!!!!!!!!!****Any hyper active kids? Mummy how do you cope with it?****!!!!!!!

sadsinglemummy

Hi Mummies/Daddies,
I have a son whom is more to tantrum problem. He loves to hit his own sister as and when.
I bring him to see doctor, and is advise to bring him for more outdoor activity.
Is there any activity whom you would like to intro?
Stress!!!!

Hi Mummyfel,
I have a son at 3 yrs old and the gal is 7 yrs old. I got an advise from Psychologist to let my son to have more outdoor exercise, so that he can utilised his energy and he won't have extra energy to hit his sister.
In fact, i thought of letting him to learn either Taewondo/Akido or Hip hop dance, but Taewondo & Hip Hop Dance needs to be 5 yrs and above. Haiz....
Do you have any activity to recommend and not in high expenses as i am supporting them alone.

Hi Carol Tan, hv u sent yr boy for diagnose if he is adhd? Cos my boy is adhd / add. U can join Spark.
this is a non profitable organisation for parents with adhd. It is very encouraging as we are supporting one another and they also organized talks to parent. Hope to hear from u.
))

Hi Wendy,
May i know what is adhd? In fact, he is not diagnoise as hyperactive...just that he got no activity in outdoor...so he mis used his strength by hitting his sister(which is mentioned from the Psychologist).
How much is Spark and what is the full name of it?
Hope to hear from you soon.
Coral

Hi Carol,

Adhd : Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder

The psychologist maybe able to advise u if yr boy needs assessment. I didnt pay any $ to spark yet but u can search for their website and ask them to incl u into their mailing. If u r keen to join in any of their talks which usually hold by professionals then u need to pay a min amount say about $25.

Let me know or pm me if u need further details
U can call me too. My second boy is dyslexic, this another type of learning disability too.

Play games with them that can distract him from hitting her.... such as hide & seek (indoor or small area just in case).. which can definitely burn lots of energy through running, hiding & laughing...

else can jus try eating less sweets = less sugar= less energy = more healthier too~

Yep just bring him outdoors let him use up all his energy.
At home you can get him to carry heavier stuff he can drag it push it wadever way he wants, he could help you with household chores.
Also, you have to be very firm with him and don't let him go away free after hitting his sister

Eatless sweets = less sugar= less energy

According to study, refined (processed) sugars may have some effect on children's activity because refined sugars and carbohydrates enter the bloodstream quickly, they produce rapid fluctuations in blood glucose levels. This might trigger adrenaline and make a child more active.

Would you like to do a reward chart for him? Say, if he does something nice, he gets a sticker and when he collects enough stickers, he gets to go to the playground or eat his favourite snack.

It worked with my 3 kids, with my 3 year-old daughter being the hyper one who bites and hits my sons.

How does your daughter react whenever she's being hit? Does she have a big response? If she reacts calmly, your son might realise that he isn't triggering a huge response from your daughter and stops it?

For eg, my daughter strangles my elder boys (who's 7 & 9 ) and the boys used to scream and shout and complain but I hated the noise and I told them to calmly leave the situation and tell her it is NOT OK and they will ignore her until she apologises.

That worked better and it still happens when one of the boys cry when they get hurt but the occurences have taken a huge dip. Hope this helps.

hi, i happen to see this thread.
I feel my son to be hyper active, ADHD or ADD too.
He is full of energy and cannot stop jumping here and there, disturbing his sister, asking him to behave do not seen to get into his mind, usually have a hard time when go out with him.
His attention span is also short, though i know is pretty common in kids. This make him slower in school work i feel as he don pay attention.

hey smallonion, haven't gone to KKH yet? the earlier he receives help the better because special schools long waiting list. My girl the same too. PM me ok? We can chat or meet up..

My son is also very active n bad tempered. He screams loudly at home n loves to kick n beat my parents. He cannot sit still n whenever he is standing, his legs will be moving. He dislikes strangers n not receptive to change.

I just hope he is just being naughty n not belonging to any spectrum.

my son is diagonsed as young as before 24mths old - ADHD hyper + mild austic.

son now 5y/old. He's a vegans: 98% greens / 2% meats, hates PORK badly !

KKH conculsion for son's diagonsed as he was badly affected by witnessing his young twin sister died of no heart beat in my womb. Initially, I dun believed of KKH's diagonsis ....went for 2nd opinon in Brain Gym ( kinesiology ) and Brain Gym instructor too gave me the same answer as KKH which I had no choice to accept the fact.

son's energy or rather BATTERY neber runs LOW unless he gg for sleep. If he's sick, his hyper increases ! Cannot take paracetamol coz' it WORSEN his hyper and can drive me up the walls !!! Trained son MUST have pm NAPS since NB otherwise, he will gone WILD n CRANKY, walked aimlessly, etc ...

son has no friends of his age in PCF kindergarten as his speech is not as good as them ( only talk after 36mths old as inherited by me with inheritance history ).

even till now, he can't sit still thru out whole journey in public buses. travelling by trains most times UNLESS with his pram coz' he CANNOT ACCEPT the fact for NO SEATS available for him or me.

son's learng is SLOW and has yet to test for his dyslexic as CANNOT recongise nor read simple WORDS not to mention SPELLING ! He can COPY but copy BLINDLY ....... copy now and ask again in the next 10mins later, he then ask " Mama, can u sound the word then i write the word ! "

there's no mainsteam primary schools tt specialised with hyper kids in the EAST zone that i called a few. So far, Geylang Methoist Primary accepts ASD kids with IQ test taken. The staff told me they can't take my son as he has mixed of ADHD + mild ASD unless his conditions ASD + mild ADHD .

i forseen my son ain't ASPERGER if not can apply for Pathlight School then i won't worry till stress and went to see KKH psy doctor & popping ANTI-STRESS pills every nite b4 sleep.

Free item has another thread and one mum share a link to us :
http://www.singhealth.com.sg/PatientCare/ConditionsAndTreatments/Pages/AutisticSpectrumDisorder(Child).aspx

hi mrs lew, there's a metta school at simei that should accept your son for education. you can check with them.

son has been <font size="+1"><font color="ff0000">WAIT-LISTED since 2009 !!!</font></font>

their excuse <font size="+2"><font color="ff6000">" you AIN'T from the NEEDY so just wait lor ! "</font></font>

in my heart tikg, staying in 5room flat oso WRONG ??? Last year, i saw few mums walkg out of condos opp my hse walkg to Metta School and they told me they <font color="0000ff">MERELY WAITED LESS THAN 3months !!!</font>

By the way, my hse is just across Metta School !!!

pls go and approach Venerable Fa Zhou (who heads Buddha Tooth Relic Temple and Metta School). talk to him, he's compassionate.

btw, what were the initial behaviour or characteristics that prompted you to check with doc to diagnose your kid belong to this group, correctly?

Venerable Fa Zhao met my son and juz by touched on son's head &amp; told me tt my son's journey ain't smooth .... it's TRUE !

Now the venerables have gone to Hong Kong, suspose to go Japan then due to the recent earthquake....they changed to HK.

KKH diagonsed tt son witness his younger twin sister died in my womb during my pregnacy and caused him unable to express his sadness, etc.
I dun believe and seek 2nd opinon with Brain Gym....brain gym instructor after assessing oso feed back the same.
son started brain gym sessions b4 KKH therapy sessions as young as 24mths old.

son dun blink eyes as young as 6mths old when i use my hands to distract him which frightens me.....check out with babyweekly website to find out more info.

hi mrs lew, i still try not to believe your son has prob. i would feel that perhaps many times of pyscologist visits and more exposure with other kids in terms of social and expression, could help him to open up the phobia feeling that he has witnessed. brain gym is not qualified doc, right? they merely agree to what kkh say and all could be just based on presumptious??

well, nobody can reticfy / solve my son's "problems" .... as i oso 1 2 knw son's tikg &amp; his world too

now only gotta wait till son take his IQ test when he turn 6 on his DOB then will find out wat's son's " problems " ARE !

Brain Gym is exercising for " opening up both left &amp; right brains " , whether qualified or not ..... so far KKH therapists &amp; doctor didn't stop son from gg brain gym sessions yet they even wanted brain gym's progress report submissions.

My personal views :
ADHD kids have to oversome themselves but not we as parents to open for them .

It's not fully proven cos different kids react differently and a normal child can be very hyper yet is not clinically diagnosed to have a hyper or inattentive problem.

It not just the sugar, but the additives (which consists of colouring, preservatives etc) which 1 needs to avoid. These foods are processed like the frozen nuggets and patties and those offered at Macdonald's for instance.

One may say that it is not possible to stop eating all these foods. Then exercising limited control is vital.

I suspect my elder boy is have ADHD. He is 4 yrs old and super active, battery never low. Scream loudly and gets impatient over small issues. He doesnt really interact with others in school. We like to send him to go for tests to get early diagnosis . Please advise where I can go for such diagnosis.

Hi Ricorn,
You can go polyclinic first then tell them your concern. The doctor will refer you to KK Child development unit.

HOw active is your son? can he sit down do homework?

He can sit down but always rush his homework through. He can jump from one activity to another very fast . He would scream and yelled if we stop him from doing something. Running around in public areas and shopping centers.
Sometimes we wonder if he is hyperactive or simply active and disobedientlike a pre school kids. Headache..

I have a 4 year old son who is hyperactive, as compared to other kids in his class, Nursery 2.

His teachers and principal have expressed concern that he can't sit still and is disruptive.

I have always known that he has more energy than any of us or his friends. He sleeps late and does things in his own way, but he is imaginative and creative though. He was not able to communicate or express well. He din't like reading books. He was violent and threw tantrums by wailing, beating, biting for anything and everything. He was manipulative as well towards my parents and my husband. He has short attention span too, although this may be normal for kids. Anyway, this behaviour of his been ongoing ever since he turned 1.5 years.

But after he started going to a childcare center late last year, we thought he was getting slightly better because he started to speak better although his articulation and pronounciation were not that good. Now, recently, we found that he was picking up his old behaviour and so everyone around us tells us that there is some problem with them.

Straining my thoughts about him, I have been pretty stressful and have been crying and worrying about it nowadays...and I can't help but to shout and scream at him at times. And I have felt bad about it after doing that each time.

I need some advise from you perserved ladies on how you cope with your kids who may exhibit the same behaviour....

Hi Sonia,

Mums screaming, shouting at TOP of our VOICES is very COMMON ! I do that too........

My personal view :

1) seek professional help to reticfy yr son's problems.

2) if wanna have assessments done, go poly clinic to get referral letter to go KKH, SGH or NUH for subsized prices IF NOT the assessments, therapies, consultations can COST u a HUGE BOMB !! ( i paid private patient rate for son from 22mths old till 4.5y/old....so how BIG HOLE had I burnt ? )

3) Poly clinic referral is LONG WAITING LIST, if cannot wait then go private professionals like Leapfrogs, Planet Learning Centre, etc....(adverts posted in Parents / Motherhood magazines)

My son turning 6 in June so me now waiting for full age IQ test to be arrange as I wanna know where is my son standing in terms of IQ range and other expects.

My son was diagonsed ADHD with mild ASD ..... even til date, his PCF principal &amp; chinese teacher &amp; current K2 form teacher can handle him well ...... FYI, son ha no partner ! His partner is TEACHER !!! why ??? he's HYPER when it's outdoor, even walking less than 50metres away from common corridoor outside his class room dinning room ........
Son is POPULAR for not having friends in his class but except from other levels class as he can be found in principal office or called for mischievous acts ..... I gave school GREEN LIGHT to reprimend him whenever he misbehaves during school hours as my principal is dun correct now then when then correct son's mistakes ??

Anyone try out BrainGym playhouse?
They claim they take in children with ADHD
I'm eager to start my son with some courses. I have not bring my son for diagnosis but wanna start something for him first

I send my son for Brain Gym by Li-Anne after son disgonsed by kkh.

I knw Moira Dempsey who is Aussie personally, told me to seek help from Li-Anne.

Moira's website :

http://integratedbeing.com/

Li-Anne's link :

http://naturesintelligence.blogspot.com/?m=0

My son loves the exercises but didnt cont as fees are X ( parent + child @1.5hrs @ S$150 )

Brain Gym playhouse hubby n wife learnt skills from Moira as their kids r ADHD. Moira has her reasons why no refer me to them n i knw who they are, since i residing in the east too.

I have sent my daughter to see Li-Anne recently after I had the comments from her pre-school. Her problems are: poor gross and fine motor skills, eye contact is not enough, poor social skills, hyperactive, speech delay. Li-Anne said she needs to have the "touch for health" therapy before she is ready for any exercises (rhythmic movement therapy). I am wondering if anyone had tried these therapies in Singapore. Do the therapies work on those symptoms.

Hello Mummies!

Thought some of you may find this coming forum interesting. It is not just for parents with special needs children but for anyone who may be keen on this topic :)

• ACE Award 2013 Event Flyer v2.pdf
    127.2 KB · Views: 589
Oh dear!! Does anyone here in the forum (apart frm the moderators) help explain how I could upload a file?
It seems so easy, yet when I wanna view, I am unable to do so :(