Advise on SO-IUI vs IVF?

I ve just done my first clomid+ IUI and failed. I m thinking and couldn't decide if I should try SO-IUI or jump straight to IVF. My tubes are fine but my DH soldier motility is not so good. I m 34 this year.
Any advice? Anyone success with SO-IUI here? Thanks

I'm new to the forum. I'm currently seeing Prof P C Wong at NUH Women's Center. He's being recommended by my colleague who successfully conceived and gave birth to her princess last year at age 38 via IVF.
I hope I can successfully conceive with Prof's help. I have just done all the necessary blood tests and HSG at NUH. My fallopian tubes are not blocked so Prof advised us to try IUI 1st.
Prof wanted us to try natural IUI 1st as there are no risk for natural IUI. But it seems like I'm not ovulating this month after scanning by Prof. So might be going for clomid+IUI.

Hi MdmKhoo FET can use medisave. But for me it's kinda wasted unless u r reali tight on financial. We r given 3x of medisave usage ($6k, $5k and $4k), if ur FET cost 3k, den u wasted 1st medisave tries if u hv not used one

Hi all....i was taking a rest for 2 mths not open the forums give me some rest hahaha. How have u been? This cycle i decided to have so iui today is my 3rd days of purgon jabs 75 iu.

Tambourina: i also see dr fong... Hope to see u around next time

peggy, i couldnt find e thread as well..

hi hi ladies, im new to this thread.. i need opinion from u all, please feel free to share with me. i just aborted my 1st SO IUI, on puregon jab for every alternate day for 5 days, afterward increased to everyday for 3 days, instead of growth my follicles shrunk.

my gynae 1st suggested me to go for IVF because i need more jabs, and he sees that my chance for SO IUI is low if many failed SO IUI can make up to 1 IVF. 2nd he suggested me to go for laparoscopy to remove my small eggs to increase my chance for SO IUI. n e cost for laparoscopy estimated is 8k at gleneagles, IVF is 15k. after medisave need cash 9k. i dont know how laparoscopy can help me, so is IVF more advisable for me? appreciate if any of u all having the same situation can share with me? thanks!

Hi Girls!!!

Claris: I went for a laparoscopy before.. But i went to remove endo cysts on my ovaries.. Er.. I think the cost really varies from doc to doc. I paid quite a high price for that operation. Maybe because mine was very long? I was push to OT at 3 and only came out at 6 to meet my husband.. It was a good long 3 hours..

You seem like you have PCO/PCOS coz of the small follicles.. Are you?

My regular gynea also suggested me to go for IVF. one and for all. Don't waste time for IUI.. Haha.. But I am not ready for all the jabs..

Saralyn:

The jabs are actually not that painful. I was scared at first but once I started I realized it's actually no big deal. If you are really scared you can ice the area first, but no need lah. I tried SO-IUI (with jabs) and failed so now doing IVF. It's not worth doing so many IUI, in my opinion. IUI success rate is only 10-20% whereas IVF is 30 - 60% depending on your age. The only problem is IVF is a few times more expensive than IUI, but can claim using medisave whereas IUI cannot claim.

Claris:

Maybe you should think carefully before deciding on surgeries like laparoscopy coz it can affect your ovarian function. Sometimes there's no need to do lap. IVF definitely more worth it compared to Lap + SO-IUI.
You can have a look at this:
http://haveababy.com/fertility-information/the-abc’s-of-ivf/laparoscopy-avoid-it-if-you-can/

I'm new to this forum...

I need advise on SO-IUI via IVF... I did a HSG test after my right ectopic pregnancy and found out that my right Fallopian tube are blocked... Gynea ask me to do IVF but hubby wanted to try SO-IUI first...

But I intend to try out taking ovulation pill in May as I checked that my next fertile period will be due while I and hubby holidays... FYI, I got pregnant taking ovulation pill for the first time but end up is a ectopic pregnancy...

If there is no good new by June, I had schedule to do SO-IUI in July...

Can anyone advise me whether I should go straight for IVF or SO-IUI???

Also, if both Fallopian tube are blocked, what methods to get pregnant ??? I feeling very stress as hubby is the only male grandson and mil are very anxious for a grandchild...

Duffy Bear, you can try one SO-IUI as you have one working tube. But you have to ovulate on the left for it to have a chance to work. Btw how old are you? Is your hubby's sperm count okay? If time is running out better do IVF. IVF bypasses the fallopian tubes and gd for sperm problems

Dear egg factory,

Thanks for your advise... But how do I know when the working left Fallopian tube is ovaluting??? That mean I have to take a chance, right???

So u mean IVF bypass Fallopian tubes ( right & left) at all??

Btw, I am 35 years old ... Hubby check up was done in last year... Gynea said every thing is good...

Dear Nurul,

What is ET??? Alot of short terms are used in the forum and I don't understand most of it... :p

Duffy Bear: Your doc will monitor you via ultrasound to see which side you are ovulating on. Yeah u have to take a chance lor. If you take injections u might ovulate on both sides. Yeah you can do IVF even if you have no tubes. Coz the eggs are retrieved directly from your ovaries in a surgical procedure (under general anesthesia)

Dear Egg Factory & Nurul,

Thanks for the information .... I guess I just have to see If I can 'strike' it before July 12... Else I will proceed to SO-IUI in July.... Hopeful I can ovulate on both sides with the help of injection....

IVF need to be put under General Anesthesia??? OMG, I didn't know it .... Is it painful??? Is it a key hole surgery?? I'm terrified of any surgery now as I lost too many blood after my right ectopic pregnancy surgery!!! End up I need to do a blood transfusion and it took me almost 7 hours to finished the blood transfusion!!! a very painful experience for me.

But if really no choice, I think I will still try IVF if my SO-IUI fail... Need to be brave to overcome myself...

Duffy Bear : Don't worry, the egg retrieval surgery is definitely less invasive than key hole surgery. It is just inserting a needle from down there into the ovaries to 'suck out' the eggs. Yah sounds very scary but it was not painful for me, just a bit of cramping after that.

So sorry to hear about your ectopic...it's really heartbreaking to have something like that happen. Hope you can strike naturally or with SO-IUI. With injections, I ovulated both sides.

Peggy: No scarring. Only a little little bit of spotting after the procedure, a bit hard to pass urine, that's all. Can get up after 2-3 hours.

Dear Egg Factory,

Oh...I am Feeling more relief about the procedure of egg retrieval after your explanatory ... Is it like the test doing HSG?? I don't understand why I feel pain to a simple HSG test too... I feel very pain when doctor blow ballon via the fine tube for the HSG test... After the HSG, I felt very pain, cramp, giddy and wants to vomit... My spotting can last 3 to 4 days and it just like menus flow instead of spotting ...

Any advise to "bu" my health??? I am seeing the TCM st jurong east and she ask me to go for SO-IUI first before trying out IVF straight...

I have never done HSG, but yah I also heard that HSG can be painful...coz they fill your uterus with dye right... egg retrieval is definitely not as painful coz you are asleep throughout the whole thing. After waking up, I felt some cramps (a bit like menses but not as painful) but they disappeared after 2 hours. The only pain I felt was when they injected the anesthesia into my hand! But I fell asleep a few seconds after that so it's ok.

In fact, I felt more pain during IUI. It is like pap smear but worse... coz got the speculum thing.. embryo transfer will be like that, I think I will ask for painkillers for ET. But some people don't feel pain.

I'm not sure how to advise you about "bu", coz I have not gotten my BFP yet...I dunno what works... But I have been taking prenatal vitamins, fish oil and extra folic acid. I also go for acupuncture.

I think u should try SO-IUI once. Who knows, u might strike? Also it's a good way for the doc to 'test the water' and see how you respond to the injections...

Egg Factory, wow.... so chim.
Thanks for sharing.

Regarding IUI, it's abit like PAP smear. The more relaxed you are, the less pain it is. And better to go in on a full bladder so that it's easier to do the IUI.

Hi saralyn , egg factory,

Thanks for giving advice!
gynae was suggested ivf, I was thinking to do after failed 2-3 failed iui. But now I havent been through any iui and have to jump straight to ivf. So my question raised to gynae because of my age do I really need to go through ivf without trying out iui. N gynae said my iui chance is very low and don't wasted 3-4 times iui and spend e same amount of money as 1 ivf. So then he giving 2nd options for laparoscopy then my iui chance can increased. I found out his charge plus hospitalization is 7-8k. I just need to fork out abit more for ivf. I'm hesitating as I know some case after laparoscopy can get pregnant naturally or iui..

Feel free to share I would like to know how u ladies feel? Thanks!

Egg Factory: Yeap... That why I thinking to try SO-IUI first before trying out IVF... Like u say, oso a good way to see I will react to the injections ...
Peggy: why is it better to go in on a full bladder to do IUI??? What If I can't control my bladder during IUI procedure??? If the SO- IUI procedure like Pap smear, i hope it won't be painful like doing HSG test...

Hi Claris, I don't know what exactly is your diagnosis, why did your gynae suggest laparoscopy?

Maybe u wanna read this: http://haveababy.com/fertility-information/the-abc%E2%80%99s-of-ivf/laparoscopy-avoid-it-if-you-can/

Lap is more invasive than IVF so I suggest think twice before doing it, unless u really need it.

IVF costs a bit more but it gives u better chance, coz they make sure the sperm+egg r already fertilized b4 putting in...

Maybe u wanna try IUI once but not too many times, I agree with ur gynae don't waste money on IUI

claris: mind telling how old are you?

after lap, you will need to rest for afew weeks before you can start to ttc.. for me, i was spotting for 1-2 weeks.. the moment i start to walk, i will spot.. so i rested as much as possible before i fully recovered..

I agreed with the other ladies that try IUI first.. let the doc knows how you react to those drugs.. Again for my case, I did one round of SO-nature and SO-IUI and my hormones went haywire.. I am practically spotting whenever I bd or exe.. Went to see my gynea and he told me my body reacts badly to those drugs. =( ask me not to go ahead with so-iui again.. coz going through iui again mean i need to rest my body to let the hormone go back to normal again before going for ivf or any other treatments...

Duffy: i think they need a full bladder so that your uterus is pressed down so that is easier for your gynea to perform iui.. Yes.. IUI is just like pap smear.. the only uncomfortable thing is the full bladder..

Anyone has done IUI and in 2WW now?

I am now on chicken egg regime and probably will cook ba zhen soup on weekend. Hopefully, this month's IUI can be successful.

Peggy, is this Your 1st time doing IUI??? Any idea whether after IUI, need to be on 2 weeks HL like IVF??

I am thinking to go to work as per normal except to take half day leave for the scanning & tests etc...

Hi Duffy, this cycle can be considered as 1st IUI (hopefully everything goes well , not like last cycle).
IUI is not major, so no 2 weeks home leave will be given. I think you can ask for one day MC though.

duffy, IUI is relatively painless. You can go back to work after the HCG jab but for the actual IUI procedure day, I suggest you take MC as it is very important to rest that day. I was practically lying down the entire day after the proceduce. Gd luck to you!

Peggy: Don"t worry... Things will sure turn out well for you if you have faith in yourself... Let's us be brave to face the difficulties infront of us, oki???

Lil: phew....Thanks for your comfort... I am so scare that doing the SO-IUI will be painful like HSG that I had encountered...

Hopefully I will have good news by June... Else, I will proceed for SO-IUI in July...

Let's us all "Jia You" ...

egg factory, saralyn, im coming to my 27 i have PCOS not cyst, gynae suggested to have lap to remove all the small follicles.. i not so sure is there a need to do lap.. i too thinking IVF would be e best option for me. i tried SO IUI, 50IU every alternate day for 5 days then add on 50IU for consecutive 3 days. but e eggs shrunk instead and we abandoned the cycle. maybe i would try increase e dosage if still dont work, we will go for IVF.. gynae suggested to increase to 75IU everyday if over stimulate will convert to IVF as PCOS patient often have e problem.

ladies, may i know what is e maximum dosage for SO IUI? i tried puregon..

claris OK so far I know that PCOS is a very common condition and there is usually no need to operate. Plus you are still young. Was it ovarian drilling that your gynae suggested? From what I've read it's a rather outdated method. Maybe you should seek a 2nd opinion - from a fertility specialist, not the normal gynae.

My dosage for SO-IUI was 50IU Puregon and I had around 3 eggs. Yes you can ask your doc about increasing dosage and if you over-respond he can convert to IVF - but make sure your gynae is trained in IVF and has the facilities to do it

Hi Egg Factory and Claris, wah... I've seen the photos on the internet about ovarial drilling and they look scary. I am not helping, am i? :p

Claris, it's weird that your egg shrunk. From my understanding, for IVF, you still would have to go through the same medication with heavier dosage. Could the gynae have scanned the wrong follicle?
I had my first injection this cycle yesterday 75IU. Two more injections before I see my gynae this weekend.
Let's jia you!

claris: you are still young... when i did my SO-natural and SO-IUI, i was taking clomid and gonal f (75iu)... the dosage depends on how your ovaries respond.. for IUI, they can't have too many follicles growing.. So, the doc will scan and monitor you and adjust your dosage..

Peggy: JIA YOU!!!!!!

Good evening ladies, sorry to interrupt. I've got excess bottles of DHEA with long expiry dates to let go. Interested, please PM me. If you have difficulties getting DHEA but need to start on the treatment urgently. Let me know.

The gynea given me 3 boxes of Ovinum and I got pregnant upon my 1st try but ended up is ectopic pregnancy ...

Is this Ovinum the same as Clomid that you all are talking about???

Egg Factory: I did suspect that the ovinum did caused my ectopic pregnancy but the TCM say it will not cause ectopic pregnancy ... But gynea did mentioned that it might be the cause of it... So I also don't know who to listen to???

Also, the gynea at Gleneagles say I have Endometriosis on my left after my right ectopic pregnancy and suggested I do a laparoscopy but KKH said I got follicles only...

Very confusing, right???

Duffy Bear: hmm...I think the chance of Clomid/Ovinum causing ectopic is very low... maybe a bit higher than unmedicated bah... Have u ever had surgery or infection near your tubes b4? If you are scared of it happening again, maybe u can give IVF a try...since it does not involve tubes at all

Yeah I totally know what u mean. I've been to 3 gynaes before my current one. One said I have polyps, another said I have PCOS, then my current doc said I have neither. Haha. TTC is like a maze...have to find your way out...

Egg Factory: I didn't had any surgery or infection near my tubes b4... But since I decided to try the Ovinum next month, so I not thinking about any side effects, if any...

Who is your current gynea now??? Is he/ she good???

Peggy: Tribestan is for hubby???will this benefit woman too??? My hubby doesn't likes to take supplement!!! Hai... Is so hard to get him to eat once in a day...