A fresh thread looking for JURONG mummys...

Ashwen,
I just remove my boy from CC. temporary hold first. I have put my 2 kids name in the waiting list since OCt 09 but at blk 67++. Not sure when they will call me. They told me 4 yrs but my feel to the teacher that attend to me isn't v good. i never view the place, ask me to fill in the form n tell me the cost. After that,. form in the file n I left.

My neighbour told me the MFS downstair not v good but the one at clementi is good. There is once they lost control of the kids cos my kids mischief, he kept blowing bubbles thus all kids run to him. 1 - 2 fall down while catching bubble. End up they get another teacher to help and bring the kids back.

I hear Qdee at Yunnan is good. Some like to go school after 1 week.

Ashwen,

I registered w Blk 648 once u informed us abt d new opening of MFS lo. As for nw, my boy is not 18 mth yet, onli will reach his 18 mth mark ard end May this year.

Ashwen,
I don't really remember le
should be in October ba..
Will put him to ichiban first but once mfs got place I will shift him there, save transport money la

Do u have any contacts for reliable contractors to repair SANITARY water pipes? As d pipe in my toliet has started to leak & my hb had tried to use d special hardware tape to paste on it also no use. I guess need to replace d whole pipe tat supply water to my toliet. Many thz

butterwaffles: "Very daunting, with all the high fees and expenses! This morning saw the papers and i was surprised that financial assistance was previously only available if household income is 1.8K and below. That's madness, meaning daddy & mommy each must earn $900 and below then can receive financial help? Kaoz, if me and my hubby earn 1.8K per month we won't even get married, much less have kids."
well said!! =)

ashwen: the environment in 648c is like JP or a hdb type?

connie,batbat: that fateful day happened on the day i brgt ALL my documents to sign my girl up. I was walking round the corner of the sch, then i heard a techer saying loudly and rther fiercely, : GIVE/SHOW (i forgot) ME UR HAND!! she said this a few times la, at that pt of time i was still far away from the entrance. but i walked slowly so i can hear n see wat's happening. as i walked nearer, i saw the teacher glaring at a little indian girl (if u been there recently, u'll see a little indian girl in the toddler class) with all other kiddos looking at them too. as i walked, i passed a pillar and hear a SMACKKKK. it's a very unmistakable sound lor. so i spoke to the center in-charge. she says when investigate. soon after, the director called me, to explain why the smacking happened and to say that it's a one-off incident (DUH, who wldnt say that!!). she also said that sometimes parents dun see the full story so there may be a misunderstanding. as if watever had happened before wld justify the smacking. *rolls eyes* anyway, the reason was : the little girl SPILT her drink. @_@" ridiculous! the girl is only abt 20mths old i tink. expect her to handle a cup skillfully? then shldnt the teacher take the opporunity to teach her how to handle it properly and to clean up after the spillage? nonsense reason, nonsense explanation.

i told my neighbor who intended to send her girl there as well. she commented that when she herself was visiting with her girl, she tot she saw the same teacher twist her girl's wrist. she asked wat happened, and the reason was cuz her girl touched the paints. another ridiculous reason. but my fren didnt kick a fuss cuz she wasnt sure if she saw rite. but aft wat i told her, she kinda confirmed it.

another smh mummy who later became a gd fren, also mentioned that she had bad experience with CH when she sent her girl in few yrs back. n she also witnessed another teacher (who's not in the jw ctr anymore) smacking a child. but then, that's abt 2 yrs bk so no so relevant la.

so... there goes the story for CH. post here cuz im not paisay to say it and i dun feel the need to protect them. it's not rite to hit kids esp kids of toddler age. all so vulnerable and cant talk! so cham if kena smack/ twist arm.

re: SAHM
any jurong sahm here??

Jamie,
Oh, then wat my son said might be true lor. Cause he is a kid so not sure whether to believe.

Is the indian teacher slim or slight fat type?
There is a new indian teacher that teach PG1. Not long after she came, my boy rejected school badly. My maid also v paiseh when carry him to school, she scare people thought she beat him.

Connie: wat happened to ur boy? The teacher is chubby ba. Wears a tudung. Indian muslim. Yes, I tink she is relatively new. In fact I asked the in charge, n it seems like most of the "teachers" there are still undergoing training. Gg to get their cert/diploma she said.

Jamie,
I know there is 1 chinese that are undergoing training. She is good too cause my boy like to communicate with her. He will ask her to change diaper for him too. Inform her he did not wear diaper when reach school.

Lucky I withdraw him last year.

connie, i think qdees is not cheap either, hahaha...You should take a look at the place personally, during mornings. You'll get a better idea because frankly, once our kids enter the gate, we don't know what happen...its really trial & error, unfortunately

yun, my husband suggested the same thing, that if a PCF near my parents' place has a vacancy, can transfer my boy over. But i don't think i will, if he's settling well at Cambridge. The last thing i want to do is change centres, don't wish to make my boy adjust to new people and environment again...But i understand for your case, because really very exp when we take into account the transport fees!

batbat, don't worry ok...are u considering getting another centre after some feedback from the mummies here? I understand how it feels like, to get bad feedback when you've thought you've finally settled everything...Any plans? I also feel apprehensive about my decision on enrolling my boy at Cambridge but i tell myself i've tried my best, i'll take 1 step at a time...

connie, ashwen's boy at 648C is the HDB type. My boy's centre Sparkletots at blk 922 also HDB type. I have to say nowadays, new centres even under the void decks, can be pretty impressive, keke. Important thing is the space lar...Maybe you can take a look, since it's so near to the mrt.

butterwaffles
Well, I think any one hear this will be worry.
But, I believe if this particular teacher is "bad" n "hit" often, sooner or later, she will get caught.

Yes, just take 1 step first.

Batbat: yes worrying so I instantly dropped them. I won't put my girl in an environment whr e teacher has abusive streak. Its a "jus in case" thing. I felt really lost too when I realised tt my last resort is gone. No choice lei, hv to slowly research again.

i think not easy to be SAHM, cos meaning only one income...hehe....if can survive on 1 income...then can be SAHM...haha...but how arh...everything is so exp

connie: wahaha!! gd way to put it!

cutiebb: yes, i tried looking for job recently. wow, wages have not increased but prices are making their way up. i told my hb, no wonder ppl always complain things are exp, it's probably also cuz salaries dun increase enuf. CHEY!!

Jamie,
Its true. My co annual increment only 3%-5%.
Inflation is higher. What job r u looking for?
I have friend looking for production planner, sales coordinator.

Jamie ya lor...this is very common lor...our salary increase so little every yr and things are increasing their price so much every yr, confirm cannot balance lor....

u didnt work after u hv ur #1?

Connie: to b honest I'm looking for no brainer jobs like recept n stuff so I can go off on the dot. But so far, no response lei. I even omitted my degree quali, still no response.

Cutiebb: I married in june 08, quit in sept 08 n somehow preg n I didn't knw. Lol! So frm sept 08 till nw not working. I can't go lei cuz my maid useless n mum nt keen to help jaga my girl.

Batbat: thr's a playgrp at blk 640 for bubs 18mths up. I went to see liao. E teachers nt bad, bt I find e in charge abit "cannon". Lol! 2hrs daily. Tink they gg to come w 3 or 4hrs option too. $140 a mth.

Hi Jamie,

Me "in e same shoes" as u, a deg holder but quit my job for my hb & nw my boy. Hiaz. If I work, will also find either part time or those can go hm on d dOt. Coz me can't depend on my hb & no parental support too.

I'm also looking for CC or playgroup for my boy when he reahes 18mth.

Connie: gd to find plc whr u can go off on e dot lei.. At least u can fetch ur kiddo frm cc on time. No nd so cham let him/her sit thr watch tv.

Jamie,

He's nw coming to 15mth, a Nov baby.hws abt yr gal?

Ya lo, my previous also goes hm on d dot coz gota company transport. Keke.

<font color="0000ff">I've got a position open. Interested may PM me

Position: Sales Administrator
Co. Location: Tuas
Working Hrs: Mon - Fri 9am - 6pm, Sat 9am - 2pm
Job Scope: Prepare quotations, answer phone enquiries &amp; walk-in customers, liaise with freight forwarders for overseas customer shipments

So far, my colleagues have been going off on the dot every day. No need for OT at all.</font>

batbat, that's true, anyone who hears this will be worried. Maybe when your kid starts there, you can voice out your concern. Also need to 'spotcheck' the centre regularly. Sometimes, out of the blue, i will fetch my boy earlier. So i know what they are really doing there. Because after a while, they know around what time you will fetch your child, they will 'prepare' first de. Btw, i'm still waiting for my boy to walk...once my boy can walk steadily le, i will look for weekend programmes for him to join
Maybe we can look out for such programmes together...Or we can simply meet up and go for a swim! Hahaha...My boy recently managed to stand up on his own without any support, everyday will walk a few steps to entertain me but that's about it, hehe.

cutiebb, i agree...how to survive on 1 income unless this 1 income is more than 10K. lol. I find no point surviving on 1 income if need to struggle or cut down on alot of things. Cutting down on luxuries and wants cannot be helped if we survive on 1 income but not to the point of really cutting corners everywhere. Like that i cannot accept, i will feel very miserable lor...Actually, another reason for not having more children might be the discouragement from other family members, hahahaha. My parents are not supportive of us having #2 as they feel my husband is not suitable to be a father :p My dad went as far to tell me about the teachings of buddhism, on how actually children are debts we have to repay this lifetime as we owe them in our previous lives. So everything is fated, do not force. Wuhahahaha. Did you read the papers on how half the people surveyed say they will have children or more children if their other halves are supportive. So i think it's not so simple, it's not just the money, the subsidies, the grants. It's really about the intangible family and spousal support. Such things cannot be measured in monetary terms.

re: SAHM
I won't mind provided my boy is older and he really needs help with his schoolwork. Heh.

re:jobs
Honestly, im only in my current job because i can leave on the dot and my boss is extremely understanding when i have to take urgent leave or childmc. She even encouraged me to have #2. The work is really hmmm....can be done by O level holders i feel, hahahaha! But i have nice colleagues and a nice boss so i feel i shouldn't ask for anything more
I have to say when it comes to jobs, i'm pretty lucky. I've never really been tortured by bosses. Even when work is really alot, i can handle as morale has always been high.

mummypooh: my girl is 20mths now. may 2009 baby. =)

butterwaffles: i too, have very little support frm my mum altho we are staying tog. my maid is practically useless and self centered. she can even tell me that my girl dun allow her to put her for nap and that is "not my problem". b***h. my hb says that 1 alr so jialat, and im still wanting #2? he is not keen at all. =(((

jamie, woah, your maid is like qian jin xiao jie?? She's hired to help, if she cannot help then kick her back please! Goodness...Oh, your mum is staying with you all?? Your husband ok ah? Actually, at least your husband tells you straight that he is not keen on #2. I can tell that my husband finds our boy really demanding most of the times and he looks pretty sick of the situation but he still says we should work towards #2. But im very sian because most of the times, everything falls on me. I don't see the point of having #2 and going through everything all over again on my own and it'll be tough because will still have #1 to handle. Even if he earns enough to let me stay home and have #2, i still don't really want to because i'm really very tired. Maybe when my boy is older like 3 or 4, i might change my mind but for now, i don't even have energy to do the deed, much less try for #2. Alot of people tell me by the time our #1 is 3 or 4 years old, too late already because takes time to try for #2 also...so sometimes, i feel confused as well but everytime i imagine myself pregnant again, i cannot accept. Sigh...when my boy turns 2 next year i will see how. If my husband still bochap, then i will tie my tubes up. No need to think so much liao.

butterwaffles,
same like you, everything about my boy are falls on me. My hubby very lazy one, when only I raise my voice he then action, very jiatlat...

I really pei fu my elder sis, she herself take care of two children (15mos apart only) without maid and no childcare.
She tells me can do it de.. keep asking me not to send my boy to childcare very pitiful.

JOBS :
envy you all who are working at least got own income.
althrough My hubby gave me 75% of his salary but I responsible with all the bills and household needs.. sometimes can be stressful lol

Yun &amp; butterwaffles,

I guess most of d Hubby r d same la, v dependent on us unless we r sick or angry then they no choice gota to help out lo.

Jobs,

Same,, though I can access to his monthly pay &amp; settle all d bills. It can never be d same compared to d monies I earned myself, dun need to tint twice b4 buying. Wahaha.

butterwaffles

Maybe tell your husband if he want a 2nd one, please start to "help" and "attend" to 1st one at least 50% of the time.

All husband the same.
Do you mummies at times "need" to kick husband up during middle of night if baby cry? I does that pretty often. Haha..

Jobs
Oh, I can't live without a job.
I am not the kind of person to "stay" at home and look after children. Dont have the patience. But, short period still ok. Even if husband is millionaire, I still want to work. $2k pay is also fine.

Yun
Wow, you so luckily to get husband 75%.
Frankly speaking I wouldn't mind.
I had been proposing it since marriage. Answer is "nope.. and give me
sob sob face". I want 100% of his pay and daily give him $10 to spend only. Kekeke.. just a wish list.

CC
Starting to get busy with work.
So not much time to think about it.
When time comes, see how it goess.
Unless the sparkletots open near here (one to three stone away), then I will consider seriously.

Playgroups
My friend told me there is some special play group start as early as 8mths?
Maybe those music or gym kind?
Is it butterwaffles or someone mention going such special playgroup before?

Mummypooh, yes yes.. Really different .
But luckyly I don't need his permission to buy my own things and he doesn't know how much do I have in bank account ... Hahaha

batbat, I proposed $10 pocket money for him everyday but he said he needs money to take cab back home which can claim weekly and sometimes he will go to makan lunch with colleagues at restaurant so $10 is not enough

If I can choose, I will want to work

jamie_nov, icic...then not easy at all if u want to work, but now u still hv your maid? change bah since so useless

butterwaffles, i can understand hw you feel, its really not easy to oversee so many things by ourself....even sending to CC, we also hv to be prepared the falling sick n we hv to apply days of leaves...actually if i feel pity for my ger, i wont want to hv #2, i hope she has a playmate at home lar...also not easy to think of all the expenses growing up....

Re: Job
me confirm must work de, haha...cos i want to hv my own income then i can buy watever i want, if depends on my hb, everything also cannot buy de...haha

yun, you are a SAHM, of cos he expects u to do everything! He will think you are already at home whole day, of cos you do lar, not him what. But you agree to have #2 lar? If me i will think very long leh because i cannot cope with 2 on my own. Hmmm...then i think i'm 'luckier' than you in the sense that my husband gives me 100% of his salary to manage. Everyday he will take money from me. He doesn't want to know how much money he has, what bills he has to pay or whatever nonsense. He just wants to have money when he needs it, the rest he does not ask and does not wish to know. Even his mum's bills &amp; allowance are handled by me. His agents call me, they don't call him, they know no point because he doesn't know anything.

mummypooh, soli hor, when i was sick and my boy was sick too, my husband dropped us at my dad's place because he doesn't want to take time off work, he wants to finish his stuff, even thou the work is not die die must finish on the dot that kind. Even his colleagues suan him...hah. But forget it lar, don't want to help then don't help lor. I won't die, at most don't want any more kid lor...

batbat, i kick also no use, he won't/cannot wake up. From the day i went back home after i delivered till now, my husband has never woken up once at night. So what you think? I don't bother waking him up, by the time he wakes up i would have settled everything already. My boy can wail until my tenants wakeup but he will just zzzz or he will take blanket and cover my boy &amp; continue to zzz, haha. Yes yes, i was considering such programmes before, was looking at Bubbly Babes! But really very expensive and transport is a problem for me...

cutiebb, alot of things to consider right...I don't know if will regret if insist sticking to 1 child or not. So keep thinking and thinking &amp; don't dare to take the plunge. Maybe when my boy is not so clingy one day then i will consider again...but the thought of going through the whole cycle again...wah...sian leh.

butterwaffles, ya lor, sometimes i also think and think lei...haha...cos if got #2, i will need a CL and a maid, and this increase everything...and whenever i tok to my hb, he sure will say need meh, need CL and maid meh...i say dun need, who do...my mil totally gone case de, she cant even take care of herself even though shes not even 55, not to say do confinement for me, then my own mum not young anymore and also helping me with #1, then how....so many things to think lor....and it all surround the sign $$$$$

Butterwaffles,
good to you . I think our hubby are the same type
super lazy and super Bo chap.. Hahaha
sometimes really want to giv him a good slap and hope he will wake up.
As for #2, both of us want de.. Always think 1child is pitiful, too lonely. And me want to close factory before 30yrs old.. And yes, the 10mos pregnancy journey is I scared the most.

Butterwaffles,

My hb also belongs to these workaholic type, always on d ph talking abt work. Nw worse, they have those blackberry messaging (BBM) amg their colleagues &amp; bosses too. So it's like 24/7 working. Even going out w us, also always msg msg msg. Tint in future when my boy grow up, must use tat to "communicate" w his papa. Haha

Re:#2
Lately, I'm also tinting abt #2 d best If I can get a ger but looking at hw my hb commits himself to work &amp; I duno if i can handle two kids at d same time. Tis time I also need to hire a CL coz I dun expect any help from my Mil who stayed so far from us &amp; my mum dun had any exPerience also. Last time is my mil who stayed w us so she helped me w d confinement.

<font color="0000ff"><font color="ff0000">Jamie</font>
Ur maid sounds like she's here to relax. Seems like she's of no help to u. Why not just give her the boot? Instead of paying $$ and yet still suffering??

<font color="ff0000">Maid Woes</font>
Remember some time back I mentioned i'm not sure if I wanna renew my maid's contract when it expires in May? And I oso complaint some of the stuff I was unhappy about?

OK, turns out she doesn't wanna renew her contract with me. Neither is she going back. She wants to look for a new employer and I heard, she already found 1. Clever rite?

So now, i'm in a dilemma. Dunno to get another one (which I have to train all over again, blah blah blah), or handle both myself. I'm working full-time, so my boys will be in childcare in the day time. I'm just worried about nite and weekends. Coz my hb works full day on Sat.. only back at 6pm. I dunno how to handle both kids all by myself manz..

My MIL is self-centred. She will only go about doing her own stuff, like attending some singing lessons or calligraphy. so i can forget abt her helping out. My own mum stays pretty far away, and works half days on Sat, so can't help as well.

sighz.. was thinking if i can survive. But <font color="ff0000">Yun</font>, u gave me some confidence. If your sis can do it, I can too, since my boys age apart almost same as hers (@ 14 mths)

What do you all suggest? Should i get a new one??? Or 'Dong'!!!!</font>

mummypooh, my hb also workaholic de, he can bring his work home and work until very late at nite de...even on weekends, he still check emails if we got no special programs for that day, so i hv to take care my ger mostly myself and housework

ilovemaxmax, i would say gv it a try lst by urself and see if u can really 'dong'....if really cannot, at least u try ur best le...hehe

Cutiebb99

Yesh yesh, sometimes my hb also does tat bring work bk &amp; work until we sleep Liao. Tint our society too high tech until we r losing our personal or family time together, though he's physically w us.

cutiebb, no matter what, i will not hire a maid so if one day i really have #2, it will be because my #1 is more or less independant already. For CL, i never thought of it leh...thou i spent the 1 month confinement at my parents', i also do mostly everything on my own but i have to say, my meals are well taken care of as my dad is a good cook, hehe. I won't say my husband is a workholic. I can only say he's not suitable to be a father thou basically, he is a nice person. Hahahahaha....If i have #2, it means i'm fully prepared to do everything on my own and not expect anything from him.

yun, then i peifu u lar...because you know your husband's pattern already and yet you are willing to bear #2 for him. He's lucky to have you as his wife! He better appreciate lor..it's not easy to be a SAHM. If ask me to stay at home i will ki siao....

mummypooh, my MIL is dying to do everything for me but i refused, hehe. Cos she's slightly mental so i rather not, for my own safety. If you seriously want #2, your #1 must be independant enough, else you won't be able to cope de. I don't really agree with the smaller-age-gap is better theory. It all depends on the situation, pros &amp; cons
As for CL, i'm not sure if you will consider having a part-time cleaner and cooker? Or part-time cleaner and tingkat meals? I feel that such things can be solved. It's the spousal support that's important and i don't mean the kind where he uses his mouth or eye power nia.

IloveMaxMax, if without maid and one or both your kids fall sick, can you take urgent leave and handle 2 kids &amp; meals (maybe lunch) on your own? Since i rem you've mentioned before that dinner will be at your in-laws...I suggest you get a part-time helper, get your household chores totally out of the way, and concentrate on your boys. See if you can handle...i know 2 boys can be pretty chaotic ^^ I only have 1 and i want to peng san liao :p

butterwaffles, since ur #1 is in CC, i think shld be very independent de...

ya, i also dun believe in the smaller-age-gap theory, cos i do see big gap age, even better...haha....

I lovemaxmax,
"dong" first to see if you really can manage. Think the most "sian" parts are bath and feed them rite ? the rest of the time can let them play by themselves ?
If really can't manage, then hire a maid later

MAID
I was talk to maid last week regarding her performance.
I only ask "tell me honestly, you don't like children is it ?" she then cried.. saying Iam not believe her, saying she never illtreat my boy.
I keep explaining that I only want to know the truth coz I notice she is not keen to accompany my boy to play .
and she must know that jaga my boy is her priority ..
seeing she cry then I dont continue to ask ler.. haizz

Butterwaffles,
hahaha.. like what you said, Iam prepare to handle all the things myself.
But since Iam taking care of children then he must do all the housework lol..fair rite ?

yun, maid cry, worse, duno how to continue...haha....if my hb is earning 10K per month, then I dun mind to stay at home and take care 2 myself...my mom got ask if its worth to employ a maid and let her take care while i still go out and work, cos i still need to gv my mom a sum of small money for helping to take care...this is for taking care of 2 kids...well...i also duno lor...haha.....i cant do my sum lor...haha