Any Mommies in mid-late 30s or over 40 with small children?

Tamarind
I disagree that it's okay for the apartment to be tenantless in a down market if the apartment is debt free. The opportunity cost of lost interest/ dividends for such a huge investment is no small sum. While you can claim back your property tax, you still have to pay monthly maintenance.

But, $250k for a Tiong Bahru apartment is really cheap. I was quoted $550k for a 9 year old private condo in 2005. I think I would have made at least 30% profit if I had bought it then (Not like we had the money, of course
). But, if I had sunk $550k in the blue chips e.g. SGX shares in 2005, I would made many, many times more. Really don't think investment in property is the way to go...even in a down market...unless you're buying your own home.

Holidays
Need advice. We are thinking of going for our first holiday since our honeymoon nine years ago. Somewhere inexpensive. We've heard a lot about Krabi and Rendeng and cruises. Any advice? Which is cheaper, more fun?

Kira

Been to Krabi. Stayed at Sheraton. Nice resort with its own beach front. Nothing much to do in Krabi. If you just want to laze around, Krabi is quite relaxing

Tamarind
Wow, the fare for kusu island is so expensive! So will cost about $50 for 2 adults and 2 kids?Regarding the maid agency, I have yet to get a reply from my maid's uncle so have not spoken to my friend regarding this. Will explore into direct hiring when everything is stablise.

Rainbow
I would prefer MPV leh. More functional and spacious. Can get in maid and extended families for trips!

Kira Ko
The investment thingy is too chim for me leh. Never did a single investment for my whole life. But bought shares from SMRT during IPO and the Singtel shares from CPF. That's all.

I think that the cruise with balcony class is quite romantic. Can see the ocean and the breeze from the bedroom though its quite cramp. We paid about $1k for 2pax for the star cruise balcony class. Never been to Krabi before only Phuket and Koh Samui. If you love sea and like water sports, maybe can consider Krabi.

Tamarind
Have you tried to register yourself with an employment agency? Heard from my friend that now job market is quite good. Maybe can search around which are the agencies specialising in your field? I know alot spcecialise in banking and finance but not sure about enginnering. Since your industry is dominated by men,(am i right?) could they also prefer male over female? Probably they are afraid of the 3mths maternity leave.My friends in banking and fiance dont have this problem at all. sigh...

Stylo BB
If i indicate the range of salary that I want, Hr will offer me the lowest end. Very cruel right? So sad.

tamarind
Maybe u wl be able to find a co. that is pro family... and salary wise, be prepared to go down a little for a while, and perhaps after probation or appraisal, wl be adjusted to a higher level.

tamarind/hippo/kira
I guess if one has the spare cash, can do a lot more huh....

golden
How is Sym doing these days?

fairyprincess
I tried the sushi at Tsukiji... v fresh siak... went on a tour to there too at 3am...
I hear they no longer allow tourists inside..
I really wish I can go Japan again...

kira
Nothing to do for holiday... = make nbr 3? hehe..
U planning a trip with hb ah? How nice...
I like Samui leh but I hear it has gotten commercialised...

pantone
Salary - hah? really ah... I gave a range cos I was prepared to take a cut but ended up not too bad lah. It has to be amt that u are willing to lower to.

hippo
Scripts - can u write sth such that the ending won't be the hero/heroine flying off to the airport and the hero/heroine rushes to airport to look for him/her OR the hero/heroine kena accident and lies comatose in hospital OR triangle or rectange kind of love ie boy has 2/3 gals to choose and he cannot decide?? haaa.. so stale...

Some thots on:
Maid agency - really don't want. Some of these ppl wanting to come here as maids don't want to work as maids, end up a lot of trouble between maid and employer.

Hey, I was mulling about the sharing on nursing home.. sad to say, maybe charges for nursing homes wl be exp so it may be we end up being looked after maids ..haha..

Some mummies are MIA, quek, cuddles, where are u??

hippo2002,
It's those old apartments beside Tiong Bahru market, not too sure how much is the rental.

kira,
You are right still got to pay property tax and maintenance. But it is still better than having to pay bank loan. If the location is good, then even during down market, should not be tenantless for too long.

Krabi is nice and cheap. Tiger Airways now got promotion in Jan 2008, 2 adults and 2 kids less than $400. But Mid Dec - Early Jan is peak season, most hotels book out already. Take a boat to the islands for the best beaches in Asia, imagine yourself surrounded by fishes on the beach !

Redang cruise is also nice, but only available from April - Sep every year.

pantone,
My son don't need to pay

I have tried sending my resume to those employment agencies before, also no news. Nowadays male or female is the same in engineering, but they discriminate against age and mothers

Kira Ko,

Wow! After 9 years...you must be looking forward to this vacation...

I could not travel from the time i conceived my first, till my second was about 1 year old...so all in all, did not travel for ~4 years... finally, after they were older, when on many short overseas trips (just KL, Bangkok, Hong Kong)...make up for lost time =)

StyloBB, Hippo2002, Pantone, Tamarind
Tolong!! No more babies, now already cannot cope! Hehee. Am thinking with the 2 boys and MIL. Many, many light bulbs...dunno whether realistic or not...

Today advertised a 2D/2N (I think)cruise to Malacca and KL with Mediacorp video workshop for $900. Is that ex? I'm quite clueless leh...haven't travelled for so long... We're thinking late Nov - early Dec - are beaches safe? Must bring own pail, spade, etc?

TV dramas
StyloBB, you are describing Korean dramas?

Kira Ko
$900 for 1 pax? I think its very expensive. If its for 2pax, check out if it is balcony class. If it is not, then its not worth going. The last time we went for the star cruise to redang, we paid about $1k (including taxes) for 2 pax. (Balcony class) Dun know now beach is safe or not, after the tsunami warning. Furthermore its the monsoon season now.

You mean you are going travelling with your 2 boys and MIL? My hubby had arranged a trip to Genting next week. Will bring along my son, maid, mil and sil. Total cost is $800plus.

Channel 8 shows
Really agree that the show has no standard. I prefer to watch the SCV channel 55 hong kong series. Anyone have been watching this channel?

kira,
I think the Malacca/KL cruise is not worth it. Krabi is high season in Dec, beaches should be safe. But not on the east coast of Malaysia.

I can't imagine how you and fairyprincess can don't travel for so many years. I only didn't travel after my girl was born in April 2003. In April 2004, travelled to Bangkok while 4 months pregnant with my boy ! After that travelled every year. This year alone, I went to Krabi in March, China (Yangtze River Cruise) in May, Redang Cruise in July, Macau in September. Crazy right ?

Ya la Tamarind,

Travelling is sooo fun in my opinion...I only do shopping trips, so I can get clothes, shoes, bags from regional countries rather than S'pore...Thank God for budget airlines, they make regional travel so much more attractive =)

kira
So ur mil is going look after ur boys?
Then GO FOR IT!!! hehee... I'm not sure though about year end weather... whether it may rain more than the norm. I know for Samui, there is monsoon season.

So far we did trvl on short trips but hv brot my boy along with us..

TV dramas - don't need to look so far leh, our own mediacopr dramas are terrible enuf. The actresses don't look their part. If ur part is a fishmonger, u hv to look and act like one, not looking all dolled up with thick foundation and make-up selling fish! I cannot never get over that one!
Another one: CID inspector with make-up and French manicure??

I much prefer to watch documentaries and travel-related programmes...

Cruise

Thanks for the advice. $900 for 2 adults and 2 kids inside lower deck cabin, Starkids club only. Limited days/tickets. So not worth it.

Value for money holiday with kids?

Pantone, where did your hubby purchase the package? Does it include a day-pass to the resort? MIL suggested this before but someone mentioned that the admission is quite ex?

Krabi sounds nice...Tamarind, did you go to Surat Thani for the firefly boat tour? Would you know if the Tiger Airways package includes airfare and accomodation for 3D/2N?

Sunway lagoon theme park
Has anyone been there? There are a few 3D/2N packages at about S$200 per person.

Phuket
There's a 3D/2N package $830 for 2 adults and 2 kids with 1 half-day city tour. Ex?

StyloBB
Don't think my MIL is going to look after my boys. But, she has indicated many times since my first trip with my hubby during courtship that she wants to travel with us.
Now that I'm older, I don't mind so much...I think.

kira,
Tiger Airways is airfare only, but you can also book hotels separately on their website, or use www.asiarooms.com.

I didn't go to Surat Thani, that's very far from Krabi.

For the phuket package, it depends on the hotel, is it 4 or 5 stars ? To find out whether it is worth it, check out www.asiarooms.com to find out how much the hotel is charging. Airfare for 4 to Phuket costs $600 on Air Asia.

fairyprincess,
Yes I love budget airlines too. There was once I flew to Bangkok for $62 return, amazing.

styloBB,
You still got time to watch TV ? I cannot turn on the TV to watch my own programmes, my kids always want their favourite DVDs.

Looks like everyone is into holiday mood....

Changing Car
Can I seek opinion on the above...should one drive the car all the way till ten years, or change the car before it hit 5 years...as no value there after...

I was looking at HONDA CRV just now, was thinking whether to buy or not, or should I continue to drive my current car till ten years old. After four years, my car milage is only 30k.

kira
Travel with mil? /Fainted/.....

What about Bali??

tamarind
Can still switch on... recently we subscribed to mio.. can record programmes and watch later... but I don't watch tv often lah..... I was watching a program on twins but realised it's not relevant to me cos they were focusing on identical twins...

Budget airlines: took it once. What is u feel? I feel for adults only, it's great but with kids, somehome the missing factor: svc and food, is a minus... I had to buy food for my boy cos they don't allow 'outside' food for kids... anyway they only had sandwiches... hmm... and since it's no frills, absolutely nothing to keep the kids occupied...

Rainbow
Sorry, clueless about cars too.

Vacation
Am feeling a little deflated after finding out that the taxes/charges are more than twice the airfare and hotels mark up for peak periods is more than 100%. Am feeling a little ripped off.
Am now wondering whether I should take a leaf out of Hippo2002's book and settle for chalets at Downtown East or Sentosa. Certainly doesn't make much difference to the kids. They don't know better.

Kira

We have been to Sunway lagoon theme park. hehe, actually we have been to all the theme parks in KL. Sunway lagoon, Genting, Bejaya time square. My kids prefered Genting. We have been to Genting 5 times !

Brought them to Krabi, Penang, Ipoh, Darwin but their top favourites are still Genting & Sentosa

maybe you can consider Genting too. We usually book with Five Stars

StyloBB

We took tigerair twice. To Darwin & Krabi. The plane is not very clean for Krabi flight. Darwin still ok

Tamarind

I also travelled when I was pregnant. 1st pregnancy to Bangkok. 2nd pregnancy to Langkawi

Subsequently we brought dd1 along to all trips when dd2 was still quite young. Now both of them tag along.

Keen to go Perth or Taipei. 4 to go very expensive leh. Still considering....

Rainbow

I did a cash flow analysis before deciding to change my previous car.

No point looking at depreciation. Doesn't mean anything.

StyloBB
Bali..still have terrorist phobia.
I'm very risk averse.

Hippo2002
Yah, actually I asked my elder whether he preferred to take a plane or to settle for a chalet here and he got all excited thinking about staying at Sentosa. Dunno why...I thought Downtown East would have more stuff for him to do. Genting good ah? Okay, will research more on Genting.

Tamarind
You are right. You can get a trip to Krabi/Phuket for less than S$400 in January. If I go in December it's S$700! So unfortunate, elder son in P1 next year...sigh.

Kira

Yeah, my kids absolutely love Genting. Have indoor & outdoor theme park & water play. You can buy a 2 day pass, more worth it. Kids don't mind taking the same rides over & over again. Hotel rooms are quite small though

By the way, mines resort is quite nice too. Can incorporate into Genting trip if you are planning to spend more days in Malaysia. There is a mini theme park near mines resort although quite small, only open in the evening.

Besides Genting, tour agencies also sell combinations like Mines resort & Genting, Genting & Berjaya Times Square, etc etc.

Berjaya Times Square has an indoor theme park. I like its hotel suites, huge & spacious. Very convenient with theme park inside the same building and a supermarket

stylobb > Sym just had a sch belated Children Day celebration .... a lot activities to keep her excited this Oct, incl an early BD celebration this Sun
. Now my angel Sym 'got company'. Actor Colin Farrell annouced he has an Angel too (on Zaobao today n web)

I also vote for Genting. Went last Dec, too bad rain n rain. We took a coach. Night trip was ok but return trip, most passengers end up motion sickness - driver zoom down, dizzy dizzy + bad air ciculation!

Heard cruise with kids not bad. But pay $900/pax to malacca is X. thot not long Star Cruise promotion of $750 for 2 to Phuket/Penang? Dec shld be $750/pax+.

hippo2002 > Berjaya Times Square has an indoor theme park - similiar to Genting? Where's berjaya? Coach or u drive?

I no car so dont know, cant comment

Rainbow,
Your family got 2 car is it ? One for you, one for your hubby ?

Actually if you can afford it, why not ? New cars always have better technology.

styloBB,
My kids like budget airlines. Both of them have taken Jetstar to Hong Kong. I brought porridge to feed them onboard, no problem. My girl has also taken Air Asia and Tiger Airways, those are short trips, so I brought some tid bits to feed her. Service no difference from other airlines. I never felt that Singapore Airlines service is very good, they serve Westerners better than Asians. In first/business class they treat you like king, but in economy class, the service is not very good.

hippo2002,
Yes 4 to go to Perth or Taipei very expensive. The cheapest I can find is Phuket, Bangkok or Krabi.
Actually going to Malaysia is the cheapest, especially if you drive up there. But I don't dare to go now, after hearing the news about so many robberies, kidnaps, murders, rapes. So scary. They got big problem with law enforcement.

Bintan is also cheap, don't need to pay for air ticket. But it's boring. I found an island off Bintan www.nikoi.com, looks very nice. May be will go there.

golden,
Yah December there will be no promotion for cruise. Cruise is very relaxing when travelling with young kids, but I find it is only worth it when there is at least 50% discount or 1 for 1 promotion.

Tamarind
We only have one car.This car is mainly for me to drive my kids, me go shopping. Hubby no need the car. Just spoke to my brother, he asked me not to drive suv,cos laden weight is heavy and the oil consumption is high....so I hold the break.He asked me to go for MPV,but I do not need such a big car......

Bintan/cruise/genting/plane

I was very adventurous with my older gal once upon a time. We went cruise , twice, take ferry to angsana resort, take plane to various parts of the world.It was quite fun with her. I personally feel that regardless where and what mode of travelling, how fun the trip, also really depends on how adaptable is the kid. With my younger boy, anywhere is a worried for me...sigh.....he makes me looks like a kia si mum.....

Genting
My gal loves it when I brought her there cos she has all her cousins as kakis...But, I do not like it cos travel in a car, like four hours, too long for me, makes me feel like reaching perth.

How about Coach-cruise?
I know full cruise is very ex, but coach-cruise much cheaper- i did 4D3N coach-cruise to sunway lagoon by star cruises about S$350 per pax- one night on ship, 2 nights at hotel at sunway...my kid enjoyed it very much
There is also a coach-cruise to Genting if you prefer Genting...

Berjaya Times Square
Its at KL bukit bintang area...i have booked a 4D3N coach and hotel package for Christmas, about S$240 per pax for a family of 4. Hotel room is a suite incl breakfast, so more fun for kids to stay in...

Taipei
I absolutely love the shopping there (clothes, shoes, accessories), but not so impressed with the food...my hubby was sick of eating mee suah, chicken cutlet type of food after a while...but their nature sights e.g. Alisan, taroko gorge, hotsprings are fantastic...

Car
How about getting something basic and much cheaper e.g. Toyota Vios type ...very economical...A car is never an asset, so its how much you want to spend a month on the car, vs taking taxi etc

Fairyprincess

Thanks and we think alike. Its just the decision of continue to drive this sedan for the next six years before I change or go for a more comfy car...All my gf agreed cos all of them are driving it too......but has to fork out a bit more money which I thought this lump sum of money can be used as an investment elsewhere...So, this is like the matter of going for comfort or keep the money for investment.....

Am still thinking hard....I know car is a sunk cost.

NEXT WEEK SCHOOL EXAM
How are mummies here preparing the kids for math exam next week?For me, kept zero in my gal careless mistakes, vomit blood....

Rainbow,
Your brother is right about the SUV. I like my hubby's Mazda 6, feels and drives like a european car, but not as expensive, and it is medium sized.

kira
Risk averse..hehe.. I know what u mean...

Airfare - Yah nowadays the taxes can kill!!!

How to get to Genting...?? wl the road be winding? Rainy weather dangerous? I get motion sickness leh....
We have driven in to KUL several times with my boy..... but it's more for eating and shopping. 1 Utama has a v big indoor playground, for M$15, the kid gets to have unltd hours of play.

hippo
Is it free seating for Tiger Airways?

golden
Oh, happy belated b/day to Sym!

What do u mean Colin has an Angel? He got a baby???

tamarind
Just my opinion lah... I find the budget ones v bare.. it's ok for a 2-hour flight.... but beyond that, I don't know how to occupy my boy... maybe he is too young. We had to buy new toys to surprise him on board..! The seats were rather cramped. On the return flight, he said he wanted to shit!!! Freaked me out...! haha

If on SQ Y class, I like the individual tv screens, me a tv junkie on board.. .. just leave me alone and I suppose they wlbe nice to kids...
If on SQ C class, of course better.. I used to travel on C class for biz. I find the stewards more attentive to us than the stewardess..haha.. best is sit on the second level... quiet and nice..

Another reason to choose SQ over budget airlines is with kids, in case of any cancellation, stuck at airport, unforeseen circumstances, they will take care of their pax unlike some other airlines.
Of course price is a big factor for budget airlines. Really can save a fair bit.

Bintan type of holiday, that'll be the type for me/hb/kids for now.. ie like Sentosa. Just let them play with sand and watch them.... looks like I won't get to do much unless it's those Club Med type where I can deposit my boy for their activities...heeee

golden
The last I heard re Berjaya Times Square hotel is they hv no cable tv! NOt sure if they have upgraded by now.
U plng to go KUL?

styloBB,
Yes SQ got TV, easier to pass time
But I don't like to let my kids watch TV. SQ economy seats also very cramp. I took SQ business class a couple of times before, they treated me like a queen. But economy class they couldn't care less.

I am dreaming of the new A380 now, they got beds for first and business class ! I think another lifetime I may be able to afford

So far I don't have any cancellation or delay with budget airlines before leh.

Kira
We had done the booking through Grassland. Its a 2N stay at Genting Hotel + coach, and we upgrade the coach to a bigger one. Grassland quoted us $800plus (5adult + 1kid, 2 room with 5 seats) whereas five star quoted close to $1k! For Five star, child above 2yr will need a coach ticket. Well, even with the additional seat, they are still more exp. Heard Genting Hotel room is quite spacious. Dont worry about the bumpy ride. I had travelled with Grassland to Malacca before (only the basic coach), its very stable.

Rainbow,
My mileage is the same as you. After 1year, its only about 10,000km.I have a suggestion. If you like MPV, maybe you can consider Honda Stream or Toyota Wish. Both are 7 seater, 1.8litre if i'm not wrong. My first choice would be Toyota Wish but abit risky because need to get from parallel importer. But I heard the fuel consumption is very low, very economical. I'm driving Getz. My god the fuel consumption is sooooo high. Had paid zero deposit and got a 7yr loan. I did not claim for the cash rebate though. Anyone knows when is the best time to sell so that I dont need to top up cash? Maybe 4yrs?

Pantone

Thanks for advice.

I think car has to sell before five years in order to get the rebates.....Yap, wish is abit risky.I find stream and wish are both quite low, I like the higher sitting but not as high as VOLVO. CRV height is great....But, not pratical.....

Friend asked me to look at honda airwaves,but find it not so nice...

Holiday
Looks like everyone's gearing up for the hols. Will be going HK with my sis & her family, and my mum as well. Wanted my bro & family to come, but they can't take leave. So sad

I like travelling with my sis. She takes care of all the nitty gritty stuffs, and sniffs out really good deal. And she's really good with kids too! Can sure do with extra eyes and hands. heh heh.

Only took biz class once, when I went to UK with my hb. It was long haul trip, and we had to make sure we're charged after the flight to move on to Oxford. I demanded we take biz class! Now, no money liao. Thankful we can get out of the country once in a while! yeah!

golden
Happy belated birthday to Sym. Is she enjoying the attention?

School exam
I think, easier I sit for my girl's exam lah! I vomit until no more blood to vomit already. And all she cares for - read story book, watch TV!

She even has her own Science logic and explanations! How to pass like that? Cannot bear to see already, so come here and chat better!

stylo bb

I think you are like me, very spoilt...I only take SQ.Did try to take quantas and others....did not enjoy it...Maybe am one that take plane ride as part of the trip....

Rainbow
Don't make me paiseh... I'm not spoilt lah...hehe... I ever flew on other airlines lah and Emirates' service is v good ... if I travel w/o kids, easy peasy but with kids, may have to adjust... not sure lah... see how the next time I ever go...
Actually I don't expect much on Y class, just get on the plane, entertain myself and depart upon reaching the destination....

pantone
I don't know about Genting Hotel... but I heard the other not so known hotels around the area have v small rooms, cos their guests check in, go out and spend whole day at the casinos!....hehe

tamarind
Stranded - but it does happen ... I'm just saying in case lah.... there was once I think some pax were stranded at Hanoi airport w/o any food / lodgings cos they were on a budget airline..

I think A380, they were saying prices are 25% more?? Maybe still can afford Y class, not C class...hee... The issue wl be upon arrival if the immigrations can handle such a large number of people....

Just wondering, did u stay on at ur co all this while becos of the salary or becos u like being here?
Just mulling....
Do we leave a co even when we are happy there?? and not wait till they tell u to go?

good afternoon all mummies
Haven't been here for a long time... now busy with work cos my only assistance left..

stylobb
with regards to your questions, I guess for myself, if happy there, will not have the intention to leave unless being approach. Now if you ask me whether am I happy in the co, I can't tell, not happy but not sad either, neutral. I used to have 4 assistances, after re-org become 3, then 2 resign and no replacement due to cost control, but the amount of work no change and in fact increase... If you are me, will you consider to leave now esp you are alone handling all the stuff?

styloBB

free seating. With young kids we got priority to board plane before other passengers. Kids entertainment is the last of my concern. I am thinking more of my pocket, not very deep

Patone

I bought coach ticket for dd2 even though she was younger than 2 years old then. More comfortable to have her own seat while sleeping. Otherwise need to carry her the entire trip if the coach is full

We stayed at Genting Hotel many times, rooms were really tiny. They have a few spacious ones but really depend on luck whether they released those rooms.

Last year, we managed to persuade Genting hotel staff to release one of their spacious rooms. Room with 2 Queen beds & a huge empty hall in the room itself. Other times we went, just one Queen bed, hardly had space to fully open our 29 inch luggage

Our lastest Genting trip this March, we stayed at Resort Hotel because it was newly renovated. Much better than Genting hotel because brand new, very shiok

styloBB,
I stay only because of the salary, I am earning over $100,000 a year. It's not high compared to banking/finance, but it is a very good income for me. I will never be able to get that salary anywhere else. I am feeling very sad, especially since I have been here for more than 8 years, and everything is very familiar and easy for me, even though I am not happy with the management.

I went for the interview at another company and I was told that the job will be 5 times as tough as my current job, and the pay may be 10% - 20% lower. Do you think I should take up this job ? Do you think I should hang on and see what happens ?

That time I flew business class is paid by company
I don't think I will ever spend that kind of money to fly on a plane

hippo2002,
Like you, I also think of my pocket first
My kids can entertain themselves on the plane
Stand up, sit down, lie down on the seat, climb down from the seat, squat on the floor, put on seat belt, take out seat belt, look at people in front, look at people behind, look out of the window
Then it's time to land.

Rainbow
I thought stream and wish are both high seating. Volvo suv is huge! Look at the tyres!

C&C
Now I count down to my holiday. Though only leaving next Thur, now no mood to work already.Now your girl exam is over, so you are back here!

Hippo
Really? I'm so disappointed. I thought Genting Hotel is a 5 star hotel so should be better than Resort Hotel. Heard from friends and the counter staff from Grassland that the room is quite spacious...

<font size="-2">Sym just had a sch belated Children Day celebration .... a lot activities to keep her excited this Oct, incl an early BD celebration this Sun . Now my angel Sym 'got company'. Actor Colin Farrell annouced he has an Angel too (on Zaobao today n web) </font>
Hvnt pass lah!
Another Angel just like mine
1028068.jpg

<font size="-2">I think, easier I sit for my girl's exam lah! I vomit until no more blood to vomit already. And all she cares for - read story book, watch TV! </font>
Agree with C&C

stylobb > Not going Genting or KUL, went Genting last Dec. Most likely cruise. Tried Grassland n FiveStar coach

Thanks for all the travel advice. They're very helpful.

While I enjoy different environments overseas but I can't stand long car/coach/plane rides. I guess that's the main put-off about Genting. In comparison, the plane ride to Krabi/ Phuket is less than 2 hours. Am thinking of Phuket now 'cos it's cheaper than Krabi. Possible things to do: Day trips to Phi Phi island, Dino World mini golf, beach. Will look at Genting as a back-up. Thanks, Pantone and Hippo2002.

Is there a discordance betweent the needs of adults and children when you plan for holidays? My son wants to play - playgrounds, water parks while hubby and I want a un-crowded place to chill out and relax.

jas
Hmmmm.. I would look for another job if I were u, since u are not that old plus it's no point doing the same amt of work with no support. No loss to you either way...
Ur situation is not crucial in that sense... it's a matter of whether u can tahan the current way...

tamarind
Indeed ur pay is v high.... no wonder u stay put.
Why don't u find out if u were to leave (retrenched), wl they compensate u?? At least u didn't work for nothing the past eight years....
U mentioned about deployment, does it mean a pay cut?

5 times tougher sounds like working till death do us part.... not every attractive. I guess it's a matter of whether you adopt a wait and see attitude or making a quick decn and leave the co.... What do the other mummies think?

golden
Thanks for sharing this..... I didn't even know he had a kid!!!

kira
I also find I hv lesser tolerance for long hours on plane, car, coach, etc...
Of course, kids can't sit still, they like to move about, while we adults wanna R&R... hehe...

Tamarind
Yah, agree with StyloBB. I would actively look around, but stay put if I can't find anything suitable (5x harder job doesn't sound suitable). HR job is to look for possible solutions, I thought (?): retrenchment benefits, redeployment, transfer entire department to outsourcing company,...

Tamarind

on your comments 'Stand up, sit down, lie down on the seat, climb down from the seat, squat on the floor, put on seat belt, take out seat belt, look at people in front, look at people behind, look out of the window'

I think you should hang on to this job till they compensate you for your retrenchment. Maybe they will re-deploy you? Won't know till then

Think of it this way, you already 'gained' a lot (over paid, under worked) the last 8 years. hehe, does that make you feel better? even if you accept a pay cut in your next job, just treat as adjust to market rate

kira

Now, already so stress...think by next week, stress should be over....its the preparation that is stressful but not the actual moment....

pantone
MY girl exam not started yet lah. I cannot tahan her anymore, that's why I come back here to release stress! Look on for just another second, I die!!! I bochap liao lah!

Tamarind
What's the new job that you've applied for? 5X more work... depends on whether you like what you'll be doing. Otherwise, better stay in familiar grounds that pay more! $100K per year is a lot of $$$ leh. Better consider carefully before switching!