Any Mommies in mid-late 30s or over 40 with small children?

Tamarind

Wow, new kitchen! By the way, why did you decide to overhaul kitchen?

My kitchen took ages to assemble too, delayed by carpenter. His workers only shown up once or twice a week to do some work, took a whole month to finish. So frustrating! That's why I never introduce this carpenter to anyone else

Rabbit

How old is your son?

Her kindy is more for social purpose, not much homework or preparation for p1 if you ask me. I need a 'babysitter' while I coach my elder one so I chose that kindy for logistic reason. They usually accept registration around March this year for next year's intake.

My elder child attended PCF for a year. PCF has more craft work & slightly more homework. Other than that, no substantial difference between church kindy & PCF

happy new year! Its been busy busy period of time for me... dun even have time to update my blog on my tokyo trip...

Fairyprincess,

yup think kids should be taught to be more daring. I wish that for my boy but he is not daring at all. Even for his violin class, he is already way advanced compared to the rest but when the teacher ask him whether he can play a song, he will still shake his head. Dunno how to help him gain confidence.

Oh just to share some of the songs he is practising from suzuki book 2...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OyspQvprtSA

Rabbit,
mine went to the PCF kindy at Bedok South. Its a standard one with no add-ons. no chinese spelling to learn, no hanyu pinying. There are a few PCF kindy around Bedok South, go to website www.pcf.org.sg to get the numbers and call them. I heard there's one at bedok north blk 800+ that is quite good.

Hi Tam,

Having a new kitchen is exciting
Don't let the hassle get to you... Please let me know how the Ikea kitchen goes. Don't know of anyone who's installed Ikea cabinets so far (am interested too).

About the Zouk beach party incident, I read some comments on Stomp. Some people claimed that the 'victim' could be a Thai lady-boy and posted pics of 'her' and another fellow 'sister'. Seems like there was some soliciting before they went to dance on the platform. Anyway, headlines can be misleading sometimes. I only know that these foam parties are often playgrounds for the desperate, the havoc and the depraved. Takes two hands to clap.

Hi moms with P1 kids,

Have a restful weekend

Hi Rabbit,

Welcome

Hi Stylo

If your cough is persistent, do abstain from chicken, citrus and sugared foods. (as like for kids) I used to get those 100-day coughs and that's what the doc advised. It got so bad I had to take ventolin. The Chuan-bei and lozenges failed miserably. I find Difflam best for sore-throat. Really numbs the entire portion if there's inflammation of the tonsils.

Forgot to share this great offer (which I hope to chance upon again). OG had Buy-1-get-2 free promotion for bedsheets once. Which meant that I paid $18 thereabout for 3 sets of KING-sized bedsheets with pillow & bolster cases! Not the best cotton of course but great as sofa covers (when you're not having guests at home).

http://mumusings.blogspot.com/2010/01/home-mumusings-16-sofa-cover.html

Works well. My mom started doing this to her sofa as well. Lots easier to maintain the sofa this way as fabric is lighter and dries fast.

Hi Tamarind,

Wow....overhaul your kitchen? I am thinking of overhauling my house. We shifted to current house with minimal renovation. Now, need to do up the bedroom for my 2 DDs and toilets start to give pblm.

So, thinking of getting another place, get it renovated and shift OR to rent a place nearby for 3mths to renovate my house. Still thinking :p

Hi Mumusings,

I am using my old bedsheets/ quilt cover as my sofa cover when I send my sofa covers for dry-cleaning. Save the need to pay >$600 to get a new set of sofa covers.

After waking up around 6am this entire week, now I cannot sleep and woke up so early today too, even though its a sat....urgh!

Still have school talk today, so going back to NYPS...wonder what will be shared today?

Ikea kitchen- I also thought of installing an ikea kitchen in my apt previously, but the height of the ready-made kitchen is quite low leh- so I think need to put the false board to bring the height up to the ceiling, or Tam- do you leave the top of cupboard uncovered?

Sofa- yes, I also cover my sofa previously, as it was beige leather, can stain and look age easily...good idea...

Now that I stay with my parents- cannot do any of these "homely" things like change kitchen, buy bedsheets etc- we have everything at home, and also its not my own home...sometimes missed doing all these...sigh!

Have a good weekend mummies!

Dear mommies,
<font color="0000ff">Kitchen</font>
I don't recommend anyone to install Ikea kitchens, their delivery, installation, solid surface top are all handled by different companies and I have to do all the coordination. The Ikea staff also did not advise me properly before I paid for the items. So angry with them.
The Ikea cabinets look nice, but I don't know whether they are durable or not. My previous kitchen lasted me for 10 years only. My ex-maids did not take proper care, the section below the sink was all rotten and almost going to collapse.

Fairyprincess,
Yes the top of my cupboard is always uncovered, even for my old kitchen.

mumusings,
That is a very good idea to use bed sheets as sofa covers. But we don't have any sofa hehehe I gave away my sofa because when my girl was 3 years old, she tried to do gymnastics on the sofa. My living room now has a big open space for the kids to play their toys and ride their tricycles.

Rabbit,
Welcome to this thread !
My boy's full day PCF costs $350 a month. They teach English and Maths in the morning, Chinese in the afternoon. There is one hour nap time after lunch. I like this better than childcare because they don't bathe the kids. My boy has eczema and we need to use special soap/moisturizer for him, I don't trust other people to do it properly.

The kids definitely do a lot more reading and writing compared to half day kindergarten. Kids should be well prepared for P1. But I don't depend on schools to teach my kids. I taught my boy phonics and reading at home, he can now read any English book fluently, and he is also able to write short essays. He is attending Berries so his Chinese is OK for his age. For Maths, I am happy enough that he can add and subtract. I send him to kindergarten purely for social interaction. My mother and my maid treats him like a prince at home, so I want him to be disciplined in school :p

For PCF kindergarten, it all depends on the teacher. My girl used to have a very good teacher at PCF from K1 to K2, taught her the entire P1 maths syllabus
and encourage her to write good English essays. But that teacher has left PCF already
My boy's English teacher is average, but his Chinese teacher is good.

rona,
Arnold and Sheryl are reading very well for their age, based on the level of Peter and Jane/Tom and Kate books they are reading
As for reading independently, we need to find books that will interest kids. I still buy many books with nice pictures, and lots of words, because pictures help to kids develop an interest in reading.

Actually I myself learn English mostly by watching movies, TV shows, and listening to songs. We can turn on the subtitles so kids can learn to read the words too. But we need to limit the amount of time watching TV lah.

Hi Poohy,
Samuel plays really well. How long has he been learning violin?

This week had been a chaotic week for me! Though DS had settled very well in his new school, my mom suddenly can't walk due to rheumatism since Wed.
She's the main caregiver to my boy, given her current conditions, I had to make other arrangements for DS before sending off in his school bus. Really exhausted!
To cope with housechores in two houses, I'm really dying!!

Good thing is had managed to find someone to go my mom's place in the morning, to clean, cook and send my boy to take the school bus from Monday onwards.
BUT, the dinner and other remaining housechores will be waiting for me when I return from work:-(
Anyone got any recommendations for dinner catering?? Don't think I'll have energy to cook when I gets home after work

Next urgent task on hand will be to "hunt" for a FT maid ... ... Indonesian?? Filipino?? ... sigh ...

poohy,
I just saw Samuel's video, very impressive ! Where is he learning the violin ? May be I will send Jerome to learn violin instead of the piano.

aa- catering typically tastes bad...that's my experience so far...I would rather buy dishes from the mixed rice stalls, and cook rice at home, as an example, compared to catering...

Maid- another alternative is myanmar maids...typically speaks english, eats pork, no off day, most at least high sch or uni educated...I have good experience with them so far...

Tam- I see..yes, top will be empty space...but I prefer to use the space at the top too, so in the end custom-made my kitchen cabinets...

mumusings
I don't feel totally sick but I'm not entirely well either...haiz... need wl hv to c doc again tmw..
When the itch in the throat comes, I'll be coughing away....

fairy/rona
Did you see the schedule of 2010 runs in Sat's Straits Times?

tam
Oh, hv u ordered our stuff from drugstore??

What makes you use Ikea?

aa
Tried Kim's Kitchen... I also don't think tingkat food is nice... in fact I think that was partly the reason I lose a bit of weight...keke.

Maid - ai.. don't envy you.... saw a maid the other day, totally bo chap.. just sat around and didn't do anything...

aa
I have same feeling tingkat food not nice.. cold and yaky...

Poohy
Samuel really play it very well. I also can not make up my mind whether let Sabrina learn Piano or violin..

I have create some new games for Sabrina at home
Please take a look.. it will be fun.
http://tongfamilysabrina.blogspot.com/

Tomorrow I going to sign the letter for PV. Yay

Hi Tamarind,

Yes, Ikea sub-contract out their delivery and installation services. We also have same problem when we bought a wardrobe from them. We have to do the coordination ourselves.

In addition, I have reservations about quality of IKEA's furniture as the wardrobe we bought is already falling apart just after 7 yrs. For the same price we paid, we would have done up a more sturdy built-in wardrobe.

Hi aa,

I have a Filipino maid as my MIL cannot communicate in Bahasa. But, with her broken English, there is also a lot of mis-communication between her and the maid. We end up have to be mediators to clear misunderstandings.

My DD1 is already in fullday CC for almost 5mths now and now phasing in my DD2. My MIL has indicated that she wants to shift back to my BIL's place after my DD2 goes to CC. We are comtemplating if we should keep the maid or settle for part-time maid instead. But, with part-time maid, dinner will be a pblm. My hb asked me to consider carefully as managing kids, housework and cooking dinner will be tough. We will see how things go in the next 2/3 mths first. Haizzzzz.....so headache.

Hi StyloBB,

My hb will be coughing all the way for at least 6 - 8 weeks once he is down with cough. His cough will keep mutating until one fine day, he will recover. That is why, I hate it when he start coughing.

Hi HI...

Stylo,
I think I saw yr twins @ Berries last week, one was in pink top and kaki pants, the other was in white top...so sweet the gals...I ask Lucas if he has a friend called Jesse, said he dunno.... think he is still new to the class...chk wif you, do you practise Berries everyday with Jesse? Lucas told me he dislike... I am trying to explain to him that he will like it soon....

Coughing...
I am also starting to cough, very bad last night... and taking the pi-pa-kao... seems better in the morning, but once step into the office, started coughing again...haiz... think must go visit the TCM later... I am a TCM freak, cos there was once I was coughing non stop for 3months and western medication simply doesnt help. So I tried 2 weeks of TCM, I recovered but slow .... better than nothing...

Tam
Jerome's PCF is full day? The schedule looks good... I hope PCF has such schedule for other areas too...

Stylobb- yes, saw the runs calendar...have to be hardworking and jog regularly this year...dun know leh, feel like so busy even though the year just started...

Tam- your boy's childcare seems very academic, its very good...I used to prefer kindy cos I felt due to the shorter time of 3 hours, teachers are more focused on teaching/ syllabus, but I guess good childcare also enables the kids to learn a lot...I now feel kindy is very short- 3 hours- hardly learn much...but my gal is very settled there, do not want to pull her out...hmmmm...

Italy- shopping outlets and sights:
Have any mums been to Italy and visited any shopping outlets with large range of designer bags at good prices? Just wondering where the good outlets are, too much info on internet...Also, which city is a must for sightseeing/ history of city- Rome; Florence; Venice; Milan? Would like to get some views, thanks very much.

Stylo,
didn't see the runs calendar, have been very busy the whole weekend. I think I will be busy this weekend too!

Aiyah, lost my posting..

snowball
Maid - I think if someone can do the housework, at least you can devote ur time to be with the kids.

Gosh, cough for so long ah....

mummy_tang
With ponytails, pink top and dark green pants, white top with pink pants. I don't know if the aircon there is strong or not.

Yes, I revise at least 4 nights with him. Gotta to be more on now, after the hols, he forgot more than half of what he has been taught! Me gan jeong liao...
Also do mini revisions with the gals...

Do you intend to send ur gal there next time??

Coughing - I think is the aircon that makes you cough...

fairy/rona/tam
Seems P1 mummies are v bz..keke

fairy
I only went to Venice and that was ages ago....

rona
Hah? Cannot take lozenges? I am already coughing!!

Btw the doc advised the same thing as the reflexologist... do not carry heavy things (ie our kids!) Will affect our health...!!!

IKEA - so bad ah, beta warn a friend about it.

Burger Shack - went to try this place, it's by Island creamery... the beef patty is juicy and nice...

<font face="tahoma"> yeah... me managed to start "gong xin ji" yo,finished ep 14 lat night... ha!! watched it @ my mum's pl while on mc on thurs... keke... then hooked on it... watched 2ep every nites...</font>

aa, tamarind, sharon

He had been playing since he is nearly 3 years old. Its been nearly 2 years. At first when he was very young.. the progress was very slow as they were attending baby group class and just trying to establish a good posture. Last June, he joined individual classes... and I started practising daily with him... that's when he started to progress much faster...average 1 song in 1 week or 2 weeks. He has strong interest in music and can practise an hour a day so he makes faster progress. Nowadays, he had started to be able to play a new suzuki song just by listening to the music and with some help from me... I dun have to read out every notes anymore. That's how he learn a new song every other week.

He will be attending 2 individual lessons a week on top of his suzuki group class this year... as his individual teacher wanted him to developed on the professional path.

Oh btw, he is taking lesson at mandeville united square... that's why we are in a little dillemma as it is hard to ferry him there for class after full day cc and work on weekdays. Besides, the time it takes to practise after school takes time away from doing other academic work at home ....

I like the violin very much... thankfully Samuel requested to learn the violin first. But he had been asking me to let him learn piano too and I waitlisted him for that already. I think when he or Joelle learns piano, I would really enjoy it too.

re: PV

I signed up for PV at rulang... they had not called us yet

<font face="tahoma"> IKEA... me liked them very much... but dont have my own pl so only can see from ikea mag... keke... huh?? the price paid is for the hardware of the kitchen, others still need to do by ownself one, why like this? not a complete job yah leh?!...

me is down with bad flu since last thu... one hand typing, one hand with tissue paper, nose blowing hard... with slight throat pain, fever too bah... still in office... spreading virus... keke!!!</font>

fairy

Been to Rome, Florence &amp; Venice but long time ago lah
Sightseeing wise, all equally nice although I tend to favour Florence. Not sure why, Florence left a deeper impression

stylo,
i realized that when ever i take lozenges for my sore throat, i started to cough - phelgmy kind ones too. that is why i stop taking lozenges and i don't get cough when my throat recovers. so i decide that there must be something that cause me to develope phelgm in lozenges... you maybe different, but can try lor.

stylo,
talking about forgetting the chinese words - arnold almost can;t read the chinese words liao! the new book - almost got to ask 2 to 4 words in every sentence! terrible!!! now i make him read one page - about 3 short sentences 3 nites a week. now quite enough time leh. cos one story got about 5 pages... :p

swimming
i'm thinking of withdrawing him from the current coach. I think he spent a lot of time socializing and playing in the pool instead of learning and practising. HPPS has one 'appointed' coach in buona vista swimming complex and i'm thinking of switching him there. the coach is stricter and i think he will progress faster. as of now, i think he needs more discipline - in everything he do.

poohy,
your samuel is good! And he is very dedicated! arnold is lazy, only willing to practise his piano for not more then half an hour. even though he can do more, he will choose not to. he can ask his teacher to give him lesser homework??>>

yawn yawn, r u planning to take online course? no suggestion but peifu! i really dont ahve the discipline...

mummusings..ahaha.. i was the one enjoying the susan boyle special...

re falling sick.. i am sick very often...
and all kinds of here pain there pain

tam, u r always so adventurous (ikea!)! i hope my kitchen top will never need replacing.. it will definitely be a nightmare...

aa, oh no!!!!! ur poor mother!

fairyprincess, ur maid is from myanmar?

sharon.wah.. u wan to do PV in 2 schools???

re PV.... i am so torn.. duno which school to apply for PV... also worried abt logisitics next time ... also worried abt BASC... cos my mom live far from me... if i apply for a school near my house, she wont be able to help out.. if i apply near her house now.. abit no guarantee cos i never know if she will downgrade yrs later (she always say downgrade when my bro got married) or if she is still healthy and mobile to help...
anyone's kids in BASC?

snowball, IMO..very risky to cut from 2 adult manpower to half manpower leh.... unless for some reason u dont trust having just the maid (w/o relative supervision) at home...

styloBB...do not carry our kids!!! *sob* *sob*

poohy..wahh..professional path.. good!

rona, ahhaa. i was in europe 13 yrs ago! no money to talk about branded shopping then! :p good suggestion abt logzendes, maybe thats why i always have phlegm...

Yawn/ Rona/ Tam/ aa- Hello P1/P2 mummies- does your school give out tons of flyers about enrichment classes after school- will you be signing up for any? I do not intend to, I feel its prob not necessary/ costly/ and makes the day even longer for my gal...what do you think?

Rona- NYPS also offers swimming at Hwa Chong JC- I may consider after term 1...but not keen to do the ferrying cos its on Sat morning...

Bloom- yes, have experience with 2 myanmar maids- no issue so far...

Bloom- sorry, which school is BASC?

snowball,
just keep the maid first and see how first. don't make that decision yet.

Fairy,
no leh, no enrichment classes. the only thing the school encourages us to do is sign the kid up for CCA. I'm definately going to put arnold at buona vista swimming complex to learn swimming. I went down to see the lesson, its conducted exactly the same method as i've learnt swimming many many years ago and the coach is strict with the kids too. very good leh. will get arnold to go down tomorrow morning at 8am by hook or by crook.

Maid
I think i will change my current maid end of next year. Now that she is with us for 4 whole years (this year is the 5th), i think she has developed attitude problem liao. the way she talks to me - bo dua bo swe kind, not even like a friend. So now when I talk to her, I will be all buz like. But because she is with us for quite some time liao, so i will tolerate first cos now my little one is still young. next year, this little fellow will also go kindy or childcare then i will be more at ease to get a new one when her contract expires.

A Spanish teacher was explaining to her class that in Spanish, unlike English, nouns are designated as either masculine or feminine.
'House' for instance, is feminine: 'la casa.'
'Pencil,' however, is masculine: 'el lapiz.'

A student asked, 'What gender is 'computer'?'
Instead of giving the answer, the teacher split the class into two groups, male and female, and asked them to decide for themselves whether computer' should be a masculine or a feminine noun.
Each group was asked to give four reasons for its recommendation.

The men's group decided that 'computer' should definitely be of the feminine gender ('la
computadora'),
because:
1. No one but their creator understands their internal logic;

2. The native language they us e to communicate with other computers is incomprehensible to everyone else;

3. Even the smallest mistakes are stored in long term memory for possible later retrieval; and

4. As soon as you make a commitment to one, you find yourself spending half your pay check on accessories for it.

(THIS GETS BETTER!)
The women's group, however, concluded that computers should be Masculine ('el computador'),
because:

1. In order to do anything with them, you have to turn them on;

2. They have a lot of data but still can't think for
themselves;

3. They are supposed to help you solve problems, but half the time they ARE the problem; and

4. As soon as you commit to one, you realize that if you had waited a little longer, you could have gotten a better model.
The women won.

stylo,
Can you tell me how much is CSC charging for swimming lessons? i'm thinking of putting #2 there next year when she turns 5. else she will also go to buona vista swimming complex.

Me still struggling ... not sure how long I can tahan, esp now its my peak period:-(
Luckily found a PT maid to help for few hours in the morning and also to bring my boy to take the school bus.

Tam/stylo/fairy:
not going to try tingkat dinner as so far feedbacks gathered had not been good.
will packet food from the hawker centre or coffee shop, more variety and economical.

Snowball:
Still considering abt getting a FT maid. Previously tried Indonesian and Mynamr ones before (for 2 yrs), a lot of problems and mental stress.
May try Filippino this time (but sister quite against the idea as she prefer PT ones).

Fairy:
No, so far did not receive any flyer for enrichment classes. Dun think wanna let him take any enrichment classes in school. No one to send/fetch esp given my mom's current condition.
However, did get a Maths Mag subscription last week.

P1 homework:
any homework for your kids? DS came back with some simple worksheet to do on alternate days. most of the so-called homework had already been done in school.

Poohy:
wow ... its good that Samuel practised an hour daily. Its difficult to get my boy to practise 15 mins every day.
Let DS watch Samuel video last week, he was very envy that Samuel played so well and so purposely told him ... if you practise hard enough, you can play as well too!!
hahaaa ... hope this will help to get him motivated to practise :)

re Maid:
what is the market rate for ex-SIN Filippino maid?
Was quoted $360 with no mention of off days initially but now replied to say that the maid wanted $400 + 4 off days.
Normal?
Or anyone got any agency to recommend (of coz I know a lot depends on individual LUCK) ???
Or any lucky ones wanna help me choose a maid as seems i'm always luckless in this???

Hi Tamarind,

Thanks for your sharing. Just wondering what makes you to try this school out for full day?

Honestly it is not easy to get a good PAP school.

Hi mommies out there,

Any good supplements that your kids consume?

My 4yo son has been taking Nordic DHA and vitamin c. I bought it from the organic shop at Paragon. Quite costly. About $70 or $80 per bottle for DHA

My 17months old, just considering to start her with DHA and spirulina.

What is sambucol for and what brand is good?

styloBB,
Yes I am very busy with work and family ! I seem to be running around all the time
lots of small details to take care of, very headache.

<font color="0000ff">Yes the drugstore items are on the way to Singapore. Sorry I forgot to update.

dangdang books are also on the way to Singapore.

Fairyprincess,
Sadly book 1 is out of stock, only book 2 and 3 are available for my second order. dangdang just informed me only. The parcel has been sent out without book 1. I will check for you whether new stocks come in this 2 weeks.

Other mommies who ordered books 1 and 2 in the first batch : snowball, aa, cheri, bloom,
Both books 1 and 2 are on the way to Singapore. </font>

Rabbit,
My boy is too pampered at home by my mother and the maid, I want him to learn to be more independent in school.

aa,
You believe in fortune teller or not ? I know one fortune teller who seems to have the gift of understanding someone's personality, she charges only $5 for one question. I think she may be able to help with maid selection, no guarantee lah, but choosing maid is like gambling anyway.

Hi Tamarind,

Thanks for helping us with the vitamins and books spree despite you being so busy....Appreciate it

Hi Rona/ Bloom/ StyloBB,

Yes, after discussing with my hb, we decide to keep the current maid first. My current maid is ok, but cannot guarantee after she pays off her loan (which is this mth) and start to have $$$.

Hi aa,

My current maid is a Filipino with no off-day. Pay is $360. I got this maid from SuperServants. This is a small agency run by husband &amp; wife only. They handle only Filipino maid. The boss personally goes to Philippines to screen and choose the maids. You can chk them out.

However, I agree with Tamarind that hiring maid is like gambling.

Hi Rabbit,

Currently, I am giving my DD1 (39mths) DHA w/ Colostrum and multivitamin (Vidalyn) and my DD2 Vidalyn. So far so good.

RAbbit
I'm also giving dha to my kids. If you wAnt to buy Nordic DHA you can join Tam's drugstore spree. Should be cheaper

snowball,
No problem. I need to buy the gummy bears and books for myself too.

rabbit,
Rona is right. My boy is taking Nordic Natural Children's DHA, I never buy it from local stores, always ship from USA.

rona,
Thanks for sharing that joke
Actually I think I am very feminist. I always think that the world will be a very peaceful place if women are in power instead of men.

fairy,
My girl's school does not give out any flyers of enrichment, and no news about CCA. I also don't intend to send her for any enrichment classes, she prefers to have enrichment at home from Daddy and Mommy