Advise on Baby & Maid Exps

would like to ask...
my maid who has worked for me for 4 mths asks us for a salary advance of $450. She says that her hubby is going Dunai to work and needs the money. Currently, we are paying her $40 each mth till Nov (for 7 mth) as we have paid for the $2000 deposit to the agency. She will only get $360 pay in Nov. How should i proceed from here?

hi aly, hw do u find ur maid, if she's good maybe can consider... if not. better not. I loan a mth pay to my 2nd maid before her agency loan is finish. after gave her the loan, she totally no interest in working.. maybe tot i loan her the $$ aldy.. she dun have to worry dat i send her back. When i really no choice send her back, the agency ppl says they are not responsible for the loan. But they will try to recover back from her IF she finish her loan with them. No guarantee.

Last week I let my maid called back home. Her mum told her that her cousin coming to Singapore ask her to meet the cousin but she didn't tell us anything.

Yesterday when my hubby was working the cousin called and said very rudely. Telling your maid to meet him/her today. My hubby asked her to call back tell her mother that there is no way to let you meet your cousin and the way he/she spoke is so rude like we owe him/her something.

The day before when my hubby gave her the salary, he tells her off. Cos every morning she wakes up at 6am and took half an hour to bathe. Don't know what is she doing. And I need to bathe to get ready to work and bring my girl to wait for school bus at 7am. She needs to boil my breast pump. Sometimes my elder son and baby wake up very early. When needs her help she is still washing the milk bottles. Told her if she needs more time then wake up early, and don't do thing so slow. She already here about 10 mths liao, and yet still very slow.

aly

i wouldn't agree to advance her salary, i kena before and my ex-maid always got some stories... until we told her that she will have to get her family to settle the money problems. we are not her atm lei....

hi aly, i also wud not agree to advancing maid salary, they chg liao aft tat.

Hi Maureen, u must tot 2 her lor n explain 2 her tat others also nn 2 use d bathrm n etc, ya, d cousin is so rude, mb back influence, u must also tot 2 yr maid lor.

but at least she bttr than my maid lor.

Aly,

Your maid has only been with you for 4 months and has not repaid her loan. If she decides to leave before she has paid up you will not get your money back.

Best you explain that she is still in debt and if she needs extra $$$ to ask the agent to loan it to her by extending her maid loan.

In essence, her financial problems have nothing to do with you.

I make it quite clear to all my maids that salary advance is out of the question so dun bother asking me.

Yes, it sounds harsh but I've put up with so much nonsense from maids over the past 1.5 yrs I don't need to be their personal atm.

alamak,
i suay loh.. cos before i gave birth and she was with me about 2 mths i treated her very nicely. ask her wat she want to eat or drink, bring her out every wkend as i always bring my ger to my relatives house. then even bought towel and shorts for her when she claimed that the previous employer took back watever they had given her. i felt so sad for her so bought all these things in the hope that she will treat me bb boy and ger nice lah. who noes she take things for granted?? i guess i cant treat them too nice else they take things for grant liao.

erm, i aso cant remember which part of fili. will need to check loh..

my agent not back lah. got foc 2 replacement maid based on the 1st maid date loh. the agency fee is $188 for upfront (meaning i need to pay a lump sum of $2100 for the maid loan). if wana other packages, aso have loh but more expensive.ya, one thing i aso dunt like to do business with relatives. ver hard to be calculative etc loh.

hope both of us get good maids soon.
same, i aso very tired to send maid back to agency.. very troublesome and have to train again.

hi mummy_tang,
hope your maid issue is settled during this weekend.
true, we spent so much money hopeing to be able to rest well at home. but who noes, we kana more problems. damn sick of it loh.

hi aly,
i think better dunt give advance pay.who noes she may decide no to work for you later and doubt you can get back your $$. then you waste $$ on her leh.

maureen lim,
maybe you tok to your maid and explain tat weekdays you need her to get up early as you have to go work,etc. then weekend can relax a bit lah.
hope it will works.

hi jennylow, maid nowadays r diff fm last time, quality veri bad too n i realised we can not treat them 22 nice lor, they juz climb over our head. We shud juz treat them nice but veri firm juz lk my 2 frenz, so their maids no probs. They hardly tot to d maids as well, so they dare not cum out wiz funni tings.

Yr agt reasonable pricing. ya, nvr do biz wiz relatives lor, sum more d agency fee so expensive, we nn 2 pay full maid loan upfront too leh, haiz ... my veri 1st maid agency fee $ 188 too yrs ago n c their maid wk 5yrs for me.

surely hope we get good maid agn lor, haiz. got to train agn, veri sian.

May I ask if the "market rate" for ph maid's sunday off has increased?

The compensation used to be $10 per sunday off rite?

hi alamak

Thks for the info ... im paying my ph maid $330 with every sunday off. Now negotiating wif her to take alternate sundays off with $350. She's asking for $380 so i tot better check with experience mummies here.

To mummies who stay in strathmore avenue & has twin gals,

Saw one of this twin gals took something from the ground & put in her mouth. I was worried it may be something dangerous so i check on her & realised it could be one of the plastic pieces thats lying around. I ask the gal to spit it out & ask around for her mum.

A kid told me she's wif a maid (in red tees). Then the kid went to inform the maid tt this gal has something in her mouth. The maid just ignore her & continue talking to another maid on the bench. She's also very busy on her hp & walking around the playground, leaving the twin gals playing by themselves.

Fortunately, the gal spit it out herself & it is indeed one of the plastic pieces from the ground! And unfortunately, another gal seems to be chewing on her own slippers!! The maid just dun care!!!

Hope the mummy of this twins manage to read this post.

1606024.jpg

Mommies help...

just bought a SIN-Jar one way ticket to send my 2.5yrs helper home. her work permit expires end of this month and her passport expires end of next month!! There is less than six months validity date. Does that mean I can't send her back and have to renew her passport first??
oh no oh no

harriet

Hi wang,

My ex-SIN PH maid is getting $380 without off (totally no off day). With 1 sunday off per month, she will then get $360. Wow, yours is every sunday off ah...

I need some advice on whether I should get a replacement maid or not. My current Ah Dun (wif me for 2mths liao) can do housework very well but cannot really help my mom on weekdays & myself on weekends, looking after 3 kids, the youngest being 16mths. Every weekend, I dread going out cos it seems that I'm the maid while she's the madam ! She eats so slow, don't know how to play wif kids, talk to my kids (maybe she can't speak simple eng lah) BUT she LIKES to talk to other maids ! That's the thing i dislike most abt her. To be fair, she doesn't show me attitude which is gd but it could be the fact that she doesn't understand wat I'm trying to say lah.

My gals talk to her wif frustration cos maid doesn't get wat they r saying. I sigh, my mom sigh & everyone ard me said that i should change. But wat if i change one wif attitude problem ? Change again ?

I'm in a dilemma, should i change becos my kids don't like her or should i keep her becos she has gd attitude ?

just wondering...when you all go out with ur family and maid goes along, where does ur maid sit? (at the back with the kids?) Mine sits in front passenger seat, coz my baby doesn't seem to like the maid being behind with her (she'll fuss a lot). Plus, the maid doesn't do anything - the back of my car can be a bit hot sometimes (old car lah) and we've placed a fan under the car seat so can ocassionally fan my baby. But the maid doesn't do so. Even when we tell her, she'll fan a while only, then stop. So, throughout the whole 20min journey, we can be telling her to fan like 4 times....(there's no a/c vent at the back, and baby is rear facing, so it does take a while for her area to feel cool lah...)

Then, last sat, we went NUS and hb parked the car and waited with baby and maid while I went to the library to pay my fines. Baby was asleep, so we didnt' want to take her out, lest we wake her...I was gone for about 15 min. According to hb, throughout the 15 min, maid just sat in the car, never wind down windscreen, never turned to check on baby to see if she's hot etc, need to fan or not. Hb already opened all the car doors (except front passenger seat) to let air flow through and maid just continued to sit at front passenger seat.

(Ok, I'm just grousing here...coz perhaps she didn't dare to do anything - lack confidence??)

Yah, so my maid sits in the front while I sit at the back with baby. sounds weird? hahaha.

Hi Kitty-li, alamak

We din really understand "market situation" before direct-hiring this maid. So we gave her every sun off with $320 initially. Increase $10 salary after i hv my 2nd kid.

When we recently ask her if shes willing to take alt sun off, she told us shes goin to learn hair cutting skills & hopefully after our contract, she wanna be employed as hair dresser under S pass. Goodness so ambitious loh!

Anyway wish her all the best cos we are in the midst of interviewing other maids for direct hiring.

hi ma22

yr maid sounds veri familiar, juz lk my burmese maid, despite all her ghost & other nonsense, she wks hard n can do hse wk well, eat veri slow, behaviour other than telling lies not too bad, but she does not lk kids (admitted tat she hates kids) n she can not help me 2 lk aft my kids (communication probs with my kids n us but can talk veri well to other maids - same), so now i m transferring her n tkg another new maid.

Well, it is another risk but no pt keeping her coz she can not help 2 lk aft kids at all, hse wk good - i might as well juz tk a part time helped once a wk to do it!

hi wang, yr maid not onli ambitious, 22 greedy n demanding liao, gd luck 2 her lor, mb she can find a hairdresser job in larkee plaza there lor.

Hi alamak,

my maid's "very resourceful" mum who works in sgp 16 yrs is planning her career with much ambition ... perhaps ambitious had gotten over her head tt she forgot not to take too much advantage of us.

My maid is pretty good wif my boy so we shall keep her until her luck runs out loh.

alamak,
ya, last time maids will work harder when you treat them nice. now, they will only take things for granted. ya, give them basic things, like food, shelter and it is enuf. cant tok to them more.

so far this agency still not bad lah. my auntie recommend me as she get her maid from this agency. has been using for many years liao.

any possibility tat you dunt get maid from them since thre is no advantages? cso the agency fees like very exp leh.

ma22,
is she a brand new maid? cos it takes very long time to train a maid. wat is your maid's main responsibility in the house, to look after your 3 kids or do household? if is looking after the kids, perhaps you may wish to consider changing her though there is a risk in it? if is household, then you might have to open and close one eye and observe for a while longer. hopes that she can learn to handle soon and understand your kids. as for talking to other maids, i aso dislike it and have to enphaize to the maid again and again. cos my previous maid always to talk other maids.

CSI_fan,
for my previous maid, she was quite good in looking after my 2.5years old ger. whenever my ger has slept in the car, she would use paper to fan her as she persipres a lot (she sit behind). but cant look after the newborn bb. does your bb dunt like the maid often (include at home) or just when sitting besides her in the car? cos i realise my newborn bb cries whenever my previous maid carry/feed him. when my relatives, mum or we carry him he is okie. so i think my bb dunt like the maid. if its only happen during the car, then you may wish to try to let your bb sit beside the maid. ask the maid to fan your bb continously once your bb is sitting inside the car.so tat she will noe and fan your bb.

jennylow,
yah, think it's only in the car...but the thing is, despite our many requests/reminders etc...she still dun fan..(my gal perspires quite a lot too...). Even when she fans, it's for less than 1 min. Then how? tell her, fan continuously? sekali wait she complain, hand tired, cannot carry baby or look after. haha.

CSI_fan,
ic.. sometimes hard to tell the maid to do things repeatedly too. i will get angry if she needs me to repeat so many times.i understand your prob. true aso, if ask her fan nonstop, she sure complains and no energy to carry the bb. can tell her to fan your bb for at least 5 mins then rest then fan again? would it helps?

jennylow,
true...u have a pt. maybe for at least 5 min. think by then the cool air would have reached baby also. hehs...coz I think the maid face front mah, so she'll feel the cool a/c quite quickly...when hb turns it on. Then maybe she thinks "ah, ok...cool liaoz. stop fanning". but she dun realise that actually, bb is facing the rear, so dun feel the cool air so quickly.

But my hb quite sian of it lah. always complain to me that she sit in car, do nothing. dun talk to baby, baby fuss so much she just sit still next to baby. Then he complains abt the extra weight in the car bringing maid ard...aiyoh...I got 1 big baby at home to handle also. headache ah...hahaha

hi jennylow, i wl nvr ever tk maid fm my hb cousin anymore - now still foc replacement, so tk lor, if tis dun wk out, wl nvr ever tk fm her anymore ... i hear/c how she counsel my 2 probs maids, i faint liao ... she told d siao ting tong be a gd gal hor ... now i gv u a chance 2 trsf u hor, if u dun behave agn, i send u back liao hor ... so d siao ting tong hear liao said ... okie ya ya ya send me back send me back ... i hear liao i LOL, gd luck 2 d new employer lor or mb new employer lk maid who can chck their hse got ghost ... maid who can test their bed got bed bugs n check their aircond whether wkg or not lor ha ha ha.

Hi kitty li, mb u buy those battery operated fan wiz a handle n fix it in a position tat can blow yr gal.

Wiz d quality of maids nowadays, we nn to close one eye. We brought our prev hiao fili maid for hols, ask her 2 help 2 carry d luggages, she chose d lightest one, my small cabin bag where i put d passports inside (i tk it back fm her coz passports inside ma, then she dun bother to carry any bags at all). on board the aircraft, asked her 2 help 2 lk aft my kids, she slept thru out n onli wk up when d crew asked her whether she wanna her meals, straight she asked freeee huh, crew said yes ... she wants 2 servings ... wah liao, d crew laff non stop n told my hb coz hb noe her! we pd for her airtkt, expect her to help, she dun bother, d quality of d maids nowadays r sickening man ... i remembered i used 2 bring my 1st fili maid wiz us for several hols last time ... she carried all our stuff, lk aft d kids, feed them on board, did everyting 101%. So kitty li, for u to teach yr maid to fan yr gal, it is lk calling d cow to climb up d tree lor.

CSI_Fan,
i aso cant stand maid doing nothing and not automatic loh. my previous maid only noe how to sit there waiting for food to come while my poor hubby has to go buy and me carrying my #2 and screaming at #1 when at outside.she the most is tried to ask my ger to sit down loh. i was so pissed off and had to ask her to go help Sir. in turned i got black face loh. so sian when need to bring her out tat time. so i understand how your hubby feels. like have a maid is no different from having no maid at all. so i decided tat never bring her out since she cant helps much and expects us to buy drinks, food for her when we eats.
having maid is never peaceful now,always got prob every now and then.

alamak,
ya, since its FOC then better take. if your this maid cant make it again, better choose another maid from other agency. for me, if this maid cant works out, may have to decide to be maidless loh.
aiyo, the agent like tat tell the maid. then if i am the maid, im happier if you just send me home. i pity the new employer when they get her soon.

i dunt intend to bring my maid for tour if possible. we will be going to china soon - in late aug. and my maid will be at my mum's house with my bb son.hope my mum can guide her a bit as my mum dunt noe how to speak english. cosi felt tat they will only take things for granted when at there.

hi jennylow, yr prev maid juz lk my prev hiao fili maid lor, ha ha ha, same same lor, brought her out n hols 1 time - same attitude lk yr prev maid lor - tat shows tat d quality of maids nowadays veri bad.

FOC, ya so i tk la, but aft tat, no more relative agent liao.

i dun pity d new employer ha ha ha, coz they tink wat tat siao ting tong said is true tat my son beat/bite her lor ... let them experience her lies themselves lor ha ha ha.

we going to usa end of aug too, so tat why i onli arrange for new maid to come aft we come back la coz haiz aftw go 2 relative hse, scared got prob ltr. u enjoy yr hols la ... we nn to de-stress la.

hi kanasai,
hahaha...your analogy is so funny..."calling cow to climb tree". heehee...but true. I couldn't help but laugh out loud when I read the part abt the maid asking for 2 servings. hahaha.

Jennylow,
so after a while you never bring maid out? Then just leave her at home like that? My HB complains again...what if she goes through our things etc when we're not at home. Then he say must put everything (files, letters etc) in our room and lock the room. But it's like, huh? I get maid, only to stuff more things in MY room?? How more comfortable am I going to be? THen after the outing, come home, must bring them all out to the shelves. Like, pointless leh. (best part, it's all my hb's stuff. basket...) Must think of things for maid to do I guess, if we are to leave her alone at home...

I notice mine does her household chores quite quickly...till I got nothing for her to do liaoz. Also good lah. if she repeats the same chores every weekend (eg. clean windows), means my home shd be very clean...heehee...

alamak,
ya,better dunt bring the maid to holidays. cos its meant for us to enjoy and not to suffer.. plus i think its more like my personal family life when at holidays.. haha, so me 100% dunt bring her along.. unless like short trip to batam lah, i may still considered base on her perfomance. you must enjoy of yourself at there.. will stress when new maid comes..

CSI_Fan,
i brought the maid out for the near 2 mths. only stopped when i having my confinement. i just left her alone at the house for a few times with nothing to do at home. i noe she slept during my absence and i okie. but i was pissed when i just causally tell my hubby tat she even good life than us. guess wat, her face turned black and unhappy as if i told her off like tat. after tat, i decide to find things for her to do, like clean tings at the storeroon, take out all the toys and wash ,etc.

i did not leave anything impt in the room or lock the room. as very ma fan leh.. i trusted her in not taking my things lah. up to then when she let, my things are all intact.

kns & jenny,

Thanks for the advice.

She's wif me for 2mths aredi & improvement is very very slow. Perhaps, she don't want me to tell her again that she has decays or me telling her to drink more water - I indirectly told her abt it & even gave her mouth gargle. Sorry lah but it's not pleasant 4 me to smell & say also.

My main concern is looking after kids. I'm debating over a spanking clean house vs me going gaga over looking after d kids.

Agrees everyone needs an outlet to talk but pls do it behind me & not right in front of me lah. Of yes, her infamous gesture is to carry baby kneeling down in front of the tv. Don't let baby walk so that she can GLUE her eyes to the tv. Alamak ! No wonder my bb bites her.

Training is not an easy job that's y I got my previous maid of 4yrs to teach her. Be4 she left, she told me that she has no confidence wif her replacement.

Anyway, agent asked me to take a 23yr old who has just given birth to a 2mths old bb. So poor thing, to leave her bb when her bb is 1mth old. My concern is will she ge5t post natal blues ?

hi ma22,
if tat's the case, i think perhaps you may wish to replace her. cos if the kids dunt like her, then its hard for you to handle 3 kids at a time.
ya, i agree with you maids are real hard to train. and since your previous maid had said tat, i supposed you may realy wish to consider changing her.

i a bit worried about maids who had just married or gave birth. cos the may think of hubby or kids esp the bb only so young. i scared she might get post natal blue.

ma22

i also dun encourage you to take the 23yr old maid, cos just given birth and sure will miss her bb.

get someone bit older or kids are 8+

hi ladies, good news on my side. my indo maid has finally arrived and passed her english test so i can pick her up these few days. pray she is good.
also, i will not be needing my part-time cleaner's (chinese lady) service anymore and wonder if any of u ladies out there would like to hire her. i do recommend her cause she is very good in her cleaning. she is available on wednesday afternoon. pay is $10 per hour + her transport $5. if u r interested pls pm me your phone + your location. i remember bridget sam was interested so if u still r please pm me.

hi ma22,
Personally, I dun dare to take young maids who have just given birth. As a mother myself, I would miss my baby lots...esp when baby is still so young. I just imagine myself in the maids shoes. Yes, life is tough, need to go out to work so my baby can have better life...Then come over here to help look after another baby abt the age, will definitely feel very sad and miss baby a lot.

So as an employer, I'll also feel sad for the maid...quite poor thing lah, have to leave such a young baby at home, and can't watch baby grow up, take first steps, take first food, say first word...till 2 yrs later. I think maid can get depressed easily too.

hi kitty li, not onli tat aft eaten, she straight away zzzzzzzzz agn. Aft tat incident, i dun bother 2 even bring her out when we go shopping/outings, coz d scenarios r alw lk jennylow case lor. I alw find wk for her 2 do at home, coz ev day also she alone @ home ma, i dun care she goes thru our tings or not la (she did coz she stole my hb $$ and hb clothes 2 sell).

At least d siao ting tong burmese is more initiative, she helps 2 keep an eye on d kids n carri our shoppings.

hi jennylow, u r rite, bring maids for hols is a torture, i brought coz no where 2 bring them to ma at times n i dun wan 2 lv d maid @ home alone for long ma, is there anywhere we can bring maids 2 when empl go for hols?

hi ma22

ha ha ha, my siao burmese maid too, her mouth is alw so smelli, sum times when she stands next 2 me, i almost vomit coz d smell worst than rubbish omg. my kids kept complaining 2 me 22. i dare not tell her coz she c ghosts 1 ma, so I bought a new toothpaste for bad breath for her but still so smelli ... gd luck 2 her new employer lor ha ha ha.

if yr priority is for kids juz lk me, u may wan 2 consider 2 replace her but if her behaviour is gd, mb u want to gv her sum time 2 c whether she can mng d kids lor but since yr ex maid said she has no confidence, she shud b rite lor, u may wan 2 consider 2 replace her lor, i also will not consider 2 tk a maid tat has juz gvn birth lor.

Need some advice.

I have a three years ex malaysia indo maid.She is assigned to work in kopitiam there and I had no knowledge before that.

She has been working for me for last four months and I feel that she is a time bomb. Very cunning. She has all the answers or rather excuse to all your questions.

Example aske her why the magic cleaner paper still on the stick when dirty, she will tell you the other side is clean, when show her both side dirty, she say, oh, afternoon, need to clean, so change later....that is not all...

Am thinking of throwing her back to agency, what you mum think as she is really a cunning one as per my own gut feelings....has to be at home to supervise her to mop the floor or she will just use magic cleaner and dry clean and that it is and pretend its done...just imagine, her role is just to clean...she cannot even cook for peanut even she worked in kopitiam.....

hi joy747,

trust your instinct, it will be better in the long run.
I have a helper for >2 yrs already, but for our last year with her, it was like tolerating the maid everyday and the reason for keeping maid was we were too 'weak' to send her home and the children were alright with her, so close both eyes.

but during those 'tolerating' period, i lost two of my favourite cups, my 5 yrs old cutlery was chipped, no1 suffered two big falls & maid was still in kitchen looking out of window, money lost, rumours spreading to MIL which caused much misunderstanding, magic dust floor & claim got mop floor, didn't iron bedsheets but insist got iron, everyday wayang by cleaining the same place, but my walls have spider webs, toilet has smell and now one more week to her going home for good, I have to tolerate maid's everyday request for half day off to meet her sister in Singapore..
urghghgh, mommies have 'scolded' me for being too kind, letting the maid do what she wants
so I guess at the end of the day, the lesson I have learnt is, if have to pay salary and helper cannot do work to our standard, have to be strick in sending helper back to agency.

jm2c

harriet

hi Ma22,
not safe, post natal blues & adapting to lifestyle in S'pore can be a strain on a post delivery young foreign mom.
jm2c

Harriet

Thanks for your prompt feedback.

I spent time cathing her mop my parque floor by staying home to watch her.

I just locked up all my kopi, tea and weighing machine as i dont want her to use my things.,,,,all these cannot be detected.

Now,maid salary is high, agency fee is high and that is the only reason that am still keeping her for the time being.,,,,,

alamak,
my understanding is we can bring the maid back to agency where they got place for them to sleep (such as for transfer maids or new maids). but we have to pay $20 each day as their lodging and food. for my auntie's case, she once left the maid at my home for 1.5weeks when the whole family goes for holiday cos the then maid has just joined her to work and my auntie dunt feel comfortable bringing her for holidays.

cheerful747,
seems to me like this maid is too cunning. she really noe how to act blurred leh so tat she can dunt need to work so hard. if you need to supervise her to mop the floor, then i think it would even be better if you do it at home. where got so much free time to supervise her everyday? i would rather you change her now than have to be at her mercy leh.

jenny

If m not home to supervise her the floor is mop, she will just dust it and claim that already mop.so i will let her do all those work that she will most likely cut corner when am home.

This morning, i asked her why you cook sausage for my gal everyday, she say dont have what, i told her off, what dont have, you cook it for the whole week,she then answer,my gaL Like to eat... the way she lied and give reply, no need to think.

For cleaning toilet, i know she will cut corner also, so I wet the whole toilet before i go out.,...as no matter how she has to wipe it dry,better than she totally never clean...see i have to resort to this stage...sigh...

Another forum letter on maids:

Maid's broken heart costs innocent boss 10k

"MY BROTHER'S maid was given a day off regularly. One day, he returned home to find her and his three children crying together. Upon probing, he found that her relationship with her boyfriend in Singapore had soured and she was so upset, she couldn't carry on with her duties.
He returned her to the maid agency who arranged to send her home. But he received a rude shock when he received a call from airport police saying she was behaving uncontrollably at the airport and had to be despatched to the Institute of Mental Health (IMH).

Now my brother's real ordeal began. His family had to arrange alternative care for their three children, even as they juggled with, as it turned out, futile attempts to seek help from the Ministry of Manpower (MOM), their Member of Parliament and the Philippine Embassy.

The problem dragged on for a month. Finally, the IMH agreed to release the maid on condition that there was someone to accompany her back to the Philippines. Fortunately, the maid agency was able to arrange for a Filipino with a paid return ticket to accompany her home.

Then came the shocker. My brother discovered the maid insurance he bought did not cover the maid's treatment and stay at IMH, which effectively meant IMH is not a recognised institution as far as hospitalisation is concerned.

The Ministry of Health should look into this and MOM should mandate that insurance policies provide some form of coverage.

IMH is now pressing my brother for payment. To add insult to injury, MOM sent my brother a letter reminding him of the penalties he faces if the maid is not repatriated.

Non-governmental organisations are pressing for a mandatory day off for maids. But when something horrible goes wrong through no fault of the employer, what kind of support can employers get?

They are often left to fend for themselves. Through no fault of his, my brother is saddled with a bill of almost $10,000 because of the maid.

Peh Poh Hua (Mdm) "

This link:
http://www.straitstimes.com/ST%2BForum/Story/STIStory_264654.html

hi jennylow, agency i know but bad influence there lor coz lots of other maids ma n my relative agency veri relax one can go out whole day there, no discipline (u c how she counsel maids, u noe liao lor), let them stay @ home alone also dangerous, haiz ... my 1st fili maid no probs ... quality nowadays why lk tat ... what is happening, yr new maid come oredi?

hi joy747, so far, all my maids nvr use magic mop 2 mop d flr leh, onli got d siao ting tong tat sit cross legged to sweep n mop d flr ha ha. Those indo maids who wk in kopitiam b4 ha, can not keep lor, coz @ d kopitiam, they onli sell kopi hor, ev day get 2 know those ci ko pek ah peks hor, ev day learn all d bad habits hor. when no customers, they juz sit there n relax hor.

harriet hor, u lucki liao coz onli broke tings lk tat hor, my prev hiao fili maid - spoil my washing machine, dryer, short circuit my kettle n d whole hse, spoil my fridge, nvr iron bedsheets n said got iron too, nvr sweep/mop below d beds/sofa n etc/$$ missing/clothes missing/kids clothes wiz prints not supposed 2 b in dryer put in dryer n so spoil more than dozens of them & d list no ending ... n now d siao burmese ting tong broke my blender, spoil my bedrm door n coz ev one 2 be locked in d rm haiz ... lk tat also we employer must close 2 eyes haiz.

K.S
I will never hire this maid if i was not corn by the biodata.For info, this J X X biodata is quite fake.Mummy pls be awared.This maid also sell kopi in jakata...can you imagine how street smart she is now....she can even sweet talk you....steal my beverages and yet can pretend to offer me her own milo that she purchase,clever right?

joy747, send her back la, maids who sell kopi b4 can not tk lor ... i allow all my maids 2 eat anyting they wan but they must tell me 1st but of course not d kids food ie milk, vitamins, n etc la, no probs wiz my maids except tat hiao fili maid tat was too much liao, she even ate my kids vitamins, my kids snacks, n etc. she was & IS d worst maid i ever had! She was a night mare!

o tat agt ha, is it end wiz I?

PinkTweet,
Thanks for sharing. That is really a nightmare !

I think that employers should not be made to pay for medical fees due to mental illness. Who knows the maid could have past history of mental illness before coming to work in Singapore. It is so unfair to ask the employer to pay. I have never heard of any companies made to pay for the medical fees of their employees who have gone mad !

I think as employers, we really need to be vigilant. Once the maid show any signs of mental instability, it is best to send her away immediately. Better be safe than sorry.

ks
My greatest fear is getting maid with too much exposure and here she is.You will never know she is real or not real as her act is very good.Am not sending her back yet as she is still working and has to pay insurance etc when come to hire another new maid and i will never know what i hired next too.Its ends with a B.

Tamarind
I got a sick maid from the same agent and with fake biodata and i incured cost too ....maid has to be in hospital for a week, lucky cover by insurance, her sickness is from her own country .MOM and agency washed hand.

Joy747,
Fortunately your insurance covered the medical costs. We cannot even depend on the agency to find us a healthy maid !

HI Joy747,

the JXX agency is it @ Highland Centre? and got another office @ People's Park?if yes i also kenna fm them......

my #4 maid of 13days protest to go home yday... just change and refused to work and seat at the door and insist my mum bring her back to agency...