Any comment on Dr. Adrian B Woodworth from Thomson Women Clinic

Ah Xue,

Which level u stay after u pop? For my 2nd delivery, i stayed at Level 6. The nurses are not so friendly or helpful.And they also like dun reali noe how to look after bb one.

But, for my previous birth, i stayed at Level 5 where the nurses are really nice & they took really good care of my bb.Every morning, they wil wheel my bb to me. And i can c that my bb look so neat & tidy. But 2nd one no lo..my 2nd bb look so untidy although she juz bathe & she is not properly wrapped up as well.

So compared to 1st stay & 2nd stay, the 1st stay is much more enjoying.

noscon

Agreed that first time parents would not like his style.. we timed all his patient while at the clinic on our 2nd visit, all not more than 3mins. went in lie down.. baby head, heartbeat... any question that is it out we go..... actually talking about his cheap package, i dun think so as the time we spent in there 3 mins of 13 visits

hi there,
i'm fr the aug, 2010 mtb thread. also seeing dr. woody. spent a couple of days reading up all the past archives. seemed like there were more dissatisfaction in recent postings. and i'm also curious abt the $300 misc. fee on top of his usual delivery fee.

had signed up his antenatal package when i was ard 5-6wks. now in my 9th wks. so far had been to him twice. will be seeing him on 5 jan and i'm with sk branch.

we took up the antenatal package becos it seems like very budget-friendly. however with his rising delivery costs, we are not so sure anymore.

Just checking with those whom has given birth, is it necessary to remove the stitches?

Curious as when i'm checking my wound, i seems to see some string dangling leh :-(

kitty, I also dunno if need to remove stitches, gonna see him on 4th Jan 09...Jus delivered on 20th Dec, I got alot of stitches n I got piles,super pain!

hweiz, I paid abt $1400 cash for assisted natural delivery with epidural. I stayed 3D3N cos I was went for induction on 19th 4 plus

Hi kitty,
I'm under Dr A too. Had #1 in 2007 & #2 in Jun 2009. Both times no need to remove stitches. The stitches will just disolve by itself.

Firipy,

Ur's vaginal birth? The stitches will self dissolve one. Usually is within 2 weeks. Same for both my birth with Adrian.

i am a little confused abt the oscar test so hope any kind souls can enlighten me here.

i understand that oscar test comprise of NT scan + blood test.
i also read that we can do the blood test at dr. woody's clinic?? is this inclusive within his antenatal package? does that mean we only need to take the NT scan at TMC? or that the blood test is a separate one to be taken at TMC as well?

thanks in advance & wishin all a happy 2010!!

fripy

mine was e-caesar, 3days2night medisave capped at $3500. if ususal 4days3night is capped at $3950.

Dr A told me the longer u stay, the cheaper the bill...

Wow.. Didn't realise there was so much dissatisfaction wif dr Adrian. I'm also seeing him at sk, almost 28weeks now. But budget wise, oredi paid for e consultation pkg n seen him for so long, doesn't seem changing gynae's a good choice now also. But on e other hand, didn't realise his delivery charges has increased.

Btw, those who had oredi prev delivered their babies, care to comment if his estimation of bb's weight at each scan is accurate?

Cloudys,

For both my pregnancies with Adrian, the last scan before my delivery, the weight usually difference about 100-200g. But also subject to the time lapse btw your last scan and delivery date.

Hello Ladies,

Didnt realise that there is any misc fees for Dr A.
I just gave birth on 19 Dec. THis is my no.2.
So far still ok.
First one was emergency c-sec. I feel that he was v prof in exercising his judgement at that time. And he was very reassuring.
I do realise that there are more preggy ladies at his cck clinic now. In fact, last mon morning i went, e waiting time for more than an hour. Pretty long for a weekday morning.
Im not sure about the evening recept at cck but the day time ones are good. Infact they have been ard since the time when I had my no1.

Cloudys, yes, his estimation of bb's weight is quite accurate, abt 100g diff only. Quite accurate for both my babies.

Ahxue, are u planning for no3?
haha dont know if it will be so coincidental again or not that our kids will be borned so close in terms of dates, since geneve and summer shares e same birthday and caden n shane is only a few days apart. =)

Twinky, didnt know different wards will have different service. Both times i stayed at level3.
This time round is quite enjoyable too. I find the nurses more caring and providing more advices than the last time. In fact the recent time, i saw alot of nurses who were there when i had my no1. Alot of nurses there seems to have worked there for v long.

Hi mommmies,
just realise tat satisfaction level for Dr A has dropped. i was planning to go bck to him if i have no. 3 "IF" haha

btw mine was delivered on 1st aug '09 and 1st one in nov '07.. both are delivered by him.. i agree tat cck clinic staff wasnt helpful at all.. when i probe abt tis n tat dey seems to react in an inpatient way.

btw when i was abt to deliver 2nd bb, dr A was rushing to e tmc coz he burst my waterbag n went hm straight aft tt. was told by nurse nt to push bb out n wait for Dr A but hubby can already c baby head crowning..

midwifes tilt the bed backwards while waiting for Dr A to be in... once dr A is in , he lifted my legs up n bb slide her way out. btw i tink he is quite pro though he is more money minded nw :p

btw he didnt ask me on any deposits prior to booking beds for both my kids while he did request for deposit frm my sis and fren who are seeing him.. maybe he is selective or random in asking for deposits?

agrees tat his check up is real short sometimes take onli 5mins while waiting tm can be up to 2hrs.

Went for detailed scan yesterday morning and saw him at his CCK clinic at night. Waited for more than 30mins and my talk with him only lasted 3mins. Took my blood pressure and prescribed my a pill for insert as I got fungi infection. Barely talked about my scan report, just 3 sentences and full stop. Those lines e.g. "It's baby gal, no abnormalities, healthy, ok!" all already been told to me by the sonographer. Kinda wasting my time. Din even do the normal scan cos he was saying the detailed scan done in the morning so dun need to do again. *Puzzled* Cant even entertain me. LOL. But last evening his clinic was like WOW....so many patients.

Would not choose to go back for evening checks unless really neccessary.

Hi all, I was very free n looking at my tmc bill, wondering how come under doctor's fee there is a split charge of $1050 under non-medisave n $400+(medisave), is that inclusive of the antenatal claims? I m confused....

Hello all..

i'm currently 7 weeks preg and also seeing dr adrian at SK clinic. So far i am OK with his "coolness" and "efficiency" in consultation as its my 2nd child and i do not have much to ask him. hee

btw i got a question regarding the 20weeks detailed tests to be done at TMC.. Can anyone advise me what is done at 20weeks and how much it will cost?

Because my 1 kid was born in KKH and my gynae left for Raffles hosp.. tts y tis time switch to Dr Adrian.

Thanks..

hi all..i am Dec 08 mummy..dunno anyone still remember me? My 1st child was delivered by Dr A.

keke..i pop in cos i intend to get preg again..and want to see his charges..looks like cck one is still as bad as previous. I still prefer SK

Any updates on Dr.Woody's charges and services? Is it true that these days we got to wait for our numbers at the clinic instead of waiting for the clinic assistant to call us for our turn?

hi, i intend to try for no.3, both my gals are delivered by dr adrian

any mommies can share w me e charges he is charging nw ?

I'm in my very troublesome 1st trimester. Was bleeding & hospitalised twice at TMC. Even have to call him in the middle of the night for bleeding. He'll instruct me to go to TMC for jab. Though this pregnancy will not turn well, Dr Adrian is very patience & caring. Though I have been seeing him quite a no of times in his clinic & his nurse wants to collect the balance package payment, he told his nurse not to collect from me as my preg is not healthy.

Very sad that the preg will not turn out well. This is the 3rd consecutive miscarriage. Think Dr Adrian will do a test to see what is wrong with me.

I had very bad cramp on Mon night. Called Dr Adrian for advise. Was told that womb is trying to remove the bb & told me to take panadol. If cannot tahan the pain, go to TMC. I went to his clinic the next morning. Super crowded as his clinic was closed on Mon. When he saw that I was in so much discomfort, he let me jump Q & see me first.

I'll be doing D & C tomorrow morning. He is very assuring & try to explain causes of miscarriage. He will do a blood test to check the causes of recurring miscarriage.

Hi athen,

Sorry to hear about your recent miscarriage! My heart goes out to you. I hope you will feel better slowly. Do try the tests and find out the causes.

My elder sis has a few miscarriages too. I know it's not easy to bear. Take care!

Dr Adrian's prenatal package is considered cheap, since it covers from the very 1st visit to postnatal visit also.
However, his delivery charge is a bit high for my case. Mine was emergency Caesarean, $2100 + GST.
But overall, I'm happy with him.

Athen, take care!

Hi KD's Mommy, strawberry & Ying,

Thansk for your concern. Saw Dr Adrian this morning. He found a bit of blood clot in the womb. Was given medication to expel the blood clot. Will be seeing him next week to make sure the clot is cleared then do blood test. He mentioned that the blood test for both my hubby & me will cost abt $1,200 - $1,300. Test result will only be out in 3 weeks time as the tests involve testing for a number of rare cases. Sigh... Got to wait again. Just can't wait to see what is wrong with me or my hubby.

Hi Ying,

Yes. His prenatal package is very reasonable. Have been with him since 2004. His prenatal package did not change except that he charges GST now. Did you try natural then end up with emergency C-section? If yes, then you will be charged for natural birth & C-section.

My 2 boys are delivered by Dr Adrian.

He is a nice guy who don't talk much but i'm happy with it coz he lessen my worries for my pregnancy. I had very serious morning sickness for both my pregnancy and whenever i visit him, he will keep telling me" Eat lah, take potato chips, drink 7-up.." He understand that i'm going thru a very bad morning sickness, and he reassure me by telling me the more i vomit, the more stable is my pregnancy.

The time when he told me i'm preggie with a bb boy again, he said to me: Congrat, u can save on shopping time..." He may looks "Stone" but he do jokes sometimes.. heehee~

Mommies, i understand the anxious for pregnancy, do give yourself some space to relax abit. I suppose you gotta prepare your questions before visiting him bah, which i think this shld be the way lo :p

Hi Athen,

Clearing the blood clot is good. Have you done the blood test yet? Take care and all the best!

I did not try natural at all... Cos my waterbag broke with red discharge, so immediately went for emergency C-section.

Hi jmmabb,

I think he will just do a normal scan to ensure that there is nothing unusual happening in the womb.

Hi Ying,

I have not done the blood test yet as I still have slight bleeding. Will be doing the test next Fri, if the bleeding stops.

Hm... $2100 for emergency C-sect. Sound expensive. Not sure how much other gynaes charge.

Hi bunbun,
My 2 girls also deliver by him.
Comfortable with him cos he is those want you to relax during pregnancy. Unless anything not going on well HE WILL BE very FIRM and keep warning...

This round I am expecting #3. He always tell me.. lets see if you will have a boy this round. Errgghh so stressful I tel him.
Serious MS = whole day sickenss, he also tell me eat that you feel comfy now. Soon will be over.

THough he is fast due to alot of mummies too. Just prepare any QNS before hand and he will answer all.

Hi Cynthia,

Wow, u're expecting #3.. Congrat..!

I'm still considering whether to have #3, I'm sooooooo stressful le...In case i got another boy..how ah..? I'm so worried le

And i agreed with your statement "Unless anything not going on well HE WILL BE very FIRM and keep warning..." When i'm preggie with my #2, i have aging placenta in week 36. Dr Adrian looks so worried when he found that my bb was not growing since the last check up. He urge me to induce the bb out immed on that night when i went for check up. Initially i wanted to wait for another 1-2 weeks, but Dr Adrian immed told me ... "No", you can't wait, must induce out tonight! His words actually save my #2 boy's life.

My #2 boy was only 2.4kg when he was induce out, i feel so sad and heartbreaking when i see my bb was so small but Dr Adrian kept consoling me that he was a very healthy bb, no worries...Everything's alright.

So eventually if i would to have #3, i will definitely go back to him again

Oh yah...Cynthia, I hope and pray that you will get a bb boy this time
God bless

Hi jmmabb,

Did the blood test 2 weeks ago. The results should be out end of next week. Will be seeing him in 2 weeks time to follow up.

Hi Cynthia,

Congrats with your #3. How many weeks now? Don get too stress up over the gender of the bb. What is more important is bb is healthy. How I wish I have #2. Really scared to try again.

Hi Ying,

Just got my test results today. Everything seems fine. Dr advised me to try again. Could be just unlucky.

I'm in another thread "support group for miscarriage". There is a mummy whose blood test shows ok. But she is going to NUH to do further blood test as she may have immunity problem. Not sure if I should go to NUH too. Had so many miscarriages & blood test shows no problem. Kind of strange.

just want to give my comments on dr adrian.

he is my gynae, and i am having my 1st child. i chose dr adrian due to location as well as good comments.

my first impression was actually soso only. he doesnt talk much, and i didnt feel very personal with him. he gave me what i needed to know and nothing more. however, i was introduced his $550 pkg on my 1st visit and thats what kept me going on with him.

after a few visits i started to get apprehensive cos he seemed very cold and impersonal. scans were very short and he didnt take my weight or any measurements except for blood pressure and urine everytime. i almost wanted to change gynae after doing more research on his name and found a few ppl who were also not confident with his 'coolness'.

however after my 16 weeks i heard him make his first joke(very cold joke though), and he seemed more concerned and personal. broke the news of my baby's gender in a very cute way and every time after that when i came into his room he will be very warm. now i like him a lot. he has earned back my distrust.

his 'coolness' actually works well for me as i tend to get over paranoid over every little thing. he will entertain my midnight SMSes regarding very small issues.. haha..

i am now entering 3rd tri. not sure about his stitching skills etc so will wait and see.

overall:

attitude: 7/10
antenatal skills: 8/10
personality: 5.5/10

just want to give my comments on dr adrian.

he is my gynae, and i am having my 1st child. i chose dr adrian due to location as well as good comments.

my first impression was actually soso only. he doesnt talk much, and i didnt feel very personal with him. he gave me what i needed to know and nothing more. however, i was introduced his $550 pkg on my 1st visit and thats what kept me going on with him.

after a few visits i started to get apprehensive cos he seemed very cold and impersonal. scans were very short and he didnt take my weight or any measurements except for blood pressure and urine everytime. i almost wanted to change gynae after doing more research on his name and found a few ppl who were also not confident with his 'coolness'.

however after my 16 weeks i heard him make his first joke(very cold joke though), and he seemed more concerned and personal. broke the news of my baby's gender in a very cute way and every time after that when i came into his room he will be very warm. now i like him a lot. he has earned back my distrust.

his 'coolness' actually works well for me as i tend to get over paranoid over every little thing. he will entertain my midnight SMSes regarding very small issues.. haha..

i am now entering 3rd tri. not sure about his stitching skills etc so will wait and see.

overall:

attitude: 7/10
antenatal skills: 8/10
personality: 5.5/10

Hi joodzjoodz,

I'm been with Dr Adrian since 2004. Had 1 miscarriage before my son (also delivered by him via C Sect). Then had 3 miscarriages after my son. Basically he is a very practical person. He is more concerned with the bb's weight than mummies's weight. Mummy gain weight does not mean that the bb gain weight. That's why he does not take our weight.

He is a man with few words. From experience, he will voice his concern only when absolutely necessary. This is to reduce any unnecessary worry.

I usually call him in the middle of the night when things are going wrong. He's quick in responding. How many gynae give HP no to patients. I guess not many. FYI, his package is a lot cheaper than NUH ante-natal package which starts from week 20. Very ironical isn't it?

Stitching skill is good. My wound used to be 5 inches. Now only 1 inch is visible.

joodzjoodz

Agree with Athen. How many gynaes give HP no to their patients. He is contactable at all times. I remember when he was delivering my boy via c-sect in the OT, a patient called him but at that time another doc helped him answer his phone and told the patient that doc is doing an op now and will call her back asap.
Dr adrian likes to give cold jokes when you are least expecting it! When I was delivering my 2nd child in the OT, the moment my hubby stepped in, he told me hubby "go check if she is your wife" and everyone laughed. I think he still remember when I delivered my 1st child, the nurse paged for the wrong hubby and ended up he had to personally went to the waiting area to look for my hubby.
His stitching skill is good. No pain and healed very fast.
If I'm going to have another child, will definitely go back to him again

My 2 boys are delivered by Dr Adrian. And Yes, i agreed that his stitching skills is good!

One advise, try not to walk too much after your delivery since there is stitches underneath it. This is to prevent abrasion of wounds too

Can any of you advise how much is Dr. Woody's package and operations hours now? He's my gynae for my #1 3 years back so things might have changed. Thanks!

Hi elch,

No change for package except you have to pay GST on top of $550.00. Operation hrs for CCK clinic no change. Not sure abt Seng Kang. Which clinic are you seeing him at?