Advice pls: Starting on Solids

when can bb start taking yoghurt? what brand is good? I saw petit maim for kids at jasons - is that ok for bb too?

hi lani
I got this info from www.kidsorganic.com and it says that pureed prunes can be eaten from 4-6mths. I think gina ford is using it as finger food and not cooking it...that is why she said 8mths onwards
First Solid Foods

For Babies 4 - 6 Months
Start by introducing foods that are comprised of a single ingredient. These foods can be purchased ready-made in small jars, or can be made at home.
Many parents start with cereal, then proceed to vegetables. Fruits are usually not introduced until baby has had the opportunity to acclimate his/her tastebuds to non-sweet foods.

First foods will be very liquidy.

Before introducing subsequent new foods, wait a few days. Foods your baby tolerates well will be met with enthusiasm and will not cause elimination problems or allergic reactions.

Organic foods to introduce:
Rice Pureed Carrots Applesauce
Oatmeal Creamed Corn Pureed Apricots
Barley Pureed Green Beans Mashed Bananas
Pureed Peas Pureed Peaches
Pureed Squash Pureed Pears
Pureed Sweet Potatoes Pureed Prunes

first time reading the thread, and i'm already won over by Lani's wealth of knowledge!
my kid's 6 mths 3 weeks old, and am now starting on porridge with fish/chicken. initially he rejects it totally (n my mother very heartache cos used premium ingredients!) but now can finish about 1/2 rice bowl of it. guess it's important to re-introduce foods that was rejected previously. To share, his feeding schedule is as follows (+ - 1 hr difference, depending on his wake up time):

6.30-7.30am Milk Feed (latch on)
9.30-10.30am Cereal / Porridge + fruit (scrapped)
12.30-1.30pm Milk Feed (EBM/FM)
4.30-5.00pm Cereal / Porridge
7.00-8.00pm Milk Feed (latch on)
8pm-6.30am Sleep

He gets a rusk biscuit once in a while in the afternoon.

Let me know if there's anything that needs to improve?

re: Gina Ford's feeding schedule for 6-12M

I've read in her book that the last meal for babies bet 6-12M is tea at 5pm, where they are only given a few teaspoons of cereal. If i do this, my boy will surely wake up for milk in the night. any comments?

re: honey

i know we're not supposed to introduce honey during the 1st year, but Nestle has a Wheat n Honey cereal for 6 mths onwards. Safe?

re: Quakers instant oat

can babies of 6 mths eat this? cos texture is coarser than rice cereal?

Hi Lani
The oatmeal cereal really helps my boy poo. Since he started on it, he poos everyday!

Currently, he's taking cereal w veg puree for lunch and dinner. I intend to start him on porridge from next month onwards. Can I just replace dinner with porridge while lunch still cereal? I still want to keep cereal in his diet to get him used to different food....

For porridge, must I start w plain porridge and slowly introduce fish or chicken. Can we add the frozen veg puree, like we did for cereal?

Hi Tingting,

I started my bb on cereal since 4mths & gave brown rice porridge since 6mths.. the texture has been increasingly less fine.. so by the time, i gave quaker's oat (mix with ebm), she can take it. In fact, the texture is very much like brown rice porridge which allows bb to chew a little... anyway, bb use gums to chew not teeth & we chew with our molars not front teeth.. u can't wait till bb have molars to introduce coarser food..

hi Lani,
I need some advices here

I just started feeding rice cereal to my girl for a week , she is 6mth and 1 week old. She is taking one meal per day at lunch, 3 tsp of rice cereal.

1)I wanted to start her on new food next week, what would be the ideal food to start off? I understand new food must be tested out 3-4days, if so, does it mean my girl eats 3-4 days of puree carrot? My concern is carrot would reduce red blood cells.

2) If i am making fresh food daily in the morning, say puree pear, apple, sweet potato or such, can i just fridge them instead of freezing them? I will be asking my mother to heat up food for the meals.

3) Since she is taking lunch well, do i introduce dinner say 6pm rice cereal soon? How do i increase the no. of meals to 3 per day?

Many Thanks!

Hi Lani
Hehe.... Me need to trouble you again. Has been quietly following this thread for a while to know more on solid feedings.

Meagan, 8 months now, is having 3 meals a day now. Any suggestions on what to give for breakfast? I'm giving her Heinz bfast cereal, Nestle's cereal, or bb biscuits. I'm thinking of oatmeal but juz curious whether the Quakers instant ones is ok to give?

And btw, for brown rice is there any recommendations? Thanx!!

And also lastly, do enjoy ur Melbourne trip!!

Hi quackers,

I just gave her instant Quakers oats recently when she turned 6.5mths. I gave her for breakfast 3-4 days in a row to test for reactions in case there's allergy etc. I make it abit thick with some EBM cos she doesn't like her cereal to be watery anymore. Sometimes, i add mashed banana or puree apple..intend to mix quaker's oats with earth best oatmeal or brown rice to give variety. But do make sure u have tested the fruits 1st..in other words, don't give 2 new food at 1 go in case there's allergy

wah!!! so many posting and questions! not sure if i can answer all tonight leh, but will try, cause been sooo busy doing last minute shopping this afternoon and i just finished most of the packing about 15mins ago. some more i still have all my daily chores to do! feel like fainting already liao!

wah liao, it's a big headache going overseas with a bb! sooo much stuff to bring!! i think after this trip i will wait until my kids are past 2yrs old before taking them overseas again...

tuffy,
you can start feeding yoghurt from 6mths onwards, but NOT the petit mian for kids. you can only feed the petit mian for babies (there is a pic of a bb on the bottle), and it comes i 4 flavours - apple, pear, banana, and vanilla i think. or you can give PLAIN FULL-FAT yoghurt. don't give those low-fat ones.

triniti,
you must be right. i'm sure cooked pureed prunes are fine.

tingting,
according to gina ford's book, the few tsp of cereal is for 4-6mths. once past 6mths already the portion is bigger. and tea (ie dinner) is at 5pm because according to her schedule, bedtime is at 7pm sharp and bedtime milk at 6.30pm leh. i read in another of her books that if your bb sleeps later than 7pm, then you need to readjust the feeding times to later lor. so in your case, if your bb sleeps at 8pm then his dinner should be at 6pm and not 5pm.

also, once you push dinner to 6pm, then you can introduce a lunch feed around 12.30pm (porridge instead of milk) and a milk feed at around 3.30pm.

ixwong,
of course oatmeal cereal helps bb poo - got fibre what. and yes, you can just replace dinner with porridge while lunch still cereal. and you don't have to introduce plain porridge to your bb. you can already add in his usual veggies (fresh ones or those you've already pureed) and 1 meat (either fish or chicken). if you choose to add chicken make sure it's pureed first. for fish no need to puree, as you can just mash-mash, but make sure got no bones.

reenie,
ideal veggies/fruits to start off with would be carrots, sweet potatoes, green bean, zuchinni, turnip, apple, pear, peach.

yes, you need to introduce them one at a time, and for 3 consecutive days. you do not need to feed the veggie alone. you can add 1 cube into your bb's rice cereal (i find bbs mostly prefer to be fed this way, as the taste of the vege alone is usually too overwhelming for them).

if you prepare fresh daily, then you can just keep in the fridge. if you intend to keep for more than 2 days then store it in the freezer.

if she is taking lunch well, you can introduce dinner already.

as for 3 meals a day, i started doing that when my dd was 7mths old, about 2 mths after she was weaned. what i do is, when she wakes up at 8am, she has a milk feed (usually around 6oz). then at 9am i will feed her b'fast - not much, about 4-5tsp of cereal only, or sometimes 3-4tsp of cereal, followed by some papaya. the amount to feed really depends on your bb's appetite.

jennise,
you can feed heinz multigrain cereal, or when she is past 9mths, the heinz muesli. or you can try oatmeal cereal from Healthy Times or Earth's Best. you can also try feeding bread or toast w/ cheese or even yoghurt.

hi Lani!
Thanks for your reply!
Enjoy your trip! Hope you and family will have lots of fun! I can't imagine travelling with my baby now, hopefully when she is around 1 year old

Can i ask a last question? For carrot, can i feed for consecutively 3 days, say 1 cube mixed with rice cereal for lunch? Thanks!!

tuffy,
can find baby yoghurt at cold storage, jasons or carrefour

reenie,
when you 1st introduce carrot, need to feed for 3 consecutive days (ie 1 cube mixed w/ rice cereal). after that, maybe feed every other day, or every alternate days, as it's a vege high in beta carotene so too much will make your bb's skin turn orangey!

Lani
u mentioned before bb who are taking solids shd not be drinking too much milk? My ds, although have cereals for lunch and dinner, still drinks about 800-1000 ml of milk per day (4 - 5 milk feeds and 2 cereal). Is it too much? Does it mean I must introduce breakfast?

ixwong,
how old is your bb? if your bb is still below 1 yr old, i guess it's ok, but the amount of milk they drink should gradually go down as solids increase. i know for sure that once bb has hit 1 yr old, not good to have more than 20oz (600ml) per day.

Lani,
my boy is 6.5MO, and weigh 9+ kg liao. I started him on solids when he was abt 5MO cos his milk intake suddenly dropped. But recently, his appetite for milk is back. His schedule typically is

8am 180ml FM
11am 180ml FM
1pm Lunch (4 tsp cereal + 2 cubes of veg)
4pm 180ml FM
6pm Dinner (same as lunch)
8pm 180ml FM
1am 180ml FM (sometimes)

I'm wondering if so much milk intake means he's ready for more substantial solids?

lani - thanks for your advice the other time..my gal taking her 2 solids quite well now..now i tinking of adding the 3rd solid..how hah? her schedule now is:-
8am - 240ml
11.30am - porridge
3pm - 200ml
6pm - cereal (will be giving her porridge soon)
9pm - 240ml

LSM,
Thanks for telling us abt the book, I bought it on sat.

Lani,
sp here reporting as promised:

re: solids
Good news: my MIL asked us whether we want to let our bb eat oats porridge cooked with fish & carrots. Of course we want lah! Sat he enjoyed half a bowl of porridge. Sun the same porridge but only fed him less than 1/4 bowl, he just woke up, think not hungry yet.

re: feeding schedule
Not yet revamp, think for the time being will still be:-
morning wake up: don't want milk so can't feed
8+ or 9+am: oats porridge
thereafter every 2 hrs or so will get milk feed.
7+pm: cereal with vege puree if he wants
8+pm: milk then sleep

i have been following this thread quite closely as it is very informative for first time mom like me.
My baby is about 8.5mths now and is taking 2 solids per day. She has loss alot of weight recently. I am not sure if the weight lost is due to not having enuff to eat or she fell sick. anyway, one qestion regarding milk making which i am always very confused by. When we said 200ml of milk; 200ml of water before the milk powder is added? becos usually after FM is added, the bottle contain will increase by another 20-30ml.

Hi LSM,

Thanks. Sori, for the quakers oats, when you mix it with milk, must the milk be very hot? Cos when we ourselves eat the instant oats, we make it with hot water too else it becomes lumpy.

Also mummies, can i check with you:

- where did you buy the baby yoghurt from? I tried Jasons at Marketplace but they don't seem to have it.

- i read that some mummies feed their babies green beans. Can I check how does it look like? Is it the pea pod and we just remove the beans that is inside?

- how about peas? did you give the frozen ones? Must we remove the outer skin before we puree it?

Sp,

Hope the book is useful

Quakers,
I usually use some hot water to ensure it(the instant oat) isnt too lumpy, then i add warm ebm to c how 'watery' i wan.. ebm can't be made hot cos will lose nutrients. Oso, be careful oh how much ebm to add cos can become very watery...

Re peas, think Lani mention earlier here to buy those frozen ones. Scroll up to read more

hi, cherry,
re: FM quantity
usually I will mention the water amt, not the amt after adding powder.

hi, quackers,
re: green bean
I also very blur, don't know what is green bean. Went to supermarket to look for it, keke. The Aussie type is very very dark green, length abt 4-5 inches & quite flat. The local type is what I usually call "French beans" also abt the same length but lighter green colour & fatter.

I removed the 2 "strings" at the side of the bean & my hb steamed the whole thing then put in blender to puree.

L S M,
I like the book! Have u tried the recipes? Which ones are nice?

Hi sp
I got the book too, hv tried the Tasty Chicken Stew under Treats For Tiny Tots. (but the onion was omitted) Can use the stock to cook porridge too, vy tasty.

Can anyone tell me where to get prune juice? Am staying at woodlands, hv tried ntuc @ civic plaza, cold storage @ causeway point, can't find leh. My dd having mlid constipation, haiz. Thanks alot!

Hi LSM,
Thanks. Will take note.

Hi sp,
After you remove the strings at the side of the bean, did you remove the beans inside and just blend the beans alone? Or did you blend the whole thing including the 'outside pouch'? (hehe hope you get wat i mean)

Sp

Nope...havent tried their recipes cos bb is just taking brown rice porridge with mashed veggie..waiting till bb can take fish & meat then will refer to the recipes...hope she'll like cos so far, her porridge is rather bland

weiwei,
Would eating papaya or banana help? My bb oso had hard stool so introduce her to papaya recently...seem to help leh

Hi LSM,
hv tried papaya, though is effective, didn't dare to give everyday (will cause bb's skin to be orange?) her constipation has been for a week. PD advice to give more water, fruit n prune juice. But my dd don't like to drink water. Hv tried adding Delrosa rosehip, she still dun like. Hv tried lots of method to make her drink.

My PD said can gv adult's prune juice if can't find, however it will be sour for dd to take. How?
am at my wits' end.

Hi weiwei,
Is your baby on formula milk? For my bb, she was constipated when she was taking Mamil Step 2. After we change to Similac, so far she poop everyday and the stools are softer. I saw Heinz has a baby juice with prune and apple i think. Not sure its for how many mths onwards. Maybe you can check. Its a small bottle.

Other than papaya, you can give bb apple and banana too. I find banana helps.

hi, quackers,
re: green bean
my hubby steamed the whole thing, bean pouch with beans intact, keke.

hi, L S M,
re: brown rice porridge
may I check with u, did u use the whole grain brown rice or powder type? if using the whole grain type, how long did it take to cook it into porridge? I tried cooking it over the stove, 1 hr later the grains still "rice" and never even start to break up, sigh.

Hi sp,

I use the whole grain brown rice to cook porridge too. But before cooking, I wash it and grind into very fine. After cooking for 1 hr, it will be very soft.

Hi weiwei... which brand of prune juice were you looking for? I buy Gerber for my boy

Try Giants. I usually get it from NTUC or Giants. Try and stock if you can cause the prune juice sells fast.

You working? If you are desperate... I don't mind sparing you a bottle or two. I work at HarbourFront.

weiwei
Have u trying giving your bb oatmeal cereal? My ds oso have mild constipation on rice cereal until I start mixing in oatmeal cereal. He now poos everyday.

Hi sp,
think i will try out peas first. does your baby like the green bean?

When did you start giving your bb cheese? And what brand and type of cheese did you buy?

hi, quackers,
err, I did not try offering green bean to my bb by itself, so not sure if he likes it. He ate it together with sweet potato, pumpkin & 2 tsp rice cereal.

quackers, Odie, ixwong,
thks for the feedback

quakers, duno is it due to FM? Hv switch from enfalac HA to enfapro A+ recently leh. When she poos, her whole face will turn red last nite, and in the end...nothing. Then poo this morning. Can see all the small pcs of veg....yucks! If she unable to poo that day, will pass lots of wind during sleep at night.

I am SAHM, Odie, dun think can get fm you, but really appreciate
which NTUC did you get fm? I will try Giants too.

ixwong, where to get the oatmeal cereal? wld like to give it a try.

weiwei,
My girl had constipation once and that was the worse, she poo only on the 4th day. But my PD told me that by 3rd day, have to use supporsitory (not sure if i spell correctly) already. Another way that i tried was giving her barley water and i find it helps too. Buy china barley. My colleague taught me to use this in place of water when making milk. Cos it doesn't taste very nice when taken on its own and bb may not want to drink.

quackers,
I hv tried yr method of barley water. How many times can i gv my dd per week? I used the fine pearl barley, is it ok? as for the other method, is it something to put into the anus? last nite, when i see her having difficulty, i almost wanted to rush out to buy, but it was vy late liao.

weiwei,
I think my mum said twice a week is ok. I am not sure about fine pearl barley. The china barley that i bot is a pre-packed one. Maybe you check with the medical hall. Yes the supporsitory is like a bullet where you insert into the anus. I am not sure if you can buy from outside but you can get it from GP or PD, better to stock up some.

Hi quakers... I started giving cheese when my boy was close to 7 months. Actually when he was 6 month old the PD had already approved it. I buy Philadephia cream cheese and spread it on bread. The other day I melted a piece of Kraft singles.

Weiwei... its ok. I bought it at Marine Parade and Tampines. You might want to try your luck there. Alternatively... try Toys R Us. I have seen them selling Gerber juices. My boy started having constipation too when I switch him from Enfalac A+ to Enfapro A+. I suspected that it was the forumla too but PD said not likely. In the end I had to rush my boy to the PD on the 2nd day of CNY... cos he hadn't poo for 3 days and I could see his poo poo stuck at the butt hole. He just couldn't push it out. Oh please do not try and buy those enema (can't remember the name which they use on babies) over the counter. PD advised that babies are too young for self-administering of such medication. Might cause him or her to bleed... so it is better to bring the baby to the PD if it gets really bad.

Hi Odie,
The Philadephia cream cheese is it the one in a round tub? I bought a box of laughing cow small cream cheese cubes. Not sure if this is ok. cos when i read the contents, it contains skimmed milk. How did you give your boy bread? After speading the cheese, did you tear into very small pieces. What bread did you use?

weiwei
I got the oatmeal cereal from Brown Rice Paradise at Tanglin mall. Either Earth best or heathy times are ok. Costs abt $7 for a 225g box. A little ex cos it's organic. I heard that Vitakids at Forum Galleria oso carry this, but have not bought from there yet.

As for suppository, can get from Guardian (brand is glycerin, I think). I use the gel bullet type. Heard from GP that shouldn't use the water type cos may puncture the anus if we are not careful....

Hi Quakers... not sure if skimmed milk is ok or not. You might want to check with PD. Yup... it is the round tub. Got that because alot of pple tell me that it taste good.

I basically finger fed the bread. Tear and feed :p My MIL actually cut into very small piece using a knife. My boy enjoys bread alot.

Bought the bread from Four Leaves.

Hi ixwong... this is the first time I ever heard of the bullet type. Learn something new!

hi mommies, side-track, questions on switching from infant FM to 6mths follow on milk (fm Nan to Similac).

I remember the research staff saying to mix (for 150ml):
a) 60ml similac FM with 90ml Nan, gradually,
b) 90ml similac to 60ml Nan, then
c) 120 ml similac to 30 ml, and finally
d) 150ml of similar (by 6mths)...

Question: how long to use on (a) before proceeding onto (b) etc ? Does the whole process last one week or over 4 weeks ?

Hi RayRay,

My girl was previously on Mamil Step 2. When she was switching to Step 2, i mixed Step 1 and Step 2 for her. But recently i switched to Similac cos Mamil gave her constipation. And I just make Similac w/o mixing mamil inside. Actually the purpose of mixing is to get baby accustomed to the taste. For me, my girl seem to prefer Similac.

I think I saw b4 Mamil Step 2 has this instruction leaflet that says the mixing is only for 3 days. E.g. for 3 oz,

1st day, 2 oz step 1, 1 oz step 2
2nd day, 1 oz step 1, 2 oz step 2
3rd day, 3 oz step 2

But i guess its up to you to mix if you still have a lot of the previous milk powder left.

quackers,
I will chk with the medical hall.

Odie,
is your boy ok now? will take note on yr advise. hehe....also going to try cheese with bread too.

ixwong,
am going to get the suppository. i also duno that there is gel or water type. thks for telling

my gal poo today, but not as soft as before, I gv her apple-prune juice that i can find nearby. Going to stock up the necessary this wkend, thank you sooooooo much for all the advises!

quackers,
I fed my bb green bean with rice cereal last nite, he likes it leh, open mouth big-big to eat, keke.

weiwei_m,
so happy yr gal's poo is ok.

weiwei... glad that your baby has finally pooed. Try and stock up the prune juice ;)

My boy has recovered. Going to bring him to the PD tomorrow for his preventive flu jab.