Any Mommies in mid-late 30s or over 40 with small children?

Hey tamarind,
You have my support. I constantly referred to your blog when I had to engage my maid two years ago to help take care of my twins.

Hi Fairy,

Thanks for your inputs....so, I guess its "not so safe" to plan any trips to Tokyo esp with the recent media reports on the Nuclear water leaking into Pacific and also the milk powder issue.

Probably, will go Osaka instead.

Hi Tam,

Your blog is definitely very informative and useful to me and I personally have benefitted from how to manage my maid. Me too strongly support your BLOG

Hi Tam, Sophia and Snowball,

Agree! I don't have a maid but I read Tam's blog so as to remind me to strive hard to never ever need to go through the agony of employing one.

Hi Tam,

Very tedious queueing for the show and after!! I've never done this sort of thing before as a teenager haha...

My son was starting to get cranky before the show and during'cos it was zzz time at around 1pm. He was so restless even the MC noticed - she was standing behind us watching. His way of showing happiness is not by watching, but by pretending he didn't care + pulling at my husband's shoe-laces.

The kid really likes Tim Maddren alot but doesn't mind Stevie/Lauren/Tim carrying him. Hahaha... so he managed to be seated with Lauren, got to say hello to Stevie and Tim so kindly squatting down on stage after the show to 'receive' the gift. The most precious moment was chatting with Lauren's parents who were playing with my son - we didn't realise till I asked if they were tourists. My son has this thing about Caucasions being the 'Fat Controller' in Thomas and Friends because of their accents so he really thinks Mr Brant is the Second Controller 'cos he said to my son, "Hi, I'm the Second Controller!" My son was very shocked to see Lauren walking off with her parents after that. Guess it's too much to digest in a day - his favourite actress being related to a 'controller'...

Here's Fat Controller (the real one):
6425451.jpg

Hi Hi ladies

wow so many posts! hmm.... false organic food....hehehe thought it happens only in China? no offense to any mummies from China. thanks mumusings for the news. will have to be more vigilant in buying. anyway have decided to both organic n non-organic to ensure my kids are also "exposed" to certain chemicals whatsoever in the envt or their bodies will not be able to react. geez.. cant protect them forver right?

my writing projects for online portal and publishers started when i took no pay leave 3 yrs ago. i have a very nice colleague who used to work in the publishing line so she went around to tell her ex-colleagues that they can look for me to write, so have been writing since. but doubt i can do it once i start work as they always pressure me to submit asap....

tamarind
i always remember something mother teresa said(cant recall the exact words): even if there r bad people around, continue to do good.
yes your blog gets all the negative attacks cos pple do not have the whole pic. i have friends who say be nice to maids, treat them like family members etc cos they r lucky to have engaged nice ones. wait till they get not so nice ones.we will continue to treat maids with respect n provide their basic needs. but even children need to be taught! maids who grow up in another environment will not understand our live styles, so wat is wrong with providing them with guidelines? lifting things out of context is mere stupidity. i know it can be pretty disturbing to u but know tat your blog has benefitted many out there and could have prvented many more family tragedies in all forms! i am sure there r many silent readers who agreed but just prefer not to post anything. FOLLOW YOUR HEART! Do wat u deemed is right for wat we do will never ever please everyone. take heart my friend! u have my support!

Bloom
my ecezema is "dunno how to describe". changing of detergent etc does not help as i wear glove on my right hand when i wash dishes or laundry. hahaha my left hand is exposed to test out the detergent. so far it is still smooth and nice! trying to do something abt my diet, mayb lacking in certain minerals?n jus have to trial and error!

Oh no next Monday gotto to report liao! 22 dec full day refresher course! wish me luck ladies! now trying to get so many things done!!!! feel like drowning......hahaha

pls pardon me in my post as i find that i cannot organise my thoughts too well when i write. anyway my excuse is i dun and cannot teach EL heeheehee so u can guess wat subject i teach!

cheers!

Hi Helen,

I'm sure you'll get fresh perspective going back to teach
Enjoy yourself! Yes, I'm also giving my kid a mix of all sorts of foods and toiletries to get him used to be non-fussy eater/user. He loves minty shampoo at the moment and calls it the airport-sweet (Fox mints at the counter). The fellow has a keen sense of smell and will let us know what he detects in foods and products.

Lifting things out of context is a chronic problem for many journalists, bigots and people who selectively choose what they want to interpet. A problem with teenagers too.

I think your eczema is exactly like my mom's. She had to wear gloves for a few years. A lot better now.

Hi Mumusings,

Brought my kids to watch Hi-5 yesterday too. This is their last show. We did not bother to queue. Was there at ard 6.30pm and the whole place was packed with audience. We managed to squeeze my 2 kids into the enclosure for them to get a better view.

They want to go watch Care Bears this weekend.

Hi Tam,

Yes, its my kids' first trip to China and they were "surprised" to experience toilets with no doors and also not so clean washrooms. It was a good experience for them. My DD1 has been very well behaved this trip. She was game to try out different kinds of food we came across. She also learnt to drink Chinese Tea in this trip (did not allow them any cold drinks due to the cold weather). My DD2 just barely recovered from stomach flu on the day we flew and she was a little cranky in the 1st 2 days. Luckily, she fully recovered by the 3rd day and enjoyed herself the rest of the trip.

But, I thought it might be better for them if they were older when they next visit China.

Hi Snowball

Hi-5! We were there too!!!!!!! I had a feeling lots of forum mummies were there. Didn't queue too. My dad tried queueing but they said they wouldn't let him in unless we reached. Just as well... We were very late, reached about 6.50pm but nice to find a spot near the prams. Good thing I didn't queue because likely got to queue at 4 plus, judging from the numbers yesterday.

My son's on cloud nine - where we stood, Lauren passed by and he got to give her a present. Lucky day 'cos she hugged and kissed him before and after the show. Amazing energy - she told us she'd sprained her back but still performed anyway. Casey's very pretty even without makeup. As for Fely, we've never seen her before/after shows before hahaha. 2 guys are also very friendly and they took time to squeeze in photos in between the stage shooting to talk to the kid + receive presents.

Pics here: http://mumusings.blogspot.com/2011/12/hugs-and-kisses-from-hi-5.html

Not many people sing live these days and it's one of the best mini-concerts that are free to the public. Definitely not lip-synching 'cos a few times their mikes died and the crew snatched the emcee's one to use.

mumusings, snowball

My kids love hi-5 too! Actually me too, haha!
We went last year, bought pics and keychain. But sayang to miss their performance this year. Had a rather bad backache, can't stand for more than 5 minutes so I didn't suggest to bring them to watch hi-5 this year.

Hi Yawn,

Hope your back is better. I scalded my thighs last week when kid jumped on me as I was eating meehoonkway (just cooked so boiling hot). After all the excitement wednesday and yesterday, with sore-throat and kid's 'jetlagged'. I prefer series 11 and 12 songs - this season's songs don't really stick for some reason. But it's great to see all the kids having so much fun within 40 minutes of interaction.

My hb and I both feel that my son's already got the best memories from this years' shows and pics so next year likely I won't go queue (ahaha maybe just once). Very grateful Lauren went on her knees to hug and receive the gift from my son though she sprained her back.

See pic. It was my son who ran away in shyness first!
6440534.jpg

Helen,
Thank you very much for your support. I do receive many more comments supporting me compared to negative comments. The negative comments were written by people who do not bother to read my blog thoroughly. Now that I have turned on comments moderation, it is more peaceful now.

Good luck for going back to work !

snowball,
It is good that your DD1 was game to try out different food. My kids kept asking for KFC and MacDonalds when they were in China :p
I actually did not allow my kids to use any public toilet, since we only went for a few hours every day. The only bad encounter was at Kunming airport, the toilet was like our kopitiam toilets, but my girl complained that the toilet was super smelly.

Tam- did not realise your maid blog became such a big story in ST! We understand your intentions, so it got blown out of proprtion...Hope things are more peaceful now...

I missed all the xmas shows at malls this year- too busy, and maybe kids are getting older- they also dun ask for it...

Hey mommies, train disruption yesterday, anyone affected?

We were at Sommerset yesterday evening. Train service was disrupted and massive crowd at bus stops with people trying to find alternative route out of Orchard area. Taxi obviously not a viable option.

Fortunately we managed to take a bus to nearby city hall. Actually we weren't even sure if city hall affected by discruption at that time, but that was the nearest station outside Orchard so we tried. Not much info announced.

Subsquently the late night news reported people were trapped inside the train without aircon & in total darkness. This is really bad! Not aware it was so serious at that time.

The once in a blue moon when hubby & I decided to take public transport, we encounter such incident. Public transport seems more & more unrealiable. Read in yahoo this is the 2nd disruption within days. Caught in traffic jam is still better than caught in people jam, can be quite scary

yawn, luckily i came from JE side so not affected. My DD was so affected by the news footage that she keep telling that we should not go 'far far away' places from now on because the MRT will break down.

City Hall was not affected? I thought it was Braddell to Marina Bay? Or just the NS line of City Hall but EW line was OK?

bloom

EW line not affected. We enquired at the control station when we arrived at city hall. Kind of confusing without proper announcement. Even if no train service, I think our chances of getting a taxi should be higher than in Orchard area. That was our plan in case city hall affected by disruption too. Kinda felt like 逃难 from Orchard area. Just grateful we weren't inside the train when the train stopped. That would be too traumatizing. Yahoo reported passengers broke the mrt window for air! So I can imagine how bad the situation was

My son was pestering us to take him on an MRT ride yesterday 6pm. Thank Goodness I was down with food-poisoning and so we kept to the heartlands or else I won't know what to do if I need the loo!!!!!

Horrifying to read that cariages had no lights/ventilation. That CEO with red hair should come forward to explain herself instead of being highlighted fo all her astronomical bonus year after year

i was in the NS line thher day with hubby and was jus commenting that the train's ventilation is pretty bad as I felt kinda nauseous the moment i stepped into the train. i jokingly said that shld the train breaks down, i will die!!! geez... didn't knw it actually happened!

Hi Helen,

Me too. We were on the train a couple of times and there wasn't much ventilation/cold air at the head of the train (double seats). I will be the first to faint if I'm stuck in a dark breakdown train. The longest I've been stuck on a train was on London's tube - someone jumped onto the track to do suicide and they had to clear the tracks + get authorities in! Very macabre for a holiday... They got the staff to walk through the cabins to relay the message that some waiting is needed. Think it happens often over there.

Trying to encourage the kid to draw/doodle - anyone's kid draw before writing? I'm not too sure of 'sequence' but he's not into copying letters and the usual colouring still so we're going to do lines and shapes first to see how far it gets. He can trace letters and will do the entire book at one shot before stopping --- looks like I have to buy many of those tracing books. Our latest tactic: http://mumusings.blogspot.com/2011/12/drawing-before-writing.html

Yah- I think MRT back-up operations must be quite weak- power cable failure- so serious that need so shut down the entire line for one whole night???

I just don't like the idea that fares keep going northwards and standards southwards. Hope no pregnant ladies, old folks or kids were injured/hurt/distressed...

Seemed that MRT got serious pblm after initial checks by LTA this morning. LTA also lapse in their so-called regular checks. So the culprit will be MRT & LTA.....See who push the blame to who now.

Yesterday, hb down with viral fever. Wanting to let my hb rest well @ home, actually planned to take MRT with my kids to Orchard Road to do my Xmas shopping yesterday morning. Went to MRT stn and realised that service disrupted. So, end up shopping with my kids @ Causeway Point instead. Also managed to catch the Mr Moon & Miss Sun stage show. My kids enjoyed the shopping tho'

Hi Mumusings,

My DDs doodle before they learnt to write. They draw about anything and everything on the doodle board. It was a good investment, no mess, no cleaning up and unsightly drawings everywhere in the house.

I bought my first ever Malay newspaper because I liked the way they frankly presented the news.

6473492.jpg

Not very good at Malay but thanks to friendly neighbours we've had, I know 'rosak' and 'lagi' very well.

mumusings

both my gals doodle alot. number 2 is doodling/drawing alot now. was very touched the first time she drew me.... in order to remember what she had doodled/drawn, I made her do simple "show and tell" and took video using my handphone. She was so happy and keep coming back to me for video shoots! hahahaha so happy kids are learning and enjoying. so am quite fearful once they start school....all interest in learning might be "killed"....
counting down to going back to work....geez....not looking forward actually.

went back to report one of the days last week and both kicked up a BIG FUSS! refused to go to childcare, only want mummy to send. hubby had to pick me up and send me home! luckily it was informal meetup with the hod. sigh.... really dunno wat to do when sch starts in 2 weeks time

Hi Helen,

Its common especially during this time of separation anxiety. My kids still request that I fetch them from CC instead of my MIL at times, now that both are at CC for more than 2 yrs now.

I have to explain to them that mummy has to work and will be home with them in the evening. But, they still wanna be pampered.

So, once in a while, I will still make the efforts to fetch them from CC and I can see how happy they are.

Just in case you're looking for toys and happen to go Giant - there's a train set selling at S3.99. Bigger and better than the Tomy Takara type that costs S$40++. Grabbed two boxes. Super sturdy and tracks are lovely
Hahaha... kid's too busy today to come invade computer-time today! Pics here: http://mumusings.blogspot.com/2011/12/our-first-motorised-train-set-costs.html

Good thing didn't get any other motorised set and patiently held back 'cos I just cannot make myself pay for another type of ThomasFriends set since we already have the die-cast series. S$3.99 is really unbelievable. 2 boxes (keep spare to expand tracks and extra carriages) for S$7.98. I bluffed him the 2nd box for someone else or else my living room no more space! Already 3m x 2m given to his railway systems.

Hi Helen,

The kids will get used to it. Bring a little treat (lollipop/snack etc) back every day? My son also kicked up a ruckus when hb has to go to work one period of time - pestering me to go look for him etc etc. No joke wrestling with him and took me alot of ear-pain (putting up with the screams and tears) before he realised no amount of tantrums will get daddy back immediately.

Hi Snowball and Mumusings

Thank u! My mum was already in tears the last round when the 2 gals made a big hooha. I knw she cannot stand seeing the gals cry....

When i get back to work and hb starts working when sch hols is over, uh.... dunno if my mum can handle....geez.... one way is to send them b4 i go to work but then will have to wake them up very early and send them early too. guess this is the lesser evil???

tmrw on half day course, so will see how they react....wish me luck hahaha

Hi Helen,

All the best

To all:

Merry Winter Solstice to all! It's the new year aleady... Really fast, considering I've known most of the ladies on this thread for 3 years now (since 2009).

Juz login to wish you n family a very Blessed Christmas :)

Hi Mumuings,

Yes! Time flies n we have been chatting for a few years now. Thanks all for the online companion n useful child-raising tips. It has been great knowing all of you.

I am in phuket now ! Just spent 5 days in Krabi, will be spending christmas eve in phuket. Will catch up when I return to Singapore.

<font size="+2">Merry christmas and Happy New Year !</font>

Hi Tam,

Enjoy the sun and sea while you can! 24 degrees here in Singapore (this morning)

Hi Helen,

Will be rooting for you! So happy whenever I hear of mothers re-joining the workforce - how I wish I could too soon!!! Haven't worked for 4 years now - definitely heading towards disintegrating intellectually and linguistically hahahaha... Not so much for the pay but to 'upgrade' skills and knowledge before I become irrelevant to this world

Hi Mumusings

Thanks a great deal! I don't think you are "disintegrating" from the way you have been using the language. I sound more like it! hahaha... well I may just join the work force for another 2 yrs and "retreat" back into my "cave" again! heeheehee

Enjoy the time with your precious little one first, money etc cannot compensate the time you shared with each other.

Happy parenting!

Hi Helen,

Yes, $$ cannot compensate for the full-time company with the toddler. Not bad an idea to work on/off every few years. My concern over language/vocab etc falling apart is just so that I don't end up infecting the kid with half-past-six language skills! It's always easier teaching other people's kids somehow for me...... no stress and vexation. Own kid = less patience 'cos we know all their tricks and they also know our weakpoints.

Hope your daughters have somewhat accepted the fact that you'll be away in the day? Mine is more attached to daddy because I'm stricter with behaviour and toys management. Hahaha... new faculty 'toys management' = hb wipes, cleans and polishes all the vehicles at night after kid zzz while I have to manage with creating more space for storage/display.

festive season so nice hor, really feel in the mood for shopping &amp; gathering. Met my friend on X'mas eve for karoke &amp; shopping. Went with family for shopping on X'mas. Today plan to go movie with hubby. Now I have so many shopping bags on the floor in dining area, too lazy to unload. And will be meeting my friend again on new year eve for movie &amp; more shopping!

Just realized I've not done much shopping this entire year, after dd2 started p1, seems not much spare time. All my clothes looked so worn out. I guess better indulge in my favourite hobby before school holiday is over. My kids will be going to a new school. New uniforms and new environment for them and probably new routine for me

I am back !

Hi mumusings,
It also rained everyday in Phuket, but only for about one hour. It wasn't very sunny most of the time, which is fine because I ran out of sunblock after the first 2 days.

Fairyprincess,
The Straits times reporter did not understand the intention of my blog before he published the article. I was quite surprised at the quality of the reporters nowadays. He did not even read my blog thoroughly.

Hi Helen,
Good luck when you return to work
It is not easy being a full time working mother, especially when you have no maid. It is something that I definitely cannot manage :p It is great that your mother can help.

snowball,
I also try to make an effort to fetch my kids when they return home on the school bus. I feel happy too
Next year my girl is in the morning session, and we will need to drive her to school every morning before we go to work. I am starting to feel stressed already, because sometimes I have 8 am class and I cannot be late.

Something really has to be done about service standards. Not so much of rudeness but jia3 li4 hai4 (Hokkien - gey-kiang) - don't know but act smart.

Incident #1: crocs staff who insisted she knew my hb's feet better than we do (we've worn their shoes for years!).
http://mumusings.blogspot.com/2011/12/thanks-we-know-our-shoe-sizes-well.html

Incident #2: uniqlo - very very diasppointing, they used to be so helpful and friendly (or maybe only certain branches). Telling me that they've "never" sold trackpants before!
http://mumusings.blogspot.com/2011/12/no-thanks-to-buying-anything-from-rude.html

These are the type of staff who will kill off business because they are not focused on what customers ask for and think everyone's suaku.

Hi Tam,

Better 'rehearse' waking up earlier... that's what my parents did they had to drop my sis and I off at school, followed by my mom and then to work (dad).

Its fast approaching end of 2011!!! Times flies....and soon, school starts again!!!

Just wanted to wish all mummies a few more restful days...before the hectic new year starts...

Will go on leave after today- got to use up leave, otherwise confiscated...

Also bought a new year modern design cheongsam- all ready for CNY!

tamarind

Your trip sounds great!

We went phuket during CNY earlier this year. My kids love it so much. They're really into beaches &amp; resort. They got a tan that lasted 9 long months. I'm not a sun person though. Carried an umbrella &amp; covered myself with sunscreen from head to toes, haha!

How about your ds? different session from your dd? he's taking school bus?

mumusings

I shopped at uniqlo last weekends. Somehow their pants sizes do not come in the usual S, M, L differentiation so I can't read their sizes. The hip and waist measurement on pants also not accurate. One of the sales girls took my measurement but totally no correlation between the measurements she took and the pants sizes they have. Weird. So she aga aga shoved me a few sizes to try. Need better training lah

Hi Yawn,

When Uniqlo first opened, they were really professional and helpful. Checking out various sizes even during sales. Don't know what happened overnight. 313, Ion and Tampines still okay, Causeway Point and Vivo sucks. And you know something? A friend who's really good with sales tried signing up and never got a job with them but instead they hire junk like the girl I met!

I buy their men's 3/4 track pants 'cos straight cut and hides my hips. I basically can't take Jap women's cutting so I only wear their men's S singlets and sometimes shirts - for pyjamas, not going out. Hb takes well to everything there so he's been loyal fan of over 10 years and replaces the SAME items annually. So it's stupid the girl says Uniqlo NEVER had track pants. They're pretty famous for their sportswear!!!! It's almost like having a Tiffany Staff say they NEVER sold silver lockets.

Anyway, I have a good memory for voices and faces so just won't go Vivo Crocs/Uniqlo if I see either 2 staff. The Crocs incident was truly classic, a stranger insisting she knows my husband's shoe sizes better. Totally off tangent.