Any Mommies in mid-late 30s or over 40 with small children?

Fairyprincess
Oh. Dr. Cheong was quite through. But, she did look pleased and mentioned while polishing that not every child would sit through the polishing well.

Dental treatment at polyclinic
Just called the appointment line, and the earliest appointment in the two polyclinic nearest to me is in May and July 2008 respectively!! It's crazy. :eek:

dentist
Haven't brot my boy to dentist yet...

My girl goes to her school dentist, heh heh, save money!

Yesterday walked past dental clinic at Heartland Mall. Wah, just a wash already $60+ as if I got diamond teeth. Polishing is $130+ faint!

Got DIY or not huh? I think i want my kids to be dentist next time. Can earn so much!

My older boy also goes to his school dentist, free of charge. He had his first filling done in his school a few months ago and now he seldom eats sweets. But my younger one 4yrs old hasn't seen a dentist before, maybe I should bring him to see one soon as he likes to eat sweets....

kira,Fairyprincess,
Ok I will bring my kids to see the dentist

kira,
Polyclinic dentist appointments are like that. I have given up on them. My company can claim dental, so I just go to private ones.

cowandchick,
May be we can be very hardworking to brush our teeth, then don't need to visit dentist. Actually I didn't visit the dentist for many years, only started to go this 2 years. No problem with my teeth :p

We are back from appt and my boy has 7 cavities...!! and will have to be treated over 2 mths, seeing specialist 2 a month... argh... I blame myself cos I feel it's my fault, let him sleep after his milk and brushing before that... haiz.. and forgot to change his toothpaste to one with fluoride...

Dental
Thank goodness for the School Dental Service! Managed to book appointments for both kids next Tue. Preschool children need to pay $9 for treatment. Primary school onwards, treatment free. Hopefully, seeing his brother getting his teeth checked will have a positive effect on the younger.

Cowandchick
Yah, my hubby's former classmate is a dentist with his own chain and rumour has it that he was never called up for reservist training because SAF cannot afford his monthly salary of $65,000! But, he works really hard 24/7.

Tamarind
Yah, pity the poor with a bad toothache...how to wait for nine months for treatment? Hmmm, perhaps that's why hubby's former classmate is doing a roaring biz.

StyloBB
Aiyoh...my sympathy. My son has only two and we are already stressed. But, I won't feel too bad about the toothpaste 'cos apparently injesting too much fluoride is harmful (especially if the child doesn't know how to spit).

The effect of the ban against anything sweet is kicking in. Seeing his brother happily eating M&Ms and ice-cream while he gets none has left him looking pretty sour. Hopefully he will be more predisposed to treatment next Tue.

kira
Yah I wanna cry liao...not only feel heartache for him but also heartache for my pocket...haiz...
I suspect it's the milk lah cos he doesn't eat much chocs or sweet stuff ...sigh.. what to do...

hi StyloBB, paiseh blur

My girl wont be able to read n write .... hmm not sure when this day will come. I did try book her at polyclinic dentist ... very fast got appt cos somebody cancelled so we given chacne to replace but I decided to save $ & trouble. Polyclinic appt takes mths but can call everyday to try luck.

btw, no need purposely go poly dentist ask for referral, can jump over to normal doc, just tell doc teeth pain but dentist long Q .... u still get yr referral to NDC (I did that)

Was told brush teeth but incorrect way will still led to cavities. I give Sym flouride toothpaste to brush n wipe off since she cant spit .... well she does enjoy spitting saliva at her own command!! Doc say flossing is important. Plain brushing not gd enough

tamarind
Re ur boy - maybe he practises selective listening..hehe.

golden
Do u hv another kid? I tried to scroll back to see the list but found only an early one.
So what does she do in school then?

Ur are right, brushing also has a correct way.
I was taught today, stand behind my boy, ask him to put teeth together, brush from left to right, 10 strokes I think horizontally. Then proceed to open mouth, brush the insides by tilting brush at an angle...

Bot flouride toothpaste for my boy, alas he picked a v lar "spicy" one, he could not take it... cried.. haiyoh...tom gotta buy strawberry or orange flavour...

stylobb > got a P4 boy. Sym attending special sch learning how to play, self-feed, understand simply instructions like take, give, etc.

btw, holding food in mouth dont swallow fast will also cos tooth decay ... eg Sym's classmate, dentist said so

stylobb

The cavities, can they be seen, or must go dentist? My boy also like to drink milk and fall asleep. Now I getting very worried... how? how? how?

Worried for my boy's teeth, and my pocket!!!

Golden
Thanks for your tip.

Cowandchick
My boy's cavaties can be seen...brownish spots on the biting surface of the molars that cannot be brushed away. Initially we noticed a tiny little hole on the outside surface of molar. We thought he chipped his tooth on nuts 'cos he likes to eat nuts. When we brought him to a dentist two months ago, the young dentist told us not to worry, slight decay... Now, we're panicking 'cos the reassuring "slight decay" has worsened.

Don't worry, lah...just bring him to see a dentist for examination and assessment. The earlier the detection the easier it is to treat. My elder son's dental bills are quite affordable 'cos he has no cavaties. Will let you know how the School Dental Service appointments go. I think they shouldn't be too bad 'cos I had my braces done there as a teenager. Would recommend the first visit at a kids friendly place though...think that once they get over the fact that a dentist isn't scary, it doesn't matter where they go the next time (at least that's the case for my elder boy).

styloBB,
Now I very worried about my kids' teeth after hearing about your boy. But he will change all his teeth soon, right ? Then it will be all new teeth again

StyloBB
Did the specialist managed do any filling yesterday? Take heart. It's good that the cavaties were discovered early, can be filled and the teeth saved.

kira

Not on holiday yet, no such luck. My girl got exam next week leh. I'm breathing fire down her neck!

Still worried about my boy's teeth. Wonder which dentist is good with kids. My boy may bite leh, how?

So funny, seems like I'm the only around today...getting a bit paranoid...did I offend anyone? :p

Anyway, just got the P1 books today and wondering if any mummies know a cheap and good place to print the name stickers for textbooks and other stuff. TIA

StyloBB,

Don't blame yourself lah...my Dad n bro both dentists. Even though my Dad is a dentist I had a mouth full of fillings as a kid. It's not neccessarily because you don't take care of his teeth. Some people are born with naturally "soft" teeth that are more susceptible to cavities. If I remember correctly, those people with naturally very white teeth tend to get more cavities. God is fair.

styloBB

yeah, SAHM gets frustrated! very frustrated!

hehe, I just returned from my 3D2N retreat at Bintan Lagoon resort. Quite shiok, do nothing, just sleep, eat, swim. I need a short vacation every 2 months to recharge

dd2 first trip by ferry. She had seasick, cried all the way till she stood on solid ground. my mom took care of dd1. Cannot bring both along otherwise I will be even more stressed, having to settle their disputes every 5 seconds

JessChan

welcome! we chatted at the dragon mommies thread

Dentists

dd1 had her tooth extraction done, twice this year !!! a lot of drama & jam up all the other dental appointments. I think my dentist dreads to see dd1 more than she dreads to see him

both my kids had decays despite daily brushing. dd1 refused to see dentist anymore so I leave it to her lor. When she complains of tooth ache, then it is up to her whether to see dentist or live with the pain

cowandchick

that's what I pyscho dd2 to be. Be a dentist

Kira

what's School Dental Service? how to get appointment?
dd2 needs GA if doing filling according to the dentist. He doesn't do GA for kids. dd2 has lots of cavity, I forgot how many

Hippo2002
School Dental Service is in Outram, Health Promotion Board Building. This is where the dental nurses send primary and secondary school children who need dental attention to. But, you can also call them up for appointment. Like the polyclinic doctors, they will refer to NDC if they can't handle. Have PMed you the number.

kira
Thanks for your liang cha and link to dentist! Count down to end of exams - wondering who's the one taking exams, me or her?! Drank a lot of Lavender tea to relax ahhh....

School Dentist

My girl's school has a dental clinic, so she needs only to walk-in for treatment. If it's too crowded, the nurse will tell her to come back another day. She'll give her an appointment. Cool eh? Best part, no need money, no need travel anywhere. YES!

So far, my girl's teeth quite ok, just bad staining from all the chocolate milk and Milo drinks. Two more of her baby teeth just dropped. She's so happy! Gila!

Hope my boy has his sister's good luck when it comes to his teeth!

kira> <font size="-2">Mummies, So funny, seems like I'm the only around today...getting a bit paranoid...did I offend anyone? :p

Anyway, just got the P1 books today and wondering if any mummies know a cheap and good place to print the name stickers for textbooks and other stuff. </font>

Good imagination - lol
I bot labels n printed. Last time got work I used electronic dyno to print.

btw, I blur, DS exam coming wk. Pass few days was oral ........ well, want to consider exam also can lah.

exam stress

can empathise with the exam stress. dd1 is only going for Art competition & I'm a little kan cheong already.

I told her winning is not important, just try her best to colour nice nice & complete her colouring on time

but 'secretly' I was actually gearing her up, giving her incentive (chocolate) when she pays attention in class & promise her sweets (at the expense of her tooth decay) if she can finish her colouring on competition day

very bad hor

MIA yesterday cos bz with work....
went for midnite show this am and now we are zombies...
Went Vivo this am and bot the Transformer video with the Optiumus Prime box... hehe

Teeth - thanks for all comforting words and comments..I sorta take the blame since I'm the one who 'controls' his food intake (and hb too) on weekends and sleeping time. I know that during weekdays my mom almost does not gv him sweet things.
Have taken 'drastic' action ensure he drinks milk, gargle water, brush teeth then goes to bed.. funny tho is that he seems to know and wl willingly do all this... previously at times he wl refuse to drink water...

tamarind
If I rmbr correctly, specialist says permanent front teeth out at 7 yrs, others at 12 yrs, so u see lah, how? gotta preserve these ones for at least 3 more years! Scared or not??

Anyway my boy is his not so good behaviour today, I 'fai low'.... haiz
(literal translation is lungs sth??? lungs overworking???) = frustrated..

liana
Thanks...hmmm....come to think of it, my boy's teeth are quite white... but I am still kinda shocked that within eight months, he has so many cavities...

Btw how is ur step daughter these past weekends??

kira
Dentist friendly place, ya man, this one has so many toys and looks like playground that my boy told me upon leaving 'Mummy I want to come here again!' Argh... in my heart, I said 'Sure u will!!!' But I suppose it was the nice environment that put him at ease as he went happily to see the specialist, pressed all the buttons, laid down and there is a tv screen on the ceiling showing Mr Bean while the specialist asked him to open his mouth...

Didn't do anything but getting rid of the 'dirt' and polishing... he says he wl work on the 'simple' ones first...

C&C
I only saw the serious one when my usual dentist showed me.. saw another smaller one with dent.. my boy has to do an xray on the two sides and it was confirmed the cavities are there... high...
He said the white spots are also signs of decay.

Don't mean to worry u but sleeping with milk bottle is the worst one.. cos bacteria wl grow in the mouth...hope ur boy's teeth wl be fine. Beta bring him for check up soon!

Who said being dentist is rich? haha.. yah man, at the prices they charge..
Anyway frm now on, no more sweet things for him..

exam
Hippo
Art also has exam??
I think when the time comes for me I wil 'ow huit' = vomit blood...

So good that u finally had a break... was just hb telling maybe we plan for a break during CNY..

golden
Must Sym be told to do things ie must u remind her or she knows that she has to do certain tasks everyday? How old is she now? Has there been anyone diagnosed with this in s'pore??

Mummies, are u all expected to be around during CNY ?? ie visit people and vice versa??

and.... are u all on MSN????

Have u all visited the Jacob Ballas Children's Garden??
Later we are going to recci another playground...

stylobb

Yah, my fren also say cannot sleep with milk bottle. But he can only sleep wif that leh. How? Now I super kan cheong already. But I still so sian, thinking of bringing him to dentist. Supposed to take him to PD, forgot to make appt. My hb going to kill me already!

CNY

Have to be around. Family is here mah. We go my mum's place in the morning, and stay there till dinner time. Shiok hor?! My sis, bro and their families will also be there. Very 're nao'. I like it!
(Don't like the giving ang pow bit tho' - hee hee)

Err... what MSN huh? Sorry, I velly the sua ku one.

cowandchick

same same. dd2 also sleeps with milk bottle, otherwise can't sleep.

She said one of her teeth is painful when she eats sweets. That's why she refrains from sweets & cold drinks for a long long time liao

styloBB

haven't been to the new garden at Botanical garden. Is it good?

Cowandchick
Wow, the school is really well-equiped!

Yah, second child used to bf to sleep...we stopped the night feed after confirming decay two months ago. Initially, he was quite upset and cried so pitifully or refuse to sleep...so painful. Now, he's a lot better.

Golden
Thanks, but we don't own a printer so I think I'll purchase some with son's name. Found 2 websites for personalised stickers yesterday.

StyloBB
Which dentist do you go to? Yours seem very professional.

CNY
We spend two whole days with both side parents but don't visit anyone else...There are usually visitors at my parents place. We make a profit every year familywise...but that's really not the essence of CNY, right?
It's all about well-wishes and starting a new year happily.

Not on MSN. I tried to load the programme from the link someone from a forum sent me...Hubby blew up and said I was putting the PC at risk. After that incident, we had a lot of XXX videos...so scary.

Hippo2002
Yah, second son doesn't eat ice-cream.

styloBB,
I thought fai low = tuberculosis, also mean overworking.

Yes they change teeth at around 7 years old. That means if the milk teeth had to be pulled out at 3 years old, they will have no teeth for 4 years is it ?

We don't need to visit anyone during CNY
Only on chinese new year eve, we have lunch at my mother's place and dinner at in-laws place.

My office ban MSN

I plan to go the Jacob Ballas garden soon.

hippo2002,
You bring one kid at a time for vacation ? Will the one left behind be jealous ?

Tamarind, StyloBB

my elder girl already had 4 adult teeth!

Her milk teeth was perfectly alright but the adult teeth started growing behind her milk teeth earlier this year. So weird! We had to visit dentist twice to extract 2+1 milk teeth to make way for her 2 new teeth. That's why a lot of drama at dentist office lor.

Then another 2 adult teeth came out side way because insufficient space. She said she would rather wear braces when she grows up than to see dentist again. Ok lor.

But she has some decay at the back of other teeth so I told her no more sweets until she had her filling. She gave me a far away date, when she's 8 years old

CNY

1st day morning is to visit IL than my parents. This year will be reverse because we are nearer to my folks now. Then just hang around to wait for relatives to visit IL while we distribute ang baos. Only met these relatives once a year. Afternoon will visit grandma with my parents. We deficit a few hundreds in ang bao money every year.

Tamarind

on surface dd1 doesn't appear jealous. She didn't kick up a fuss or anything. Even promised me to look after the house. But she disturbed dd2 right after we returned from vacation. We bought dd1 a wooden puzzle from toy r us the same evening. dd2 cried for a present too but of course none for her lah. I guess that makes dd1 feel special & she's alright again

CNY getaway

trying to book a holiday during CNY season. Star cruise sold out! Rasa Sentosa around $400++ per room per night! wow, 2 night will cost $1K so expensive, think got to stay home liao

any suggestions for a getaway during CNY long weekend that's friendly on the pocket?

styloBB

saw the newsflash that Microsoft bought Facebook

Asked hubby, what's Facebook ??

I mountain tortise

Kira

maybe because she had her first two baby teeth at 3.5 months old. don't know why so early

Did recci this playground at Tiong Bahru, pretty big but my only grouse is it's lined with sand and not the usual foam which ended up with my kids being v 'sandy'....

C&C
Maybe once he finished, u stick in a bottle of water instead.. that's what my maid does with my gals all the time. I am quite paranoid now... keep reminding my boy to drink water and brush teeth..

tamarind
Hmm...I think u got the word right! hehheee....

Cannot afford to let him be w/o teeth leh, cos more problem like... Absyss..(not sure about the spelling).. dentist also wants to preserve...

hippo
It's this IN thing were u can compile a list of ur friends, can do a lot of stuff lah but I'm not into it altho I just created an acc with hb's help, he also created his out of curiosity. I find it v tedious and time consuming...no wonder some companies are blaming drop in productivity due to employees' addiction to it...

Jacob Ballas, I found it quite nice but hb said it was so-so...as he observed that altho it's meant to be an educational place, kids were running all over and no one really took notice of the plants and all...

kira
Yah, so professional that given a choice, I would not hv gone there due to the cost.. The Kids Dentist, Camden Medical Centre... the name already sounds ex hor.. haiz... I think I'll be quite broke for the next two months....

Hippo2002
Singapore loh...
But, not being overseas means that you are not excused from visiting...

StyloBB
There are very few playgrounds with sand nowadays 'cos stray cats use them as litter boxes. Did you drive to Jacob Ballas? It's near Dunearn Road, right? I'm still trying to figure out how to get there from my place.
Yah, your dentist sounds and is ex, but is supposed to be good. Please share how your dentist does the filling (with or without GA). Think that if a private dentist is able to fill without GA, the bill'll still be significantly cheaper than subsidised filling under GA at NDC.

hippo2002,
I also think it is easier to bring one kid at a time to travel, but worried at how the one left behind will feel. When my boy was younger, he did not understand that we brought his jie jie to travel, so it is OK. But I think he can understand now.

Adult teeth at 4 years old is very early !

Travelling will be very expensive during CNY period. The cheapest I can think of is going camping in one of the Singapore islands

styloBB,
I also just joined facebook. Still trying to figure out how to use.

How much you pay at the Kids Dentist ? Last year I brought my girl to Bright Smile at Tiong Bahru for examination only, it's $15.

StyloBB
<font size="-2">Must Sym be told to do things ie must u remind her or she knows that she has to do certain tasks everyday? How old is she now? Has there been anyone diagnosed with this in s'pore??

Mummies, are u all expected to be around during CNY ?? ie visit people and vice versa??

and.... are u all on MSN???? </font>

Sym got a lazy mum so doesnt do work everyday - does in sch. Just turned 5, diagnosed at KKH just b4 turning 1yr. Her class has 2 other. In Spore, just a handful - very uncommon for yellow ppl.

CNY sure around cos travelling is too X + HB leave approval always not easy. Last time no kids, after reunion would hop on to HB bike n tour with other bikers ..... we followed the Golden Wing grp. All on Golden Wing, just us on normal bike. Hard time chase after ..... so cold during night rides. HB so afraid I sleep n fall off!

MSN or other net chat - rare.

Tamarind, Hippo2002
Yah, only very recently, I started going out alone with elder son while the younger stayed with hubby...and I was so amazed how civilised, relaxed and happy I was. So different from the everyday frowning and frustrated me. Think that there is a huge difference between taking care of one and two preschool children. When the two are together, they are more playful and less concerned about appropriate behaviour. Alone with elder son, he behaves a whole lot better and I can actually converse, joke and enjoy his company.

Golden
Biking sounds pretty wild...think I must be more pumpkin than you!

kira,
Same here with my kids. Each of them behaves much better when alone and very quiet. But I also love to listen to their laughter when they play together, but more stress to take care of both at the same time, especially when outside.

golden,
Bike and tour ? In Singapore or bike to Malaysia ? You must be very fit to do so.

Tamarind
Yah, that's true. I love to listen to their laughter and to see their happy, laughing faces, especially at the playground or at home...it makes me feel so warm and fulfilled inside.
But, when they play near roads, at the supermarket, or the interchange,...see me transform into a terrible, black-faced orge in terrible rage....

Hi mummies...

Its just 2 months to christmas, and I plan to put up the christmas tree this weekend....to get the kids in the mood too...

Only 3 more weeks till end of school (or kindy i should say)...am worried about how to entertain them during the long 6 weeks break.....hmmm...and i cannot take much leave too...

Also in the midst of changing maid- new one just came yesterday...got to train up from scratch...really headache...sigh...

Anyone read the newspaper article yesterday about the boy who can read many books at 4 years old ? His father said that he may be able to take his O levels at 9 years old. His elder brother passed O levels at 14, his sister passed O levels at 12.

The father advised parents to put kids in 2 kindergartens ! His boy attends both Montessori and PCF kindergarten. Any mommies think kids should enter 2 kindergartens ?

I think every kid is different and family environment also differs. For me, I want my kids to enjoy what they do and have good memories of their childhood. My younger son is also attending PCF kindergarten. Although I know that they do not teach a lot of things compared to some other private preschools, I don't mind because he enjoys going to school and has made a lot of friends. I believe that unless your kids are able to skip grades, it is not necessarily a good idea to teach your kids too much before they enter primary schools because they will become bored and restless then.

I read that article in Straits Times too. Just wondering, <font color="aa00aa">can take O level earlier</font> meh? apply as private candidate?

I know PSLE definitely cannot take earlier because it is administered by MOE

Tamarind

I don't think kids should attend 2 kindergarten because the child will not have time to do things she enjoyed after class.

dd1 was ok with kumon until she started K1 beginning of this year. I think too tiring for her even though her kindergarten is only 4 hours daily. After lunch, she has to spend her afternoon doing kumon worksheets, very little time to do things she enjoyed like reading, playing puzzles, colouring. If 2 kindergarten, super tiring, worst than full day childcare leh

In fact, I hold another school of thoughts. Kids should not even bother with kindergarten. dd1 didn't attend pre-nursery or nursery at kindergarten. I kept her at home until K1 this year.

I feel that home school is better. The only reason I send dd1 to kindergarten this year is for her to socialize with kids of her age. Learn how to make friends is the most important survival skill in a society. I can feel that she became more cheerful playing with her classmates in PAP

Fairyprincess
Don't worry too much...most children are also happy playing toys at home and going to the nearby playground. They need time to be bored enough to create their own play.

Tamarind, JessChan, Hippo2002
Guess everyone's idea of what's best for their children differs. I think that it's not too good to rush children academically 'cos they may not have the time to develop emotionally. Although reading broadens minds and worlds, I think it is also important to learn in other ways, e.g. through play and sports, which appeared to be downplayed by the parents. I think the parents try to strive for a balance later e.g. a year of social work or travel after they attained their academic qualifications. That's good...my only concern is whether the children would be emotionally ready for a year of social work at such a young age because they seem rather sheltered. Both my hubby and I strive for our sons to be well-adjusted, independent and happy. That's our aim.

kira, hippo2002, JessChan,
The father said his reason for wanting his kids to finish studies as soon as possible, it's not because he is kiasu. It's because he wants his kids to have more time to do other things, like travel around the world etc. I am thinking, you need money to travel around the world, right ? Not unless your parents are rich and can pay for you. Most people will need to work to earn money after they finish studies. The father's reason doesn't seem logical to me. Anyway, I guess every parent's expectation is different.

But I think it is not right for him to advise parents to send their kids to 2 kindergartens. Like all of you said, the child will not have time to enjoy his childhood. He is advising parents to pressurize their kids.

Passing all the exames and getting perfect grades do not mean that the child will be successful in life. I think that nurturing creativity and good interpersonal skills are more important.

hippo2002,
Yes I think they applied as private candidate for O levels. There was another boy who passed O levels chemistry at 7 years old !