Advise on Baby & Maid Exps

hi snowball,

I just did that, maid going back soon and agency will help me cancel her WP. A great relief to close this chapter
Thks for all the advice!

Eileen,
OMG!!! Thanks for sharing the article. The poor employer has to pay $40,000+ even though he sent the maid back to the agent!?!?! This really is an eye opener for us that when we send the maid back to the agent, cancel their work permits immediately otherwise we will still be liable for whatever happens to them!

Just this Monday, I hv sent back my maid of 2.5yrs. It was really unexpected & sad for us.
During her recent off day (25th July), she was late coming back though earlier she had called and said will be late. However by 9.45pm she wasn’t home, tried calling her HP several times, it was off, eventually at about 10.15pm, I asked hubby to go down to see if she is downstairs, thinking she might be afraid of coming home, afraid I wld scold her for being so late.

I finally saw her at about 10.30pm. She appeared dazed, giving the impression that she had fainted earlier. I asked her if she needed to see a doc and kept asking her wat happened. She said she was not sure, her palms are swollen with pain, her temple, nose area and nearly the whole of her face felt “spicy” with medicated oil (in which when I held her I couldn’t smell any at all!!)

I brought her a cup of warm water, and asked again wat had happened, yet she claimed she does not know anything, and cun even remember how she had come back. After asking some more questions, I felt fishy. At the same time, worrying how my hubby and I can go to work in peace the next day, leaving her alone with my 2-yr old daughter…

Later in the bedroom, my hubby told me while he was downstairs, he saw a couple holding hands at a distance, without much thought until he saw the girl quickly let go of the man’s hand… this will not happened if there is nothing to hide, my smart hb, slowly walk away, pretended he din see anything … since is a distance away.

That is when I decided we cud not trust her and let her stay any longer. So the next day (Mon), we went to the agent, she advice us do not confront her, just tell her we dun need a maid anymore and ask her to pack immediately, which I felt was harsh; sacking someone w/o saying why. Or maybe I was too soft hearted… I really treated her as one of the family.

We did as adviced, giving her an excuse that I decide to stay at home and couldn’t afford her, she quietly asked when and we said now… Before we left, she cried (me too), thanked us and apologized whatever wrongs she had done.

Back at the agency, we went thru her hp… saw some intimate photos of herself and a man (taken during her recent off day), photos wearing a miniskirt taken outside our corridor, a photo of man at a void deck (I believe) all on the weekdays while we are working!! Where is my 2-yr old bb??!!

She called me when she had reached Indo, we talked as if nothing has happened. At the end of the day, I wondered did she really believe the excuse that was told or she was just plain “thick-skinned”… since we din exposed her…

I was really disappointed and felt a great loss, considering she is polite, took good care of my daughter, was a initiative & a good helper, though she has slacked recently… I felt bad, mainly becos I did not tell her the real reason why she was being sent off nor give her a chance to explain herself or even “counsel” her and give her a 2nd chance. I know this sounds silly, and what's done can't be undone; but do u think we were too harsh to just send her back home immediately?? My agent actually told me is common to have BF, once they hv off-days and hp…

Just this Monday, I hv sent back my maid of 2.5yrs. It was really unexpected & sad for us.
During her recent off day (25th July), she was late coming back though earlier she had called and said will be late. However by 9.45pm she wasn’t home, tried calling her HP several times, it was off, eventually at about 10.15pm, I asked hubby to go down to see if she is downstairs, thinking she might be afraid of coming home, afraid I wld scold her for being so late.

I finally saw her at about 10.30pm. She appeared dazed, giving the impression that she had fainted earlier. I asked her if she needed to see a doc and kept asking her wat happened. She said she was not sure, her palms are swollen with pain, her temple, nose area and nearly the whole of her face felt “spicy” with medicated oil (in which when I held her I couldn’t smell any at all!!)

I brought her a cup of warm water, and asked again wat had happened, yet she claimed she does not know anything, and cun even remember how she had come back. After asking some more questions, I felt fishy. At the same time, worrying how my hubby and I can go to work in peace the next day, leaving her alone with my 2-yr old daughter…

Later in the bedroom, my hubby told me while he was downstairs, he saw a couple holding hands at a distance, without much thought until he saw the girl quickly let go of the man’s hand… this will not happened if there is nothing to hide, my smart hb, slowly walk away, pretended he din see anything … since is a distance away.

That is when I decided we cud not trust her and let her stay any longer. So the next day (Mon), we went to the agent, she advice us do not confront her, just tell her we dun need a maid anymore and ask her to pack immediately, which I felt was harsh; sacking someone w/o saying why. Or maybe I was too soft hearted… I really treated her as one of the family.

We did as adviced, giving her an excuse that I decide to stay at home and couldn’t afford her, she quietly asked when and we said now… Before we left, she cried (me too), thanked us and apologized whatever wrongs she had done.

Back at the agency, we went thru her hp… saw some intimate photos of herself and a man (taken during her recent off day), photos wearing a miniskirt taken outside our corridor, a photo of man at a void deck (I believe) all on the weekdays while we are working!! Where is my 2-yr old bb??!!

She called me when she had reached Indo, we talked as if nothing has happened. At the end of the day, I wondered did she really believe the excuse that was told or she was just plain “thick-skinned”… since we din exposed her…

I was really disappointed and felt a great loss, considering she is polite, took good care of my daughter, was a initiative & a good helper, though she has slacked recently… I felt bad, mainly becos I did not tell her the real reason why she was being sent off nor give her a chance to explain herself or even “counsel” her and give her a 2nd chance. I know this sounds silly, and wat's done, can't be undone. But do u think we were too harsh to just send her back home immediately?? My agent actually told me is common to have BF, once they hv off-days and hp…

hi, i've oso sent my indon maid off last week. she splashed her bathing soapy water all over the toilets and pails. my mum asked her to clean the toilet she dirtied and she retorted to be sent home. my mum said she's stubborn and she quarrelled with my mum, even threatened to hit my mum with bamboo. at agent office after knowing that she has to pay for her own airfare home bcos she broke her contract, she told agent that she want to remain in spore as transfer maid. tis maid has been telling us all along that she want to be back to her hubby after 2yrs in spore as her hubby say can't guarantee will change heart or not. to think that we belived one she said all this while. now, she is more money faced to remain and work for another 2yr with a new employer than to go home. we took her over as a transfer maid, treated her nice, never even lose weight, eat on the same table with us. nice treatment for 1.5yr yet not appreciated. to think of it too, my bb upper arm and upper thigh bruises might oso be pinched by her, while she told me bb knocked herself. how could a bb able to knocked herself at upper limb? even knocking oso, should be at lower limb boney area, right? since i took over the care now without maid, my bb never had bruises. no wonder, why my bb pinched her back when she put my bb at potty training..
i'm getting in a myammar maid this week fresh and hope better luck this time.

it has been quite some time since i logged in to read and to post..

I've recently sent my maid of coming to 2yrs in nov bak home last saturday.. N am currently maidless..

I feel tat tis days really hard to find gd maids.. even if they r gd.. once u treat them too nice.. they will climb over ur head.. whh is wat happened to mine.. stealing food, chit chatting wif maids upstairs, downstairs, opposite, nxt door.. it is endless.. worst.. she treat us as though she is our employer..

So i guess am happier w/o a maid now.. despite having to deal wif a big hse and 3 young kids.. I tell myself i will survive.. n hope i won't nid aother maid soon..

my maid agency's latest update frm his contact in phili..

<font color="0000ff">Latest news.............any lady leaving any airport, Manila and Clark... in PPines for overseas...even tourists on 2 way tickets..........at imigration counter..MUST fill up a form and undergo 4 separate interviews by 4 different immigration officers............Once fail interview..will be offloaded from plane.By this way..........tiger and Cebu air..always fully book..but when takeoff.........about 1/3 empty. Sad but true.

Only safe way is by SQ flights..if offloaded..can refund .....but must be able to have "show money" when ask.</font>

i'm new to this thread. i'm thinking of employing a maid to take care of the kids. please tell me what is the first thing i need to do and how do i go about doing it, agency and all that?

i just got in a myammar maid last friday. milder temper than indonesian. can communicate basic english, willing to learn but as she is still new, we have yet to tell if she can cope with baby. i'm still hesitate to release bb care to her. meantime, i let her do housework and learn cooking from my mum. need reminder to off switches, a bit forgetful in this aspect maybe bcos myammar don't have power. only few days now, yet to find any weakness..

hi, can anyone share with me a daily timetable that a maid can follow? i noticed that current new myammar maid seems to have a considerable spare time as i haven't include baby care to her. while, previous indonesian maid seems to be working continuously with bb care inclusive. It made me think was it indon maid try to slow her speed or inefficient or this myammar maid is too lex? current myammar maid has much free time from 11am until 5pm without bb care inclusive. she wakes up at 6.30am. pls advise me as i'm new in hiring maid. this is my 2nd domestic helper so far.

Hi Onsansg,

You can refer to a/m blogspot recommended by Fion for sample timetable.

You can refer to the sample timetables given from the blogspot and draw up a daily timetable that best suit your requirements for your maid to follow.

I have used the sample and draw up my own timetable for my new maid.

Thanks so much, Snowball32. I'll take a look and modify to suit my needs.

observation on my myammar maid after 10days with us. she's start to seek clarification and will not work blindly according to instructions. a good example, she started asking me about baby's feeding menu, bathing, potty train to seek clarification when i passed her my written paper. this initiative to ask and to learn from myammar maid is welcomed as compared to my previous indon maid who was arrogant, do blindly and cause my emotions upheaval for past 1.5years.

my myammar maid also has interest to cook and this morning, she started cooking baby's porridge after observing how we did for the past 10days.

although, she follows strictly to timetable for daily housekeeping but i'm seeing her start to involve more in baby care and will find some job like sew any torned clothings to fill up her free time.

this proves to me finally that my indon maid was actually trying to slow down her speed and to choose certain tasks to do, leaving herself busied the whole day, unable to follow daily schedule and leave many cleaning tasks uncompleted. myammar maid although follow strictly on timetable but will deliver all the stated tasks as required fast, hence able to leave some spare time for resting, etc.

Hi Onsansg,

I'm glad your Myammar maid is better den your indo...me too had nightmare with 3indon maid for the past 2yrs...and after dat i decided no maids and rather put my daughter in daycare ctr...more peacefully.

Im going due my 2nd on Nov and today just applied for Myammar maid from united channel agency at katong..can you please advice your maid agency incase mine any problem. Cos my current agy always lack of informations...

PM : [email protected]

Hi Cheryl M,
I also take from United Channel at Hougang Green. My fren took from United Channel at Bukit Timah and she was happy with 2 Myammar maids that she uses them until contract finished. She got hers selected by Pauline who was at Bukit Timah then. I think Pauline has moved to Katong.

I got mine from Janelle at Hougang. Janelle's view on photo and mine happen to be on same wavelenght. She's able to tell me more or less the personal character based on the photos on bio.

Different agency has different preference of provinces to recommend. Pauline recommends those from Kachin and Shan if you want those with chinese speaking, can catch up fast but not so easy to handle as they are smart after they picked up the tools of trade in 6mths time, pretty and chinese look with fair skin.

But my fren got from Pauline those from Kayah state who is more tanned skin, near Indian-border, speak english, quiet and tamed/timid. Janelle recommend me those from Kayah as to her experience rejection rate is lower.

However, I took from Chin state who is also near India border as I decided to take one whose passport is already processed. Coincidentally, my maid from Chin state has a bit of Chinese blood from her great grandfather, but she follows her father whose more of Indian Myammar heritage.

I decided on Chin also because I have checked with another agent, Perfect Home Helper who takes in many Chin and say they are hardworking but a bit slow to learn. However, if given patience and time to learn, they can pick up pretty fast too.

Mine who's from Chin and it's already 10days now and I'm seeing she's taking initiative to learn. Just a bit forgetful on minor things which i can still able to correct her on.

On the contrary, my another fren has been using Indon for 20 over years couldn't adapt to Chin maid. That Chin maid requested to be transferred after 3days with her. Could be the existing Indon maid played politic and frightened the new Chin maid while imparting her domestic skills to her, before Indon maid flew back home on contract finished..

Having shared all this, ultimately a maid selection also depends on luck and employer's encouragement, patience to teach as well as the maids' willingness to learn new skills and overcome her culture shock, to adapt to our lifestyle.

Btw, did you sent your myammar maid for Hep A, B and C test? Better do so. We did and I almost rejected my maid when her report shows that she has Hep A Immunity positive. Luckily, we asked 2 independant doctors separately to help read the reports if we should take her or not. Both the doctors say, she has developed immunity after an inflammation attack on her liver. She's safe and will not infect others as she has build herself a natural immunity.

Hi Onsansg,

10q so much for yr quick reply. the one i choose was also from Chin state. Previously i choosed one from UNITED CHANNELS and den they ask me to re-choose again. After afew attempts i manage to ask the PIC Serene the really reason she say the 1st maid i choose has no interest in working...i really dun know....???
Since im the first time taking MYM maid i rather follow the agy's suggestions. Their service seems to be good only problem is very very hard to get hold of this PIC has she either on leave or on mc. so i wonder can i trust this agy..But after reading your email today i feel better and will stick to this agy.

Today i already submitted my docs and she will arrange for the IPA..anyway how long does your maid took to reach? will it be very long cos i need someone to come in before my due atleast 2mths as you mention Myanmar maids needs time to adjust so atleast once my bb due on NOV estimate to be OCT end also...the maid will know how to handle. I also have a daughter 3yrs but she is full time in childcare school.

And tks your info i will also send my maid for the Hep A, B and C test. But isn't dis will be done by the maid agency?

I really hope my maid will come by another 2weeks time...

Hi Cheryl M,
Is Serene quite senior type? I think I ever spoke to her last time over the phone at Bukit Timah branch. Gives it the benefits of doubt that 1st Myammar maid disinterest in working. It's quite common and not easy to find a Myammar maid who really able and interest in multi-task as expected by us in Spore. Also, be prepared that you may have to rechoose maid if her passport is not granted by myammar country. this happen to my very first one that we chose in march, couldn't get and end up rechoose.

So, please lower down your expectations initially, give them time to train them up, be patience. Even if Myammar maid picks up her chores eventually, we still have to give them constant monitoring and supervision as there are still times miscommunication happens because their spoken english is not that powerful. Encourage maid to ask questions to clarify.

Myammar maids are known to be big eater, but apparently mine eats normal portion like ours. Don't caught by surprise. They eat a lot because they worked hard and burnt much calories back in their country.

Here's our account on teaching her:-
My mum can't converse in English, she speaks mixture of Malay and English with sign language to teach maid. I write on paper, demonstrated some tasks, and speak very simple english to my myammar maid. My hubby took 3days of leave to do hands-on job together with maid on whole housecleaning, mopping, ironing, cleaning, wash baby's utensils, steam bottles, potty train, change diapers, etc. Mum teach her to cut vege, meat, boil baby's porridge, washing clothes, etc. I taught her how to bathe baby, feed baby except patting baby to sleep which I decided not to release in order for baby to be still close and bonded with me.

We also specify to her on diff types of baby's detergents and adult's not to be mixed, etc. Maid asked for timetable on 4th day, after learning and seeing what has been taught. Maid slowly gaining confidence and these few days started to boil bb's porridge under my mum's supervision.

I think, Get maid which recruiter's appraisal indicate fair or good in cooking. at least that can indicate they have some basic cooking knowledge back home via helping their mummy to cook.

It's common first time myammar maid being returned for transfer as employer may not get used to them too. So, we also have to be patience lor as we are handling a different nationality now. Myammar maid will respect you if you respect them or treat them nice. Unlike Indon maid who never shows gratitude.
All the best to you, keep us posted with the progress.

Hi Cheryl M,
Btw, it's employer's request for Hep A, B and C to be done as the cost is to be borne by us. This is additional tests not required by MOM for pre-employment. Call Serene up to arrange that for her. It's $65 for package of Hep A, B &amp; C if i remember correctly.

Chase Serene to speed up your maid processing, explaining to her your reason for urgency.

Hi Cheryl M,

An advise to you: Please don't let Myamm maid to bathe your newborn first. Myammar maid has little or no experience in bb care vs Indon/Filip, to play safe as we don't wish any water to go into bb's ear and cause infection/damage. BB is too little to know how to complain.

You can write a simple but message clearly defined job description expected for Myammar maid, then get it translated by United Channel. Explain to Serene you are delivering soon and don't want to add stress to your anxiety. My suggesion but please don't quote you know this piece of infor from me, ok ==> Ask her to get their bording house supervisor who can speak english-myammar to translate or those myammar maid who are degree holder to help out in translation and then you explain to that myammar maid at their office when you pick her up. tis to ensure a basic level of understanding from the gal on what is expected. My suggestion.

Try to bargain now for more than 1 free replacement within 12months, instead of 6month. Explain to them it's your first time getting a Myammar maid and you are also filled with a newborn to concentrate on. A good helper is important to you.

Hi Mummies who is getting new maid,
Speaking from experience, bed bugs are commonly found in maid's hostels/boarding house as many maids arrived from their countries or being transferred back. My mum-in-law's Indon maid brought in bed bugs and whole house is infested with many crawlings around. It took much effort to destroy them. Her maid agent advised that any maid arrived to your house, first thing is to get her go straight in to take a shower, wash all her clothings and luggages in heated washing machine and then put inside tumble dryer or sun-dry them. As employer, get ready a pre-washed or new set of clothings (Bath towel, Tshirt, shorts, bra, disposable panty) for them to wear first while waiting for her clothings and luggages to dry up. Throw away their toiletries and let them use your toiletries on first day of arrival.

Hope this piece of infor helps all.

I do not agree that all filipino maids are honest. I caught my Filipino maid stealing my things. It's really sad cos I have been nice to her, buying things for her to send home to her children, bringing her with us on our weekly restaurant trips and letting her eat whatever she wants. Anyway I did not call the police as she had finished her contract and was already going home.

Recently caught my new indo maid stealing again. She was with me for four months, and with $40 salary she was able to buy a $58 HP, $8 new sim card, 4 pcs of silver accessories, and some toiletries! When i questioned her, she said she brought S$50 from indo, and did not declare to maid agency. I remembered she mentioned to me that her husband earns about S$100 in indo, and yet she is able to bring half of her husband's salary to singapore!

I do not know where she got the money from, but
i am sure she stole from my family. Anyway, i have sent her back to the agency.While in the agency, she can still contact my friends's maid and told her that she is alright, and will be transferring to another employer soon! I understand from the agency that she was employed by a rich family, with a 3 storey house to do house keeping only.

I have made a police report, and will submit to the MOM.

hi snowball (sball), my previous indon maid that i have sent back after 1.5yrs also said she never declared fully cash that she brought over, when we returned her to agent.
it's a standard emplolyment answer from agencies, transfer maid to work in 3storey house and just do housekeeping. mine, also initially told me want to go back to indon but the next day, after returned her back to agent, she said she wanted to start working with another family. made me travelled all the way to re-sign a termination work permit form to another consent form for her to transfer!
knowing my ex-indon maid's capability, i also purposely told agent to match her with big family with people around to supervise her so that she won't steal. agent told me she will work in family with cctv around and co-work with 2filipinos and 1 indon. i wish my ex-indon maid all the best as i know she won't able to stay long there - cos she always like to talk too much, untidy, act smart, steal, lie, always want to eat good rich food - even told me she wanted fish everyday(A to Z nonsense behaviour).

Hi onsansg

I think they are very smart to use this excuse of 'bring money from home' to cover themselves. How can we protrect ourselves from their silly excuses/ reason ? They have nothing to lose, but we would have to retrain a new maid which is mentally and phsically exhausting. Just hope that all employers will make police report and submit to MOM, so that the MOM will ban these types of maid from coming in.

Previously i do not search their bag when the first step into my house. But now, I will search all their belongings.

Onsansg, how much can we trust the maid agency?
They seemed 'bo chap' when i told them abt the maid stealing, or they have heard it too often, they became numb already. They just tell me to get a new maid

Hi Onsansg,

Glad that your MYR maid is taking initiatives. I have also heard from friends that their MYR maids giving them tons of pblm.

I guess it boils down to their intent of coming here. So long as they know and well aware they need to earn $$$, they will be more enthusiastic and more willing to work. But once their pocket got some $$$, then they will come up with funny acts.

So far, my Filipino maid still ok but I can also see that she is start to skive around....gotta be more stern with her. She just got scolding from me for slackening in her work 2 weeks back.

Hi Bluebell/ Sball,

So long as the maids harbour ill thoughts, wherever they come from, they will still steal. I read from ST that maids pawning away valuables stolen from their employers and the pawnshops did not even bother to query why these maids got such expensive "loot".

As my maid is alone at home, I lock up my bedroom when we are not around, to minimise opportunities for her to search around and also to act as deterence to temptations.

So far, my previous maid used to be more kaypo, for this maid, she is more of the bochap kind. Hence, it is also a give &amp; take. If you take in a smarter maid, easier to teach but also prone to such temptations.

Maid Agencies - Their existance is to make $$$ from us, the poor employers. So, to be frank, I do not trust them at all. I still believe that getting a good maid is like striking ToTo/ 4D.

Hi Onsansg,

Thanks for all your infos they are very helpful to me. U know what my application has been cancelled and the agency SERENE did not inform me untill i just happen to call her on Saturday afternoon. And to my surprise now i called up MOM to check on my status why canncelled they are telling me that my maid's deptaure date has not been confrimed. But i keep telling the MOM officer its a fresh maid from MYN but he insist no and check with the agency.
I called up UNITED CHANNELS SERENE she seems to be hidding something when i told her about the MOM officer told me. She did not ans my qns when i ask her is this maid ex-sin. She just told me "BUT YOU ARE NOT THE EMPLOYER WHAT" does this means the maid is acutal a ex-sin and maybe could be in singapore or send back to MYN...im so stressed early monday. Shall i swtich the agency branch to hougang and look for PAULINE? pls advice me im so stress with this SERNE...

Hi Cheryl M,
Pls talk to the Manager or insist to switch to Hougang branch or Katong branch. Janelle is at Hougang and Pauline is at Katong. Tell Serene that you can't trust her, insist for full refund or say you prefer to be served by other branches instead. Pls don't quote my name or implicate Janelle (Hougang side) when you do negotiation with Serene.

I decided to go Hougang branch too, after i sensed Serene was pushy and seems to be hiding something when I spoke to her at Bukit Timah in March.

Janelle's (Hougang) is the quiet non-pushy type, don't talk much, you need a bit of follow-ups with her but I prefer her because of her view/opinion on biodata maid. If you approach Janelle, ask her to narrow some choices for you or you shortlist a few, then ask her which one is her priority and reason why she choose this over another maid. She'll give you her thoughts and opinion, more honestly than Serene.

Pauline (Katong) is good at marketing with close follow-ups with clients.

Hi Cheryl M,
I have narrowed my search to 2 agencies providing myammar, filipino and indonesian maids where I feel comfortable to my acceptance level, with the service of their sales staff. These agencies are at United Channel(Hougang Green Shopping Mall, St 51) and Perfect Home Helper (Punggol Plaza).

If you want specialise in Filipino, a fren who got his recommended to get from BCS (Chong Pang).

Hi Snowball32,
We were shocked yesterday when we sat down with Myammar maid to run through her duties and pointed out her minor correctable mistakes after 2weeks with us. She cried thinking we wanted to removed her until we convinced her that we just wanted to guide her with explanation in areas that she done wrong. Looks like monthly sit-down appraisal approach with maids doesn't work for all maids. She's ok after that. We end up oso telling her, let us know if you are not happy and wanted to return to agent one day.. we told her to write down any list of concerns or problems that is unresolvable in future, for us to forward to agent and get it translated and for agent to talk to both of us if neccessary..aiyoyo

Hi Onsansg,

Thanks for your advice above...i feel relieve now. Anyway i have spoken to Serene and told her off in a nice way...and she will be on leave today i told her to pass the file to PAULINE and let pauline handle my case. So still will be at katong hopefully they dun give me false reports this time round. And im also consider taking Indo maid since u have mention newborn bb better not to let MYN maid to handle...I will be working after 4mths ML so my maid has to look after my son. So im still thinking about getting MYN or INDO maid. Will go over today and decided.

Shall keep u update.

Hi Cheryl M,
I've no idea on the quality of Indon Maid at United Channel but please ask them if they can arrange for you to do webcam interview on Indon Maid. I don't know if they have such facility of webcam interview.

Nevertheless, selection of all nationalities maids are ultimately depends on individual's luck and many combinative factors as well as constant prayer.

Ask Pauline to give you the best recommendations of whichever nationalities you intend to screen.

I got my previous Indon maids with other agency that has webcam facility, but there are many who say, maid are the same as we can't tell much from webcam as some standard answers are taught by trainer over the other side, so it's also hard to gauge. just that on webcam, you can see whether that person appeal to you by observing her facial expressions when you drill her with some stressful questions and if you like her on screen, etc, etc.

All the Best.

I need some advice here...

I'm planning for a short road trip to M'sia and am thinking of bringing my Indonesian maid along.
Can i bring her along? Do i need to apply for any permit or whatever to bring her with me? Clearing the customs will only need her passport and work permit?

Appreciate if anyone can advise me urgently.

Need some comment.....

My maid is suppose to get my kids to wash up, brush teeth and change into their uniform at 8.00am.

At 7.35am, after completing her task, she sat down to watch TV with my kids. (There are laundries that were washed last morning and last night). My mum saw the maid watching TV, so told her to check the laundry and keep the dry ones. My maid gets angry and bring all the laundry down regardless dry or wet.

Any opinion?? Do you allow your maid to watch TV if she has completed her task and the next task is not up to time yet??

Hi babycutie,

There are maids who ain't aware that they are suppose to juggle between household chores and kids. Was your maid been informed ? If yes, then she is in the wrong.

For my case, I will restrict my maid from having her own leisure time until she has complete all her tasks. However, I have learn to close one eye when I found out that some of the household chores were not done.

Frankly speaking, I used to be a SAHM and I can understand it is tedious to juggle between household chores and kids. Each time after I put my kids to bed I nearly drop dead, I don't even has the strength to clean up my house and hang up the laundries.

I would suggest that you speak to her and list out your requirement. If her attitude still persist, I think you can get her a replacement.

Hope the above help.

Fion,

I have a schedule listed out for her. And my kids goes to CC on Monday - Friday. They will leave home to CC at 8.30am where the school bus will pick them up.

So my maid is suppose to do all the household chores when the kids are still asleep and after they have gone to CC and has to finish the daily chores before my kids comes back at 4.30pm.

I do checked the housecleaning everyday when I returned home from work. And I know my maid cuts corner so I ask her to clean again. I don't see why she should skive if there are no children at home. But seems like I have to ask her to clean again almost everyday.

Worst still, my mum is a clean freak and wants everything to be properly washed and wipe. However, my maid is the lazy type.

My maid is fresh in Singapore and only with us for 9 days. She already thrown 2 times temper when my mum scolded her. And she packed her bag last Sunday when only my mum is at home and said she wants to go back. (My mum is wheelchaired but independent). She threw temper when we are not around.

She told me she is forgetful because of her age. I told her to write down (more then 5 times). But not a single time she wrote down. And always did wrong till I really lost my patient and shouted at her. I asked her why she didn't write down when she knows she is forgetful. Guess how she answer? She told me she is lazy to write.

Hahaha... very funny..... can tell employer she is lazy to write!!!!!

I don't think I would want to keep her anymore. A leopard will not change its spot. No matter how many times we remind or teach, she will be back to square.

Hi babycutie, out of curiosity... Ur maid is from indon or philipines? Gd to hear that u will be transferring her, only 9 days with ur family and daringly threw her temper ard. Tsk! Tsk!

Hi babycutie,

Well... You maid is definitely lazy. Maybe nowadays those Indonesian maids know that we have to rely on them (due to increase in salary of filipino maids) therefore they start to have attitude problem.

I used to have 2 Indonesian maids before and both are problematic. Eg, Lazy, Full of Complains, Greedy, Love gossiping. I have no choice but to terminate their service earlier. And I took the risk to employ filipino maid as there are lots of hearsay about filipino and those people around keep telling me to be wary of filipino maids. Frankly speaking, I find it not true. My current filipino maid is good. She took good care of my girl and is a down-to-earth person. However, she is poor in household chores.

I would suggest try not to employ maid who is much older than you as they will 倚老卖老. They tend to be stubborn and don't follow instruction.

Last but not least, I wish you all the best in maid replacement.

Hi Babycutie,

My 2 kids also attend fullday CC and my maid stays at home to do housework/ cooking. We fetch our kids to CC ourselves.

I do not allow my maid to watch TV without our permission and I have given a timetable as a guide on what is expected of her to do.

I agree with Fion that when the maid is long enough with you, they will start to cut corners. I just tell her to clean again. Btw, I keep a webcam at home to monitor my maid while no one is at home. So far, my maid has been behaving quite well.

It is advisable that you change your maid as I feel that she has attitude problem. She will get overboard one fine day.

Hi Fion,

Incidentally, mine is also a Filipino maid. But, I feel that getting a good maid is like striking ToTo/ 4D, it all depends on luck. I have also heard from friends and relatives that their Filipino maids creating havoc at home and they switch to maids of other nationalities whom worked fine.

Nowadays, Indo Maid also not cheap to employ. My boss employed an Indo Maid fresh (no experience) paying same as my Filipino maid.

There are always strong points and weak points of a maid as they are human beings. It boils down to how we give and take and how their strength fit in our requirements.

Snowball,

Yes, my maid definitely has attitude problem. She chose to throw temper when we are not around. And my wheelchaired mum is helpless in the area.

Now is Hari Raya Holidays in Indonesia. Hence, don't have many new bios for maid replacement selection.

I will use her temporary until I get a replacement maid.

I agree with you that there are good and bad points in a human being. But when a person is lazy, she will not change and become diligent. That is for sure.

Hi CherylM,
Is this Serene and same Selene you are talking abt, I just getting a maid from Selene whose namecard shows Katong branch but I spoke to her at Hougang Green.
I hope things work out fine and smooth, cos I am 1st time employer too.

Hi Hopefully,

Very bad experience with UNITED CHANNEL Selene she really sucks drag my application and all her information are fasle. So beware about her. She from Bukit Timah transfer to Katong now transfer to Hougang. I wonder why also...could be her service not up to standard. Hougang no much customers always very quite. I have spoken to the manager in Katong Ms Flora she transfer my file to another customer service gal name Setlla she is quite ok but still my exp with them sucks so I also find Setlla one of the staff who trys to push transfer maid to me she keep calling me leave voice mail since Friday just becos she knows my case had been dragged so long by Selene and I needs a maid urgently. Sucks man....And believe me I have choose 4 maids with them..each one have so much of excuses maid either already been in Singapore they hide from me..another one they clamis that maid not willing to work...other two underage...bla bla...i went thru shit with this agency wasted my time....and after the 4th one I choose also they call me last me to say its underage.. I qns them back underage why the HELL give me the bio data to choose. OMG...i really damn pissed out during my last trimester. Finally god's grace I get another agency whom seems to be quite nice and true. So I already applied with them and they even have home service so if all goes well my maid can arrive another 10days time. Which is very fast they did the process for me.

I really hope yours will not turn out to be mine...its really very stress....

Cheryl

Hi Onsansg,

update on my maid process...OMG i really give up on the UNITED CHANNEL...myabe selene has given me so much of bad impression and handled my case so terrible untill i spoke to the manager and transfer my case to Katong from Selene to another staff Stella...Guess what last wednesday i went down to re-choose another maid and sign end up thrusday rcvd a call from the Stella saying the maid is underage only can apply the application after the maid b'dae which is OCT 7...shit man should have inform me all dis details when i was there right...And as a 1st time i also didnt knew what is the age whcih MYN maids can enter into S'pore...i was freaking angry on the spot cancel and request for full refund. Luckily i had another agency TM Global the price is abt 200more den UNITED CHANNEL i really have no choose but to take them. Hopefully my maid can arrive on 21sep...as the agy planned. Im now afraid to trust any agency because of the UNITED CHANNEL.

Hi Cheryl,

Do keep close tab on the agency on the progress of the application for your maid.

I find that all agencies are the same one. I cannot stand their super bochap attitude, esp those who charge low agency fees. As if they are providing FOC service to you and come up with lotsa lame excuses.

But, I should say, I am quite pleasant experience with my current maid agency, but, they only bring in Filipino maids.

Hi Cheryl,
Oh my! I went to united is bcos didnt find anything bad or positive on net till I read this thread too late. And their pool of myanmar maids is larger, so in case this dont work, i dont have to choose from limited choice.
I really hope it will turn out fine, didnt want to get frustrated over issues like that.
Got to count down to the day my chosen maid suppose to arrive, still got 2 more weeks.

sad to hear such news. with serene moved to hougang green, i don't think i wan to deal with her. wonder if my serving agent, janelle still at hougang? our myammar maid got chosen by janelle are so far so good, only a bit forgetful and sleep like a log tat i hv to wake her up at 4am, to change my bb nappy. else, she sleeps thru the alarm clock. last sat, she told us she doesn't want to go out when we wanted to bring her to. we stil have to figure out her reason - whether is it bcos face that she don't want people to know she's a maid, or don't have pretty clothings to wear out, or she wants to finish her housework or she want some personal time for herself after we are out. we are still observing her..attitude so far is ok better than my previous indon maid. as i hv said, it all depends on luck.

Hi Onsansg,

I go to Superservants (they are located at Sunshine Plaza in Bencoolen Street).

They are a very small agency - Husband and wife team only.

For some maids, they prefer not to go out with us as they enjoyed the private moments when no one is at home. For my maid, when I need her to go out with me, she will have to go along, unless she has valid reasons why she do not want to - like not feeling well. I do not want to make it a habit for her to choose when and like to go out with us.

For clothings, I do buy decent clothings for her to wear at home and for outings. I even bought her proper sandals to wear. They can choose the patterns they like so long as its within my means (budget given) and decent looking. So far for my 2 maids I have had, they obey and follow us when we need her to go with us.

HELP!!!! i need to find a maid soon!!!

long story short, current PH maid finishes in oct 2010, initially tot want go HK ($$$$) then the bus thingy so i offered her another 2yrs and she agreed. then yesterday afternoon she tells me want go HK!!! now i am in a bind to find a replacement.

i actually wanted to cut down my work hrs and no maid, but $$$ problem so decided to increase hrs (both boys in childcare) and have maid. the problem is that there isn't many transfer maids around and i dun want to go to agencies in Orchard area (maids' expectation there sure very high).

never mind, the govt (indo, PH) now want to delay the maids from leaving and i am looking for a good 2mth wait for PH. *sian* somemore i need to work wkends, dun know how to tell my supervisor abt my work schedule for nov and dec.

if you have any good PH maid to transfer pls e-mail me.... i urgently need someone to start with me by oct 2010. thanks mums.... my e-mail address: [email protected]