A place for the TTCs.. (Trying To Conceive)

No she did not ask me to. Only to take blood test on CD21. Actually i requested a scanning to the nurse that day I call in the Hotline. But she told me that the doctor did not ask me to so I dun need.

I read on the net that is the semen analysis test showing that the morphology is less that 15% meaning this person has teratozoospermia.
<15% is mild teratozoospermia
<5% is severe teratozoospermia..

Meaning my husband actually suffer form teratozoospermia?

rain, oic maybe different gyne got different ways of handling the case. Maybe she will see the result of your blood test then advice you lor. I did my blood test on CD2.

Hi Smileybaby,

You mean you didnt hv the normal mense bleeding? Did u chk if u r prg?

Hi Juju,

Hey, did u chk if u r prg cos if urs continued for 5days may be is the spotting?

For me I think is my mense..cos after my lunch, I have seen blood stain on my pantyliner oredi n now experiencing cramps some more :-(

Hi Rain,

Yup my gynae said the chances of conceiving is on 5% if we do it naturally because of the low sperm count of 9%.I was really sad at first but then all this we cannot decide we can only try only the god can help us so I do not want to stress myself out anymore and it is a very tiring process

Hi Rain,

Me too did my blood test on CD21 days after trying out 3 cycles on my clomid.My gyane as well did not do any scanning when I visited him last week its only that he asked me to do HPT test in which the result was -ve as usual.OH no rain,it means my hubby too is suffering the same thing like your husband.Is he a good eater for your husband?Is he small built?As for my hubby he is a small eater and small built maybe it is due to that ...

Hi Unique,

I have already consulted my gynae on this spotting issue but he said it is normal so long I'm not preggy.I'm also confused with what he has said.I have been having stomach cramps and today the pain is even more just trying to endure this.My breast is also pain.Just hope AF will be here as I do not want to suffer this agony any longer.It is really painful.

Smileybaby,

Has ur gyane cfm u not prg? My mense was here tis afternn, now hv very bad cramp...not sure if it is due to the delay...me also dun understand y there is such a long delay for tis cyc..now wonder which cyc i shld base on next mth to noe I ovaluating

Hi Unique,

Me too feel the same way as you everytime this happens..My doc has already confirmed with that I'm not preggie after my last HPT test last saturday.So for me my menses is also irregular but I will just calculate my ovulation after my menses on the 11-17 will be my ovulating day

Hi smilebaby,

isnt is confusing...i understand they advise tat 14days b our mense is ard the time we ovulate....thus imagine my cyc last mth...i was ovulating on CD28/CD29...which was supposed to be when my mense is due!!!

unique,
that's not true. the 14 days before ovulating (known as luteal phase) is not true for all ppl. like for me, my luteal phase is 17 days. try to chart ur temp in fertility friend n they can analyse for u when's ur O date n ur luteal phase.

hi all..

i'm new here.. I need some advice.. can?

my ovulation period was between 14 - 19 Sept (i'm not really tracking my temp or anything like that. not even doing the ovulation test thingy so not too sure of actual date. hee..)

now i'm on CD32 (got my last menses on 2nd Aug. is this rite?)

i haven't gotten my menses for this month yet. How long do i wait before i should do a HPT? if i am preggie, will the test be able to pick it up (assuming that i did get pregnant on the 14 - 19 Sept)?

i've been experiencing occassional slight cramping in lower abdomen and a slight soreness in my breasts.. as if gonna get menses soon like that.. do you guys think i might be pregnant?

Sorry.. very long winded for a 1st post.. can't help it.. too many qn whirling in my mind now.

pls advise..?

Hi faith,

If you were saying your last menses is 2nd Aug then it's more than CD32 as at today. Or do you mean your last menses is 2nd Sept? Is your menses always regular? If your menses is always regular and your last menses was on 2nd Aug I guess most likely you are pregnant.

Anyone can advise? I am new and would like to learn more abt conceiving. I am abt 30 yrs now. Hubby and I are planning to have baby. If my last menses is yesterday and started from 29 Sep. How do I calculate my ovualtion period? When is a good period to try?

hi pekochan..

opps! i meant 2nd sept.. sorry..

my cycle has been averaging about 28.5 days for this year. I've tracked my cycle for the past 3 years.. it's quite regular.. Average over 3 years = 27 days. Max cyle length = 33 days. These last few months or so however, it's become longer.. dono whether it's because i've been TTC..

i have a chart for this year's cycle... can help see and advise? would really appreciate it.. i am wondering if these symptoms of cramping, backaches and sore breasts are PMS or preggie... sigh..

321634.png

This sounds abit silly but I've not been to a gynae before.
How to find a gynae and what do you actually make an appointment for? Like, u tell them straight that you're ttc? And does your hubby see the gynae together with you?

Unique,
thanks, but i'm not preggie. confirmed wif guarantee chop

miz hopeful,
delayed AF could also be due to stress... r u stressing urself out over getting preggie or work? if not, do a hpt test to chk... in the case of regular AF, charting ur BBT would be quite useful to point out the Ovulation dates. hope e info helps

Yuuri,
it's not silly not to have seen gynae before. i only made appt to see gynae in july tis yr when i decided i desperately wan a bb.
if u wan subsidised rates, u can go polyclinic to refer u to kkh.
if u r ok wif pte rates, u can jus call up kkh or any pte hospitals to make an appt.
jus tell them u wan to do fertility chks. hubby can opt to see gynae wif u, prob he can understand more. &amp; if gynae wanna ask ur hubby anything, u get answers faster

Hi purple,

The first day of menstruation is referred as day1 of the cycle. The length of the menstrual cycle is usually around 28 days, but it varies from 21 or less to over 35 days in a long cycle. Basically, whether your menstrual cycle is long or short, you would probably ovulate 14 days before the beginning of your next period. In other words for a short cycle of 21 days, ovulation will occur around day 7 and for a long cycle of 35 days, ovulation will take place around day 21.

You can also based on your cervical fluid. Approximately 5 to 6 days before ovulation the mucus starts to flow into the vagina. Your fertile time begins when you feel a sensation of discharge from the vagina. The mucus usually starts with a day or two of sticky mucus, which becomes increasingly creamy,wet,slippery and sometimes like egg white. As ovulation approaches, the mucus become more fluid and thinner. This mucus contain an elastic gel-like substance. Sometimes you can even stretch between fingers for a few inches. This fertile mucus helps to protect sperm from acid secretions in the vagina, nourish and keep sperm alive for several days and aids sperm migration.

Therefore predicting when ovulation occurs and based on the cervical fluid you can plan your BD session accordingly and increase your chances of getting pregnant.

Hi miz hopeful,

Preg symptoms and PMS is very similar. I think many of us here often mistaken it. Guess you have to wait for a few more days before you do the test. But if you are really anxious to know the result just go ahead and take the test. Godd Luck To You!

Hi yuuri,

You don't sound silly at all. I've just started to see a gyne this year. Usually we wil go to the gyne where people recommend, maybe our friends or relatives. When you make appointment you can tell the nurse you want to do a pre-pregnancy assessment. If you've been ttc for quite sometime then perhaps your hubby can go with you for the check up as well.

hi all gals,

i wonder if anyone can help.

I had an IUI on 19/09 Mon and a HCG jab of 5000 on Sat 17/09.

i had a HCG blood test 15dpo, the result of which is 10. normally, a non pregnant woman the result shd fall below 2.

has anyone else expereinced the same?

or could it be as what the gynae suspected, the HCG is just residual value from the jab taken more than 2 weeks ago?

<font color="0000ff">Hi faith,</font>
Only thro HPT or blood test then you'll know if you're pregnant. No point guessing &amp; thinking alone....go test &amp; you sure know the results yah?

hi babymaking, the only way to be sure is to do another beta hsg blood test 2 days after the 1st one. If it doubles, that means you are preggy.

Hi juju,
Thanks for ur suggestions. What's the diff between subsidised and normal rates? How much approx to pay? thanks

Hello pekochan,
Actually I've only been married for half a year but trying to have bb lah.

thanks very much for all the replies...
i think i'll wait a few more days.. then i'll do the test... not currently experiencing any increased stress other than the usual..

i'll just wait and see la.. maybe my AF will appear soon.. hehe

Today is my CD30 but AF is still not here yet.Having a bad stomach cramp the past few days and my breast is very very sore.Any medicine or anything that I can take to let my menses come so that I need not suffer this pain,I have already checked last saturday for my HPT but shows -ve

Yuuri,
subsidised rate in kkh is below $50 for the 1st consultation. but i'm not too sure cos i took pte rate, which is $80 for 1st consultation, $45-$50 for subsequent consultations

Gadis,
u can induce menses, i took progesterone from gynae. u can chk wif ur GP whether they have med to induce menses. BUT pls test whether u r preggie first.

Hi Juju,

Thanks for reminding me about progestrone,I still have some leftovers from the previous month.OK,I will just wait for a few days more till this weekend.If AF is still not here I will consumed progestrone.Thanks a lot Juju...Today is our first day of fasting for us muslims,and with my this stomach cramp I really feel so so painful and suffering

Hi milo,

Check with you something regarding OPK. Is it once you tested positive you don't have to test it again the next day? If positive meaning I can BD 2 days later?

elmo,

thks for the reply.

went to the gynae this morning and had another faint positive.

He prescribed some progesterone tabs and a jab to strengthen the womb and a weeks rest.

he can only cfm the pregnancy next wed.

Hi babymaking

I am supposed to do IUI this coming Sat too...but just discovered that I have UTI...so may have to postpone the IUI...
(((

Would you mind sharing with me on your IUI experience, eg how long you have been trying? was it painful, how long it took and where you did it? Sorry for asking so many questions...

halo piggymum

bbmaking did her IUI with Dr Fong. I think you are also with Dr Fong rite? Im doing my IUI next month

thks rain and piggymum for your well wishes. the pregnancy is not stable yet. on progesterone and jab till next week, where hopefully can see the sac.

the hcg level is rather low.

gadis &amp; piggymum,

IUI is insemination of enhanced sperm directly into the womb. Its a painless procedure rather like a pap smear. then you rest for 20 min or so before being asked to dress and go home.

the preparations involved...if u are not ovulating - clomid plus a hcg jab 36 hrs before the actual procedure.

you also need to be monitored via v scans at the clinic for ovulation. and then HCG is timed when yr follicles reach about 20mm or so.

no worries for asking a lot of questions, we all are facing the same issues and the gals here have also helped me out when i was first starting out this ttc journey.

all the best piggymum

Hi JCML/Babymaking

Thanks for your reply!

I am supposed to do IUI with Dr Fong this coming Sat...but he is away on duty travel...so have to go back to my previous gynae from Raffles..don't want to waste time....if I cannot strike, will go back to Dr Fong next month...

Babymaking - make sure you have plenty of rest! and wish you a smooth nine month!

Hi Babymaking,

According to my doc,my husband spermie the fertility level is only 9% .Very low according to the doctor the only solution for me will be IVF.My doctor did not mentioned this IUI thingy to me until today then I found out about this IUI.May I know what is the difference with this both?How much did you spend for IUI?Do you think I should give a try to this rather than IVF?Advise please clipart{kao_confused}

Gadis,
btw u need to take progesterone for 3-5 days (1 daily) to take effect. AF shld come after day 5 or 7. BUT u must do a HPT test before u take progesterone, ok? if preggie then dun nid to induce liao mah...
if not well, go see doc &amp; rest at home. if sick, u have to break fast &amp; eat

Hi Juju,

Previously I was on progestrone only recently my gyane has advised me to take clomid as progestrone is mild and im not ovulating after taking it but my menses still came after consuming it,that is the reason I still have some pills leftover with me.*Sigh*I'm having this kinda of phobia doing HPT test,as everytime the result will be dissapointing,what is the point right?So this time round I just wannna wait till my cycle reach CD40.Today I'm on CD30 so will just wait till another 10 days more..

Hi Gadis,

What Is Superovulation &amp; Intrauterine Insemination (SO-IUI)?
Superovulation is a procedure where two to three ovarian follicles (eggs) are stimulated and brought to maturation and ovulation.
It is usually combined with intrauterine insemination in which the prepared sperms are placed directly into the uterus. This procedure will enhance conception for the couple.

Who Is Suitable For SO-IUI?
Any couple who has unexplained infertility, mild male factor infertility, cervical factor infertility and mild endometriosis can undergo this procedure. The patient must have normal fallopian tubes and her husband should have sufficient good quality sperms.
How Is The Procedure Done?
The procedure is done on an outpatient basis.

Fertility drugs are given for 10 days or more to produce between two to three mature follicles. These drugs may be either injections (gonadotrophins) alone or a combination of tablets (Clomiphene) and injections. Ultrasound scans are done at intervals to determine the number and size of the follicles before another injection (HCG) is given for final maturation and subsequent ovulation of these follicles.

On the day of the insemination, the couple has to bring the husband's semen sample to the hospital. The semen is prepared and the motile fraction is then placed into the uterus using a fine catheter through the cervix.

The patient is then started on medications to help improve the chances of implantation and thus pregnancy. A blood test (serum progesterone) is taken seven days after the insemination to monitor the effectiveness of these medications. The patient should return to 17 days after the insemination for a pregnancy test.

What Is IVF?
In-Vitro Fertilisation (IVF) involves putting the eggs and sperms together. By natural selection, the egg will usually allow only one sperm to enter and this usually leads to the fertilisation process in the laboratory. After fertilisation, the embryos are allowed to grow for a short period of time before being placed into the uterus. A successful pregnancy can be confirmed about 2 weeks later.

Who Is Suitable For IVF ?
IVF is the only fertility treatment for women with irreparably damaged or blocked fallopian tubes. IVF is also offered when infertile women cannot conceive with simpler methods of treatment for conditions such as endometriosis, ovulatory dysfunction, unexplained infertility, sperm disorders and immunological problems.

What Is ICSI?
Intra-Cytoplasmic Sperm Injection (ICSI) involves injecting a single sperm into each egg to allow fertilisation to occur in the laboratory.

Who Is Suitable For ICSI ?
ICSI is recommended if your husband has poor quality sperms or if you have had difficulties with fertilisation in the past. If this is your first ICSI cycle, it may also be combined with regular IVF.

Hi Rain,

Thanks for the above fruitful information.At this moment of time I do not know which treatment should I go for.For IVF my doctor has informed me of the cost that is involved around $8000 but for ICSI do you have any idea on the cost?We have yet to decide which treatment to go for,we want to try naturally maybe until end of this year,if we do not see any results I might take one of the above options I'm just scared and worried about IVF cos its a long process and it must be a very painful steps to take