioning methods can be applied to any subject, be it maths or science, to give order and meaning to learning. Parents or teachers have to be involved to help heighten the child's awareness of, or sensitivity to, a set of stimuli presented by a problem.

'The tools are specifically designed to call into active engagement cognitive skills, which have yet to be developed in younger children,' said psychologist and MLE practitioner Lucy Pou, who has treated more than 200 non-autistic children using this method since 2002.

Another MLE practitioner and special educational therapist Nikki Tay also said he has been receiving many more inquiries from parents of normal children these days.

Last year, he had eight such queries from parents who believed their children had learning issues. He turned down most of them as he deals with only autistic and dyslexic children, and those with ADHD.

'School teachers should move away from focusing on results to managing the process of learning,' he noted.

Failure to do so may result in children losing interest in their studies, which will in turn lead to a decline in learning. They may also be too preoccupied with good grades that they forget the joy of learning, Mr Tay said.

When contacted, an MOE spokesman said that schools here are aware of the need to set age-appropriate assessments and assignments. But she did not say whether schools are complying with the guidelines.

The spokesman also advised parents to be 'mindful of the impact that excessive tuition and their expectations have on their children's learning experiences and stress levels'.

Since 2006, MOE has reduced Primary 1 and 2 class sizes to 30 pupils to enable teachers to give more attention to each child. By 2015, the teacher-to-pupil ratio will be 1:16.

Fairyprincess,
I am now coaching my girl in chinese creative writing at home, using advanced books meant for P5/P6 higher Chinese students. My girl does not find it difficult because she has been reading many Chinese novels over the past 2 years. She is now reading 窗边的小豆豆 which is difficult even for most P6 students, but she enjoys reading it. I only ask her to spend about 30 mins reading out loud from Chinese books to me everyday since P1. She does not find learning stressful at all, in fact, she often laugh out loud when reading. This way, she has learned many advanced phrases in Chinese easily.

Just like for English, if the child has been reading well in Chinese, then Chinese creative writing will not be difficult. Otherwise, it will be very stressful to pull a child up to that standard by attending enrichment classes.

Tam- you have really prepared your kids well from young- that is fantastic...but I suspect most kids are not so well prepared in primary school...

I think the pace taught in school should be acceptable for most kids...but some tuition centers are teaching way beyond the syllabus requirements- so only some kids can cope with that...