Advice pls: Starting on Solids

Hi Lani,

ya... i also don't dare to give her too much, not just bcos of the sugar content but cos this is the kids type!

Wow your girl got to eat a lot of stuff! I am looking fwd to the day when i can do that with my girl too.

Hi Lani... was just reading your post above. I have fed my boy with macaroni. But so far only chicken soup macaroni. I was thinking of making macaroni cheese (cos he likes cheese) been searching for the recipe. Appreciate if you could post the recipe here.

Many thanks in advance!

odie,
i will post the recipe tonight after my dd has gone to bed, ok? today whole day i am flying solo at home lah! hubby got company dinner...

sp, quackers,
yah she is a VERY GREEDY girl. everytime see us eat or drink only she will start licking her lips and come up to us to ask for the food! so sometimes quite poor thing lah, see her like that, so just let her try-try a bit. so long as she is eating her proper meals 3x/day and her milk feeds i am ok w/ giving her a little bit of such foods. besides, she is no more bb liao!
but hor, last weekend we went to swensen's and i tried giving her some of my fish & chips, she spit out liao! but the chocolate ice-cream she wallop!!

Hi Lani,
Abt defrosting, I dun really understand that section abt leaving baby food in the lower compartment to defrost and then microwave to make hot. Wouldnt it be easier to juz microwave straight from frozen state for abt 1 min? Any danger in doing that?
How do the mommies here reheat frozen puree food?

Sorry but I have another question. How do u know that ur baby hv enough. My gal will sometimes cry towards the end of the meal. But when I put the spoon near her mouth, she will still eat.

cupcake,
can defrost in microwave (as the heat i think is hot enough to prevent bacteria growth) but the general advice is not to defrost in hot water. to be quite honest i really don't know why leh...

mybabydream,
i don't really understand your question leh...do you mean thaw pureed food that is from the fridge or freezer? if from freezer then you need to thaw first then heat up (in microwave or food warmer). if from fridge you don't need to thaw byt must still heat up. i don't get what you mean by not warming up. food from fridge must ALWAYS be warmed/heated up first before feeding. to ensure all bacteria are killed.

odie,
here is the recipe for Macaroni & Cheese:

100g ABC pasta
25g unsalted butter
25g plain flour
350-400ml milk (can use FM)
75g spinach leaves
75g grated mild cheddar

cook pasta as per package instructions, then drain and set aside.

melt butter in saucepan, stir in flour then gradually mix in 350ml mlk and bring to boil, stiring until thickened and smooth. if sauce is too thick, add more milk.

in another saucepan, cook spinach for 1-2mins until just wilted, then remove, chop finely and add in to sauce, along w/ cheese and pasta.

depending on the size of the pasta, chop or mash to suit your bb.

for your info, i like to add in other types of veggies to this dish as well (eg carrot, peas, brocolli, etc) and sometimes i also add in fish or chicken.

mybabydream,
2mths is approx how long it takes for a bb to move from purely pureed food to slightly mashed up food. it's just an estimate lor. some bbs take longer, some faster to get used to it. let your bb take the lead. if your bb gag alot eating 2nd foods that means he is not yet ready for mashed up food, so must introduce mashed food slowly lor. my dd was like that in the beginning. took her a while to get used to mashed up food. until now she is still taking porridge w/ coarsely mashed up veggies - if i chop into slightly bigger pcs she will gag, so i must slowly get her used to it.

Hi ixwong,
thnx for the info, will chk it up, but fm the web site they r not selling EB cereal?

My dd able to pass motion easily aft eating the EB oatmeal cereal, what a relief.

Hey Teacher Lani

I planning to start my boi on Heinz plain rice cereal next week. I need to ask some advice from u.

His feeding time is 9am, 12pm, 3pm, 7pm, 10pm (plus and minus half and hour)

Do I introduce it during lunch time at 12pm?
Do I continue plain rice cereal for 2 weeks first and then slowly add in cook pureed vegies or fruit?
Do I start off with 1 meal per day and for how long do I increased to 2 meal per day?
If bb suffer constipation, do i feed bb with pureed pear and apple, if so, after meal I feed or can I put into the cereal?

Pai seh, sorry for so many question but I want to make sure I'm doing the right way.

Read from Annabel Karmel's books that need to heat up the frozen puree till it is pipping hot and allowing it to cool before feeding to bb. For those food warmers that set temp contol at 40 degree, it may not be hot enough.

hi ixwong,
Thanks. U refer'g to northpoint cold storage?

brownie2003,
yes you are spot on about heating up food for bb!
it has to be very hot then you allow to cool down before feeding. that's why those food warmer may not be good enuf...

summer,
1) yes you intro at the 12pm feeding.
2) always try to intro veggies before fruits. but a little of pureed pear once a day is good, esp if bb has constipation. you can intro veggies about 1-2weeks after starting on rice cereal. i started introducing veggies about 9 days after i started my dd on rice cereal. remember, intro 1 type of veggie at a time, and feed that veggie for 3 consecutive days before introduing another type of veggie.
3) you can intro 2nd meal anytime you wish, as long as you feel your bb is well-establised on solids and seems ready for a 2nd solid meal. i started my dd on 2nd solid meal (at dinner, so in your cause at 7pm) about 1.5wks after i started her on lunch.
4) usually you feed the pureed apple/pear after the meal, but there are bbs who actually like the fruit mixed into their cereal. so you try with your bb and see which method he prefers.

brownie
Yes, northpoint cold storage.

Lani
the macaroni & cheese sounds yummy. Can I feed it to my 7MO?

ixwong,
the recipe is meant for 6-9mths old, so i guess you can. but make sure the consistency is right for your baby. the pasta/spinach may be too coarse or lumpy for your bb, so you may have to really mash/chop it up 1st before feeding.

lani,

i went to pd and he said the red spots on my baby's legs, hands and face are all different types of things. but it seems like he doesnt noe wat are they also. he says some looks like mosquito bites, some looks like allergy.. he gave me creams n soap for baby..

hmm.. my bb is 8mths.. is it ok if i dun feed her solids? cos wen i go out for the whole day, usually just give her milk.

as for the allergy, i really dunno which food causes it.. so im scared to give her any food for now.. and now that she is really very cranky all dy long, i wonder is it bcos of her itchiness or just a passing phase..

lani,

it seems that u r a teacher here.. but i am not able to keep up with the chat here cos i seldom log in.. anyway i wish to check regarding porridge.. wen i feed bb porridge, she only eat only 1 or 2 tsp then turn away. but if gerber mixed vege cereal, she will eat it wif very2 little mess.. my sis in law says mayb bcos i didnt blend the porridge. hmm.. can i check how to cook porridge in shorter time using slow cooker? btw my bb eats very little so can only cook like 2tsp rice grain. i hear some ppl blend the rice grain. how to blend? wash the grains first then blend is it? blend wif water or not? use dry or wet mill?
so paiseh, dunno even how to cook porridge.. i pity my bb for having such a lousy mummy.. if i sent her to bbsitter, she sure will b having a gd time eating n developing.. feel so guilty cos i dunno how to cook for her n dunno everything.. mayb with tis lousy mummy dats y she has a slow development rate

nur
just to share w you. My boy is 7MO and when I cook porridge for him, I would wash the grains and mill using wet mill. No need to add water when milling cos still got a bit of water leftover from washing of grains. After milling, put in slow cooker, add abt 3-4 scoops of boiling water/stock, turn on AUTO. The porridge will be nicely done in 2 hrs.

Dun feel lousy, u just need a few trials and errors to get the consistency right. This is even so for mummies who are good cooks lah....

hi lani,
do you knw if bb can be allergy to button mushroom? when then can they eat?
yesterday lunch, P just drank the soup cook with these, and her whole neck is red!!!
it was still red even after bath, and redder when we r at the kindermusik class... after the class we went taka, then the reddness gone..
nite time no more reddness liao..

she can eat the whole egg, tomatos without any problem...
had been taking tomatoes soup almost everyday..

scare me leh...

Hi Lani... thanks for the recipe. Will try it out soon. However can I check... what is unsalted butter? Which brand?

Is there a difference between mild cheddar and the normal cheddar? I have those cheddar cheese that is in block. Is that ok?

Thanks again!

nur,
at 8mths you need to feed your bb solids. cannot just feed milk all day, even when you're going out, just for the sake of convenience. i know it is very leceh, but we must always think of our bb's best interests, and if you want them to develop properly and healthily, we just have to go thru all these hassles for them lah.

how ixwong describes preparing the rice grains and cooking porridge is correct. you just use that method. using a slow cooker to cook porridge is the best way, as you don't have to watch it or constantly stir it, and once it's done the porridge will be nicely cooked. if you don't want to mill the rice, then after you cook the porridge you will need to blend the whole lot.

i give you some tips on how to slowly introduce your bb to porridge. my dd HATED porridge, and refused to eat it till she was ard 10mths old. she only wanted to eat her rice cereal mixed w/ pureed veggies and chicken. so what i did was, i will add just a little bit of plain cooked porridge to her rice cereal. then after 2-3 days or so, i will slowly increase the amount of porridge and decrease the amount of rice cereal, until one day she was eating 100% porridge w/ assorted veggies and chicken.

when we went out, i will have no choice but to pack her dry rice cereal, then bring out her frozen veggie and chicken cubes in a small tupperware. then when dinner time, i will go into any cafe, etc and ask the staff to help me heat up the frozen veggie/chicken in their microwave for 1-2mins till hot. then i will make some milk, add to the dry rice cereal, then mix up w/ the veggie/chicken. so far no food outlet has ever told me "no". if go relatives' or friends' house also gotta do the same lah. very leceh right? but no choice, i wanna make sure she gets her proper meal when we are out. now that she is eating porridge it's alot easier - i just bring out her porridge in a thermos.

if your bb is allergic to something, the safest thing you can do is avoid ANY foods that is known to cause allergies, until your bb is at least a year old. but that doesn't mean you avoid feeding her any solids lah. you can still feed rice cereal mixed w/ chicken and veggies (safest veggies are sweet potato, carrot, pumpkin, turnip, green bean, spinach, brocolli, cauliflower, zuchinni) or oatmeal cereal for b'fast. so you would need to do some reading up or research lah. or just stick to the "safe" veggies, fruits and meat that are safe for bbs to consume. you know, sometimes even some bbs are allergic to fish at a young age, so it's a good idea to intro chicken before fish.

can i ask what foods have you introduced to your bb already? maybe if all the mummies here see your list we can help pinpoint what's causing the allergies.

nur, you are malay is it? don't you have your mum or MIL to help guide you on how to cook porrdge or feed your bb? i am also malay and i am very fortunate that i had lots of tips from my mum, cousins and even some of my neighbours, who actually taught me how to slowly introduce porridge to my dd.

it really was a struggle trying to get her to like eating porridge you know. it took her about 2 mths to warm up to it! everytime i tried feeding her she would cry very badly after 2-3 mouthfuls, like i torture her like that! but now if you see the way she wallop her porridge you would not have guessed that she used to hate it! haha!

hoho3,
if neck all red-red, then better don't give the mushrooms anymore, at least not until she's older. she could be allergic to it. it's actually quite funny and weird what some bbs can be allergic to!

odie,
there are some butters that are unsalted. it would be stated on the packaging that it is "unsalted". if it just says butter then it's usually salted. i usually buy the "golden churn" brand - the packaging is gold in colour. i like to buy in those "individual" packs (like the type they give you in restaurants to eat w/ your bread) cause then the portion is easier to cook for bb food.

yes there is a difference b/w mild and non-mild cheddar. regular cheddar is quite strong-tasting and a little tough, so some bbs may not like it. if your bb is not fussy, then can just use other cheese, eg those Chesdale or Kraft sliced ones, or those laughing cow brand type. i usually just use the sliced cheese, which my dd loves alot.

hi lani,

firstly thanks alot for the advice. ya i feel bad wen i only feed her milk outside. furthermore, nowadays she drinks very little milk. she used to drink 240ml after a whole nite sleep but now only drinks 180ml. in the day also like that. the most she drinks is 180ml. most of the time i make 210ml cos who noes she might want to drink more but she will only leave some behind. there's a few times that i rock her to make her finish her milk and it did work. but i have stop doing that cos im afraid it will bcum a bad habit.

i have given bb gerber mixed vege cereal, gerber fish n vege cereal, nestle rice cereal, porridg wif gerber organic sweet potatoes, strawberry-apple gerber puffs, porridge wif threadfin (oredi has the spots but dunno whether it causes it to increase). oh i remember there was once i fed her bonjour plain enriched bread. many times she was given pieces of orange to suck, ever sip 100 plus, ever sip mcdonald vanilla shake n sips of dunno wat drink else.

as for rice grains, how long do i have to blend? i mean blend for awhile only or until the grains become wat? btw i read before that for 8mths, we cannot blend the porridge anymore or else they will never get used to the coarse texture n lazy to chew.

hmm ya im a malay. well, my mum also not the cook type. my in laws always tell me how to cook for bb but.. they always tell me to add salt, fried onions, cube (tink chicken cube so got taste).. i tink bb cannot eat all this right.. especially salt.

actually although im a sahm but i dun cook! cos me myself dun eat! i am a junk food eater so wen on my hubby off days, we go out eat fast food like kfc or McD. wen he's working, i eat fries, nugget n tidbits.
so if i cook for baby porridge, its always being thrown away cos she eat very little. even if i cook 3tsp rice, it becomes alot.. so always throw cos i dun eat! even her cereals also i never eat.
so i was tinking how to cook for baby wen i myself dun eat? say if i were to buy a kind of vege, the vege can only tahan for two days. so baby also need one leaf of the vege then the rest, how? throw..

thks lani!
ya lor... no mushroom for P now!!
hey the dress P can wear leh.. think can wear for another 1/2 yr or 1..still got room.. then slowly will be tight fit.. haha

hi ixwong, may I know what does 'wet milling' means ?

is it just add water into blender with the uncookded rice ? thanks.

(sorry i didn't follow whole thread too)

Hi nur,

I think in order for kids to develop good eating habits, parents should set a good example. If you eat alot of junk food, your baby will most likely would want to eat what you eat.

I am no authority on feeding children but from what I see in your postings, your kid is eating alot of bottle food. Perhaps you could do batch cooking of baby food and freeze for later feeding if you are tight on time (the gina ford book has suggestions on how to make yummy pureed food). Please do not take a lax attitude towards your family members feeding your baby citrus fruits, diary products and 100plus. Citrus fruits and diary product are one of the most common allergy-causing food. They can cause rashes, wheezing,cough, etc. 100plus is high in salt which can put a strain on baby's kidney. If you need to add flavour to your porridge, you can perhaps cook your own chicken stock with chicken carcass, carrots, celery and onions and use it to cook your porridge.

Hope I am not sounding harsh here, I am also a SAHM. I feel that as a SAHM, I have to better look after myself as my family is only living on one income thus I could not afford to be sick. I make sure that I have proper meals. Also if I am sick the likelihood of me passing the illness to my gal will be v high since I am her only caretaker. Perhaps when cooking porridge for your daughter, you can cook extra for yourself to save time. If the baby sees mommy eating, I think she will likely to follow.

hi cupcake,

thanks for the advice. ya its true that parents should set gd example to bb especially when im the main caregiver. but i just cant bring myself to eat those healthy food. haha..

ya true that my baby eats alot of bottled food. cos i dunno how to make home food. i tried making potato puree but...
hmm i peel the potato, boiled it for half an hr then blender it. it becomes like whipped potato. then i separate it into portions n put each portions into small container then put it in the freezer. but unfortunately, the next day wen i want to feed it to my baby, the so called puree was very hard. i left it on the table for the whole day also its still hard. sigh..

hmm whenever im sick, my bb also sick. i was coughing for 3wks then my gal also got it. but now she ok oredi but i still coughing leh.. not much but still coughing..

Hi Lani... thanks! I actually made a trip to the supermarket just now during lunch break and I found out what unsalted butter is. I saw the Anchor brand. They have the unsalted butter in small portions like what we get at restuarants. But what a huge bag! Oh if Kraft Singles work... I will use that. I melt it on bread for my boy. He loves it too.

Nur... I agree with cupcake. Children they take cues from their parents especially. Whether it is for yourself or for your baby... start to eat healthily! =) I love McDonalds too but too much of it is really not good. Citrus fruit is a no-no. It is too acidic for infant. Same goes for carbonated drinks. As the mummy you really need to put your foot down and stop people from feeding food that they shouldn't be feeding to the baby. I am a FTWM... weekends are very precious... so much to accomplish around the house and still need to bring baby out. If you need to go out... you can always plan your schedule around the feeding the time. For instance, I feed my boy lunch around noon. Go out shopping and come back around 5pm to get ready for dinner. If I really need to get out of the house before noon... I bring cereal and hot water out for lunch... but back in the evening for a home-cook meal. Alternatively you can plan it the other way round... home-cook meal for lunch and cereal for dinner. It is do-able... just alot of planning required. Try and invest in a slow-cooker... cheap and good. I will start making the soup base with one chicken drumstick before leaving the house and by the time I get back (which is a few hours later) I just add macaroni or mee sua to it and dinner is ready in 30 to 45 minutes. The drumstick will be so soft after cooking for so many hours... just dice it finely and you can feed. For porridge... even more simple. Dump everything into the slow cooker around noon time and by 6pm the porridge will be so fine. There is not much work involve when you rely on the slow cooker. Just need to remember to put in the stuff before you get out of the house. I don't cook either during weekdays... I take my meals with my in-laws when I pick my baby up from them after work. So I don't like to have ingredients left over after the weekend. What I do is I just buy two drumsticks for making the soup-base. You don't need to buy the whole chicken. The vege like brocoli, carrot or potato I will bring it to work on Monday and have it as salad for lunch. If there's chicken meat left over... mix with some mayo and add it to bread as sandwich. Hope that by sharing with you what I do... it gives you an idea of how simple cooking for infant can be. You don't need alot of time and alot of ingredients. I remember reading that the first year is very important because babies are more receptive to new tastes. After the first year they tend to be more picky. So you need to look at it as a long-term benefit and start your baby on solid food... and be consistent.

nur,
Me too cannot cook. Other people, including my mother, make it sound so simple. Just throw in rice, water in slow cooker to make porridge. Well I did that and it just didn't turn out the way it should be. I just don't know why.

I am a full time working mum, lucky to have my mother and maid to help out. So my kids always eat wholesome home cook porridge.

Me too love junk food, like ice cream, chocolate, cheese cake, jelly, coca cola, etc. I feed my girl ice cream when she was 8 months old, my boy when he was 6 months old. But just a little bit only. I always make sure they eat their porridge everyday, and try to control the amount of sweets they can take.

I hate McDonald's and any kind of deep fried food. Do you know McDonald's change the oil only twice a week ? Oil will heated for too long will cause cancer.

You can try snacking on fruits like bananas, apples and grapes instead. It is much more healthier.

can porridge be kept in the fridge for a few days? if i cook on monday, can i keep till wednesday? so before baby eat, i heat it in microwave. can or not?

nur,
looking at the type of foods your bb was fed, think i can pinpoint what may have caused the allergies. like i said before, any citrus fruits, esp oranges, cannot be eaten before they turn one. even the juice also you cannot give until pass a year old. and strawberries is also highly allergenic (and any other berry fruits) so cannot give the gerber strawberry puffs till later. if you wanna give the puffs give the sweet potato flavoured one. or if you want a wholesome snack can try cheerios (plain flavour). also try not to give 100plus, milkshakes etc at such a young age. not good for her young and immature digestive system.

btw, 180mil of milk per feeding is ok. don't worry too much about the milk intake, i believe she is getting enough.

about not blending porridge at 8mths - every bb is different. some can get used to coarser texture very early, some much later, so you need to take the cue from your bb. if she does not seem ready yet, don't force her to eat coarser porridge. you introduce coarser textured food to her slowly.

i also feel you need to be firm about not letting other ppl anyhow feed your bb all kinds of food, even if they say "never mind, can lah". i am like that you know. very strict about what my dd can eat. so strict that my hubby's relatives ever commented "wah your mummy so strict ah, this cannot that cannot"...frankly i don't give a damn. they can say/think what they want, cause in my heart i know it's for my dd's long-term benefit and i am putting her on the right path to establishing good eating habits. luckkily i have my hiiby's full support. i am also not a huge fan of eating fast food. i have always eaten home-cooked food while growing up. even when i was studying overseas and then married i always cooked my meals and seldom eat outside.

btw, your MIL's method is def not suitable for bb lah. how can you add in salt and chicken stock cube, etc to bb's porridge at this age? at most if you want flavour you can add in ikan bilis powder (home made one, not those bought from supermarket).

i can understand that it's very leceh to cook such a small portion of porridge everyday. so i can suggest 2 alternatives.

the first is to batch cook your veggies and chicken and then freeze them into ice cubes. i used this method and i found it to be such a breeze and a life saver!

if you don't want to batch cook and freeze, then you will need to cook fresh porridge every morning. if you don't want to wast too much food, choose veggies that are sold in small portions or can be kept in the fridge for 3 days. you can try baby carrots, frozen peas, frozen corn, brocolli (just buy a small floret - the smallest one you can find). you can also buy 1 pc of those very small sweet potato, that should last you for 2 days? this just means you need to go to the market/supermarket once every 3 days to stock up on ingredients to cook porridge.

btw, it's not advisable to keep porridge in fridge for more than 1 day. at most you can cook 2 portions (lunch and dinner) in the morning, then serve the lunch. and the dinner portion you keep in the fridge, then heat up before serving.

Hi Nur,

I cant really cook too. I have simple meals like porridge with fish thrown in. Alternatively I will fry veg or egg. We all have to start somewhere

Regards to your defrosting of puree. The gina ford book recommends leaving it in the lower fridge compartment overnight. For me I juz microwave for 1 min. Hope this helps.

hi, is kraft singles suitable for 8 mth old baby ?
am interested in trying out the mac & cheese recipe from lani

anyone knows besides threadfin, wat other fish meat are suitable for bb (8 MO)? my bb got eczema, and i read earlier that someone suggested giving oily fish....wat types are oily fish ?

p.s : gave my son his first taste of baby yoghurt...alamak he didnt like it...i stil got 3 cups left in the fridge.. probably have to add other stuff to it to mask the taste...

rayray
your blender shd come with a cup blender and 2 millers (wet and dry) that can be used to chop up garlic, etc. Suggest u wash the rice grains first before putting the washed grains into the wet miller. Mill till each grain is roughly chopped up into 3 portions.

nur,
looking at the type of foods your bb was fed, think i can pinpoint what may have caused the allergies. like i said before, any citrus fruits, esp oranges, cannot be eaten before they turn one. even the juice also you cannot give until pass a year old. and strawberries is also highly allergenic (and any other berry fruits) so cannot give the gerber strawberry puffs till later. if you wanna give the puffs give the sweet potato flavoured one. or if you want a wholesome snack can try cheerios (plain flavour). also try not to give 100plus, milkshakes etc at such a young age. not good for her young and immature digestive system.

btw, 180mil of milk per feeding is ok. don't worry too much about the milk intake, i believe she is getting enough.

about not blending porridge at 8mths - every bb is different. some can get used to coarser texture very early, some much later, so you need to take the cue from your bb. if she does not seem ready yet, don't force her to eat coarser porridge. you introduce coarser textured food to her slowly.

i also feel you need to be firm about not letting other ppl anyhow feed your bb all kinds of food, even if they say "never mind, can lah". i am like that you know. very strict about what my dd can eat. so strict that my hubby's relatives ever commented "wah your mummy so strict ah, this cannot that cannot"...frankly i don't give a damn. they can say/think what they want, cause in my heart i know it's for my dd's long-term benefit and i am putting her on the right path to establishing good eating habits. luckily i have my hubby's full support. i am also not a huge fan of eating fast food. i have always eaten home-cooked food while growing up. even when i was studying overseas and then married i always cooked my meals and seldom eat outside.

btw, your MIL's method is def not suitable for bb lah. how can you add in salt and chicken stock cube, etc, to bb's porridge at this age? at most if you want flavour you can add in ikan bilis powder (home made one, not those bought from supermarket). actually babies this age don't really like foods that are strong-flavoured, so just simple porridge that has been flavoured w/ chicken meat or fish meat is delicious enuf to them. they only demand for more flavour if you get them used to such foods very early on.

i can also understand that it's very leceh to cook such a small portion of porridge everyday. so i can suggest 2 alternatives.

the first is to batch cook your veggies and chicken and then freeze them into ice cubes. i used this method and i found it to be such a breeze and a life saver! i do find that potatoes do not freeze well, unlike sweet potato, so i never ever batch cook & freeze potatoes.

if you don't want to batch cook and freeze, then you will need to cook fresh porridge every morning. if you don't want to waste too much food, choose veggies that are sold in small portions or can be kept in the fridge for 3 days. you can try baby carrots, frozen peas, frozen corn, brocolli (just buy a small floret - the smallest one you can find). you can also buy 1 pc of those very small sweet potato, that should last you for 2 days? this just means you need to go to the market/supermarket once every 3 days to stock up on ingredients to cook porridge.

btw, it's not advisable to keep porridge in fridge for more than 1 day. at most you can cook 2 portions (lunch and dinner) in the morning, then serve the lunch. and the dinner portion you keep in the fridge, then heat up before serving.

lilipit,
8mths can eat cheese already. and you can try feeding cod fish, altho it's quite expensive lah. i know salmon and sardine are oily fish which are very very high in nutrients but i'm not sure if they are suitable for 8mth old. perhaps you check first before feeding.

lani:
when i feed bb puree food, i juz take out from the fridge lower compartment and cool for an hr in room temperature, and feed her w/o "warming" up, is it wrong?

iam wondering how many mothers here only give their babies bottle jar food? how nutrious are they compared to fresh food?

jkids,
cannot. you still need to heat up in microwave, maybe just for a few secs so that it becomes warm. the purpose is to kill bacteria. leaving cold food outside at room temp is only to thaw it, it still does not kill bacteria present.

i actually hardly ever gave my dd ANY jar food. the only time i ever gave her was one weekend when she was around 6mths old and wenr to stay at my mum's house, and then recently when we went australia, i had to feed her jar food for lunch and dinner cause we just arrived that morning and i did not have time to go supermarket yet to buy and cook her porridge. so in total over the past 1 yr my dd has eaten jar food for 6 meals only!

hi, i intend to feed my son with solids after 6 mths, but i suppose i need to introduce some kind of semi-solids now?? he's now 4.5 mths. are fruits ok? what kind of fruits and how to feed??

Hi, Guru Lani & mummies,
Re: broccoli
May I check whether the method I prepared broccoli for my bb is correct. First, I boiled it in little bit of water, then I pureed it in blender, put 1 cube in fridge & froze the rest in ice cube tray (bb sleeping so can't feed immed). When bb woke up, took out from fridge, microwaved and fed him on sun afternoon mixed with cereal & milk.

I'm not sure whether it's the method that is wrong or the broccoli not suitable for my bb, his stomach became hard-hard & he diarrhea (abt 8x) yesterday. We also got bring him out over the weekend, so not sure if he contacted germs outside that could hv caused the diarrhea.

How do we determine whether diarrhea is caused by food or germs?

I noticed my baby passed out hard stool recently, not sure is it brown rice cereal that causes the problem? I gave heniz rice cereal before and baby stool is quite normal. I stopped the brown rice cereal for a day already, but still no improvement. Can any one help?

Hi Cat_tail,
I normally choose according to 2 thing, one is the colour of the skin, if dark color means ripe ( for Hass brand), but be aware not all avocado turn dark when ripe, some remains greenish. 2nd method,always work for me, i gently press the whole avocado with my palm. Do not press with one or 2 fingers ok? it will briuse the fruit. Different type of avocado ripe with different skin color. I normally choose hard one to ripe at home for a few days OR of i want to feed baby today, i will choose soft one. Hope this help. I feed my baby avocado at least 4 times a week, its a good fruit. And

Hi Janey,

You can try to give your baby barley water. My baby passed out hard stools when she's on heinz cereal and was slightly constipated but when we gave her barley water, she was able to poo more and the stools became softer.

You can buy china barley from medical hall. If your bb is not willing to drink it on its own, you can use the barley water to make milk in place of water.

Lilipit... yes soft cheese can be given. You might want to try the Philidelphia cream cheese spread too. Just spread it on the bread... cut into small bits and feed. This is provided if your baby is taking coarser food. My boy loves this as his mid morning snack.

Hi Janey... initially I was skeptical about giving cereal for fear that too much will cause constipation. But according to the PD it is high in fiber and therefore will help in poo poo. But the thing is that fibre only works if you drink lots of water. So make sure your baby drink lots of water now that he or she is only cereal.