Any Mommies in mid-late 30s or over 40 with small children?

Thanks mummies...I received about 15 different brochures of classes held in school after school hours- from eng/ math/ chinese to creative learning; wushu; swimming; other sports etc etc...wow...shouldn't kids focus on learning at school?

My gal said she receive the chinese spelling list of 10 words today- that is fast- I heard there is weekly english and chinese spelling...

Tam- thanks for ordering the dang dang books- pls PM me on payment amt and collection when it arrives...

Hi Yawn Yawn,

My son is in N2 this year (will be turning 4 in Mar10). He is very happy and looking forward to go PAP every day. Since he enjoys it so much, i will just let him continue.

I do send him to Montessori Upper East Coast Road for phonics and started him Peter and Jane since last week.

We do craft and lapbooking at home too when timing persist.

Nona, Snowball & Tamarind,

Seems like Nordic Natural DHA is very popular.
I always taught that is cheaper to get locally. so, don't even bother to ship from overseas.

Nordic Omega 3-6-9-Lemon flavour (180 soft gels, 500mg) cost $71.90 at Vitakids.
I am the member of Vitakids,10% discount for daily purchase. 20% discount for birthday month.

If purchase from overseas, how much is the courier fee? And the final cost is....

I heard of Sambucol but not very sure what it is for. Vitakids sell $24.90 for 120ml.

Initially when i have only a child, i ordered organic supplement which was really expensive.

So, trying to find out the cheaper way to order supplements.

bloom
Sorry, let me clarify... not to carry anything (anyone) more than 10kg....!! If your kid is still small, still ok lah. Imagine if we carry our tods who are more than 18kg.....

rona
Yah man, even my hb is now more conscientious re the chinese revision.
Told him that if I'm not around, he has to do it.
To read beginning from Lesson 1 no matter how far he has progressed.

Fee - $70/month, billed to your monthly statement. Twice a week, you hv to choose 1 weekday (for now it's Tue OR Fri) besides the Sat class. Not expensive hor....
We are also thinking that sometime this year, julien shud go. chara is perhaps not ready yet....

My sore throat already 'progressed' (or regressed) to cough.... but after taking the anti-biotics, not much coughing...

aa
Food - Maybe on certain days, you can boil soup in slow cooker... not healthy to keep eating from hawker centres.....

Hope your mom gets better..

tam
No worries, I figure you must be v bz. My gummies have long gone and I am waiting for the stock...keke

Me too... keep reminding myself of this and that. Went to read the kids' term newsletter and found out each has to contribute a box of tissues. So dear mommy me went to buy specially cute ones with Hello Kitty, packed into 3 individual plastic bags. Scully this morning, all of us left but the tissue boxes were left behind! Almost kicked myself for being so forgetful!

fairy
That's scary!!!! Won't the kids be so tired if they join so many classes???

rabbit
We only buy online cos even with shipping, they're still cheaper..

Dang Dang
I will be ordering from Dang Dang. My boss told me that I may need to go Shanghai for a meeting end of this month. then she decided against it and then she told me to standby and last i heard, my trip could be cancelled cos there's are too many going on this meeting... i was like??? huh??? can give me a confirmation or not? cos if i order from dang dang, i can perhaps ask them to send to the hotel that i will be staying and then i just packed them into my luggage... Now I think I'm just going to forget saving some shipping cost and just let dang dang deliver to me direct. :p

Fairy,
NYPS really got a lot of things! I got one flyer today for chess. don't think my boy is cut out to play it, he can't even sit still for half a minute! I also gotten his spelling list, but not difficult ones, 1st spelling test consist of words like it, him, he, she, his etc... should not be a problem for him.

stylo,
thanks for the info. yes, $70 is cheap for twice a week, how long is a session? But the general opinion i got from swimming coach is to start at K1, that is the best time to learn and you don;t waste money at that time too. was i think i will let the gal start lessons end of this year...

rabbit,
yours born in 2006 too! we have quite a few 2006 gals here.
your boy is very welcome... ;P

you can check drugstore for the price. think should be around usd25 per bottle. using 1.45 to convert, will be less then S$40. not sure about shipping, but if its about S$10, then per bottle is about S$50 at most.

iphones
i got a new one just - intended for hb's bday present. but he is out of town now so i try to set it up and it actually took me a day to figure it out! now i still don't know how to operate it like everyone else... well, i have it for 24 hours now. think i need to go through the menu and the website to learn how to use it... :p

i still have chinese class tomorrow. i postphone the sat class to next term. only intend to do one subject per term, so this course will drag for 2 years. and i realized that its not as easy as i thought it is... :p

stylo,
was telling you that arnold needs to ask about 2-4 words in a sentence right? i think i need to correct myself, he doesn't know how to read at least 90% of the words! some of the words his N2 sister gotta tell him how to read!

i need to use a lot of energy to restrain myself from using the cane...... its like i teach him how to read this word in the first sentence and he gotta ask again immediately in the next sentence! very frustrating! felt the same when i started him reading peter and jane! this boy is simply hopeless!!!

rona, fairy,
I also got Chloe's Chinese spelling list, it is all in hanyu pinyin ! I want to faint. Hanyu pinyin also need spelling test. Sian... I cannot stand this way of teaching Chinese. Everything in hanyu pinyin, how to expect kids to learn the Chinese characters ?

rona,
Take it easy, mommies really need to have a lot of patience. Try to let arnold read consistently, he should improve quickly.

dangdang offers cash payment on delivery anywhere in China, so it is even easier to order if you are in China.

styloBB,
I also need to run around buying this and that. For example, Chloe's teacher said she must use black hair clips for her hair, then I had to buy it for her. Then her school skirt has become too tight, so fast ! Last month when she tried it on, it was alright. Then I have to go to her school to buy. There are still many things, faint...

Tam,
i share your view totally regarding the teaching of the chinese language. if they were trying to improve the chinese language abilities here, streaming is not enough. even if they use english to teach is no use if they continue not to realize that kids have to learn to read the chinese characters FIRST. and they also need to learn the right way of writing the characters. learning chinese can be fun if they know where to start.

Anyone know where I can get DVD series of Wonderpets (the one that’s showing daily at 12noon)?? It’s hilarious, creative and yet full of great lessons.

Was busy for a few days and so spent quite some time reading all the posts before replying.

On Ikea,
Better to buy their higher-end item. Bought a $199 wardrobe for the kid. Looks great and very spacious (used largely to keep our bedsheets and his clothes/shoes/socks). We accidentally spilled a few drops of water near the wardrobe after we bought it --- the entire back of the cupboard turned green! So did the inner shelves. Spent 2 days clearing the mould, Was pretty traumatic for my sensitive nose.

Tips for Ikea stuff: (1) Sun and air items/drawers before use (2) Apply ‘treatment’ coating if possible (3) Clean regularly Anyway their wardrobes are ok (the normal ones). (4) Use dehumidifiers.

Just try to avoid their items that are not fully laminated (as in with exposed mdf boards).

Hi Rona and Tam,

Thanks for the joke, Rona. Very amusing and accurate portrayal to a certain extent. A famous Chinese businesswoman once said that women need managing and men do better when you give them goals to strive for. I’m also quite a feminist but sometimes I find myself disdaining what women do to each other: petty politics, getting personal and double-standards.

Men can be conflicting too. They may claim they are not chauvinistic but they’ll say stuff like “I don’t feel I am treated like the husband in the house” or “why are my suggestions always vetoed”. Hahahaha... I am resigned to the fact that men need to feel like they are treated like they are the boss. And women like to feel like they are ‘consulted’ and ‘respected’.

I don’t know how it is now but I prefer working with males than females because they’re more direct and focused. With women, too many pre-conceived thoughts and jealousies. What are your thoughts on this?

Hi Tam,
Hope your kitchen works well. Just relax and enjoy the newly installed facilities. Thanks for sharing your experience with Ikea.

Hi Stylo, Rona and Mummy Tang,

Can imagine the itchy-throat – grew up with it. Someone almost gave me a nickname “Cough-drop” ‘cos I used to cough on-off perpetually! Lozenges and pipa don’t work and I find they irritate (unless you take Difflam, which numbs the entire throat).

I think the rules for avoiding coughs in kids apply to adults. No iced drinks, sugared stuff and chicken. No yakult and ribena. I’ve been okay for the past few months. Completely stopped Ribena (sometimes I just want flavoured drinks) and ice-cream.

I don’t know why but lime juice, 7-up, Sprite, gassy apple drinks and soda triggers coughing for me. Are any of you with such experience? No prob with Coke, rootbeer or Pepsi strangely.

Hi Bloom,

We sound like long-lost twins. Pains here and there... I enjoyed the Susan Boyle special too. Not a fan of hers but nice choice of songs to sing. Have always been a Broadway buff.

Hi Sharon,

Visited your blog. I am totally for parents teaching their kids basic sewing. Not many young people seem to be able to sew these days!!!!!!!! Such a shame. I knew a girl with sloppy uniform and suggested her tightening her belt (you know how they can look like Bao Gong with belts sitting below hips). Reply: “I have no needle or thread and cannot sew.” Sigh...

Hi Rona, Reiner and Fairyprincess,

Looks like I have to ask you for recommendations on what to watch (when I have more time on my hands even though I’m at home).

Hi Yawn,

On bribing kids... that’s never a sane thing to do (especially in monetary terms) in the long run. My JC friend’s dad promised a car if he passed Year One. And so he did. Just-pass for everything. Another acquaintance I knew got a Mercedes SLK for passing A-levels. From $100, it will one day inflate to big-ticket items!!

Hi Poohy,

What’s the link to your blog?

Hi aa,

Hope your mom’s a little better and you’re coping ok... Agree with Fairyprincess, maybe you can cook rice and some veg – takeaway the meats and seafood items.

Hi Snowball,

I think it’s more cost-effective to rent a place for 2 months than to buy another place. (or any relatives with spare rooms?) We decided on Ikea sofa. We got it when they had a special price for the Klippan (I think less than $300 including the covers) – we take it as a ‘disposable’ sofa and expect to use for 5 years at most! Now I ask for prices for replacement covers for all furniture items. Sea Horse has reasonable prices so maybe we’ll get a larger sofa from them next time when kid’s more grown up. Or like Tam - get rid of sofa and turn it into a playground.

Snowball, Stylo and Mummy Tang

On kids’ clothes, Gap kids pyjamas and Mothercare singlets are very durable and collars don’t fray. Last week I bought 3 shirts from one of those make-shift stalls at a mall. Not too bad, 3 for $10. I let him wear it for running about neighbourhood.

Yes, HK and Taiwan have great clothes for kids. Received some as presents for my son – been wearing the ¾ pants for a year and still in shape! Basically we look for minimal details and avoid ‘loud’ prints so anything goes as long as its comfy and matches other shirts easily.

The worst brand at the moment (and not cheap either $7.90 each) is Richgi (commonly found at most stores) – every collar and sleeve frayed after a few washes so I basically let him wear only at home. Even those Giant clothes score better! Oshkosh – only buy when there’s a discount. Long sleeves ok, short-sleeves are not as lasting.

Hi Fairyprincess,

My mom also had leather sofa and it looked really terrible after years of abuse and no protection. The best sofas are still those 1980s sort. Wooden 3 seater with 6 square-cushions. Easy to clean and replace covers. Now she’s gone back to using Scanteak and throws a bedsheet over (haha so no need to clean up for Chinese New Year).

Tam,
really choosing a good maid is like hoping to strike the TOTO, hard and depends very much on individual luck, which what I always lacked ... sigh ... now sourcing for agent, will get the contact from you if i need the fortune teller.

thanks for ordering the books. will arrange for collection when they're here.

rona,
dangdang can deliver books to hotel in shanghai? do they have a branch in shanghai? will need to go shanghai for meeting end of the month. will check out more ...

mumusings and all mommies,
thanks for asking abt my mom. she still in pain but can walk a bit with difficulty. think she really need time to recover (that's what sinseh said).

for the past two days, the PT maid will help cook rice in the afternoon and we will buy food from mixed veggie stalls. however, will cook simple dishes for my boy as don't quite like the idea of him eating out too often. he himself doesn't want outside food too.

for soup ... forgot all about the slow cooker and the thermal pot. thanks for reminding me, will try using that.

snowball,
called SuperServants and had a chat with Linda. she seems to be a pretty nice lady, asked me to go down and look at biodata, then decide whether to sign them as agent. according to her, even if i select the maid within this week, earliest maid will arrive is early March ...

re spelling lists
heard fm DS that he'll be having spelling two weeks later, but hvn't see anything from school yet.

re teachers' instructions
DS had PE lesson today. the teacher told the class to get your bags and go for PE. DS literally only get his BAG, nothing else and go for PE. After the lesson, when they are supposed to go sing national anthem, he then remembered all his other things (diary, pencil case, color pencils, homework file, ...) are all in the classroom but not allowed to go back to take. poor me has to go to his school early tomorrow morning, to see if I can "claim" his stuffs from the classroom.

Asked him why he don't pack his bag. Told me his classmates didn't pack too!! ... faint ...

rona
It's 1 hour per sessions. Best to learn while at K1? Ok...I didn't know that... there are some kids who are younger and they are quite good! Can paddle and swim...
Does A wear trunks or the suit? jesse wear trunks and he is v tanned now...

Chinese - hope you didn't cane A.
I blame myself lah cos I didn't follow up during the school holidays as we were away... got too laxed about it... anyway we shud be back on track.. even hb is more on his toes now... told jesse that he needs to revise his Chinese once he is home in the evenings before he can play.
I wrote out two columns of Chinese words that look similar to help him see.. and he told me it is clearer to him now...

tam
I still hv to buy some raw materials for his craftwork.... aiyoh where to buy yarn and patterned (scotch) tape...???

Same for attire, we had to exchange julien's PE attire as it got too small!!
Fort. the shoes fit them....

aa
You can boil winter melon with dried oysters, and stuff with pork ribs in slow cooker... wl be yummy and nutritious...

Re Spelling
jesse will also have spelling from February onwards... shud be ok bah...

Re Ikea furniture
I don't find their sofas cheap... for a higher price, one can get better quality ones elsewhere...

Hi Bloom/ StyloBB,

Ha....ha....my DD1 is now almost 16kg (weighed her on Sunday and she was 15.8kg) and she still wants me to "bao bao" her. My DD2 is almost 13kg now. My hb always say that carrying both DDs are like carry 2-sacks of rice

Hi Rona,

I also used to think learning Chinese is easy. That was why I also took A-Levels Chinese when I was in JC and know what, I was nearly "killed" by the Chinese paper. Scored a D for A-Levels (a far cry from the A1 I scored for AO Level Chinese).

But, I shd say, it is a fun language to learn.

Hi Tamarind/ Rona,

I also disagree with the use of HanYu PinYin to teach Chinese. But, this is the MOE syllabus that they are adopting for P1/ P2. They advocate recognising characters first prior to learning to write. But, I think kids will end up reading the hanyu pinyin rather and learning to recognise the characters.

Hi Mumusings,

We are actually comtemplating if we shd get a bigger unit with 4 BRs so that we can keep a BR for my In-Laws when they come over to stay with us. But, at the same time, we do not want to strain ourselves financially....Still thinking.

Kids' pyjamas - I bought quote a no. of sets of Pigeon brand kids' pyjamas when I was in Malaysia - RM 10 per set and they are very comfortable and lasting. Mothercare has got nice pyjamas and I like to get their Rompers for my kids - nice and lasting tho' it cost a bit more. I have been passing those rompers to a few babies already and still passing on

If you go M'sia, can buy the brand Pheony - good material, nice design and gd price esp during Sales. I got 3 sets of CNY clothings for my DDs at between 50 - 70% discounts.

Hi aa,

Linda is the lady boss, both of them are nice people. You can also ask them for recommendations based on your requirements. Just personal opinion, I find that they are not like other agencies who keep pushing you to take maids from them.

Morning mummies:

P1 Chineses Spelling:
Yes! Its in hanyupinyin!!! Both NYPS and Tien Hsia- my gal has 2 lists weekly...one from school and one from enrichment class, and both are hanyupinyin???!!! I initially thought the teacher will say the sound, and the children have to write the chinese characters, but its not, they are testing the hanyupinyin skills of the kids...so strange...what's the point of reading a "chinese" text that is all hanyupinyin- that is call learning the languange meh? Can speak but cannot write- sounds strange to me...

My gal already got her entire Term 1 chinese spelling list (till Mar hols)- once every 2 weeks I think...

The English spelling not exactly easy words leh, like "a puddle" and other words I forgot...it is in sentences, but spelling on specific words...we shall see...

My gal is not getting enough sleep- has to wake up by 6am, am trying to get her to bed by 9pm, but she sleeps only at 9:30pm...and does not take nap in the day....how many hours of sleeps do your P1 kids get a day?

aa- hang in there...yes it is a lot of work...one step at a time yah...

fairyprincess, basc = before/after school care aka student care... cos most prob by the time my gal went to P1 my mom might be too old to help. So have to put her in BASC then i change job so that i can rush back by 7pm to pick her up
wah.. you kid's school has so many enrichment!

rona, PC is definitely male... cos only listen to simple short commands, anything else cannot understand.. :p u never know..maybe ur son will develop a love for chess and learn to sit longer :p i am actually hoping to play chess/xian qi at school with hb so that my gal can learn but hb is just a tv-and-nothing-else guy! re reading.. i think tahts why nowadays phonics is in.. so if duno how to read..can 'guess-read' based on the phonics of the alphabets...

tam, thanks for the update! agree with u that world will be more peaceful if woman are in power..but then it all depends too.. some woman are very power hungry and crafty... they are testing hanyu pinyin?

stylobb, my gal just pass 11kg.hahahahahaha... re forgetful, i always put those things together, eg, her sweater on top of her schoolbag, another bag entwined (the handles) together... but hb (who drove her to cc in the morning) can still forget sometimes! :p

mummusings..damn.. the cupboard for my gal's clothes is exposed ikea wood..
re men.. my hb tells my gal that i cannot drive cos we will never reach home if i drive... but when we drive to new places.. i am the one reading his GPS/maps and giving directions... :p re working. mixture lah. i have come across very petty and selfish men, gentlemen and hardworking men, scheming and two-face women, and helpful high EQ women... just a matter of 'luck' (like choosing maids) i love broadway and musicals too (but no money to watch)! re the pain..came back today again.. *grumble grumble* i dunwana be twins with pain :p

aa, the last time my mom suddently 'cannot walk' (her whole kneecap swell up, think its artiritis/rheumutism), she has to go back and let sinseh tui for many rounds. Is ur mom doing so? oh no... the teacher should keep alookout for left behind stationary when they left the classroom right?

snowball, u r still carryig both at the same time?? wahh....!!!! peifu!!!! re extra bedroom for ILs... arent u afraid that they will move in permanently ? :p i am always afraid of tat! :p

fairy

I don't mind if school provides after school enrichments. As it is now, I send my dd for swimming, arts, chinese creative writing at nearby CC (although thinking of dropping the CC class, class size getting ridiculously big with > 20) Also involved travelling time & cost. If I intend to send to similar course externally then it's even more convenient if conducted in school premise, weekends can rest

I heard Lorna Whiston conducting creative writing in Nanyang at a subsidised rate. Actually more beneficial to parents lor. I was keen in Lorna but put off by its expensive price tag. If subsidised rate, I will surely send my dd. Worth it man! My dd's school quite bo chap, everything runs on parents own initiatives & effort, no 'extra' provided by school

rona
re: iphone
how much did you pay for yours? with contract or without?

bloom
But if your ILs want to to move in with you, how to say no? very sensitive issue

packing school bag
how long do you intend to help your kids with packing school bag?
pai seh hor, I'm still (secretly) doing it. Can't wean her off leh. She was made to stand outside the classroom quite a number of times last year for forgetting files or homework.

Everyday, I will remind her to pack. She will forget 90% of the time. I will secretly pack for her after she's asleep. The next day, when we are just outside her school gate, she will exclaim oh I forgot to bring my Chinese text! Then we will check her bag. Oh so lucky hor, the book is already in your bag. She will look so relieved & happily go to school. So I guess I'm on this secret mission for the next few years?

bloom/snowball
Precisely .. the gp said to me, you don't walk around carrying 10kg sacks of rice right...!!! haha

Chinese/HYPY - oh my gosh, this is disturbing indeed... why cant they teach proper Chinese characters???

Men / women - eh, those powerful women can be intimidating and scary leh....

snowbal
Inlaws to move in and stay...wow, a major adjustment leh....

I'm still not v well today...head feels heavy...

mumusings
Agree that leather sofa looks dreadful after a while... fort. my hb overruled my choice to get one, we got a fabric one and it still looks ok after all these years..

fairy
So when do they teach Chinese characters? I'm quite disturbed by this...keke... does it mean our efforts to teach our kids chinese wl go down the drain??

bloom
If you notice, some of the cupboards and wardrobes from Ikea are not solid wood, I think the term is 'burnished wood' if I rmbr correctly....
Only those wooden shelves are from solid wood..

Wow, this thread is really moving fast.

Recently, I went for NYPS PV interview but was rejected. Think it was because they see that I am pregnant and might be unable to do the hours required. Now headache abt pri schools.

inlaws
I had been staying with my in laws for many years till I had my 2nd kid and the place ran out of space. Must have high tolerance level to stay together. Though my in laws are nice people, they have some old people habits that I found irritating like keeping things which they think they will use in the future. Some spoilt furniture are obviously dangerous with young kids running around but they will insist on keeping (e.g. dining chair with one of the legs bent and can topple anytime). My MIL will bring back LD players insisting that they are still in working conditions (we tested and they are not!) She will say that she will find repairman to repair??!! It has been 2 years and its still there collecting dust. We used to secretly throw things away so as not to collect dust, but now since we are not staying there, we just close an eye.

Hanyu pin ying: So even if our kids know words, they will still use HYPY? Will kids be confused?

hanyu pinyin

1st term of P1 mainly teaching hanyu pinyin though kids are expected to write more Chinese characters by 2nd half of P1

muffin

get your hubby to do PV then
Nanyang need how many hours? I heard Henry park 80 hours!

Hi Bloom/ StyloBB/ Muffin,

My In-Laws are staying with my BIL. My MIL comes over to stay with us on weekdays to help look after my DDs while we are at work. My MIL is now using my DDs' room as her BR.

She will be shifting back to my BIL's place after we settled my DD2 into fullday CC. But, my hb did "warn" me beforehand that my In-Laws may end up staying with us as my hb is the eldest son. So, gotta make provisions for extra BR lah.

I agree with Muffin that one has to have high level of tolerance when staying with In-Laws. It is really different from staying with own parents. My mother knows my temper and I know hers and she can nag and nag which I can choose to ignore. But, when it comes to In-Laws, it will be different. Just like 2 days ago, my MIL suddenly went quiet and din want to have dinner with us (said that she ate earlier and not hungry). I guess it was because I scolded my BIL's son earlier that morning (he beat my MIL again and I cannot tahan his behaviour) and I also told her to refrain from letting him ride the bicycle in the bedroom - dangerous as the BR is cramped and he may hit and knock down the toy rack. So, maybe she is angry with me over that lor....Haizzzz....what to do.

Hi Bloom,

I cannot afford to carry both my DDs at the same time lah...Both my hands will BREAK...carry one at a time is already a pblm.

Driving - You shd practise driving mah...if hb dun let you practise, forever you will be slow lah. My hb has poor sense of direction, so I always gotta b the vehicle commander and he will end up get scolding from me...my hb end up getting himself a GPS to avoid scolding from me. But, sometimes GPS cannot catch signal fast enough & still have to rely on me to give direction...heee...heee...

StyloBB,

The wardrobe we bought from IKEA is also not solid wood. It is more of compressed wood material.

Yawn- I see...so its just start off with HYPY, then progress to actual words...

PV at NYPS is 80 hours too...but they take in very few, from what I know, so that all PVs have high chance of getting in...so Muffin- I guess its prob quite difficult to be accepted as PV...

Hours of sleep for P1/ P2 kids:
Do share- is 9 hours from 9pm to 6am enough, with no afternoon nap? My gal cannot wake up in the morning, yet does not want to sleep earlier at night...

What time do your kids eat dinner?
One mum told me now her son eats dinner at 530pm, and be in bed by 8pm...if I do that, I will not have time to interact/ coach her at all- I only get home by 8pm! Sigh...

fairy

Mine stipulated bedtime 9pm. But she never sleep at 9pm lah, always looking for excuse to go in & out of her room. So probably actual hours are from 10pm to 7:30am. No nap.

Dinner time between 7pm to 7:30pm because she's in afternoon session

muffin
Is it a common old folks habit to keep things?

My mom has the habit of keeping things. Not as serious as those we seen on TV but by my minimalist standard, it is hoarding. I think I can throw away at least 70-80% of her stuff. Sometimes bua tahan I will pack for her but super dusty lah & I ended up sneezing. She has multiple of everything, like a mini mart. No point asking her to pack because she doesn't know where to begin. And she will keep everything anyway. No wonder I used to have runny nose everyday when I live there. All those years, I thought my runny nose was serious until I moved out. Must be due to the dust in the house. Alamak, suffered for many years since young when it's actually avoidable! Now I think my kids inherit their grandma hoarding genes. Look at their room!
nono.gif

yawn yawn,

NYPS needs 80 hours...but its almost a guaranteed entry based on past statistics if u get it. hiaz, now headache. I am looking at co add schools round my area now. Only left Pei Hwa and Henry Park. Both also difficult to get in...
My hb offered also, but still got rejected.

IKEA
Their stuff dun last, and forget abt self assembly, its not easy!! Might as well spend abit more to get people to do built in. I think they sell more those loose items than actual furniture themselves. Even those kitchen railings dun last!!

Hoarding,
Think its a old people thing. Everything can use, everything need in future. The prob with my MIL is that she is hardly around (weekdays- mahjong sessions/shopping..weekends:genting/gambling ship) She throws things around, once I took out a small luggage thinking of using it for a short trip and I found used handyplast, biscuits which she immediately say still can be eaten and took away from me before I can even throw into the dustbin. I was so glad to move out when my BIL came back from Australia and the house ran out of space! She had a spoilt sewing machine in her room for many many years (I stayed with them for 6 years) which I replaced with a working condition one which my late mum passed down. Recently she called me and ask me where is her sewing machine?? This is like 2 years after we shifted out??

Hanyu Pinyin
I have experience with my girl before. She could read one whole Chinese book with hanyu pinyin, about 500 words a page, total 20 pages very quickly, because her eyes were looking at the hanyu pinyin. Then when she encountered some of the same words again in another book without hanyu pinyin, she does not know how to read them even though she has seen them before(a few times) in the first book with hanyu pinyin. This is because she was not paying attention to the Chinese words.

This is solid proof that putting everything in hanyu pinyin does nothing to help with Chinese character recognition.

Now I let her read only books without hanyu pinyin. I write the hanyu pinyin only for words that she does not know (less than 10% in every page), and I write once only, even if the same word is repeated. This is so much more effective in helping her to learn new words.

I think it is absolutely not true that kids from English speaking families are not capable to learn to recognize many Chinese characters at a young age. In fact, the later they start, the more they suffer. Kids have an amazing ability to learn any language before the age of 6. We should aim to teach them as many Chinese characters as possible from age 3 onwards.

I heard that many kids start to suffer in P3 when they suddenly need to write Chinese compositions. They have to write using Chinese characters, not hanyu pinyin !

bloom,
Agree that women are also power hungry. But we will not use guns, bombs, etc to kill each other right ? I always think that no mother will want to send her son to war to be killed, because we all carried our children in our bodies for 9 months. So I believe that no women in power will want to start a war. They will go to war only when they are defending their own countries.

Fairyprincess,
My girl is in the afternoon class, so she has more than enough sleep. Your girl is in the morning class, I know it is really stressful.

aa,
Hope that you will be able to find help soon. Hang in there !

mumusings,
My whole house is filled with Ikea furniture, 20 book cases, 4 big tables, wardrobe, etc. Their drawers are hopeless, but other than that I have used them for 20 years and it is OK. Their quality is certainly not the best, but for the price that I am paying, it is fine. I use them because I know that they will always be around, so 10 years later if my kitchen has problem, I should be able to replace only parts of it, don't need to tear down the whole thing.

snowball

I'm the opposite from you. I've bad sense of directions. My dd1 bua tahan. She thought her mommy is very dumb to get lost easily. GPS is a wonderful invention, the next best thing to irobot
The only problem is I also get lost in big shopping malls or malls that are linked eg. from Marina to Millenia. After so many years still cannot figure out its link way

My dd2 is just like me, both of us very blur. I prefer to go out with my dd1, can rely on her, not so stressful. She can help me to find the exit or the right lift to the carpark. If I bring my dd2, she's no help at all so I've to be super alert that day otherwise both of us will be lost

muffin,
My old kitchen cabinet was also built in. Now I cannot find the company any more, so that is why I need to remove everything.

tamarind

Chinese compo is another major road block. Need to start writing essay at P2 in her primary school

My dd attending Chinese creative writing at a nearby CC. She always couldn't finish her essay in class. Brought home & it became my homework. She's just waiting for me to feed her sentences. She cannot construct sentences independently. Recently I asked her to write the concluding paragraph without my help & she started crying, kept saying I don't know. After attending classes for so many months at that CC, can't even write 3 decent sentences

I think it's difficult to expect the child to write compo. Besides proper sentence construction, they have to know how to write all those words. In the first place, their vocab are so limited. How to write compo if they only know that few hundreds Chinese characters?

yawn,
I kept forgetting to pack my girl's school bag, or at least check that she has everything inside ! She packs her bag every morning before she goes on the school bus at 11:50am. One day she called and told me that she could not find her Art file. I was on half day leave that day. So I went home, found the file, and brought it to her school. I was not allowed to go to her classroom. I gave it to the staff at the General Office to bring it up to her. That staff grumbled and said things like "Why you always forget things blah blah blah". I told her this was the first time ! Sian...guess next time it will be difficult to pass things to my girl

yawn,
I started to let my girl write very short Chinese essay since late last year. Just 2 to 3 sentences about what she did everyday. She is very keen to write. I do have to help her with some words, but I am trying to teach her to find the words in the dictionary. She can recognize far more words that she can write.

You can start by asking your girl to write at least one sentence about what she has done everyday. Start with simple things like what she ate for lunch, dinner, etc, then move on to other things. Buy a good dictionary for her and teach her to look for words on her own. Write consistently and she will be fine.

poohy,
Parents really have to start preparing kids since 3 years old, then we will be less stressful. I think that if kids can read well in both English and Chinese by the age of 6, then they should be fine in P1.

hi mummies , long tm no chat. we were away fr 2 wks for our hols. when we got bk, we were bz with an aunt's funeral so no tm to cm in and chat.. got a long way to catch up the archives

Nw my girl just started N1 - hb n I are both more stressed than her. She treats it like a non event.

fairy princess

my kid slps frm 8pm-7am but u are rite, my hb has to cm hm by 630 pm o/w no interactn for them

are u gng to Italy ? i hv been to milan, venice, florence, rome, n i did go to a prada n gucci fact outlet when i was in milan. But frankly, i think its nt really worth the trouble. I can only recall that i took a bus abt 1 hr to get there n its really nt like the US where u hv the premium outlets n like 50 or 60 brandnames all hawking cheap thgs. those are really really worth gng. The italian ones are rather boring. amongst other thgs i rem I bot a pair of red gucci shoes that i nvr wore n eventually gave to salvatn army.

tamarind

the staff who ans u sounds like a grumpy old woman. Mayb its a long tm staff there? i rem in my sch days those long tm staff tend to be grumpier cos mayb they think they are more lao jiao.

re ikea
kitchen is like a Looonnng tm investment. a real hassle to redo them. Thks for the warning on ikea kitchens. i alw thot their catalogue kitchen look supr chic . didn't knw they are so chaotic.

muffin

sori to hear u didnt get the PV. You must also take it easy nw that u are preggy

tam,
i think there are a lot of kids who have forgotten to bring their books!
only 2nd week of school mah... heheheee... so far arnold has already forgotten to bring several books, still like that leh, bo ga sa!

We went back for a parents talk last Sat and the principal said the number of water bottles; lunchboxes; wallets that have piled up at Lost and Found was so many the school can start a pasar malam!!

Packing schoolbag- yes! I definitely check the diary in the bag to see if she has written down any instructions; and open the files to see new notices/ homework; I also sharpen her pencils and colour pencils for her (ya lah, really spoil her) and check that the pocket money I gave her is still intact...I also ask her if teachers have asked her to bring any other items to school...

All kids need to bring a storybook for reading before morning assembly- even weeks is English book and odd weeks is Chinese book- so weekly, must remember to change book...

Italy- thanks for all the info!

Hi Fairy and Muffin

On hoarding: my mom is a super-hoarder and that’s why I have to explain to her why I couldn’t visit when my son was just learning how to walk. Too many hazardous items around and I don’t want to spend most of the time shouting “no” (not very positive for the kid) and sneezing. Like you, I throw things away for her when she’s not at home. Especially those things she says are for recycling! I place them nicely downstairs (there are people who come by to rummage through trash daily) and I think it’s best I give it to people who’re interested in them. My mom used to be a neat freak until the last 15 years or so. My nose was so sore from sneezing at times I resorted to using purifiers. Sometimes I worry that she’ll get sick from eating leftovers or expired canned foods. She simply forgets to check and assumes that within expiry is ok. Her canned foods are placed near the compartment near fridge and so the heat does affects the quality of what’s inside, right? Anyway, I nag and nag at her every time I visit. Alot better now that she’s conscious of the fact that her grandson needs a cleaner environment and that he’s very quick to pull at drawers and cables.

Hi Muffin

Don’t worry about the primary schools. I think different schools have different merits. You’re pregnant and must take good care of yourself too! Old folks will have their idiosyncrasies so if you stick to understanding where they come from, things might be more bearable. That’s the only way to be less vexed. Close one eye indeed.

Every family will have its own conflicts. My mom isn’t old but she takes everything in the 1960s as a yardstick, which I can understand – they’ve gone through the roughest times and naturally have a tendency to save/hoard.

Hi Tam, Stylo and Bloom

About Ikea
My apartment is almost fully Ikea too. I am mentally prepared that items will last 5 years max. That’s why we don’t mind having certain shelves and drawer sets. Just that we routinely check for moulding. Ball-bearings sometimes fall out – my son almost took in a couple. Good thing he showed me what he found together with some of his toys.

Hi Snowball

Nice of you to include your in-laws in housing plans! Haven’t been to Malaysia for years. I am sure I’ll buy Pigeon clothings if I see them at RM10!

Hi Bloom, Tam and Rona

Bloom: Don’t worry about the Ikea cupboard. Check regularly and make sure you keep the mop at least inches away! Hahaha. I manually wipe sides/edges/insides using toilet paper.

About women/men: Sure there are all sorts of okay and not-okay people of all sorts. For me, enough of women colleagues. Sometimes I really hate people who have this idea that older=wiser=better and that seniority=can bully. Women bullying women is pathetic but they subconsciously take it on on others even though they are victims of bullying/discrimination. I don’t mind short-tempered, dumb, naive or fiery characters but wickedness, acting pathetic and 2-face behaviour are the most detestable traits in many women.

Hi Stylo
Leather sofas are very ‘luxurious’ for the start but when the cracks appear, they’ll start looking drabby. Not good if you have pets and sweaty kids jumping all over. Micro-suede isn’t too bad. Very easy to clean –use lint-remover (those rollers).

Hi mummies need some advice here. My dd likes to play a fool when I m coaching her on her homework. She will play with her pencils, sing songs etc. She is 4 years old, is that normal behaviour? Can really dr me up the wall sometimes. Though I try to ren, but I tends to b a little short tempered now as I m preg, n will explode. Can't imagine if I am to coach her for exams next time. Just want to chk if it's normal behaviour and how do u deal with this if u r in my shoe?

on this topic of throwing out old things from the hse (n since its also CNY spring cleaning time) , cn just check where/ how do you ladies throw the unwanted items out to?

I hv come across pple who throw their sofas/ washg mach just outside their staircase landing, their newspapers inside the elevator, their unwanted trash just indiscriminately. Sori , no offence, hope nobody here does that =P
i personally find it Very disturbing when i see a pile of newspaper inside the elevator. Unbelievable to me in modern day society.

for myself, if item is huge like bed/couch/ wash mach, I will pay someone to cm n dispose eg the delivery man who del the new mach will dispose the old for me.

fr the other items, I will get the maid to bring dwn to the condo's trash area on the grd flr.
fr those items that are new, i will usu bring to salvatn army or gv to the maid

muffin
normal behaviour. My 6yo still does that now

beer
I gave the unwanted items (newspapers, plastic containers, etc) for recycling. Just have to leave those items in a bag outside my gate on collection day. They collect from my estate twice a month.

Those in mint condition I will drop off at salvation army. Bulky items like painting, bookshelf or sofa, make appointment with salvation army to pick up. They are quite selective, will ask questions like how many years old, bought from which furniture shop

mummusings,
men....
<sigh>

now my hb has become so luo suo... one simple thing ask 10 times. like he kept asking me where is #1's swimming venue, what time is it, then he can ask again where is the venue, are you sure is that time, are you sure its there. are you sure its this week? are you sure its not the other place? are you really sure its there? are you sure its that time? confirmed? can call again to confirm again? ....

really get on my nerves and nowadays i can't take it anymore and will tell him off. maybe he is having mid life crisis??