Advice on Myanmar Maid

Hi,based on our recent experience..you can actually send maid home on the day before you collect new maid from agent's office the next day..so, you end up just maidless overnight only..our same agent agrees that better to send maid home then be transfer as it is more cost savings for employer..cos, some transfer maid may last minute decided to go home instead of allow herself to be transferred after 15days with them..

HiHi.. I've just employed a Myanmar maid and am feeling apprehensive!!! Not sure how bad her English will be.. :s just wondering if anyone has a timetable/schedule for maids to follow?? would appreciate if you could send it to [email protected]

Thanks so much in advance! :)

honestly, never hire Burmese maids. Even their neighboring richer thais don't employ them coz they practice black magic

I have employed 6 Myanmese maids by now (myself and for my sis) and they are fine lah.....they just want a job, like all domestics helpers.

In fact, I had 1 Fillipino helper, 2 Indonesian helpers and the rest all Mayanmese. Okie so far. One if them is very very kind, even taken care of patients with Aids before, but that is 4-5 years before she come to Singapore. When I shaved my head for Singapore Children Foundation "Hair for Hope", she also went shaving with me.

My Burmese maid starting working with me since mid Aug. We did not ask for any training by the agent cos we thought they might just teach differently from wat my mil would teach. It has been 2 mths now and my mil said the maid was so far the best among those previous ones in terms of skills for housework. But recently i notice she wasnt TAT good and i cant help but notice tat she is getting very used to my house and family that she feels so much at home as she started reading our papers, having her opinion against wat we instructed.

Yesterday i was chking on my son on our wifi camera, i heard maid telling mil something abt my instructions, and my mil actually file her complatints to the maid abt me! I feel very sad. I feel tat the maid is coming inbtween my mil and me. And at times, when i instruct her wat to do, she dun do it right away as instructed. Last wkend, i had a shocked of my life when she asked me to go bath before she washes my toilet at 10am in the morning! I told her she can wash as must as she likes, i am not bathing.

In a way somehow, i think she is disrespecting me. but according to 1 of my frd, she said burmese maid talks like tat. but this is rude leh, i duno how my frd can put up with such attitude. As for my mil, she has been very particular abt maids performances, but she has nv say anything bad abt this maid over the past 2 mths. I find tat she can be quite cunning and acts blur. Always covering her mistakes with her smile. I will have agent talk to her on respecting her boss. Hopefully she will improve.

I have a new Myanmar maid. As I'm a new employer I never thought of holding on to her h/p. She keeps her h/p in her shorts the whole day while she works. Her sms are more than mine, as I can literally hear it going off the whole day (I'm a stay at home mum ). She does not keep her h/p on silent mode. She hides in the toilet for mins - I assume using her hp. Today I caught her talking on her hp while ironing my clothes . I don't know how often she has been doing that, I assume very often ! I told her off. Now I'm worry she'll abuse my kid & dog when I'm not looking as both cant complain ! It's too late to "take" away her hp as she might get angry & my child & pet might get it ! I feel like changing her as I feel so lousy now. I cant control her behaviour at all. Plus she black face & blank face all the time !!!!

Maybe you can tell your maid agency and ask them to talk to her about the hp issue. If it doesn't work, then consider getting another one.

After my encounter with Burmese maid, I realized that you cannot be too polite or kind with them, have to set the rules since day one. If not, they will think is not a problem and they will abuse your kindness.

Hi Babette,

I think you should try talking to her or get the maid agency to do so. If it doesn't work, I think you should change her. If she's behaving so badly even though she's new, things will only get worse over time I think.

In the past, I was scared to change maids cos scared kids cannot adapt to new face etc so I hung on to one although she is terrible. She steal our things, is always lying, skiving, has zero tolerance for pain, super good actress and forever hungry (by noon, hungry even though she polished off 10 slices of bread that morning). A jumbo loaf last her just 1.5 days. She was in tears and used up a whole pack of plasters for a mini 2mm cut on her finger. Another time, she ate up 4 packs of Tom yum noodles in a morning and had tummy upset. She started crawling on the floor around the house like Sadako and we found her lying on the kitchen floor during lunch for which she told us she fell off the chair onto the floor! Brought to doc and was told it's just minor stomach upset.

We finally decided to send her back to agent... Supposed to be quietly done but my 6 yo son accidentally blurted out. Upon knowing, she kneeled on the floor and clung on to my hubby's legs like what you see in drama. We told her we'll give her a chance but she was doubtful. Next morn, while on the way to meet my mum to go marketing, she disappeared. We filed a police report and they found her next evening in CGH. Visited her she threatened is she'll rather die then go back. On the day she was supposed to be discharged, we received a call that she had tried to commit suicide by drinking alcohol rub in the toilet. Ended up spending close to $5K on her hospital bills which we can't claim from insurance as it's a mental/suicide case. Anyway, my hubby was just glad to get rid of this nutcase.

Just telling this story to let you know we should nip the problem in the bud before it gets worse.

I just got one. One word u need is patience. U need to teach m guide them. Very instruction base. Overall they r ok except English is a problem

Getting a replacement Myanmar Maid, my current Indo Maid is not getting along with my mother. But overall, she is a good worker. So not choice need to let her go. So now I need your advices:
How to communicate with the Maid?
Do you have any sample schedule?
Do have any rules set in Burmese?
Thankz
Evelyn

About 2months plus ago, I also got a Mynamer Maid. She doesn't not have an HP and no off days. She called home twice since she came to my house. She only helps to do housework and minimum cooking only. I ordering tingkat. My mum taking care of my kids. The plus points are she will do anything we wants her to do and she eats anything we give her. The unacceptable things are she does thing without putting her heart in it. You ask her to iron clothes she will follow the motion of ironing clothes, the clothes not straight also don care. You ask her to cook vegetables, the soup beside her start boiling and she just let it overflows out. Don care. Her job is just to cook the vegetables. Ask her to clean the window binds and the binds start to tear off, she don care. Just clean the binds until the whole things tear off and her job is just to make sure it is clean. She even attempted to clean the second one if I did not stop her.

I talked plus scolded her many times and things are not improving.

Any advices?

Hi firstda, after reading your post, your maid sounds like a robot to me, no feeling and do only with instructions, no initiative or brain to think. I think if her character is this way, then is very hard to teach, scold her also no use. Perhaps you can tell the agent and see whether the agent can talk some sense into her or not. Good luck.

Hi, need some advise here...

We just realised my current Myanmar's maid passport will expire in Mar 2015. She has been with us for 6 mths. Yes, we knew her PP would expire during her tenure, but just didn't take note of the date, until now. So her WP will expire in Feb 2015.

However, her performance has been quite bad, attitude is not that good, talks back and talks on her HP the entire time (even while doing chores) despite us giving her ultimatums. She does not need to look after my 3 kids (just help out occassionally), only do housework and cooking, send and pick up older kids from downstairs when sch bus arrives. We are actually planning to send her back to Myanmar. She has no more loan with us, so I dun see the need to send her back to agent and "recycle" her in our system and let another employer suffer. Will just get another maid from another agency. But just as we wanted to buy an air ticket, we realised she has less than 6 months left on her passport. Can we still buy air ticket to send her back to Myanmar? Or does she need to renew her passport first?

I got a new maid and I caught her eating my baby's formula milk using my CCTV when we are not at home. Is it consider stealing? Sending her back to the agent seems too light a punishment for her. Any suggestions?

Hi firstda,

She'll probably claim she was hungry, not enough food etc, although it is no excuse to be taking baby FM. Not serious enough to have a criminal record per se. It's like, eg. you caught her eating your loaf of bread instead of her own loaf (assuming you got a separate loaf for her) - is that stealing?
If she still has loan outstanding, you either wait it out (meanwhile, put in other measures to reduce other risks of her taking ur stuff esp where baby food items are concerned) and then send her directly home, or return her to agent now.

Hi firstda,

She'll probably claim she was hungry, not enough food etc, although it is no excuse to be taking baby FM. Not serious enough to have a criminal record per se. It's like, eg. you caught her eating your loaf of bread instead of her own loaf (assuming you got a separate loaf for her) - is that stealing?
If she still has loan outstanding, you either wait it out (meanwhile, put in other measures to reduce other risks of her taking ur stuff esp where baby food items are concerned) and then send her directly home, or return her to agent now.
She eat FM powder using her bare hand and not drink it with water. Anyway, she got a loaf of bread that she can eat anytime plus packets of instant noodles and instant coffee. She just worked for less than a month. I will incur a cost of $500 if I return her to the agent.

If she ate my foods, at most I just scold her. Touching baby's food is a big NO NO.

Wow. That's bad. Gotta argue with the agent regarding the $500. I would do that if it's me. Sounds crap, to be charged $500 for a maid that they failed to match suitably.

have one Myanmar maid who's been with me for 4mths by this wkend. everything is ok so far. she listens and asks if she doesnt know. but language (or rather pronunciation wise) is quite a problem. still trying to understand her. she understands the instructions very well. just that we have more problems understanding what she's trying to say sometimes.
Hi i'm also looking for myanmar maid. Can share w me the agency u went to.
Tkq

I have taken my fair share of Myanmar maid.
First one - told neighbour's maid that if you happen to work for a family with kids and you don't like them, just pinch and beat the kids while the parents are not looking. This way the kids will be afraid of the maid and will not go to her for anything. Hopefully get to change employer in this way too.
(Amazing train of thought)

2nd - came to our home and refuse to do housework. Sat in the living room and read magazines all day

3rd - was the best amongst the worse we had. Kept requesting to watch TV, get online to chat with frens instead of doing work.

So, I had enough of Myanmar. Probably it's the agent that I was getting from.

On the contrary, I have 2 frens who took Myanmar maid and have no problems

Any mommies considering a new/inexperienced Myanmar helper please re-think especially if you are expecting her to take care of your household chores and care for your children WITHOUT any other supervision at home.
It is a BIG NO NO NO.

My helper is new and inexperienced. My household is taking time to train her slowly and reminding her.
So far so good. WITH an adult in the house constantly telling her wat to do etc.

Most importantly, her personality is pleasant probably because she's still young.
If you are able to spend time to train, they will be fine, butt it takes ALOT more patience.

Hope you will not jump into employing a Myanmar maid with the expectations that they will be as fast / smart as Filipinos.
There is a communication barrier a BIG ONE. so be prepared to translate duties into Burmese and let them read.
Also, you will constantly need a translator else they wont understand what you're talking and will only "yes" "yes" "Yes" and end up not doing anything because they cant understand.

cannot multi-task.
Cannot speak english
Wont understand you.
Forgetful.

But...

submissive
polite
smiley

**the above is my observation from my helper ONLY**

There are good and bad. But i would rather have a forgetful maid than a smart alec...

Hi, my prEV maid was a Myanmar maid.. took me about 1 year to train her. Now I took a indon , but quite regret, indon higher salary yet very lazy and cannot take scolding. I had consecutive two indon , one left after one mth cos I raise voice at her as she did stg wrong. Second one say only want to bring my boy to sch n play wif him, housework dun want to do. I feel at least Myanmar u angrry still can scold them but indon.. totally at their mercy can't even chide them. .. and they cannot take hardship by 830pm go to sleep already... say finish work but all do half past six... not clean n shortcut. . So if yr myanmar if trainable and good attitude is still better than higher salaried indon that we have to please them more than they pls us

HI, I just got a new fresh Myanmar maid ....I vomitting buckets of blood :mad: talking to her. Her level of English I can say is zero. Simple words like hot, cold, in, out all don't know. Blab all the myanmar language. When I ask her "what?" she repeat the word "what". I have to act like and monkey to tell her what I want her to do. Further more she is very forgetfull. Today teach tomorrow forget. How can I entrust my bb to her to take care. Sigh I almost bang my head against the wall and SUPPER STRESS

translate your duties to her in a paper and get her to memorise. Also, pin her duty on the wall so she can check.

I have translated some of our house duties into Myanmar language.. if you need you can pm me. =)

Hi anybody tried Target Employment Service centre at rivervale mall? Can share your recent experience with myanmar maid?? What do you guys ask during interview??

I will never ever hire Myanmar maid anymore. I had 4 b4 n none can make it. We treated them well and its really easy work in my house. My son used to go to full day child care hence the maid was alone at home whole day till ard 7pm. Only need to do house wrk n mine is 4rm hdb... and cook dinner. Myanmar maids are very prideful, nv ever apologise even they made mistakes even show u black face n attitude. Steal money n my clothes, always lie to go out even on weekdays like her mother sick or whoever need help so need to send home urgently, my house was so dirty that there were cob web on the wall, my kitchen top from white becums patches of yellow (never ever used detergent to clean after cooking tho we told her numerous times), my hood was so oily that oil drips down, my floor tiles from light beige becums grey n many more! I had 3 indon maids b4 n they are much better than myammar maid. Pls think twice b4 u get an myammar maid. After i send back my last myammar maid, life is a bliss tho my husband n i have to do all the hsewrk n rush to pick up my son everyday.

I got my maid from Sin Yuan at hougang green recommended by hubby's friend. The agent is from Myanmar so she can speak their language. She help us to choose and select which one is better for us. Actually I'm very scared to have maid after hearing my friends complain and all the newspaper report. But because of some issues my mom and hubby wanted to get a maid. So we got one. I don't mind slow so long as she's hardworking.

So far she has been with us for a month so far so good, quite fast actually. She only need to do housework and assist me when I do cooking. So when I got nothing for her to do she just automatically tidy my wardrobe, shoes cabinet etc.
She's very alert for my kids also.
Not sure is it because her previous employer, as I heard they are very strict with her. She lost a lot of weight when she's with them.

I always let her goes to bed at 10pm, she watch TV and movie with us with she finish her housework.

I have a Myanmar helper, she has been with us for a almost a year as I let go my previous Indonesia maid thinking I could cope. Finally had no choice after I changed my mind and realised I needed a helper after all. My Myanmar helper looks 18, although passport says 25. She is diligent, shy and hardworking. First 5 months was terrible cos she doesn't know how to do anything or cook. We had communication problems and I almost gave up. But I persevered as I wanted to give her a chance as she look very keen and is gentle with my children.
Few months back I caught her secretly using my IPad. Despite knowing I have CCTV, I grilled her and gave her a chance to admit. She lied and it was my first time encountering someone who can lie and look so innocent. It took one whole day and she only admit after I show her my CCTV record. I told her specifically that I am ok if she makes mistakes, but don't lie, a simple sorry will do. She has a room and I even provided her a TV to watch. She has off day. But she doesn't like to watch tv cos she only watches Myanmar shows. Fearing she is bored I allow her to watch my iPad now, when I go for holidays.
Two days ago, I had a shock when I stumbled on my YouTube page history. It clocked almost 200 soft porn on YouTube. I didn't even know YouTube can have such videos. Even watch a video on "how to have sex positions". I was so disturbed especially cos my kids will use the iPad when we go home. After checking more history, I realized that the history shows every time I go on holidays and allow her to use my iPad, she immediately go watch soft porn on my iPad right after I leave my house. Each day she can watch 80-100 video clips. I am so deeply embarrassed so during my holidays I called her and told her I don't want you to watch stupid shows on my iPad. So she stopped. I have not yet gone home and am dreading facing her. I feel pretty disgusted that this little young girl taking care of my toddler is addicted to soft porn. Very lost and not sure how to handle her, sigh.

Nationality does not matter. Importantly, the maid must have a good attitude and character. Some Myanmar maids are pretty diligent but they are really devoted to their own religion therefore like what some mummies mentioned over here to take extra caution of some "magic spells". Frankly speaking, other countries such as Indonesia or Philippines, they might have their own "spell" as well so it is always to be safe than sorry. Just decide and choose wisely and install CCTV to check on them.

I had my first mynamar helper after I delivered my 2nd bb last yr. She is a helper fro hell. Her English no good nvm, i hv the patient to teach but her character has a big problem. She is so unforgetful in her daily work, always daydream, unhygienic, nv put on a smile, talks back, ungrateful and take us for granted. I tried my best to train her, patient with her (I'm actually an impatient person), my mil let her eat watever we/my kids eat (we give the best fishes to our kids like thread fin, cod fish, salmon fish). Most suspicious thing is she never fails to forget the dates when is time to call hus & send $ home.
After some time, we realised her "forgetful" is to tai chi some of her work to us. She curry favor my father in law & cause my in laws to quarrel often bcos of her. We realised aft the helper came, our family has alot of arguments cos of her.

My advice & from what I hv learnt....
Don't treat helper too nice or part of ur family. Must always draw a line with them. Give them at most 3 mths probation & if u find them not improving or no frequency with u & family, sent them off immediately, don't drag & nv convince urself giving more chances. I regretted giving so many chances to her & drag this for 8 mths.

I have am actually pretty through with having a maid especially one from Myanmar. To think that we spent one whole year training her up, even she don't know how to do basics like cut vegetables and wash toilet. So much effort spent and monies as the helper damaged many electrical appliances. We were prepared to continue with her as she is young and quite gentle with my children, although safety was a concern. I caught her back twice from the road rolling with my baby in pram almost hit by car cos she don't want to listen to me by using pedestrian crossing.
All these we let bygones and treated her with respect and care. Before we left for holidays gave her $50 do go shopping and buy anything she likes. When we return and found her addicted to pornography on our kids IPad, all I did was to talk to her gently and ask her to exercise or knit or call friends to keep her head off such porn videos. The next day she packed her bag and asked us to send back to agent without batting and eye.
According to our agent, we should not have spoken about her porn on my kids iPad. Should just act blur and ignore. Which now brings me to the point, are maids these days of such quality and including agents, they can condone such practices and ask me to ignore my maids porn addiction. I have very young children so it is only natural that I feel this way. Back in the 1990s and 2000s our helpers were Godsent. We treated them like family and they too. We still visit each other and kept a very strong friendship. These days, I suppose half of those in Singapore are here for holidays or as stepping stone.

jade88, its a new era now..

in 90s and early 2000s, u open their cupboard, its all plain white / yellowish ah-ma bras... now, wow... all the funny colors, patterns, thick paddings...
cannot compare, we just have to up our tactics and adapt to their game..

my bestie did this.

she negotiated the pay down to $480. though she had budgeted $600 per month.
so the balance, she used as carrot to incentivise her Indon maid..

like $5 per day if no mistakes, etc etc..
still, that day when i went her house, she opened her maid's cupboard, wow... even more pink bras than I have... power seh

Shearer, that's a good idea...incentives for the maid. That's true, my helper was so happening my neighbors say when we go out, I look more like the helper instead in slippers and shorts while my helper all groomed and dressy with make up haha!
I am perfectly fine with that, pink bras and all so long as they are honest and don't give me heart attack haha. So far, the last few helpers were utter disappointment and we miss our old helpers so much. Sigh. I don't mind giving hp and WiFi to them too, but when we give and inch, they take a mile and start to find excuses to stop working so they can play their Facebook hours and hours. Pretty much given up already.

we just have to remember that we are intellectually smarter than them, no matter what countries they come from... so, we have to put in effort to outwit them in their games...

Avoid this maid agency by the name of a fruit that Snowhite ate 5th floor Orchard plaza and branch at ground floor Roxy Square katong. The fruit put Snowhite into the coffin. Supplied crazy underaged myanmar maids.

This fruit put me out of employing maids for life. Almost ruined my 12 year old.

Please avoid this maid agency, Yan & Yan Employment @ Katong Shopping Centre. Bad quality myanmar maids. Beware.
Not responsive, unable to contact after office hour and bad attitude.

http://www.straitstimes.com/singapo...s-for-killing-employers-87-year-old-mother-in

Yesterday's news July 28 2015
Whatever the problems with maids, just make sure they don't end up hurting our families like this one. No one to protect us except us.

LOTS OF TROJAN HORSE OUT THERE. Maids came in with falsified papers and claims. It is a well known fact that teenage maids
1. cannot take stress & are not responsible for their actions
2. Impulsive in words and actions
3. cannot take criticisms
4. Defiant and stubborn
5. Poor EQ
6. Lack of working experience
7. Suffers more from emotional instability

Look at them carefully. They are TIME-BOMBS in your homes.

Global Recruit & Elevation is good. Their boss is from Myanmar so they understand their culture well and very responsible with the customers.

You need to be patience with Myanmar maid as their English is very very poor but they are better in picking up Mandarin.

Disclaimer: I am not affiliate with the agency.

I m helping my maid to remittance, Anyone know where to remittance money to Mynanmar, and also what is the chargers? where to get the cheapest service charge?

tq vm