Advice needed: is it safe traveling to Japan?

Anybody been to Japan while expecting or with kids after march 2011? Anybody can advice me what precautions to do? Thanks a million

hi, I personally have not visit Japan after the incident. But I heard places like Hokkaido (northern), Kyusshu (southern) are okie. Hokkaido is a very interesting place to visit. Lavender farms, Seafood Market (Hairy Crab- very nice!!)

Hi I went to Kyushu on Oct 2011 with my hub & my bb of 11 mths. It is also while there I suspected I've conceived my 2nd one.

Some thing to look out for:
1) Food - bring a lot of baby powder from Spore if your bb does not accept any other milk powder cos the local ones are all made in Jap.. there's no other foreign milk powder in the supermarkets. Prepare baby food also as not every bb is used to the Jap baby food. Mine hate it.. whether its the Jap instant porridge or the bb food.

2) Cold weather - its winter now so make sure u wrap bb up fully & moisturize well. I missed my bb ears during the trip & her skin peel off near the ears as it was too dry.

3) Onsen - no onsen for me even though I love it v much as I suspected I've conceived as the onsen is much too hot, it may affect the embryo.

4) Travel - F&E is best at a relax pace.. try not to over achieve. We did a self-drive so it's own time own target. Most of the time my bb naps when we move out to the next destination ard 9-10am each morn.

Jap is bb friendly so most places are accessible using pram.

Btw it's my 2nd time visiting Japan, first time was to Hokkaido b4 preggie.. nice place to travel too.

I am going to this April 2012.
I dont think it is an issue.
If yes, all the Japanese won't have healthy babies? We will be there for a week or two.
They are living there.

But recently I heard of lots of ppl after coming back fm Japan, they have high radiation levels in their body. Some preggie ladies r even ask to abort their bb as the radiation has caused damages to it.
I m getting worried as I m bringing my 2 young kids to Osaka in May. Now having 2nd thoughts....

hi xxqkcl, it's really up to you!

I have heard stories abt young kids being affected as well. If you have bought the tickets then go for it and take precautions!

If have not bought the tickets yet, perhaps change a destination just for a peace of mine!

those radiation stories are not true, it has been circulation in FB etc for ages !! just like those kidnapped case. Have we actually seen any real warning coming from Ministry of Health ?! or travel warning to japan cos of radiation, in fact it was full blast promotion on visit Japan in the last NATA !

working in front of your PC 8 hrs a day will have more radiation than a visit to japan ! Of course don't go near to the radiation zone in fukushima lah ..

Japan is really a beautiful country and is the Sakura season starting this week at Tokyo area.

Hi I definatley agree with loomi.
I am back from my trip to Japan with my family recently safe and sound. Didn't fell sick at all, young and old.

Ya those stories is from my friend's friend but how many experience it first hand?

As for the abortion, if so, Japanese babies will all be unhealthy. Do consult your Gynae or the right person to verify.

The amount of radiation for only a week or two won't bring harm . We are still eating Japanese food and no radiation?

Yes, the amount of radiation in certain country might be higher than in Japan.

Anyway is your choice to decide.
If you are planning for baby then maybe can give it a miss till after birth for a peace of mind.

Radiation will be there for up to 60 decades. So go future or go now makes no different.

The 'sakura' is really beautiful and Japan has so many things to see and good and fresh food to eat. I will definately visit Japan again.

I have a few friends who have high radiation level in their body after coming back from different parts of japan! And doctors advice not to have babies within these 10 years. So I think is also not advisable to go now if u're expecting. It's better be safe than sorry.

hi I am not sure how true it is about this radiation tingi. I am going Hokkaido next month and consulted a doctor regarding the rumors, on radiation which found on ppl who have came back from there. My doc said it is not true as if such thing were to happen here, the health authority would have alert all doctor as they would be the 1st to receive such alerts on health concern issues.

rachelle lee your very first post, you choose to tell people not to have babies for 10 yrs after a trip to japan in a motherhood forum ?!!
good lor you have 10 years to save up e on full mth presents for these friends who have high radiation !!
Pls dont scare people in such way on these untrue information

my friends (really my friends) living in Japan did volunteer work at tsunami area ... every weekend for a one or 2 mths .. they dont even have radiation problem...
your friend very lucky lor else they must have gone for a tour at fukushima nuclear plant !

I brought my 1 year old boy to Osaka last year and all of us are healthy with no radiation in us. It should be safe i guess, just do a check up when u're back =)

I went to Japan in Jul and Nov 2012. Was in my 2nd trimester in Nov. Rubella immunisation was zero - it happens in some ladies. Gyne said no difference being in Japan or Singapore when pregnant - lots of people. Ate sushi as well - freshest place to get it.
All of us are fine. We're not glowing green...

Hi hi, we did go to japan last year after much consideration, on feb i gave birth to a premmie with lung infection, dunno does this related or not but my baby is going to be 10 months old actual age n his head still not firm, the neurologist told me he might be spastic dhiplegic, pd said development delay, we do not know whether our trip to Japan might have sth to do with this, dun mean to scare you all, this is my own experience, thanks for all the responses