Any Mommies in mid-late 30s or over 40 with small children?

tam,

Thanks for the recommendation of the books. I tried letting him watch movie - like Ben 10, then i buy all the easy reading comics for him to read, and you know what? The comics were thrown into the bookshelf collecting dust. now every nite, i read to them some of the chinese books i have at home. tonite i will start to read with them their berries material. they are very lazy to read by themselves! for peter and jane, arnold is reading 11b. i made him read 2 pages a day and he is complaining and complaining liao. but since i have the books, i'm going to make him read until 12b, so i can reap the cost of the books. sheryl is still stuck at 3b - for the longest time, but she also read kate and tom - now at book 6. she can read most of the words, but same as arnold, very lazy to read by herself.

I'm going to get some books from dang dang also. now waiting for citibank to send me the access pin so i can set up the secure online shopping password. my shopping list is ready, just waiting for the password now! i ordered the 四五快读, 1st and 2nd book just to try out. i reckon that if i can do with my #2 and #3, i don't have to send them to berries and save some money - then can go for holidays... heheheeee...

1st day to school

i didn't go school with arnold yesterday. The school has programs for the parents in the hall, my hb went to school. i took flexi leave to go back around 11+pm to make sure arnold is ready to go school and waited for the school bus with him. The school bus was 15 mins late, but arnold is the last one to be picked up and the journey is less then 5 mins, so that's fine, they still make it to school on time. according to hb, the kids assembled in the hall with their respective classmates and form teachers and after introducing to the teachers, the kids went to their classroom. parents are in the hall where they were given instructions on health, dental & cca etc for the kids. kids are encouraged to join a cca. The P1 kids were given a buddy from P2, so during recess time, arnold's buddy brought him to tuckshop to buy food. He had a pancake that cost $0.70. then school is over and he took the school bus home. when arrived, he didn't came down from the school bus cos he was watching pokemon in the bus... :p and he told me he wasted 70 cents buying pancake, but said he likes it and will take it again today?? funny lah... so i will be giving him $2 allowance everyday. save 50 cents first into his piggy bank and bring only $1.50 to school. a bowl of noodles or a plate of rice cost about $1 - $1.20, so $1.50 should be enough. told him that he should also save the balance of the money up so he can have a plate of rice or something the next day. must teach the kids to save, else they will have bad money managing habits...

Yawn,
oh i see, i thought peter can fly and can also heal himself?? so his power is absorption... can he control whether to absorp or not? now the lady has turned to water, she is very powerful too. but i hope she does not have too much hatred in her, else it will be bad. i like the little black boy, wished i have the powers he has... then i can literally take cash from every atm machine... heheheee...

yah lah, mark changing sylar - but i think old habits are hard to die, that's why 'nathan/sylar' can still tell that the clock is out by 1.5 mins. i think that's a way of telling that Mark's power is really not that strong lor and i'm sure the next season is coming soon...

i didn't watch cougar yesterday. watching dvd. tonite crime nite!

gosh, I really do sound like tv addicts...

On Pocket $$$, I read with interest on Sunday Times that 1 parent is giving her child $5 a day for pkt $$$. I think its too much. I checked with my colleague, she gave her kids 80cts a day until they were Pri 3, $1. She started to give them $1.50 a day when they were in Pri 5. She told me its enough. On days where her kids need to stay back in school for extra lessons, she gave them additional $2 for lunch. She also put another $10 bill in their bags which they can use during emergency. She told her kids that they have to give detailed explanation when they touch the $10 bill. I think it is quite a good idea - to make the child responsible for what they are spending.

Hi Tamarind,

Wow....teaching in China. I am sure it will be a very good experience for you.

Do not worry lah....Chloe is a sensible girl. I believe she will do you proud in school even in your absence.

Hi StyloBB,

I wakes up at ard 6am every morning. My DD2 is a natural alarm clock. She will wake up between 5-6am everyday for her 1st feed. My hb and I usually goes to work early (by 7am) to beat the jam.

What to do, we tend to be busy with household thingy like buying groceries, busy filling up forms for school registration, clearing bills, etc. Nowadays, I put a reminder on the list of to-dos in my HP....so many things to do.

Yesterday was the 1st day I sent my DD2 to CC. Her Jie Jie cried when I bring my DD2 home ard noontime. But, her teacher told me that she was alright after her nap. Today, I leave my DD2 at the CC after being with her for 1 hr. I think she must be crying now. Will go to fetch her home after lunch before rushing back to work. Hope that she can adapt well so that I can let her go on to fullday CC after 2 weeks.

Hi Mummy Tang,

My 2 gals sit together during storytime. I have to read 2 stories everynite now - 1 for DD1 and 1 for DD2. For DD1, I encourage her to read along with me and I will prompt her on the way to tell me the story in the following pages. For DD2, I use colour picture books to attract her attention and my DD1 will "help" to read to her. I read to them a mixture of English and Chinese Storybooks. You can try to catch their attention using more picture and less words.

I have been spending the last few nights catching the HK TV Drama - 溏 心风暴 之 家好月圆. Quite a nice drama. Now already more than 1/2-way thro'. Shd finish the series by end of this week.

Snowball,
i've already finished the whole series including the 珠光宝气.. rushing nonstop and can watch until 3am everynite. wakes up at 7am to go work again.

yes, i think $5 a day is too much. but 80cents a day is not enough for my boy. i guess you have to see how much the tuckshop's general food price to determind the pocket money. you see, a bowl of noodles or a plate of rice is already $1 at my son's school, pancake is 70 cents each, plain roti prata is 70 cents each too and my boy needs to take 2. so 80 cents a day is definately not enough. so next time when your kids go school, you gotta check out the general food prices at school to determind the amount of pocket money to give to your DDs. remember $1 today maybe $1.30 in 2 years time. at my time, a plate of noodles is only 30 cents!

hmm....seems like all mommies let you kids save the balance of pocket money?

I didn't practice that leh. Whatever remains in her purse get top up. She doesn't have a piggy bank. We collect plenty of $1 coins & place the coins in a big beer mug for her. She tops up her purse herself if I forget to. Operating entirely on trust lah since both kids can easily gain access to the beer mug & I'm not keeping track how many coins there are in the beer mug. She's thrifty by nature. Complained canteen food too expensive, one plate of upsize rice cost $1.10

I intend to open a bank account for her though. What type of bank accounts would you recommend for kids?

Hi Rona,

I borrowed the DVDs from my colleague which is a Korean/ HK Drama craze...the next in the line will be 珠光宝气 for me. Actually, I try not to chase these dramas as I tend to watch non-stop. When I did not have kids, I can watch 2 DVDs - 8 episodes in a row every night until hb scold me...hee...hee.

Wah....by the time my DD1 goes to P1, think I have to give at least $2.00 to her.

Hi Yawn,

I think it is good to cultivate savings habits for kids since they are young. I buy piggy banks for my kids and give them 10cts/ 20cts coins (balance from buying things like bread) to save up.

Your DD not bad leh, know how to thrift. I would wish that my DDs like their daddy, thrify kind. If they are like me, then die lah....I am the spendthrift type and also picky with food.

Bank Account for kids - Think the Young Savers account by OCBC is quite good. You can check it out.

Snowball,
i just finished the korean drama - 贤内助女王。 now watching hongkong drama, the content a bit like 鲁迅’s 家. me too leh, can watch 8 episodes a nite - still doing that now... :p

allowance - you go recci the tuckshop's prices first then decide.

Yawn,
i'm heeding your advise by telling the kids this is expensive and that is expensive and so now... but i don't know if it register into them or not. :p as of now, when i tell him that i don't have money, he will bring me to the ATM machine and ask me to 'buy money from this machine'!

i'm thinking to take the money out from the piggy bank and count with him prob once a year (think maybe he can save $1 per day) and bring him to the bank to bank in his money and watch his money grow... then he prob gets the idea that money grows very very slowly.

snowball,
is the OCBC young savers account the one with stamps?

<font face="tahoma"> wow TVB drama - me just got "gong xin ji" from my bro... but yet start leh... let me finish "the lost symbol" 1st... finished "my sister's keeper" since unable to watch the movie...

if my bro cant get the chinese books, then me gotta bother Tam again lor... okay?</font>

lee,
gong xin ji is in my list... haven't mananged to get the dvds yet... pieng, like that i can never have enough sleep... :p

<font face="tahoma"> HI 5 with rona... keke... but me staying with ILs yah, cant stay up to watch drama anymore... lights off by 11pm, latest... like you all, me used to watch till no day n nites yo, esp weekends before got married yah... no more luxury ME time @ all</font>

snowball, rona

All these drilling on thriftiness seems to work only on my dd1, less so on my dd2. My dd2 always saying oh $1 so cheap, $5 so cheap
nono.gif
I told her she hasn't even start to earn 10 cents so she's in no position to comment what is cheap

Recently my dd1 told me her classmate's daddy promised him $100 if he made it to top 10 in class. My dd1 commented she wouldn't feel richer if daddy is the one giving her money. If daddy has $1K &amp; gave her $100, total household income still $1K. Only when the $100 comes from someone else then she would really be richer

Hi Rona,

My hb also has his DVDs - Drama's/ Movies to chase, not forgetting his WII Sports (also using the TV). So, we gotta take turns to watch as the only time we get to watch TV is when my 2 DDs are zzzzz.

My colleague told me she will pass me the Drama DVDs when she finished....Peng liao...

Yes, OCBC Young saver's account gave stamps for kids to exchange for gifts. I already opened accounts for my kids with POSB. Did not bother to change.

Hi Yawn - Your DD1 talks like a young adult. She is really GOOD...know that is household income. I only learnt what is household income in JC1. So paiseh.

Hi Leeriener,

My MIL stays with us on weekdays, we still watch our DVDs at night lah. Sometimes, my hb will watch until 3 - 4am when he is chasing his DVDs. For me, my DDs are natural alarm clocks whom will wake me up by 7.30am. So, nowadays, the max. I strectched is 2am.

I usually watch online. Now chasing Korean drama 妻子的诱惑 on channel U although I already zoom to last episode online to find out its ending. That show too draggy yet quite addictive leh

Was chasing korean version boys before flower some time ago. Watched 10 episodes then lost momentum, zoom to watch last episode. Was also chasing taiwan drama 福氣又安康 left last 5 episodes yet to finish then lost momentum again.

Aiyo, watch drama must chiong all the way, cannot watch &amp; stop hor, otherwise lost momentum

Anyone knows where to catch next season of Hero online? Can't wait

yawn,
me too, can't wait for Hero!

you go watch 贤内助女王 la, its quite nice - not too long, i think only 30 epdisode or so and its quite intersting some parts funny...

Have been busy and quite zonked! My 6YO has to wake up by 6am, as bus comes by 6:30am...luckily she is the last to get on, or else it would have been earlier...

Yes, have buddy system too, but buddy is from P5- very mature and sensible and played their role well...

Can see most kids very well prepared for P1, and very enthausiastic about their new experience, although some are still crying...

I packed sandwiches for Day 1 and 2- they have 2 recesses for the first 2 days (in case kids get hungry!). I feel packed food is better as she could eat the food immediately. Many P1 are buying food, with help from the buddy- nowadays, I think kids are independent very early! My gal also went to buy 2 packets of wang wang biscuits...I told her later to focus on eating her sandwiches and not buy food, as recess time is short...

Pocket money- I will reduce it from S$2 to S$1 per day, but I am tempted to top up, rather than give a fixed S$5 a week even though she does not use all. Hubby feels what is due hers should be her savings if she does not use all... we will see...

NYPS teachers are sooo bilingual- so many instructions in chinese only, and speak chinese so fast, I think if kids hardly speak chinese at home, very hard to understand and follow instructions- I better speak even more chinese with her...

Formal lessons only start next week, and kids are assigned lockers to keep their spare books, as well as they have a basket below their desks to keep some other books. I think that helps to reduce the weight of their bags...

What else? Will think and post...

Tam- ya, its true cannot totally rely on maid, if can help it...

Drama serials- I really admire mummies here- I do not follow any TV progs, let alone serials...really no time leh...

Hi Tam,

Bossini had a Paddington Bear sleeping bag on sale last month. Don't know whether it's still available. Usually you can find cheap and okay ones at Giant or Carrefour (where all the camping tents are).

Hi Fairyprincess,

I don't follow TV prog and serials too. Always accidental if I happen to catch any interesting shows. These days I watch Arts Central 'cos I find the orchestras and Italian opera has sedative effect when he's not sleeping well...

On Primary One and pocket money,

Looks like costs of food has gone up alot at canteens from the days we were at school. During my mother's time, 10 cents was enough. I used to get 50cents in Primary One and $1.20 by Pr 6.

I think it's best you see exactly the portion of food they serve at the canteen so that you know what 70cents or $1.20 is worth.

Was at a school canteen once and there was a sign that read '$1 - orange juice'. I ordered one thinking it was fresh juice and it turns out to be cordial mixture! That's really expensive!

mommies with kids in primary school

Need to watch your child's weight. Mine put on <2kg throughout last year. Managed to pump her up only during school holiday. I weighed her yesterday. Plan to weigh her once a month. My dd1 is too skinny to me. Told her I expect 300g more by next month. I like chubby kids

yawn,
already i think my #1 is not eating a lot these two days. my mum pumped him up a lot during the past dec holidays. i also like him to be of good size, not skinny like chopsticks... :p

fairy,
i share the same sentiments as your hb... i told my #1 to keep the balance in his piggy bank. and still give him $2 a day - but he has to save 50 cents first every time i give him his pocket money. so he took $1.50 with him to school. he has been taking pancake - 70 cents each, so he has been coming back with 80 cents balance. he told me that he will try the noodles tomorrow. hb told me noodles is between 80cts to $1.20. will see what he takes for tomorrow.

i will be coming back late tomorrow as now i have to attend class every wednesday. class will finish only at 10pm. i hope the kids will be asleep when i'm back or else... very late for them then.

Tam,

re the orders
I still hv your bank ac, can just transfer the amt to you now? $12 right?
Pls confirm. Thanks.

re P1
DS was initially worried during the bus ride to school yesterday. When I saw him again during recess, he was enjoying with his buddy.
Today, when I went during his recess again, he was busy playing, "too busy", no time to talk to me leh. Me ended feeling sad!

re pocket money
Given DS $1.50 + a snack box every day. He finished his snacks but the $1.50 always intact. Was asking him why he don't go buy food from the canteen??

His answer is ...
" why waste $$ to buy??? can eat my bread and save my $$$ ... "
" ... why?? you want me to waste $$$ and food? "

Was speechless ... don't know what to say.

aa,
clap clap for your boy!

yawn,
forgot to clap clap for your DD1 as well, she is really very smart with money!

i watch sherlock over the weekend, its not bad! but i heard over the radio just now that robert said that the next episode may need to potray sherlock as a gay or something like that and the licence holder of sherlock didn't like it thus there may not be a part 2...

rona/cheri, ayoh..canot find that posting abt missing kids anymore.. but it should be somewhere inside SMH forum... i thot it was the hk disneyland thread but no time to go thru page by page to find the exact posting. (IT.. NY got alot of bugs ahaha)

mummy_tang, sama... its tough for us to juggle work/household and kids...

yawn yawn, ahhaa..talk about first in first out (for peter's powers).... wah.. ur dd1 is very good in terms of understanding money....

mummusings, the clone wars II is showing on ch 5 soon..maybe u can let him watch ahaah

tam, his kindy uses sleeping bag???

styloBB, agree with u abt fathers walking in front of the kids.. my hb did that alot..even when he is alone with my gal. I am paranoial! Ur reflexologist sounds good (know ur body just by massaging)

rona, hehehe... recently my gal also start talking about 'buy money'.... was sherlock homes ever hinted as gay in the books?

fairyprincess, good that they have lockers to keep their stuff..but basket under desk.. very prone to thefts leh...

Stylo,
we are on sat's 915am. You?

re: HK DVDs
I love watching them but I seriously am so tired and no time for them.... I rather hit the bed by 11pm!!!

aa, yawn,
wow yr kids really know how to deal with $$ High 5 to them! I hope my DS1 will know that $$ is really must earn hard and not from grandparents (which I told my inlaws umpteem times cannot gibe my kids $$$, my kids will have to work for it themselves)... I hope to bring DS1 back to my inlaw's stall again after CNY, to write table numbers when customers order their food...from there he get "paid"... I used to do this to train him in writing the numbers!!

regarding courses
any mommy taking online courses? wonder whether online degrees recognised in Singapore? any recommendation?

If you all still remember cowandchick...she was taking online course with a couple of months &amp; graduation in Sydney. That sounds good!

rona
what kind of classes are you attending?

yawn,
chinese language course. cos company give me budget last year for course, so i sign up this lor. either this or foreign language, and i thought chinese maybe easier to do then foreign language. cheap course, so i think the standard is not that high.

Hi Mummy Tang,

Your DS is thrifty leh. I also used to help out at my father's hawker stall when I was in Pri Sch. That was where I learnt that earning $$$ is not easy. It also made me appreciate that it was not easy for my parents to earn $$$. Really every cent counts. Good training for your DS

Hi aa,

You DS is thrifty which is good. He knows how to make full use of available resources.

Hi StyloBB - I think this is wat most guys like to do....walk ahead of us. What I do is I make my hb take care of one of our kids....So, he cannot run away...hee...heeee

Hi Mumusings,

I bought 2 pairs of Paddington Bear Shorts for my DD at almost 1/2 price at $15 each (original $29) from Bossini. Material is good and my DD lowe it.

snowball/rona/yawn
I do not follow any series... I can get by a week w/o watching tv!
I usu tape some of the Ch 8 and Ch U programmes like "Life Transformers", etc and view on weekends when I hv some time.

fairy
Hahaha.. watched Twilight on DVD..... haha.. the vampire really looks so fair.
Hb asked me if I wanna know part 3, anyway don't want to spoil it here and I guess the ending... hehe

yawn/aa
Yah man, your kids are thrifty - -- so good!

Pocket money - $5!! Crazy!
I think I will also adopt the $2 (eg) per day...whatever is left is to be saved....

mummy_tang
We are also at 9.15am on Sat! Maybe we will meet one day.. My gf's son is there too....
This timing's good for us...as we can go for lunch, go home to rest before going to the pool later.

rona
Wah, I don't mind going for chinese classes leh..

Did you read/watch this clip about this gal who was molested by 4 guys at the Countdown Party?

Wow, congrats to cowandchick!

rona
Sherlock nice, right! I enjoyed it.
Now wanna watch "Invictus" and waiting for "The Blind Side."

My throat was not too good today... went to see doc.

styloBB

no lah, that's not latest info on cowandchick. She didn't come in to chat for a long long time liao. I remember she was taking a course of that nature last time

Hi Bloom,

He likes watching Wonderpets and WEWW Brilliant Creatures now. He has no reaction to robots and Star Wars at the moment. Strangely he enjoyed watching the feature on Susan Boyle last week.

Hi Snowball,

Good for you. I didn't see any Paddington Bear pants for toddlers the last time I went

To all moms with P1 kids

It's very heartening to know that your kids are saving

Hi StyloBB/ Mumusings,

The Paddington Bear Shorts are for girls. Its 100% cotton material. My gals have sensitive skin and they can only wear 100% cotton clothings. So far, I find Bossini kids clothings going at good prices during Sales.

Today is the 4th day I went to the school early to see that my gal gets off her school bus...think I am the only mummy doing that! The rest are just alighting by themselves and go off to assembly...am so tired after waking up at 5:45am four days in a row!!!

My gal has PE today, will also be assigned lockers and should get their timetable by end of this week. There is a meet-the-teachers talk this Sat for P1 parents...wonder what will be shared with us there?

Yesterday, there was an impromptu concert by P1 students to thank the parent volunteers- various P1 students played the piano and violin as performances...I heard the teacher ask my gal- "can you play the piano without looking at the book"- my gal thought the teacher was asking if she has such a skill- she answered that she has not been taught that yet...actually, the teacher was trying to ask if any student can play a piece from memory for the concert- of course my gal can play quite a few...if only the teacher asked the question in another way...well, I guess kids have to learn to better understand and be daring to clarify with teacher if they cannot understand them...

After school- its quite rowdy when kids were getting onto the school buses- there were about 60 buses in total!!! Small and big and kids have to find their own bus which is parked at random positions...what a mess...but kids seem to be able to locate after walking around!?! Anyways, I told the bus driver to allocate an assigned spot for the P1 children in his bus to wait for him, rather than they have to walk from bus to bus to find the right one...

Those are some further observations...
Tam/ Rona/ aa- how are the kids doing so far?

Stylobb- Twilight- I prefer part 1 Twilight to part 2 New Moon, I guess part 1 feels very fresh and new concept, part 2 is just continuation of the long story- but I have read the synopsis for all 4 parts already so I know the ending =)

snowball
i like bossini too cos of its generous sizing...so unlike Fox Kids where they outgrow so fast!

tam
my hb bot a sleeping bag for my dd recently from Carrefour too..think there were a few options. But he chose the one wif the most padding. Only a lil more ex, it seems. At least it will be more comfy.

kids vs $$$
i show my dd the price tag on the 2nd hand story books each time i read to her. $1 or $2 a book for such nice stories that mummy can read to u again &amp; again vs $1 that u put into a toy car ride in a mall for a short 2 mins ride...she was suitably impressed haha

savings bank? my dd has one too which we also give her spare coins to put in once in a while. But honestly, i dun think there is much impact made cos the money is given to her &amp; she doesn't need to earn it herself.

stylobb
any link to the clip? scanned the headline only.

re application of sunscreen on face
just read that we should ideally wait for at least 20 mins after applying sunscreen for it to be absorbed b4 putting on any make up. Also, ideal amount for face &amp; neck is abt an index finger's length of sunscreen...oh my! hv i been doing it the wrong way all these donkey years?! hahah

yawn
OIC! But maybe she has finished by now!!!

snowball
ARE the shorts for indoor or outdoor??

fairy
Twilight - no wonder the gals (and even older women..ahem) swoon over Robert Pattinson...hahaha

Wah...so many kids....

I'm on leave today cos the twins started at jesse's school.. No problem lah.. so happy in their uniforms and bags.. said bye bye to us after the assembly...kekeke

Hi Fairyprincess,

Nowadays, think parents are more stressful than our kids when it comes to school. My turn will come in 3 yrs' time :p

Hi StyloBB,

The shorts are good for outdoors
They also have nice kids' Paddington Bear t-shirts. I did not buy any as my 2 gals have many t-shirts liao. My 2 gals are sharing a 3-door ceiling-to-floor wardrobe and I am now running out of space for their clothings....gotta control my purchases liao.

Hi Cheri,

Yes, I agree that Bossini is generous with their kids size. My DD1 has to wear their Sz 110 now but that can last her at least a year. I bought a set of Sesame Streets T-shirt/ 3/4 pant set for her last year. She is still wearing until now, except that the 3/4 pants is now knee-length &amp; the T-shirt colours did not really fade after multiple washings....value for $$$

stylo,
have already read all the 4 books, so not much motivation for me the watch the movie. Plus, I find the story abit draggy at the end, so actually i was not so crazy over it. heheheee, i'm not a romantic person leh. I also wanna watch invictus and the blind side - i have always love Matt Denon's movie. I think he is a brilliant actor.

Stylo,
yr DS1, jesse is in 915am or the twins? yes maybe will get to meet u... it was so crowded last sat!

StyloBB/ Mumusings / Snowball
Yes bossin kids are nice and comfy.... we bought alot when we were in HK last sept... was on sale...even cheaper.. hee hee ...

snowball
I need to get more home shorts for the twins.. they hv been already wearing 5T since 3.5 yrs old... not sure if cutting is small.... Where can I find? The biggest size for tods at ON is 5T, after that is for gals and the size is rather big...

rona
Me neither... I find the dialogue quite corny at times...keke
And his hair always has this deliberately messed up look.
Wl just rent the dvd part 2 when it comes up...

QUite like Invictus. Blind Side wlbe showing next week..Sandra Bullock just won fave actress for Peopele's Choice Awards. But can see she has aged quite a bit...keke...

You like jap food, right? Do try Itacho...

mummy_tang
IT's jesse lah.....

rabbit
Welcome. Tell us more about u and ur kids...hehe

Movie: Btw did anyone watch this HKG Movie "Yi Wai" ... "Accident" starring Louis Koo..

I started to cough yesterday... haiz... scared that it wl aggravate.. took honey w/ lemon, hot water with the dried lime, and even pi par kao... on anti-inflammatory pills and lozenges... haiz...
Do you know how often do you fall sick?
My last sick period was in September....

cheri
Razor Tv showed but it cud hv been removed... v disgusting lah, don't watch....
Think the gal was partly drunk.... but the men shud not take advantage of her.. makes me scared if next time our kids like to go such places then how????
Anyway I never liked crowded places esp this kind where guys can do sth and get away with it....

Hi StyloBB,

My DD1 is also wearing size 5T already. She needs Sz6 for Levis Jeans

For homewear clothes, I buy those cotton t-shirt/ shorts set from Chong Pang Mkt. Each set is $7. Very comfortable and my kids love it. You can also try Cotton-On. I bought some t-shirts/ shorts few for my DD1 when we went to Australia 2 yrs ago.

Aiyo, you are having cough. You can try double boiling Chuan Bei with Korean Pear to drink. It helps clear phelgm and soothe sore throat.

The last time I was sick was about 4 mths ago - cough, sore throat and runny nose.

Hi Rabbit,

Welcome to our forum.....wow, this forum's mommies' club growing.

Hi Snowball32,

Thanks for welcoming me to this thread.

Hi mummies out there,

Just wondering anyone has experience with PCF Joo Chiat Blk 15 ( a landed school PCF located at Telok Kurau) and PCF Geylang BLK 31?

I have enroled my son to PCF Geylang Blk 15. He seems happy and eats a lot for breakfast.

What puzzle me was the principal's attitude. When asked what will be taught in school, any outings, where do they go, blah blah. She always answered with don't know, not sure, it depends. AS good as never answer.

This makes me rethink about this school as she seems not well prepared in answering parents' queries or lack of interest in teaching children.

To me, it seems like only for the sake of working.

I yet to find out more.

I am searching for another school just to get myself prepared in case it does not meet my expectation.

How many mummies live in EAST?

Rabbit

I'm in the East but not familar with Geylang area. I'm more familar with Tampines/ Bedok/ Simei

I remember I read some good review about Brighton montessori but can't seem to find that exact thread now. My younger girl attending a Church kindy

Hi Yawn Yawn,

Nice to know you live in East.

How is your girl doing in church school? May i know the name of school?

Bedok still okay for me. Any good one that you are familier with.

Dear mommies,
I was so busy the past few days ! Chloe is doing fine in school. Jerome also likes his full day kindergarten. I finally found a sleeping bag for him from Jurong Point. Thanks for all the suggestions.

Today my kitchen was dismantled. I will have a new kitchen tomorrow. But we still cannot cook because the counter top takes one week to be ready. Sian...I ordered from Ikea and there was so much hassle. They have a promotion now, $20 vouchers for every $200 spent on kitchen, so I thought it was a good deal. But it turns out to be so much trouble !

I will catch up with the rest of the posts later