Any comment on Dr. Adrian B Woodworth from Thomson Women Clinic

Ahxue
thanks thanks.. hee.. b4 detail scan.. i must still c dr adrian first on next fri.. mayb he will tell me le.. hope i can get wat i wish ah.. pray hard lol..

hi, anyone just gave birth with DR Adrian Woodworth at TMC recently, after his increase in charges? Would like to know what's the total estimated bill currently... please share if you have.

Hi Ah xue,
both my delivery are v smooth n fast,
my hubby say nv hear me complain or shout in pain,
maybe tat y e moment tat i am pushed back in ward,
he told me tat he hope for another 2 more baby !

Hi ting, i gave birth naturally without epidural or pain killer and total bill including me n baby are $3170 (tmc bill including gynae n pediatrician + hospital charges for both me n baby= $3170)without medisave
Btw i jus delivered on 1st Aug 09

Not v ex , at 1st i expected e bill to be $4k _ coz e last tm i delivered my 1st gal in 2007 by dr adrian too and the bill size is $2.9k so not much differences in bill size as compared to 2 yrs ago.

hi, jts,
i went back to dr adrian clinic 3 days aft i discharge coz i had constipation for 5 days.

den dr adrian asked me whether i drank the "红水“, i say yup. den he asked me whether i can take fruits during confinement, i told him my mom in law said no. haha den he commented saying : ai ya confinement period is so troublesome cant drink water and have fruits haha makes e body so heaty)

my hubby questioned him back asking whether can drink cold water, he replied saying tat confinement period can drink anything like cold water, hot water, coca cola, anything ...

hey brayden,

thanks! wow, i read this forum and realised alot of women under Dr A can give birth w/o epidural!! really can or not? at first i wanted to go natural w/o epi too.. but my colleagues and friends all say i am crazy and it's really painful etc...

is ur 1st one w/o epi too?

btw, sidetrack... i think dr A is a really modern doc. lolx. everything also can.. no problem.. i understand from my colleague that her family doctor is Dr A's sister!

anyone know what's Dr A's ethinic/race? is he a chinese mix? lolx i am always very puzzled but nv ask him b4!

btw, would like to check if there are any mums here that wanted to give birth naturally, after after too long, gotta change to emergency C-sec? i wonder how will Dr A charge?

is it really true that have to pay double charges in such situations?

Hi Ting, if i'm not wrong he's a Eurasian.. With dr a, u wil be able to give birth naturally w/o epidural.. If condition permits. Just tell ur mind the pain is tolerable.. Tat's wat i did for my second child n i suceeded.. The nurses in Tmc were v supported.. Dr A too.. Despite me telling him i'm worried cos for my first child's delivery at kkh, i was told to take epidural by e nurses. I was not even being offered the laughing gas..

Hi ting,
i delivered 1st one without epidural n laughing gas.
was given e laughing gas but e nurse there didnt teach me hw to use it properly.
so end up i didnt use e laughing gas as no matter hw hard i breathed in e gas i don feels giddy at all...

2nd one is without epidural. but w laughing gas coz my bb head can be seen then e nurses called dr a back.as nurse told me nt to push as bb head can be seen need to wait til dr A reach but i simply cant control e pushing coz whenever there is contraction, it wil push automatically. so e midwife told me to breathe in more laughing gas whenever e contraction comes. it realli help coz u wil feel super giddy when u breathe in e laughing gas till i no energy to push...

onli when dr a arrives, contraction came n baby simply slides her way out

i wil definitely go back to dr a if i have number 3

wow brayden! salute man! may i ask how long is your first labour? is the pain bearable? any tips?? i would like to try too!! unless i really cannot tahan...

brayden,
u really GOOD ah! btw, since its VB, does dr A practise episotomy? hw long does it take to heal?

another thing abt tmc, do they let u bf ur bb immediately in the labour ward or wait till u return to ur own ward?

Brayden,

*high 5* hee i also delivered both my girls without epi. #1 I was sick and could not breathe the laughing gas properly so I was not drowsy at all, too alert and felt all the contractions. #2 I manage to breathe the laughing gas and knocked out few times cos same as you, my baby pushed her way out, midwives keep asking me to stop pushing but I just can't, my girl just keep pushing herself. End up the midwives delivered for me cos Dr A only arrived 10 minutes after my girl came out.

delfin,

D A will definitely 'cut' (episiotomy) when the need arise. For my #1 he cut me but #2 he did not reach in time so I had a small tear. Both times I healed in about a week. His stitching skills is good, dun worry.

hi ting,
1st gal frm admitting to hospital til delivery is abt 2 hrs.
1st gal easier as compared to 2nd ,
1st one i didnt even noe hw many cm dilated all tis , experienced less den 15 contractions den e midwife told me tat baby is coming out n push me into delivery suite

for 1st gal i stil blur blur one, midwife also v v fierce, i rmber askin one o e midwife to check me n she didnt even check me, all she does is say tis is ur 1st baby nt so fast, wil onli come back n check me in another 2 hrs tm. but i delivered abt 15mins aft she walk off. i stil saw her coming into my delivery ward for my 2nd one n i told my hubby hope tat later when i am abt to deliver she wont be e midwife helping out.

luckily she wasnt.but i can say service std increases alot for TMC as compared to my 1st stay there n there is nurses that keeps teaching us hw to bf correctly.

hi delfin,
same as nd's gal,
1 he cut me but #2 he didnt as jus a slight tear n my gal slides her way out.

for my #1 and #2 i don feel any pain at the stitch area at all.onli took painkillers on e 1st day.
guess his stiching skill is superb.

In tmc, dey wil bathe n clean ur gal n bring her back to e ward n ask wheter u wan to bf her. but i didnt for both as initialli 2-3 days aft delivery no milk

hi nd gal , i am jus curious coz ur 2nd one midwives deliver for u so dr a onli come n stitch n he still charges e same delivery price?

Morning all mummies and MTBs,
Finally its my turn!!! Going dn to tmc this afternn to induce..hope everything will b a smooth one.

hi peeps...realise that I have not pop in to say hello for a very long time....wonder anybody can rem mi...hee anyway my boi is 7.5mos le...

I am still very early stage. Only managed to see waterbag 1 weeks ago. Will be seeing Dr Woody next Friday.

I had light spotting and had MC 2 years back, so Dr A gave me Horomones pills to be taken 3 times per day and multi-vits. Now on and off still some light spotting (Looks like old blood).

Read all the post, I know I am in good hand. I prefer Dr like him, don't say much. If not I will be very worried.

Looking forward to next week's appointment.

hihi, need some help from exp mummies, i'm currently 28wks pregnant... i usually will apply moisturiser to full body incl breast n massages it as well... but yesterday i notice a clear substance leaking out!!! Been looking online but seems like the substance is supposed to be yellow/creamy?

Any mummies experienced this before? Wonder if it's normal...

hi all, long time did not come in here already..my boy is 4mths now..delivered by Dr A..

stefie, same as u...i dont like Dr that talks and explain a lot...makes me very worried and anyhow think...Dr A is good, he always say everything is fine not to worry...and i really trust him when he say everything is good...hahaha...will sure go back to him again for #2

i just delivered a baby boy 2 months ago by Dr Adrian. FOr the post natal visits, normally how many times do we need to see him? So far, he has asked me to go back see him few times already. the next visit is 6 weeks later.. just want to know if you go back visit him that often or is there anything wrong with me... thanks

Think there is no indication on how many times to go back to him though he said to ask mummy to return for visit. Think returned visit might include whether need to do pap smear and has the menses comes back or not etc.

hi BB R, my gal is 2mths too
born on 1st Aug...
i was told to return back to him 2 wks aft delivery only... den i visit him when my gal turn 1 mth to insert IUD n did pap smeaR...

was told to visit him on tis 28th for follow up on IUD...

BB R

My boy is coming to 8mths already. I visited 1 week after delivery, then 6 weeks to do pap smear and asked to go back 6mths later. Another 6 mths later to do pap smear.

My edd is on this 31 Oct and this is my second baby. My first babe is 40 wks + 3 days. Dr Adrian advised induction in which I am not keen since baby and I are well so far. I personally really looking forward to natural birth and upset when he doesn't sound pro having overdue baby. Any mummies have had similiar experiences?

Hi, anyone know if I opt for c-sect the operation date must be earlier than the due date or can choose actual day (EDD)? And if I got contraction and give birth before the choosen date is it counted as emergency c-sect? Cost will be more expensive too right?

Hi June

I had similiar situation as you. I was being induced on edd itself as he also dun sound pro on overdue and also advise me to consider c-sect as maybe plus my bb was big, 3.5kg upon last check up. In the end, i ended up emergency c-sect as bb head too high

I had post natal virginal infection one week after delivery, went to him and he took a quick look and said it "looks ok" and prescript anti-biotic without much question asked and just ask me to drink more water. He also said to wash virginal area with normal soap used for body will do to keep clean. I was like "isit that too strong?" I took for one week and no improvement thus went back to him during the second week for post natal check up for my c-sect wound as well as this and again he said same comment and prescript another type of medication. However still no improvement and I went to GP that ppl recommend. She check my virginal area very carefuuly and took urine test upon hearing my symptom. In the end its actually urine infection. Given medi and recover within few days!
So I personnaly feel that he had too many patients and can't spend time with each of us thus I will not choose him as my gynae for my second child.

Hi Acneery Gal

I am so sorry to hear your bad experience
Hope u have fully recovered by now. He allowed me to wait beyond my edd. I negotiated that though he looked impatient and 'unhappy' though both me and baby are well. He kept on reminding me the risks of having overdue baby which I truly agree and understand. But then having induction has its own risks too that being a mum I want to take into consideration of those.

I am now edd + 6 days. Went to Mt A on edd + 3days to check baby heart beats and everything seemed well.

My husband and I decided to go for induction today as we concern of baby getting too big later and it is quite mentally drained counting down the time awaiting the arrival of my 2nd babe due to some kind of pressure.

Thanks for sharing. Hopefully everything will go on smoothly for me and babe today.

hi i would like to share my delivery with Dr Adrian as well. i had premature labour during my 32 weeks and Dr Adrian recommended me to go direct to KK A&E because if the bb was born then, it would be very expensive cos of the care needed, KK will be the best place. i was warded for 4 days and managed to control the contractions and was discharged.

from 36 to 38 weeks, i had regular contractions everyday, starting from 15 mins to 5 mins.. and each contractions lasting 2 mins... but it will go away after a few hours... so Dr Adrian asked me to wait...

on my appt on exactly the complete of 38 weeks, Dr adrian asked me how is everything and i replied him the same symptoms and he told me to go into the hosp that afternoon to induce. I was like.. huh? so abrupt! but what he said made sense, he said what suffer? i can be contractions all the way till 40 weeks but baby dun want to come out (probably due to some of the medications i took earlier to control the contractions i think).. so me and hubby went home to prepare and went in to hosp on that afternoon (10 Oct)

turn out that day is a very hot date! the hosp is fully packed with no rooms at all and Dr Adrian has another 2 delivery scheduled that day!!

pill inserted but 4 hrs went by, nothing. was put on drip to induce, 1 hr went by, nothing.. dr Adrian came to check, only 2 cm dilated! he also broke the water bag.. immediately after the water break, contractions started coming fast and furious. then Dr adrian went back already. he said probably i will deliver between 6 to 8am. i was fully dilated at 330am, and the nurse called him to come over. by the time he reached it was already 430am. with only 3 to 5 pushes, my boy is on my lap already!

here comes the scary part! Dr Adrian was sewing my wound up, and it took quite long. so i was asking him how many stitches, but he refuse to answer me, but just said not alot... but i saw him use the "string" not enough, and he asked the nurse for more.. overall, i think he used like a few box of that thread!! and it took quite long to sew up! so i kept asking him to tell me how many stitches, but he refuse to tell me... when dr Adrian left, i asked the nurse if there were alot of stitches and is it very bad (cos i had epidural i cant feel anything at all) and the nurse like find it difficult to reply me.. i asked her how come take so long and she said gotta sew through 3 layers ma... (is that true?!) so i didn't think much of it.. on the day i was discharged, when the nurse pass me my bb health booklet, i was very shock to read that my bb was delivered via Forcep!!! both me and my hubby wasn't aware at all! it was so quick and we both didnt see it at all.. dun he inform when he uses aid?

but 4 days later, my wound starts to become pain, and on the 6th day, the pain was so bad that i wanted to cry!! every single movement that i made, is like tearing the wound apart! so i sms him to ask him if i can go see him earlier and he asked me to go see him immediately. when he touched me, i cried out in pain, but he said my wound is healing well. everybody also pain after discharge from hospital one.. then he gave me antibiotics and cream etc.. but my wound hurts, like it's sew too close to the right side, also, can i check with you gals for the stitches down there, are there "lumpy" lumps? pardon me, cos it's my first time, i tot the stitches will be flat one.. i don't think my stitches are done well... but i dunno hw to compare and remedy! the week after i went to see him again, he prescribe me with another antibiotic then it became better...

on the whole, i agree w acneery gal that he had too many patients and can't spend time with each of us.

because of my stitches experience, i am so scare to have a second child already!

Hi June

You are most welcome. Ya I also notice he seemed impatient and reluctant to check my virginal area during the check-up. Anyway I wish you had a safe and smooth delivery

Hi Ting

Oh dear that's sounds painful. Maybe can check with anyone close to you that had virginal delivery to compare with?

Actually I feel that i had the virginal infection is partly his fault too. I tried natural but end up c sect so my virginal is dilated to 10cm and i feel him stitching that area which he also never mention anything to me. I rem that my friend told me that she was given a virginal wound wash upon discharge by her gynae. However I was not given, so i ask nurse for it and she mentioned that my doctor did not prescribe. So I sms him and he told me that my case is only "FEW STITCHES" thus no need wat wound wash just wash with normal shower pdts! You know confinement we cant shower and for the first week, i only wet wipe and just water to wash that area and becos of that I suspect it causes the infection.

Ya I agree his response to sms is very prompt but he always say the same thing. " where do you stay? ok come down to clinic tomorrow and will take a look!

I feel that there is no personal touch from him at all lor. When I was at delivery ward waiting to be induced, I heard other gynae taking to their patient will ask them very positively how is everything and try to say things to make ppl feel good b4 delivery.My case also induced and he came to see me and burst my water bag without telling me also. I thought he checking for dialation and suddenly fell the gust of water. Also after delivery they will go round every morning to do a check at our ward. He just come and say everthing ok? B4 you can think of anything to ask, he already left.

Personally, i dun enjoy the pre natal visit to him. Its my first child and he did not make me feel excited or prepared. Its always so fast and rush. During the forth mth when we are very excited to know bb gender, he took a few second scan and told us cannot see and to wait for detail scan to see. He did not even spend a round more or use some methods to try again. My friend gynae told her to walk around and she will scan for her again so nice. I agree that he is those doctor that always tell patient that everything ok, dun worry rest more which makes ppl less worry but I guess for ppl like me I dun feel good. I guess its also individual preference la.

true! i rem i read in the forum that Dr Adrian used to pat the head of the mommy and assure that everything is alright etc... also, when i was admitted at KK then, the staffs there asked me who is my gynae and i mentioned Dr Adrian Woodworth, they knew him (duh! every doc has to go thru public service first de la!) i think he was nicer last time!

now, maybe he seen too many patients already.

ya! the next day after my delivery, when he was doing the visit, i heard him shouting just outside my ward to the nurse where is his patient located! i can recognise his voice la, but i was too engross watching my bb, and i tot he will come in anyway, so i didnt open the door for him to say HERE i am.. but after a while the commotion still going on, so i went to open my door and turn out within less than 24 hours after he deliver my baby, he sprain his ankle! so he had to walk with the Guai Zhang. Guess what! the first thing he said when he said me is.. "ok you are standing, then everything ok already. i will give you the pain killer u take the pain killer.and something to make you poo. go poo la. ok! " that's it. he is leaving liao! dun even have the chance to ask him anything and hmm, he didn't even bother to take a short look at the bb he help to deliver.

Erm.......looks like I m too late to be worried, my EDD is less than 2 mths. I m so super scared!

I havnt book hospital yet lei. We pay the doc's fee n ward charges upon admission?

I ask Dr A before on which hospital, he is like more pro TMC, tho I also pro TMC la, wanna take 4 bedder, he said he can do upgrade for me. Can anyone share with me on the expectations of pre-admission etc? Need to brief my hb cos I dun tink I will be in proper mind to follow thru everything

firipy,

i oso haven book hospital yet. I mention to him during my previous visit. He told me he would handle it. But he did not even ask me how many bedder i wan loh.. maybe next visit den i ask him again.

btw can any mummies advise what is his hp now? is it the one printed on the appt card?

hi firipy

my both babys were delivered by him at TMC(sept 05 & mar 09).

dont worry about the bed. normally he will ask you to chose 4 bedder and will be free upgrade to 2 bedder upon admission. he can only arrange free upgrade at TMC.

bluey
yah he hp nos remain the same as shown in his name card.

Hi firipy,

U hv to pay a deposit of $800 upon admission if u choose 4 bedded (u will definitely be upgraded to 2 bedded). and will only need to pay the balance when u get the final bill on the day u discharge.

U can even choose to upgrade if u decide to go for 1 bedded upon admission but of cse subject to bed availabity.

ivy, thanx for the info.

efg, can I use credit card for the deposit? the upgrade is free rite to a 2 bedder in tmc? we'll need to sign some docs on the medisave deductibles rite? the receipt tat we have for prenat pkg fr Dr A need to bring to hospital too?

firipy, yup.. U can pay by cc. Yes, must rmb to bring ur pre natal package receipt. As for e medisave deduction, the admission counter service staff will get either u or ur hb (depends on whose account u will be using) to sign before u admit. Oh ya, u must rmb ur singpass password or ur hb's cos they will need u or ur hub to login inorder for them to access to ensure u hv sufficient funds for deduction.
n yes, the upgrade is free, u will be charged base on 4 bedded.

Hmm..talking abt Dr. Adrain, I feel that he is really not that caring type lo...quite money faced!

Me now almost nearing 7mths le, I was told to pay the Doc's fees on my next appt that is $1300!
I asked the recpe how come so much, she say that normal w/o assisted is $1000 n asssited delivery is $1300, I told her I wan the normal one,so I just pay $1000 lor, she say the $300 is the Admin fees.

I said 'HUH' wat Admin fees? she just bluntly say is miscellanous fees...wat is this??!! Haven even give birth, must pay upfront in full liao?!

Planning if the next visit I ask them abt the $300, they still cannnot explain properly, gonna change Gynae lioa! Really Terok!

Hi Ivy, u mean his clinic's recep asked u to pay upfront the professional fees? Eh.. His professional fees can also use medisave to pay (not all though)n only pay before u discharge from e hospital. U beta confirm with e recep again..

ivy, which branch u see Dr Adrian ah, alot of ppl tell me its pay at the hospital lei, when I sign pkg, no one tell me abt the admin fees lo! tot any additional fees is pay later when we discharge? Pay at their clinic is via cash/nets lei, pay at hospital can use credit card.

Terrible....

I had my 1st baby delivered by Dr A and is now seeing him for my 2nd one. I dun rem paying any professional fees to the clinic except for the pre-natal package I had taken up.

Apart from that, all the other expenses incurred were paid upon discharge.

Ivy, maybe it's better u check with Dr A himself about having to pay the professional fee upfront and see what he has to say.

My Edd is on 25.12.09 but I got a feeling that like the 1st child, I will be induced.I was thinking of waiting for contractions to kick in though. I heard being induced is more painful? It's true that Dr A used to be very caring. I rem when I was at the observation room, he patted my hand and re-assured me that everything is ok and asked me not to worry.

This time round my visits were faster than the previous pregnancy. I tot it might be the timing since I used to visit him during off-peak period like weekdays' morning.

Anyone did Step B test?

ahxue, did my strep b when i was abt 37 wks in sep09. Results were out within a wk. U need to remind him tat u wana do strep b.

ahxue n efg, wats strep b?

My mum kept asking me to ask doc if can induce bb or nt cos she so scared like me n my cousin liddat, overdue till in danger....Very traumatic for my mum n my aunt.....something very bad happen...

Anyone induced their bb b4 due date or on due date?

firipy, all my kiddos were induced. First 2 were due to low Amniotic fluid (39 wks) and the last one was bcos bb not gaining much weight despite being in my 38 weeks. U hv to consider carefully.

Efg, Firipy, Ah Xue: YUP, becos mine is the 5th baby le, so that's y I cannot use medisave to pay. when I went in for my check up, the 1st thing he said 'cos this is my 5th child, I cannot used medisave, I told him I know, I'll pay in cash.

then after my check up, gonna take medicine, the recep told me'doc wants us to collect the Doc delivery fees from you in full, total $1300..

I find it ridiculous lor! so angry, somemore, the recep can tell me the $300 is miscellanous fees!