A fresh thread looking for JURONG mummys...

Yes, being childcare teacher is not easy.
Imagine we face one or two already "tao hing", but in CC, facing 1:8 or more??!!

Ya lo , initially I'm tinting to work as childcare teacher, coz can play w those cute children. But after taking care of son, "no thank u" lo. Keke so next time when my boy goes CC, I will sure treat d teachers w absolute respect. :p

batbat, ya i've already paid the first month fees and registration fees for Ichiban liao..since July! Haha. I think the registration fees cannt take back but the first month fee can
The principal did tell me if end up i decided otherwise, she will return the first month fees. I need to confirm a place for my boy at the new PCF at Sengkang first before i will call the principal lor. Hhahaha...tao hing! You are so right, i agree with you. Not only tao hing (head spin) but also tao tia (headache). LOL!

mummypooh, ya! My boy's centre has this communication book and my husband very funny, wrote some stuff there in order to guide the teachers, mostly on how to tame my boy or make him zzz. He also thank the teachers, for having so much patience with our boy. The teachers ended up writing back to my husband, telling him not to worry and that he can trust them, our boy is in good hands. LOL. No wonder i see parents always making the effort to buy food or presents for the childcare teachers on teachers' day and even Xmas. Because for us FTWMs, we are really dependent on them. If ask me to be a childcare teacher i will really think twice. Really must have the love and passion for kids.

Butterwaffles?

Yeah.., yr hb is a funny one but I tint he's worried tat those teachers can't GAO Tim( tame) yr boy bah. But This shows tat d infantcare teachers r v professional mah & after tis incident yr hb must v satisfied w d teachers rite. Keke

mummypooh, now he is more fang xin. He was worried because he is the father and yet he will lose temper one you know...because my boy really a monster. So not to mention strangers who are taking care of our boy. My MIL loses her temper behind our back but in front of us always kiss my boy and play with him. Hahahaha!

batbat, yes yes...i hope the teachers wont change thou. It's really the teachers who make a difference ah. I hope the teachers at PCF Sengkang will be caring too. I think partly also because there is not many infants actually. I can't imagine if the infantcare is full, like 15 infants to 5 teachers. Then i think standard will drop because its simply impossible to give more attention to everyone ah...

HI Butterwaffles,
ya I always weigh my boy.. coz his weight is one of my biggest concern.
Now 19 mth = 9.3 kg.
I bought a Digital weight scale - $14.90 from Giant. Have to stand on it. So last time I will hold him and weigh together, and stand on it by myself, and take the weight difference.
Now he can stand, I just let him stand on it by himself lor.

btw : Guardians having promotion for Gain IQ - 1.8 kg = $58.95 (up $62.50) till 01 Dec
Sheng Siong selling the 900g can for $31.80 (up $33.20)

I went to see Blk 409 First Skool, Blk 404 little wings, Blk 553 little wings. Basically all ok but 404 is cheap and good, after subsidy is only 230??!! With "classroom" instead of pure open concept.
Hmm... Seen like a good deal but just too far away.

ashwen, how tall is your boy?? I think when he is about to reach puberty hor, things will be different, he will gain more weight i believe. That's what happened to my brother! When he went for his NS, lagi worse, because he exercises so much there and was sooo well-fed, he returned with hugh muscles. Really unlike the skinny boy where you can see all the ribcare when he was young. I'm abit worried that my boy will become obese. When he can walk liao i hope he will run around...run his fats off. Now he is 9months old plus and he is heavier than your boy. So imagine how bui he is. The centre teachers say carry him, really arm ache. I have a hard time with him at home also simply because he is damn heavy. I cannot go anywhere with him without my baby carrier or stroller. There is no way i can just carry him on my arms and walk. After 1 min i will peng san.

Now NTUC has promo on the 900g tin for Friso, cheaper by around $3 i think. So now you are waiting for the news for My First Skool near Pioneer mrt? I think it will open very soon!

batbat, i agree...404 is too far for me too, heh. So that time, i chose 553 over 404 thou 404 is cheaper. Because if you take into account the time spent on travelling and the transport cost (esp if it rains or what), i still find 553 fees reasonable. I have to say alot of parents, their priority is not the fees heh. Maybe the curriculum is most important. Or maybe they were from pte preschools so they have more faith in pte preschools. Or it could be there is simply no suitable PCF branches near them, only pte. To me, abit further is ok, as long as its direct, either by bus or mrt. Hence thou there are a few branches of My First Skool near my parents', i choose to wait for the PCF further up to open doors. Because its right next to the LRT. Thou the few branches of My First Skool are within walking distance, it would be hard for my dad to keep walking to and fro like this as he has bad knees. Also, are there pte preschools in the same price range as PCF or NTUC?? I haven't seen any leh. Did you register for the new My First Skool next to Pioneer mrt? Another option would be to look for preschools that offer transport. I think Ichiban Montessori is one of them.

ButterWaffles

Yes, I did register with the 3 First Skool around jur west area which are on waiting list now.
Jur Point got 150++ students. Too many and park car more expensive at shopping mall. Full day air-con, heard not much outdoor activities.

Blk 671 try to make enquries on phone, directed to General line n don't feel good in the customer service. Can't get much infor. Drop by once but principal not around so can't see see look look.

Blk 64x? Also on waiting list but never walk to see see look look but heard smaller place hence the chance to get in is "low".

Overall, because too popular at this area due to affordable, got some "brand", I not sure is there a personal touch in this. That is why I want to explore with more options.

Butterwaffles

Yes, if you see from the MCYS link there are a quite a number from 200 plus to 300 plus around this area. I dropped by or called a few but either on "waiting list" or they ask me to call back next year.

However, some are pretty cramp with eat, sleep, play n study together. That why when I saw 404 , I quite like as it is half classroom, half open concept, with own eating area, the teachers smile to me n "very affordable".

Ichiban motessori too ex for us.

Butterwaffles – aiyo... no choice also mah... since you moving house le, cant possibly go back to JW to attend school mah.. its unforeseen circumstances haha! just like me too.. I also reserved a place in MMI very early.. but later realize we prefer to let my gal go to non-aircon CC, also have to give up the place.. otherwise it will be super near.. just downstairs hor! As long as you can reserve the place in SK then no problem le..

Batbat – I really think 922 is a very good IFC.. if you want to send your child to IFC, I will strongly recommend this. Its also the teachers here that took pains to “train” my gal to walk everyday until she can walk by herself.. they said that she can actually walk but just not much confidence and also a bit lazy.. so everyday they will use toys or etc to trick her to walk over to them, then gradually when she can walk, they brought her outside to roam around without stroller.. unlike last time in LSH IFC, no one bother to train her.. they only brought those infants that can already walk outside to walk... so I am abit disappointed..

Ashwen – when my gal was born, my hb even wanna buy those weighing scale thats in the clinic kind haha.. but too exp, so he gave up that idea. i also bought a standing digital scale at home to weigh my gal.. but i realized its not very accurate though.. sometimes will vary from the clinic scale

Hi Butterwaffles,
My boy is now 80 cm.
But u look at him is so small sized. He is smaller size than BB his age or younger.
When we meet other babies outside.. ppl automatically says he is Di Di..
But when we asked, he is normally the elder one..
My worry is that he will be tahan bullied next time when in Childcare.
I already see that when he interacts with other kids, if they take the toys he is holding, he just give them and takes another..

One time - this little girl in his enrichment class-just wants whatever he is holding!! Snatch from his hand everything he picks up.
My Poor boy just gives in.
At tat point, I really don know what to do. On one hand, I am glad he is not the bully, he is nice and friendly by nature, very happy to share. On another, I felt should help him to 'stand up for his right', heartache to see him being bullied. But then, I thought I shouldnt be involved in kids interaction. If I helped my son to get back the toys from the little girl - I become her level.. and he doesnt learn to stand up from himself. The other parents also bo chap to see their girl being the buly.
As a parent watching kids interacts, how would u guys react? Any advise?

Hi Butterwaffles,
most kids will become slimmer by 2 year old when they start running around. So u don have to worry abt your son. Just give him a healty diet will do.

Hi Cheesecake,
ya I realise we weigh at home is usually diff from clinic's. I wonder why.. I just went to my Family Clinic @ Pioneer. They also use similar weighing scale I am using at home. But also diff results.. strange.
Regarding the bassinet on flight, u must get the front row seat center seats on each section, then they will give the bassinet. Coz the bassinet need to hang on the wall in front of your seat.

<font color="0000ff"><font color="ff0000">Multi-vitamins to boost immunity</font>
Would any mummies be interested in getting some multi-vitamins for ur kids to boost their immunity?

Both my kids are currently taking these supplements and my supply going low already, so i was thinking of ordering some. Wondering if anyone of you would be keen so can share shipping across as well.

I would be ordering from Vitacost, shipping via Vpost.

http://www.vitacost.com/Hero-Nutritionals-Yummi-Bears-Multi-Vitamin-and-Minerals

4804900.jpg

This is the Hero brand multi-vits that both Max &amp; Malcolm are enjoying taking. They always take and still will ask for more. I find that it has helped build Max's immunity (after going to childcare) and his appetite has improved too. This is in the form of gummy bear.. so my boys think it's sweet! Read the reviews... it's 5 out of 5.

This is a bottle of 200 gummies. After shipping will cost around $25-$27. For this price, GNC is selling for the 90 gummies one. So it's really value for $$.

http://www.vitacost.com/Hero-Nutritionals-Yummi-Bears-Omega-3-6-9

4804901.jpg

I oso get this Omega 3 6 9 for them since we seldom eat fish at home :) Kiasu mummy lah, haha..

http://www.vitacost.com/Childlife-Colostrum-Powder

4804902.jpg

Last but not least is the childlife colostrum.

These are the 3 items that i would be ordering. Let me know if any of u keen and ur orders. I would be ordering soon.. PM me k :)</font>

Ilovemaxmax,

R d yummi bear series suitable for 1 yr old child? Coz need to chew rite, will it cause accident like choking? Wat will be d shipping charges like? I.e do u have d shipping charges for yr previous shipment? Lastly, hws d expiry date like? Coz I can't find them on d web. Thz.

<font color="0000ff"><font color="ff0000">Mummypooh</font>
1 y/o ah.. at ur discretion k.. On Hero's website, this is the answer to their FAQ.

Q. Can I give this product to my child if he/she is under four years of age?
We do recommend your child be at least two years old, however all Yummi Bears® products are safe for children of any age who can safely chew and swallow.

I'm giving it to my 13mth boy. I started with half a bear each time.. so at least he wouldn't choke on it. Now he's taking a whole bear all by himself. It has not caused any problems.

Prices are shipping (I estimate)
Multi-Vits: $25 - $27
Omega 3 6 9: $20

Expiry date is at least a yr (so far from all the bottles that I got).

Note that I'm not earning anything from this. Just wish to share the deal with my fellow Jurong mummies so that we can all save on shipping costs...</font>

oops.. sorry, i meant prices after adding in shipping.. yes. this is price for 1 bottle. (cost + shipping). i hope this is clear enough for you now

all these are estimates of coz...</font>

batbat, aiyoh JP My First Skool bursting to the beam liao...definitely out ah. I agree Ichiban Montessori is exp, the fees now $480, definitely exp to me liao ah, even with the CDAccount.

cheesecake, hope so lor, when the PCF at sengkang opens, i need to cheong liao, hehe. But i know i will definitely miss 922. Every morning i drop my boy there and leave for work, i feel very assured. At least the file hor, they do indicate if my boy refused to eat the porridge, or milk only drank half etc. They will update me, whether my boy got on 'radio' very often on that day or not, heh. Now they refer to my boy's tantrums as 'on radio', lol. I also realised the boy J rarely comes ah. Dont see him very often at 922. Aiyoh, if the MMI at our place downstairs is cheaper and offer chinese, i will q up also. My colleague's friend is working there as a teacher. She commented that they are quite overloaded ah. I agree, very heartwarming to see the 922 teachers trying their best hor. When i saw your gal, cannot imagine her not running. Sometimes she will stone at the table but most of the times, she'll be cheonging around with gal Z. I don't see gal Z anymore liao, i hope she's settling in alright in the toddlers' class!

ashwen, my boy is a few cm shorter than your boy...come to think of it, proportionately, i think your boy is alright, just that compare with his peers, he is on the petite side. Your boy is such a darling, no temper even when the gal snatched his toy away?? That's a tough one, i'm not sure how to handle it too if i were you. Esp if the gal's parents are there as well. If the gal is alone, i might 'teach' her a lesson on sharing too, like take the toy away from her and give to my boy and tell both of them that we must share what we have, cannot be selfish ah. But if the gal's parents are there, i might just try to get my boy away from her. But like you, i won't try to 'fight for my boy's rights'. We won't want them to become mummy's boy lor. But take heart, your boy seems to have a gentle and easy-going personality and i think that's a good thing, this means his EQ is higher than that gal's ;p I love your prewalker shoes but no size for my boy. He is too big for baby shoes but too small for toddlers' shoes. Now he wears my socks. Because we bought so many pairs of bigger sized baby socks, the calf area just don't fit, too tight. But nowadays when i bring him to IFC, he doesn't wear socks because need to kenna check for blisters or what. Now my boy can pull himself to standing position, i think once he can stand on his own for a few secs without support, it means he will start walking liao right? I can't wait to buy shoes for him...

ILoveMaxMax, i give my boy the Childlife Colostrum as well, heh. Always add it into his milk. I noticed whenever i add this supplement, the bubbles in the milk all gone...The last time i ordered, a few months ago, expiry is 2012. So expiry dates definitely is ok for this one.

Ilovemaxmax – i just bought 2 of the colostrum supplement.. don’t think can finish so fast.. join your spree next time..

batbat – like what butterwaffles said.. the JP first skool is super long queue. I rem when i was searching for IFC when my gal was 7mths plus, they already told me their CC is full for my gal’s age intake.. so its like more than 1yr plus queue..

butterwaffles – the more you mentioned 922, the more I miss that place!! Its really one place that i feel very assured leaving my gal there.. Haha, they are so cute to use “radio” for your boy hehe.. Hopefully the Z gal is ok now.. the last my hb went there, teachers said she abit scared to go to toddler class as got classmate bully her..

Now my gal at Ichiban still not eating very well yet, duno is it the teeth haven’t fully erupted or she still adapting.. But these two days, the teachers there made me and hb pissed off.. On Monday, somehow they managed to lose her water bottle cap (those pigeon magmag straw cup) which I find it a bit kua zhang cos that cap is like attached to the cup and its not easy to take off. Ok never mind.. they didn’t tell my hb when he fetches my gal home. Then when reach home, I open her bag, its dripping with water. Thats when I realized the bottle cap is missing. And to make it worse, they just threw everything into the bag. Its like no common sense. If a water bottle does not have a cap, should at least put it into a plastic bag or pour away the water first right? And everything in the bag was drenched.. I was so angry that I called the CC immediately to talk to the teacher. But she claimed that the bag was packed by someone else and that person didn’t place the bottle properly so overturn... Another thing is they do not use the plastic bag we supposed to bring to pack the soiled clothings, just dump everything into the bag.. So I just told the teacher then whats the point you request we bring plastic bag.. Then yesterday they told me the cap for the cup was found so I told them to put in the bag. Guess what, they put it inside the toiletries box.. Really shake head... can put something used for eating inside a box with non-food.. just hope that it will get better..

butterwaffles,

Yes, 480 is expensive to me. Unless I don't want maid or 2nd one.
Acutally hor, I will not use CDA. Maybe because we both work in private sector (you mentioned you work in govt?), hence the chance to get retrench (touch wood, choi choi) is much higher. If it happen, at least I still got CDA to cover the pre-school fees for some period if cash is tight.

cheesecake,
For JP first skool, they did call me recently for IFC some 2 months back. I left my name in waiting list when I was around 6 mths pregnant at Nov/Dec10 period. That means almost after 10 mths later??!!

LoveMaxMax
How does childlife colostrum help our baby?
Can 8 mths old take?

cheesecake,
The teacher you talk to is local or other countries.
Not I biased, I get mixed reviews that local not so heart-warming or hardworking compare to other countries. However, I also heard is the other way round??!!

cheesecake,

Sorry miss out your earlier message.
For IFC, that time before birth got consider. But, in the end, we decide to employ maid as the $$ to engage a maid is more worth it or "cheaper" comparable to nanny ($500 to $650) and IFC ($600 to $1k odd). But, pray hard the maid is not a troublemarker or cost extra due to unforeseen factors.

Unless (touch wood again), my current maid want to go home early or become out of line, properly I will consider IFC (and 922 is definely one of 1st choice!)

batbat - yah, you can imagine the long wait for IFC at first skool.. so CC will be worse one..

for me, actually before giving birth, didnt consider IFC at all cos just assume my in laws will take care.. but who knows they cannot make it

the teachers I talked to at Ichiban is not local ones.. they are quite caring but the way they do things really makes me shake head

<font color="0000ff"><font color="ff0000">batbat</font>
it is!! at GNC if i'm not wrong.. tats y alot of mummies have already stocked it up, like cheesecake.

just like the Hero yummi bears multi-vits. It's available at GNC but its the 90 bears bottle. The one i'm ordering is the 200 bears bottle. n at the same price. I get more den double the amount.

Reason why i'm getting it from US is coz it's cheaper. I get all my supplements from there

i only started giving around 18mths.. coz that was the time my boy started going to childcare. but i tell u, i'm such a lazy mummy. haven't started giving Malcolm yet, tho he's always falling sick due to brother bringing the virus home from sch.</font>

cheesecake, so sorry to hear about the things happening at Ichiban! I know the magmag you are talking about, my boy uses the same just that he uses the teat one, not the straw one yet. Gal Z has moved on to the toddler's class fulltime liao and boy J seems to have withdrawn from 922. Got a new baby gal now...now total got 4 ah. Did you try applying those teething gel on your gal? I saw those but not sure if i should buy because my boy also has a hard time everytime he is teething.

batbat, yes yes, both me and my husband are from the govt sector. I agree with you that if you can afford it, don't touch the CDA first because when the child turns 7, the balance in the CDA will be transferred to his PSEAccount where it can be used for his post-econdary education fees. If i rem correctly, it can be used for the child's polytechnic or university education, not junior college thou. I have to use the CDA because we didn't plan for our boy financially...he came when we were in a 'bad' financial state! We are still repaying our reno loan and our boy came when we were about to hold our wedding, haha. For the Childlife Colostrum, i started to give my boy when he was around 7mths old. But it says 1/4 of a teaspoon...i always agar agar because i really don't know what is 1/4 of a teaspoon. Think its time to get a those measuring spoons! I bought 1 bottle from a mummy's spree that time and lucky i only bought 1 bottle. I think it can last me very long!

IloveMaxMax, this gummy bears thing sound good leh! I will try this when my boy is older, hehe.

Batbat – yesterday my hb colleague told him that there is one CC at blk 667C st 65 called OUR LITTLE LEARNING HOUSE 2, costing only $210 after subsidy... not sure if its good.. you can go check it out?

Butterwaffles – its ok now already.. after I told them about it.. from the next day onwards everything done nicely le =) I tried teething gel but not much use.. then gave the teething thing to bite also don’t want.. but seems like she is getting better liao cos teacher told us she started to eat everything in school since yesterday.. Oh now only got 4 babies.. how nice hor.. got full attention from teachers!

Hi Cheesecake/Batbat,
OUR LITTLE LEARNING HOUSE 2 and Blk 653C Daystar only take in 3 yr and above
Blk 660D Loving Development 30 mth and above.

Anyone check out Brightkids @ 641 before?

Have replied your email regarding ur order. Let me know soonest k

<font color="ff0000">batbat</font>
My boy is in Carpe Diem Kidsworld at Blk 739. So far i'm ok with the sch. At least i see changes in my boy. It's not a sch whereby kids juz watch tv while waiting for parents to pick them up. I've seen b4, on the same day, same time, my boy's sch kids were dancing away or doing art &amp; raft, while childcare nearer to my place at Blk 850+ or isit 860+, the kids watching tv.
but fees rather high. $420 per mth..

<font color="ff0000">RE: Supplements Spree</font>
I'm closing my order soon already. If anyone else wants to combine my order, please let me know by today

LoveMaxMax,

Carpe Diem Blk739, I been there before to see see look look.
The location is one of the most ideal for us in terms of walking or driving(straight forward road instead of to twist and turn to reach carpark).
Yes, $420 per mth is a bit exp, but I am not 100% totally out to say no due to its convenience, establishment (i guess should be due to the brand), nice setup/clean/spacious.
Is the teacher caring? How about the curriculum?

For 850 &amp; 860 (is either Knooka &amp; kidzone).

Yes, give me one bottle of childlife colostrum, how much?

Little Sunny,
Yes, that 3 you mentioned, I called before and 30mths or 3yrs above.
For brightkids, drop by before and 90++ kids.

Only fill up a form and submit, gain nothing much information.

butterwaffles,

I understand. House, reno, wedding is very hugh amount. Approximate $50k to $100k.

cheesecake,
Yes, I called before.
Saw the contact on the MCYS website.

LoveMaxMax,
Did Carepe Diem Blk739 mention any price increase next year?

LoveMaxMax,

Actually at $420, I still ok.
Only I scare it increase like ichiban.
When you sign the registration, did it state $420 is fixed?
I saw some old forums, it used to have such clause.

Batbat – I think for private CC, cannot really say will be fixed at this price.. cos when they really want to increase, they can just notify us in advance.. its not really like they can confirm that they will not increase fees one.. just like ichiban, that time when we sign up, they also did not say will increase. Only on my gal first day then the principal inform me.. and its effective Jan 2011, which is only 1 and ½ mth notice somemore..

So far i find the teachers ok leh. but 1 thing, i have to keep calling the sch to check on my son lor.. for the 1st wk. I guess the teachers POV is tat, if i dun call u = ur son is doing fine / well in sch, dun need to worry. i think i'm a worry-freak

Curriculum of coz mktg wise they will tell u got alot of wat Multiple Intelligence dunno wat lah.. but i see, my boy come back every mth with different kind of art &amp; craft, and they have monthly updates on the theme for the month printed in both eng &amp; mandarin (both written by different teachers) and pics so i roughly know what my boy had been doing for the past mth

ah yes.. meant Kidzone. this one i find kids watching tv tat time when i walked past lor.. so i didnt really like it

1 bottle of colostrum for u ya.. i will proceed to order. email u in awhile

Price Increase
so far nothing. the form i took for Malcolm states $420. For my elder boy, he's still paying $400. oh ya.. i heard abt the price guarantee thing.. not sure if it's still applicable anot leh... but these days, everything oso increase.. so i kinda expected the price increase oso lah. juz tat they dun give discounts for siblings lor

<font color="0000ff"><font color="ff0000">mummypooh</font>
i replied your email this morning. Did u receive??? asking u to give me url for the items u buying. scared i buy the wrong one