wah!!! so many posting and questions! not sure if i can answer all tonight leh, but will try, cause been sooo busy doing last minute shopping this afternoon and i just finished most of the packing about 15mins ago. some more i still have all my daily chores to do! feel like fainting already liao!
wah liao, it's a big headache going overseas with a bb! sooo much stuff to bring!! i think after this trip i will wait until my kids are past 2yrs old before taking them overseas again...
tuffy,
you can start feeding yoghurt from 6mths onwards, but NOT the petit mian for kids. you can only feed the petit mian for babies (there is a pic of a bb on the bottle), and it comes i 4 flavours - apple, pear, banana, and vanilla i think. or you can give PLAIN FULL-FAT yoghurt. don't give those low-fat ones.
triniti,
you must be right. i'm sure cooked pureed prunes are fine.
tingting,
according to gina ford's book, the few tsp of cereal is for 4-6mths. once past 6mths already the portion is bigger. and tea (ie dinner) is at 5pm because according to her schedule, bedtime is at 7pm sharp and bedtime milk at 6.30pm leh. i read in another of her books that if your bb sleeps later than 7pm, then you need to readjust the feeding times to later lor. so in your case, if your bb sleeps at 8pm then his dinner should be at 6pm and not 5pm.
also, once you push dinner to 6pm, then you can introduce a lunch feed around 12.30pm (porridge instead of milk) and a milk feed at around 3.30pm.
ixwong,
of course oatmeal cereal helps bb poo - got fibre what. and yes, you can just replace dinner with porridge while lunch still cereal. and you don't have to introduce plain porridge to your bb. you can already add in his usual veggies (fresh ones or those you've already pureed) and 1 meat (either fish or chicken). if you choose to add chicken make sure it's pureed first. for fish no need to puree, as you can just mash-mash, but make sure got no bones.
reenie,
ideal veggies/fruits to start off with would be carrots, sweet potatoes, green bean, zuchinni, turnip, apple, pear, peach.
yes, you need to introduce them one at a time, and for 3 consecutive days. you do not need to feed the veggie alone. you can add 1 cube into your bb's rice cereal (i find bbs mostly prefer to be fed this way, as the taste of the vege alone is usually too overwhelming for them).
if you prepare fresh daily, then you can just keep in the fridge. if you intend to keep for more than 2 days then store it in the freezer.
if she is taking lunch well, you can introduce dinner already.
as for 3 meals a day, i started doing that when my dd was 7mths old, about 2 mths after she was weaned. what i do is, when she wakes up at 8am, she has a milk feed (usually around 6oz). then at 9am i will feed her b'fast - not much, about 4-5tsp of cereal only, or sometimes 3-4tsp of cereal, followed by some papaya. the amount to feed really depends on your bb's appetite.
jennise,
you can feed heinz multigrain cereal, or when she is past 9mths, the heinz muesli. or you can try oatmeal cereal from Healthy Times or Earth's Best. you can also try feeding bread or toast w/ cheese or even yoghurt.