Any comments on Montessori for Children

just pass by thomson that day,
saw a MMI(?) opening soon. its next to the overhead bridge leading to thomson plaza.

is it different from the one above ivins?

Ora: R u referring to the one near Ai Tong? If so, it's a new CC opened by MMI.
The one above Ivins more for daily playgroup (2-3 hrs per day).

Funny, yup received liao. No need to meet cos I taking taxi. Yes the MMI above Ivins near to Sin Ming Centre.

Ya Oral, Passed by this morning N I saw the banner but it is inside the lane (bright hill dr i think) directly opp thomson plaza, so din really go in the lane to check.

Aiyo My boy today first day..... cried lah.... so heartpain, but cried n stopped n cried..... then later asked him still wan to go to school, he said YES. Funny, next Monday u check for me, cos I cant go in n see liao. Must let the teachers to handle him as need to train him. So poor thing.

Can Wei Lin, can plan for weekend..... after this Sat at GUG last lesson, my boy no more sat class liao. heehee

If it is along the stretch of road, will take a look after the Ykdz trial.

Sally,

I thought you will accompany him till he get used to it ???

Funny, ya I accompanied him for the bus ride onli. But not allowed in the class, cos no accompanied adult unless u r doing trial. So I need to stay outside n wait. heehee

Sally,

I thought you can accompanied him till he get used to the place. But can you see from outside what's happening in the class ? How's the program like ?

Weilin,

Can I check with you. When you withdraw from LV, you sent them a email or a formal letter ? How did they acknowledge your withdrawal ? They take how long to refund you ?
Their attitude change when comes to withdrawal.
I wrote to the principle via email regarding the wirhdrawal. Ten days later I did not rec any reply so yesterday I sent another email together with my previous mail to them to see if they have rec it. Ok, i finally got a email from her saying that she did not receive my previous email and full stop. Never mention anything like when I will get my refund or any concern messages. So they are only interested in enrolment, when come to withdrawal they give you anther face...or may be i am too petty...hee..hee

Funny: She took quite long to reply. Everything was via email. But for your case, did u give her at least 1 mth notifcation? The whole process took abt 1 mth before I got my refund. She was ok leh. But not as helpful liao. hahah... maybe they got irritated coz too many parents withdrew last min. kekeke...

Funny, cannot see from outside as all covered up lei.... but his teacher seems to be able to distract him from time to time...... Will see how again tomolo.........

Sally,

So you do not know what do they teach in the class ? Now i worry if my gal will cry without us accompany her.

Weilin,

Can I ask how SM conduct their class ? I went to ECC yesterday. Find that the program is not bad. Will be going for the trial.
May be you fixed a date for the weekend gathering.

Funny,
Dun noe, but they got worksheet to let them bring back... today very impressive lei..... din cry, walk into class with his classmate...... only whine at times cos wan the teacher to carry him..... then when going home, refused to leave..... cried when teacher carried him out of class...... heehee

Wat is ECC?

Funny: This is roughly the lesson format.
(1) Singing of Good Morning Song (In Jap)
(2) Warming up exercises to get ready for right-brain activities (making energy balls, blowing exercises)
(3) ESP games
(4) Flashcards session (either show hard copy flascards or animated flashcards on LCD screen)
(5) Singing session (1-2 songs)
(6) Finger Training (Chopsticks, Transferring games, etc)
(7) Speed Reading
(8) Counting Song / Alphabet phonics song
(9) Hiragana Song with Hiragana chart shown to kids
(10) Other activities if time permits (learning of shapes, colours, etc)
(11) Good bye Song (In Jap)
(12) Parents & teacher write reviews of the child's progress after each lesson.

Would say that their activities are quite creative. However, it really takes alot of time, $ & efforts for home-training session.

How much is ECC charging? Where is it?
Perhaps, u can go & view their program. Think they usually have a workshop each term for interested parents.

Sally,

Can't remember what is stand for. It's a program to train the right brain. Find the program quite creative.

Weilin,

ECC is at Delphi Orchard. The charges is like $2000+ per year. Once a week lesson. Will update you when i go for the trial.
Must find time to take a look at SM.

Sally, Selina,

I will be on leave starting tmr, so any changes pls contact my mobile as i may not come in here often.

BTW, Selina, did you rec my email ? Have not heard from you.

Sally,

I think your boi is slowing getting used to it. Probably he enjoys the class. That's good !
So the first half hr of the program where all ages of the children will mix together still on ? Did you ask what's the purpose ?

Living Vision is not listed in the yellow pages leh. Can anyone provide me the contact number? Also, does it have any other branch other than teh one at gentle road?TIA

okie. thanks Rae.
LV seems very main stream hor. Hhmmm, i prefer less mainstream ones. Don't want to push my daughter into regular school syllabus too soon.

I just read the last page of this thread and you withdraw from LV? Why?

Alamak, the more i read, the more confused and panicky i get.

My MIL is taking care of my DD during when i go work. I just want some 'enrichment' experience for my DD, so that she won't be too 'under-stimulated'. And, i don't want to burn my precious little time with her by sending her to classes on weekends.
Basically, weekdays programme, 2 -3 times a week should suffix.
Now torn between MMI @ tampines mart and LV at Tampines St 81.

Sook: I withdrew my dd from LV after registration. She has not started lessons there. Coz, I have a helper to look after my girl. Initially I opt for half day programme at LV, but decided to opt out as I prefer 2-3 times a week programme like you. Coz, she's still young, didn't want to let her go to school 5 days a week coz she has enrichment during the wkend.

Perhaps u check with MMI if they have playgrp programme.

HI <font color="ff0000">funny, sally</font>,
sorry too bz recently.. din login to check msg here.. seems i didn't receive the email regarding ur address?? but pehsei, i may not able to go, sorry sorry, as hubby got some appt.. always got last min change.. sorry...

Rae - i've just checked with MMC at Tampines Mall. They do have 1/2/3/4/5 per week programme. If i choose the 2-day of 2 hour session per week, it would be $625 per 11 weeks-term. Work out to be about $208 per month + $70 bus service = $278

Still within my budget.
One draw back is the confined environnment,

As of LV at Tampines St 81, the monthly fee is $400 (after subsidy) for full day.

Sook: At least u have a MMI near yr place. If I have a good MMI near my place, I will be happy.
Quite a workable amt. If u have a caregiver for yr child, think 2 or 3 times a week is enough.

Selina, no problem, will let Funny noe.

Wei Lin, since Selina cant join, we can move to weekend, so u can come along too. Which Sat u free? Since sunday u have shichida class n funny has GUG class. SMS us n let us noe, next Sat 30/12 can? cos Funny is not available this Sat. I will pm u my HP. Cheers.

Hello
Am new in the forum, friend recommended me to check out this site after realizing my gynae's name (Dr Brenda Low) is listed in one of the threads. Decided to pause here at this thread also because i just came from the "marketplace" place thingie - there's a Montessori Parent Guide available for sale. Guide for parents interested in montessori education. think worth it?

Ora: Wat made u decide on MFC? =)
No issues with transportation?

Saw u posting in the other forum, thought u were going for PT.

Selina,

it's ok, can arrange another time.

Weilin,

ECC is having hols on 23rd dec so have changed the trial to 6 Jan. Will update again.
For Ykidz, though the classroom is small, but find that the teachers are quite caring. If i take up the class, i will choose the 8.30 session. still need to discuss with my SIL first.

Sally,

nice meeting you. u look familar to me.
did you bring a coat for Akinesh, cos the air-con is quite cold.

Funny, Nice meeting u too.... wow really envy you lei... heehee....... ya always got a coat in his bag. But I always let him wear a long sleeve under his uniform n let him wear socks. Hence so far so good, no need coat yet. Today Christmas party, so met up with the teachers cos Wed n Thurs, he went there on his own. Teachers were commenting that he very talkative, talks alot....... i faint, guess complaints will come slowly with all his mischief...... n din cry at all yesterday... heehee...... see ya on wed..... then we can yak...

Funny, nice meeting you n yr gal yesterday. Must arrange to meet again...... :) let me noe when u can... Went to Giant at Vivio today, din see the red car that u have lei....... sigh.

Hi Sally,

You may try carfour. Let's arrange another meeting but it will be a weekend. I will be going to shanghai soon. You know anything to buy there ?

Hi Funny,
Biz in Shanghai? or holidays? Wow so good.... me dun noe lei.........never been there. Ya meetup must be weekend too cos my boy starts his daily playgroup already.

Wei Lin n Selina, maybe u can let us noe which Sat u both r available so we can arrange. Sun cant as Funny's gal got GUG class. Morning better.

Sally,

Its biz trip.
I shall call Annie later to check on the pickup time. Need to know the pickup time so that we can judge wether to take sch bus or drive.

Weilin,
I will be going for the ECC trial this sat. will update u again.

Weilin,

Yes, sort of decided. Now is awaiting how my sil is responding.

Sally,

You mentioned kindy at Barker road and marymount are good. In what way is good ?

weilin,

will probably stay till she is 3 yrs old when she goes to N1 might change.

you have been to barker road kindy, so what do you like abt the school ? Is it just for K1 and K2 only ? how about N1 and N2

Funny, so when can meet? When u going for Shanghai? Cant wait for your gal to join my boy... U called Annie?

Funny n Wei Lin, Barker Rd kindy comment is from my neighbours who have put her kids there. Said teachers n curriculum good. But ex for fees, cant remember how much n also their graduation very posh... think one time they chose raffles hotel. Me will go for Marymount Kindy cos nearer to my place, n my friends who have kids there said good esp the curriculum. I must go n check out myself. Shall we arrange to go together?

Sally,
I have provided the details of location to Annie. She will reply me tmr. I have a feeling that it will be quite early.

I will be going on the 15th to shanghai.

When do you intend to go marymount kindy ? I will take leave to go with you. most probably you will go after your boy school or during his school time.

Funny: I like the environment. Felt tat it's cozy and location is fine for us.
There's N1 to K2. But for N1, they only have the 11am session.
Coz it's renovated not long ago, premise is quite new. Admin was helpful too.

Weilin,

True, baker road kindy is indeed very near. Also between my house and my sil house. Must find a time to take a look. Oh dear, my leaves are all goes to kindy searching again.