About c-section.....

hi jan,

c-section cut is a gentle 'smile' shape that becomes unobvious with time. It's very low at the abdomen and won't even show if you wear a bikini. In fact, if I don't point it out to my kid or my husband, they wouldn't have noticed it.

hi rains

will d scar turn to white color? i got a cut n stitiched up in my arm, n when healed, the scar turn color, ligther than normal skin color. v obvious leh. how many centermeters ur scar is? d stitch is it must removed? or doc used those no need remove threads?

jan jan,

The scar has become slightly lighter than skin colour, but since the skin below the abdomen is quite light, compared to our arms that are exposed to sunlight very often, it's almost not visible unless you purposely go and scrutinise it. I'm bad at measurement but I think it's abt 5 to 6 cm. I should think it also depends on the size of the baby.

I only remember the nurse coming to snip at some thread-like thing on the wound (painless) and thereafter, no need to remove any thread.

jan jan,

ya, the thread they use to stitch u up is supposed to the type that melts inside ur body after the wound recovers.

my skin is not very good so ended up when healed, got keloids... ugly.

like rains says, it's not visible even when wearing bikini cos it's cut below that line.

so the end result very much depends on ur skin. i belong to the type that my skin wont heal that well so the scar is more obvious.

Hi everyone! Nice to know your experiences. you all are brave ladies. I have just completed my 36 weeks and yesterday my doc confirmed that i have only one option i.e., C-section because my baby is breech and despite her best efforts she couldnt move the baby to head-down position. I am really scared about the c-section. How long does it take for the healing. and when can one breast feed the baby? how were you able to sit after the operation in order to feed your baby?? pls help i m really scared.

hi mokshika,

I did c-section also becos the baby was breech. I think most people will be scared of an operation. I might be going for another one again if the baby doesn't turn again and I'm very afraid too.

Healing duration differs from one person to another. Some say they are healed after two weeks, but I didn't feel healed until 3, 4 months later. I was scared of squeezing the wound when I walked although it wasn't painful anymore.

You can probably breastfeed the baby one or two days after the op bcos you would spend the first day on drip and locked in bed.

You can sit up after that 1 or 2 days but of course you'll be very conscious of your wound.

Hi Rains

Thanks for sharing this with me. I am also anxious to know more about breech babies. Was your first baby (who was breech)absolutely normal? I mean is there anything to be prepared for in terms of special care for breech babies? Also pls tell me do i need to pack baby bottles and formula milk for my baby to feed for first 1-2 days in hospital?? Thanks so much for your advice. i really need it.

mokshika,

Breech babies are absolutely normal. In fact, my mother said that old people believe that breech babies make cleverer children. They are only different in terms of their position at birth.

There's no need to pack baby bottles and formula milk when in hospital. The hospital will provide all formula milk if you ask for it. Once you've unsealed the milk bottle, don't feed it to your baby again no matter how little your baby drank the first time. I made the mistake of feeding my baby with the milk that she didn't finish becos it looked fresh to me.

I can absolutely understand your anxiety. I was in a worse state 8 years ago as I didn't have an avenue to clear my doubts.

mokshika,

I also went thru c-section 3 yrs ago to deliver my son due to breech. my daughter was born last year also thru c-section (due to size). nothing to be overly worried abt. just take care of ur wound. if u prefer to bf, let the nurses know, they will help u. Lying down position is most convenient. I can get out of the next morning and recovery was pretty fast.

not sure if breech babies are cleverer. my son's development are normal, in terms of motor and language skills. but he only walked at 18 mth

It's best that u try to relax and dun worry too much

thanks so much rains and wan. I know it is not good to be anxious but i m just not able to overcome my anxiety, esp with regard to "breech" issue. why do some babies choose to be breech? tomorrow i have to see my O&G. i will ask her this question. I have read that sometimes the mother's uterus is not in a proper shape creating hinderance for the baby to turn to head down position. Thanks to you ladies once again. keep guiding me even if i dont ask questions because this is my first experience.

Hi all. no answer to why some babies choose to be breech. but came to know that my water level is going down rapidly so doc might have to do c-section on 29th. if things remain in control i have chosen to go under surgical knife on 3rd october. just tell me pls do i have to remove my hair in the abdominal region or the hospital will take care of it?? Thanks!!!

thanks Karen. that has really relieved me. I was wondering how will i do it as i cant see my lower abdomen anymore because of bump. Thanks!

hi, yes, the nurses will help u do it when u check in. you'll also need to fast from midnight of the day before the op. on the day of the op, the nurses will come and give you an anema so that u will poop before the op.

basically c-section is like normal birth. the cut is 10cm same like full dialation. the drs will also have to push the baby out - so its like labour but u don't do the pushing. the recovery can be slower than normal birth and i lived on pain killers for abt a week. don't be hero. just take them! haha... no problem breast feeding just positioning abit lower - the nurses will help. epidural c-section recovery much faster than GA. you'll be in bed whole of first day on a drip - NO FOOD or drink although u can try to take milo (i did and threw up later). anyway you won't feel hungry cos you're on the drip. so tell your mom/mil not to cook any special food for you. if lips dry just suck ice-cubes. you'll throw up maybe once or twice, most of it is the left over medicine from the epi. the entire first day, you'll feel very very tired and very sleepy. if u have friends or collegues visiting, tell them all to come on 2nd or 3rd day - i promise you will feel and look MUCH MUCH better.

on the first evening, you'll feel like the room is very stuffy and hot (my room aircon was full blast!) and legs abit tingly, and you'll perspire alot. it'll be ok after 2nd day although you will still perspire alot in the night cos you're lactating. the nurses will check and change your sanitary pad every few hrs. in the morning of 2nd day, the nurses will sponge you and remove the drip and the urine catheter (yes, you'll have a urine cathether whole of first day while you're in bed)... that's when they use your own stick on sanitary pad. you must call the nurse when you want to get up and take your first pee after that. some people get giddy when they first get up. then you will be dying to shower and wash hair (not sure if you're the type that won't shower).

although you can walk by the 2nd day and by the time u discharge can feel pretty good, please don't go and do housework with too much stretching and heavy carrying (like wash & hang clothes) or get up and down too much after you discharge cos your wound is healing inside. some people do too much after c-section and then end up having to redo some parts of their stitches.

Thanks Orchid. Thanks so much for sharing these much needed details. Do you mean to say that on 2nd day i will be able to take shower!!!! if not then when would i be able to do so. Also pls tell me about the binders - which brand to buy and when to start using it and also how to measure the correct size?

MY op is supposed to start at 8 and i have to check in at 7. will the nurses do shaving and all within an hour's time??

Also pls tell me how long did u take to heal up?

Thanks and Have a nice weekend! (next weekend i will be with my baby in the hospital!!!)

yes you can shower on 2nd day... but some women follow the traditional confinement rules - like no shower/wash hair for a month which i didn't. i don't have binder brand off hand. i used mine on the 2nd day when i first got up. the nurse helped me put it on. it helps with the walking as it is abit painful to use the abdominal muscles yet.

your op is 8am? ask your hospital if you can check in the night before. i was in gleneagles. i could check in the night before anytime after 8pm so i got one more night in the hospital - this is part of the elective c-section package. i went in at abt 9-10pm then they did all the check-in procedures and questions and shaving then sleep... morning 6am woke me up to do the anema and take shower. by 730am wheeled me to op theatre.

you'll go see your gynae 1 week after delivery to check on your stitches. after that its another 4 weeks to check up. i lived on pain killers for abt 1 week. but for c-section the inside continues to heal. you might feel some twitching (not painful) near the op area once in awhile as the nerves are healing.

Thanks orchid for that invaluable advice. yes shifting to hospital a night before seems more practical because after reaching at 7, how would i be able to be ready for op at 8 am... Plus one is quite scared and anxious before the op. dont know why my doc didnt give me the advice to shift a night before so that i can be sort of settled down before op. I am at NUH, will have to check with the doc and staff about this option. thanks a ton. keep advising me. I need it!

mokshika,

must be feeling very excited now! my 2nd bb is 1-yr old today. it seems like just yesterday.

I also delivered early morning for both c-sections. was caught up with traffic jam due to heavy rain. usu take around 1 hr to register and get ready.

all the best!

Orchid
That was very detailed. Thanks so much for saying things that I never ever heard about from c-section. Sigh. But after reading your posts, I am beginning to dread c-section and hoping for bb to turn, but it's getting so difficult hoping for that. But at least you let me know what to expect.

Hi Wan. best wishes on the first birthday of your baby. Yes I am excited and anxious and worried and happy and.... so many emotions. Quite strange feeling but yes cant wait more to see my baby!!!!! thanks to you all for preparing me to face c-section.

hi karen,
well, the good thing abt c-section is that the whole thing is over in an hr from the time they wheel you in to when they wheel u out. very fast. no hours of labour pains. but got to be careful during recovery. just had my 2nd c-section in aug

Hi, wondering if Orchid or any other experienced c-sect mummies reading this thread still?

I will be going for elective c-sect in June due to medical reasons, and reading this thread has been very helpful. But I still have a few questions, so if someone could help me, I'd really appreciate it!

1) After the c-sect, does it hurt a lot in the following days? My hubby had abdomen operation last time, and he said he could hardly sit up and lie down, and sneezing, coughing, laughing & pooing all hurt. Is it really that bad?? Will I still be able to get sit up and move around comfortably to take care of my baby?

2) I want to total BF my baby, but I understand that after the c-sect, I have to be wheeled into a recovery area before I am allowed back to my room. Will they allow me to try to BF my baby in the recovery area, or when I get back to the room? Will they try to bottle feed formula milk to my baby in the meantime? I don't want them to do that.

Thanks in advance, and I think all you mummies are brave!

i had 2 c-sect.

you will be given a pressure bandage after the op, and it will be helpful if you can prepare your own binder.

you have to be careful when lie down and get up. for me, i dun have much problem as long as i had the binder on.

i bath my babies 2wks after op, no problem lei. breastfeeding also no problem.

the nurse brought babies to me as soon as i back to room. nurse will have to seek your HB permission to feed FM and will only do so if your baby's blood glucose is very low. anyway, baby got some reserves so can wait till you BF.

Hi gracian, thanks a lot for your advice, it's very helpful! I didn't know that they have to ask for permission before feeding FM. You sound like you had relatively little problems with your healing/recuperation. I hope I can be lucky as well
Thanks again!

<font color="aa00aa">Hi tubbymummy,
I had 2 c-sect oso. 1st c-sec was on GA as i failed my epidural. I only try to breastfeed my girl on the next day as i was felt pain on the wound. Plus my blood pressure is too low (fainted when i try to get up in the bed) and nurse advise me to bed rest till the next day. In short, 1st c-sec was not a pleasant experience for me as i cannot bend for 2-3wks due to pain.
But on my 2nd c-sec, i have more experienced , so i encountered less problem. This round i brought my own binder and request the nurse to put on my tummy after they push me to my room. Then i try to bfing my baby just hours after i'm in the room. And able to get down from bed the following day.</font>

tubymummy
i went thru elective c-sect as well, for me it hurt alot in the first few weeks, had to rely heavily on painkiller or not cannot take care of bb. took me quite a few months to fully healed. but i've some friends who said that it wasn't pain at all and recovered very fast, one of them even resumed her gym after a month!! so i guess it's really up to individual.

yes, they will ask if u wanna bf or go on formula, u can try bf ur bb if u are up to it, i only started on 2nd day.

hi tubbymommy, I had a long painful recovery from c-section. mine was emerg under GA, because I wasn't on epidural before the c-section but was already 10cm dilated so it was too late to give me epidural or to top up the painrelief through epidural line.

I tried to latch on with help from lactation nurses the next morning. but my bb had jaundice and needed phototherapy so I was advised not to latch him on too often and instead to express so that he can spend more time under photolight. He was supplemented with FM by the nurses cos the PD increased his milk intake (due to hydration needs as under photolight for 6 days in a row). I requested syringe feeding though so it'll be easier to latch him on after discharge.

Hi tubbymommy, I had quite a speedy recovery from emerg c-section in Oct 2008. The wound would hurt, but not a lot for me, and could move around slowly. Anyway I was given painkillers to take, which are safe for BF.

I was on full GA i.e. slept through the whole operation and only woke up the next day. I bf my girl soon after I woke up. However, I was too tired from the op, and baby wants to feed constantly, hence my family then opted for the nurse to cup feed her with formula at times. They did not opt for glucose cos' scared baby wld be hungry. I wanted to do total bf at 1st, but I guessed we had to do what's best for both mother and baby.

Thank you all so much for your input. I guess it really differs from person to person, so I'll just brace myself for the worst case scenario, and will also buy the binder and bring along with me to use right from the start. Seems like it helps with moving, getting up and down.

I'll let the hospital know my intention to total BF, but when the time comes, if I really need to do something else to benefit the baby, guess I'll just have accept it.

Thanks again everyone, you've been really helpful!

I was on C-sec with epi

yes you can BF v quickly. I went for my Csec (first baby) at about 5pm on Mon, out at about 6pm. Vomitted 3-4 times after op, but they cleaned me up nicely. By 7.30pm the nurses helped to position bb &amp; me for breadfeeding. I have told the nurses that I want bb to be on total Breast Feeding before hand.

For this first latch, the nurses will likely put you and bb on the horizontal lie-in-bed type of feeding position. Because my lower body was still numb, the nurses helped to roll me onto my side, with bb latched on to the breast on the same side and I supported myself with my arms after that.

Try not to bottle feed your bb earlier than 3 weeks if you intend to go on TBF. Reason being it is quite common for babies to develop nipples confusion.

p/s gynae wrpped me up real tight with the abdominal binder immed at end of op. Really helps!

here is my reply on another thread

C-sec with epi was the best thing that could have happened. Hubby and I would have missed out on sooo much if I had been on GA. The witnessing of our bb's birth, her first cry, her first breath ... was such an indescribable, joyful and divine experience for both hubby and I that we couldn't stop weeping inside the OT. Seriously, opt for Epi if you don't want to miss out.

My op was on 23 Feb 09 at Mt Al hospital. Anesthetist was Dr CC Loo (or Lu). Brilliant guy. I hardly felt anything when he administered the drip and the epidural (regional epi, much finer needle than normal).

Hi Bobo, I'm afraid you cannot wear contcat lens in the OT. In fcat they initially wanted me to rmeove my specs too, until I told them that I am about 800 degrees off in each eye so I would not be able to see anything at all without my specs. They allowed my hubby to hold on to my specs on my behalf, until, the actual "cutting" began, then my hubby was told to put on the specs for me.

Oh dear, so sorry to read of the bad experiences.

I am very blessed then, I delivered my bb girl on 23 Feb 09 at Mt Al hospital, via c-sec with epi. My wound healed really nicely.

I BF my bb less than 3 hrs after op, and had the urine catheter and drip taken off in less than 24hrs. Gynae wanted me to walk to toilet and pee naturally. Was apprehensive at first but did it anyway. Painful steps of course but I tried my best to take baby steps whenever possible throughout my stay and it became much easier over time.

by the time I was discharged and got home, I was able to move about my house a fair bit. In fact, I did most bb things yself as I don;t have a CL. Mom came over to help with housework and cooking mmainly. By the end of week 1 I was able to sneak out for Yakun toast. Still couldn;t bend down though, and getting in and out of bed (many times a day cos of TBF) was still a struggle but can be done. By week 2 I could bend. Still paranoid about coughing though. Had to cough really gently.

By now, 2 weeks and 5 days later, I can cough fairly normally, can bend down, sit on floor and get up on my own etc etc ... can do most things already. But of course I try not to carry heavy things.

My (superficial) wound healed really nicely all thanks to my gynae, whom I actually had plenty of beef with ... but turned out that he is absolutely brilliant with stitching. It is due to his stitching skills that I healed so quickly and with minimum pain.

Hi alfafa77, congrats on your baby girl! I'm also expecting a girl, and also planning to deliver at MAH too.

I also need to wear glasses, but my degrees not as high as yours, about 300 on each side. I was wondering, why was your hubby instructed to put on your specs for you when they started cutting? Are you meant to see the whole cutting up of belly and taking out of baby? I thought they will put up some piece of cloth in front of you so you don't actually get to see anything...

Oh, was your ab binder provided by the hospital? I was all about to go shopping for one already, when another mum told me that the hospital will provide it (chargeable of course), I need not bring my own.

Your recovery sounds very speedy, and I am inspired! I really pray mine will be quick and relatively painless too... How is your BFing coming along? Is your supply established yet?

Dear mommies, im new here and i will like to ask for recommendations for a gynae who is experience or gd in section c as im not any young and this is my first pregnancy, thus really nervous. Pls advise. Thank you

The binder helps to suppport the tummy after you have given birth, which is especially important when you have a wound there. Your gynae should have one to sell.

I went through an emergency C Sec in KKH on 22nd Aug 08. They gave me 8 hours of induced pain, but the cervix dint dilate.

I want to share especially this... C Sec is not that scary as they all say. I just turned a deaf ear to all the things said around me. I was in the Private Room in KKH and my gyneac was Dr Sadhana. It was smoooth like butter
The pain comes after a day. Binder is a must and it also helps in keeping the tummy in shape. My wound healed normally. Just lill precaution not to wear anything too tight around tummy. Thats all. eat healthy and stay happy. Motherhood is a wonderful experience. All the best wishes
Cheers, Priya.

I had emergency c-section. Due to deep transverse arrest, it was after 4 hours of pushing. full dilation. it was too late to give me an epidural. so it was GA. The pain was unberable when I regained consciousness. I was told under GA is worse than under Epi cos for epi cases, the pain slowly hits, but for GA, it is solely oral medication, and not concentrated pain medication to the spinal area.

hi all, i am new here and is considering C-sec because i am afriad of pain, injections and so on..i have some questions on C-sec. hope you can help to advise me.
why do we need a drip and urine catheter after C-sec? is it only required for C-sec under GA?
or is it required for C-sec under epidural too?
i think drip and urine catheter is very painful..i am sooo scared.

Hi Yunzz,
I'm the type who's afraid of injections etc too and rather low pain threshold but after giving birth, I didnt feel anything when the nurse gave me the drip and urine catheter..esp the urine catheter..I don't feel a thing at all. I suggest you read more abt giving birth via books or website(baby center) and do you have a religion? Do pray..for I did that and had a so call smooth delivery. Cheers

thanks genki for the assurance!!

as i am very scared of injections and i have never been on a drip before...it seems to hurt alot to constantly have a needle in your veins!

ya i think i better get myself a book...

nono, i am a free thinker :)

yunzz,

urine catheter will be inserted after thay given u the epidural.so u dun feel anything at all.but agian,it d epend s on yr dr whtehr to do it before epi or after.Drip is coz u will not be eating for serveral hrs after the c section.If teh anathetist is experence,u will not feel too much pain when inserting teh d rip and epidural.the needle will not be constantly on yr vein as teh needle will be taken out once the plastic is in teh vein.

c section ,to me is bearable.i operated on mon morning,walking a r d on tues,wed discharge. hope it helps.

get ur own binder, much cheaper. even if u dun hav one, (due to emergency c-sect or watever), get someone to go downstairs to their pharmacy and buy. the hospital will get from their pharmacy anyway but will mark up the price in ur bill!

hi my doc gave me a binder..quite exp, about $100. what is the normal price? is it necessary to get an extra one? do we need to wash the binder?

i bought mine abt $50 at the pharmacy, and i remembered i bought the more ex one cos the material was softer. KK pharmacy also sells at abt $50+.

my hubby bought the Osim magnetic binder which the sales person says will help in backache. I pass it to my MIL who has back pain after my 2nd kid is older. now that I'm pragnant again and will be going for c-section next Jan, will get it back from her.

Binder can be very hot so don't wear throughout the day can cause skin allergy.

my 1st c-section, 2weeks after removal of the urine catheter, i suffered infection and gotta be put on 1week antibiotic and gotta pump and throw my milk away.

so do take note to clean the area so as to keep it infection-free. for my 2nd one, thank God, I was pretty much okie... not much of problem. Most problem because it's a planned c-section unlike my 1st one which is a emergency c-section after 23hours of trying.

I guess not every hospital will provide the binder. At least for KKH, which is the hospital i gave birth to my 2 kids, they don't do so. but can always check with the Admission office of the hospital you're delivering at.

hi all mummies, i m new here n 1st time mummy, will go for c-section next mth in Gleaneagles Hospital, can anyone let me know which brand of the binder is good n which pharmacy is selling it?

wat should i prefer for the clothing? dress or button shirt with pants? do i need to prepare disposable panties too?

Hope someone can help me in this...thks in advance