Advise on Baby & Maid Exps

babycutie...
sorry but can share why change 3 maids since July?

gracian...
good tat u got rid of your maid and share the info here!

Samval...
sorry, long time no come in here see see... haiz long story. Choose a indo maid, wait and wait and wait. end up agent say Indo side dun wan release her cos cant find her sponsor?!?!?!?! heard of such thing before? End up choose all over again and end up with a Myanmar maid... Coming in next week... will keep u updated...
ur maid come already?

Kyxy,

When I get my maid in July 2010. She happened to saw the note that was left by my previous maid. The note writes that she got scolding from my mum all the time and also mentioned that there are CCTV all around the house.

So this maid got imbalance and everyday work like zombie and keep staring at the cams. (That what my mum told me). And everyday, she worked with frowned face. Finally after working 7 days for me, she starts to "wayang" liao. Acted insane and fainted. I let her be. Then send her back on the spot.

Then out of no choice, I have to get a transferred replacement. This one terrible. Can u imagine she handwash clothes with chin resting on her kneecap?? After finish her work, she can sit down doing nothing. No initiative to check whether anywhere need help. Totally no initiative at all. And my kids don't like her. Her English is horrible. We have to keep her for 3 mths before we get another one from another agency.

So finally the 3rd one came. I have no choice but to get her. (This is the 3rd maid I have chosen from the agency. 1st one decided not to come after she has got employer from Taiwan. She can speak very good Mandarin. 2nd one came but fail health test cos got pregnant. So out of no choice I chose her cos she is the only one whose passport is ready and can come immediately).

This 3rd maid is utterly lazy. She told me she is old (31 years old) and memory is not good. I told her its ok. If she can't remember, pls write down so that she won't forget. (I have reminded her to write down and she nodded that she will write down for 5 times). However, she still didn't write down despite me reminding her 5 times already. She still make the same mistake. So I asked her why she didn't write down when she said she will. She shook her head and tell me she is lazy to write. Well. well. well.... that is a very good answer. My mind has set up to replace her with that sentence. A person who is lazy to write down implies that she is a lazy person naturally. So I can't employ such calibre to work for me. Like the 2nd one, after completing her work, she just sit down doing nothing. When it rains, she took her own sweet time to keep the laundry that is hang outside. She didn't complete her work and yet sit down the watch TV. Will u use her?

Now is my 4th maid. So far so good. Although she is slow, but she has initiative and can communicate with my kids and mum.

Hi Gummi_Bear,

Thanks for your advice. Had taken the FDW for health screen and everything is good! Should get her by next wk.. Really hope all turns out well. Ex-sin although her two previous employers were Filipinos residing in SG.

Just to check, do u all allow indo maids to pray and fast? My maid just requested me to allow her to pray and i agreed. But my colleague told me if they pray sure need to do fasting. Told my maid no fasting allow she seems to be like unhappy. Call up agent to check, agent say they are not allowed to pray and fast. Then maid say if cannot pray she dun wanna work. So weird been working with me for 8months no praying now then pray. Now we let her pray but no fasting she agreed. Am thinking now should i change her???

called my agent yesterday cos never see #5 biodata on their website and was told that #5 got selected to work as a housemaid(cleaning only) for a terrace house. employer already got 1 maid to look after ah ma, so #5 just clean. good lor, if she finds my hse so free (kids full day childcare) then she can clean until siao there. asked if got tell employer she got sensitive nose, agent said yes and now #5 nose is ok. seriously, good luck to her cos with her kind of character sure will compare and somemore got an "old" maid in the house.

babycutie, hope for the best.

we mayb thinking of getting indo maid, tahan for another 1yr until my younger boy is 4yrs plus and hopefully will be more manageable. chose a ex-MY (finished contracts with 2 different chinese employers in malaysia) and ex-SG (8mths), should arrive end of mth. fingers crossed now.

Kyxy: i am still WAITING for my maid ! Selected her end Oct until now have not come in yet. Checked with the agent, they say before Xmas sure to come in.. i told her i can wait, no problem cos now school holidays. But what i want is a firm date which they cannot provide at this moment. I have to plan my leave in Dec and my boss also travelling and i cannot clash with him. Thats why i need the date. sigh!

Those experience with Pinoy maids, can i check with you for fresh maid, i understand it takes longer time to come in to Spore due to thier new gov rulings etc. But is it a norm to wait up to 2 month?? I hope she can come in before the school holidays end...

Hi Samval, FYI... I selected a Pinoy fdw and agency assured me arrival within 1 month. Just so u know... I asked abt the govt situation in PH and agency said they pay 'annuity' so no problem.

babycutie... my mum also cant speak english... oh no... i hope wont be too difficult for her to handle the myanmar maid...

gracian... all the best for ur new hire!

Samval... sometimes i tink these agent dun really care after you pay the agency fee... mine i also got to keep pushing and pushing. Initially tell me end nov can come... when end nov comes, she come tell me can't get the maid out cos cant locate her home town and sponsor?!?!? got to choose all over again... sianz...

gracian, Thank you.

Kyxy, I ever hired pinoy fdw. Can't make it. Communication breakdown. She cannot understand my English as well. So I have been hiring Indo maid all along. I will consider other nationalities only if she can speak any one of our common dialect languages.

finally after 1 month and scolding from my hubby, this United Channel going to send my $50 refund cheque to me. Keep dragging the refund!

Getting 'sian' with my MY maid, just 1 month into the job start asking for day off, and when I agreed to let her go for 1/2 day for this once and wont deduct her off day pay, and remind her that initially she agreed to 'no off day'. Then she ask to go off every 3 months. She said she need to go church, dont have enough time praying, must attend all 3 service of the church.

hopfefully...
oh no! my MY maid is christian... agent said no off day... wonder will she chut pattern after awhile... sigh...

hopefully, your maid damn funny. give 1/2 day very gd already. pls lor.... really want to pray, can pray in her heart at home. God will listen to her prayers anywhere, not only in church. somemore 3 church services!! she will over-dosed or not. later 1 sermon repeat 3x, then she can really understand the msg.

samval, now your situation like me when hired #1. also chose around oct and then drag until 2nd wk dec then come. later hit christmas worse cos all their offices will close and maids themselves wouldn't want to come cos christmas = family (like our CNY). somemore PH got lots of holidays. hope your maid will come soon. whether new ruling or holidays, remember their timing is RUBBER TIMING.

Hi Hopefully,

My Pino maid is also a Catholic. So far she is 16mths with us and her contract has no off days. So far, she asked for off days (she asked only after 6mths with us) to go send $$$ back home and meet up with her relatives working here. She never asked for off days to go church. So far, we do give her off day when she request (on average once every 2 mths). I bought her a bible as Xmas present last yr, she has been reading her bible at home during her free time. Yes, Gracian is right, God will listen to her prayers anywhere....its the faith that follows.

Btw, if your maid's contract has no off days, giving off days is up to you....not obligatory. U have to make it clear to her.

Hi Samval - Think your maid will only arrive after Xmas as in Philippines, it is one of the biggest festival they celebrate.

gracian / snowball32: Just checked with the agent again and she say all the paperwork has been settled and most likely can come in by next week or the week after. now just waiting for air ticket. need to wait so long for air ticket meh? and if come here still need to go medical check up and test right? so that will take another 3-4 days?

Kyxy, initially I also didnt want a christian maid, cos so scare they must/want to go church once in a while. If I stick to my buddhist maid plan, if she ask, at least we all can go together. haiz, never thought she ask so soon.

yup they said the maid is 'testing water'. Anyway I will let her go for 6 hrs only in Jan when my mom comes to stay with me. As for her 3 mth once off, I still considering to give only 6 hrs only too and depending on her performance. dont want her to become emotionally unstable and take it out on my son. Hope she dont push her luck any further by asking for hp, or I will send her back.

Only today I found out she has some money with her and she bought chips to snack at home. My fault for not asking her to declare her aseets when she step into my home. But nobody lost any money at home yet.

hopefully, ur maid very daring leh...so fast dare to ask for day off when her contract says no off. give me i will be super-sian man....and i tot MY maids are supposed to be more'guai'?

I just got an Indon maid today. Can I find out from you how do you pay your maids? - direct cash to them or put into bank for them?

gummibear,
I guess depends on how much they need money to send home. mine is kind of come here work and see the world. I dont think her home really in need of cash. Cos she wont be sending all her salary home, she going to kept $50 for own spending here.

gg11,
depends on how they wish to handle their money, for me I will ask her monthly, if she dont want to take first then sign on paper that how much is with me lor.

And we have been really nice to her, so she trying her luck I guess. my mil bought her 2 new tops just on her 2nd day of work, and fil buying so many food for her to eat, what she loves to eat, they buy for her!
I try to be understanding on the need to socialise working in foreign country, but the MOM make us responsible for them is unfair to us. If she goes out on off day, got cheated by man and pregnant, my fault? or decided to runaway on off day, penalty me? If we arent penalise on certain action they do outside which is beyond our control, I dont mind giving them off day. they should be responsible for their own act.

hopefully, ya u r rite...we kena all the shit + penalty if they go astray...damn unfair. so dun come tell me want to socialise. if my maid tell me this, i will tell her go back home to socialise. since most dun want to be responsible for their own act, why shld i 'pity' them? end up is i lugi.

gg11, my opinion is dun give ur maid cash cos things will get complicated if 1 day u suspect ur $ is missing and it will be hard to catch her cos she can say her onhand $ are hers. unless u got give her day-off then is another thing lah...if she no day-off, best is u keep or bank in for her.

Hi Samval,

When I got my Pino maid 1.5yrs ago, it took about 6 weeks for the Agency to process & bring her out to Singapore. I checked with my agency....the time to bring the maid out from Philippines is within 2 mths (at most 10 weeks).

My maid's contract going to end in Jul 2011. She wanted to continue with us. But, we have to sign that Pino Govt document which we are reluctant. We still have a few months to consider before we make the final decision.

Hi gg11 - You can keep the $$$ in the bank for your maid. But, she need to accumulate min $500 to open a bank account (with POSB). Otherwise, she will have to pay $2 per mth to maintain the account. In the meantime, you can keep the $$$ for her until she has accumulated $500 to open a bank account. Make sure that you let her sign the salary table on the amt of cash kept with you and the amt of cash you handed to her.

snowball

y need to sign with pinoy govt? tot only if renew passport? when my #4 renew passport, i did thru agency cos she worked less than 2yrs with me. pinoy govt rules that only employer can renew passport if maid work more than 2yrs.

agent then told us that sign the pinoy govt documents but maid will have to still follow local terms. i did a contract, stating salary, off days etc, with maid.

you can check with your agent. tot renew WP only need the passport to be valid. if you get new maid also same thing, have to sign the document (off day every wk and min salary US$400, right?). at least with your current maid, no need to re-train.

anyway, mum just told me that next yr agency fees gonna to increase by S$100+ cos Indo and Pinoy govts asking for more money. *sigh*

samval

check with your agent that maid noted that she got employer here already. my #1 got "lost" but she turned up and came here, dun know if that was the reason for the long wait.

yeah, come here still got entry test, medical check up and agency training. all this will take abt 5-7days.

on top of that still have to train and see if suitable.

Hi Gracian,

I checked with my Agency liao. My maid passport is valid for 5yrs. Renew WP here is no issue. But, she is going back for home leave. That means need their Govt approval for her to come back. So, need to sign that min wage and off day document for them to process her exit permit. Tho' agency told me no legal standing here as maid sign contract with us here (recognised by our MoM). We are prepared to give her a pay rise and also 1 off-day per mth (still not meeting the Pino Govt standard). In addition, we feel that maid will hold us a ransom over this (if they decide to go "crazy") and go the Pino Embassy to complain about us. Dun let her go home leave also pblm. I guess she will want to see her son and hb after 2-yr separation. Maid also told me, back at home, they cannot find job or pay is super low.

If we dun sign this document, then we will employ either Indo or Myanmar maid. The Myanmar Govt very smart one, my colleague's maid wanted to continue, my colleague end up paying about S$1300 for her passport renewal and her maid also gotta pay her Govt income tax to get her exit permit approved to come back.

These Regional Govt all out to squeeze their own citizens dry, esp those working overseas....sighhhhh.

Hi, I need some advices here

My current pinoy maid (with me for 2mth) started to chut pattern. I suspect some missing money. so my mom searched her w/o her knowing but cannot find the money but she found some $2 notes. The next day after I told her that the maid should not have any $2 notes, she searched her belongings again w/o maid knowing, the $2 notes were missing. Searched high and low but cannot find them. When I asked her, she denied there were $2 notes at all (which my parents both saw it) and she want to return to the agent. But that time, I cannot reach the agent. And the next day, she told my mom that she want to work for us. So we continue to use her as she really take good care of my 2 kids, but the past 2 days, I discovered that she searched my drawers for the hp and use the hp to contact her relative and ask her relative to find the agent for her. Now I take measurement to lock the hp and limited her use to call her family in front of us only, and lock all drawers in case the money go missing again...
but I don't have the trust in her anymore, I don't know if I should change her. If I change, it will be my 4th time changing since March this year. Super no luck in choosing a good maid

I contacted the agent and talked about this. I did thought of changing but the datas I have, I find them too old. is 37YO very old? I scared she cannot handle my 32mth old girl and 8mth old boy. Another thing is current one really good with kids, I dont should I give her a chance or just change her again?

charismama, i will change her if i dun hv the trust in her anymore else v stress cos dunno what patterm she will come up with...if u think she deserves a chance then make sure u keep all ur belongings properly and lock all drawers that u dun allow her to open. best lock ur room door.

Hi Charismama,

You shd monitor your maid and keep all your valuables under lock and key. My maid is alone at home during the day until about late afternoon when my MIL drops by. I locked my Master BR when she is left alone at home.

I tested her a few times by delibrately putting $10 - $50 notes in our clothes' pockets in the laundry baskets. She returned those $$$ she retrieved from the clothes' pkts to us. You may want to do this test on her and see her reaction.

One the very first day my maid came, I briefed her on those cabinets and drawers she can access and which are the forbidden ones (wardrobe and drawers in my room). So far, she never break this house rule.

HP - My maid surrenders her HP to me every morning and I bring it along to work. This prevents her from searching the house in our absence to access her HP. She is aware that I bring her HP to work.

Charismama,

For me, once I suspect my maid of stealing, I will never keep her in my household as I will not trust her anymore. If she can steal, where are her morale values? By keeping her on, she will tink she is indispensable. Who knows, her behaviour may just get worse. In addition, it is very stressful staying with someone that you cannot trust. Just my opinion.

my maid finally coming and agent say should come on 17-20 that time, or during the Xmas week.

i have installed cameras in my home, 2 in the living room and 1 in the kitchen and it has a mic. i also have a portable one which looks like an alarm clock and i put that in my MB.

need advice. should i upfront tell the maid that i have camera at home? the camera that i have doesnt look like a camera. its mounted to the ceiling and looks more like those HDB doorbell or some kind of Cisco house alarm system. some say it even looks like those toilet air fresheners you see in public toilets.

some of my colleagues tell me to tell the maid upfront that i have a camera, so that it will deter her from doing funny things and also to send a message acoross that "i am watching you".

some say dont tell cos if tell, then she will act very guai and we cannot tell her true character. What u all think? i checked with my agent and she say its up to me.

how much did you spent on installing cameras like for most rooms?
not very sure about informing maid on CCTV, as there is always blind spot if they really want to do anything funny.

snowball

dun know abt tat. yeah... pinoy govt got a lot of patterns. only my #4 finished 2yrs with us but she didn't want to go home cos need to buy gifts to give. she worked 1 more yr with me and then straight to HK. sorry give you wrong info.

charismama

i would change her. once the trust is lost then very difficult and somemore so new, looks like more to come. somemore can tell you want go back agency then turn around say want work.

my #5 did tat too, but beforehand both HB and me already decided since she wants to go let her go, later suddenly "threaten" us again. when i rejected my #5's offer to continue to work, she threaten to go embassy! seriously, we are not so free to play games with her/maids! as for trust, #5 is a dishonest maid and i told her off that if can't trust her with minor issues how to entrust house and kids to her. slow in housework, lousy in cooking still can tahan, but if dishonest then forget it. it will be very tiring for us mentally and physically to guard against her tricks.

samval

good news!! the wait is finally over. no experience with cctv, but if i were you, i would tell her got cameras but not all the locations (assuming you have > 1). like this she will not try anything funny and you can still monitor her.

samval... wow finally ur maid is coming... and guess wat... my maid IS STILL NOT HERE YET!!!! that myanmar one fail her medical test...

People... do u tink is i sway or agent lazy... nov till now! choose 3 maid liao!!!! all got problem... either cannot find sponsor, cannot pass english test, fail medical test... all these sort of excuse! So sianz! dun feel like hiring... can i take back my agent fee?

Hi Samval,

You shd let your maid know that you have installed CCTV at home, no need to tell her where you installed if it is not obvious. Like wat Cameron says, if they are honest, they will behave. If not, they will find ways and means and come up with other patterns, even they know got camera....纸包不住火.

My maid knows I am watching her tho' she is alone at home. So far so good.

Hi Kyxy - think sth not right with your Agent leh. U can consider changing Agency but loose $$$ lor.

Hi ladies, thanks so much for the advices.

I have been getting my agent to send me new biodatas, so far none match my criteria.. My mum and dh told me to give her another chance, so now I just monitor. 2weeks passed, so far she behave well. I am thinking if current one fail my trust again, I may send #1 to full day cc and #2 to half day infant care, so my mum only take care of #2 half day, it will be less tiring for her. No more maid for me.

people... need to check something urgently...

after paying agency fee & choosing maid, what's the next process?

Agent submit our details & maid pp no. online for MOM approval?
Any idea if i have the sign the MOM approval before they can buy tix for the maid to come over?

i tink my agent not being honest. i've choose 3 maids earlier on, all got problem. Last Sat she call me, ask me when got time to go down and sign the MOM IPA. I was like ????? why all along never ask me sign, now then ask me sign. Plus she say sign liao then can fly the maid over. Is this true?

because over the weekend discuss with hub, feel like cancelling the whole process. Dun wan a maid anymore. But agent now ask me to pay $350 for Air tix and $100 to Indo!

Kyxy,
Why do you need to pay for the maid's air tix and money to Indo? I've have never heard of such things b4! And I've already hired 5-maids so far.

The agent fees you paid plus the maid's insurance should be all. NO additional costs - except if you paying for the maid loan. I've used more than 5 maid agencies and never heard of such thing before.

As for the MOM IPA, I dun recall signing such paperwork. Only signed the contract and application for work permit.

I find your maid agency is trying to be funny. Maybe you can 'threaten' them to show you the MOM IPA and then say you will call MOM to check on this and well as the need for you to pay the air tix and money to Indo. IF they are not doing the right thing, they sure to panic and come out with more funny stories.

Please be careful. Feel that your agent may be trying to cheat you especially if you are first time getting maid and are not clear about the paperwork & fees involved.

IMHO, choosing 3 maids without any success and all getting rejected does seem weird. Else they are super inefficient and really lousy agent.

3Jems... THanks for your reply...
i also find it weird, how come all the maid got problem. 1 is cant find home town & sponsor, so cannot (got such thing?) another is passport cannot process. Another is SG Medical test fail.

I cancel their service, so they say since Air tix bought already, got to add $100. I ask for flight confirmation number, agent only give me flight details. Then i pester her, she sound piss, ask me call Indo myself. All these agent take money liao all face sure change colour!

I paid $388 for agent fee. So now she wanna forfeit $250 because MOM IPA approve already + $100 for the maid tix. But the contract no mention anything about the tix. Can I complain plus she cant provide me with the flight confirmation number which is the basic information?!

i juz login to check if agent really get the MOM IPA and found out about the maid employment history...

Agent told me she's Ex-Sin, only work for 1 employer before. Contract ended early becos employer out of job, got to return her. Tell me maid in Indo. But now I saw her last employment history is from mid Oct to 30 Nov. Meaning she might be transfer maid am I right?

Anywhere which I can check if the maid is still in SG? I've got her WP number and passport number.

My ex-maid left yesterday, and I feel quite lost...as we stayed together for 2 years, we treat her as a family member emotionally, although she has her problems, i'm reluctant to part from her leaving...

New maid came yesterday...hope I can get used to her soon...

Kyxy,

You agent is really trying to BS you. If there was really a flight tix for the maid, tell her to produce a copy of the air ticket. Nowadays the airlines can always provide a copy if required. This way, you can also verify whether the maid is really come in from Indon or just a transfer maid who is already in SG.

Cos I have feeling that the maid was booted out on 30-NOv, then either stay on in SG looking for new employer. Else she was just send to Batam.

As for the maid employment hisory, I advise you to print that record out and confront the agent about this. Say you were misled on information about the maid. Tell her you can report them to MOM, AEAS and CASE for cheating and misrepresentation. If they insist to charge you for all that nonsense, say you will report them to newspaper also. See how they react.

All these agents only want to earn easy $$$. Cheat would-be employers. Give them false hopes, lead them on wild goose chase. Then not delivering on their promises. Must be careful and be firm when required. Don't let them bully you.

3Jems...

I bug her for confirmation number again the next day. Guess what. She say she've tok to her boss, say for my case, special, i pay $40 can already for the Air Tix. I sense something not right & insist on the confirmation number. Ha, next sms say she'll absorb the cost. See...

I call MOM and they tell me as on 30 Nov, tat maid WP got cancel, so she cfm left Sg. 2 out of 3 employers terminate her in less than 2mths... Think I'm lucky...

I do not intend to renew my Myanmar contract early
June .
Need some advice.
It seems that she intend to go home for home leave and then continue to work .
My Hubby suggested we let her go home one month before her permit due on her own expense ie no pay and airticket she pay. Is this a good idea?
To save the hassle, I rather send her back to agent .

since you dun intend to renew her, then tell her she either go agent dun go home or go home then re-recurited by agent again lor.

if i you, i would send her home.

my maid 'chu pattern after i let her go meet her aunty who is leaving sg for home.
initially she request for 3 mth 1 off day to go church on the 1st sun of the mth, cos got fasting ceremony. then when I said ok, she can go for 12 hrs, then she not happy, start asking for monthly off. I said cannot, she gave me deadline that she work for me till end feb only. I ok with it, I dont want to bargain or give way to her, its not as if she is really that good. But not helping with the situation, my sil jump in to said she want her. So now my maid know she is a hot cakes. Nevermind, at least i dont have to waste 2 weeks levy on her since she has a taker.
she really can 'de chun jin chi', after she know she can get mthly off from my sil, she said if 1st sun cannot go, she want to go on 2nd sun. haiz now waiting for new biodata to come in and choose again, at least i will be still on maternity leave. I can personally train the new maid. this time die also wont take any christian maid.

my maid until now still have not come in !!! i waited since end Oct till now and there seems to be a problem with the Manila agent. I think they play my agent in Singapore out lor. Now agent tell me that the maid confirm coming by 6 Jan. If never come in by then, i will cancel.

happy new yr mums!!! hope that 2011 we will have a fulfiling time with our families and NO MORE MAIDS PROBLEMS!

hopefully, your maid really too much. yeah dun bother bargaining with them, they think so highly of themselves then go lor. good luck with the new biodatas, any nationaility you have in mind?

samval, OMG wat happened? how come delay again? hope that your maid will be here soon.

sorry ladies i very angry with my indo maid. she has 4yrs experiences in Malaysia and 8mths SG, never take care of children only do housework. both HB and i tot ok, kids in childcare and we only want her to do housework and simple cooking. so should ok right?

1st day: i asked her how come work 8mths SG, she say her leg was swollen and dr told her cannot drink coffee and eat long beans and dun know wat, so went back indo but now ok. housework ok, fast but not very clean (floor). english poor, can understand like 30-40%. nevermind, i demo she do.

subsequent days til now, handwashed clothes never squeezed dry, dripping and then hang outside. i spotcheck everytime she hang clothes outside and told her nicely dripping bring into toilet for few hrs. few days ago, kids clothes were "raining" in kitchen. i really angry and shouted at her cos i can squeezed so much water from the towels.

the WORST: she spit her GREENISH phlegm in the bath area and never rinsed away completely when she showered. 1st time my son accidentally step in it. kids and her use the common toilet. OMG OMG. i ask her she spit, she say no and quickly rinsed away. today kena caught by me again and she confessed she spit during shower.

i was so angry, tell her also like that. and i called agent to let agent tell her. i told agent maid better watch her own personal hygiene, housework not clean i can close 1 eye but dun spread watever disease to my kids.

i know indo maids hygiene poor but pls lor their watever local agent never warn them mei? all the dirty patterns also have.

i now have to watch her do housework and told her repeatedly, she will do until i am happy.

i told my mum if i work and she comes over in the morn, dun let maid brush kids' teeth. such poor personal hygiene, later kids sick.

dear moms, pls share with me any personal hygiene problems that i would have to watch out. dun want to be surprised. really headache. PH maids think they very high std, indo maids all the hygiene problems...